Halo 3 Xbox 360

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4069 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DavidO.
    Sep 27, 2007
    6
    Fun, but way over rated and unoriginal. Too much hype, not enough new things. Lame single player.
  2. May 3, 2013
    7
    This is a good FPS game.Beshides having so many confrences and seeing advertisments on G4 all the time,the campagin is good and the multiplayer is a lot of fun.
  3. Nov 30, 2011
    6
    After killing about 13,000 Spartans in mulitplayer, I can confidently say that this is one the most addicting games ever. So much better than COD. Bungie did a really geat job on the campaign missions as well.
  4. Nov 27, 2012
    5
    Halo 3 is one of the first games I ever bought for the 360 (along with Crackdown (never finished), Forza 2 (came with the console - awesome game), & Gears of War (my favorite game on the 360). This was 5 years ago. I STILL haven't finished Halo 3. Why? It's boring, repetitive, and even more boring. I guess like Mac fanboys, I'll just never understand Halo fanboys. GoW, Call of DutyHalo 3 is one of the first games I ever bought for the 360 (along with Crackdown (never finished), Forza 2 (came with the console - awesome game), & Gears of War (my favorite game on the 360). This was 5 years ago. I STILL haven't finished Halo 3. Why? It's boring, repetitive, and even more boring. I guess like Mac fanboys, I'll just never understand Halo fanboys. GoW, Call of Duty MW, GTA IV, BioShock, Dead Space, the original Crysis, even Battlefield:BC were ALL better game than this one. I'll finish it (eventually), but Lord I hope Reach & Halo 4 are better than this one. Expand
  5. Nov 27, 2010
    7
    A pretty decent game. It lacks the replay value of the first two, and the story is pretty weak compared to the rest of the series. Ofcourse, that can be forgivable since it must have been difficult trying to bring an adequate conclusion to the storyline. If you like first person shooters, this game is worth a couple playthroughs.
  6. Mar 6, 2011
    7
    Halo 3 while a good game was a huge disappointment and the worst in the series, the bland boring campaign is really holding this back, the multiplayer hasn't changed much from Halo 2, the good thing is the Forge mode which may not be on a PC level of depth but is still shocking for a console game, and the hidden things like Easter Eggs and hidden skulls are a blast to try and find, and theHalo 3 while a good game was a huge disappointment and the worst in the series, the bland boring campaign is really holding this back, the multiplayer hasn't changed much from Halo 2, the good thing is the Forge mode which may not be on a PC level of depth but is still shocking for a console game, and the hidden things like Easter Eggs and hidden skulls are a blast to try and find, and the controls are amazing they rank right beside COD 4, but I still can't shake the disappointment this game brought, I was a huge fan of Halo 1 and 2 but, which were both game changers, but this is a game where even the good things can't save from being a disappointment and just being another average shooter. Expand
  7. May 26, 2012
    6
    It's a very overrated game and it shouldn't be as hyped as it should be. To me this is your average Fps game that lacks in certain ways. Don't get me wrong this game is beautiful but it isn't cut out to be an actual "Halo" game when compared to the first two games. This game only has 9 levels of campaign and one of the levels is just downright horrible. This goes to show how much effortIt's a very overrated game and it shouldn't be as hyped as it should be. To me this is your average Fps game that lacks in certain ways. Don't get me wrong this game is beautiful but it isn't cut out to be an actual "Halo" game when compared to the first two games. This game only has 9 levels of campaign and one of the levels is just downright horrible. This goes to show how much effort Bungie put into this game. The game design is bad because of this.The storyline seems to be a bit duller from the other games. It seems like it's always revolved around saving the world, which is okay but gets pretty bland after awhile. Other then that the online multiplayer experience is very well done. Which is why i give it a 6. It Lacks in campaign, storyline, and character development but it makes up for it in multiplayer. Expand
  8. Nov 19, 2013
    7
    Halo 3 is a game set in the magical time of 2500 or around that time. This is game is okay. I've played better halo's I have to admit. Although it came out in 2008 it's still looks good. It's plays well and this was the first halo with forge. Forge is a great mode where you can spawn in things from the game. The multiplayeis rubbish and I hate the campaign but the game modes and forge isHalo 3 is a game set in the magical time of 2500 or around that time. This is game is okay. I've played better halo's I have to admit. Although it came out in 2008 it's still looks good. It's plays well and this was the first halo with forge. Forge is a great mode where you can spawn in things from the game. The multiplayeis rubbish and I hate the campaign but the game modes and forge is the only reason I play Halo anyway.

    Overall
    -Bad Campaign
    -Bad Multiplayer
    -Amazing forge mode
    Score 72/100
    Expand
  9. Apr 20, 2014
    7
    The campaign is overall lacking, there just isn't any sense of urgency even though everything is supposed to be at stake, and it feels like nothing is at stake, which ruins the overall drive of the game. You know before even starting the game that master chief is going to save Cortana,defeat the covenant, and save earth. It's very predictable and doesn't do anything unexpected. Not toThe campaign is overall lacking, there just isn't any sense of urgency even though everything is supposed to be at stake, and it feels like nothing is at stake, which ruins the overall drive of the game. You know before even starting the game that master chief is going to save Cortana,defeat the covenant, and save earth. It's very predictable and doesn't do anything unexpected. Not to mention the awful level design in the level "Cortana".
    The Multiplayer is what makes this game great, it's balanced, fast paced, and requires skill to be good at.
    Expand
  10. Mar 17, 2011
    7
    Decent campaign, but it was short. I enjoyed continuing the Halo story. Being able to run through the campaign on co-op was nice. Multiplayer was solid but it was unbalanced and too much had changed for the worst. I only played this game when I was bored of the other ones.
  11. Aug 13, 2010
    5
    The Master Chief what a cool video game charicter . its unfortunite that his only real great game was the first halo . and his series has been sliding into the crapper ever since Halo 2 . though Halo 3 is a improvment over the awful halo 2 game i doubt this series will ever capture the magic halo 1 did . well lets get alittle positive for abit on halo 3 shall we . the 4 player co-op onlineThe Master Chief what a cool video game charicter . its unfortunite that his only real great game was the first halo . and his series has been sliding into the crapper ever since Halo 2 . though Halo 3 is a improvment over the awful halo 2 game i doubt this series will ever capture the magic halo 1 did . well lets get alittle positive for abit on halo 3 shall we . the 4 player co-op online is a great feature downside is though 3 of thoose people have to be elites and cant be other spartans >< . the game has fixed some of the wepons balance issues from halo2 ... some not all the pistol still sucks and a few others. lots of scarabs to fight and fighting 2 at once with 4 buddys ... Awsome . map editor is sweet along with instant replays that can be saved when playing online . controls are solid as they ever where . now thats pretty much where it ends for any thing good i can say about this game . the ending in this game stunk the ending on legendary stinks even more . the online is garbage mainly do to its searching system . you can wait up to 10 min some times to find a match . whats made worse is lets say you jsut wana play Big team death match on sand trap . because that map is awsome its huge lots of vehicles so lots o fun . well good luck with that the game may put you in sand trap but it will probubly give you terratorize , capture the flag(I HATE CAPTURE THE FLAG) , Team rockets , or some other lame game mode that you and i know I dont wana play!!! i came online to have fun and want to play the maps and modes im gona have fun in . unfortunitly bunjie doesnt want you to have fun it only wants to destroy it . now it may be different if you like all the maps and all the game modes . but i dont and shouldnt have to jump through a bunch of damn hoops to have fun . yes there is a custom match set up where you can select you map and game mode but no one ever plays that they only play ranked . so good luck trying to get a game in that. this game isnt as evil as halo 2 which i give a 3/10 too but its still crap and halo ODST is even worse then this . my final conclusion is this series must die . the master chief has been to tarnished to be cool any more . its so sad. Expand
  12. Sep 16, 2010
    7
    The single player campaign is disappointing on many levels. The graphics and lighting are nearly last-gen. You can't choose different classes of Spartan like the cover seems to suggest. Bland story with uninteresting characters. Same old gameplay, same old enemies, same old weapons. Multiplayer is great, but only if you are into the Halo style of gameplay. Overall, not the advancement ofThe single player campaign is disappointing on many levels. The graphics and lighting are nearly last-gen. You can't choose different classes of Spartan like the cover seems to suggest. Bland story with uninteresting characters. Same old gameplay, same old enemies, same old weapons. Multiplayer is great, but only if you are into the Halo style of gameplay. Overall, not the advancement of the series I wanted. Expand
  13. Dec 30, 2010
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After playing the previous two Halo games, I was looking forward too playing through this, and finishing the fight.
