Halo 3: ODST Xbox 360

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1180 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JoradT
    Sep 23, 2009
    6
    When are people going to realise that this is just the SAME game from two years ago just with a couple of new maps in multiplayer and a different (shorter campaign). It's ridiculous that Bungie are charging $60 for this. There are a few very good aspects (such as firefight which is AWESOME) but apart from that it's really not worth it at all. Worst value package ever.
  2. Apr 22, 2011
    6
    Halo 3 ODST is a decent game on it's own, but with the full Halo 3 multi-player experience packaged with it, it makes this an awesome deal. The campaign is interesting, with varied locations and classic Halo battles with the Covenant; although you don't play as Master Cheif, it doesn't detract from the experience. Firefight is a good addition, but the ability to go on Xbox LIVE would haveHalo 3 ODST is a decent game on it's own, but with the full Halo 3 multi-player experience packaged with it, it makes this an awesome deal. The campaign is interesting, with varied locations and classic Halo battles with the Covenant; although you don't play as Master Cheif, it doesn't detract from the experience. Firefight is a good addition, but the ability to go on Xbox LIVE would have made it much more interesting. Nonetheless, it is fun whether you go it alone or with some friends. Expand
  3. Oct 20, 2015
    7
    This had great potential that was not taken advantage of. Felt like more of an add on for halo 3 than its own game. The open world aspect could have been cool but was too dark, too empty, and too lonely to be much fun
  4. Jul 24, 2011
    6
    This is the worst Halo game in the series yet. To me most of the things are recycled content, and that's probably because the guys at Bungie are to lazy to add new content. The multiplayer is totally recycled, and that pissed me off. The campaign is not that good also, and I was especially much more pissed when a glitch in the game made me start all over again. The only good thing in thisThis is the worst Halo game in the series yet. To me most of the things are recycled content, and that's probably because the guys at Bungie are to lazy to add new content. The multiplayer is totally recycled, and that pissed me off. The campaign is not that good also, and I was especially much more pissed when a glitch in the game made me start all over again. The only good thing in this game, i would say, is the firefight mode. Besides that, not really a game worth getting. Expand
  5. Aug 29, 2010
    7
    i played through the campaign once, never played that again. Not because it was bad, it was just that there was really no reason to go back and play it again. The firefight mode is a very good mode where you fight waves and waves of enemies until you run out of lives. The downside is that there is no matchmaking for firefight. You are stuck playing either locally with 2 people or 4 playersi played through the campaign once, never played that again. Not because it was bad, it was just that there was really no reason to go back and play it again. The firefight mode is a very good mode where you fight waves and waves of enemies until you run out of lives. The downside is that there is no matchmaking for firefight. You are stuck playing either locally with 2 people or 4 players online. it is still fun but should have been tweaked before release. Expand
  6. KP
    Oct 3, 2009
    5
    I'm pretty disappointed in this one. I disagree with some of the other comments. To me it feels obvious that Bungie cut corners on this game....from the game play to the graphics to the voice acting. I think the voice acting is terrible on this one. My biggest complaint is the lighting. When it's dark out and you are forced to used your VD vision or whatever it's I'm pretty disappointed in this one. I disagree with some of the other comments. To me it feels obvious that Bungie cut corners on this game....from the game play to the graphics to the voice acting. I think the voice acting is terrible on this one. My biggest complaint is the lighting. When it's dark out and you are forced to used your VD vision or whatever it's called...it just makes it an unpleasant gaming experience. I found myself constantly messing with the brightness adjustments to no avail. No matter what I did to adjust I found the game either too dark or too bright. Granted I haven't gotten into Firefight mode, but as far as the campaign, I'd rather replay any Halo game than play this. A Halo game this is not. Expand
  7. GavinM
    Jan 2, 2010
    6
    Halo 3 :ODST is a serviceable game, it doesn't do anything new or isn't exactly memorable, but is an enjoyable game when you don't take in the Halo name or the hype buildup. If it wasn't a Halo game though, it would wash away in the sea of better games that came in the fourth quarter of this year.
