User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1041 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ColinJ
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    The best halo game of all time. Has small flaws in the campaign such as, it's harder on diffuculties like Heroic and Legendary but too easy for normal and easy. But those flaws are easy to dismiss and the Firefight mode is still the best take on Gears of Wars Horde
  2. SamJ.
    Oct 5, 2009
    4
    Okay while it lasts but its a bit short, I'd say rent it, you can finish in about 6 hours and the online is basically the same as halo 3 feels like the ODST should have just been a downloadable add on like lost and damned.
  3. JV
    Oct 7, 2009
    5
    Feels like an expansion pack. Its short. The the interface is horrible. The learning curve is sharp, most of the HUD which they force you to step through the tutorial for is pointless. The first half dozen levels are severely disjointed and not particularly enjoyable. I found it extremely hard to keep track of the plot or associate with any of the characters mostly because of how it keeps Feels like an expansion pack. Its short. The the interface is horrible. The learning curve is sharp, most of the HUD which they force you to step through the tutorial for is pointless. The first half dozen levels are severely disjointed and not particularly enjoyable. I found it extremely hard to keep track of the plot or associate with any of the characters mostly because of how it keeps switching who you're playing as and the horrible cut scenes. The are many instances where they should have reinforced with visuals where you should go or what the objective was - maybe they didnt do sufficient usability testing to figure out the traps and areas that needed to be smoothed. But like always the fan boys jump on the bungie wang and give it a good polish... just like how halo3 was a 9.9/10 game? yeah right. Expand
  4. ChrisS
    Oct 9, 2009
    10
    It may not be Halo 4 material but this is still an epic adventure in the Halo saga. Halo 3: ODST sets an outstanding change from the other Halo games. When I first played Halo 3: ODST I instantly realized this wasn't a space opera. Halo 3: ODST's story is similar to that of a murder mystery. With a completey new and brilliant soundtrack, gameplay that makes you feel like a It may not be Halo 4 material but this is still an epic adventure in the Halo saga. Halo 3: ODST sets an outstanding change from the other Halo games. When I first played Halo 3: ODST I instantly realized this wasn't a space opera. Halo 3: ODST's story is similar to that of a murder mystery. With a completey new and brilliant soundtrack, gameplay that makes you feel like a mortal while staying true to the other Halo games, set pieces that make Bruckheimer look cheap, brand new survival game mode Firefight with fantastic AI and great voice acting. Halo 3: ODST is deffinitely worth buying. The only downside would be the fact that you only recieve three new maps if you already own all of th other dlcs. I can understand the criticism of ODST's value but any rating below 6 is just rediculous. Expand
  5. MarcusChief
    Sep 22, 2009
    5
    Pissed that MS is selling this as a retail game when more than half of it is stuff from H3. Fire Fight and new campaign mode are the only new things. Same old same old pretty much. Definitely NOT worth 60$
  6. AaronH.
    Sep 22, 2009
    7
    Disjointed, too dark, terrible map, the player spends more time trying to figure out how to get to the next checkpoint than he does fighting. Very frustrating for that reason.
  7. AlexM
    Sep 22, 2009
    10
    Awesome game, great expansion.
  8. TheDeathMonger
    Sep 22, 2009
    10
    If you aren
  9. Rayo
    Sep 22, 2009
    3
    I can not believe the consumer is being charged 65 dollars for what should have been a 20 dollar expansion pack. There are no new multiplayer weapons. It is next to impossible to play a new map online because all 8 or 10 players need to be using ODST. People buy Halo for online play, not for just a campaign mode that has taken baby steps since Halo 2.
  10. PhilG
    Sep 22, 2009
    9
    What can I say that hasn't been said...excellent single player with a new approach, more of a focus on tactics and stealth...awesome multiplayer in the form of the new firefight mode...superb value thanks to the included $20 worth of Halo 3 maps...played it for 10 hours after it came out and don't regret it one bit. A must have!
  11. GioG.
    Sep 22, 2009
    4
    Worst package ever. The game is great in terms of the look and feel of it. And firefight should be loads of FUN if you have friends who have it. But overall it was a sloppy package and bungie put no effort into making this a FUN game.. They give you a 2nd disc thats for online play.. Its all Halo 3.. I own halo 3 already, owww i get 3 maps i didn't have thats it.. You get the Worst package ever. The game is great in terms of the look and feel of it. And firefight should be loads of FUN if you have friends who have it. But overall it was a sloppy package and bungie put no effort into making this a FUN game.. They give you a 2nd disc thats for online play.. Its all Halo 3.. I own halo 3 already, owww i get 3 maps i didn't have thats it.. You get the campaign which is 6-8 hours most, and firefight which has no match making.. Worst Games of the year, worst hype EVER for a game. I was let down Expand
  12. HarveyBedford
    Sep 22, 2009
    10
    while others shall disagree with me i do believe this Halo game can stand on its own. since i never bought any of the Halo 3 maps, just the maps added equals to 30$. add in the great(but simplified story) and the incredible firefight mode and you have another great Halo game. you will not miss The Chief.
  13. SteveEllis
    Sep 22, 2009
    10
    I'm really not interested in what the PS fanboys have to say about this, If you love Halo you'll LOVE ODST, Every combat scenario was excellent and never got dull. Well done Bungie keep up the good work for Reach.
  14. DahS.
    Sep 22, 2009
    10
    I think firefight is unbelievable, I enjoyed the story (I thought no master chief, that cannot be fun... well they proved me wrong) You have to use visor mode to explain it, it is godly. I enjoyed th move towards tactical with the feel of the halo universe. I had a very positive experience with this game. Oh and tons of 5 point gamerscore achievements sucks.
  15. KrisDeSha
    Sep 22, 2009
    4
    I cannot believe i paid 60 bucks for this, it is worth 40 at max, it is more of an Add on then a full blown game, i was at midnight launch to come home and play to realize i was playing Halo 3, just a little different, not enought o shell out 60 bucks :( Disappointed
  16. TimothyB.
    Sep 22, 2009
    8
    Bungie are getting lazy and releasing games to ride on the success of halo 3. - but still?, it's a halo:ODST! , so it's awesome.
  17. FrankGrimes
    Sep 23, 2009
    6
    I'm very surprised people say this is a good deal. I already beat the campaign. I already had some of the multiplayer maps. I do enjoy a new twist on the Halo setting and universe but this is just not worth $60. I would highly recommend this for $30 if you can find it at that price.
  18. DougC.
    Sep 23, 2009
    5
    Typical Halo production values (which are high).....and little else excluding a few exclusive maps. All in all the entirety of the worthwhile content could have easily been done as an H3 expansion via digital distro and a considerably more reasonable price tag. The whole thing reeks of filler to justify the box. I consider that a semi-evil thing to do after such lofty promises were made Typical Halo production values (which are high).....and little else excluding a few exclusive maps. All in all the entirety of the worthwhile content could have easily been done as an H3 expansion via digital distro and a considerably more reasonable price tag. The whole thing reeks of filler to justify the box. I consider that a semi-evil thing to do after such lofty promises were made by Bungie...looks like the Microsoft ethos finally invaded the building there, which is a shame. Expand
  19. JohnMerx
    Sep 23, 2009
    10
    Wow allot of fake "reviews" on metacritic. Allot of bitter ps3 fanboys that rate it a zero because they are so low life. Get over it, the ps3 sucks and sony is failing this gen.
    =============================================
    Just done with the campaign and I LOVE halo ODST!!!!!!!!!

    The story,graphics and sound are really really good. I cannot wait until I have time for some online action!
