User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1040 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AlexK.
    Sep 22, 2009
    10
    Campaign 10/10 FireFight 10/10 its all awesome
  2. JoradT
    Sep 23, 2009
    6
    When are people going to realise that this is just the SAME game from two years ago just with a couple of new maps in multiplayer and a different (shorter campaign). It's ridiculous that Bungie are charging $60 for this. There are a few very good aspects (such as firefight which is AWESOME) but apart from that it's really not worth it at all. Worst value package ever.
  3. Oct 8, 2011
    9
    Story: 9
    Characters: 7
    Graphics: 9
    Setting: 7
    Multiplayer: 10
    Technical: 10
    Audio: 10
    Gameplay: 10
    Re-Playability Value: 8
    Fun Factor: 8

    Score: 8.8/10 = A
  4. Apr 22, 2011
    6
    Halo 3 ODST is a decent game on it's own, but with the full Halo 3 multi-player experience packaged with it, it makes this an awesome deal. The campaign is interesting, with varied locations and classic Halo battles with the Covenant; although you don't play as Master Cheif, it doesn't detract from the experience. Firefight is a good addition, but the ability to go on Xbox LIVE would haveHalo 3 ODST is a decent game on it's own, but with the full Halo 3 multi-player experience packaged with it, it makes this an awesome deal. The campaign is interesting, with varied locations and classic Halo battles with the Covenant; although you don't play as Master Cheif, it doesn't detract from the experience. Firefight is a good addition, but the ability to go on Xbox LIVE would have made it much more interesting. Nonetheless, it is fun whether you go it alone or with some friends. Expand
  5. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    Not the best Halo but at least like a lost episode , very nice. Actually it added cool features the game, just like the DLC and the firefight mode apart from the short campaign . The campaign was nice, playing as an a ODST felt like a challenge against the covenants and that was a great feature in difference about Master chief that is (obviously) a spartan (easy) . A littleNot the best Halo but at least like a lost episode , very nice. Actually it added cool features the game, just like the DLC and the firefight mode apart from the short campaign . The campaign was nice, playing as an a ODST felt like a challenge against the covenants and that was a great feature in difference about Master chief that is (obviously) a spartan (easy) . A little disappointed in the campaign , I mean it needed the battle rifle, and mostly in all the level you used the silenced m7s , the levels vastly appeared the assault rifle and come on the protagonist never talked it just felt like another master chief only human. But anyway is full entertaining and you get a good use for your money . Expand
  6. michaelk
    Jan 8, 2010
    10
    this is another fantastic game that just seems to be getting loads of negative feedback but it really is a fantastic shooter the story is great with a real sense of depth plus the secret story that you descover by downloading all the audio files really adds a sense of depth. firefight is awesome fun with the only real setback being that its friends only i'd really of liked it to be this is another fantastic game that just seems to be getting loads of negative feedback but it really is a fantastic shooter the story is great with a real sense of depth plus the secret story that you descover by downloading all the audio files really adds a sense of depth. firefight is awesome fun with the only real setback being that its friends only i'd really of liked it to be open to everyone but i'm lucky to have friends to play with and if none of them are about i have the classic halo 3 multi player plus every dlc map to play on against one of the largest communities of players thats still going strong even after 3 years as one of the most played games online i really honestly dont understand all the negativity ?????? this game is awesome on every level Expand
  7. Nov 13, 2010
    8
    I normally really enjoy playing halo games and I enjoyed this one as well... just not as much.
    I don't know what happened but this was not even close to how good I thought halo 3 was and this game is good just the worst fps halo in the series.
  8. Mar 1, 2011
    4
    One of the biggest disappointments I've ever had to suffer. I'm a long time Halo fan, and while I don't exactly love Bungie, I trusted them to deliver a great experience. I'd already given up hope for a great campaign since Halo 2, and all I really cared about was playing survival Halo. I was initially taken aback that a game Bungie themselves had dubbed an "expansion to Halo 3", with anOne of the biggest disappointments I've ever had to suffer. I'm a long time Halo fan, and while I don't exactly love Bungie, I trusted them to deliver a great experience. I'd already given up hope for a great campaign since Halo 2, and all I really cared about was playing survival Halo. I was initially taken aback that a game Bungie themselves had dubbed an "expansion to Halo 3", with an estimated price for $40 was now being marketed as a full game (thankfully Amazon gave me $10 back soon afterwards). Loading up into the campaign, I was almost immediately struck at how.. well.. bad it was. The cutscene animations are laughably poor, and the characters are all bland stereotypes. The storytelling was rather annoying, as between levels you'd have to "explore" an extremely repetitive New Mombasa while fighting outposts of Brutes (more like driving past them with a ghost you steal) and then searching for 10 minutes to find the next "clue". Somehow this piece of garbage reveals an extremely complicated story to your "rookie". Honestly, this is probably the worst Halo campaign in existence. Besides that, two things stuck out to me:
    1. Where in the hell are the elites? I personally hate fighting brutes; they're dumb, slow, and boring. Obviously since this game takes place about 2 seconds after the Master Chief fights with about a MILLION elites, you'd think there would be.. I don't know.. some elites left over. Well you'd be wrong. I'm not sure what the canon explanation is, but basically the H3 engine didn't have enemy AI coded into the elite characters, so we're stuck fighting Halo 3 elites before they even existed.
    2. You're supposed to feel different. You're supposed to feel like a smaller soldier, without super shields, who can't take on 50 brutes by himself. You don't. You still feel like a spartan, but you can see your hands this time. You still run and gun as you kill dozens of grunts and elites with superior firepower to your own. Yeah, you have to find healthpacks from time to time. Big woop. You definitely do NOT feel like a small fragile soldier, and there is no more strategy than previous Halo games offer.

    On to firefight.. boy what a disappointment. There is no defense strategy, there is no teamwork involved. Playing with 4 friends, we just got into a game and found the best strategy was to run our separate ways and kill as many enemies as possible. What makes this incoherent mess even worse is that you're forced to deal with these stupid skulls that turn on after a couple waves. These skulls force you to melee enemies to regain shields, to constantly dodge enemy grenades while yours are rendered ineffective, to deal with a terribly low supply of ammo. Do any of these things sound fun to you? They sure aren't. I knew they would offer the skulls for those looking for additional challenge, but to force them on you? Ridiculous. It ends up playing like a 4-player co-op campaign, except there's only one tiny level, and there's no story... and it's not even remotely fun.

    Some people loved the "storytelling" and "style" of this game, but ultimately, as a Halo fan, it was a huge disappointment. I played ODST for about a week before stopping altogether. Do I regret buying it? Not entirely. For one, I now have all the H3 maps on a single disk and my HDD has much more space. Two, I was able to complete the achievements towards getting Recon armor in H3. And finally, I was able to participate in the Reach beta. All that aside, I found this game terrible. I'm a HUGE Halo CE to Halo Reach fan, and I found this game TERRIBLE. Take from this what you will.
    Expand
  9. Oct 9, 2010
    0
    SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO boring its exactly the same as every single other halo and its just a overrated piece of rubbish, i cant actually believe i pre ordrered it. Biggest waste of money in my life !
  10. MikeW
    Jan 2, 2010
    4
    The story is very non flowing, even if it is good I couldn't tell because it's so choppy. The ruined Mombasa that you play for most of the game as the rookie is very dull and lifeless. It has it's moments and I was entertained but it really doesn't hold a candle to what the halo name has set itself to be.
  11. Aug 29, 2010
    7
    i played through the campaign once, never played that again. Not because it was bad, it was just that there was really no reason to go back and play it again. The firefight mode is a very good mode where you fight waves and waves of enemies until you run out of lives. The downside is that there is no matchmaking for firefight. You are stuck playing either locally with 2 people or 4 playersi played through the campaign once, never played that again. Not because it was bad, it was just that there was really no reason to go back and play it again. The firefight mode is a very good mode where you fight waves and waves of enemies until you run out of lives. The downside is that there is no matchmaking for firefight. You are stuck playing either locally with 2 people or 4 players online. it is still fun but should have been tweaked before release. Expand
  12. Aug 13, 2010
    1
    wow if by deffinition you mean a game company crapping out a turd into a box marketing it for $60 then this is the true deffinition of that . so first this was suppose to be a expansion pack which probubly woulda went for 1600 points if marked reasonably ... yeah right like bunjie would do that they have to rape you for every thing you are worth because they are greedy and know halo fanswow if by deffinition you mean a game company crapping out a turd into a box marketing it for $60 then this is the true deffinition of that . so first this was suppose to be a expansion pack which probubly woulda went for 1600 points if marked reasonably ... yeah right like bunjie would do that they have to rape you for every thing you are worth because they are greedy and know halo fans will pay any thing to get it no matter how bad it is. if this was atleast a 1600 point expansion like it was intended to be i could atleast give it a 6/10 . as is its a $60 overpriced expansion that took me all if 4 hours to beat and i didnt enjoy any of it . outdated graphics ... oh and you dont get to play as the master chief you get to play as some bozoo who just runs around living out what other people have done. then theres the gears 2 horde mode rip off fire fight which wasvately fun for a hour . playing this game felt like i was banished to hell . The halo series is beyond repair in my book . only positive note is i only borowed this game and didnt pay for it . if i did pay for it man id have been really pissed. Expand
  13. KP
    Oct 3, 2009
    5
    I'm pretty disappointed in this one. I disagree with some of the other comments. To me it feels obvious that Bungie cut corners on this game....from the game play to the graphics to the voice acting. I think the voice acting is terrible on this one. My biggest complaint is the lighting. When it's dark out and you are forced to used your VD vision or whatever it's I'm pretty disappointed in this one. I disagree with some of the other comments. To me it feels obvious that Bungie cut corners on this game....from the game play to the graphics to the voice acting. I think the voice acting is terrible on this one. My biggest complaint is the lighting. When it's dark out and you are forced to used your VD vision or whatever it's called...it just makes it an unpleasant gaming experience. I found myself constantly messing with the brightness adjustments to no avail. No matter what I did to adjust I found the game either too dark or too bright. Granted I haven't gotten into Firefight mode, but as far as the campaign, I'd rather replay any Halo game than play this. A Halo game this is not. Expand
  14. GavinM
    Jan 2, 2010
    6
    Halo 3 :ODST is a serviceable game, it doesn't do anything new or isn't exactly memorable, but is an enjoyable game when you don't take in the Halo name or the hype buildup. If it wasn't a Halo game though, it would wash away in the sea of better games that came in the fourth quarter of this year.