    I was amazed at the Graphics, it looked stunning in HD 1080. The game-play was really good too, and it was enjoyable.
    However, what let it down was two things:
    Length: Compared to the previous two, this was really short. If I wanted too, I could have completed this in one sitting. It felt like it was over before it begun.
    Plot: There wasn't much of a plot, and nothing made sense until the final couple of Chapters. Cortana's random viewings didn't make any sense either.
    The ending couple have been so much better than what it was, but still remained with the Chief dying.
    This game was saved by the multi-player aspect of it, which is brilliant.
    Expand
  14. Feb 13, 2011
    7
    A decent good game, story was interesting, but seems to be around another "hero-who-saves-the-day".
    Despite that, graphics were legendary, multiplayer was pretty decent. I disliked the auto aim though. But I loved the splitscreen option, and that it even could be used online. Was always great having a friend over and play either co-op or online. Alot of hours spent on that.
  15. Apr 25, 2011
    7
    This was a great game, star to finish, but c'mon, think about it: It's just Halo 2 reskinned in HD, nothing more, and nothing less. Sure, they added equipment and brute weapons/vehicles, but the Prowler is no different from the old Spectre, and the Marines don't pack very many polygons. in fact, the game relies heavily on bump modelling to show the detail. Overall, I give this game a 7,This was a great game, star to finish, but c'mon, think about it: It's just Halo 2 reskinned in HD, nothing more, and nothing less. Sure, they added equipment and brute weapons/vehicles, but the Prowler is no different from the old Spectre, and the Marines don't pack very many polygons. in fact, the game relies heavily on bump modelling to show the detail. Overall, I give this game a 7, and I think Bungie can live with that. Expand
  16. Nov 12, 2012
    6
    Joguei Halo 3 com uma enorme expectativa. O jogo em si é bom. A história é interessante e tudo mais. Mas devo comentar sobre dois pontos de que não me agradaram: a jogabilidade e os locais no qual ocorrem a história. Sobre a jogabilidade, realmente percebi que não consigo jogar FPS sem ter aquela mira secundária, que aproxima. Parece um jogoJoguei Halo 3 com uma enorme expectativa. O jogo em si é bom. A história é interessante e tudo mais. Mas devo comentar sobre dois pontos de que não me agradaram: a jogabilidade e os locais no qual ocorrem a história. Sobre a jogabilidade, realmente percebi que não consigo jogar FPS sem ter aquela mira secundária, que aproxima. Parece um jogo de geração passada graças a simplicidade que é uma troca de tiros, além de não possuir cover. Cairia bem como um jogo TPS, não FPS. E sobre a localidade, em muitos pontos da história eu fiquei sem saber pra onde ir. Na parte em que estamos dentro daquele "monstro" mesmo, eu rondava o mesmo lugar diversas vezes sem intenção até achar o ponto certo. Mas como uma crítica não pode ficar restrita aos lados ruins de um jogo, vamos aos lados bons. Primeiramente, o gráfico. Para sua época, o gráfico do Halo 3 realmente é bonito e não é tão sujo. Outro lado bom é o multiplayer online. Muito divertido. Não joguei muito esse modo, mas pelo que eu joguei já pude ter uma noção da qualidade, que é grande. Enfim, Halo 3 é um jogo que por completo não me agradou. Mas sei que muitas pessoas o considera um dos melhores jogos de todos os tempos, e eu respeito isso. Expand
  17. May 21, 2011
    6
    This is a good game not very good 6.010.0!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  18. Aug 1, 2011
    6
    Halo does have its production values but the immature brats that play it on Xbox live represent who this game is made for, and the over-rated near perfect reviews the Halo series has received represent the immaturity of game critics. Halo's multiplayer is its strongest side, there are 'some' good features but I cant help but say its been done better elsewhere. Unfortunately the singleHalo does have its production values but the immature brats that play it on Xbox live represent who this game is made for, and the over-rated near perfect reviews the Halo series has received represent the immaturity of game critics. Halo's multiplayer is its strongest side, there are 'some' good features but I cant help but say its been done better elsewhere. Unfortunately the single player side of the game fails and is only popular due to clever marketing to uncritical immature drone players who easily fall for the sensation of violence, guns, and 'badassness'. The single player campaign asides from a few moments of fun gameplay is totally bogged down with a standard sci-fi cliche dribble story having little originality. Halo 3 is not a bad game, its only ok, and does not deserve the over hyped praised it has received over the years.â Expand
  19. WesFletcher
    Sep 24, 2007
    7
    Its halo. same thing different color. its the same game its been since the first just add a few new gadgets and purty it up a pinch. No drastic changes. OOOoo there's a level editor and video mode. Wow you got me sold. How bout I throw in a cookie with it too that makes it an entire point better right? It works for what it is but its still the same halo just the end of it. that doesIts halo. same thing different color. its the same game its been since the first just add a few new gadgets and purty it up a pinch. No drastic changes. OOOoo there's a level editor and video mode. Wow you got me sold. How bout I throw in a cookie with it too that makes it an entire point better right? It works for what it is but its still the same halo just the end of it. that does NOT make it a 10 out of 10. It's halo, yes its WAY overhyped but it is a good game. That's it. IT by no means is perfect. Wait for the true reviews of people who aren't jerkin it to halo. Good bye master chief. Those in reality will turn you down. Expand
  20. JonMatrix
    Sep 24, 2007
    5
    I was really looking forward to a game that would break the norm. But all it is really is a Halo 2.5. It looks very similar to Halo 2 and plays very similar to it as well. The polygons are present on he heads of every model of the game, and it really shows a lack of polish.
  21. johnDoe
    Jul 4, 2008
    7
    The original Halo may have sold a million original xbox's, On the current next gen console Halo3 just does not have the same effect. This is by no means a bad game, Single player is enjoyable and quite testing, Just not as revolutionary as the original. Graphically the game looks great and play's as well as it always did. I am not sure where the series can go from here as I feel The original Halo may have sold a million original xbox's, On the current next gen console Halo3 just does not have the same effect. This is by no means a bad game, Single player is enjoyable and quite testing, Just not as revolutionary as the original. Graphically the game looks great and play's as well as it always did. I am not sure where the series can go from here as I feel it has peeked. Of course the online community for Halo is massive and you will have no trouble finding an online game That runs without lag. This could be where the series future lies in just online play. Halo 3 is a good game, Just not the generation setting game the original was. Expand
  22. DevonManvar
    Sep 26, 2007
    6
    WTF ppl looks like the developers did not put any effort in the graphs in this game Gear Of War looks better then this.....and what is wrong with single player.....I cleared 2 levels in single player mode and i just gave up becasue of the same shooting and nothing new to do.....Multiplayer is OK but could have been better........ I got 360 for this game but what a wast of money back to theWTF ppl looks like the developers did not put any effort in the graphs in this game Gear Of War looks better then this.....and what is wrong with single player.....I cleared 2 levels in single player mode and i just gave up becasue of the same shooting and nothing new to do.....Multiplayer is OK but could have been better........ I got 360 for this game but what a wast of money back to the good old PS Expand