  20. KeithBE
    Sep 23, 2009
    6
    A large disappointment. Campaign is pretty fun, but way to short and not very exciting. Only one real new weapon which is the automag. The smg is the same as halo 3 with a silencer. Firefight is okay compared to horde in gears of war 2. This game is a good rental but not worth 60 bucks.
  21. jenos
    Sep 23, 2009
    9
    LOL at all the people fussing about the price. if they sold it alone on the marketplace, itd be about the same thing. how much were all the map packs? like over 20 bucks right? and then there are 3 new maps.. so thats at least 8 bucks right there. the campaign alone would have been at least 15 bucks, then fire fight would have been maybe another 10. thats pretty much 60 bucks.. sure, they LOL at all the people fussing about the price. if they sold it alone on the marketplace, itd be about the same thing. how much were all the map packs? like over 20 bucks right? and then there are 3 new maps.. so thats at least 8 bucks right there. the campaign alone would have been at least 15 bucks, then fire fight would have been maybe another 10. thats pretty much 60 bucks.. sure, they should have released a 40 dollar edition without the second disc, but for people like me who dont like paying in bits and pieces to download maps.. its a great value. the game shouldnt get a lower score because you already paid for the maps.. because its still a great game regardless. i dont understand why people make mention of the graphics or it being just like halo 3.. its not called halo 4. .its called HALO 3 odst.. so obviously its a branch off of halo 3. get over it. Expand
  22. Neurosludge()()
    Sep 23, 2009
    0
    The game is a total rip-off, should have been available as dlc. It's not a full game, nor at any point does it actually feel like anything but halo3 with finger gloves and health koisks. While firefight is a great addition, it's significance is lost to the overall underwhelming experience.
  23. HectorG
    Sep 23, 2009
    10
    Great game. Fun. Good controls. Nice narrative. Better than Halo 3. I'm a PS3, 360 and Wii owner and I believe ODST deserves at least 5 million copies sold. It is better than Killzone 2 in everything but graphics. I own Killzone 2, Warhawk, Buzz, LBP, Metal Gear Solid 4 and only Metal Gear is better than ODST, if you don't mind watching a lot of cool movies. Just so PS3 only Great game. Fun. Good controls. Nice narrative. Better than Halo 3. I'm a PS3, 360 and Wii owner and I believe ODST deserves at least 5 million copies sold. It is better than Killzone 2 in everything but graphics. I own Killzone 2, Warhawk, Buzz, LBP, Metal Gear Solid 4 and only Metal Gear is better than ODST, if you don't mind watching a lot of cool movies. Just so PS3 only owners know, what makes Halo great is its fun gameplay. It has a Nintendo-like quality in design and I know what I'm saying cause I'm a Nintendo fan. Buy every system if you can. Expand
  24. Nickj.
    Sep 23, 2009
    6
    I was rather disappointed on this game because it's pretty much halo 3 and i got confused on when this was happening if it was before master chief came were are all the elites i see brutes and everything else but no elites when i was walking around i saw a couple of dead elites so my guess was that it was after the war. And also i found the health annoying because i couldn't I was rather disappointed on this game because it's pretty much halo 3 and i got confused on when this was happening if it was before master chief came were are all the elites i see brutes and everything else but no elites when i was walking around i saw a couple of dead elites so my guess was that it was after the war. And also i found the health annoying because i couldn't find any health and then it beeps and doesn't stop beeping why couldn't they keep the old health like in 2 and 3 i know because you were chief but i couldn't c why. Recoil is an other thing i got annoyed while shooting bad guys. mapping is annoying because in halo you knew were u were going because you have a little map at the corner. i'm sorry me and my mate played this got lost got bored nothing differant flash backs got me confused and this game wasn't the game i thought it would be and bungie probably weren't thinking right. Expand
  25. BillB
    Sep 23, 2009
    9
    At this point it's probably hard for ODST to get the recognition it deserves as people who like that other console know which title to bash away at and rate down. For what it's worth - the ODST campaign is fantastic and the storyteling in particular is the best of any Halo game. Highly reccomended.
  26. RaulP
    Sep 23, 2009
    9
    Great Original Game. Plays very different from other Halo games. Firefight mode is a blast and plays better at higher difficulties, Normal is just too easy. Please don't fall for the false accusation that this game should have only been a cheaper expansion, The game is worth every penny.
  27. eddierivera
    Sep 23, 2009
    7
    The game sucks compared to most games that have come out in the past 2 years. It is better then Halo 3 in many aspects so that stopped me from giving this game a 5 or less. I have to give credit where its due. It makes a great cup coaster
  28. HofunNoodles
    Sep 23, 2009
    9
    This game looks great - why people complain about the engine being old etc. should wake up and smell the coffee. The important thing that this still plays better than any other competitor. The variety in enemies and ways to dispatch them is still what makes HALO king of the hill. With firefight this fact is celebrated with points and skulls and overkills littering the screen like This game looks great - why people complain about the engine being old etc. should wake up and smell the coffee. The important thing that this still plays better than any other competitor. The variety in enemies and ways to dispatch them is still what makes HALO king of the hill. With firefight this fact is celebrated with points and skulls and overkills littering the screen like fireworks. It just brings a smile - I enjoy playing it - isn't that what games are for after all? I picked this up for a reasonable price and feel it's worth every penny. I'll be in seventh heaven if I enjoy MW2 this much as well. Expand
  29. DennisN
    Sep 23, 2009
    9
    It's a nice, high value package you get with this game. I don't understand why so many people are making complains that this game is too expensive. Because of my location, I had to pay 80$ for this game, instead of the usuall 110$, and also got new multiplayer maps included.
  30. HunterG
    Sep 23, 2009
    8
    Halo 3: ODST is a great addition to the Halo franchise. With an exciting campaign, the new firefight mode, which is awesome, and the multiplayer, what's not to love? Some people have said that the campaign is too short, it is a waste of $60, etc. But if you are like me, and like good shooters, then you will love this game. I only have one complaint. This is that, as long and Halo 3: ODST is a great addition to the Halo franchise. With an exciting campaign, the new firefight mode, which is awesome, and the multiplayer, what's not to love? Some people have said that the campaign is too short, it is a waste of $60, etc. But if you are like me, and like good shooters, then you will love this game. I only have one complaint. This is that, as long and extensive the campaign is, and as good as firefight and the multiplayer is, I believe that there simply isn't enough content to satisfy those $60 that I paid for this game. The only things that are new to the franchise are the campaign and firefight. And while they are both very fun, I believe that this game should have been priced at $40, even $50, but not $60. However, just remember that the game is very fun, and if you just have some money laying around, but can't think of anything to spend it on, then definitely buy this game. You won't regret it. Expand
  31. IanB
    Sep 24, 2009
    7
    In my opinion, the value of Halo 3:ODST really depends on whether you own Halo 3 or not. For the avid Halo multiplayer gamers, you're getting shafted if you pay full price for this game. Microsoft charging you for content you have already paid for is a rip off, plain and simple. If you don't own Halo 3 this game is a great deal. You get the new 6 hour campaign and firefight In my opinion, the value of Halo 3:ODST really depends on whether you own Halo 3 or not. For the avid Halo multiplayer gamers, you're getting shafted if you pay full price for this game. Microsoft charging you for content you have already paid for is a rip off, plain and simple. If you don't own Halo 3 this game is a great deal. You get the new 6 hour campaign and firefight (both are excellent) and some of the best multiplayer you can find on Xbox. Expand
  32. BrianA.
    Sep 24, 2009
    5
    As a fan of the Halo series, I was truly and utterly disappointed by this installation to the epic saga. Granted, they've taken the game in a whole new direction for storytelling and gameplay, but I was mortified to find no competitive multiplayer. Including 3 new maps for Halo 3 is NOT a legitimate way of justifying the lack of a competitive multiplayer in ODST. I can't believe As a fan of the Halo series, I was truly and utterly disappointed by this installation to the epic saga. Granted, they've taken the game in a whole new direction for storytelling and gameplay, but I was mortified to find no competitive multiplayer. Including 3 new maps for Halo 3 is NOT a legitimate way of justifying the lack of a competitive multiplayer in ODST. I can't believe I spent $60 for a 4-5 hour campaigh and a silly wave mode. Personally, I find Firefight to be quite monotonous and unappealing, though it's an interesting addition. I'd still rather play Horde Mode in GoW 2 or even Survival Mode in Resident Evil 5. ODST has almost driven me to the point of boycotting Halo Reach. If it's anything like this, I will not be purchasing it. Expand
  33. petera.