  8. thedude
    Mar 23, 2010
    5
    Hugely disappointing. Most of the content is content that most Halo fans have already paid for, since the main multiplayer is Halo 3's multiplayer. Tacked on you get Firefight mode which will get old fairly fast. The only other new content is the super-short campaign(around 6 hours long). There were a lot of great games last year(mw2, l4d2, gh5, borderlands, arkham asylum). Compared Hugely disappointing. Most of the content is content that most Halo fans have already paid for, since the main multiplayer is Halo 3's multiplayer. Tacked on you get Firefight mode which will get old fairly fast. The only other new content is the super-short campaign(around 6 hours long). There were a lot of great games last year(mw2, l4d2, gh5, borderlands, arkham asylum). Compared to those, this game was a terrible waste of money. Expand
  9. Sep 21, 2012
    5
    For me this game is not up to par with those that came before it. Running around trying to find beacons gets repetitive early on, as well as the level design being used over and over again - like earlier Halo games. The storyline change is what happens when the developer has finished and closed a trilogy, yet the fans want more - and so they had to come up with an alternate storyline. TheFor me this game is not up to par with those that came before it. Running around trying to find beacons gets repetitive early on, as well as the level design being used over and over again - like earlier Halo games. The storyline change is what happens when the developer has finished and closed a trilogy, yet the fans want more - and so they had to come up with an alternate storyline. The narrative certainly is, for the most part, what separates this game from the others - unfortunately though I didn't find it very engaging and otherwise the game doesn't add anything that wasn't already there in past titles. I also found the presentation to be too dark at times, and the hud takes up too much of the screen. In addition I found the gameplay to become too repetitive. Upon trying to play through the Halo games chronologically, I have hardly seen any new opponents or breakthrough gameplay elements since the original Halo. It was decent fun at certain moments, I'll give it that - though sadly my optimism for this game just isn't anything more than that. Expand
  10. Aug 12, 2010
    5
    I was extremely dissapointed in odst. Honestly i think that odst should have stayed as an expansion. I wasted 60 dollars on a 5 hour game. IT was a rundown version of halo 3. The only good thing about the game was that it came with the extra halo multiplayer disc. I was really excited for firefight and you cant even use it in matchmaking
    none of my friends had the game so i was stuck
    I was extremely dissapointed in odst. Honestly i think that odst should have stayed as an expansion. I wasted 60 dollars on a 5 hour game. IT was a rundown version of halo 3. The only good thing about the game was that it came with the extra halo multiplayer disc. I was really excited for firefight and you cant even use it in matchmaking
    none of my friends had the game so i was stuck playing it by myself and its not fun. The free roam wasnt even free roam. It was run from point a to point b. The gameplay was exactly the same as original halo. The dificulty was not that hard at all. The game itself is ok but for 60 dollars its not worth it at all. Mabye for 40 but thats a mabye
    Expand
  11. Nov 15, 2011
    5
    So heavily recycled from Halo 3 its like playing a modded version of it when you put in ODST. The only good things about ODST are the addition of firefight and the bonus disc that gives you all the halo 3 maps for free.
  12. Oct 28, 2011
    6
    This is a really hard game to want to play because it's nothing more than a four hour dlc pack. Granted I didn't pay the original $60 for this, more like $25, but it still didn't draw me into the game to enjoy it. What's my motivation here? To fight a battle that took place just prior to Halo 3? Wander streets as an underpowered ODST trooper and unfold an irrelevent story? It'sThis is a really hard game to want to play because it's nothing more than a four hour dlc pack. Granted I didn't pay the original $60 for this, more like $25, but it still didn't draw me into the game to enjoy it. What's my motivation here? To fight a battle that took place just prior to Halo 3? Wander streets as an underpowered ODST trooper and unfold an irrelevent story? It's basically boring. Expand
  13. Jan 7, 2012
    5
    I hope Microsoft is listening. You can't sell 4 hours of content, and a new multiplayer mode as a full game!!! The game was meant to be an expansion pack for Halo 3, hence the name Halo 3: ODST, so who's idea was it at Bungie, or Microsoft to sell this game as an independent title?!?!?
