User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 992 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 1, 2011
    4
    One of the biggest disappointments I've ever had to suffer. I'm a long time Halo fan, and while I don't exactly love Bungie, I trusted them to deliver a great experience. I'd already given up hope for a great campaign since Halo 2, and all I really cared about was playing survival Halo. I was initially taken aback that a game Bungie themselves had dubbed an "expansion to Halo 3", with an estimated price for $40 was now being marketed as a full game (thankfully Amazon gave me $10 back soon afterwards). Loading up into the campaign, I was almost immediately struck at how.. well.. bad it was. The cutscene animations are laughably poor, and the characters are all bland stereotypes. The storytelling was rather annoying, as between levels you'd have to "explore" an extremely repetitive New Mombasa while fighting outposts of Brutes (more like driving past them with a ghost you steal) and then searching for 10 minutes to find the next "clue". Somehow this piece of garbage reveals an extremely complicated story to your "rookie". Honestly, this is probably the worst Halo campaign in existence. Besides that, two things stuck out to me:
    1. Where in the hell are the elites? I personally hate fighting brutes; they're dumb, slow, and boring. Obviously since this game takes place about 2 seconds after the Master Chief fights with about a MILLION elites, you'd think there would be.. I don't know.. some elites left over. Well you'd be wrong. I'm not sure what the canon explanation is, but basically the H3 engine didn't have enemy AI coded into the elite characters, so we're stuck fighting Halo 3 elites before they even existed.
    2. You're supposed to feel different. You're supposed to feel like a smaller soldier, without super shields, who can't take on 50 brutes by himself. You don't. You still feel like a spartan, but you can see your hands this time. You still run and gun as you kill dozens of grunts and elites with superior firepower to your own. Yeah, you have to find healthpacks from time to time. Big woop. You definitely do NOT feel like a small fragile soldier, and there is no more strategy than previous Halo games offer.

    On to firefight.. boy what a disappointment. There is no defense strategy, there is no teamwork involved. Playing with 4 friends, we just got into a game and found the best strategy was to run our separate ways and kill as many enemies as possible. What makes this incoherent mess even worse is that you're forced to deal with these stupid skulls that turn on after a couple waves. These skulls force you to melee enemies to regain shields, to constantly dodge enemy grenades while yours are rendered ineffective, to deal with a terribly low supply of ammo. Do any of these things sound fun to you? They sure aren't. I knew they would offer the skulls for those looking for additional challenge, but to force them on you? Ridiculous. It ends up playing like a 4-player co-op campaign, except there's only one tiny level, and there's no story... and it's not even remotely fun.

    Some people loved the "storytelling" and "style" of this game, but ultimately, as a Halo fan, it was a huge disappointment. I played ODST for about a week before stopping altogether. Do I regret buying it? Not entirely. For one, I now have all the H3 maps on a single disk and my HDD has much more space. Two, I was able to complete the achievements towards getting Recon armor in H3. And finally, I was able to participate in the Reach beta. All that aside, I found this game terrible. I'm a HUGE Halo CE to Halo Reach fan, and I found this game TERRIBLE. Take from this what you will.
    Expand
  2. Nov 13, 2010
    8
    I normally really enjoy playing halo games and I enjoyed this one as well... just not as much.
    I don't know what happened but this was not even close to how good I thought halo 3 was and this game is good just the worst fps halo in the series.
  3. Apr 22, 2011
    6
    Halo 3 ODST is a decent game on it's own, but with the full Halo 3 multi-player experience packaged with it, it makes this an awesome deal. The campaign is interesting, with varied locations and classic Halo battles with the Covenant; although you don't play as Master Cheif, it doesn't detract from the experience. Firefight is a good addition, but the ability to go on Xbox LIVE would have made it much more interesting. Nonetheless, it is fun whether you go it alone or with some friends. Expand
  4. Oct 9, 2010
    0
    SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO boring its exactly the same as every single other halo and its just a overrated piece of rubbish, i cant actually believe i pre ordrered it. Biggest waste of money in my life !
  5. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    Not the best Halo but at least like a lost episode , very nice. Actually it added cool features the game, just like the DLC and the firefight mode apart from the short campaign . The campaign was nice, playing as an a ODST felt like a challenge against the covenants and that was a great feature in difference about Master chief that is (obviously) a spartan (easy) . A little disappointed in the campaign , I mean it needed the battle rifle, and mostly in all the level you used the silenced m7s , the levels vastly appeared the assault rifle and come on the protagonist never talked it just felt like another master chief only human. But anyway is full entertaining and you get a good use for your money . Expand
  6. Aug 13, 2010
    1
    wow if by deffinition you mean a game company crapping out a turd into a box marketing it for $60 then this is the true deffinition of that . so first this was suppose to be a expansion pack which probubly woulda went for 1600 points if marked reasonably ... yeah right like bunjie would do that they have to rape you for every thing you are worth because they are greedy and know halo fans will pay any thing to get it no matter how bad it is. if this was atleast a 1600 point expansion like it was intended to be i could atleast give it a 6/10 . as is its a $60 overpriced expansion that took me all if 4 hours to beat and i didnt enjoy any of it . outdated graphics ... oh and you dont get to play as the master chief you get to play as some bozoo who just runs around living out what other people have done. then theres the gears 2 horde mode rip off fire fight which wasvately fun for a hour . playing this game felt like i was banished to hell . The halo series is beyond repair in my book . only positive note is i only borowed this game and didnt pay for it . if i did pay for it man id have been really pissed. Expand
  7. Aug 29, 2010
    7
    i played through the campaign once, never played that again. Not because it was bad, it was just that there was really no reason to go back and play it again. The firefight mode is a very good mode where you fight waves and waves of enemies until you run out of lives. The downside is that there is no matchmaking for firefight. You are stuck playing either locally with 2 people or 4 players online. it is still fun but should have been tweaked before release. Expand
  8. Oct 8, 2011
    9
    Story: 9
    Characters: 7
    Graphics: 9
    Setting: 7
    Multiplayer: 10
    Technical: 10
    Audio: 10
    Gameplay: 10
    Re-Playability Value: 8
    Fun Factor: 8