    Sep 24, 2009
    0
    I went to the midnite launch for this game, picked it up went home played for about two and a half hours and then preceded to turn the game off and I have yet to turn it back on. OMG, this game is complete utter garbage. Where do I begin, they try and take a stealth approach to this game and it's complete failure, the new visor is horrible, the graphics are dated, the guns have no I went to the midnite launch for this game, picked it up went home played for about two and a half hours and then preceded to turn the game off and I have yet to turn it back on. OMG, this game is complete utter garbage. Where do I begin, they try and take a stealth approach to this game and it's complete failure, the new visor is horrible, the graphics are dated, the guns have no kick to them which makes the battles boring as hell, friendly A.I. is dumb as dirt, characters are detached from reality, corny dialogue, I can go on and on. I still do not understand why reviewers gave this game such a high score, one thing is for certain though and that one thing is that Bungie and MS made a killing taking Halo Fanboys money with this garbage, they should rename the game Halo 3 ODLC because that's what this game is, an expansion pack. Expand
  34. joes.
    Sep 24, 2009
    3
    Campaign was too short and nothing really spectacular. Bungie and MS teaming up to take our money, that's about it! You can have Halo brand toilet paper and halo fanboys will buy it. Complete utter garbage.
  35. PhilipG.
    Sep 24, 2009
    9
    ODST is a well rounded game with a different look at the Halo universe. It is a great first person shooter and continues the great story telling of the franchise.
  36. DougT
    Sep 24, 2009
    9
    Well. The reason for the 9 is simply this- I got this game for 35$ (the day it shipped) because somehow Amazon offered me 15$ in rebates and a 10$ Amazon gift card b/c they screwed up my order. It's a great game. The singleplayer is my favorite (I have yet to play the firefight mode). Lot's of action, a great FPS series that just does everything right. I got it cheap, I would Well. The reason for the 9 is simply this- I got this game for 35$ (the day it shipped) because somehow Amazon offered me 15$ in rebates and a 10$ Amazon gift card b/c they screwed up my order. It's a great game. The singleplayer is my favorite (I have yet to play the firefight mode). Lot's of action, a great FPS series that just does everything right. I got it cheap, I would suggest you should to, not because it's not worth 60$, but because any game you should try and pick up for as little as possible. I did not buy any of the previous Halo 3 maps, so this makes the deal even sweeter. This game is definitely worth 60$, it just depends how much extra money you spent on Halo 3. Great game, fun gameplay- hoping to see a little more though from Bungie. Get it cheap if you can, but if you can't, buy it if you don't have one of the following: A) Halo 3 B) The maps from Halo 3 C) No friends with the game. Good luck. Expand
  37. mescovica.
    Sep 24, 2009
    2
    Terrible, terrible game, rehashing old game play and boring level design to fans who will eat it up like it crack without any intelligent thought.
  38. KrisK
    Sep 24, 2009
    1
    1 for Firefight, although it is not an original thought since GOW did it first. Problems: No new weapons in multiplayer No new vehicles in multiplayer No new anything in multiplayer 3 new multiplayer maps that will be free in 2 to 3 months or at least offered for sale on Xbox live at that time for $15.00 All the previous Halo 3 Multiplayer maps which isn't that helpful if you are 1 for Firefight, although it is not an original thought since GOW did it first. Problems: No new weapons in multiplayer No new vehicles in multiplayer No new anything in multiplayer 3 new multiplayer maps that will be free in 2 to 3 months or at least offered for sale on Xbox live at that time for $15.00 All the previous Halo 3 Multiplayer maps which isn't that helpful if you are like me and have already purchased all of them. Visor on the playable character in the campaign that obscures your vision. Dark (entirely too dark) levels in the campaign. Short campaign - about 5 hours on Legendary. The ODST character dies about every 4 seconds when an enemy looks at him funny. The AI enemy characters are consistently stupid, oftentimes running into walls while driving vehicles. Night vision on your goggles puts an annoying outline on everything. This I believe is an attempt to hide the fact that bungie did nothing to improve the graphics in this game over Halo 3. Additionally they didn't do enough work on the design of enemies. Everything either looks too dark, or has an outline with the middle completely dark, or is ultra shiny. The Supervisor guy is hard to navigate while in menus and I found myself stuck more than a couple of times, just trying to get my visor to be clear again. Save yourself some money and don't buy this game! Expand
  39. MasterChief
    Sep 24, 2009
    5
    Another overhyped and overpriced game. A boring campaign with a story that tries to be emotional but fails. The graphics looks dated. Overall another disappointment int the Halo Series.
  40. GeorgeG
    Sep 24, 2009
    9
    I don't get the whole "this game is too short" argument. Play the game on Legendary and let me know how long it takes you. Take your time, explore the city, there is no need to rush. This game is chocked full of replay value between firefight, besting your high score in campaign and some truly tough challenges. It's also beautiful. The graphic look fantastic and the art style is I don't get the whole "this game is too short" argument. Play the game on Legendary and let me know how long it takes you. Take your time, explore the city, there is no need to rush. This game is chocked full of replay value between firefight, besting your high score in campaign and some truly tough challenges. It's also beautiful. The graphic look fantastic and the art style is top notch. Also, the music is some of the best I've heard in a shooter. For me, the real sell here is that it's so different from the other Halo games. It channels games like Bioshock, Half-Life and Metroid to create something truly unique. Expand
  41. EliJ.
    Sep 25, 2009
    6
    Oh i absolutely love the fact that it doesn't take 30 hits to kill someone, but i cant give it higher than a six because this game should be priced as DLC. Not enough game for your buck so to speak.
  42. JoshuaR.
    Sep 25, 2009
    8
    Every body giving low scores on how much it cost. Did you people even try the game or did that 60 dollars keep you from buying it. They should have came out with a 30 version for the loyal fan who already have halo 3 but still its a great price for what you get. Lets be real people would pay 60 buck just for the Reach beta.
  43. bobm.
    Sep 26, 2009
    9
    Loved the music and firefight. i thought the campaign was the best in the halo series. i loved the new health system to. i liked how countering a brute on firefight head on meant trouble while if you were a spartan u can take 10 on no problem. the only thing keeping this from a 10 is that firefight and campaign had no matchmaking.