  23. JohnB.
    Sep 27, 2007
    6
    Halo 3 is we pretty good game, but seems to cut you short again. The ads is what made this game larger then is really was. I'm a fan of the online play, but this should have been alll of Halo 2. The game actually starts to look like the original Halo as the game progresses which was disappointing. With this much hype it should have been far better then it was. Maybe it's me, but Halo 3 is we pretty good game, but seems to cut you short again. The ads is what made this game larger then is really was. I'm a fan of the online play, but this should have been alll of Halo 2. The game actually starts to look like the original Halo as the game progresses which was disappointing. With this much hype it should have been far better then it was. Maybe it's me, but 40% of the game looks way to familiar and seems as if it was a lazy way to go about it by revamping old levels from previous Halo games. Online play thus far is pretty fun. If the trilogy extends in another direction hopefully they get it right! Expand
  24. aspentitan
    Jan 15, 2010
    7
    Every heard of the saying "A six dressed up as a nine"? That's how I describe this game. For the most part I tremendously enjoyed this game until the last 3 Chapters of the solo campaign ruined it all. After completing the game I can
  25. OscarG.
    Sep 25, 2007
    6
    Well what can i said about this, i wait almost three years for this game and i figured out that nothing has change from halo 1 it´s the same gameplay, the same mechanic, boring history with better graphics but not superior, i am very disaponting about this game, GOW rules on 360 sorry halo fans.
  26. JoshuaMatte
    Sep 26, 2007
    5
    Why does a game that is just a complete rehash of previous installments with a couple extra doo-dads even worth playing? Not innovative, sorry excuse for a story, and mediocre single player at best. Sure, the multiplayer is great, but it does not make up for its short comings. The reviews this game is getting are obviously just to keep advertising revenue from Microsoft.
  27. JakeF.
    Feb 25, 2008
    7
    I thought it was going to be better than it actually was!
  28. BenS.
    May 29, 2008
    7
    Unfortunately Halo3 just doesn't deliver. Graphics & gameplay are just better than average. Put it up against Bioshock and it looks poor. I would have given it a 6 but the co-op campaign gives it another point.
  29. BillA
    Jun 25, 2008
    7
    Nothing fits. It is like 10 different artist slapped on their own coat of paint and things just don't feel right. The gameplay lacks any true mechanics and the multiply, although good, seems to fall short compared to its xbox live counterparts. don't be taken by the hype, this game is mediocre at best.
  30. Dave
    Sep 26, 2007
    6
    BIG disappointment from a HUGE Halo fan. I must admit that this seems like it should be called, "Halo 2: Episode 1." It just feels like a small advancement from Halo 2 in every single term. I do enjoy the multiplayer and that's why I give it a 6. Single player is extremely boring and repetitive.
  31. Sep 12, 2013
    6
    Halo 3 was a decent game but there were some issues that kept me from being fully immersed in the game. The most important was the lack of customizable button layout. Having controls that are different from other popular games only makes sense if it adds to the user experience. In the case of Halo 3 going against long established norms, it did not make sense. If you are going to haveHalo 3 was a decent game but there were some issues that kept me from being fully immersed in the game. The most important was the lack of customizable button layout. Having controls that are different from other popular games only makes sense if it adds to the user experience. In the case of Halo 3 going against long established norms, it did not make sense. If you are going to have controls that are particular to your game, at least have the decency to offer a custom option for those who do not see the brilliance in our scheme. If the controls hadn't been an issue, this game would rate higher. Expand
  32. Dec 16, 2011
    6
    Campaign is boring and the story is pathetic, Its just a poor mix between the first 2 Halo games. Multiplayer is ok and features a few new additions and its still insanely addictive but its not as improved as I hoped for. The covenant got a make over for the game and it took a turn for the worst, They look even worst then what they were before (which wasnt all that bad).

    I agree that
    Campaign is boring and the story is pathetic, Its just a poor mix between the first 2 Halo games. Multiplayer is ok and features a few new additions and its still insanely addictive but its not as improved as I hoped for. The covenant got a make over for the game and it took a turn for the worst, They look even worst then what they were before (which wasnt all that bad).

    I agree that its far too overhyped and is a disapointment because of it.
    Expand
  33. Jan 17, 2012
    6
    If you've played Halo 1 and 2 then you seen it before. Halo 3 is fun, but not epic and imaginative like it's ad campgain. The end of the war with the Covenant should not be a hand full of Brutes. The ending is so vague that I really did not know what had actually happened. The Covenant were one of the most original characters in video game history, they diserved more than this, and soIf you've played Halo 1 and 2 then you seen it before. Halo 3 is fun, but not epic and imaginative like it's ad campgain. The end of the war with the Covenant should not be a hand full of Brutes. The ending is so vague that I really did not know what had actually happened. The Covenant were one of the most original characters in video game history, they diserved more than this, and so did you. Compared to the wonderful story this game falls on it's knees. It's action funnest with a series of confusing objectives tacked on. Expand
  34. Jul 31, 2012
    7
    I have only played the campaign for Halo 3, but the issues I have with this game are with the entire game. I'll give the multiplayer the benefit of the doubt though. One, why is the fov so low in this game? Humans have upwards of 100 degree field of view, so why is it that Master Chief has a fov of around 60? This is such a problem I have with this game, it's like handicapping the player.I have only played the campaign for Halo 3, but the issues I have with this game are with the entire game. I'll give the multiplayer the benefit of the doubt though. One, why is the fov so low in this game? Humans have upwards of 100 degree field of view, so why is it that Master Chief has a fov of around 60? This is such a problem I have with this game, it's like handicapping the player. You are essentially playing the game with tunnel vision. Haven't the game designers ever played DOOM before? DOOM has around 90 fov, and DOOM wasn't even WIDESCREEN. I've heard somewhere that the low fov is because it means less rendering for the console, and therefore, more fps. If that's true, that means the game designers were thinking like this: Graphics come first, THEN gameplay. That's just flat out wrong. If you're playing a new computer game on an old computer, you turn down the GRAPHICS so you can play the game, you don't play the game for the graphics, that's just nonsense. It literally made me stop playing the game for a couple of days because it was just not fun to play.

    There are some other graphics and sound problems I have but they PALE in comparison to this problem, so I won't mention them. Even the crosshair isn't even as much of an issue with this unrealistic fov. In regards to gameplay, I still wish they left the guns from Halo CE alone. I'm tired of changing guns every 5 seconds to suit the situation. The AR-grenade-melee system was just perfect. Yeah they made the melee a whole heck of a lot better (and more useful!), but the grenades are now useless, you don't even get as many of them anymore. The guns are not nearly as overpowered as Halo 1, but that was part of it's appeal. Yeah ripping Heavy Machine Guns off their tri-pods is one of the coolest shooter mechanics I've seen since ADS, but I'd still rather go into a fight with the MA5B, (and FOUR frag grenades).

    I love Halo 1, absolute God-send of video games. Buying the Anniversary Edition only made me remember this.
    Expand
  35. KentL.
    Oct 2, 2007
    7
    Halo 2.5 is very cool! Slight but pleasant improvement in graphics and sound. I'm grateful the gameplay is consistent with Halo 2.0 and it picks up right where the story left off. Not quite enough to take me away from Bioshock for too long but good enough until the next GTA comes out!