    Score: 8.8/10 = A
  9. Aug 12, 2010
    8
    A very good, enjoyable campaign. Though my only complaint is that the campaign is a bit short and is the difficulty equals that of Halo 2 if you decide to play it by yourself ;D . The campaign is very well done, but its not really a game that you would pop in your Xbox just to play. It does however come with the Halo 3 multiplayer disk with all the DLC included. Overall, not a bad deal if its your first time buying a halo game. Expand
  10. Sep 21, 2012
    5
    For me this game is not up to par with those that came before it. Running around trying to find beacons gets repetitive early on, as well as the level design being used over and over again - like earlier Halo games. The storyline change is what happens when the developer has finished and closed a trilogy, yet the fans want more - and so they had to come up with an alternate storyline. The narrative certainly is, for the most part, what separates this game from the others - unfortunately though I didn't find it very engaging and otherwise the game doesn't add anything that wasn't already there in past titles. I also found the presentation to be too dark at times, and the hud takes up too much of the screen. In addition I found the gameplay to become too repetitive. Upon trying to play through the Halo games chronologically, I have hardly seen any new opponents or breakthrough gameplay elements since the original Halo. It was decent fun at certain moments, I'll give it that - though sadly my optimism for this game just isn't anything more than that. Expand
  11. Aug 12, 2010
    5
    I was extremely dissapointed in odst. Honestly i think that odst should have stayed as an expansion. I wasted 60 dollars on a 5 hour game. IT was a rundown version of halo 3. The only good thing about the game was that it came with the extra halo multiplayer disc. I was really excited for firefight and you cant even use it in matchmaking
    none of my friends had the game so i was stuck
    playing it by myself and its not fun. The free roam wasnt even free roam. It was run from point a to point b. The gameplay was exactly the same as original halo. The dificulty was not that hard at all. The game itself is ok but for 60 dollars its not worth it at all. Mabye for 40 but thats a mabye Expand
  12. Aug 22, 2010
    7
    Halo 3:ODST was different from other halo games. Over the game you were forced to travel to your mission by walking throught the dark city of new mombasa. Sometimes i would get lost. It probably took me 45 minutes to get to the first mission cause it took that long to get used too. How ever the campaign was fun and still play it from time to time.How ever it was short. Firefight is fun but it is hard to get someone to play with online. This game should have been an add on instead of a full priced game. I give halo 3:ODST a 7.5 out of 10.

    Review9
    Expand
  13. esp
    Sep 6, 2010
    4
    Perhaps Halo just isn't my thing, but this game is just dumb. The annoying childlike aliens, the (very) weak attempts at humor, the vague and contradictory mission objectives -- I played the first two missions and sold it back to the shop where I'd gotten it. There are many ways to get one's FPS fix, and this just didn't do it for me.
  14. Sep 24, 2010
    10
    As MikeW put it "The ruined Mombasa that you play for most of the game as the rookie is very dull and lifeless." Duh. It's supposed to. Anyway, The game brings back some features from Halo: Combat Evolved, such as the health system and the ability of dual wielding is absent. The music is great and sets the tone of the game. While Firefight is not matchmaking, it is great to play with friends and is an excellent addition to the franchise.Also, be sure to visit Bungie.net and get your Halo 3: ODST nameplate for Halo: Reach! Expand
  15. Sep 25, 2010
    5
    This game isn't the worst ever, but it certainly is not a Ã
  16. Sep 29, 2010
    9
    Halo 3: ODST is little more than an expansion pack. But where there isn't a rethought mutliplayer component that pushes the series forward, there is a stellar story told through a scope that is brand new to Halo and will really please fans that are wanting to answer the question "why am I doing this?" as they progress through the campaign. The only real new face in ODST besides the obvious 6-8 hour campaign portion is the intriguing Firefight mode that brings up to 4 players together to fight off massive waves of Covenant soldiers & vehicles. This mode is reminiscent of Gear of War 2's "Horde" mode and will give friends something great to enjoy while playing with up to 3 other friends. But other than that, you're looking at minimal changes to what has been a solid formula up to this point. Though adding in great voice acting from the likes of Nathan Fillion certainly pushes the game into believable AND captivating territory. If you were hoping for something big, new, and a step up graphically... well you'll only get a little of each. Though running around, guns blazing, has never been so cool. Expand
  17. Oct 7, 2010
    8
    Halo 3 ODST has seen mixed reaction from Halo fans due to a short campaign and an "invite only" multiplayer gametype. The game, despite short, has a great atmosphere and music. This isn't an action first person shooter, this is more of a mystery / crime thriller game where you investigate what happened to your teammates through objects found on the city. Firefight is a great addition to the Halo series and it's addictive, sadly there are only a few maps and there are like only 2 or 3 that are enjoyable and really fun. A must buy for REAL Halo fans, it's been a year anyways, it's now for $30 USD or less and contains Halo 3 multiplayer maps on a second disc. Expand