  44. GeorgeC
    Sep 27, 2009
    9
    Campaign is quite good with some fantastic moments, although there is a bit of spark missing from the overall campaign. There needed to be much more bigger and better battles and definitely atleast 4 more new weapons for the hardcore halo gamer such as myself. Firefight mode is great although it too can become very lengthy and eventually becomes boring...firefight needed to be much faster Campaign is quite good with some fantastic moments, although there is a bit of spark missing from the overall campaign. There needed to be much more bigger and better battles and definitely atleast 4 more new weapons for the hardcore halo gamer such as myself. Firefight mode is great although it too can become very lengthy and eventually becomes boring...firefight needed to be much faster paced with better weapons and maps. Although there are many small negatives from odst, the game still offers a great deal for the hardcore halo gamer and cannot be missed. Brng on reach bungie Expand
  45. BobbyD.
    Sep 27, 2009
    5
    And the vs multiplayer is where? Firefight.. that's it? Are you kidding me?!! I've already go Halo 3 and previously payed for the maps thanks! Imagine if the new COD MW just gave you the COD 4 maps on a separate disk. You'd feel justifiably ripped off.
  46. NathanD.
    Sep 28, 2009
    10
    This game is awesome! I don't know why its getting alot of average ratings. The multiplayer is amazing as always, and the story is a big-step up from the original Halo 3. The firefight mode is amazing addition to the Halo series too.
  47. MichaelS.
    Sep 29, 2009
    8
    Let' first start with the main reason anyone would buy this game: the infamous Recon armor. The only reason anyone else would pay 60$ for campaign and a few new maps, is for Recon armor or the person is a die-hard Halo fan. They need to sell ODST campaign separately or in a combo so people don't have to waste their money paying for the multiplayer disc, which most of us already Let' first start with the main reason anyone would buy this game: the infamous Recon armor. The only reason anyone else would pay 60$ for campaign and a few new maps, is for Recon armor or the person is a die-hard Halo fan. They need to sell ODST campaign separately or in a combo so people don't have to waste their money paying for the multiplayer disc, which most of us already have. Just leave the new maps for DLC. But, to be honest about the game, it's not really a revolutionary campaign. But also let's keep in mind that ODST is not meant to be a stand-alone game (as some critics above mention which is untrue), it is an expansion of the already amazing Halo 3, and in creating what it set out to do it succeeded. So if you're looking for a completely new game then you'll be disappointed, but if you're looking for expanded content (Firefight mode is addicting) then this game owns. Expand
  48. MichaelB
    Feb 13, 2010
    8
    The new Campaign offers a great experience, but it is not without it's problems. Traversing the New Mombasa sandbox starts okay, but gets a little old. The basic strategy is: clear enemies in the current courtyard, check your map to determine a path, repeat until you get to the next beacon. The flashback missions are the highlight of the new campaign. Each mission offers something The new Campaign offers a great experience, but it is not without it's problems. Traversing the New Mombasa sandbox starts okay, but gets a little old. The basic strategy is: clear enemies in the current courtyard, check your map to determine a path, repeat until you get to the next beacon. The flashback missions are the highlight of the new campaign. Each mission offers something different. For example, some missions have you fighting on foot, while others force you to use a certain type of vehicle, like the Scorpion tank or Banshee fighter plane. The Firefight game mode is a nice addition to Halo, but I recommend playing it co-operatively; it tends to get boring when playing alone. Even if you're not interested in the Campaign or Firefight, the second disc is still worth the whole price. Disc 2 allows you to play the original Halo 3's multiplayer mode. It includes the original maps plus every map pack. IMO, this alone makes ODST worth it. Expand
  49. JjonathanW.
    Feb 23, 2010
    9
    I think that the campaign was better than halo 3's,overall, the reason i say overall is because the last mission didn't come close with halo 3's final driving scene. the firefight was really fun and stuff, but really, it was just a copy of hoarde mode from gears of war 2, and it kind of got boring to me after awile.It also comes with the who halo 3 multiplayer, which has I think that the campaign was better than halo 3's,overall, the reason i say overall is because the last mission didn't come close with halo 3's final driving scene. the firefight was really fun and stuff, but really, it was just a copy of hoarde mode from gears of war 2, and it kind of got boring to me after awile.It also comes with the who halo 3 multiplayer, which has all of the maps, even the dlc, from halo 3 plus a new map pack. overall, it's a great game. Expand
  50. MiikaK
    Nov 1, 2009
    1
    Totally one peace on crap. Half of the game u are wasting walking neon-lighted city back and forth, back and forth, back and forth, copy/paste, copy/paste like the game itself. And the other half u are wasting with halo 3 ripped deserts with same pattern (kill all, wait drop ship to bring more turtles and kill them too) every time. I played the hole game with my friend and we have to stop Totally one peace on crap. Half of the game u are wasting walking neon-lighted city back and forth, back and forth, back and forth, copy/paste, copy/paste like the game itself. And the other half u are wasting with halo 3 ripped deserts with same pattern (kill all, wait drop ship to bring more turtles and kill them too) every time. I played the hole game with my friend and we have to stop playing in just 1 hour of play because it just was too boring. The only thing that keep us going was the money spend this peace of crap that some magazines give good points. I wont by any of those magazines anymore. Because reliability is the key thing for critic and without it, u are not a critic at all. There are many many better FPS games to choose like: Left 4 Dead, Fallout 3, Borderlands, Killzone 2, Resistance 1-2, COD 4... Expand
  51. SamB
    Oct 12, 2009
    8
    Great twist to the HALO series . . . and, amazingly, without Master Chief. FIrefight is a hoot of a game mode that keeps me coming back for more. I can think of nothing to make it better. The campaign needs at least two more chapters or the first few "rookie" levels need to be more expansive and require many more fights to reach that mission objective. I believe ODST demands a solid 8.5 Great twist to the HALO series . . . and, amazingly, without Master Chief. FIrefight is a hoot of a game mode that keeps me coming back for more. I can think of nothing to make it better. The campaign needs at least two more chapters or the first few "rookie" levels need to be more expansive and require many more fights to reach that mission objective. I believe ODST demands a solid 8.5 rating. An 'expansion' addon to lengthen the campaign would be welcome and probably bump the rating over the 9 mark. Expand
  52. AD
    Nov 23, 2009
    4
    I have never been a Halo fan, but gave this a try after seeing the awesome live action teaser "We are ODST". This game is crap! Every time I tried to play it, I fell asleep, so I never even finished the game. Ugly graphics, badly animated cutscenes, boring........