  36. ChrisL.
    Oct 1, 2007
    6
    Unimaginatively dull. Graphics are pretty awful (for a 360 game) and seems more like a Halo 2 upgrade with hi-def polygons. Single player seems so rushed and so short. Sure multiplayer is frantic but it isn't exactly unique and brought nothing new to the genre that hasn't been done years ago by Id or Epic. Quite frankly if this was a no-name FPS title no one would be dishing out Unimaginatively dull. Graphics are pretty awful (for a 360 game) and seems more like a Halo 2 upgrade with hi-def polygons. Single player seems so rushed and so short. Sure multiplayer is frantic but it isn't exactly unique and brought nothing new to the genre that hasn't been done years ago by Id or Epic. Quite frankly if this was a no-name FPS title no one would be dishing out '10's to it. Expand
  37. Gorillablackkillatail
    Jun 9, 2008
    5
    Halo 2 was a great game!! I enjoyed it very much, thanks to bungie. Now that have played halo 3 i realized that the makes of all the halos, halo, halo2, and now.... halo 3. I am quite shocked that the makers of all the halos decided to make a game for online. the maps are clearly over sized and are very good online. besides the maps, i thought that halo 3 would of had more than 2 people Halo 2 was a great game!! I enjoyed it very much, thanks to bungie. Now that have played halo 3 i realized that the makes of all the halos, halo, halo2, and now.... halo 3. I am quite shocked that the makers of all the halos decided to make a game for online. the maps are clearly over sized and are very good online. besides the maps, i thought that halo 3 would of had more than 2 people for campaign. Instead, i found out that only online you are able to play halo 3 campaign with more than 2 people. Expand
  38. SteveS.
    Oct 20, 2007
    7
    Played and completed in a day. Game play is the same as Halo 2. Encamped troops and not the mass of Flood that fall out of every vent and corridor as in Halo1. Very little close quarter combat. Graphics are ok nothing special. The video clips are very poor quality. Seen better in game graphics. Its seems that the more time Bungie spend on its look the less time they spend on the game Played and completed in a day. Game play is the same as Halo 2. Encamped troops and not the mass of Flood that fall out of every vent and corridor as in Halo1. Very little close quarter combat. Graphics are ok nothing special. The video clips are very poor quality. Seen better in game graphics. Its seems that the more time Bungie spend on its look the less time they spend on the game play. Halo 1 is the best Halo. Expand
  39. RobinJ.
    Oct 5, 2007
    7
    I am shocked by the high reviews. I worries me that so many critics can't seem to justify their scores. The game is good; no doubt about that. Halo 3 was meant to be a defining FPS though, and on this count, it fails. Not enough has changed over Halo 2 in 3 years of development.
  40. Craig
    Oct 5, 2007
    6
    The graphics are pretty good and the story is nice, but the single player campaign is way too short. It took me just under 5 hours to beat it. Does have some replayability factor though, but it wasn't worth the hype.
  41. StevenD.
    Oct 7, 2007
    6
    Okay graphics, not as good as some FPS. Scripted campaign. You can't go everywhere like in some games. I felt like I was being led along. Same old Halo game play. Been there done that. Mediocre.
  42. RanderN.
    Sep 25, 2007
    7
    Halo 3 is a very good game that totally fails to live up to the massive hype and marketing drive that preceded it. It has a short single player campaign, the same old floaty low gravity feeling the previous versions had (even while on earth) that just can't stand next to today's moder physics models in gaming, and somewhat repetitive gameplay that will have you shooting endless Halo 3 is a very good game that totally fails to live up to the massive hype and marketing drive that preceded it. It has a short single player campaign, the same old floaty low gravity feeling the previous versions had (even while on earth) that just can't stand next to today's moder physics models in gaming, and somewhat repetitive gameplay that will have you shooting endless waves of mostly the same 2 types of enemies and running back and forward inside the same level, reminiscent of the key hunting of the FPS titles of old (as in Wolfestein old). A good game, not a great one. Expand
  43. ChaseB.
    Sep 26, 2007
    6
    Its halo 2.5, graphicaly it looks almost identical to Halo 2 and the single player is just as bad (though amazingly possibly shorter) than it was in the seccond one...deffinatly not near halo 1 levels. Bottom line is everyone who is still playing halo 2 will buy it (I did) and so what do the reviews matter. Most disappointing part is deffinatly the graphics (decent on SD TV awefull on Its halo 2.5, graphicaly it looks almost identical to Halo 2 and the single player is just as bad (though amazingly possibly shorter) than it was in the seccond one...deffinatly not near halo 1 levels. Bottom line is everyone who is still playing halo 2 will buy it (I did) and so what do the reviews matter. Most disappointing part is deffinatly the graphics (decent on SD TV awefull on HDTV), the undeveloped singleplayer and the overly balanced multiplayer (everything is so gimped you hafto look beyond shooting first and in the head to get an advantage...so its just boring even once you master it. Same game, its up to you if its worth it to buy...owning a 360 I don't regret it too much (though prolly wasn't worth 60 bucks) but definitely don't go out and buy one thinking this is going to be Halo 1 or Halo 2 again. Expand
  44. CaseyY.
    Sep 27, 2007
    7
    A very fancy patch for Halo 2.
  45. AdrienV.
    Jan 10, 2008
    5
    On its own it is an acceptable game. Compared to Crysis, Orange box, Call of duty 4, it sucks. That is, the multiplayer. The singleplayer is much worse. If you are buying it for the multiplayer you might as well get COD4, Team fortress 2, or others. If you are getting it expecting a good singleplayer you must be drunk so it is possible you might enjoy it.
  46. Juggernaut
    Feb 15, 2008
    6
    Now don't get me wrong, this is a good game, but it is really just the same old thing that Bungie has been coming out with for the last few years. Even though the single player campaign really isn't that great this time around. The only thing that makes the game worth while is the multiplayer. It is a fairly small multiplayer game though considering it can only support 16 Now don't get me wrong, this is a good game, but it is really just the same old thing that Bungie has been coming out with for the last few years. Even though the single player campaign really isn't that great this time around. The only thing that makes the game worth while is the multiplayer. It is a fairly small multiplayer game though considering it can only support 16 players in one server, it is still fun though. I am glad to see that Bungie still supports split screen multiplayer. My personal favorite thing to do is play Halo 3 with some friends. Also, I have to admit the enhanced physics and graphics do make the game cooler. The bodies actually move whe you T-bag them! Expand
  47. AnonymousMC
    Apr 10, 2008
    6
    I think there is something a lot of people her need to try and understand. Yahtzee surmised it perfectly when he said "a perfect game shouldn't need anything to excuse itself. QED".
    The amount of 10s being thrown around here and then the comments saying "this particular aspect wasn't very good but the mulitplayer PWNS LOL" is ridiculous and these people need to learn how the
    I think there is something a lot of people her need to try and understand. Yahtzee surmised it perfectly when he said "a perfect game shouldn't need anything to excuse itself. QED".
    The amount of 10s being thrown around here and then the comments saying "this particular aspect wasn't very good but the mulitplayer PWNS LOL" is ridiculous and these people need to learn how the "out of 10" rating system works. A 10 means perfect, untouchable, no possible faults, hence why only a few games in history deserve this particular title (Super Mario World for instance). Halo 3 is not one of them.
    Don't get me wrong, yes multiplayer is fun, (I particularly enjoy jugurnaught vs cars) but that does not excuse the weak storyline, serious lack of graphical inovation and general average-ness of the game.