    The game play is similar to the other Halo titles. You kill aliens, to be frank. This time around you get
    I hope Microsoft is listening. You can't sell 4 hours of content, and a new multiplayer mode as a full game!!! The game was meant to be an expansion pack for Halo 3, hence the name Halo 3: ODST, so who's idea was it at Bungie, or Microsoft to sell this game as an independent title?!?!?
    The game play is similar to the other Halo titles. You kill aliens, to be frank. This time around you get a few new guns, and a vision mode that highlights enemies. Does that sound like it deserves to be a full purchase? No. But wait there is also a new multiplayer mode called Firefight, where you, and up to three friends fight in a survival type of mode where endless hordes of enemies will attack, and you have to fight them off. Aside from that, and a tacked on single player, the multiplayer is the exact same, without the new guns. Simply put, its one game mode, a short and tacked on single player, and the old Halo 3 multiplayer without any chances. I haven't left anything out at this point. I've said everything that Halo 3:ODST has to offer. So if that's all that was added why did the game set sold as a full price game rather then DLC? I'll tell you why. It's because some executive at Microsoft who figured they weren't making enough money said so that's why. This game is nothing new at all, it's just a recycled Halo 3. This game should not in anyway be praised.
    If this would have been released at DLC it would warrant a better score such as a 6, maybe 7. However, because of the price tag, I have to deduct points from it. The game doesn't deserve anything else other then a 5, because it simply isn't enough to get a better score when you have to pay full price for it.
    Shame on you Microsoft, shame on you Bungie, shame on you Halo fan boys who would be willing to cough up $60 for this trash at launch.
    Expand
  14. Feb 8, 2016
    7
    If you are a Halo fan, then do not buy this game, wait for Halo Reach to come out, please don't buy this. Halo 3 ODST is not worth 60$ or 40$ or even 20$. ODST is an obvious cash grab to unsuspecting Halo fans like me. The game would be totally fine if it was DLC, for 5$ or 10$. ODST is a great expansion, but a terrible standalone game, save your money and wait for Reach to come out, orIf you are a Halo fan, then do not buy this game, wait for Halo Reach to come out, please don't buy this. Halo 3 ODST is not worth 60$ or 40$ or even 20$. ODST is an obvious cash grab to unsuspecting Halo fans like me. The game would be totally fine if it was DLC, for 5$ or 10$. ODST is a great expansion, but a terrible standalone game, save your money and wait for Reach to come out, or wait until the price gets lower. Expand
  15. DerekF
    Sep 22, 2009
    6
    This is a fun game, but ultimately an overpriced expansion pack. Good value at $30, reasonable at $40, but not worth $60. The campaign only takes about 4 hours to complete and there is no matchmaking in firefight. Any halo fan would most likely have already purchased halo 3 and the map packs, so there is not much value for the majority of fans.
  16. ArminZ.
    Sep 22, 2009
    7
    Halo: ODST is a great experience while it lasts. This is not to be confused with the statement that it is a great game. If you are a diehard fan of the franchise then you most likely will look past the stagnation and lack of evolution in the series and disregard the fact that this is, by far, the worst game in the series. The graphics are suitable, but the Halo 3 graphics engine Halo: ODST is a great experience while it lasts. This is not to be confused with the statement that it is a great game. If you are a diehard fan of the franchise then you most likely will look past the stagnation and lack of evolution in the series and disregard the fact that this is, by far, the worst game in the series. The graphics are suitable, but the Halo 3 graphics engine wasn't even breathtaking when Halo 3 was released. Three years later the engine is in dire need of a rebuild. With games akin to Mass Effect 2 (on the horizon) MGS4, Gears of War 2 and (especially) Uncharted 2: Among Thieves - there is absolutely no excuse for a AAA title of this magnitude to be as lackluster graphically as ODST is. The sound design is commendable and the campaign is where ODST could have been a stellar title. The problem is, it will only take people 5-6 hours to beat on Lengendary. In such a short amount of time, Bungie was unable to fully develop the characters and really give the narrative any actual meat which could have added to the mythos of the Halo universe. The multiplayer is essentially the same as Halo 3 and, as such, does nothing but bring the overall score down (once again for stagnating). The pistol is back, which is fantastic, but it should have never been removed. The three new maps are about status quo for the series. all in all, the only thing that pushes the series forward is Firefight. You'll hear plenty of people discussing whether or not this title is an expansion or not. If reviewers are to judge it as an expansion, then it is almost as good as GTA: Lost and the Damned - almost, but for three times the cost. If a reviewer is to consider the game as an actual sequel/prequel (thereby attempting to justify the $60 asking price, sadly, the game doesn't offer enough. Halo: ODST is worth playing, it really is. The only caveat is that you should wait a year or so until the price drops to where it should have been in the first place. Expand
