User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3811 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 19, 2011
    10
    Anyone who ever gave this game anything less than a 7 is lying to themselves. It may not be a 10 but you know its pretty damn good. The multiplayer alone should warrant an automatic 9 and when you pile on the deep (and yes, at times convoluted) story it has to be at least a 9.5. If you own an XBOX 360 and have somehow not experienced the excellence that is the Halo series, do yourself aAnyone who ever gave this game anything less than a 7 is lying to themselves. It may not be a 10 but you know its pretty damn good. The multiplayer alone should warrant an automatic 9 and when you pile on the deep (and yes, at times convoluted) story it has to be at least a 9.5. If you own an XBOX 360 and have somehow not experienced the excellence that is the Halo series, do yourself a service and pick this up on the cheap. Trust. Expand
  2. TylerI.
    Jan 30, 2010
    10
    As some of you may give this a 0, how can you guive it that. The balance is soo well done online, for wxample the player skill balance. Also each game everyone has the same weapon. You can get shot a few times and still have a chance. Isn't that great? I'm not a big fan of the older campaigns( Halo and Halo 2) I loved this one. Thr levels Tsvaso's Highway to the level Halo As some of you may give this a 0, how can you guive it that. The balance is soo well done online, for wxample the player skill balance. Also each game everyone has the same weapon. You can get shot a few times and still have a chance. Isn't that great? I'm not a big fan of the older campaigns( Halo and Halo 2) I loved this one. Thr levels Tsvaso's Highway to the level Halo is just pure fun on Legendary. But the multiplayer is where the entire community is. You could probably play this game in 2016 and there probably will be at least 500 people on. But now 2.5 years after it 9/25/07 release there are 75,000 to 200,000 people on depending on the time. Just purely one of the best games on the Xbox 360 you can buy!!! Expand
  3. RodL.
    Sep 30, 2007
    10
    Amazing envolving gameplay. I wasn't the biggest fan of Halo or Halo 2, but Halo 3 blows my mind. The way you can use your brain to get yourself out of sticky situations by using your surroundings and the tools that the game provides (e.g. gravity grenade) adds the extra spice to this already awesome FPS. The sceneries are gorgeous and the vehicles tons of fun. The story, music, and Amazing envolving gameplay. I wasn't the biggest fan of Halo or Halo 2, but Halo 3 blows my mind. The way you can use your brain to get yourself out of sticky situations by using your surroundings and the tools that the game provides (e.g. gravity grenade) adds the extra spice to this already awesome FPS. The sceneries are gorgeous and the vehicles tons of fun. The story, music, and rest of the production values are all first class. This is the definition of an epic videogame! Expand
  4. Nov 27, 2010
    7
    A pretty decent game. It lacks the replay value of the first two, and the story is pretty weak compared to the rest of the series. Ofcourse, that can be forgivable since it must have been difficult trying to bring an adequate conclusion to the storyline. If you like first person shooters, this game is worth a couple playthroughs.
  5. Mar 6, 2011
    7
    Halo 3 while a good game was a huge disappointment and the worst in the series, the bland boring campaign is really holding this back, the multiplayer hasn't changed much from Halo 2, the good thing is the Forge mode which may not be on a PC level of depth but is still shocking for a console game, and the hidden things like Easter Eggs and hidden skulls are a blast to try and find, and theHalo 3 while a good game was a huge disappointment and the worst in the series, the bland boring campaign is really holding this back, the multiplayer hasn't changed much from Halo 2, the good thing is the Forge mode which may not be on a PC level of depth but is still shocking for a console game, and the hidden things like Easter Eggs and hidden skulls are a blast to try and find, and the controls are amazing they rank right beside COD 4, but I still can't shake the disappointment this game brought, I was a huge fan of Halo 1 and 2 but, which were both game changers, but this is a game where even the good things can't save from being a disappointment and just being another average shooter. Expand
  6. Mar 14, 2011
    10
    Halo 3 is a true successor to both of its predecessors, being everything that fans hoped it would be. The campaign is painfully short and the story is only really concerned with tying up loose ends, but these are only minor gripes considering how well designed the campaign is. In addition to this, the game comes with Forge Mode, a mode editor, and Theater Mode, which lets you watch overHalo 3 is a true successor to both of its predecessors, being everything that fans hoped it would be. The campaign is painfully short and the story is only really concerned with tying up loose ends, but these are only minor gripes considering how well designed the campaign is. In addition to this, the game comes with Forge Mode, a mode editor, and Theater Mode, which lets you watch over your previous games. When combined with multiplayer, this package has more content and quality than any game before it. This game is a must buy for all 360 gamers. Expand
  7. Apr 9, 2011
    10
    Though it does not tread new ground in the FPS genre, I still had a blast playing Halo 3. I got my Xbox to play Halo 3, originally being a PlayStation man. I played it the other day having left it for a year or two, and I had a damn good time of it too. The campaign, though short, is rich, beautifully crafted and utterly absorbing. Martin O'Donnell's soundtrack is as brilliant, excitingThough it does not tread new ground in the FPS genre, I still had a blast playing Halo 3. I got my Xbox to play Halo 3, originally being a PlayStation man. I played it the other day having left it for a year or two, and I had a damn good time of it too. The campaign, though short, is rich, beautifully crafted and utterly absorbing. Martin O'Donnell's soundtrack is as brilliant, exciting and suiting as ever (surely there is no other composer in the gaming industry who can match O'Donnell's brilliance), the game is highly polished, visually, audibly and physically, and it left me feeling very satisfied. For those who say that Halo 3 was over-hyped, in my opinion that is why it is such an important game. 2007 was a fantastic year for games, with titles such as Bioshock, Mass Effect, Call of Duty 4 and Grand Theft Auto 4 being released, but above all of these, Halo 3 was the first game to become a really competitive art form. The fact that it made more money in 48 hours than any film or music album is a really impressive feat, and in my opinion it was the first game to really prove that gaming was more than just the preserve of overweight, nerdy teenagers in their bedrooms. This is not the best game ever made by any means, but it is certainly up there, and will be for many years to come. Expand
  8. Dec 1, 2011
    10
    Honestly one of the most memorable games I've ever played. I've had it for almost 4 years now, and have probably about 3 months of gameplay (or more) on it, including recon armor and all that fun stuff. Unfortunately, my xbox broke and i no longer have my XBL password, so goodbye all my goodness...