  53. AnthonyF
    Nov 8, 2009
    9
    Easily the best Halo game. I actually think it could do without the "choosing your path" thing though, because when you do the missions out of order it makes things confusing; playing it through in a linear fashion makes the story much stronger. The hub world of New Mombassa night could also have been improved, as the "random" Covenant encounters are the same every time you enter an area. Easily the best Halo game. I actually think it could do without the "choosing your path" thing though, because when you do the missions out of order it makes things confusing; playing it through in a linear fashion makes the story much stronger. The hub world of New Mombassa night could also have been improved, as the "random" Covenant encounters are the same every time you enter an area. Exploring New Mombassa only really becomes fun once you get the Mongoose, a reward from the SuperIntendent after completing several missions and finding audio logs. Audio logs are the most interesting collectible in any game I've played, and they tell a story that's even better than that of the game itself. Firefight mode might seem like a rehashed Horde or Nazi Zombies, but ODST makes it more fun, and reorganizes it to make it much more team-oriented. The lack of matchmaking that forces you to play with your friends only reinforces this. Firefight was clearly made for groups of close friends. The only complaint that I have is that if it was made for co-op play with your friends, why wasn't 4-player split-screen included? It seems like something that would be easy to add in, considering it's already available in other multiplayer modes, but it's something that the campaign, which was the base Firefight was built upon, lacks. As well as the main disc, ODST also comes with a second disc carrying Halo 3's complete multiplayer experience, including every map from the Heroic map pack, to Cold Storage, to the second half of the Mythic map pack not released for download. While the Heroic map pack and Cold Storage are free, The Legendary map pack and the first Mythic map pack both fetch a price of 800 microsoft points ($10) on Xbox Live Marketplace. Add in the second half of the Mythic pack and that's $30 worth of maps on the disc. The multiplayer disc also contains Forge and Theater, so nothing is missing from the original Halo 3 disc except for the campaign. I've heard criticism of the length of the campaign. While the campaign is only about seven hours long, there's been little criticism of Modern Warfare 2's campaign, which is approximated at five hours in length, shorter than even Mirror's Edge. I'd like to note that ODST was originally planned as an expansion, and not a full game, and was developed under strict time constraints and a very small budget. On the other hand, Modern Warfare 2 was developed with a much larger budget, by a lot more people, and in a greater amount of time. While I too would like a longer campaign, if the campaign is good (as is the case with ODST, and will no doubt be the case with MW2), it doesn't warrant the amount of criticism that it has been getting. While ODST's campaign may lack in length, it makes up for it in re playability. Offering co-op with up to three other people, many players will play it through once by theirself, and again with friends, likely going back a third time to collect audio logs and get achievements. The biggest flaw in ODST is that it was created using the Halo 3 engine. Not that it could be helped, as it was developed under strict constraints, but the Halo 3 engine is really beginning to show its age, particularly in cutscenes. Characters don't move naturally, and the facial expressions aren't up to par with most other current gen games. While it's not quite as easy to tell in-game, there's still a notable difference between the look of ODST and the other games coming out this year. Overall, I'd say it's worth at least a rent and a single playthrough of the campaign. Unlike the other Halo games, acting is top notch thanks to the crew from Firefly and Tricia Helfer from BSG voicing the main characters. The story itself isn't literary gold, but it's still better than any of the other Halo games. Multiplayer is fun as always, with the addition of Firefight. Halo fans will love it. If you're on the edge, get it, you'll enjoy it. If you hate Halo, you'll probably hate ODST too. Expand
  54. Tahoe
    Dec 10, 2009
    3
    This game should've been an expansion to Halo 3 instead of being a standalone game. There's not enough in this game to make it a $60 game. A short campaign, and the same versus mode, except a new firefight mode, which is essentially the same thing as Gears of War 2's Horde mode. Firefight isn't very innovative, yet it is argued to be the most amazing part of Halo 3: This game should've been an expansion to Halo 3 instead of being a standalone game. There's not enough in this game to make it a $60 game. A short campaign, and the same versus mode, except a new firefight mode, which is essentially the same thing as Gears of War 2's Horde mode. Firefight isn't very innovative, yet it is argued to be the most amazing part of Halo 3: ODST. Aside from these, the game is put into two discs, one for campaign and one for multiplayer? What was the point of this? The campaign isn't so long that it's like Lost Odyssey where it has to be on multiple discs. Halo 3 was a longer and interesting game and shipped in one disc. Why should this game be any different? Disappointment. Expand
  55. TomoH
    Oct 27, 2009
    3
    If this game didn't have HALO in the title, people wouldn't be interested. Played through about half the campaign now, and the story is about as deep as a puddle. Some of the review scores are incredible. There is no new multiplayer, only a couple new maps and a survival mode. Neither of which I'm interested in. Honestly the dialogue takes clichéd military tough guy If this game didn't have HALO in the title, people wouldn't be interested. Played through about half the campaign now, and the story is about as deep as a puddle. Some of the review scores are incredible. There is no new multiplayer, only a couple new maps and a survival mode. Neither of which I'm interested in. Honestly the dialogue takes clichéd military tough guy talk to a new level. It's retarded really. I've served and I'm telling you it's ridiculous. Artistically, it's a darker HALO 3 with a broad cast of nobodies you don't really care about because the game doesn't bother introducing them on a personal level. It's never been more obvious that Microsoft buy their review scores. Really I think this deserves a 70 or a 3 out of 5 stars. There's so little thats new and yet it is being put out there as a stand alone game. If you've played HALO 3 and are desperate for more, go ahead. But if you're looking for a decent shooter, I'd pass on this. Expand
  56. CoreyF.
    Sep 22, 2009
    3
    I'm PISSED! I bought this game for full price and completed the campaign in under 4 hours, what the hell is that. I decided i would try the multiplayer out but was sad to discover that it was essentially the same from Halo 3. 60 dollars for this?!?! Pathetic Bungie, Pathetic.
  57. dayneu.
    Sep 22, 2009
    9
    A great stand alone story ja, packed full of firefly/serenity one-liners
  58. BryanK.
    Sep 22, 2009
    9
    Awesome game. Well worth $60. Anyone who says otherwise is just a hater. Most FPS games are between 5-10 hours for their campaign, and Halo 3 ODST lasts for 6. So its much more than just an expansion.
  59. BenL.
    Sep 22, 2009
    10
    O.D.S.T. brings a whole new aspect to the Halo universe that i'll certainly be enjoying for as while to come.
  60. JordanA.
    Sep 22, 2009
    7
    fun game, not worth 60 bucks... at all. same multiplayer with the same maps ive been playing for 2 years. only 3 new maps. you're basically paying 60 dollars for a new game mode and a mediocre story.
  61. JohnD.
    Sep 22, 2009
    7
    I paid $60 for 6 hours and a buncha multiplayer maps I already paid for in the past? Thanks for getting us Fanboys, M$!
  62. DanH.
    Sep 22, 2009
    10
    Very fun, co-op's a blast, and firefight is nice, too. Will likely be playing it a long time.
  63. RobD.
    Sep 22, 2009
    5
    Shame Bungie trys to milk the Halo cash cow with a bullshit package as this. Aside from the good single player and firefight but with no lobbys b.t.w. the multiplayer is exactly like in Halo 3 except the 3 exclusive maps it comes with the disc wow thanks Bungie $60 bucks really? I say rent it for the single player and maybe firefight and save your money for Call Of Duty Modern Warfare 2 Shame Bungie trys to milk the Halo cash cow with a bullshit package as this. Aside from the good single player and firefight but with no lobbys b.t.w. the multiplayer is exactly like in Halo 3 except the 3 exclusive maps it comes with the disc wow thanks Bungie $60 bucks really? I say rent it for the single player and maybe firefight and save your money for Call Of Duty Modern Warfare 2 in November. Trust me it's not worth it. Expand
  64. ZacharyH.
    Sep 22, 2009
    9
    So i woke up early so i can get to my eb games and pick up my pre order copy of odst with the sgt johnson code. Eb games was open at 8am just so ppl can get there copy of halo. I was skeptikal cause of some of the reviews that i heard saying it was lacking in some areas. Let me tell you there are wrong as far as im concerned. I woke up early and had to work that day and only got 15 mins So i woke up early so i can get to my eb games and pick up my pre order copy of odst with the sgt johnson code. Eb games was open at 8am just so ppl can get there copy of halo. I was skeptikal cause of some of the reviews that i heard saying it was lacking in some areas. Let me tell you there are wrong as far as im concerned. I woke up early and had to work that day and only got 15 mins with firefight and i loved every last second. Then i get home and play through 3 sets of waves and get the 200000 achievement for rally point and oh man it was intense. Expand
  65. GusT
    Sep 22, 2009
    9
    I think Halo 3 ODST is an exceptional title and deserves to be played by everyone who owns a xbox 360. Where it does fall down however is the fact that it is a full release rather than just DLC. This game would have got much better rep had it been just a DLC release . However Bungie have chosen to release it as a full game and it will probably end up hurting their reputation .