  15. thedude
    Mar 23, 2010
    5
    Hugely disappointing. Most of the content is content that most Halo fans have already paid for, since the main multiplayer is Halo 3's multiplayer. Tacked on you get Firefight mode which will get old fairly fast. The only other new content is the super-short campaign(around 6 hours long). There were a lot of great games last year(mw2, l4d2, gh5, borderlands, arkham asylum). Compared Hugely disappointing. Most of the content is content that most Halo fans have already paid for, since the main multiplayer is Halo 3's multiplayer. Tacked on you get Firefight mode which will get old fairly fast. The only other new content is the super-short campaign(around 6 hours long). There were a lot of great games last year(mw2, l4d2, gh5, borderlands, arkham asylum). Compared to those, this game was a terrible waste of money. Expand
  16. jesseR
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    this is my favorite halo game ever! when i played as chief i felt no strategy but odst is strategic and has those big climax battles like at the end of the game. also the audiofiles make the game more interesting and i enjoy that is open world, offers alternitives an opens a big window in the halo universe
  17. MarkM
    Oct 4, 2009
    10
    ODST was a great game in my opinion. the campaign was very fun and it had a good story. The new health system makes the game a bit more challenging and the controls are easy for nearly any one to learn almost right away. the new firefight mode has been hours of fun for me and the H3 multiplayer is most like the most fun I've ever had in a game. Even if you own the normal halo 3 disc, ODST was a great game in my opinion. the campaign was very fun and it had a good story. The new health system makes the game a bit more challenging and the controls are easy for nearly any one to learn almost right away. the new firefight mode has been hours of fun for me and the H3 multiplayer is most like the most fun I've ever had in a game. Even if you own the normal halo 3 disc, ODST brings 3 new fun and exiting maps and it would be good if one of your friends doesnt't have halo 3 or ODST you can let them barrow your halo 3 and be able to play online with them. Overall I believe ODST is a great buy and that if you are new to halo it is even a greater deal. Expand
  18. JayC.
    Sep 22, 2009
    0
    I pretty much paid $60 for a worthless expansion for the multiplayer maps... waste of my time Just another Halo from desperate Micro$oft.
  19. Sep 21, 2012
    5
    For me this game is not up to par with those that came before it. Running around trying to find beacons gets repetitive early on, as well as the level design being used over and over again - like earlier Halo games. The storyline change is what happens when the developer has finished and closed a trilogy, yet the fans want more - and so they had to come up with an alternate storyline. TheFor me this game is not up to par with those that came before it. Running around trying to find beacons gets repetitive early on, as well as the level design being used over and over again - like earlier Halo games. The storyline change is what happens when the developer has finished and closed a trilogy, yet the fans want more - and so they had to come up with an alternate storyline. The narrative certainly is, for the most part, what separates this game from the others - unfortunately though I didn't find it very engaging and otherwise the game doesn't add anything that wasn't already there in past titles. I also found the presentation to be too dark at times, and the hud takes up too much of the screen. In addition I found the gameplay to become too repetitive. Upon trying to play through the Halo games chronologically, I have hardly seen any new opponents or breakthrough gameplay elements since the original Halo. It was decent fun at certain moments, I'll give it that - though sadly my optimism for this game just isn't anything more than that. Expand
  20. Aug 12, 2010
    5
    I was extremely dissapointed in odst. Honestly i think that odst should have stayed as an expansion. I wasted 60 dollars on a 5 hour game. IT was a rundown version of halo 3. The only good thing about the game was that it came with the extra halo multiplayer disc. I was really excited for firefight and you cant even use it in matchmaking
    none of my friends had the game so i was stuck
    I was extremely dissapointed in odst. Honestly i think that odst should have stayed as an expansion. I wasted 60 dollars on a 5 hour game. IT was a rundown version of halo 3. The only good thing about the game was that it came with the extra halo multiplayer disc. I was really excited for firefight and you cant even use it in matchmaking
    none of my friends had the game so i was stuck playing it by myself and its not fun. The free roam wasnt even free roam. It was run from point a to point b. The gameplay was exactly the same as original halo. The dificulty was not that hard at all. The game itself is ok but for 60 dollars its not worth it at all. Mabye for 40 but thats a mabye
    Expand
  21. Nov 15, 2011
    5
    So heavily recycled from Halo 3 its like playing a modded version of it when you put in ODST. The only good things about ODST are the addition of firefight and the bonus disc that gives you all the halo 3 maps for free.
  22. Oct 27, 2010
    2
    The storyline was very short and ruined mombasa was a dissapointment. As well as that the storyline wasnt that good. If you want a better game at half the price just buy halo 3. dont buy this game
  23. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    Copy/Paste to all Halo reviews after all these years: I didn't have a 360 for a few years (played 3 and ODST). In the meantime I played all sorts of fps- COD, BF, Killzone (which is awesome), Resistance, and every single other one. And coming back to Halo when I rebought a 360 was like the greatest homecoming ever. Unlike those other games, every Halo battle is like a chess match waitingCopy/Paste to all Halo reviews after all these years: I didn't have a 360 for a few years (played 3 and ODST). In the meantime I played all sorts of fps- COD, BF, Killzone (which is awesome), Resistance, and every single other one. And coming back to Halo when I rebought a 360 was like the greatest homecoming ever. Unlike those other games, every Halo battle is like a chess match waiting to happen. And once you truly know every enemy and every weapon, you fall into a sweet spot of gaming that is possibly the best of all action games ever made. It's just the best. Great now I have to copy and paste this 4 more times. Expand
  24. Dec 22, 2010
    9
    Halo 3: ODST is what you get when you try to create DLC but add to much content, the story in this game is one of the best in the series, it's better than Halo 3's in my opinion, the environmental graphics are outstanding as are the armor graphics, facial animations are terrible though, voice acting is great and the sound effects are top notch, and the new Firefight mode is really fun, aHalo 3: ODST is what you get when you try to create DLC but add to much content, the story in this game is one of the best in the series, it's better than Halo 3's in my opinion, the environmental graphics are outstanding as are the armor graphics, facial animations are terrible though, voice acting is great and the sound effects are top notch, and the new Firefight mode is really fun, a few new gameplay changes only give it a slightly different feel, and there is no multiplayer, but it does come with all of Halo 3's maps plus the DLC maps and two new maps, this game is in my opinion amazing and one of the best in the series. Expand
  25. Oct 28, 2011
    6
    This is a really hard game to want to play because it's nothing more than a four hour dlc pack. Granted I didn't pay the original $60 for this, more like $25, but it still didn't draw me into the game to enjoy it. What's my motivation here? To fight a battle that took place just prior to Halo 3? Wander streets as an underpowered ODST trooper and unfold an irrelevent story? It'sThis is a really hard game to want to play because it's nothing more than a four hour dlc pack. Granted I didn't pay the original $60 for this, more like $25, but it still didn't draw me into the game to enjoy it. What's my motivation here? To fight a battle that took place just prior to Halo 3? Wander streets as an underpowered ODST trooper and unfold an irrelevent story? It's basically boring. Expand
  26. Jul 24, 2011
    6
    This is the worst Halo game in the series yet. To me most of the things are recycled content, and that's probably because the guys at Bungie are to lazy to add new content. The multiplayer is totally recycled, and that pissed me off. The campaign is not that good also, and I was especially much more pissed when a glitch in the game made me start all over again. The only good thing in thisThis is the worst Halo game in the series yet. To me most of the things are recycled content, and that's probably because the guys at Bungie are to lazy to add new content. The multiplayer is totally recycled, and that pissed me off. The campaign is not that good also, and I was especially much more pissed when a glitch in the game made me start all over again. The only good thing in this game, i would say, is the firefight mode. Besides that, not really a game worth getting. Expand
  27. Aug 1, 2011
    9
    You know I was going to give it a bad rating because its a bad "halo game" but then I played some other much worse fps's and other bad games and thought wow this really is so much better than those other games. so sure out of all the halo games its definitely the worst (yes that includes wars) it's still a superb game by gaming standards and deserves to be regarded as such.