  18. Oct 16, 2010
    4
    Halo 3 ODST is by far the worst Halo game. The story is boring, there isnt really anything new about the game, exept the firefight mode,the game is short, the characters are stupid and the campaign totally sucks.This game should have been just a DLC for Halo 3, nothing more.
  19. Nov 15, 2011
    5
    So heavily recycled from Halo 3 its like playing a modded version of it when you put in ODST. The only good things about ODST are the addition of firefight and the bonus disc that gives you all the halo 3 maps for free.
  20. Oct 27, 2010
    2
    The storyline was very short and ruined mombasa was a dissapointment. As well as that the storyline wasnt that good. If you want a better game at half the price just buy halo 3. dont buy this game
  21. Apr 30, 2013
    4
    This review in a word AWFUL
    Okay so Halo fans are likely to love this game but it really is nothing new. there is no new ground covered in this game and it simply feels like a cash in. The Game is a side story to the plot of Halo 3. This time instead of being the Master Chief you are a band of UNSC soldiers who crash and lose one another. The game is then about finding one another. Often
    you end a story arch by finding something of a team mates at the end of the level. Then you switch to that person and play their story. the thing is that I did not care. I never felt any form of bond with the characters or really care what they are going through. There was just nothing that made me feel this was worthy of a retail release. If this had been an expansion of Halo 3 it may just have been passable. Bungie just feel lazy. They have the same enemies in the same linear environments where you walk from A to B and then back to A. I breezed through the game on Legendary mainly due to indestructible team mates (AI) who are unbelievably good on turrets. I kept seeing my team mate run into a horde of Elites and be battered to hell and still be there 5 minutes later taking the beating. It was incredible and not in a good way. If you are a fan of the series then you will play this for that reason. If you are not that much of a fan and really still want to look at it then get it VERY VERY cheap else you will feel ripped off. Expand
  22. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    Copy/Paste to all Halo reviews after all these years: I didn't have a 360 for a few years (played 3 and ODST). In the meantime I played all sorts of fps- COD, BF, Killzone (which is awesome), Resistance, and every single other one. And coming back to Halo when I rebought a 360 was like the greatest homecoming ever. Unlike those other games, every Halo battle is like a chess match waiting to happen. And once you truly know every enemy and every weapon, you fall into a sweet spot of gaming that is possibly the best of all action games ever made. It's just the best. Great now I have to copy and paste this 4 more times. Expand
  23. Dec 11, 2010
    8
    Not as good as Halo 3 but it is and expansion after all. Campaign is still as great is ever but is now getting too short. Like the idea of new vulnerability, not being a spartan anymore, and the return of zooming magnum is nice. Firefight is kl but it is kind of laggy and there's no olnine, only friend co-op =(. The audio files r sweet tho and the campaign has a lot of hidden easter eggs so keep an eye out. Unfortunately gun-play doesn't feel as good as before, but too me thats actually just the smg and magnum and not any other gun really, for others its virtually unnoticeable. The new DLC and Reach beta inclusion was great but... Why am i paying for some DLC I've already bought. Negative points aside, a great game but notas good as others in the series, and I recommend you play the other Halo's first. Expand
  24. Dec 22, 2010
    9
    Halo 3: ODST is what you get when you try to create DLC but add to much content, the story in this game is one of the best in the series, it's better than Halo 3's in my opinion, the environmental graphics are outstanding as are the armor graphics, facial animations are terrible though, voice acting is great and the sound effects are top notch, and the new Firefight mode is really fun, a few new gameplay changes only give it a slightly different feel, and there is no multiplayer, but it does come with all of Halo 3's maps plus the DLC maps and two new maps, this game is in my opinion amazing and one of the best in the series. Expand
  25. Feb 16, 2011
    10
    The graphic are Horrible ! The monster are **** ! The characters are (comment on dit un travelo ?), the story is whoring. The Game-play is moisi... ODST Is a **** game which is good and pourri.
  26. Feb 23, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is great. I felt/feel that it's not worth $60 but at the same time I had such a good experience playing it that I have a hard time gauging what it's worth. Definitely $20, $30, maybe $40. It is great because of the moodiness, and because of the frailty of the playable characters. You are not a spartan, you are a soldier, and you don't have super shields and you are not unstoppable. Choices must be made with consideration to ammo, health and environment. Battles with hunters in tight corridors vs. out in the open are awesome and difficult choices to make. Finding the snipers in the buildings is essential to cross some sections, with soldiers coming on your position from multiple directions. Survival strategies become important.