    The campaign was great, both in storyline and in ways to get out of each map... Multiplayer
    Honestly one of the most memorable games I've ever played. I've had it for almost 4 years now, and have probably about 3 months of gameplay (or more) on it, including recon armor and all that fun stuff. Unfortunately, my xbox broke and i no longer have my XBL password, so goodbye all my goodness...

    The campaign was great, both in storyline and in ways to get out of each map... Multiplayer is incredible, and the custom games (I have over 2000...) were the highlight of the whole thing. I can't imagine a game I've had more fun playing.
    Expand
  9. Wally
    Sep 30, 2007
    10
    This game was brilliant, the graphics I first noticed weren't incredible, but then it became shown that Bungie were trying the graphics from a different angle than the first Halos. Whether this is good for u, u decide, but the graphics dont really matter. I dont get y so many people complain of a too short SP, i finished Halo2 on legendary by myself several times and it took me the This game was brilliant, the graphics I first noticed weren't incredible, but then it became shown that Bungie were trying the graphics from a different angle than the first Halos. Whether this is good for u, u decide, but the graphics dont really matter. I dont get y so many people complain of a too short SP, i finished Halo2 on legendary by myself several times and it took me the same amount of time to finish halo 3 co-op on heroic as finishing GOW on casual. The forge is unbelievably cool, i spent an entire hour just fiddling round with the grav-lifts alone on narrows. Although I do wish Bungie kept some more of the maps from Halo2 on the game. Perhaps they'll be able to be downloaded from XboxLive. Brilliant game, excellent. Awesome how now basically everything is destructable including phantoms and scarabs. Expand
  10. dangcucu
    Aug 17, 2008
    10
    Best Balanced MP out there. Tons of extras like video playback, forge. If you lose in the game is because you lost. Skilled player are not & not lest to chance. Only sore points is the campaign graphics. Seems like Sarge's face looked better in Halo 2. Top 5 fav game; still in my playing rotation as of 08/2008. you can't say that of much games on xbox live or any other systems Best Balanced MP out there. Tons of extras like video playback, forge. If you lose in the game is because you lost. Skilled player are not & not lest to chance. Only sore points is the campaign graphics. Seems like Sarge's face looked better in Halo 2. Top 5 fav game; still in my playing rotation as of 08/2008. you can't say that of much games on xbox live or any other systems for that matter. Cometh frag-play Teh Haloz. Expand
  11. DavidO.
    Sep 27, 2007
    6
    Fun, but way over rated and unoriginal. Too much hype, not enough new things. Lame single player.
  12. Feb 18, 2012
    10
    THE BEST Halo game i have played so far. Campaign AWESOME. Multiplayer AMAZING. Forge INCREDIBLE. Theater BRILLIANT. Easy 10 in my mind and a lot of others. HALO FTW!
  13. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    Halo 3 is the only game in the series that I have owned, and i'm glad I got it at the midnight release. The shooter gameplay is perfect, the feel alone in this game is the best.
  14. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    good game by bungie. deserves higher than the 7.7 average so i gave it a 10. the new halo games are absolutely terrible in comparison...if they get scores like 6 then this deserves a 100/10. i mean halo 4 literally killed halo...at least halo 3 was #1 on xbox live for two 1/2 years.
  15. Dec 12, 2011
    10
    I loved this game and I miss the good old days back when everyone used to play it. I miss messing around in the campaign, spending hours in forge and custom games trying to come out with the next fun formula for messing around with friends. It was a good time that I have no regrets about and honestly wish I could go back to.
  16. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    In my opinion one of the best franchises of all time, you don't see a lot of video games that start a generation like halo, this is what you get when you take time preparation, a masterpiece.