  17. DavidL.
    Sep 25, 2009
    6
    Firefight is a novel idea, however quickly gets extremely repetitive and boring. I'm surprised a broader selection of vehicles and weapons were not included. Let's face it, fighting against a computer is only so fun for so long when your using the same boring default weapons. Biggest Flaw: No matchmaking in firefight. The campaign was short with Co-op, but that's nothing Firefight is a novel idea, however quickly gets extremely repetitive and boring. I'm surprised a broader selection of vehicles and weapons were not included. Let's face it, fighting against a computer is only so fun for so long when your using the same boring default weapons. Biggest Flaw: No matchmaking in firefight. The campaign was short with Co-op, but that's nothing new. Lastly, this IS an expansion pack, nothing more. The maps included do not warrant a $60 price tag, as anyone who still plays Halo 3 already own all of the maps. Let's get real here, if it wasn't for the Reach Beta, ODST would not be a full-game priced expansion pack. Period. Expand
  18. JackS
    Feb 8, 2010
    5
    The game is SO boring and definitely not worth the money. Bungie tried to apply an open world to the Halo series, but failed miserably. As the cookie cutter protagonist that is the Rookie (promising young rookie, never speaks, where have we seen this before? Oh, yea: EVERYWHERE), you travel the bleak, depressing city of a destroyed New Mombasa. There is WAY too much walking, and to top it The game is SO boring and definitely not worth the money. Bungie tried to apply an open world to the Halo series, but failed miserably. As the cookie cutter protagonist that is the Rookie (promising young rookie, never speaks, where have we seen this before? Oh, yea: EVERYWHERE), you travel the bleak, depressing city of a destroyed New Mombasa. There is WAY too much walking, and to top it off, the scenery is bland and uninspired. Everything looks the same in New Mombasa, and worst of all, there are few fights in between objectives, and when you do enter a fight, it's so small and easy that it's nothing worth remembering. The Rookie is trying to find his squadmates who dropped into New Mombasa as well. Upon discovering their remains, you enter standard linear Halo levels, playing as the character you discover up until their crash. This concept seems to be the only thing original about this game. The linear Halo levels aren't completely terrible, but it's nothing worth remembering. The graphics in the game are the same as those in Halo 3, which is a 2007 game. This game came out in 2009. It seems like Bungie just added a bit of blur, but no major polish. Firefight is also boring. A lot of people seem to love it, but I absolutely hate it. The regular multiplayer is fun, but it's Halo 3's multiplayer with every map pack, so I can't credit any of that to ODST. People may tell you that this game is an expansion, but it's not. If it is the same price as a full game, then guess what? It's a full game. If I were you, I'd wait until this game dropped to $30-$40. Otherwise, it's cheaper to buy Halo 3 and every map pack separately, and will definitely leave you with a better experience. Expand
  19. AGLion
    Oct 10, 2009
    7
    The campaign was short and started to get repetitive, but it kept bringing me back with its really cool side story and its awesome music. Firefight is both awesome and innovative, with the skulls being activated after every round keep the game flowing pretty well and adding a new aspect to survival game modes. Despite the bad campaign, I found that it met the $60 price tag with its The campaign was short and started to get repetitive, but it kept bringing me back with its really cool side story and its awesome music. Firefight is both awesome and innovative, with the skulls being activated after every round keep the game flowing pretty well and adding a new aspect to survival game modes. Despite the bad campaign, I found that it met the $60 price tag with its firefight mode, and it's still keeping me occupied. Expand
  20. JimboH
    Oct 15, 2009
    7