    There are multiple mission types, each carried out by other members of the ODST team focusing more (albeit not by much more) on their characters special training, well voiced by half the cast of firefly (with multiple references to the show). I would liked to have seen a longer game just to get to flesh them out more. Or, better yet a new game continuing their story. With master chief gone I was really hoping they would be the future of the game franchise.


    You can get the game dirt cheap now, and if the cost or halo-burnout kept you at bay before it's worth the $10 or twenty bucks you would pay to get it.
    Expand
  27. Jun 18, 2013
    7
    Halo 3: ODST was okay, not much to say about it, the Firefight mode though, was quite vague in setting selections, it wasn't as adventurous as Halo 3 or gave that much of a motivational feeling. I've only played it once, hence explaining my reason why I considered this boring. I was really happy with the Halo 3 multiplayer packaging, which is why I'm giving this an 8, it was getting quite boring with the repetition of grunts everywhere, but I still appreciated the satisfactory story line. Expand
  28. Oct 28, 2011
    6
    This is a really hard game to want to play because it's nothing more than a four hour dlc pack. Granted I didn't pay the original $60 for this, more like $25, but it still didn't draw me into the game to enjoy it. What's my motivation here? To fight a battle that took place just prior to Halo 3? Wander streets as an underpowered ODST trooper and unfold an irrelevent story? It's basically boring. Expand
  29. Mar 22, 2011
    8
    Halo 3 ODST is close to being the best Halo game yet, placing it second place to Halo; Reach. It has an intriguing Campaign and it brings more realism to the series. The campaign is shorter than the series's previous game. To put it in a different way I guess you can say that the campaign is quality over quantity. Halo 3 ODST also introduces a new game mode called "Firefight" which tests how long you can survive against an unlimited amount of Covenant. This new game mode is definitely very fun and is the perfect thing to play with your friends. Unfortunately, they do not introduce a new Online Multiplayer experience. Instead they give you a special Halo 3 Matchmaking disc which includes all the DLC maps. Once you complete the Campaign and play alot of "Firefight", you will find that this game might start to get boring. Expand
  30. Jun 27, 2011
    3
    when i was in the store with my money at hand just enough for a new game i was at walmart at the time when i saw halo 3 the game i always wanted after halo 2 came out i wanted more but somthing else caught my eye halo 3 odst i immedietly bought it today i regret that descicion for poor story line and even worse gameplay it is not a good choice at all
  31. Jul 24, 2011
    6
    This is the worst Halo game in the series yet. To me most of the things are recycled content, and that's probably because the guys at Bungie are to lazy to add new content. The multiplayer is totally recycled, and that pissed me off. The campaign is not that good also, and I was especially much more pissed when a glitch in the game made me start all over again. The only good thing in this game, i would say, is the firefight mode. Besides that, not really a game worth getting. Expand
  32. Aug 1, 2011
    9
    You know I was going to give it a bad rating because its a bad "halo game" but then I played some other much worse fps's and other bad games and thought wow this really is so much better than those other games. so sure out of all the halo games its definitely the worst (yes that includes wars) it's still a superb game by gaming standards and deserves to be regarded as such.
  33. Jul 18, 2011
    7
    I think this game is a disgrace to the series due to its boring campaign and average graphics. The character are not remembered after a playthrough and the story, well it is awful and you probably won't remember it after you beat the game. The campaign, well, most of the time you will be wondering like an idiot in the streets of New Mombasa just to find a little thing that will show you what happened to your team, in my opinion this mechanism is a little unbelievable because you can't see what happened to your team only by finding a little thing that doesn't record anything. I'm putting this game a 7 only because of its excellent firefight mode and the second disc with the complete Halo 3 Multiplayer experience. The last thing I'm going to say is for all these guys who are saying right now that I'm a playstation fanboy, is that I am a fan of this series and I own every single game of the series Expand
  34. Aug 18, 2011
    5
    The campaign of this game was really bad, but the firefight mode in this game saves the game to be a very awful one. But, to get the maps for firefight, you need to play the campaign! I feel it's an okay game, but the campaign just lacks in story and makes no sense at all.
  35. Aug 9, 2011
    1
    Avoid this game at all cost total wast of time and money. If you've already bought this game I'm very sorry. Game play was terrible campaing was full of glitches and bugs. This game was a waste of time and money.
  36. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    I really enjoyed this halo because of the story and the soundtrack. I actually like this story better than Reach's and the characters were much more enjoyable in this. I can understand why some people thought it was too expensive for what it is, but I still picked it up quite cheap. The facial graphics of the odst's are the weakness of the graphics overall a great game.
  37. Sep 6, 2011
    9
    +6 for the best Halo campaign I've ever played. +5 for the Firefight being awesome. -1 for not having matchmaking in Firefight. -1 for not being able to unlock bigger portions of Firefight maps. Okay, I am a long time Halo fan. I've read all the books and own all the games. I understand why people would think that ODST should not have come out as a full priced game. It didn't have an independent multiplayer, but is that seriously what we base game quality off of today? Some of the most amazing games I've ever played are single-player and ODST is no exception. The inclusion of Firefight easily evened out the lack of mulitplayer for me. With Reach coming out so soon after, I wouldn't have spent any time on ODSTs mulitplayer anyway. Expand
  38. Sep 28, 2011
    1
    Story is awful. I still couldn't complete the game because to unlock data hive (seond to last level) I had to do all the levels again. Not worth it- especially since it's not exciting, the gameplay is terrible, health system sucks compared to Reach and it's really dark. It's a badly made game.
  39. Sep 28, 2011
    4
    Halo ODST was a massive missed opportunity for Bungie. They could've actually crafted a game that broke from their previous efforts. They could've actually shown us what combat was like from a vulnerable human's point of view, instead of from a power armored supersoldier's point of view. Instead of walking around like some sort of shielded tank, maybe we'd be able to go prone and take cover and do interesting stuff. But they squandered it all, they just didn't give a damn.

    So you're an ODST. Well, I guess that means you're really vulnerable, right? You can't rely on shields to save your bacon, this gameplay's probably going to be a lot more like Rainbow Six, and even grunts will pose a considerable challenge... oh wait. No, no they didn't do that. There's still a shield, it's just now called stamina and it's hidden from the HUD.

    Well, you're just a human. I guess that means you can't break off machine gun turrets and lug them around and... oh wait. Yeah, I guess you can still break off turrets and walk around with them. You've still got superhuman strength. You can still carry Spartan lasers as if they weighed nothing, even though they're huge weapons that would probably strain a normal human.

    But hey, you're way way weaker than a Spartan II, you've probably got a much much weaker melee attack now, right? You probably can't deliver a couple of punches to kill grunts and Brutes and stuff, right? After all, regular humans don't have the superhuman strength to do that. Oh wait... yeah, I guess your melee attacks still kill them quickly. Your punches are still superhuman for some reason.

    But without the finely tuned motor reflexes and stabilizers of the Mjolnir armor, your aim is probably going to be really bad when you move a lot, right? I mean, your reticle is probably going to expand if you're running or strafing a lot, right? That's what happens when a human being moves rapidly while carrying a gun, their aim suffers. So that's surely... oh wait. Oh wait, that's not... that not what we get. The crosshair just remains static and perfectly accurate. Boy, that's not right is it?

    If you just expected more of the same, I guess ODST might've been just peachy-keen for you.
    Expand
  40. Nov 6, 2011
    9
    The campaign in this game ventures off from the previous Halo games. While playing as the Rookie and wandering around the darkened streets of New Mombasa alone you actually get the feeling that you are indeed "alone". While in this segment of the game you would want to avoid enemy as much as possible which is why I think those Hard Core Halo fans say that it sucks but overall the campaign is amazing and possibly the best in the Halo series. It has great storytelling and a good transition between flashbacks with a good ending. Firefight is one of the best modes for a fps to date you've might have seen games where you fight waves of enemy but Bungie's take on it is amazing. This would be the perfect feature to the game if it had matchmaking but Bungie neglected to add it to the final product. Overall the game is amazingly good from the spectacular campaign to having fun with friends in firefight but for a 60.00$ price tag it is not. The game is only an expansion with the price tag of a full game. If Bungie would have made an entirely new multiplayer featuring the Odst and their new guns and Visr as well as making matchmaking possible with firefight then the game would be an 11/10 that's how great it would have been just imagine playing multiplayer on it with some night maps using the Visr and the new SMG all the things that could have been but isn't in the game. Still it's a spectacular game none the less but for it having a 60.00$ price tag for something that's not a full game turns that "spectacular" to a great which is why I'm giving it a 9.1/10 instead of a 10/10. Expand
  41. Jul 11, 2013
    3
    a $20 game sold for $60 very mediocre and short single player, not worth replaying at all. Firefight is a new mode where you basically play horde mode, but you litterally play the same waves of enemies in the same order and getting the achievements takes forever. it's mind numbing an tedious. doesn't have it's own multiplayer vs mode, just gives you halo 3 again, wow thanks I have halo 3 and it's DLC like every other fan of the series.