  28. Sep 28, 2011
    4
    Halo ODST was a massive missed opportunity for Bungie. They could've actually crafted a game that broke from their previous efforts. They could've actually shown us what combat was like from a vulnerable human's point of view, instead of from a power armored supersoldier's point of view. Instead of walking around like some sort of shielded tank, maybe we'd be able to go prone and takeHalo ODST was a massive missed opportunity for Bungie. They could've actually crafted a game that broke from their previous efforts. They could've actually shown us what combat was like from a vulnerable human's point of view, instead of from a power armored supersoldier's point of view. Instead of walking around like some sort of shielded tank, maybe we'd be able to go prone and take cover and do interesting stuff. But they squandered it all, they just didn't give a damn.

    So you're an ODST. Well, I guess that means you're really vulnerable, right? You can't rely on shields to save your bacon, this gameplay's probably going to be a lot more like Rainbow Six, and even grunts will pose a considerable challenge... oh wait. No, no they didn't do that. There's still a shield, it's just now called stamina and it's hidden from the HUD.

    Well, you're just a human. I guess that means you can't break off machine gun turrets and lug them around and... oh wait. Yeah, I guess you can still break off turrets and walk around with them. You've still got superhuman strength. You can still carry Spartan lasers as if they weighed nothing, even though they're huge weapons that would probably strain a normal human.

    But hey, you're way way weaker than a Spartan II, you've probably got a much much weaker melee attack now, right? You probably can't deliver a couple of punches to kill grunts and Brutes and stuff, right? After all, regular humans don't have the superhuman strength to do that. Oh wait... yeah, I guess your melee attacks still kill them quickly. Your punches are still superhuman for some reason.

    But without the finely tuned motor reflexes and stabilizers of the Mjolnir armor, your aim is probably going to be really bad when you move a lot, right? I mean, your reticle is probably going to expand if you're running or strafing a lot, right? That's what happens when a human being moves rapidly while carrying a gun, their aim suffers. So that's surely... oh wait. Oh wait, that's not... that not what we get. The crosshair just remains static and perfectly accurate. Boy, that's not right is it?

    If you just expected more of the same, I guess ODST might've been just peachy-keen for you.
    Expand
  29. Dec 26, 2011
    4
    AWFUL campaing, Just **** garbage. Why people would like to see a story in mixed order is beyond me, Yeah it's not gonna make no sense if you do the second last mission then the second, but it just feels like a way to pad the game play, "Oh we have a 4-5 hour campaing, but instead of just telling a story, were gonna force you to walk around for 10 mins before you get to the next part ofAWFUL campaing, Just **** garbage. Why people would like to see a story in mixed order is beyond me, Yeah it's not gonna make no sense if you do the second last mission then the second, but it just feels like a way to pad the game play, "Oh we have a 4-5 hour campaing, but instead of just telling a story, were gonna force you to walk around for 10 mins before you get to the next part of the story" Firefight isn't online and the multiplayer is halo 3. Do not buy unless you don't have halo 3 anymore. even then halo 3 is dead sooooooo Expand
  30. Jan 7, 2012
    5
    I hope Microsoft is listening. You can't sell 4 hours of content, and a new multiplayer mode as a full game!!! The game was meant to be an expansion pack for Halo 3, hence the name Halo 3: ODST, so who's idea was it at Bungie, or Microsoft to sell this game as an independent title?!?!?
    The game play is similar to the other Halo titles. You kill aliens, to be frank. This time around you get
    I hope Microsoft is listening. You can't sell 4 hours of content, and a new multiplayer mode as a full game!!! The game was meant to be an expansion pack for Halo 3, hence the name Halo 3: ODST, so who's idea was it at Bungie, or Microsoft to sell this game as an independent title?!?!?
    The game play is similar to the other Halo titles. You kill aliens, to be frank. This time around you get a few new guns, and a vision mode that highlights enemies. Does that sound like it deserves to be a full purchase? No. But wait there is also a new multiplayer mode called Firefight, where you, and up to three friends fight in a survival type of mode where endless hordes of enemies will attack, and you have to fight them off. Aside from that, and a tacked on single player, the multiplayer is the exact same, without the new guns. Simply put, its one game mode, a short and tacked on single player, and the old Halo 3 multiplayer without any chances. I haven't left anything out at this point. I've said everything that Halo 3:ODST has to offer. So if that's all that was added why did the game set sold as a full price game rather then DLC? I'll tell you why. It's because some executive at Microsoft who figured they weren't making enough money said so that's why. This game is nothing new at all, it's just a recycled Halo 3. This game should not in anyway be praised.
    If this would have been released at DLC it would warrant a better score such as a 6, maybe 7. However, because of the price tag, I have to deduct points from it. The game doesn't deserve anything else other then a 5, because it simply isn't enough to get a better score when you have to pay full price for it.
    Shame on you Microsoft, shame on you Bungie, shame on you Halo fan boys who would be willing to cough up $60 for this trash at launch.
    Expand
  31. Apr 22, 2012
    4
    Give your Halo character little health and change absolutely NOTHING else, and you have ODST. The gameplay mechanics are exactly the same, except you have bugger all health (jumping from fairly low heights can hurt you), the story is boring and forgettable, levels are repetitive (I HATED the night time level in the city) and this game is obviously just a cash ploy made by Bungie. We canGive your Halo character little health and change absolutely NOTHING else, and you have ODST. The gameplay mechanics are exactly the same, except you have bugger all health (jumping from fairly low heights can hurt you), the story is boring and forgettable, levels are repetitive (I HATED the night time level in the city) and this game is obviously just a cash ploy made by Bungie. We can wait for Halo Reach without crappy sequels to fill the gap. Expand
  32. Feb 26, 2012
    9
    Halo 3: ODST should have never been an "expansion" and should have just been a game on it's own. Regardless, it is a truly unique game. For those expecting the standard, stellar Halo-style experience they will be somewhat disappointed. The art style and color palette are totally different from Halo 3. The cut-scenes have a more cartoon-like feel to them, and the game is amuchdarker inHalo 3: ODST should have never been an "expansion" and should have just been a game on it's own. Regardless, it is a truly unique game. For those expecting the standard, stellar Halo-style experience they will be somewhat disappointed. The art style and color palette are totally different from Halo 3. The cut-scenes have a more cartoon-like feel to them, and the game is amuchdarker in tones. The story-telling is vastly different, but once you get used to it only then can you appreciate it. ODST slows down the fast pace of Halo story telling to focus, in detail, on the episodic encounters of surviving members of an ODST unit. Instead of vast, galactic battles with epic proportions, ODST tells the small-scale story about the lives of brave and honorable men and women who would have otherwise been considered insignificant. ODST takes a mysterious, suspenseful approach in a fantastic tale on how ODST struggle to save Humanity from the invasion of the Covenant. The Human-Covenant War takes a heavier toll as you literally feel and experience the War from a purely human perspective. You dwell among the dark, dead ruins of one of earth's greatest cities: New Mombassa. You can see Covenant ships hovering nearby and laying waste, you see human soldiers scrambling in guerrilla warfare against alien invaders. You can explore the city and uncover interesting side-stories from a civilian perspective of the attack, and you experience -block-tp-block fighting against occupying covenant forces. The stakes seem higher, and I almost wish this game would have been called Halo: ODST so it could have been a $30 tie-in special release in between Halo 2 and Halo 3. I think more people would have appreciated the game more than way, especially with how the plot progresses and then ends. The story is very interesting, and enjoyable. At first I had a hard time actually liking the characters, but as the game continued on I felt like i fit in among them, and I felt for them and connected to them. The music is unique and enjoyable. The gameplay is solid and smooth. The game is challenging and immensely fun. This game has a high replay value, and is a must-get for anyone who wants a game where they can take time to explore and relish details of a larger story. Expand
  33. JasonN
    Oct 1, 2009
    10
    The campaign was more enjoyable than the two previous Halo games. While there are times I was forced to hide and sneak past enemy soldiers, I played the ODST character nearly the same way I played the Master Chief. The different scenes were fun to perform, and the music flowed great with them. Firefight is very fun if you have friends to play with. The enemy retains its A.I. so difficulty The campaign was more enjoyable than the two previous Halo games. While there are times I was forced to hide and sneak past enemy soldiers, I played the ODST character nearly the same way I played the Master Chief. The different scenes were fun to perform, and the music flowed great with them. Firefight is very fun if you have friends to play with. The enemy retains its A.I. so difficulty level is not an issue. The game comes with the Halo 3 multiplayer, so it's bringing the best of both worlds. I personally would buy this over Halo 3. Expand
  34. ChrisA
    Nov 6, 2009
    9
    Halo 3: ODST is a good buy if you have 30 pounds to spend on a game. If you don't have halo 3 Halo 3 ODST is a good experience. Main Gripes is that the campagin is a but too short and firfight should have some sort of matchmaking ability. Single Player- 8.0 Multiplayer- 8.7 Overall gameplay- 8.3 Presentation-9.0 Lifespan- 8.4 Score- 8.5 (I rounded for base score)
  35. JordanB
    Oct 3, 2009
    10
    Although $60 may be a little steep for an expansion, it
  36. B
    Oct 6, 2009
    9
    Anytime anything gets this big it gets haters and there are 1 Halo hater for every 20 games sold so there are a lot of Halo haters. Yes you can finsih this game in less time then it took you to be super mario bros 1 when you were a special ed kid but its still a good game and the hours of multiplayer you will play of the firefight and new Halo 3 maps will more then make up for theAnytime anything gets this big it gets haters and there are 1 Halo hater for every 20 games sold so there are a lot of Halo haters. Yes you can finsih this game in less time then it took you to be super mario bros 1 when you were a special ed kid but its still a good game and the hours of multiplayer you will play of the firefight and new Halo 3 maps will more then make up for the slightly shorter campagin. The price could have been a few bucks less but considering all the MP I have played I am not going to complain. Expand
  37. AngelA
    Jan 5, 2010
    9
    this game i think is one of the best halo games to date. i mean who dosent love teaming up with three friends and beating alien ass! i mean the down side to this game was the short campain mode and poor grafics but great game play definitly! firefight is the best feature on this game so if your not gonna by it atleast rent it cause halo out did there selfs on this one!