  66. charlesc
    Sep 22, 2009
    3
    I have been a loving fan of the Halo franchise since the first game released and I enjoyed every minute of it. That is up until now. This game is utter and complete garbage and I am very dissapointed with myself for having wasted 60 dollars on this crap. I am guessing alot of the creative talent behind the first three games must have left Bungie because playing this game seems like it I have been a loving fan of the Halo franchise since the first game released and I enjoyed every minute of it. That is up until now. This game is utter and complete garbage and I am very dissapointed with myself for having wasted 60 dollars on this crap. I am guessing alot of the creative talent behind the first three games must have left Bungie because playing this game seems like it came from an entry level programmer. Even the opening screen with the backstory behind the current conflict stutters and clips, they couldn't even get that right. sad sad day for me. Expand
  67. MikeS.
    Sep 22, 2009
    0
    Oh man, what a waste of money! This isn't a game! The single player is terrible. I payed $60 for a couple o' multiplayer maps. What the hell!!!

    Honestly, some of these reviews are absolutely hilarious. How do you give this "game" a 9.0 or higher? Shame on IGN and Gamespot especially.
  68. DaveR
    Sep 23, 2009
    4
    I simply can not believe this game is $60. Anyone paying full price for this is not playing w/ a full deck. Do not let blind fanboyism keep you from calling BS. When will the community learn, do not pay fro over hyped, over priced games. That is the only way to get it to stop.
  69. donalm
    Sep 23, 2009
    2
    Expansion pack worth 20 dollars unless you dont have halo 3. this looses lots of marks for that. also no graphic improvement over last 2 years. music is decent and gets it a mark. gameplay is bland and introduces nothing new compared to halo 3 let alone gaming in general. online is halo 3 online. big disappointment.
  70. FrankB
    Sep 23, 2009
    8
    This is a MUST buy for Halo fans. The single-player campaign is simply beautiful, from the mood-enhancing music to the complexity of the story. Firefight is, simply put, one of the best experiences I've had on the 360 yet. It is worth the price of admission alone due to the amount of time anyone who purchases this game will put into it. It quite plainly one-ups anything to like about This is a MUST buy for Halo fans. The single-player campaign is simply beautiful, from the mood-enhancing music to the complexity of the story. Firefight is, simply put, one of the best experiences I've had on the 360 yet. It is worth the price of admission alone due to the amount of time anyone who purchases this game will put into it. It quite plainly one-ups anything to like about Gears 2's horde mode, and throws on skulls and the halo weapons we all know and love, making it a truly unforgettable experience. The graphics do seem to be slightly better than Halo 3, but my only complaint still is the lack of anti-aliasing, which gives this game jaggies comparable to a Wii title. And in addition to this, it has every single Halo 3 Multiplayer map and feature released thus far, making it a must buy for not only Halo fans, but people who just need a good multiplayer experience. Had I not played Halo 3 prior to ODST, I feel as though the inclusion of all the DLC would make the game much more worth the 60$. Honestly, 40$ worth of MP Maps, Firefight mode, and a short, but brilliant campaign with solo or co-op? Anyone who thinks the game isn't worth 60$ is simply not looking at the facts. Expand
  71. jasong
    Sep 23, 2009
    8
    I did enjoy this title even though im not a big halo fan.i thought the story had more depth and was more interesting than halo three 2 major cripes the graphics now are looking a bit dated these days,you can only play firefight with people on your friends list not with random players apart from that good fun but please bungie sort out a patch so everyone can matchmake in firefight.
  72. EmeryC
    Sep 23, 2009
    9
    To me this game is in the high eights so without granularity I'm going to round it to a nine. It;s fun to play. The plot doesn't work for me and the music is not what I expected but the game is atmospheric and fun to play. The Value issue many are docking the game for seems a bit forced to me in light of the widespread acceptance ofother games with short campaigns such as Left 4 To me this game is in the high eights so without granularity I'm going to round it to a nine. It;s fun to play. The plot doesn't work for me and the music is not what I expected but the game is atmospheric and fun to play. The Value issue many are docking the game for seems a bit forced to me in light of the widespread acceptance ofother games with short campaigns such as Left 4 Dead or RE:5. It was worth the $60 for me. Expand
  73. olic
    Sep 23, 2009
    9
    Personnaly, i found that the begining is pretty weak when you are walking long long time for nothing, but if you play all the game to the end you will get epic battle in the last mission. that part of the game i think is the reasons why to buy it or download it. xD
  74. DudeAges
    Sep 23, 2009
    10
    This is my favorite Halo game so far. Beat all the other FPS games on the market. The single player is epic and Firefight is worth $60 all by it self. Buy it NOW!
  75. JohnP.
    Sep 24, 2009
    1
    Delicately rich, balanced but gracefully intense. High-toned aroma with nut and a hint of pungent cedar. Richly tart, opulent acidity; full, lightly syrupy mouthfeel. Disappointingly brilliant!
  76. JohnP.
    Sep 24, 2009
    10
    This game is awesome! Anyone that beat this in 4 hours must have run through on easy. it took me at least 7 or 8, and thats just a basic run through on heroic. I would have given it and 8 or 9, but someone has to offset all the spammers that gave it a 0. They have been advertising for months the multiplayer was going to be the same, research people!
  77. TewaD
    Sep 24, 2009
    5
    What a letdown! I am a true fan of Halo from the first one and have been looking forward to this game for months. From bad lighting and small map to cheesy cut scenes and bad graphics, I felt like I was playing N64 again. Bungie strayed way too far from its roots and Halo 1 and turned the game into a real disappointment. Save your money and rent before you play.
  78. DanF
    Sep 24, 2009
    8
    While I understand the griping about the 5-7 hour campaign, that doesn't make this a "bad" game. The gameplay is solid, graphics are on par with othe Halo titles, and multiplayer is outstanding as usual. If the campaign was about doubled in size I'd be a lot more favorable but overall it's a solid game. and it comes with an invite for the Halo Reach Beta tesing. Cant wait.