    I know this review is years late but people are talking about it again since halo 4 was bad and considered the worst in the series, but many forget how bad ODST was. worst in the series, WORSE than halo 4.
    Expand
  42. May 14, 2012
    1
    Oh wow, $60 for this 5 hr campaign with dick for replay ability and a **** horde mode rip off. **** you Bungie. You managed to ruin the Halo name without help from anyone else
  43. Apr 11, 2013
    8
    Until this game my only experience with Halo was the original on the PC. From an outside looking in perspective, I found the game (both multiplayer and campaign) to be quite enjoyable. The graphics are quite nice and the storyline was very well done. The only complaint I had was the controls. It seemed as though the controller setup was made as unconventional as possible. Thank goodness for being able to change it. Expand
  44. Nov 17, 2011
    1
    I hate the fact that this game exists. You play as a weak ODST, who dies too easily making the game very difficult even on normal difficulty. The storyline does not flow smoothly and I find no likeable characters in the game. This is not how Halo is supposed to be, the only time you will have fun is in a vehicle where you can run down the covenant forces with ease. The visuals are ok, but good graphics does not mean a good game, they only compliment one. Expand
  45. Dec 26, 2011
    4
    AWFUL campaing, Just **** garbage. Why people would like to see a story in mixed order is beyond me, Yeah it's not gonna make no sense if you do the second last mission then the second, but it just feels like a way to pad the game play, "Oh we have a 4-5 hour campaing, but instead of just telling a story, were gonna force you to walk around for 10 mins before you get to the next part of the story" Firefight isn't online and the multiplayer is halo 3. Do not buy unless you don't have halo 3 anymore. even then halo 3 is dead sooooooo Expand
  46. Jan 7, 2012
    5
    I hope Microsoft is listening. You can't sell 4 hours of content, and a new multiplayer mode as a full game!!! The game was meant to be an expansion pack for Halo 3, hence the name Halo 3: ODST, so who's idea was it at Bungie, or Microsoft to sell this game as an independent title?!?!?
    The game play is similar to the other Halo titles. You kill aliens, to be frank. This time around you get
    a few new guns, and a vision mode that highlights enemies. Does that sound like it deserves to be a full purchase? No. But wait there is also a new multiplayer mode called Firefight, where you, and up to three friends fight in a survival type of mode where endless hordes of enemies will attack, and you have to fight them off. Aside from that, and a tacked on single player, the multiplayer is the exact same, without the new guns. Simply put, its one game mode, a short and tacked on single player, and the old Halo 3 multiplayer without any chances. I haven't left anything out at this point. I've said everything that Halo 3:ODST has to offer. So if that's all that was added why did the game set sold as a full price game rather then DLC? I'll tell you why. It's because some executive at Microsoft who figured they weren't making enough money said so that's why. This game is nothing new at all, it's just a recycled Halo 3. This game should not in anyway be praised.
    If this would have been released at DLC it would warrant a better score such as a 6, maybe 7. However, because of the price tag, I have to deduct points from it. The game doesn't deserve anything else other then a 5, because it simply isn't enough to get a better score when you have to pay full price for it.
    Shame on you Microsoft, shame on you Bungie, shame on you Halo fan boys who would be willing to cough up $60 for this trash at launch.
    Expand
  47. Apr 22, 2012
    4
    Give your Halo character little health and change absolutely NOTHING else, and you have ODST. The gameplay mechanics are exactly the same, except you have bugger all health (jumping from fairly low heights can hurt you), the story is boring and forgettable, levels are repetitive (I HATED the night time level in the city) and this game is obviously just a cash ploy made by Bungie. We can wait for Halo Reach without crappy sequels to fill the gap. Expand
  48. Feb 16, 2012
    4
    ive been a fan of halo ever since the 2nd one came out and i have to say this is the worst halo ive ever played the story is the worst in the series you are random solders in the unsc army that get lost in there drop pods and get scattered around this city and you have to find out what happened to your squadmates and do random missions this halo has the worst plot line out of the series although they did bring in this mode called firefight which is amazing its like horde mode from gears of war and zombies from cod and you have fend off waves of the covenant but that is the only good thing about the game and they completely scraped competitive multiplayer if it wasnt for firefight i would give this a zero Expand
  49. Feb 26, 2012
    9
    Halo 3: ODST should have never been an "expansion" and should have just been a game on it's own. Regardless, it is a truly unique game. For those expecting the standard, stellar Halo-style experience they will be somewhat disappointed. The art style and color palette are totally different from Halo 3. The cut-scenes have a more cartoon-like feel to them, and the game is amuchdarker in tones. The story-telling is vastly different, but once you get used to it only then can you appreciate it. ODST slows down the fast pace of Halo story telling to focus, in detail, on the episodic encounters of surviving members of an ODST unit. Instead of vast, galactic battles with epic proportions, ODST tells the small-scale story about the lives of brave and honorable men and women who would have otherwise been considered insignificant. ODST takes a mysterious, suspenseful approach in a fantastic tale on how ODST struggle to save Humanity from the invasion of the Covenant. The Human-Covenant War takes a heavier toll as you literally feel and experience the War from a purely human perspective. You dwell among the dark, dead ruins of one of earth's greatest cities: New Mombassa. You can see Covenant ships hovering nearby and laying waste, you see human soldiers scrambling in guerrilla warfare against alien invaders. You can explore the city and uncover interesting side-stories from a civilian perspective of the attack, and you experience -block-tp-block fighting against occupying covenant forces. The stakes seem higher, and I almost wish this game would have been called Halo: ODST so it could have been a $30 tie-in special release in between Halo 2 and Halo 3. I think more people would have appreciated the game more than way, especially with how the plot progresses and then ends. The story is very interesting, and enjoyable. At first I had a hard time actually liking the characters, but as the game continued on I felt like i fit in among them, and I felt for them and connected to them. The music is unique and enjoyable. The gameplay is solid and smooth. The game is challenging and immensely fun. This game has a high replay value, and is a must-get for anyone who wants a game where they can take time to explore and relish details of a larger story. Expand
  50. Mar 19, 2012
    7
    It's a fun game with a great atmosphere and very good voice acting. I managed a legendary single-player run through without much difficulty, which is probably not a point in its favor. It's hard to give the game a good rating because Halo, to me, is really made by multiplayer. It was fun, and I've played it on and off for achievements, but it's a game I'd consider selling back at some point.
  51. Aug 13, 2012
    10
    YES YES **** YES Bungie! ODST may only be an expansion to Halo 3 but it is easily the best entry in the entire series. Set during the New Mombassa mission in Halo 2 you play as Rookie, a new addition to a group of ODST's sent in to assist Chief in the defence of New Mombassa, however things go pear shaped and the Covenant cruiser hits hyperdrive in orbit. Now scattered you and your squad must regroup and escape the crumbling ruins of New Mombassa before the Covenant glass the place. The game plays in 2 different ways, with Rookie during the night searching for your lost squad members, gathering clues and using stealth to your advantage. Then there is the flashback sections where you play as each of the other members of your squad in a defining moment in the battle of Mombassa. It uses all the same mechanics and features from Halo 3 whilst adding a couple more but its the story and sound engineering that make Halo 3: ODST the series standout game. Expand
  52. Apr 29, 2012
    8
    Its not Bungie's best halo ever. But its a great game to have. Campaign was the best about Halo 3 ODST, at first I thought it a bit silly, but once you go past the start it gets to very good. Firefight something new and fun with a friend but it was hard to find a game. And now the second disc with the multiplayer with 3 new maps witch were okay but very useful if you never got any of the map packs [like me] because its give you all the halo 3 maps witch was cool. Campaign 8/10 Firefight 8/10 Disc 2 8/10 Halo 3 ODST 8.0/10 Expand
  53. May 1, 2014
    9
    Certainly not going to be everyone's cup of tea but I loved it. I felt sneaking around the ruins of the city, looking for clues and stockpiles to be great fun. You have to use your head a bit more, you're not a super human soldier any more. This actually leads to some nice tactical situations and is a refreshingly different experience. The music, the lighting etc. are done excellently but for the die hard Halo fans there's still the flashbacks where you get to be involved in some really heavy action instead of city skirmishes. Expand
  54. Nov 17, 2013
    8
    Looking back at ODST after years of industry stagnation and bland AAA releases, it's easy to overlook the finer details of this game. Bungie set out to build a small expansion for Halo 3. In typical Bungie fashion, the project snowballed into what can basically be considered a full game. Built in just one year, ODST manages to deliver a solid single player experience with great world building, art direction, and a nice retouch of the classic Halo formula to distinguish it from other Halo titles.