  38. JW
    Mar 27, 2010
    8
    ODST is a solid shooter better than average but the campaign is too short and easy to get completely excited about. It's main new feature is Firefight which while fun is a time consuming affair, expect to spend over 2 and a half hours if you're performing well so casual gaming goes out the window. Expect to beat the campaign 3-5 time in your fisrt few days of owning it. And dont ODST is a solid shooter better than average but the campaign is too short and easy to get completely excited about. It's main new feature is Firefight which while fun is a time consuming affair, expect to spend over 2 and a half hours if you're performing well so casual gaming goes out the window. Expect to beat the campaign 3-5 time in your fisrt few days of owning it. And dont expect any gameplay revolutions for the Halo franchise. The multiplayer disk though is great, Halo 3's entire multiplayer with every DLC and adding that onto the solid but not great campaign and this is a solid game decision. Expand
  39. ShaneZ.
    Oct 1, 2009
    10
    Best Halo Game EVER! What we lacked in the length of the game is made up for in the endless hours you can enjoy playing with friends in Firefight!
  40. BruceC
    Oct 15, 2009
    4
    I have all of the Halo series games and have been a Halo fan from day one. I was really excited when I heard this game was going to be released in September. I got the game and finished the game in a few hours. When I got to the end, I said to myself, "Huh? What happened? Did I miss something?" I don't care about the price of the game, It's the content and playability of the I have all of the Halo series games and have been a Halo fan from day one. I was really excited when I heard this game was going to be released in September. I got the game and finished the game in a few hours. When I got to the end, I said to myself, "Huh? What happened? Did I miss something?" I don't care about the price of the game, It's the content and playability of the game that matters. As others have said previously, the play in the dark, then play in blinding light was just unacceptable. I thought the music score was excellent. I hated the side story that was presented in the kiosks about the human inhabitants of Mombassa, third and fourth graders would like it. And what the heck happened to the humans? Were you suppossed to find them somewhere in the city? This game had sooo much potential with multi-level capabilitiy within the buildings, and street levels. Too many doors that could have been explored were locked, There was too much time spent wandering through empty streets. The overall maps were huge, but they were not used to their fullest capability. ODST was a big disappointment. Expand
  41. DrewK
    Oct 21, 2009
    9
    I for one am extremely happy with this game, you get all $30 worth of the multiplayer from Halo 3, which I hadn't bought before. So that makes the Campaign and Firefight together about $30. If the story took you 4 hours to beat, play it on legendary, getting all the data logs, and then tell me its short. This game is wonderfully made, with a stealthy environment as the rookie, and I for one am extremely happy with this game, you get all $30 worth of the multiplayer from Halo 3, which I hadn't bought before. So that makes the Campaign and Firefight together about $30. If the story took you 4 hours to beat, play it on legendary, getting all the data logs, and then tell me its short. This game is wonderfully made, with a stealthy environment as the rookie, and different styles as your teammates. GOW wasn't the first to have a survival mode, but I think that ODST has done the best job of any game so far. Great purchase for the first person shooter lover. Expand
  42. AdamW.
    Oct 5, 2009
    9
    A worthy expansion to the Halo saga well worth 39 pounds (I don't know what that is in dollars) The campaign all be it short is great fun even though the storyline is a bit weak. Firefight makes up for this with loads of maps and a shared pool of lives means that you have to work as a team. It is much better than COD WAW Nazi Zombies. However you must have friend online because of A worthy expansion to the Halo saga well worth 39 pounds (I don't know what that is in dollars) The campaign all be it short is great fun even though the storyline is a bit weak. Firefight makes up for this with loads of maps and a shared pool of lives means that you have to work as a team. It is much better than COD WAW Nazi Zombies. However you must have friend online because of the lack of an ability to player with another three random people. Overall the new weapons, firefight and the ability to unlock recon (why is vidmaster endure so hard) this makes it a worthy purchase. Expand
  43. DerekF
    Sep 22, 2009
    6
    This is a fun game, but ultimately an overpriced expansion pack. Good value at $30, reasonable at $40, but not worth $60. The campaign only takes about 4 hours to complete and there is no matchmaking in firefight. Any halo fan would most likely have already purchased halo 3 and the map packs, so there is not much value for the majority of fans.
  44. OwenM.
    Sep 22, 2009
    10
    Great story mode, wicked awesome Firefight mode, and every single map pack. What's not to love?
  45. ArminZ.
    Sep 22, 2009
    7
    Halo: ODST is a great experience while it lasts. This is not to be confused with the statement that it is a great game. If you are a diehard fan of the franchise then you most likely will look past the stagnation and lack of evolution in the series and disregard the fact that this is, by far, the worst game in the series. The graphics are suitable, but the Halo 3 graphics engine Halo: ODST is a great experience while it lasts. This is not to be confused with the statement that it is a great game. If you are a diehard fan of the franchise then you most likely will look past the stagnation and lack of evolution in the series and disregard the fact that this is, by far, the worst game in the series. The graphics are suitable, but the Halo 3 graphics engine wasn't even breathtaking when Halo 3 was released. Three years later the engine is in dire need of a rebuild. With games akin to Mass Effect 2 (on the horizon) MGS4, Gears of War 2 and (especially) Uncharted 2: Among Thieves - there is absolutely no excuse for a AAA title of this magnitude to be as lackluster graphically as ODST is. The sound design is commendable and the campaign is where ODST could have been a stellar title. The problem is, it will only take people 5-6 hours to beat on Lengendary. In such a short amount of time, Bungie was unable to fully develop the characters and really give the narrative any actual meat which could have added to the mythos of the Halo universe. The multiplayer is essentially the same as Halo 3 and, as such, does nothing but bring the overall score down (once again for stagnating). The pistol is back, which is fantastic, but it should have never been removed. The three new maps are about status quo for the series. all in all, the only thing that pushes the series forward is Firefight. You'll hear plenty of people discussing whether or not this title is an expansion or not. If reviewers are to judge it as an expansion, then it is almost as good as GTA: Lost and the Damned - almost, but for three times the cost. If a reviewer is to consider the game as an actual sequel/prequel (thereby attempting to justify the $60 asking price, sadly, the game doesn't offer enough. Halo: ODST is worth playing, it really is. The only caveat is that you should wait a year or so until the price drops to where it should have been in the first place. Expand
  46. CoryD
    Sep 23, 2009
    9
    The campaign has a different feel than the rest of the halo series, buthas a great look to it. Firefight is a blast, and is gonna eat up many hours in the near future. The new Mythic maps are just the icing on the cake... forget the retards that gave this a zero, it's the best game released in 2009, no contest at all.
  47. DavidL.
    Sep 25, 2009
    6
    Firefight is a novel idea, however quickly gets extremely repetitive and boring. I'm surprised a broader selection of vehicles and weapons were not included. Let's face it, fighting against a computer is only so fun for so long when your using the same boring default weapons. Biggest Flaw: No matchmaking in firefight. The campaign was short with Co-op, but that's nothing Firefight is a novel idea, however quickly gets extremely repetitive and boring. I'm surprised a broader selection of vehicles and weapons were not included. Let's face it, fighting against a computer is only so fun for so long when your using the same boring default weapons. Biggest Flaw: No matchmaking in firefight. The campaign was short with Co-op, but that's nothing new. Lastly, this IS an expansion pack, nothing more. The maps included do not warrant a $60 price tag, as anyone who still plays Halo 3 already own all of the maps. Let's get real here, if it wasn't for the Reach Beta, ODST would not be a full-game priced expansion pack. Period. Expand
  48. Bob
    Sep 25, 2009
    9
    Great addition to the Halo franchise. $60 for a game is standard and if you are new to Halo, you get Halo 3 multiplayer with all the DLC in the package. Bungie, keep 'em coming!