  17. Feb 14, 2012
    9
    Best halo ever it has the most guns in the series the best levels and the easiest controls it's storyline could have been better but all around this is the best halo has to offer I'd play this over halo reach anyway it's a must buy
  18. May 26, 2012
    6
    It's a very overrated game and it shouldn't be as hyped as it should be. To me this is your average Fps game that lacks in certain ways. Don't get me wrong this game is beautiful but it isn't cut out to be an actual "Halo" game when compared to the first two games. This game only has 9 levels of campaign and one of the levels is just downright horrible. This goes to show how much effortIt's a very overrated game and it shouldn't be as hyped as it should be. To me this is your average Fps game that lacks in certain ways. Don't get me wrong this game is beautiful but it isn't cut out to be an actual "Halo" game when compared to the first two games. This game only has 9 levels of campaign and one of the levels is just downright horrible. This goes to show how much effort Bungie put into this game. The game design is bad because of this.The storyline seems to be a bit duller from the other games. It seems like it's always revolved around saving the world, which is okay but gets pretty bland after awhile. Other then that the online multiplayer experience is very well done. Which is why i give it a 6. It Lacks in campaign, storyline, and character development but it makes up for it in multiplayer. Expand
  19. Apr 19, 2013
    10
    Multiplayer balance and competition was phenomenal. The true skill ranking system was brilliant and fair. The balance and dynamic of the game made it a popular E-Sport in the MLG scene. The most competitive Halo to date. Is not for "casuals" in my opinion but that's how gaming should be. FPS games are not about the storyline, they're about the multiplayer. It is probably the leastMultiplayer balance and competition was phenomenal. The true skill ranking system was brilliant and fair. The balance and dynamic of the game made it a popular E-Sport in the MLG scene. The most competitive Halo to date. Is not for "casuals" in my opinion but that's how gaming should be. FPS games are not about the storyline, they're about the multiplayer. It is probably the least favorite game for the "everybody wins" generation of gamers, but that is what makes games great, not everyone wins. Expand
  20. Sep 30, 2012
    10
    is the epic conclusion for a epic story definitely the best sci-fi game story so far (2007) a great campaign and simply the best multiplayer on xbox 360.
  21. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    This is the first game that I really strived to get all of the achievements for and this review is more on the fun of gathering the specific achievements that this game has than the actual game itself. (It is a great game). Most specifically this game changed the way I look at and play games, by having just the right level of difficulty on all of the achievements including the dlc IThis is the first game that I really strived to get all of the achievements for and this review is more on the fun of gathering the specific achievements that this game has than the actual game itself. (It is a great game). Most specifically this game changed the way I look at and play games, by having just the right level of difficulty on all of the achievements including the dlc I started playing games on harder difficulties and started playing multiplayer. This game has the best multiplayer in the halo franchise, the maps are fun and never really get dull or repetitive. Expand
  22. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    Call me a Fanboy but I love Halo (Sure it kinda rips of Aliens in a few too many places) but I love the supporting cast, the multiplayer (No not Halo 4's!) and the whole idea of a race of Aliens united by their religious ideals which they accepted or were forced to.
    This is by far a truly epic conclusion (Yes conclusion) to Master Chief's story and the whole Human Covenant war. It's story
    Call me a Fanboy but I love Halo (Sure it kinda rips of Aliens in a few too many places) but I love the supporting cast, the multiplayer (No not Halo 4's!) and the whole idea of a race of Aliens united by their religious ideals which they accepted or were forced to.
    This is by far a truly epic conclusion (Yes conclusion) to Master Chief's story and the whole Human Covenant war. It's story and set-pieces are epic without being too in your face. The multiplayer is well-balanced in my opinion with my favourite set of maps in the whole Halo series. Forge makes an interesting addition which you can sink hours or seconds into. What am I missing... oh yeah theatre mode also makes an interesting addition (Although I didn't spend a lot of time using it) and it really does FINISH THE FIGHT!
    If you've just bought a 360 this is a must own!
    Expand
  23. Nov 19, 2013
    7
    Halo 3 is a game set in the magical time of 2500 or around that time. This is game is okay. I've played better halo's I have to admit. Although it came out in 2008 it's still looks good. It's plays well and this was the first halo with forge. Forge is a great mode where you can spawn in things from the game. The multiplayeis rubbish and I hate the campaign but the game modes and forge isHalo 3 is a game set in the magical time of 2500 or around that time. This is game is okay. I've played better halo's I have to admit. Although it came out in 2008 it's still looks good. It's plays well and this was the first halo with forge. Forge is a great mode where you can spawn in things from the game. The multiplayeis rubbish and I hate the campaign but the game modes and forge is the only reason I play Halo anyway.

    Overall
    -Bad Campaign
    -Bad Multiplayer
    -Amazing forge mode
    Score 72/100
    Expand
  24. May 15, 2011
    10
    This is honestly one of the best games in my opinion. The gameplay is awsome and the story is absolutely amazing! Bungie really set the bar high and I cannot wait to see future Halo games. Large maps, large vehicle combat, the innovative weapons. These are one of the many things what makes Halo 3 one of the greatest games of ALL time. Long live Halo!
  25. May 10, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I had an overall blast with this game for the 3 years that i had been playing it. I could play it all day and all night and not get bored. That was the thing about this game,; once you thought it was done... BAM some thing like a map pack shows up with new forge block and another couple hours trying to make a good multilayer tactic :) I really do miss those days. Though now all it is now is a story, about ONE **** KICK ASS GAME! HELL YA! "Send me out with a bang!" Sargent Johnson Expand
  26. Oct 30, 2010
    8
    Halo 3 doesn't change the formula by much but the things it adds, like forge and improved matchmaking, are enough to make it worth a purchase. Just don't expect to have your mind blown if you already played Halo 2, as the campaign and main game mechanics are almost identical.