  79. MichaelW.
    Sep 24, 2009
    10
    This is a great game and I recommend it to everybody. The new characters are awesome, the music is magnificent, and the whole campaign is just amazing. Not to mention firefight. Firefight is an addictive multiplayer experience that beats Gears horde mode every time (yeah, I said it). When you play ODST, you can see the time and care that Bungie takes puts into their games. This game has This is a great game and I recommend it to everybody. The new characters are awesome, the music is magnificent, and the whole campaign is just amazing. Not to mention firefight. Firefight is an addictive multiplayer experience that beats Gears horde mode every time (yeah, I said it). When you play ODST, you can see the time and care that Bungie takes puts into their games. This game has turned out to be everything I expected and more. I'm giving Halo 3: ODST a 10 out of 10. It is an amazing game and once again, Bungie, you've outdone yourself. Good Job. Keep It Clean. Expand
  80. RileyR
    Sep 25, 2009
    8
    Very fun campaign mode, albeit a little short. Not having shields and regenerating health adds a whole new mix to the game. Firefight is the real bread and butter, and is a blast. I'm just a little upset that it has to be done on your friends list and not match making. Now for all the people who complain about it not being a full game, there's a second DVD including all of the Very fun campaign mode, albeit a little short. Not having shields and regenerating health adds a whole new mix to the game. Firefight is the real bread and butter, and is a blast. I'm just a little upset that it has to be done on your friends list and not match making. Now for all the people who complain about it not being a full game, there's a second DVD including all of the Halo 3 multiplayer including all the map expansions. That's a hell of a lot more than you get in most FPS shooters these days. Expand
  81. EthanL
    Sep 25, 2009
    9
    The campaign mode is a little short if you blow through it on easy, or normal like a lot of people have. If you play on heroic or higher it gives it a little more depth. The actual feeling of being alone in the dark city is a very cool feelings, and the music really helps to set that tone. Don't expect this game to blow your mind away with crazy intense scenes, even the opening scene The campaign mode is a little short if you blow through it on easy, or normal like a lot of people have. If you play on heroic or higher it gives it a little more depth. The actual feeling of being alone in the dark city is a very cool feelings, and the music really helps to set that tone. Don't expect this game to blow your mind away with crazy intense scenes, even the opening scene to me wasn't impressive in that way. The style of not being the master chief is shown off very well by the atmosphere, and the smaller scale of the fights. The audio files, while not really engaging at first (but are awesome as they go on), are a very nice touch and add to the atmosphere of the game. The ending was pretty bland, but the game leading up to it was really good. Firefight is hands down amazing, and the only faults I could find was the lack of matchmaking. Even though that problem is actually only minor if you have friends on live or in real life to play with. It's not a perfect game, it has a few medium sized flaws, but the briliance of the things Bungie got right makes up for it. Firefight will blow your socks off, and should leave you wanting more maps. Campaign, if played in the right mindset should really feel..charming after you're done. Expand
  82. ChristopherB.
    Sep 25, 2009
    9
    Overall the campaign was done really well. It added some new elements to the story and the whole game took place on earth. The firefight addition was great but I wish bungie had a matchmaking feature to it like in gears 2. I was also hoping that the multiplayer mode would not be halo 3 but more ODST style with some new maps exculsive to ODST.
  83. matthewt
    Sep 26, 2009
    0
    This game is horrible . 2007 graphics , online is exacly the same as halo 3. 2 new weapons, 3 new maps and a new mode (firefight) for 60 buck. very dissapointing. if anyone is thinking of buying this may god have mercy on your soul. in conclusion halo 3 odst is halo 3 with 2 new weapons,3 new maps and a new mode AMEN
  84. GregorO.
    Sep 27, 2009
    9
    This is a really good game, I got mine for roughly 40$, for anyone worrying about the short campaign, play it the way it was meant to be played, on Legendary, it takes the game to a whole new level. For me, the deal was Campaign, Firefight and 3 new maps, and for 40 bucks, it's well worth it for me. However I do not think this is worth 60$ for the veteran halo player. But otherwise, This is a really good game, I got mine for roughly 40$, for anyone worrying about the short campaign, play it the way it was meant to be played, on Legendary, it takes the game to a whole new level. For me, the deal was Campaign, Firefight and 3 new maps, and for 40 bucks, it's well worth it for me. However I do not think this is worth 60$ for the veteran halo player. But otherwise, it's a great game. Expand
  85. KeithR
    Sep 28, 2009
    5
    Why it sucks- campaign sucks, way to short, no new guns, stealth gameplay my ass, perfect enemy snipers, to much walking, no vehicles exept mongooses and SOMETIMES a ghost, price why it rocks- visor is pretty cool, flashback missions are pretty good, FIREFIGHT
  86. DavidC
    Sep 28, 2009
    10
    Oh man. This game is pure awesomeness. Even though I'm a bit disappointed beacuse they're the same maps as halo 3, I still think this is a good continuation to the game. Firefight is so downright fun and the campaign and music are excellent. While there's many people who are not happy with the proce tag, guys,... ITS A WHOLE NOTHER DEAL.
  87. NathanielJ.
    Sep 29, 2009
    6
    + actual characters, not just Jon everyman the stereotypical action hero and a supporting cast of fodder. + actual character development, which is refreshing considering the brevity of the story + the story is better told than any previous halo game and the contrast between night and day gameplay is wonderful + music is quite different from other halo games, but stands in in own right + + actual characters, not just Jon everyman the stereotypical action hero and a supporting cast of fodder. + actual character development, which is refreshing considering the brevity of the story + the story is better told than any previous halo game and the contrast between night and day gameplay is wonderful + music is quite different from other halo games, but stands in in own right + broader color palette than previous Halo games + enhanced vision is fun and useful and makes it so you can see -- you have to use the enhanced vision most of the time because everything is either black as pitch or blooming light out it's rectum - a better palette doesn't count when I spend the entire game in enhanced vision A) because I can't see otherwise and B) because there's no reason to ever turn it off! - auto-unzoom when you get hit I can understand, auto-stand I cannot however forgive. I do not wish to emulate the moronic AI, which flinches into full exposure when you nick their shoulder thanks. + quality time with the fuel rod gun and other lesser utilized weapons and vehicles - can't jack jack (no wraiths for you!) -- No firefight matchmaking, seriously?! I mean they ripped off horde from Gears and didn't think to rip off the public live option too? -- brutes are still the most annoying and uncompelling race/enemy in halo, I want to go back to fighting elites in halo 2 - buggers got tougher and are still annoy and unrewarding as well -- the story is however completely uncompelling and ultimately feels quite meaningless at the end of the game, sadly most fans won't notice or care. - story is VERY short and overall content is very limited ? it comes with a map pack, but that's more like bonus content than something the game itself should be rated on ODST is most assuredely NOT a standalone game and should not have been priced as one. It should've been moderately priced DLC (about $10-20 depending on whether or not the maps came with it), not an overpriced standalone (albeit not full price) game. It was worth a play through, but I honestly can't say I'm compelled to do much else and will readily give it up when my rental runs out. I greatly thanked the friend who convinced me to rent this one before buying it, which is about what the game is worth paying to play. A decent rental, but not a good purchase. Expand
  88. GaryL
    Dec 21, 2009
    3
    $60 game, 5 hours of campaign, new Gears of War rip-off multiplayer mode you can only play with your friends, and the same multiplayer you probably have because chances are if you are buying this game you already have Halo 3. This doesn't add up to a good game to me. The new campaign is barely different from other Halo games in terms of gameplay and the story seemed to be written by $60 game, 5 hours of campaign, new Gears of War rip-off multiplayer mode you can only play with your friends, and the same multiplayer you probably have because chances are if you are buying this game you already have Halo 3. This doesn't add up to a good game to me. The new campaign is barely different from other Halo games in terms of gameplay and the story seemed to be written by a 7th grader. The audio logs you can go collect around the city have the most nonsensical and embarrassing dialogue I have ever heard in a game series of this caliber. This is a bad game at a high price. Expand
  89. Aug 12, 2010
    8
    A very good, enjoyable campaign. Though my only complaint is that the campaign is a bit short and is the difficulty equals that of Halo 2 if you decide to play it by yourself ;D . The campaign is very well done, but its not really a game that you would pop in your Xbox just to play. It does however come with the Halo 3 multiplayer disk with all the DLC included. Overall, not a bad deal ifA very good, enjoyable campaign. Though my only complaint is that the campaign is a bit short and is the difficulty equals that of Halo 2 if you decide to play it by yourself ;D . The campaign is very well done, but its not really a game that you would pop in your Xbox just to play. It does however come with the Halo 3 multiplayer disk with all the DLC included. Overall, not a bad deal if its your first time buying a halo game. Expand
  90. Aug 22, 2010
    7
    Halo 3:ODST was different from other halo games. Over the game you were forced to travel to your mission by walking throught the dark city of new mombasa. Sometimes i would get lost. It probably took me 45 minutes to get to the first mission cause it took that long to get used too. How ever the campaign was fun and still play it from time to time.How ever it was short. Firefight is fun butHalo 3:ODST was different from other halo games. Over the game you were forced to travel to your mission by walking throught the dark city of new mombasa. Sometimes i would get lost. It probably took me 45 minutes to get to the first mission cause it took that long to get used too. How ever the campaign was fun and still play it from time to time.How ever it was short. Firefight is fun but it is hard to get someone to play with online. This game should have been an add on instead of a full priced game. I give halo 3:ODST a 7.5 out of 10.