  49. QuentinV
    Jan 4, 2010
    10
    my friends at school were talking about this alot, so I figured might as well get it,when I popped the disk in and started playing it wasintresting and very fun and challenging, and I loved every minute of it. the only annpying thing about it is the lack of matchmaking for firefight nut I guess ,y brothers are more then enough,
  50. JackS
    Feb 8, 2010
    5
    The game is SO boring and definitely not worth the money. Bungie tried to apply an open world to the Halo series, but failed miserably. As the cookie cutter protagonist that is the Rookie (promising young rookie, never speaks, where have we seen this before? Oh, yea: EVERYWHERE), you travel the bleak, depressing city of a destroyed New Mombasa. There is WAY too much walking, and to top it The game is SO boring and definitely not worth the money. Bungie tried to apply an open world to the Halo series, but failed miserably. As the cookie cutter protagonist that is the Rookie (promising young rookie, never speaks, where have we seen this before? Oh, yea: EVERYWHERE), you travel the bleak, depressing city of a destroyed New Mombasa. There is WAY too much walking, and to top it off, the scenery is bland and uninspired. Everything looks the same in New Mombasa, and worst of all, there are few fights in between objectives, and when you do enter a fight, it's so small and easy that it's nothing worth remembering. The Rookie is trying to find his squadmates who dropped into New Mombasa as well. Upon discovering their remains, you enter standard linear Halo levels, playing as the character you discover up until their crash. This concept seems to be the only thing original about this game. The linear Halo levels aren't completely terrible, but it's nothing worth remembering. The graphics in the game are the same as those in Halo 3, which is a 2007 game. This game came out in 2009. It seems like Bungie just added a bit of blur, but no major polish. Firefight is also boring. A lot of people seem to love it, but I absolutely hate it. The regular multiplayer is fun, but it's Halo 3's multiplayer with every map pack, so I can't credit any of that to ODST. People may tell you that this game is an expansion, but it's not. If it is the same price as a full game, then guess what? It's a full game. If I were you, I'd wait until this game dropped to $30-$40. Otherwise, it's cheaper to buy Halo 3 and every map pack separately, and will definitely leave you with a better experience. Expand
  51. DavidM
    Mar 4, 2010
    3
    Halo 3 odst really had my hopes up i thought it was going to be a fantastic game! But i was one stupid person for thinking this game will be good. I can go on and on and on about ranting this game. But first let me start with the cost when the game came out. 60$ for a crap campaign that i beat in one night, the firefight gamemode and the Halo 3 multiplayer expierience. I mean when i got Halo 3 odst really had my hopes up i thought it was going to be a fantastic game! But i was one stupid person for thinking this game will be good. I can go on and on and on about ranting this game. But first let me start with the cost when the game came out. 60$ for a crap campaign that i beat in one night, the firefight gamemode and the Halo 3 multiplayer expierience. I mean when i got the game I was woah cool a halo 3 multi disc sence my halo 3 game disc broke. But for me the game is stupid unpolished and super boring to me. I barley even touch the game the only reason why i am keeping it is because the multiplayer disc. Reason 2 The campaign: The campaign is a kind of open world thing when your the rookie but all he does (said in gameinformer) is that he just finds out about his squad mates awesome moments. the campaign was about 5 hours to me and the legendary difficulty is 1 whole clip to kill one brute! I beat legendary on the orginal but the legendary on halo 3 odst is just down right ridiculous. It just seems like bungie is bribeing the famous game companys to vote high on there game. Reason 3 Plays like original halo 3: Ok so you think there will be some cool new feature to the gameplay like lets say like sprinting? no its the exact same thing from halo 3 i know most of you will be like why is he whining about that... Well first of all halo 3 has been out forever! and you think if you play halo 3 alot it will get boring and yes it did. There is only 2 new weapons as well i mean a 60$ expansion with no new gameplay features besides the VISR... Come on bungie so greedy. Reason 4 Firefight: For me on halo 3 odst firefight was the best thing in there (Besides the multiplayer expierience) But i have a few proplems with it. What if i want to play with my friends at my house? No i cant i can only play with one of them sence its only 2 player Split-screen so no 3 or 4 player matches. Pretty stupid a 4 player survivor mode that 2 people can only play locally... And the last proplem in firefight there is no good maps. My favorite map on the campaign to hold off was the rooftops but that map was not on there. Expand
  52. TylerM
    Nov 1, 2009
    9
    This game improves on Halo 3 in almost every way. The Campaign is very unique, presenting a more open method of play than in other Halo games, and presenting missions in flashbacks. Firefight, the "multiplayer", might get old after a while, but if you have friends to play with, it'll probably last you hours and hours. My only complaint is that while the ODST's gameplay functions This game improves on Halo 3 in almost every way. The Campaign is very unique, presenting a more open method of play than in other Halo games, and presenting missions in flashbacks. Firefight, the "multiplayer", might get old after a while, but if you have friends to play with, it'll probably last you hours and hours. My only complaint is that while the ODST's gameplay functions differently from that of a Spartan or Elite in Halo 3 (ex. weaker melees, lower endurance, grenades thrown differently), shields were replaced with "stamina", which functon identically. In addition, a bonus disc with all the Halo 3 multiplayer maps is included, so if you;re not interested in Halo 3's campaign, but want to try the multiplayer, this is the game to buy. Expand
  53. MarkJ
    Oct 1, 2009
    8
    ODST is in its essence an expansion to Halo 3. Int his capacity it makes for a great game. The inclusion of the Multiplayer map packs alone almost makes up for the cost of the game, but adding firefight and the beautifully done campaign it is totaly worth it. The only reason to pass this game up would be if you have all the maps and dont want to spend the cash on the 8 new missions and ODST is in its essence an expansion to Halo 3. Int his capacity it makes for a great game. The inclusion of the Multiplayer map packs alone almost makes up for the cost of the game, but adding firefight and the beautifully done campaign it is totaly worth it. The only reason to pass this game up would be if you have all the maps and dont want to spend the cash on the 8 new missions and one new game type. The only bad thing to be said about this game is the shortness of the campaign. Expand
  54. AGLion
    Oct 10, 2009
    7
    The campaign was short and started to get repetitive, but it kept bringing me back with its really cool side story and its awesome music. Firefight is both awesome and innovative, with the skulls being activated after every round keep the game flowing pretty well and adding a new aspect to survival game modes. Despite the bad campaign, I found that it met the $60 price tag with its The campaign was short and started to get repetitive, but it kept bringing me back with its really cool side story and its awesome music. Firefight is both awesome and innovative, with the skulls being activated after every round keep the game flowing pretty well and adding a new aspect to survival game modes. Despite the bad campaign, I found that it met the $60 price tag with its firefight mode, and it's still keeping me occupied. Collapse
  55. JimboH
    Oct 15, 2009
    7
    It has been a very long time since I've wandered a level for 40 minutes, searching the same places, riding along the edges of the map, and having no clue where to go. This describes the very first level I played on ODST. Eventually, some bad guys showed up who weren't there before, and suddenly I got a hint that told me to push the d-pad... for another hint. Since I am an expert It has been a very long time since I've wandered a level for 40 minutes, searching the same places, riding along the edges of the map, and having no clue where to go. This describes the very first level I played on ODST. Eventually, some bad guys showed up who weren't there before, and suddenly I got a hint that told me to push the d-pad... for another hint. Since I am an expert gamer, this kind of experience is ridiculous in AAA title. This also describes the "rookie" missions in the game, in particular the very first mission, and the third "rookie" mission. I dont understand the logic in "lets let the player wander with no idea what they are supposed to be doing". The rest of the game is more halo 3. There is in particular a part of the game where you collect audio clips and can view a slide show that plays with it. The voice acting was pretty bad, like Reading Rainbow children's book bad. You'd think Microsoft could find an aisan lady who actually sounds naturally asian and not phony stereotype cartoon character asian. The plot of the game seems irrelevant to the big picture (thus far). I was hoping it would explain Halo 3's quizzical beginning and fill in for what the kaput movie was supposed to explain, but it doesn't. At all. By itself though, its not a bad plot. Best part is that there's no AI chick who freezes your view and controls and nags you for abandoning her (for which you have no idea what she was talking about nor do you care). The size of the game is well suited for a rental; beat it on legendary on day 6 of my 7 day rental period, spending 1 - 3 hours a day on it. Firefight, while interesting, isn't worth 60 bucks, especially if you don't have any friends who also have this game. There's no matchmaking for it. The "par" score seems rather high as well. I got a 4,000 something score on my first try, after playing for over 20 minutes. The par was 200,000. Expand
  56. CT
    Dec 10, 2009
    9
    The main gripe for this game, unfortunately, is the price. For people who owned the maps already, this is definitely not worth it. Fortunately, I only bought one map pack, and didn't have to focus on the high price when I played the game. The campaign is very short, and the Mombassa parts lack action, but the replay levels was done with the same level of quality as past Halo games. The main gripe for this game, unfortunately, is the price. For people who owned the maps already, this is definitely not worth it. Fortunately, I only bought one map pack, and didn't have to focus on the high price when I played the game. The campaign is very short, and the Mombassa parts lack action, but the replay levels was done with the same level of quality as past Halo games. Graphics aren't great, but that's never been a strong suite for Halo. The mechanics work solidly. Firefight is a ton of fun, and for those who complain about matchmaking, it is very difficult for it to work as the Bungie developers have said, but hopefully this will change in the future. Multiplayer, of course, the same good ol' Halo. Expand
  57. ClintK
    Dec 2, 2009
    6
    The Halo campaign though fun, had way too few enemies, challenges, and far too much repetitiveness and the game was too short. The firefight is the highlight and easily the most fun we had. Not having a Halo 3:ODST Multplayer is a total cop out job. I would have loved to have played ODST Multiplayer with a visor and no health recharge, but alas what a disappointment on that portion.