  27. Aug 30, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As some of you may give this a 0, how can you guive it that. The balance is soo well done online, for wxample the player skill balance. Also each game everyone has the same weapon. You can get shot a few times and still have a chance. Isn't that great? I'm not a big fan of the older campaigns( Halo and Halo 2) I loved this one. Thr levels Tsvaso's Highway to the level Halo is just pure fun on Legendary. But the multiplayer is where the entire community is. You could probably play this game in 2016 and there probably will be at least 500 people on. But now 2.5 years after it 9/25/07 release there are 75,000 to 200,000 people on depending on the time. Just purely one of the best games on the Xbox 360 you can buy!!! Expand
  28. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    Please, ignore the Negative reviews. A must have for the Xbox 360. I don't know why there are so many but that's not true. Beautiful graphics, so-so Single Player, and amazing/endless online gameplay. Seriously, if your reading this and do not have the game, then get off your lazy ass and BUY IT!
  29. Aug 28, 2010
    9
    Halo 3 is a great game the campaign is not the best but it has it's upsides.
    I would recommend this game to any first person shooter fan just do not expect the campaign to be fantastic
  30. Sep 24, 2010
    10
    Do I even have to write a review for this game? It kind of speaks for itself.
    Be sure to go to bungie.net to get your Halo 3 nameplate for Halo: Reach.
  31. Dec 21, 2010
    10
    I love this game. In every aspect it met my gaming needs and wants. The campaign was just so epic, it was so exciting to travel to level to level. But still the A.I. is as dumb as as bag of hammers. But still if you can ignore the stupid A.I. then you got a game of the year worthy game. Especially the multi-player. They took a big leap from Halo 2, and they landed it. It was veryI love this game. In every aspect it met my gaming needs and wants. The campaign was just so epic, it was so exciting to travel to level to level. But still the A.I. is as dumb as as bag of hammers. But still if you can ignore the stupid A.I. then you got a game of the year worthy game. Especially the multi-player. They took a big leap from Halo 2, and they landed it. It was very satisfying to get sprees and multi-kills, and watching your plasma grenades exploding while on somebody's face. All you need is maybe $30 and you'll be happy for a while. Expand
  32. Dec 28, 2010
    8
    I know I'm a little behind the ball on this, but this is my first year owning a 360 (got one of the new wireless ones for Christmas), and so this is the game I happened to get for it. As a person who's played all three games, I have to say this was one of the more satisfying ones, and yet, at the same time, I didn't have as much fun with it. Keep in mind that as I'm writing this review, II know I'm a little behind the ball on this, but this is my first year owning a 360 (got one of the new wireless ones for Christmas), and so this is the game I happened to get for it. As a person who's played all three games, I have to say this was one of the more satisfying ones, and yet, at the same time, I didn't have as much fun with it. Keep in mind that as I'm writing this review, I have yet to experience it through multiplayer, and in my day, I LOVED having friends around to play splitscreen muitplayer with as we shoved eachother around and cursed in anger (and generally laughed our asses off at the hilarious kills we got). That being said, from a single-player standpoint, I though this was a really cool game. Sure, the story was a little hard to follow at times, and I did get annoyed that it seemed that you were the only capable fighter on the battle field, and yet even on normal, I found myself time and time again being killed by the simple fact that there were sooooo many people trying to tear my face off at once. Most of the time, I could handle the covenant and the flood by shooting at them until their shields went down or they just weakened, and then I slammed them in the face with the butt of my rifle. While this might work against certain enemies, I found that really you only want to do that if the baddies happen to get separated, otherwise they will gangrape you. Overall, I was alright with the ending for the most part, up until they showed that somehow the portal closed just as the ship got halfway through it, allowing Arbiter through but leaving Master Chief and Cortana behind. Now THAT'S just silly. Still, despite my griping, this game glued me to the seat for a solid three days of gameplay, and I still intend on keeping it to check out the multiplayer. For some fairly solid gameplay, a decent and gripping story of survival, and the fact that it's half sci-fi drama and half action movie, I give this game a solid 8 out of 10 Expand
  33. Jan 13, 2013
    10
    Halo 3 may be the king of all first person shooter games. That opinion could almost be a fact. With it's 5 year lifespan Halo 3 retains over 10,000 players online and will probably never be knocked off it's throne. Halo 4 may be out already, but let's take a look at a real Halo game, shall we? Halo 3 is the final battle between humanity, the covenant, and the flood. The main enemy in thisHalo 3 may be the king of all first person shooter games. That opinion could almost be a fact. With it's 5 year lifespan Halo 3 retains over 10,000 players online and will probably never be knocked off it's throne. Halo 4 may be out already, but let's take a look at a real Halo game, shall we? Halo 3 is the final battle between humanity, the covenant, and the flood. The main enemy in this installment is the prophet of truth, a crafty ambitious member of the covenant. The story is strong and also includes the Arbiter along with the classic scarabs. When you look deeper though, you'll find yourself more immersed in the gameplay of the campaign rather than the story. Whether you are hunting for skulls or trying to break a high score, Halo 3's campaign is extremely repayable. Halo 3's online play is also fantastic. Featuring a large sandbox, as well as great maps such as the pit, Halo 3's multiplayer never gets old. With it's arena style competitive matches, every game feels important and fun. Halo 3 also includes a 1-50 ranking system, which players can work at. This adds up to hours of play, and will trump any Call of Duty multiplayer. Custom games are a lot of fun with friends, especially infection mode. Halo 3 can be played all day, and you'll find yourself forgetting to go to bed way too often.