    The story focuses on a squad of ODSTs, who are basically top-of-the-line soldiers bested only by Spartans, in a military campaign gone awry. In game you play as a mute ODST called the Rookie. Separated from your squad, you're tasked with exploring the pivotal city of New Mombassa to search for clues which might lead you to the rest of your squad. Recovering clues triggers flashback missions in the context of the clue, in which you fill the boots of ODSTs who are part of the Rookie's squad. They're characterized fairly well, and the story has its moments, though it's just a part of what makes the world of ODST truly memorable. Where ODST really shines is through its world building; audio logs, character dialogue, and great art direction, which when combined really sell the setting and ground it firmly in the expansive Halo universe. In a casual playthrough it's so very easy to miss all of the tiny pieces of information scattered about the games' world. Look for them, and you'll be grounded firmly in a very unique and richly atmospheric setting. And what about the music? Martin O'Donnell truly outdoes himself here, delivering a moody original score that delivers on an emotional level, matching the themes of isolation, desperation, tension, and mass exodus that might accompany the sudden occupation of such a large city, and the Rookie's lone journey through a soup of alien combatants.

    As for playing as the ODSTs themselves, their gear and some tweaked combat mechanics really help differentiate these soldiers from Spartans. They can take less damage, and have a two stage health system requiring the player to scout for medpacks if their health bar is low. Dual wielding is gone, though players can still wield any weapon the come across. Vehicle handling has been tweaked and tightened to improve handling characteristics on the streets of Mombassa and still remains a staple of the combat throughout. Enemy AI has also gotten a slight improvement, with groups of enemies acting in squads of many varieties, keeping combat fresh and fun. Though the game is powered by the aging Halo 3 tech and has limited resolution for HD consoles, the art direction is great and like Halo 3 this game stands the test of time in that regard. As expected, theater mode is fully functional in ODSTs single player, and is a novel feature that lets you watch your exploits from any angle and at any speed, good for people like me who enjoy taking in the sights and sounds of the world. Also, easter eggs. They're everywhere, and they will put a smile on your face.

    The real meat of Halo games and what keeps people coming back is undoubtedly the multiplayer experience. While ODST doesn't have its own ODST themed PvP multiplayer, it does have firefight, which is a very fun arcadey co-op survival mode that is both fun and challenging due to the chaotic and multi-faceted sandbox design. Firefight maps are well designed, and hours of fun can be had trying to tackle the par-score challenges with your friends for achievements, or just to take a Brute Chopper for a spin and mow down your alien foes. Surviving for longer enables skulls, which are basically difficulty modifiers that change enemy and player traits such as weapon effectiveness per-type, shield regeneration mechanics, enemy AI strength, and more. It really is a great mode that's found its place in the suite of modes Halo has to offer.

    ODST also comes with the complete Halo 3 multiplayer experience, packaging all of Halo 3's multiplayer features and maps (including all DLC maps) into a single disc. This is a pretty sweet deal for those who don't have the DLC, especially considering the quality of the DLC maps.