  58. jacob
    Oct 25, 2009
    5
    the story line was too short, and always being interrupted by long and unnecessary bits of walking around and looking for the smallest most inanimate object that triggers a flashback. the online game play is good but not enough so to revive itself. overall, a mediocre score for a mediocre game.
  59. BrandonZ.
    Oct 5, 2009
    5
    The campaign was fun, but relatively short. I enjoyed the game until I put the multiplayer disk in and my xbox recognized it as Halo 3. This game was way overpriced, even with the $20 gift card from toys r us. It should have been a 20-30 download for Halo 3, but since Microsoft knows we love Halo, they thought they could just trick us into paying full game price for it. What a rip-off.
  60. Byrd76The
    Oct 7, 2009
    7
    I've always thought the Halo series has been seriously overated after Halo 1. ODST just proves how overated this series is. The campaign was painfully short and uniteresting. The characters were bland and the story was decent. With that said I can't say it wasn't a bad shooter. The game did what it had to do as a shooter but it just didn't push the envelope. The I've always thought the Halo series has been seriously overated after Halo 1. ODST just proves how overated this series is. The campaign was painfully short and uniteresting. The characters were bland and the story was decent. With that said I can't say it wasn't a bad shooter. The game did what it had to do as a shooter but it just didn't push the envelope. The graphics were hit or miss, which I don't understand with games like Dead Space and COD4 which both look amazing on the same console. I've played many games this new generation on every platform and honestly ODST looks and feels like the beginning of the generation. A game should not be measured on it's multiplayer alone. Please people wake up and stop giving this games 8's and 9's. Go play Gears of War or Uncharted, which are much solid games! Expand
  61. AJP
    Oct 9, 2009
    8
    First and foremost, ODST is more than an glorified expansion pack. The story is better than the other Halos in my opinion. I like the fact that you are just a regular trooper instead of Master Chief, it makes you think more during the fights, especially since you don't have have recharging health or recharging shields. The way the story is told is interesting, finding things left First and foremost, ODST is more than an glorified expansion pack. The story is better than the other Halos in my opinion. I like the fact that you are just a regular trooper instead of Master Chief, it makes you think more during the fights, especially since you don't have have recharging health or recharging shields. The way the story is told is interesting, finding things left behind by your squadmates and playing flashback missions through their eyes. The length of the story depends on how long it takes you to get to where the items are that trigger the flashbacks and if you want to find all the hidden audiofiles. The package is a great deal, provided you don't already have the map packs for Halo 3 multiplayer, since they are included on the second disc, which is Halo 3's multiplayer, the only new thing is 3 new maps. Speaking of multiplayer, the new Firefight mode on the ODST disc is a blast, it is pretty much horde mode with a twist. Different skulls activate during each round turning on different modifiers like all enemies dodge grenades and plasma more often or enemies do nothing but throw grenades until they run out. Overall this is a great package, especially for Halo fans. I will say this, if you already own the map packs for Halo 3, rent ODST first to see if the campaign and Firefight are something you'd be willing to pay full price for. Expand
  62. JonathanO
    Oct 9, 2009
    9
    In my opinion most people are missing the point. The story is more complex than it appears at first. To see the true beauty of the game you must look beyond.
  63. JohnS.
    Sep 22, 2009
    6
    Pretty much underwhelming.
  64. BlueEng
    Sep 22, 2009
    10
    Story was Awesome! Best in the Halo series so far. Started playing Firefight and can't quit, brilliant fun!
  65. KevinM.
    Sep 22, 2009
    10
    This game is awsome,firefight is crazy sweet ,can't stop playing it . way better than horde in gears .plus a halo reach beta. this full game is way better than the expansion they wanted to release .this will be goty.
  66. trevorK.
    Sep 22, 2009
    8
    If campaign was 10 to 15 hrs. Firefight had matchmaking and the silenced smg and pistol carried over to multiplayer, this would have been 10. As is, its awesome story and early access to REACH beta still make it worth the price.
  67. PaulT.
    Sep 22, 2009
    7
    For what was supposed to be an expansion pack, I would say that ODST does not disappoint. It adds around 4-6 hours of Campaign and Firefight is a great addition, though not particularly innovative, to the solid game that is Halo 3. As someone who is not a die-hard Halo fan, however, there's really not much here to match the 60 dollar price tag. If you aren't a huge Halo fan, For what was supposed to be an expansion pack, I would say that ODST does not disappoint. It adds around 4-6 hours of Campaign and Firefight is a great addition, though not particularly innovative, to the solid game that is Halo 3. As someone who is not a die-hard Halo fan, however, there's really not much here to match the 60 dollar price tag. If you aren't a huge Halo fan, possibly buy it for $20 or less. Until it hits that price point, just wait to rent to make a decision about it. Expand
  68. HallT.J.
    Sep 22, 2009
    8
    Different...... but the same. I understand people when they say to not fix what is not broken. Halo 3 is not broken however if Halo ODST was the same as Halo 3 everyone would say that Bungie just made a few changes H3, repackaged it and charged us full price for a game that could have been a DLC. I think there is just enough new content to justify me spending $59.99. Add the fact that I Different...... but the same. I understand people when they say to not fix what is not broken. Halo 3 is not broken however if Halo ODST was the same as Halo 3 everyone would say that Bungie just made a few changes H3, repackaged it and charged us full price for a game that could have been a DLC. I think there is just enough new content to justify me spending $59.99. Add the fact that I am a Halo fan and it is a must buy. Expand
  69. MarkS.
    Sep 22, 2009
    9
    A welcome return to the Halo universe, with an excellent soundtrack and a campaign that is fresh and different whilst still retaining the Halo feel. An exciting new game mode, Firefight, promises hours of addictive fun with others or by yourself, and the inclusion of all the Halo 3 maps, including the map packs, rounds out the package nicely. A must for any Halo fan, shooter fan, or A welcome return to the Halo universe, with an excellent soundtrack and a campaign that is fresh and different whilst still retaining the Halo feel. An exciting new game mode, Firefight, promises hours of addictive fun with others or by yourself, and the inclusion of all the Halo 3 maps, including the map packs, rounds out the package nicely. A must for any Halo fan, shooter fan, or Sci-Fi fan. Even if you are none of these, it is still well worth a look. Expand
  70. JonathanL
    Sep 22, 2009
    6
    It's hard not to experience deja vu when you play this game. However, that quickly wears off and you'll feel disappointed once you've beaten the game in under 5 hours and noticed the multi-player remains the same. This should have been priced at what it is, a standalone expansion. Do not buy this game for $60.
  71. RavenWolfx
    Sep 22, 2009
    6
    The game is short, the graphics are sub-standard now, and the story is average at best. I would like to give it a better score, at least a 7, but this is just way too overpriced. $20-$30 DLC would have been great, but not $60. Firefight is great fun with a full team, but even that doesn't make it a great buy. I refuse to boost the score just because it is Halo or because Bungie is The game is short, the graphics are sub-standard now, and the story is average at best. I would like to give it a better score, at least a 7, but this is just way too overpriced. $20-$30 DLC would have been great, but not $60. Firefight is great fun with a full team, but even that doesn't make it a great buy. I refuse to boost the score just because it is Halo or because Bungie is known for making good games. Expand
  72. joeL.
    Sep 22, 2009
    10
    Although not offering much new the amount of content in this package makes it a must buy.
  73. ArvinM.
    Sep 22, 2009
    10
    Excellent
  74. RobertC.
    Sep 22, 2009
    5
    Very over hyped game very short campagin, poor graphics it just does not stand up to some of the falls coming games like MW2 and uncharted 2 but fire fight mode is a blast with friends but is let down by no match making with randomers over xbox live.
  75. RonaldH.
    Sep 22, 2009
    9
    I really would like to give this a 9.2 or 9.3. Great story that changes up the pace from the other Halo games. The music for the times you're the rookie is just awesome and adds to the atmosphere. And of course firefight is amazing. The voice acting is great and the contols are as tight as ever. Of course there are a few downfalls. Firefight is friends only, so no matchmaking, which I really would like to give this a 9.2 or 9.3. Great story that changes up the pace from the other Halo games. The music for the times you're the rookie is just awesome and adds to the atmosphere. And of course firefight is amazing. The voice acting is great and the contols are as tight as ever. Of course there are a few downfalls. Firefight is friends only, so no matchmaking, which means you have to find three friends always to play it co-op fully. Somehow, the odsts can carry around turrets like the Chief and move faster than he does??? And the graphics are just a little above average. Expand
  76. EdmárcioS.
    Sep 22, 2009
    4
    It's not a new Halo game.