    Overall, this game defines the Halo experience. From it's fantastic soundtrack to it's impressive multiplayer, Halo 3 has something to please everyone.
    Expand
  34. Sep 6, 2010
    9
    Halo is one of the most successful first person shooters ever made and the latest installment does not fall short of expectations. Shooting aliens has never been this fun. The singleplayer is fun and after you beat on normal, you are probably going to go back to get the legendary achievement. The multiplayer is also very fun. It is simple, yet probably one of the funnest multiplayer gamesHalo is one of the most successful first person shooters ever made and the latest installment does not fall short of expectations. Shooting aliens has never been this fun. The singleplayer is fun and after you beat on normal, you are probably going to go back to get the legendary achievement. The multiplayer is also very fun. It is simple, yet probably one of the funnest multiplayer games i have ever played. So as you can see, this game is great and fun and is definitely worth a buy for anyone with a 360. Expand
  35. Aug 22, 2010
    9
    Halo 3 is an amazing game. Yes it did have a short campaign but I had a hell of a time playing it. The game is now 3 years old but people continue to play it. It has over 20 multiplayer maps and plenty of game modes including a different weekend special every week. It is a great FPS and that is why i give it a 9 out of 10
  36. Oct 9, 2010
    10
    Game that can be compared with halo 3?There is none
  37. Brandon
    Jan 22, 2010
    9
    One of the best games I have ever had the liberty of playing on the xbox 360! Sure, I only played the first chapter when my friend brought it over, and I played online the rest of the time, but the sales numbers and review scores are also true to the bone! And for those Halo haters, you're just retards who have nothing better to do than flame Bungie because they can't beat the One of the best games I have ever had the liberty of playing on the xbox 360! Sure, I only played the first chapter when my friend brought it over, and I played online the rest of the time, but the sales numbers and review scores are also true to the bone! And for those Halo haters, you're just retards who have nothing better to do than flame Bungie because they can't beat the first chapter because they've never played on Halo before. I borrowed and beat Halo 2, and even that has great visuals, even today, but the people do look bad. Halo 3 was way better. Visuals pro. And the theme music! Un-believable. Blown away by the theme music. I love it so much, I sing it a school. Heck, I'll do it now. uuhuhuhuhhhh, uh uh uhhh, (higher pich) uh uh uh uhhhh, uh uh uh uhhhhhhh D-dunnnnn dun, d-dunnn dun, dunnn dun dun dun. Epic, right? Online is so fun. Really fast paced, the community is fun to play with. Enough said. Expand
  38. Aug 27, 2010
    9
    Extremely good game the single player is the thing that brings it down 2 points the multi-player is mainly put into a large niche. For my experience of the multi-player was amazing with the newer maps like sandbox makes user like games like Micheal Myers from Call of Duty, and make a actual game mode and create you own map for the game type makes it so much better If your extremely intoExtremely good game the single player is the thing that brings it down 2 points the multi-player is mainly put into a large niche. For my experience of the multi-player was amazing with the newer maps like sandbox makes user like games like Micheal Myers from Call of Duty, and make a actual game mode and create you own map for the game type makes it so much better If your extremely into Call of Duty there is a small chance of you liking this game i am a big fan of both. Expand
  39. Aug 27, 2010
    9
    The campaign has its ups and downs, but still has its replay value to it. The matching system is still great, and the game-play is fine (although others cannot admit to it). Custom games have gotten better since Halo 2. More customization, options, "freedom". Forge, ah yes. This map editor is got to be one of the main reasons Halo 3 got so much more to it. Now then, on to the cons. LetsThe campaign has its ups and downs, but still has its replay value to it. The matching system is still great, and the game-play is fine (although others cannot admit to it). Custom games have gotten better since Halo 2. More customization, options, "freedom". Forge, ah yes. This map editor is got to be one of the main reasons Halo 3 got so much more to it. Now then, on to the cons. Lets just say the community isn't the brightest. Map restrictions have been put on most of the playlists, meaning that newer members to the Halo community would have to spend a little bit more money to fully experience Halo 3's gameplay. All and all, it's a great game. Just make sure you're in party chat, or have friends to play with. Expand
  40. Nov 30, 2011
    6
    After killing about 13,000 Spartans in mulitplayer, I can confidently say that this is one the most addicting games ever. So much better than COD. Bungie did a really geat job on the campaign missions as well.