    It's not bad... It's just not amazing
    Expand
  48. JohnChu
    May 25, 2008
    6
    This game is without a doubt the MOST OVER Hyped game in the history of console. Nothing suggests that it is in anyway remarkable over its predecessor Halo 2 beyond slight graphical improvements. Playthroughs involve a staid but still fun formula. If Rumors are true, Microsoft definitely had a hand in "gifting" magazine publications with positive reviews. Looking at metacritic scores,This game is without a doubt the MOST OVER Hyped game in the history of console. Nothing suggests that it is in anyway remarkable over its predecessor Halo 2 beyond slight graphical improvements. Playthroughs involve a staid but still fun formula. If Rumors are true, Microsoft definitely had a hand in "gifting" magazine publications with positive reviews. Looking at metacritic scores, one can see that 100s are largely in the xbox - centric publications. Expand
  49. TylerP.
    May 9, 2008
    6
    This game is ok, rather mediocre for all the hype. There was no need to add the garbage (i.e. bubble shields, regenerator, grav lifts, etc.). The maps are just plain mundane and symmetrical. Also, all the weapons have the same effectiveness. In other words, if I have a needler and you have a rocket launcher, I can easily kill you. Some of the new weapons are unnecessary, spiker = pellet This game is ok, rather mediocre for all the hype. There was no need to add the garbage (i.e. bubble shields, regenerator, grav lifts, etc.). The maps are just plain mundane and symmetrical. Also, all the weapons have the same effectiveness. In other words, if I have a needler and you have a rocket launcher, I can easily kill you. Some of the new weapons are unnecessary, spiker = pellet gun, mauler = shotgun, spartan laser = virtually impossible to charge and aim, and missile pod = anti-vehicle rocket launcher from Halo 2. Overall, this game may offer a few new things, but nothing that contributes to the enhancement of gameplay or interest. Expand
  50. RickyM.
    Aug 6, 2008
    6
    I don't care about it's popularity, in fact it's a good thing. Gigantic online community ensures that you'll always find a game. I just tire of doing the same thing over and over again. 1. Press left trigger and throw grenade at enemy. 2. Run at enemy 3. Hold right trigger. 4. Mash B button when they get close and smack them. Luckiest/First one to do this correctly I don't care about it's popularity, in fact it's a good thing. Gigantic online community ensures that you'll always find a game. I just tire of doing the same thing over and over again. 1. Press left trigger and throw grenade at enemy. 2. Run at enemy 3. Hold right trigger. 4. Mash B button when they get close and smack them. Luckiest/First one to do this correctly wins. Graphics are pretty. Tedious gameplay. Bland weapons make picking up others unnecessary. Feels outdated. Expand
  51. uncannyuncandy
    Jun 8, 2009
    6
    I gave it a 6.. well ..it is the most fun fps game on the xbox when it comes too co-op...and a good online gameplay*even tho ther are alot of kids flaming in voice chat wich ruins a game very fast* but it still has his old repeditive lvl design.. same charcters ..weapons.. graphics could be better *not saying they are bad* but they could have been alot better...and the story line is just I gave it a 6.. well ..it is the most fun fps game on the xbox when it comes too co-op...and a good online gameplay*even tho ther are alot of kids flaming in voice chat wich ruins a game very fast* but it still has his old repeditive lvl design.. same charcters ..weapons.. graphics could be better *not saying they are bad* but they could have been alot better...and the story line is just to boring to follow imo even tho i enjoyed the sarcasm/funny scenes during the cinematics alot. They realy need too put more effort in the physics aswell.. we are 7th generation where the imposible is posible.. halo3 is still in its 6th generation when it comes too physics. Also..something personal: it bums me out if i read these reviews, poeple saying its as good like half life and bioshock etc..those guys that are saying that are deffo halo fanatics!1 get real and see the facts.. i doubt most of you even ever played the single player. the game is far from great/awesome.. the developers are just rushing everything in my opinion. Expand
  52. DD
    Jun 9, 2009
    5
    I'm not really interested on evaluating MP aspects of this game since its numbers speak by themselves. So the 5 points came from the average of MP-10/SP-0.
    The single player campaign is just poor. II've felt like playing an 8 years old shooter. The enemies are ridiculous, the storyline doesn't even exist, the vehicles physics behaviour is as they were made with paper, the
    I'm not really interested on evaluating MP aspects of this game since its numbers speak by themselves. So the 5 points came from the average of MP-10/SP-0.
    The single player campaign is just poor. II've felt like playing an 8 years old shooter. The enemies are ridiculous, the storyline doesn't even exist, the vehicles physics behaviour is as they were made with paper, the weapons doesn't seem attractive to me, the campaign is short and straightforward.
    A real dissapointment.
    Expand
  53. PaulusK.
    Nov 10, 2007
    6
    Fairly competent shooter with a sterile feel. Did not evoke a sense of realism like Gears of War, and the graphics are by no means polished. The game looks as if the developers had lifted the graphics directly from Halo 2 (look at the facial expressions and speech) and draped some High Def effects over them. I was expecting a revolution in terms of involvement but it just did not happen. Fairly competent shooter with a sterile feel. Did not evoke a sense of realism like Gears of War, and the graphics are by no means polished. The game looks as if the developers had lifted the graphics directly from Halo 2 (look at the facial expressions and speech) and draped some High Def effects over them. I was expecting a revolution in terms of involvement but it just did not happen. If you want polished visuals coupled with complete immersion, forget this because all in all, not even close and definately no cigar. Shame. Expand
  54. SimonR.
    Oct 10, 2007
    6
    The underwhelming, short campaign is saved by the multi player and it's new features - but only just.The end sequence is disappointing and unsatisfying while the constant backtracking is frustrating. Of course this was always going to be a solid FPS and it is - I was just expecting more. If you're looking for Halo 2 with nicer graphics - Halo 3 is great (maybe Bungie should have The underwhelming, short campaign is saved by the multi player and it's new features - but only just.The end sequence is disappointing and unsatisfying while the constant backtracking is frustrating. Of course this was always going to be a solid FPS and it is - I was just expecting more. If you're looking for Halo 2 with nicer graphics - Halo 3 is great (maybe Bungie should have called it Halo 2.5?). If you're strapped for cash, don't have Live and can only choose one game at the moment... Bioshock is an infinitely more memorable and rewarding experience. Expand
  55. GaryS.
    Oct 1, 2007
    7
    One word can describe Halo 3 "average" !!!!!
  56. JamosStamos
    Nov 6, 2007
    6
    I havn't accually played but I've watched alot of people play it. Jus watching I've got to say I'm pretty disappointed. The graphics although an improvement, are not nearly as cool as I expected. The story was mediocore at best. The enemies are stupid, There is no stratigy involved! It's just who can kill how first. Instead of giving ememies more life andI havn't accually played but I've watched alot of people play it. Jus watching I've got to say I'm pretty disappointed. The graphics although an improvement, are not nearly as cool as I expected. The story was mediocore at best. The enemies are stupid, There is no stratigy involved! It's just who can kill how first. Instead of giving ememies more life and more powerful weapons, how about makeing them more tactical. I'd rather die because the enemy is better than me not because they have double the health and ten times more powerful weapons. The original Halo is the best because it was original...it has tons of room for improvement that Bungie failed to pick up on, in produceing Halo 2 and 3. These could have been so much better. It seemed like the campaign was an after thought. Please, make a good game first then worry about the multiplayer. Although fun, I'd rather be playing a awesome game with an awesome story line. Expand
  57. AdamJ.
    Oct 2, 2007
    5
    Halo 3 will still have you running backwards and forwards through levels which gets pretty tedious. Indoor environments feel very samey. The single player campaign is uninspired. The game is pretty easy, even on Legendary. There are some AI bugs (enemies are sometimes completely oblivious to you presence allowing you to run straight through a level). The variety of the multiplayer facet Halo 3 will still have you running backwards and forwards through levels which gets pretty tedious. Indoor environments feel very samey. The single player campaign is uninspired. The game is pretty easy, even on Legendary. There are some AI bugs (enemies are sometimes completely oblivious to you presence allowing you to run straight through a level). The variety of the multiplayer facet is all that extends the play time of this game. In summary: a buffed up halo 2 or a highly polished halo 1. Expand
  58. JulianS.
    Oct 2, 2007
    6
    The single player is absolutely horrible. It has a very flawed checkpoint system and gets far too frustrating. Gears of War never had me playing through the same stupid parts, even on Insane. Halo has me redoing some moments over and over again just on heroic. Bungie basically gave us a multiplayer game that finished a story that nobody cares about anymore.