    In all, Halo 3: ODST is a great game. The single player campaign is memorable and stands out with just one thorough playthrough, and its other features round out the package nicely. If you take the time to explore all that ODST has to offer, you'll find yourself immersed in a great setting that delivers the great flow of Halo's combat with a few twists.
    Expand
  55. Oct 11, 2012
    9
    After a year of owning the game I finally got around to playing it through. I really was expecting another linear Halo game when I popped this in. It was delightfully different to be presented with the option to walk about a city fighting through the covenant to regroup with my lost squad mates. Visually the game was really no different from any other Halo; however, the ability to walk through a city at night and then see it at a different time of day during a mission was quite enjoyable. The music was supposed to be an homage to the previous games OST's but I really believe the change in style for ODST sound was one of its biggest strengths. The ability to quickly tell a story through little snippets of each squad member made for a great storyline that required you think about how the pieces fit together. I think the timing of the game was also a huge strength. Having a game that you could get through in a little over six hours yet receive an ample story was a nice change of pace. I have found this series to sometimes drag levels out by forcing you to spend a lot of time on non-story progressing moments. That was not at all the case with ODST. Overall I am fairly pleased with the game and it has re-sparked my interest in the series quite a bit. Expand
  56. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    I thought this game was great, a lot of people knocked the short campaign, but you need to look at the whole package. The campaign was fun and a nice change from the norm, the FireFight feature was a nice addition, I loved the challenge of it. The game also came with Halo 3 Multiplayer disc with all the DLC, which I loved and still play. Good solid game and quite a challenge on Legendary.
  57. Nov 3, 2012
    9
    If you're thinking about buying it now (for about $20), do it. every multiplayer map, and in my opinion the best campaign in the halo series. for what it lacks in length it more than makes up for in its characters (the cast of firefly with a cylon? fantastic!), the perfected gameplay and graphics (with a silenced magnum and smg, who needs dual wielding?), and the mood and atmosphere that puts reach to shame, this is bungie's masterpiece. firefight, whilst in its best incarnation in my opinion, is the game's only weak point. didn't anyone think to put it on Live? Expand
  58. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    I don't no why ppl hate on this it was a welcome edition to the halo lore I myself always thought about how would someone else fair in the wars of halo besides john 117 aka master chief. And then odst was made and I enjoyed playing it all the way through. Like all the halos from the past the gameplay was top notch playing in the city environment was awesome I mean this game was a good. game story and just all around fun time. Expand
  59. Mar 20, 2013
    8
    In Halo 3 ODST, you take the role of an ODST, you and your squad is supposedly dropping into alien hell a cruiser and kill every alien in it (I don't understand how 6 ODST soldiers could kill every alien in a big space ship and destroy it) but it changes and you crash land into that African city. You wake up 6 hours l8er and you have to find your way around the city and look for clues as you run through the empty streets (well actually, their alien infestated). There are loads of audio clips to look for as well. Navigating the city can be difficult. In gameplay, it's the exact same as Halo 3 but you play as an ODST so you have no shields which I don't understand how they can put shields on SPARTANS but not ODST's, HUD has changed and you get a silenced SMG which doesn't work of course, or maybe, the aliens just have big ears, I love the red brute plasma gun which is 1 thing they should never of taken out in Halo 3. As you find clues on what happens to your squad, you play through missions that take place when they drop or few hours later, and the levels are good. In weapons, there is nothing new other than an awesome new silent pistol (even that fails to be "silent") and silenced SMG, but sadly there is no energy sword. Speaking of "new," Halo 3 ODST is the first Halo game to introduce Firefight where you fight of infinite waves of alien attackers, sounds easy? well, weapons respawn each round, but skulls turns on to make it more challenging (you do NOT want black eye on), it is fun and is most likely more fun with friends though the problem is there is no matchmaking, this is just friends only. There is also a Halo 3 Multiplayer disc which is how I got all Halo 3 map-map packs without free. This was the first game I got for Xbox 360, I just did not understand this game and did it not turn out how I thought it would be, if your looking to play Halo and this is your first time, don't play this one first. The music is fantastic and I find the soundtrack at the final part of the game emotional, and the characters Rookie, Eddie Buck, Dutch, Dare, Mickey & Romeo are fantastic and voice acting is very good. ODST needs a sequel with the same characters, based on the new trilogy around the Halo 5 time and I want to see these ODST's dropping into Promethean hell. Expand
  60. May 15, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There are places where Halo 3: ODST could be improved, but when it comes right down to it, every Halo fan should buy this game. Even if you've lost interest in the franchise over the years or haven't ever given a Halo game a look, you'd do well to grab ODST and a few friends for some of the best multiplayer gaming around, especially with as wonderful an addition as Firefight. Expand
  61. Mar 23, 2013
    5
    This game really could of just not existed. Really, it could of been an Add-On for Halo 3, and life could go on. This is my least favorite Halo game. The campaign has its moments, but it never wowed me at any moment. I never had feelings for any of the characters, and that brings it down a lot. Firefight was ok, nothing exiting or interesting because it did not have many options. The best part of the package was the multiplayer. It has all the Halo 3 map packs and original maps. I cannot argue with that. But if you already own all of the maps, this game really has nothing to offer. Unless you want to see what the lore is, of course. In the end, this game is great for hardcore fans of the series, but I am not a hardcore fan. Just a guy who was expecting more from this game. Expand
  62. Aug 29, 2013
    7
    While the six-hour campaign was interesting and fun but its only six hours and there is a Firefight Mode which has been bettered by Reach but is still very fun and interesting the multiplayer is Halo 3 again but with all the DLC included it feels like DLC and overpriced but buy it cheap online and you'll be fine
  63. Apr 23, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The actual game itself holds well on its own. As a downed ODST trooper, you spend the game moving around the city of New Mombasa, searching for your squad mates. The gameplay is as tight as a regular run of the mill HALO installment, and the story holds its own as well. This game doesn't come without its faults, however. The characters are shoddy, in terms of personality and actual physical design. When halo fans hear the term, ODST, the first image that comes to mind is a tatted-out, physically peaked killing machine. Basically a step below Spartans. However when you play through the different characters and their stories, you get the feeling that these squad mates are nothing more than goofy, hapless grunts. My second qualm came from the lack of Halo 2 tech. ODST takes place, in the halo timeline, in Halo 2, where brutes were only just making their appearance, elites were still the majority fighting force in the Halo 'verse. However you don't fight a single one in the campaign! Also, the assault rifle and chopper return, without the battle rifle. The entire campaign experience just felt like a Halo 3 recreation. Now, my main issue is my belief that the popularity of the package itself came majorly from the second disk, which contained the bonus Halo 3 multiplayer map packs and other miscellaneous content. If ODST had been an individual project, with all work focused on the game, without the halo 3 map pack, I believe it could've been a completely changed, for the better, superb game. Unfortunately, what with the inclusion of the map pack, in the end all ODST was was an extension that should have been something much bigger and grander than what it was made to be. Expand
  64. Sep 12, 2013
    3
    I never been too much of a fan of the "Halo" franchise, mainly because of it's ignoring simplicity of issues that are constantly represented in the game always, and, well, also because of the constant monotony in between the several games of the franchise itself.
    Even then i decided to jump into "Halo" with, "Halo Reach", (which i loved). But this game, could possibly be one of the worst,
    most boring, dull, first person shooters out there, forget about the repetitive scenarios, that just end up being bland, and boring, forget about the awful, graphical quality of the overall game.
    No, the real problem begins with the gameplay, every single "new game mechanic", that's being add into this game doesn't work, why? Because at it's entirety it's the exact same replica of another game mechanic showed in past entries, with a re-skin.