  41. Nov 25, 2010
    8
    This is a great game. It has enjoyable graphics, a decent storyline, and a great multiplayer offering supported in turn by Bungie.net's range of features and statistics. I notice that everyone reviewing this game calls its overrated, and then choose to underrate it. But, this game is a solid 8, maybe even an 8.5. I spent so many hours playing this game with friends and I have mostly foundThis is a great game. It has enjoyable graphics, a decent storyline, and a great multiplayer offering supported in turn by Bungie.net's range of features and statistics. I notice that everyone reviewing this game calls its overrated, and then choose to underrate it. But, this game is a solid 8, maybe even an 8.5. I spent so many hours playing this game with friends and I have mostly found memories of it. The single player was neat to play through, but I don't think anyone serious about the game will stay for that: the multiplayer is what makes this game and on that front, it offers a type of balanced team-based gaming that no other game can match. Expand
  42. Dec 11, 2010
    10
    Was there even any doubt? A brief but fantastic campaign with plenty of replyability, thanks to the skulls and Co-op with lovely set-pieces, and solid multiplayer. Brilliant maps (Apart from Guardian IMO), forge is great and allows for some wicked creativity, Duck Hunt anyone? Combat feels great and there are no real flaws I can talk about. Maybe the return of the health bar would haveWas there even any doubt? A brief but fantastic campaign with plenty of replyability, thanks to the skulls and Co-op with lovely set-pieces, and solid multiplayer. Brilliant maps (Apart from Guardian IMO), forge is great and allows for some wicked creativity, Duck Hunt anyone? Combat feels great and there are no real flaws I can talk about. Maybe the return of the health bar would have been nice, but thats it and I'm just picking at tiny holes now, that make no difference ot the gameplay or graphics whatsoever, ty bungie! Expand
  43. Mar 13, 2011
    8
    I kind of ignored this game for a long time! I was a Nintendork. I still kind of am, but now, I'm a Wii60er! This game is fun and challenging! The story is really complicated to me, but that's okay, I literally said, "screw the story, let's kick some alien butt!" at one point. I love the theater mode and forge, in fact, I'm thinking of making a machinima because of them! I own atI kind of ignored this game for a long time! I was a Nintendork. I still kind of am, but now, I'm a Wii60er! This game is fun and challenging! The story is really complicated to me, but that's okay, I literally said, "screw the story, let's kick some alien butt!" at one point. I love the theater mode and forge, in fact, I'm thinking of making a machinima because of them! I own at matchmaking! I love using exclamation points! I give tribute to this game for broadening my horizons by 600%. Expand
  44. Jun 11, 2011
    9
    Four years after its release and I enjoyed this game probably as much as when it was first released to the public. Great FPS that gave you a large array of weapons to choose from. So many different ways to lead an assault on the enemy, so many different ways to die. The action was non-stop, the cut scenes were few and didn't slow down the story (considering how cut scenes are being used soFour years after its release and I enjoyed this game probably as much as when it was first released to the public. Great FPS that gave you a large array of weapons to choose from. So many different ways to lead an assault on the enemy, so many different ways to die. The action was non-stop, the cut scenes were few and didn't slow down the story (considering how cut scenes are being used so poorly in today's games). The story itself had a perfect pace for this type of game, not once did I zone out while people were elaborating on the plot. And unlike the MW2 games, it's has twice as long the game play! Expand
  45. NikE
    Jan 24, 2010
    9
    Okay to all of those who are giving this game a scor of 0, fans of this game are not all a bunch of "retards without any brains" as one of you so eloquently stated. This game had a relatively well done campaign with enough action to keep an avid fps fan busy for hours. Remember the emphasis of this triology is NOT the storyline, if you want a storyline in an fps, go play one of the Okay to all of those who are giving this game a scor of 0, fans of this game are not all a bunch of "retards without any brains" as one of you so eloquently stated. This game had a relatively well done campaign with enough action to keep an avid fps fan busy for hours. Remember the emphasis of this triology is NOT the storyline, if you want a storyline in an fps, go play one of the rpg-fps hybrids like Bioshock or Mass Effect. The best thing about halo 3 and the entire halo trilogy is the multiplayer. The matchmaking system is definitively the BEST setup for any console ever made. The ranking system allows you to play competitively with people at your own progressing skill level, and joining games is always relatively quick and efficient. The mechanics of the multiplayer is also well done, all of the weapons are fairly well balanced, and excel in different unique situations. As a level 50 in 3 different playlists, im PRETTY SURE I KNOW WHAT IM TALKING ABOUT( and yes it IS possible to do well without hacking, you just need some aim and some teamwork). The reduction in health from the previous two games allows for a heavier emphasis on teamwork and communication ( its is hard for 1 player to take down 3 others at the same time). My only complaint about this game is that whenever new maps are released, you need to purchase them online to be able to continue to play of all the playlists available on XBL, giving the game a certain "WoW-scam" feel. Expand