  59. JackA.
    Oct 2, 2007
    6
    I was into Halo for the story. The original Halo set the standard and I guess it is just too hard to duplicate without seeming redundant. I liked Halo 2, but thought is was missing something, not much but just not quite up to the original. Halo 3 looked cool and all with the graphics and some new vehicles, but the story didn't flow well and just wasn't all that good to being I was into Halo for the story. The original Halo set the standard and I guess it is just too hard to duplicate without seeming redundant. I liked Halo 2, but thought is was missing something, not much but just not quite up to the original. Halo 3 looked cool and all with the graphics and some new vehicles, but the story didn't flow well and just wasn't all that good to being with. Hell, I'm still confused on some of it....LOL. The multiplayer stuff is first rate, and I guess that's what they were catering too. As for me, I was into the story, so this game didn't impress, and it seemed WAY too short. Sorry, Bungie, but you could have done a better job. Expand
  60. Maxd
    Oct 30, 2007
    7
    omfg are you people stupid??? This game isn't the best game ever, Max M, but it doesn't suck that bad, Me ME. This game is a good, solid buy, the graphics are decent the multiplayer is pretty good, and the campaign is average. If you are looking for a good game, buy this, but it is not a 10!!!!!!
  61. DomV.
    Oct 4, 2007
    7
    Halo 3's campaign succeeds in becoming the Letdown of 2007. Multiplayer however is beyond good. it is brilliant.
  62. LukeR.
    Oct 5, 2007
    6
    Halo 2.5. 'The biggest media event of all time' was a massive letdown if you only seek the single-player experience. The 10s this game recieved are a joke, average graphics, dated gameplay and a short campaign mode and over the top hype. This game is nothing but average and should be rated as such.
  63. ManeaA.
    Oct 7, 2007
    5
    Horrible graphics in interiors, mediocre gameplay.
  64. JacekO.
    Oct 7, 2007
    5
    After Bioshock this game is looks and feels just mediocre. It is amazing what industry marketing can do with our minds and some people give it the score 10 or 9 !
  65. RedR.
    Oct 8, 2007
    6
    10/10 for multiplayer 5/10 for obscenly short single player campaign. Did they really spend all those months working on this game? Single player can be completed by an average gams in probably 4-5 hours. 4/10 for graphics. Graphics are very dissapointing and bland and definitely NOT next generation. Most PC gamers will vouch for the fact that most FPS games on PCs from 3-4 years ago (Far 10/10 for multiplayer 5/10 for obscenly short single player campaign. Did they really spend all those months working on this game? Single player can be completed by an average gams in probably 4-5 hours. 4/10 for graphics. Graphics are very dissapointing and bland and definitely NOT next generation. Most PC gamers will vouch for the fact that most FPS games on PCs from 3-4 years ago (Far Cry etc) looked better than this. If multiplayer is not you thing, I cannot recommend buying this game. A 2 night purchase from Blockbuster will probably be more value for money. Overall 6/10 is a fair score. I expect Edge magazine will probably give it a 7/10 max. Expand
  66. JamesH.
    Oct 9, 2007
    5
    Meh, It's better than alot of fps that are crap, I mean it's an operable and playable game. but as a single player experience it's pretty dull. Teh alienz wantz to killz teh galexiez with Teh Haloz! but no, really. It's polished, it plays nicely, you shoot stuff and blow stuff up. but theres not a whole lot of satisfaction. I just thought "I'm shooting aliens on Meh, It's better than alot of fps that are crap, I mean it's an operable and playable game. but as a single player experience it's pretty dull. Teh alienz wantz to killz teh galexiez with Teh Haloz! but no, really. It's polished, it plays nicely, you shoot stuff and blow stuff up. but theres not a whole lot of satisfaction. I just thought "I'm shooting aliens on halo.." when I could be doing "X". Other than that I'm sure the multiplayer mode is fun, and you're all really excited. (by you I mean the fanboys) but It's just not that interesting/rewarding/exciting compared to my game library, or even other XB360 titles (Bioshock, The orange box) and props to bioshock for holding a higher metascore than teh hype masheen. Expand
  67. GlenA.
    Sep 26, 2007
    7
    The game is extremely similar to Halo 2. Graphics are tweaked but nowhere near as good as even 360 launch titles such as COD3. I had severe problems with sound, especially dialogue which I have to turn up just to hear - a little annoying. Should not disappoint those wanting more of the same from Halo 2. All others should rent first.
  68. RannyB.
    Sep 26, 2007
    7
    It's an adequate fps. Level padding shows poor design though and the storytelling resulted down to being very simple. Not the best example to show for a top class FPS but a nice example that simplicity can still manage to be fun.
  69. McMastersUniversity
    Sep 27, 2007
    6
    What? That was it? The last section of the game was one of the biggest let downs of all time. Where is the final boss? Wait, that would've meant this game had an actual villain and a story that was meaningful. I found the story in Halo 2 to be very engaging and this time around was a massive disappointment. Additionally, the game felt like the designers viewed this making as a chore What? That was it? The last section of the game was one of the biggest let downs of all time. Where is the final boss? Wait, that would've meant this game had an actual villain and a story that was meaningful. I found the story in Halo 2 to be very engaging and this time around was a massive disappointment. Additionally, the game felt like the designers viewed this making as a chore as opposed to a fun and artistic experience. The revamped control scheme was pointless and did more harm that good. The new weapons and shield grenades are pointless. Also, this game does not start with the end of Halo 2, nor with how the trailer presents it. All these reviews that give this game 100's must be in the pockets of Microsoft; there is no other explanation. In every aspect this game is worse than Halo 1 and 2. Even the graphics are only slightly better than Halo 2. Maybe Halo 2.2? Ugh, I even avoided the hype and was still let down. Collapse
  70. JoshuaD.
    Sep 28, 2007
    7
    I am a very honest person and a unique halo fan. After missing out on Halo 1 and starting the story line at halo 2 I was hooked by the graphics, gameplay, and mulitiplayer formats. Halo 3 was a complete let down after the first hour of gameplay. I found myself asking "This is actually kind of boring". There wasn't any extravigant graphic views or fight scenes as Halo 2 had. I tried I am a very honest person and a unique halo fan. After missing out on Halo 1 and starting the story line at halo 2 I was hooked by the graphics, gameplay, and mulitiplayer formats. Halo 3 was a complete let down after the first hour of gameplay. I found myself asking "This is actually kind of boring". There wasn't any extravigant graphic views or fight scenes as Halo 2 had. I tried not to buy into the hype from all the commercials and advertisments, but I can honorably say that I was scammed by the oldest trick in the book "Rhetorics" Good Job on Bungie and Microsoft for scamming millions upon millions of dollars from us with cheap and useless animation. Expand
  71. AitA.
    Sep 30, 2007
    6
    Loved Halo 1, disappointed with Halo 2 and Halo 3 the worst of the lot. You'll finish the fight in 6 to 8 hours if you played before. Legendary level on Halo 1 took days to finish, Halo 3 done in 10 hours. I still play Halo 1 but have had no inclination to play Halo 2 and wont be keeping Halo 3.
  72. MikeM.
    Sep 30, 2007
    6
    Somebodys gotta tell me what is so great about this game. the single player campaign is nowhere near the other great games Xbox 360 has to offer for its FPS action, like Gears of War and BioShock. And, well, the multiplayers good, ok, but why does EVERYONE play it? its not spectacular, and with maps that look half assed and no real joy in many of the weapons, its pretty much overrated.
