Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. Jun 30, 2011
    90
    Half-Minute Hero may be "JRPG-lite," but even if you're not a fan of the genre there's plenty of great gameplay to be had. A clever game with plenty of humor and personality, Half-Minute Hero: Super Mega Neo Climax is certainly worth your time.
  2. Jul 8, 2011
    83
    The game's greatest accomplishment is that these simple little tales are as effective as many full-length JRPG releases this generation.
  3. Jul 8, 2011
    80
    All told, you're getting an absurd amount of content for your 800 Points, but such is the incessant repetition at the core, you may question whether you really need it. If the answer is yes, then this is unquestionably an instant purchase, but over the long haul its infectious opening gambit doesn't quite sustain.
  4. Jul 6, 2011
    80
    A funny, clever and charming game. I think the character modes outside of the Hero's story fell a bit flat, but there's plenty to unlock, explore and battle. It's an easy recommendation for folks looking for a cute twist on the traditional RPG.
  5. Jul 4, 2011
    80
    Those who played the PSP version won't find a lot of new material here, but if you never played it before, Half-Minute Hero: Super Mega Neo Climax is a game you won't regret.
  6. Jun 30, 2011
    80
    During a time when Japan's hit a creative drought with RPGs, it's great to see a game that's adopting this traditional style, and using it in a more imaginative way.
  7. Jun 30, 2011
    80
    A loving, and genuinely funny, homage to old school role-players and the people that play them.
  8. Jun 29, 2011
    80
    I don't know that the core concept has the legs to support a a sequel, but in the here and now I'm awfully glad this game exists.
  9. Jun 28, 2011
    80
    I fell in love with this game, immediately. It's got a funny script, it's easy to learn, and I can complete a whole quest while I wait for my tea to steep.
  10. Jul 13, 2011
    78
    No matter which way you slice it, Half-Minute Hero is still loads of fun. At only 10 dollars, it's well worth your money.
  11. Nov 14, 2011
    75
    Half-Minute Hero is a fun and quirky gem that is worth a second look.
  12. 75
    You may tire of the basic gimmick before you're skilled enough to succeed on elaborate, brutally competitive four-player online maps, but Half-Minute Hero's charms still last a surprisingly long time.
  13. Jul 21, 2011
    75
    I grew fond of the concentrated characters, and after applying the alternate retro visuals had a much easier time navigating the game world, along with it being easier on the eyes.
  14. Jul 6, 2011
    75
    You wouldn't guess it from the title, but Half-Minute Hero is good for hours of role playing against the clock.
  15. Jun 29, 2011
    75
    Admittedly, Half-Minute Hero does wear out its welcome towards the last handful of stages, and the extra modes generally feel like filler at best. But, for the most part, Marvelous' RPG parody is a unique and entertaining experience that finally has a chance to capture the hearts of an entirely new audience.
  16. Jul 15, 2011
    70
    A good way to play this quirky RPG if you don't have a PSP.
  17. Jul 15, 2011
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  18. Jul 11, 2011
    70
    If you happen to also own a PSP, you would be far better served seeking out the original Half-Minute Hero instead.
  19. Jul 5, 2011
    70
    So while Half-Minute Hero Super Mega Neo Climax offers some new features, they don't make for a brand new experience. That said, the Hero 30 mode, which is the heart of the game, is still in place and as great as ever.
  20. Jul 6, 2011
    42
    If you don't have a PSP, it might be worth checking out if the nostalgia hits you hard enough, but unless you're a glutton for punishment, I don't know how much you can find here. Oh, and if you do have the PSP version, just walk away. Take your time, no need to hurry, just walk aw-BOOM!
User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Jul 6, 2011
    10
    Simply put, this game is amazing.

    You can play casually and enjoy the game at a leisurely pace, or play to top leaderboards and enjoy the
    rush of an intense, reflexive puzzle/RPG hybrid. I have sunk 15 odd hours into the game so far and the game still has hours of gameplay to offer.

    Great graphics (on Classic mode, the updated visuals are terrible), stellar music, insane gameplay, hilarious dialogue, a pantload of unlockables, tons of replayability, and currently just 800MS points. Discard all previous notions about the genre, buy this game, and prepare to be blown away.
    Full Review »