  46. LucasP.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    The game is amazing. I don't know why these Sony fanboys (who, I bet, have never played the game) keep giving it 0. This attitude is so ridiculous.. anyway, I don't care. The graphics, specially the models, are not, by far, the best on this generation, but there are some points which really make it seem very beautiful sometimes, like the light and shadow effects and some nice The game is amazing. I don't know why these Sony fanboys (who, I bet, have never played the game) keep giving it 0. This attitude is so ridiculous.. anyway, I don't care. The graphics, specially the models, are not, by far, the best on this generation, but there are some points which really make it seem very beautiful sometimes, like the light and shadow effects and some nice detailed scenes. The story is a great point of the game, specially for the ones who've enjoyed the Halo universe since the first game. The weapons are great, though sometimes you feel you need a better variety of guns. The enemies are intelligent enough to the proposal of the game, maybe the only bad about them is the already known little ones, they make the game looks kind of "kiddy", but, don't misunderstand me, it's nothing really bad as it may sound, they add fun to the game. Finally, for sure, the best thing about this freaking amazing game is the OST! Perhaps the only games which have the soundtracks to amused like this one are the Chrono games. I just love this game. Expand
  47. MichaelK
    Jan 19, 2010
    10
    There are so many bad comments for this game that I felt the need to balance things out with a few good words for what is quiet simply one of my most played games of the past few years. No other game has such a dedicated community of players online from around the world playing on an ever evolving battle field with constantly updated play lists and everything is so well balanced plus There are so many bad comments for this game that I felt the need to balance things out with a few good words for what is quiet simply one of my most played games of the past few years. No other game has such a dedicated community of players online from around the world playing on an ever evolving battle field with constantly updated play lists and everything is so well balanced plus because of a well implimented ranking system it always gives an incredably fare match I really can't say enough good things about this outstanding game Expand
  48. Aug 14, 2010
    8
    This game was a little different than the other Halos, in good ways, and bad. First off, on the good side, there is a bigger selection of weapons than the first Halo, and thank Lord Jesus for that! Another good side, the game, just like the others, is filled with the longest damned levels in video game history. Why good? Takes up your time. Mostly bad, 'cause we just want to find out howThis game was a little different than the other Halos, in good ways, and bad. First off, on the good side, there is a bigger selection of weapons than the first Halo, and thank Lord Jesus for that! Another good side, the game, just like the others, is filled with the longest damned levels in video game history. Why good? Takes up your time. Mostly bad, 'cause we just want to find out how it ends. The ending? I guess Bungie was just lazy, or something, 'cause, why else would it end the same way? Exploding ship, escape in warthog, die with Cortana, or whatever. Another Keyes dies, stupid. Spartan- 117, or whatever number he is, dies? Really? I'd rather have a cliffhanger, like Dead Space, or Portal, or Half-Life, or Splinter Cell: Conviction. Expand
  49. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    9.5/10 = Incredible = It's an online shooter that still holds a major fan base today! It's roughly four and a half years old!! Very great and innovative shooter, a game that truly deserved it's sales numbers.
  50. Sep 12, 2010
    10
    Halo 3 was the best game ever, and still is the best game ever (until the 14th in 2 days). No other game has such an awesome combination of campaign, forge, theatre and matchmaking... amazing!

    And after 3 years, >200k people online, nuff said.
  51. Mar 17, 2011
    7
    Decent campaign, but it was short. I enjoyed continuing the Halo story. Being able to run through the campaign on co-op was nice. Multiplayer was solid but it was unbalanced and too much had changed for the worst. I only played this game when I was bored of the other ones.
  52. Sep 16, 2010
    7
    The single player campaign is disappointing on many levels. The graphics and lighting are nearly last-gen. You can't choose different classes of Spartan like the cover seems to suggest. Bland story with uninteresting characters. Same old gameplay, same old enemies, same old weapons. Multiplayer is great, but only if you are into the Halo style of gameplay. Overall, not the advancement ofThe single player campaign is disappointing on many levels. The graphics and lighting are nearly last-gen. You can't choose different classes of Spartan like the cover seems to suggest. Bland story with uninteresting characters. Same old gameplay, same old enemies, same old weapons. Multiplayer is great, but only if you are into the Halo style of gameplay. Overall, not the advancement of the series I wanted. Expand
  53. Sep 8, 2011
    8
    Good game, unbalanced multiplayer ruins the online experience. I would buy a few games over this, such as Call of Duty 4, Call of Duty: World at War and Halo: Combat Evolved.
  54. Dec 30, 2010
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After playing the previous two Halo games, I was looking forward too playing through this, and finishing the fight.
    I was amazed at the Graphics, it looked stunning in HD 1080. The game-play was really good too, and it was enjoyable.
    However, what let it down was two things:
    Length: Compared to the previous two, this was really short. If I wanted too, I could have completed this in one sitting. It felt like it was over before it begun.
    Plot: There wasn't much of a plot, and nothing made sense until the final couple of Chapters. Cortana's random viewings didn't make any sense either.
    The ending couple have been so much better than what it was, but still remained with the Chief dying.
    This game was saved by the multi-player aspect of it, which is brilliant.
    Expand
  55. Feb 13, 2011
    7
    A decent good game, story was interesting, but seems to be around another "hero-who-saves-the-day".
    Despite that, graphics were legendary, multiplayer was pretty decent. I disliked the auto aim though. But I loved the splitscreen option, and that it even could be used online. Was always great having a friend over and play either co-op or online. Alot of hours spent on that.