  73. ShabbyR.
    Sep 30, 2007
    5
    Kind of disappointing in terms of gameplay, story and graphics, especially considering that this is a first-party 360 effort. Halo 3 isn't even marginally better than Halo 2, and both sequels are mediocre at best compared to the original (which, let's be honest, wasn't even that great to begin with). Seriously, they should have just released the multiplayer component for Kind of disappointing in terms of gameplay, story and graphics, especially considering that this is a first-party 360 effort. Halo 3 isn't even marginally better than Halo 2, and both sequels are mediocre at best compared to the original (which, let's be honest, wasn't even that great to begin with). Seriously, they should have just released the multiplayer component for half price, because that's the only thing that anyone's even remotely interested in. Expand
  74. AndyM.
    Sep 30, 2007
    7
    All Halo 3 does is improve the graphics of Halo 2, add more weapons, and absolutely nothing else. Still pretty damn good though.
  75. SethStone
    Jan 1, 2008
    6
    Ok check it out. Im not an x box fan. im a sony fan. And this is why i gave this game a 6. If its title wasent "halo" it wouldent b half as sucsessful. Ressitance fall of man for ps3 is lightyears better. Guns are boring, badguys stupid. But if u were suckered into buying a 360, hey- go for it.
  76. BevilJesse
    Jan 19, 2008
    5
    Online game play was just as could be expected, and the forge is nice. I don't feel that the game met my expectations. Especially after all the Hype, I ordered it in Kuwait being that i'm currently deployed, bought the Xbox360 just for Halo 3 and I feel that I got burned
  77. MalcolmG.
    Jan 3, 2008
    5
    Single Player: I was hoping that I was going to be able to finish the fight, humanity's fight that is. However, once again, Bungie decided to confuse me with a bunch of amazing advertisements and produce a lack-luster game. Halo 3 is really just a medicore game, truly average gameplay, more comprobable to a "7." However, because the story was depressing, as it didn't live up to Single Player: I was hoping that I was going to be able to finish the fight, humanity's fight that is. However, once again, Bungie decided to confuse me with a bunch of amazing advertisements and produce a lack-luster game. Halo 3 is really just a medicore game, truly average gameplay, more comprobable to a "7." However, because the story was depressing, as it didn't live up to the hype, and inconclusive and spotty for a trilogy, Halo 3's single player at best deserves a 2. Multiplayer: Halo 2 with some equipment, the return of a better assault rifle, some new vehicles, similar maps, and forge. Probably a 9 or so, because it is pretty fun multiplayer. Bottom Line: Halo 3 gets a bad score because it was supposed to focus on the single player - it failed miserably in this very important department. Expand
  78. BenC
    Oct 8, 2008
    5
    Generic, completely over-hyped shooter.
  79. DanishA.
    Feb 10, 2008
    5
    Not as good as I expected it to be. Halo 1 & 2 was better. I think there are many games better than this game. I got tired of playing this game after a while.
  80. JohnN.
    Mar 30, 2008
    5
    I'll be very relevant with my interview and will avoid comparisons, for a more honest review. The single player is a vomit on top of dog droppings (that is an understatement). Bungie is a relic as you may know, and i feel as though they don't know how to make a next gen experience. It's chokepoint after chokepoint, problem after another. The guns feel recycled (which they I'll be very relevant with my interview and will avoid comparisons, for a more honest review. The single player is a vomit on top of dog droppings (that is an understatement). Bungie is a relic as you may know, and i feel as though they don't know how to make a next gen experience. It's chokepoint after chokepoint, problem after another. The guns feel recycled (which they are lol), and the hit detection is awful, you will find better in N64 shooters! The multiplayer redeems the single player don't worry. It surely isn't new, but with its easy party interface, and matchmaking system, it is eerily still ahead of most games you will find. My only complaint is that they decreased the gap between noobs and vets. Let the horrible die, and the good live. Overall, must buy for the multiplayer, why play the single player? Just look up the ending on youtube. Expand
  81. Gary
    Mar 6, 2008
    5
    A truly disappointing game. Definetly does not live up to the hype it was receiving. Also the visuals are not there like other games show. The only decent prospective is that of the multiplayer, even that does get extremely repetitive.
  82. LukeV.
    Apr 9, 2008
    7
    Excellent solo play, multiplayer gets a bit repetitive.
  83. DanielN.
    Jun 13, 2008
    6
    This game is an average shooter... with a short campaign, the game seems to just be Halo 2 with a bit of polish. The only reason I gave this game a 6 is that their is some innovation in the Forge mode. If you love multiplayer then this game is o.k, but the weapons feel unbalanced and useless. And although their are quite a few weapons in the multiplayer you will only ever find your self This game is an average shooter... with a short campaign, the game seems to just be Halo 2 with a bit of polish. The only reason I gave this game a 6 is that their is some innovation in the Forge mode. If you love multiplayer then this game is o.k, but the weapons feel unbalanced and useless. And although their are quite a few weapons in the multiplayer you will only ever find your self using 2-3 weapons regularly. Expand
  84. JohnW.
    Jun 2, 2008
    5
    The most over-rated game ever. At least the multiplayer's decent.
  85. OwenS.
    Jul 18, 2008
    7
    It has good graphics but for your average shooter game it gets rather boring.
  86. Caseyc
    Jul 30, 2008
    5
    Not horrible. Not Great. It's ok. Compared to just about any shooter from '04-'08 its just average.
  87. MartinK.
    Aug 16, 2008
    7
    to Christian H. It is "MIGHT AS well," not "minus well." Jesus, people, that's not even grammatical. hell, that's not even a spelling error. that's just called stupid.
  88. StuartB.
    Sep 22, 2008
    6
    Halo 3 succeeds in offering the same linear, formulaic gameplay which I'm sure the majority of it's unenlightened fanbase craves. Perhaps if you've never played any other decent FPS titles before you'd think Halo 3 is a ground breaking revelation. However to anyone else whose played many other FPS games of higher calibre will find this to be a trite and turgid Halo 3 succeeds in offering the same linear, formulaic gameplay which I'm sure the majority of it's unenlightened fanbase craves. Perhaps if you've never played any other decent FPS titles before you'd think Halo 3 is a ground breaking revelation. However to anyone else whose played many other FPS games of higher calibre will find this to be a trite and turgid experience which offers nothing new whatsoever. 6/10 for a solid, yet completely uninspired, boring FPS. Expand
  89. J.G.
    Dec 26, 2009
    7
    As much as I loved the first two Halo games, I just can't say that about the third one in the series. Now, I'm not saying this is a BAD game, it's just not the best it could've been. Halo 3's graphics where fantastic for its time and are still pretty impressive to this day. There's a great campaign that's a bit short, but it's still fun. If you have As much as I loved the first two Halo games, I just can't say that about the third one in the series. Now, I'm not saying this is a BAD game, it's just not the best it could've been. Halo 3's graphics where fantastic for its time and are still pretty impressive to this day. There's a great campaign that's a bit short, but it's still fun. If you have friends that you can play the campaign with, it usually is more fun. Friends are the core of this game, if you don't have friends with Halo, don't get Halo, it is that simple. The game is also a ton of fun to play online...with friends. The community is made of bratty 12-year-olds that think they're tough $h1t. If you have friends to play with, I'd recommend keeping them. The real problem with this game is that it doesn't have the same feeling as the original Halo and instead feels more like Resistance rather than its awesome, awesome original game. Too bad, too, because that would've made it awesome. Expand
  90. FredrickB
    Oct 25, 2009
    7
    Being a Halo vet, im a lil disappointed in the Campaign side of the game, ending just an ending, nothing special or surpising about it. The multiplayer side of the game is good. There is so much missing from this game, like equipment use, less use of the many weapons in other Halo's, but im still a big fan of Halo, hopfully they will get the next one right.