  77. SWard
    Sep 22, 2009
    9
    Halo fans will rejoice as bungie finally return with a new halo game (not including halo wars), halo 3 fans will feel right at home as the gameplay and controller scheme I near identical with the loss of dual wielding and rechargeable shields. The new setting is very intriguing and night time levels play out more stealthily than the all action flashbacks which take place during the day. Halo fans will rejoice as bungie finally return with a new halo game (not including halo wars), halo 3 fans will feel right at home as the gameplay and controller scheme I near identical with the loss of dual wielding and rechargeable shields. The new setting is very intriguing and night time levels play out more stealthily than the all action flashbacks which take place during the day. The voice acting won't win any Oscars but I found myself actually caring about what happened to the other odsts. Graphically the environment have a brand new art style which looks very lonely at night and vibrant and shiny during the day, but it basically runs on an updated engine of halo 3. Your tactics will have to change, the health packs return from halo 1 and charging in mellee-ing enemies may not pay off as well. At night new Mombasa is an open sandbox where there are few vehicles and enemies don't have to be engaged for you to proceed, the super intendent is the new cortana which offers bioshock like voice clips and a new detailed map that for some reason doesn Expand
  78. Matthew
    Sep 23, 2009
    0
    I Cant Believe Bungie Made This. It part 3 Just wit a Shorter Story Mode It has All The Same maps of part 3 it only has 3new maps so Bungie charge everyone 60dollars for 3maps and a Pathetic 4hour story mode they should be arrested for robbing us i wud not give this game away. yet again Microsoft mess up another game just like Gears Of War 2 by forcing bungie making this that why haloI Cant Believe Bungie Made This. It part 3 Just wit a Shorter Story Mode It has All The Same maps of part 3 it only has 3new maps so Bungie charge everyone 60dollars for 3maps and a Pathetic 4hour story mode they should be arrested for robbing us i wud not give this game away. yet again Microsoft mess up another game just like Gears Of War 2 by forcing bungie making this that why halo reach will suck cuz bungie wont make it cause they didnt want to make this crap Expand
  79. PhilipP
    Sep 23, 2009
    5
    It's a very solid rental, but if I could go back to Gamestop, I'd return it and pick up Marvel: Ultimate Alliance 2, or else just wait for Operation Flashpoint (while playing Zombie Apocalypse on XBLA). The engine is starting to show it's age, the VSR mode I think is just an attempt to hide the low-rez textures and bland level design, the whole "vulnerable" aspect they were It's a very solid rental, but if I could go back to Gamestop, I'd return it and pick up Marvel: Ultimate Alliance 2, or else just wait for Operation Flashpoint (while playing Zombie Apocalypse on XBLA). The engine is starting to show it's age, the VSR mode I think is just an attempt to hide the low-rez textures and bland level design, the whole "vulnerable" aspect they were bragging about is just the armor shield renamed to Stamina, and the weapons are all the same from previous versions (who cares about the two "new" silenced weapons, they're weak and pack no punch). Also, though I'm looking forward to trying out Firefight, I have zero desire to play any more Halo 3 multiplayer. The campaign is fun, but I imagine I'll be done with it by this time tomorrow (including all the SP cheevos). Expand
  80. ApocalypseBrown
    Sep 23, 2009
    7
    In all honesty I haven't played the game, and though I think they can be pompous yuppies the normally excellent GameCentral is where I've nicked the score from. But I am posting to say to those idiotic PS3 fan boys to stop posting your brain dead reviews, you're wasting your time and ours so do yourselves a favour and stop it. Thank you.
  81. Brad
    Sep 23, 2009
    9
    I give ODST a 9 because it invokes a level of tension I just haven't felt from a FPS in a very long time. Playing the campaign on Heroic is just the right level of difficult for my skill level without making the game scream-at-the-TV frustrating. Have yet to delve into Firefight, and I agree that a matchmaking lobby would have been nice, but I understand why it is a "friends only" I give ODST a 9 because it invokes a level of tension I just haven't felt from a FPS in a very long time. Playing the campaign on Heroic is just the right level of difficult for my skill level without making the game scream-at-the-TV frustrating. Have yet to delve into Firefight, and I agree that a matchmaking lobby would have been nice, but I understand why it is a "friends only" playspace. You don't want some stranger mucking up your Vidmaster Endure achievement in the last set. The most disappointing thing was the inclusion of all Halo 3 MP maps. I understand the why, but I wish they'd thrown some kind of bone to those who already bought the old maps. In any case, the game and package is a worthy addition to the Halo franchise, and takes us back to what Bungie gave us in Halo:CE - Great gameplay and compelling story. Oh, and for what it's worth, it was Microsoft, not Bungie, who decided this was to be a full-retail $60 game. This is one of those unfortunate occasions where one truly cannot "Blame Stosh." Expand
  82. PAL4DIN
    Sep 24, 2009
    7
    To me this game has so far been a disappointment. The reason the game gets a 7 in my opinion is because there is nothing wrong with Halo 3 being redone so to speak, the problem is that there is nothing extremely new to play with. The absolute most disappointing part is that the new ODST feel is fun but isn't ported into multiplayer! If they made the single player feel a bit new, why To me this game has so far been a disappointment. The reason the game gets a 7 in my opinion is because there is nothing wrong with Halo 3 being redone so to speak, the problem is that there is nothing extremely new to play with. The absolute most disappointing part is that the new ODST feel is fun but isn't ported into multiplayer! If they made the single player feel a bit new, why not the multiplayer as well? I want to have the cool vizr, the silenced SMG, and the throwback pistol in multiplayer. Would it be too much to ask for a change in the multiplayer? They could have done so much with the ODST troops being in multiplayer but didn't. Expand
  83. TalhaA
    Sep 25, 2009
    9
    This game is really good a little short and a bit different to halo 3. I think anyone who have played previous halo titles should buy this game. The story telling is what i like the most going from different sections of Mombasa to find out what happen to your fellow ODSTS.
  84. SamM.
    Sep 26, 2009
    4
    Well it has a decent five hour campaign that fizzles out towards the end. Recycled Halo 3 multiplayer with the only new addition being Firefight. Sadly Firefight doesn't include matchmaking, which was one of the stupidest decisions Bungie could have made in my opinion. If you own Halo 3, and have already downloaded the new maps when they were released months ago, this game is not Well it has a decent five hour campaign that fizzles out towards the end. Recycled Halo 3 multiplayer with the only new addition being Firefight. Sadly Firefight doesn't include matchmaking, which was one of the stupidest decisions Bungie could have made in my opinion. If you own Halo 3, and have already downloaded the new maps when they were released months ago, this game is not worth buying. Had this game been $30 cheaper it would almost certainly have been a day one buy. Instead, I can only recommend renting it, or try your very hardest to find it under $35. Expand
  85. CraigT.
    Sep 26, 2009
    4
    Basically v.poor DLC for halo 3. A short and forgettable 5 hour long single player campaign and no new multiplayer content. The AI is rediculously inept at any sort of simple task and should not be allowed to drive at any time. Halo is the new cash cow in town and its already dry on milk. Developers like Bungie and publishers like MS just make Valve look even more like the idillic Basically v.poor DLC for halo 3. A short and forgettable 5 hour long single player campaign and no new multiplayer content. The AI is rediculously inept at any sort of simple task and should not be allowed to drive at any time. Halo is the new cash cow in town and its already dry on milk. Developers like Bungie and publishers like MS just make Valve look even more like the idillic buisness model and the saviours of gaming. Expand
  86. BartJ
    Sep 28, 2009
    8
    As a long time halo fan i found this to be a worthwhile spin-off, its one of the shortest games ever but thats why i played it on legendary. Although some say its utter crap, these people only want multiplayer, come on be realistic, halo multiplayer sucks overall play cod 4 for multiplayer but for a great story more imaginative than halo 3, play ODST. A must for halo fans.
  87. TroyL.
    Sep 29, 2009
    0
    This game was a huge disappointment and let down considering all the hype. the campaign needed a huge twist which it just doesn't have, and the campaign also gets hard to understand. the multiplayer the only reason to get this. oh and you will need to pay $100 AUD for the privilege of this EXPANSION.
  88. jamesk
    Sep 30, 2009
    8
    Its good, not great.the campaign is quite short, firefight is awesome but comes without matchmaking(none of my friends have the game), and i had all the online maps bfore anyway(which i say most people have), so only 3 new maps. Otherwise a good game with interesting story and if u hav friends playin firefight is a blast. but still, it is full price.