    Review9
    Expand
  91. esp
    Sep 6, 2010
    4
    Perhaps Halo just isn't my thing, but this game is just dumb. The annoying childlike aliens, the (very) weak attempts at humor, the vague and contradictory mission objectives -- I played the first two missions and sold it back to the shop where I'd gotten it. There are many ways to get one's FPS fix, and this just didn't do it for me.
  92. Sep 24, 2010
    10
    As MikeW put it "The ruined Mombasa that you play for most of the game as the rookie is very dull and lifeless." Duh. It's supposed to. Anyway, The game brings back some features from Halo: Combat Evolved, such as the health system and the ability of dual wielding is absent. The music is great and sets the tone of the game. While Firefight is not matchmaking, it is great to play withAs MikeW put it "The ruined Mombasa that you play for most of the game as the rookie is very dull and lifeless." Duh. It's supposed to. Anyway, The game brings back some features from Halo: Combat Evolved, such as the health system and the ability of dual wielding is absent. The music is great and sets the tone of the game. While Firefight is not matchmaking, it is great to play with friends and is an excellent addition to the franchise.Also, be sure to visit Bungie.net and get your Halo 3: ODST nameplate for Halo: Reach! Expand
  93. Sep 25, 2010
    5
    This game isn't the worst ever, but it certainly is not a Ã
  94. Sep 29, 2010
    9
    Halo 3: ODST is little more than an expansion pack. But where there isn't a rethought mutliplayer component that pushes the series forward, there is a stellar story told through a scope that is brand new to Halo and will really please fans that are wanting to answer the question "why am I doing this?" as they progress through the campaign. The only real new face in ODST besides theHalo 3: ODST is little more than an expansion pack. But where there isn't a rethought mutliplayer component that pushes the series forward, there is a stellar story told through a scope that is brand new to Halo and will really please fans that are wanting to answer the question "why am I doing this?" as they progress through the campaign. The only real new face in ODST besides the obvious 6-8 hour campaign portion is the intriguing Firefight mode that brings up to 4 players together to fight off massive waves of Covenant soldiers & vehicles. This mode is reminiscent of Gear of War 2's "Horde" mode and will give friends something great to enjoy while playing with up to 3 other friends. But other than that, you're looking at minimal changes to what has been a solid formula up to this point. Though adding in great voice acting from the likes of Nathan Fillion certainly pushes the game into believable AND captivating territory. If you were hoping for something big, new, and a step up graphically... well you'll only get a little of each. Though running around, guns blazing, has never been so cool. Expand
  95. Oct 7, 2010
    8
    Halo 3 ODST has seen mixed reaction from Halo fans due to a short campaign and an "invite only" multiplayer gametype. The game, despite short, has a great atmosphere and music. This isn't an action first person shooter, this is more of a mystery / crime thriller game where you investigate what happened to your teammates through objects found on the city. Firefight is a great addition toHalo 3 ODST has seen mixed reaction from Halo fans due to a short campaign and an "invite only" multiplayer gametype. The game, despite short, has a great atmosphere and music. This isn't an action first person shooter, this is more of a mystery / crime thriller game where you investigate what happened to your teammates through objects found on the city. Firefight is a great addition to the Halo series and it's addictive, sadly there are only a few maps and there are like only 2 or 3 that are enjoyable and really fun. A must buy for REAL Halo fans, it's been a year anyways, it's now for $30 USD or less and contains Halo 3 multiplayer maps on a second disc. Expand
  96. Oct 16, 2010
    4
    Halo 3 ODST is by far the worst Halo game. The story is boring, there isnt really anything new about the game, exept the firefight mode,the game is short, the characters are stupid and the campaign totally sucks.This game should have been just a DLC for Halo 3, nothing more.
  97. Apr 30, 2013
    4
    This review in a word AWFUL
    Okay so Halo fans are likely to love this game but it really is nothing new. there is no new ground covered in this game and it simply feels like a cash in. The Game is a side story to the plot of Halo 3. This time instead of being the Master Chief you are a band of UNSC soldiers who crash and lose one another. The game is then about finding one another. Often
    This review in a word AWFUL
    Okay so Halo fans are likely to love this game but it really is nothing new. there is no new ground covered in this game and it simply feels like a cash in. The Game is a side story to the plot of Halo 3. This time instead of being the Master Chief you are a band of UNSC soldiers who crash and lose one another. The game is then about finding one another. Often you end a story arch by finding something of a team mates at the end of the level. Then you switch to that person and play their story. the thing is that I did not care. I never felt any form of bond with the characters or really care what they are going through. There was just nothing that made me feel this was worthy of a retail release. If this had been an expansion of Halo 3 it may just have been passable. Bungie just feel lazy. They have the same enemies in the same linear environments where you walk from A to B and then back to A. I breezed through the game on Legendary mainly due to indestructible team mates (AI) who are unbelievably good on turrets. I kept seeing my team mate run into a horde of Elites and be battered to hell and still be there 5 minutes later taking the beating. It was incredible and not in a good way. If you are a fan of the series then you will play this for that reason. If you are not that much of a fan and really still want to look at it then get it VERY VERY cheap else you will feel ripped off.
    Expand
  98. Dec 11, 2010
    8
    Not as good as Halo 3 but it is and expansion after all. Campaign is still as great is ever but is now getting too short. Like the idea of new vulnerability, not being a spartan anymore, and the return of zooming magnum is nice. Firefight is kl but it is kind of laggy and there's no olnine, only friend co-op =(. The audio files r sweet tho and the campaign has a lot of hidden easter eggsNot as good as Halo 3 but it is and expansion after all. Campaign is still as great is ever but is now getting too short. Like the idea of new vulnerability, not being a spartan anymore, and the return of zooming magnum is nice. Firefight is kl but it is kind of laggy and there's no olnine, only friend co-op =(. The audio files r sweet tho and the campaign has a lot of hidden easter eggs so keep an eye out. Unfortunately gun-play doesn't feel as good as before, but too me thats actually just the smg and magnum and not any other gun really, for others its virtually unnoticeable. The new DLC and Reach beta inclusion was great but... Why am i paying for some DLC I've already bought. Negative points aside, a great game but notas good as others in the series, and I recommend you play the other Halo's first. Expand
  99. Feb 16, 2011
    10
    The graphic are Horrible ! The monster are **** ! The characters are (comment on dit un travelo ?), the story is whoring. The Game-play is moisi... ODST Is a **** game which is good and pourri.
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 94 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 94
  2. Negative: 1 out of 94
  1. The bottom line here is that this is a nice little piece of Halo, and that anyone who has ever enjoyed Halo will probably enjoy this too. The only question is how much it is worth to you. As a full priced stand-alone game, its value is somewhat dubious.
  2. Not only an add-on! This is better than many of the main games! Next to the single player, you also get a great multiplayer mode. You just cannot do wrong if you buy this game!
  3. Halo 3: ODST is an excellent add-on campaign for Halo 3, and one which all Halo fans should own.