  91. ElliottW
    Jul 7, 2009
    6
    Now call me bitter because all my friends are now addicted to the darn game, but I think this game is extremely overated. I'd say the only good aspect of this game is the multiplayer, and even that wasn't great. Oh, and if you are planning on buying it, expect drab corridors aplenty!
  92. TimE.
    Nov 17, 2007
    7
    The graphics and story are awesome, however... it looks like Halo 2 with higher resolution textures and very little innovation. Next Gen Gaming shouldn't include Halo 3 as a front runner. This game is very last generation in it's thinking. Perhaps i was just hoping for something new.
  93. ShazamD.
    Nov 2, 2007
    7
    As most of you know, the hype wanted to make us expect Halo 3 to be a golden platter of excellency. Let me just get this out of the way before I actually review this game. Halo 3 is in no respect a "bad" game. In my opinion I consider it to be average, with an admittedly fun multiplayer. However in my opinion if Bungie really wanted to outdo themselves they would have put multiplayer on As most of you know, the hype wanted to make us expect Halo 3 to be a golden platter of excellency. Let me just get this out of the way before I actually review this game. Halo 3 is in no respect a "bad" game. In my opinion I consider it to be average, with an admittedly fun multiplayer. However in my opinion if Bungie really wanted to outdo themselves they would have put multiplayer on one disc and single player on another so they could give the campaign some actual DEPTH. So onto the actual review. In this installment of the Halo series, Master Chief has to finally finish the fight against the Covenant in a criminally short adventure of an average of 10 hours. The difficulty seems to be a bit... off. At the beginning some of the enemies destroyed me, but by the end one is supposed to constitute as a final boss battle was basically shooting a small, 5th grader with a gun with the power of a miniature tank. Of course I am focusing on the bad, at the moment so I'll go to some of the good. Halo 3 has good graphics, texture, very good voice acting, and moments of pure gold in the game (i.e. the Red vs. Blue reference) To finish off, Halo 3 is all right I suppose, I liked BioShock and the Orange Box more, but what the hell, right? If you just want a barely average, high speed single player action game and a fun multiplayer then Halo 3 is the game for you. If not, I suggest waiting for Mass Effect. Expand
  94. Gavin
    Nov 20, 2007
    7
    i love halo and to be frank this game clears its name then puts a massive stain on it the multiplayer has imporved with 4player co-op on campain and HD the single player campian though is where the stain comes in yes campain is a little short but thats when you play it on easy i finish it in 2 hours best part of the campian is the lengdary its been revamped in my mind because 1. theres ai love halo and to be frank this game clears its name then puts a massive stain on it the multiplayer has imporved with 4player co-op on campain and HD the single player campian though is where the stain comes in yes campain is a little short but thats when you play it on easy i finish it in 2 hours best part of the campian is the lengdary its been revamped in my mind because 1. theres a massive noticable effect in were the AI is smarter ALOT more bad guys and to top it off ya shield may as well be tin foil XD this makes up for the short campain by extending the amount of time needed to complete the game (around 15hours) but still not bad lastly comes the end it sez finish the fight but.... WHAT FIGHT DID WE FINISH yes we killed the covernat around earth but what about everywhere else and not to mention the earth and all the rings on stanby still this game still leaves a lot of loose ends and it finishes on another cliff hanger with masterchief and cortana alone in space adrift if there isnt a halo 4 i will be very disapointed with bungie after all the idea of a triogy is to finish the story in 3 releases which hasnt occured here.. Expand
  95. John-eB.
    Nov 28, 2007
    5
    This Game was a major disappointment..! Don't get me wrong I was a huge fan of 1 and 2....but halo 3 didn't bring anything new to the table. A few new features, but not worth all the hype. This game seemed very repetitious...NOT A MUST HAVE!!
  96. J.J.C.C.
    Oct 13, 2007
    7
    What the crap happened with halo 3? What made halo 2 great was the effect of being drawn into the game; the feeling that you are the master chief. But in this game, the FEEL of the game has changed, its as if you are playing warcraft with guns on a PC. Graphics are not fully necessary to make a game great; it is the gameplay people! Bungie should have made this game more REALISTIC; how What the crap happened with halo 3? What made halo 2 great was the effect of being drawn into the game; the feeling that you are the master chief. But in this game, the FEEL of the game has changed, its as if you are playing warcraft with guns on a PC. Graphics are not fully necessary to make a game great; it is the gameplay people! Bungie should have made this game more REALISTIC; how come a melee hit takes more damage than a bullet !?! So much hype for a halo 1 type gameplay with no 21st century REALISTIC physical dimentionality! Expand
  97. ClintN/A
    Oct 13, 2007
    6
    The game is good, way better than Halo 2, yet the time it takes to kill an opponent in multiplayer is waaay too fast, and it is way slower to turn around on a controller than with a mouse, the game seems to be the quick and the dead, and not much strategy is involved versus games like HL2: deathmatch or Kill Zone. 500 years of technology, a full metal suit with a shield, and Gordon The game is good, way better than Halo 2, yet the time it takes to kill an opponent in multiplayer is waaay too fast, and it is way slower to turn around on a controller than with a mouse, the game seems to be the quick and the dead, and not much strategy is involved versus games like HL2: deathmatch or Kill Zone. 500 years of technology, a full metal suit with a shield, and Gordon Freeman can still take more bulllets. Expand
  98. EdmundL.
    Oct 13, 2007
    6
    Halo 3 wasn't great, It was average. A lot of places just seem to be giving it straight tens even though the campaign wasn't great, becuase apparantly the multiplayer "Makes up for that". But surely a 10 worthy game doesn't need excuses right?
  99. PeterS.
    Oct 16, 2007
    7
    Pretty, fun weapons but a bit of an uninspired experience on the whole after Bioshock, Halflife 2 and Fear hit the market. Halo has seriously fallen behind the curve in developing their overall playability.
  100. DougJ.
    Nov 7, 2007
    5
    Halo 3 is the same as Halo 2 -- only with a bit more polish. Halo 2 is the same as Halo : Combat Evolved -- only with a bit more polish. Halo 3 is essentially the same game you've played over and over since 2001. The weapons are a bit different, the textures are higher resolution, but it's basically the same game. My number one complaint with the Halo series is the physics (or Halo 3 is the same as Halo 2 -- only with a bit more polish. Halo 2 is the same as Halo : Combat Evolved -- only with a bit more polish. Halo 3 is essentially the same game you've played over and over since 2001. The weapons are a bit different, the textures are higher resolution, but it's basically the same game. My number one complaint with the Halo series is the physics (or lack there of). When you play you feel like you're on the moon, or that the air is very thick and viscous. If an enemy approaches from 180 degrees behind you, you have very little chance of being able to turn around fast enough to defend yourself. The only reason this game is popular is due to the intense marketing Microsoft provided for Bungie (Fact: Halo 3 was the largest marketing campaign for any product ever). Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 86
  2. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. It's the addition of the Forge level editor and the saved films that give the game an even longer set of legs, legs that will probably keep you running at full speed until Bungie figures out where, exactly, to go from here.
  2. Halo 3 is the best Xbox 360 game to date. The single-player campaign and storyline are both very strong, but it's Forge and the Saved Films features that will likely go down in history as Bungie's crowning achievements. They've basically taken everything great about the series and improved upon it in every way, then added some amazing new features that we'll be using for years to come.
  3. 100
    It's solid gameplay, immense replayability, online functionality and incredible production values will ensure its place in video game history, and it is, without a doubt, a satisfying and fulfilling close to the beloved trilogy[?].