    The entire game you go throughout the exact same scenarios, over, and over, and over again, and i'm talking about exactly the same, there is not even one difference in between them, and when there finally is, it's just another lifeless, empty, wide open area, with nothing to do more than to shoot the exact same enemy model until you finally finish the game.

    The story it's completely irrelevant, i really think that you can play throughout the game and get an even better experience while skipping such soulless, unenjoyable, dull, mediocre, cutscenes, it's that bad, aside from that the game manages to overcome all of this obstacles an give a couple of bursts of fun and enjoyment for a couple of minutes, sadly, after a while, it falls into the exact same endless cycle of monotony
    that every other aspect of this game falls down into.

    It's the worst "Halo" game in all the franchise, but it can be fun and enjoyable at times, even if it doesn't last to long, nor it's interesting, while your forcing yourself to play it.
    Expand
  65. Apr 21, 2013
    8
    Nice storyline and guns and the intro of firefight make this game to me. The Firefight is pretty good for a first time, and it's very challenging. I wish that the elites were on this because the Elites are a trademark of Halo. The Hammerhead brute is probably the best enemy of all of them. With only the Rocket Launcher or assassination to depend on to kill him reliably, You need wits to master firefight, especially on a level like Chasm 10, where Phantoms don't come and with many turns. Now the main thing that keeps this from the 10 are as goes:
    1) Lack of elites
    2) Non-customizable Firefight (understandable since it's a first run)
    3) The jellyfish (Hate them with a passion. A hammerhead with an extra shield isn't an ideal enemy)
    By far the best weapon has to go to the pistol. Reliable for headshots on grunts and jackals. This is the most reliable human weapon, since other human weapons are crap against Covenent shields
    Expand
  66. May 31, 2013
    9
    A Halo game where you play as a human ODST soldier instead of a Spartan, that's a first and big change. I did, however, enjoy Halo 3: ODST 'cause its different. Playing from a soldier's point of view and not a spartan is actually fun. They brought back the healing aids from the first, since the characters are human, so you can't just run into the fight, you'll most likely die instantly. The new Horde like 'Firefight' mode is fun when there's up to 4 players. Though the game was good, it was really short. Probably wouldv'e worked better as an expansion pack to Halo 3, rather than being a full game, but there is still enjoyment to have here. But if you liked playing as an indestructible super-soldier, than look somewhere else. Expand
  67. May 16, 2014
    7
    Halo 3: ODST is the most unsatisfying game of the series, yet still portrays an intriguing story that pushes you through the lengthy adventure. The open world was so plan and boring, trying to navigate was very difficult that it became the most frustrating part of the game. Having to walk from side to side of the map is something i hated in this game! However the scenes of being weak and venerable is done so well you start to get the creeps in some parts of the game especially at night time. This is something i haven't seen a halo game for a very long time, as master chief is a well known bad ass! All in all ODST isn't a must have just an expansion of the city from Halo 2, new comers will be left confused, do not start halo here. However if fans are looking for a unique game of the series. This is a must! Expand
  68. Jul 19, 2013
    6
    Halo ODST is a fun game but I need to say it is more DLC then Game why because it gives a short campaign and one new mode. it is especially a DLC for anyone that bought Halo 3 since it also gives halo 3 multiplayer something you already bought.
    pros: still halo= still fun, graphics, cool audio logs which have a bonus scene if you collect them all, pretty cool story where you are shot down
    and must discover what happened to your team.
    cons: its a DLC halo 3 is in its title, in the open world you backtrack most of the time and avoid fights. you can't even do some normal things anyone can do because "rookie is strong enough" like duel wielding and JUMPING HIGH ARE YOU SERIOUS!, you never really like any of your team (except maybe buck) 4 hour campaign with one multiplayer mode is all the game really offers if you already got Halo 3 (which I bet you did)
    Expand
  69. Jul 23, 2013
    6
    Halo 3: ODST is not a bad game. It is just as polished as the other games in the series. That being said, the reason the score is not higher is because of the amount of content that this game has to offer. The multiplayer is a rehash of Halo 3, which is really fun, but not new. Many people already own most of the Halo 3 maps, making this disc feel like a rehash. The campaign is fun, but it is extremely short. I was able to beat this game in 4 hours max. This short campaign is not worth a full retail price, which is why I cannot give this game a higher rating. Expand
  70. Apr 5, 2014
    7
    As a 10 or even 20 dollar expansion this would have been great, but I paid 60 dollars for it. This has excellent game play stellar graphics and an awesome story with a lovable set of characters, but it only took me 3 hours to complete on LEGENDARY. The multi-player despite being fun crashes multiple time in a few short sessions. Truly a sad corporate sellout to something that could have been great. Expand
  71. Aug 4, 2014
    1
    "Hey guys, let's take an average franchise like Halo and we go all Cristopher Nolan on it making it super greedy and mature and patriotic and **** just like a Michael Bay movie without boobs" -What I think they said at Bungie before the creation of this... let's call it game because you use a controller on it.
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 94 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 94
  2. Negative: 1 out of 94
  1. The bottom line here is that this is a nice little piece of Halo, and that anyone who has ever enjoyed Halo will probably enjoy this too. The only question is how much it is worth to you. As a full priced stand-alone game, its value is somewhat dubious.
  2. Not only an add-on! This is better than many of the main games! Next to the single player, you also get a great multiplayer mode. You just cannot do wrong if you buy this game!
  3. Halo 3: ODST is an excellent add-on campaign for Halo 3, and one which all Halo fans should own.