  89. TiaV
    Jan 7, 2010
    0
    Let's say that you are on the far left corner of the map....your objective would be on the farthest possible point away from you. The first 5 minutes were captivating. It involved fighting aliens at night. I said 'that was fun' and the game said, 'really? then let's do it another 5000 times for the rest of the game.' Apparently, if most of the gameplay is Let's say that you are on the far left corner of the map....your objective would be on the farthest possible point away from you. The first 5 minutes were captivating. It involved fighting aliens at night. I said 'that was fun' and the game said, 'really? then let's do it another 5000 times for the rest of the game.' Apparently, if most of the gameplay is done at night, then not too much effort will be needed on the graphics. And one more thing, my favorite. HARDER difficulties does not mean SMARTER enemies. It means healthier and faster ones. Meaning, the bad guys are just as stupid, but on steroids. What a waste of time. It's a fricking expansion pack that costs 6 times as much as it should. And after you're finally done with that pain-in-the-ass legendary difficulty, you put the game aside, and NEVER play it again. Seriously. There are better things in life to play with, and ODST is far from one of them. Expand
  90. SamD
    Nov 15, 2009
    0
    Terrible addition to the Halo series, the campaign is terribly boring and the new roaming around mombasa feels tedious and just adds extra play time to an already stale experience, I think the biggest joke was the no matchmaking in firefight mode a ridiculous move on bungies part and they have no plans to add it in the future. The graphics are poor especially on the characters faces and Terrible addition to the Halo series, the campaign is terribly boring and the new roaming around mombasa feels tedious and just adds extra play time to an already stale experience, I think the biggest joke was the no matchmaking in firefight mode a ridiculous move on bungies part and they have no plans to add it in the future. The graphics are poor especially on the characters faces and background scenery and uses the same old engine from Halo 3. Let's hope Reach is actually half decent. Expand
  91. MikeG
    Nov 16, 2009
    9
    Love the game! The campaign is short but I enjoyed ever second of it! I still felt like master chief though, just playing on another difficulty. It also includes all multiplayer maps wich is really really awesome!
  92. RowanF
    Oct 11, 2009
    7
    A real solid game and well worth your purchase, but let's not for a minute pretend that its of the same genre - reorganising caliber of Halo 3 or Halo 1. This is basicaly because its pretty much the same as Halo 3 - hence all the talk about it being an expansion. The graphics, enemies and gameplay are almost identical. Not only this, but lots of bits have been removed: You're A real solid game and well worth your purchase, but let's not for a minute pretend that its of the same genre - reorganising caliber of Halo 3 or Halo 1. This is basicaly because its pretty much the same as Halo 3 - hence all the talk about it being an expansion. The graphics, enemies and gameplay are almost identical. Not only this, but lots of bits have been removed: You're now incredibly weak and move painfuly slowly, you can't dual weild, use equipment, or use the battle rifle (cry). Bungie's answer to all this identical/removed content is the two new weapons: the silenced SMG and the Automag. I feel i must make a point here about the fact that in Halo 2 and 3, the SMG was frickin' useless unless dual-weilded, and even then it had the range of the frickin' energy sword. And yet in ODST, you can't dual-weild and it's still just as useless on its own. Ok so now its got a scope, but like I said, the thing's about as accurate as a shotgun with a 2 foot barrel. The Automag is ok, those first few instant-kill headshots against grunts are fun, but once you see how useless it is against everything else, you'll soon be swapping it for your trusty assault rifle. Weapons - wise, I was more excited about the return of the Brute Plasma Rifle. Of the new content that has been added, it's mainly new locations, which I have to admit are nice and interesting and as always it's probably worth getting it just for an inside look into the amazing Halo universe. The new story is interesting and again reveals lots of stuff about the Halo universe, but it's short and nowhere near as epic or enthralling as the other games, and the characters involved are nowhere near as likeable, mainly because its impossible to keep up with who's who unless you go onto Bungie.net and look at the character profiles, and plus I found it impoosible to take them seriously considering how retarded they look in the cutscenes. Honestly, in Halo 3, people in the cutscenes moved calmly, considerately and realisticaly, but in ODST they look like poorly made ragdolls being hung from the ceiling by nylon stings, and these strings are then being operated by a blind drunk man. The one realy soldily new and interesting bit of the game is Firefight, which it's probably worth getting for: it's fun, tactical and great entertainment for hours on end, my only complaint is perhaps that it starts way too slowly and is measured in such silly numbers: it doesn't exactly sound very cool to say ' i got to the end of set two', but that's acutaly quite an achievement. Expand
  93. BlaineH
    Oct 10, 2009
    9
    Who does and who doesn't like this game is totally dependent on if you owned halo 3 previously. I give it a good rating because I did not own it before hand. As for the graphics the designers managed to tweak the color pallet to make ODST really shine. The soundtrack is amazing and the voice acting is very impressive. The campaign may be short but the way the story is told is really Who does and who doesn't like this game is totally dependent on if you owned halo 3 previously. I give it a good rating because I did not own it before hand. As for the graphics the designers managed to tweak the color pallet to make ODST really shine. The soundtrack is amazing and the voice acting is very impressive. The campaign may be short but the way the story is told is really creative. My only disappointment with the game is the ending. But the real action is at Firefight. It may not be the most original idea but it's a lot of fun. I prefer it a little more to horde just because the combat and gameplay is a little more open. But that's my opinion. It's a great game and anyone considering getting should defiantly snag a copy. Expand
  94. GeorgeOgan
    Oct 14, 2009
    10
    I gave this game a 10 because it's that good and the price should not have anything to do with the score of the game. The campaign was not as short as some say unless you are on a speed run on easy. FireFight is a blast. Get this game, you will enjoy!
  95. AmmarH
    Oct 15, 2009
    8
    It's pretty fun, but i just thought that there is going to be kind of a good change on graphics, but there isn't. the graphics are just a bit better than halo 3 but not that much. any ways, it's a good game. and actually i give it an 8.4 but i can't use decimals.
  96. LuckyWolf
    Nov 5, 2009
    0
    Halo fanboy since day 1. I can't believe I wasted $60 on this garbage. It doesn't even compare to past Halo games. Bungie is so fond of the number 7, here are 7 reasons this is overpriced garbage... 1. Terribly short campaign 2. Copy and pasted levels 3. No matchmaking for firefight 4. Same theater but with less options (can't record movie clips anymore) 5. Only 2 player Halo fanboy since day 1. I can't believe I wasted $60 on this garbage. It doesn't even compare to past Halo games. Bungie is so fond of the number 7, here are 7 reasons this is overpriced garbage... 1. Terribly short campaign 2. Copy and pasted levels 3. No matchmaking for firefight 4. Same theater but with less options (can't record movie clips anymore) 5. Only 2 player split screen vs 4 player 6. Repackaged halo 3 disc I've already paid for. 7. Easy achievements which lack replayability. You can easily get 1000/1000g in less than a day. Expand
  97. LorenzoC
    Oct 18, 2009
    5
    Halo is a good game, it have a long story but i think it can't have more than 7 out of 10 because it have a good grafic and a good multiplayer on xbox live but it use only a part of the joistick, not like call of duty or other war games, they use all the joistick, then halo is limited, i don't understand many things also in the story and in the multyplayer on live, when one Halo is a good game, it have a long story but i think it can't have more than 7 out of 10 because it have a good grafic and a good multiplayer on xbox live but it use only a part of the joistick, not like call of duty or other war games, they use all the joistick, then halo is limited, i don't understand many things also in the story and in the multyplayer on live, when one player or covenat death they only go on the ground, i don't want blood but only the sign on the body. Expand
  98. MichaelC
    Oct 20, 2009
    4
    Some of my friends bought this, a couple of whom are halo fan boys. At first they said it was awesome but after a few days one of them changed their mind. I decided I would try it myself and paid £35 for it. Waist of money if you ask me. I found the new campaign, in one word: poor. The missions where you are the rookie are brainlessly unchallenging and boring to a sleeping level. Some of my friends bought this, a couple of whom are halo fan boys. At first they said it was awesome but after a few days one of them changed their mind. I decided I would try it myself and paid £35 for it. Waist of money if you ask me. I found the new campaign, in one word: poor. The missions where you are the rookie are brainlessly unchallenging and boring to a sleeping level. When you are in a flashback mission it is usually difficult to see where you are supposed to go next and cut scenes are dull and unintreging. Overall you can't get to grips with the characters or really the storyline as a new character is thrown at you over and over again. Firefight adds a great element to Halo as it now has a defensive game mode like the other main shooters. It introduces intelligent game play that you could go on for hours at a time. The only thing it lacks is a host system that doesn't end the game if a person disconnects or a search for other random players to play with. The new multiplayer maps are also very good. Expand
  99. [anonymous]
    Dec 27, 2009
    5
    Stick to normal Halo 3, this one isn't too good. It was nice of them to include the map packs for Halo 3, though.
  100. IanT
    Oct 25, 2009
    8
    By no means a perfect game, it's very good while it lasts. Firefight mode is a pretty good distraction, but a bit more multiplayer effort would have been nice, instead of just 3 new maps. Fans of the series will enjoy; everyone else probably won't see what the fuss is about.
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 94 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 94
  2. Negative: 1 out of 94
  1. The bottom line here is that this is a nice little piece of Halo, and that anyone who has ever enjoyed Halo will probably enjoy this too. The only question is how much it is worth to you. As a full priced stand-alone game, its value is somewhat dubious.
  2. Not only an add-on! This is better than many of the main games! Next to the single player, you also get a great multiplayer mode. You just cannot do wrong if you buy this game!
  3. Halo 3: ODST is an excellent add-on campaign for Halo 3, and one which all Halo fans should own.