    It has been a very long time since I've wandered a level for 40 minutes, searching the same places, riding along the edges of the map, and having no clue where to go. This describes the very first level I played on ODST. Eventually, some bad guys showed up who weren't there before, and suddenly I got a hint that told me to push the d-pad... for another hint. Since I am an expert It has been a very long time since I've wandered a level for 40 minutes, searching the same places, riding along the edges of the map, and having no clue where to go. This describes the very first level I played on ODST. Eventually, some bad guys showed up who weren't there before, and suddenly I got a hint that told me to push the d-pad... for another hint. Since I am an expert gamer, this kind of experience is ridiculous in AAA title. This also describes the "rookie" missions in the game, in particular the very first mission, and the third "rookie" mission. I dont understand the logic in "lets let the player wander with no idea what they are supposed to be doing". The rest of the game is more halo 3. There is in particular a part of the game where you collect audio clips and can view a slide show that plays with it. The voice acting was pretty bad, like Reading Rainbow children's book bad. You'd think Microsoft could find an aisan lady who actually sounds naturally asian and not phony stereotype cartoon character asian. The plot of the game seems irrelevant to the big picture (thus far). I was hoping it would explain Halo 3's quizzical beginning and fill in for what the kaput movie was supposed to explain, but it doesn't. At all. By itself though, its not a bad plot. Best part is that there's no AI chick who freezes your view and controls and nags you for abandoning her (for which you have no idea what she was talking about nor do you care). The size of the game is well suited for a rental; beat it on legendary on day 6 of my 7 day rental period, spending 1 - 3 hours a day on it. Firefight, while interesting, isn't worth 60 bucks, especially if you don't have any friends who also have this game. There's no matchmaking for it. The "par" score seems rather high as well. I got a 4,000 something score on my first try, after playing for over 20 minutes. The par was 200,000. Expand
  21. ClintK
    Dec 2, 2009
    6
    The Halo campaign though fun, had way too few enemies, challenges, and far too much repetitiveness and the game was too short. The firefight is the highlight and easily the most fun we had. Not having a Halo 3:ODST Multplayer is a total cop out job. I would have loved to have played ODST Multiplayer with a visor and no health recharge, but alas what a disappointment on that portion.
  22. jacob
    Oct 25, 2009
    5
    the story line was too short, and always being interrupted by long and unnecessary bits of walking around and looking for the smallest most inanimate object that triggers a flashback. the online game play is good but not enough so to revive itself. overall, a mediocre score for a mediocre game.
  23. BrandonZ.
    Oct 5, 2009
    5
    The campaign was fun, but relatively short. I enjoyed the game until I put the multiplayer disk in and my xbox recognized it as Halo 3. This game was way overpriced, even with the $20 gift card from toys r us. It should have been a 20-30 download for Halo 3, but since Microsoft knows we love Halo, they thought they could just trick us into paying full game price for it. What a rip-off.
  24. Byrd76The
    Oct 7, 2009
    7
    I've always thought the Halo series has been seriously overated after Halo 1. ODST just proves how overated this series is. The campaign was painfully short and uniteresting. The characters were bland and the story was decent. With that said I can't say it wasn't a bad shooter. The game did what it had to do as a shooter but it just didn't push the envelope. The I've always thought the Halo series has been seriously overated after Halo 1. ODST just proves how overated this series is. The campaign was painfully short and uniteresting. The characters were bland and the story was decent. With that said I can't say it wasn't a bad shooter. The game did what it had to do as a shooter but it just didn't push the envelope. The graphics were hit or miss, which I don't understand with games like Dead Space and COD4 which both look amazing on the same console. I've played many games this new generation on every platform and honestly ODST looks and feels like the beginning of the generation. A game should not be measured on it's multiplayer alone. Please people wake up and stop giving this games 8's and 9's. Go play Gears of War or Uncharted, which are much solid games! Expand
  25. JohnS.
    Sep 22, 2009
    6
    Pretty much underwhelming.
  26. PaulT.
    Sep 22, 2009
    7
    For what was supposed to be an expansion pack, I would say that ODST does not disappoint. It adds around 4-6 hours of Campaign and Firefight is a great addition, though not particularly innovative, to the solid game that is Halo 3. As someone who is not a die-hard Halo fan, however, there's really not much here to match the 60 dollar price tag. If you aren't a huge Halo fan, For what was supposed to be an expansion pack, I would say that ODST does not disappoint. It adds around 4-6 hours of Campaign and Firefight is a great addition, though not particularly innovative, to the solid game that is Halo 3. As someone who is not a die-hard Halo fan, however, there's really not much here to match the 60 dollar price tag. If you aren't a huge Halo fan, possibly buy it for $20 or less. Until it hits that price point, just wait to rent to make a decision about it. Expand
  27. JonathanL
    Sep 22, 2009
    6
    It's hard not to experience deja vu when you play this game. However, that quickly wears off and you'll feel disappointed once you've beaten the game in under 5 hours and noticed the multi-player remains the same. This should have been priced at what it is, a standalone expansion. Do not buy this game for $60.
  28. RavenWolfx
    Sep 22, 2009
    6
    The game is short, the graphics are sub-standard now, and the story is average at best. I would like to give it a better score, at least a 7, but this is just way too overpriced. $20-$30 DLC would have been great, but not $60. Firefight is great fun with a full team, but even that doesn't make it a great buy. I refuse to boost the score just because it is Halo or because Bungie is The game is short, the graphics are sub-standard now, and the story is average at best. I would like to give it a better score, at least a 7, but this is just way too overpriced. $20-$30 DLC would have been great, but not $60. Firefight is great fun with a full team, but even that doesn't make it a great buy. I refuse to boost the score just because it is Halo or because Bungie is known for making good games. Expand
  29. RobertC.
    Sep 22, 2009
    5
    Very over hyped game very short campagin, poor graphics it just does not stand up to some of the falls coming games like MW2 and uncharted 2 but fire fight mode is a blast with friends but is let down by no match making with randomers over xbox live.
  30. PhilipP
    Sep 23, 2009
    5
    It's a very solid rental, but if I could go back to Gamestop, I'd return it and pick up Marvel: Ultimate Alliance 2, or else just wait for Operation Flashpoint (while playing Zombie Apocalypse on XBLA). The engine is starting to show it's age, the VSR mode I think is just an attempt to hide the low-rez textures and bland level design, the whole "vulnerable" aspect they were It's a very solid rental, but if I could go back to Gamestop, I'd return it and pick up Marvel: Ultimate Alliance 2, or else just wait for Operation Flashpoint (while playing Zombie Apocalypse on XBLA). The engine is starting to show it's age, the VSR mode I think is just an attempt to hide the low-rez textures and bland level design, the whole "vulnerable" aspect they were bragging about is just the armor shield renamed to Stamina, and the weapons are all the same from previous versions (who cares about the two "new" silenced weapons, they're weak and pack no punch). Also, though I'm looking forward to trying out Firefight, I have zero desire to play any more Halo 3 multiplayer. The campaign is fun, but I imagine I'll be done with it by this time tomorrow (including all the SP cheevos). Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 94 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 94
  2. Negative: 1 out of 94
  1. The bottom line here is that this is a nice little piece of Halo, and that anyone who has ever enjoyed Halo will probably enjoy this too. The only question is how much it is worth to you. As a full priced stand-alone game, its value is somewhat dubious.
  2. Not only an add-on! This is better than many of the main games! Next to the single player, you also get a great multiplayer mode. You just cannot do wrong if you buy this game!
  3. Halo 3: ODST is an excellent add-on campaign for Halo 3, and one which all Halo fans should own.