  56. Dec 25, 2012
    9
    I was thinking on what Halo was the best for the past week. Halo CE: Best campaign but multiplayer was not as good. Halo 2: had Amazing multiplayer great campaign but goes a bit out of control with the story at times for me. Halo 3 ODST: great campaign, best firefight but multiplayer disc was Halo 3 multiplayer with 4 new non-special maps
    .Halo Reach amazing campaign, best forge but
    I was thinking on what Halo was the best for the past week. Halo CE: Best campaign but multiplayer was not as good. Halo 2: had Amazing multiplayer great campaign but goes a bit out of control with the story at times for me. Halo 3 ODST: great campaign, best firefight but multiplayer disc was Halo 3 multiplayer with 4 new non-special maps
    .Halo Reach amazing campaign, best forge but multiplayer was a bit unbalanced but still amazing and firefight was good but not as interesting as in ODST and the worst maps in a Halo game ever
    . Halo 4: Best looking Halo yet, amazing multiplayer great but not a very griping campaign as other Halos, forge is really good and Spartan ops is a nice and really good new feature. But however the one Halo witch I got hooked on for 5 to 6 years of life and never, ever got bored of it is Halo 3. The first Halo I ever played and I fell in love with the games world almost as soon as I played it. Campaign is awesome been my third favorite campaign out of all the Halos with the ledendary ending been one of my favorite moments of gaming of all time. Multiplayer in Halo 3 is my favorite Halo(I know Halo 2s' multiplayer is supposed to be the best but we hav opinions) multiplayer by far, too bad its nowhere near as popular as it was the 3 years it was king of Xbox multiplayer. Forge may not be as good as Halo: Reach and Halo 4, Halo 3 has really good forge still and has the best map of any Halo game (this including the map packs). Thierter will always be the best in Halo 3. Halo 3 is my favorite Halo game of all time and alos one of my favorite games of all time. Halo 3 9.8/10
    Expand
  57. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    Halo 3 is one of the best FPS's I've ever played. It's sad that no one really plays this game anymore, because of the release of Halo Reach and Halo 4. The online multiplayer is clearly better than Halo Reach and Halo 4, because of the great maps and the simple gameplay. There isn't much to the game. You just pick up guns of the ground and use them. The campaign lives up the seriesHalo 3 is one of the best FPS's I've ever played. It's sad that no one really plays this game anymore, because of the release of Halo Reach and Halo 4. The online multiplayer is clearly better than Halo Reach and Halo 4, because of the great maps and the simple gameplay. There isn't much to the game. You just pick up guns of the ground and use them. The campaign lives up the series expectations quite well too and it is very difficult if you choose the harder modes to play on. Overall this game deserves a clear 10 out of 10. Expand
  58. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    Wow. Probably my all time favorite video game.
    Campaign: The campaign has an amazing mixture of level design, enemies, character development, and weapons. The story and lore are both amazing. The trilogy really does end beautifully. It really tugs at your heartstrings. So if you like a good story, you will like this game. Of course the story isn't as good as say mass effect, but for an
    Wow. Probably my all time favorite video game.
    Campaign: The campaign has an amazing mixture of level design, enemies, character development, and weapons. The story and lore are both amazing. The trilogy really does end beautifully. It really tugs at your heartstrings. So if you like a good story, you will like this game. Of course the story isn't as good as say mass effect, but for an fps, it is amazing. The only complaint I have is the Marine AI. They're just plain stupid. (:
    Multiplayer: Multiplayer encompasses many things so im going to break it down into
    1. Matchmaking/CustomGames: Matchmaking and custom games in halo is so amazing. It can be for both the casual and hardcore. I cant describe the fun of getting a couple friends and going on matchmaking or just screwing around on custom games.
    2. Forge: Forge is amazing. It is basically a level designer. You can add vehicles, structures. weapons, etc. Or, you can just do crazy stuff like drop tanks on people's heads.

    Halo 3 is such an amazing game. It has a great campaign, great multiplayer, and a really fun level designer. I'd recommend it to anyone.
    Expand
  59. Apr 20, 2014
    7
    The campaign is overall lacking, there just isn't any sense of urgency even though everything is supposed to be at stake, and it feels like nothing is at stake, which ruins the overall drive of the game. You know before even starting the game that master chief is going to save Cortana,defeat the covenant, and save earth. It's very predictable and doesn't do anything unexpected. Not toThe campaign is overall lacking, there just isn't any sense of urgency even though everything is supposed to be at stake, and it feels like nothing is at stake, which ruins the overall drive of the game. You know before even starting the game that master chief is going to save Cortana,defeat the covenant, and save earth. It's very predictable and doesn't do anything unexpected. Not to mention the awful level design in the level "Cortana".
    The Multiplayer is what makes this game great, it's balanced, fast paced, and requires skill to be good at.
    Expand
  60. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    The game gives the player control of a FBI agent named Francis York Morgan who is investigating the murder of a young woman, Anna Graham, near the fictional American town of Greenvale (its containing state is never identified, but it appears to be somewhere in the Pacific Northwest). Upon arriving in the town York is greeted by town sheriff George Woodman and his deputy Emily Wyatt, whoThe game gives the player control of a FBI agent named Francis York Morgan who is investigating the murder of a young woman, Anna Graham, near the fictional American town of Greenvale (its containing state is never identified, but it appears to be somewhere in the Pacific Northwest). Upon arriving in the town York is greeted by town sheriff George Woodman and his deputy Emily Wyatt, who brief him on the murder and lead him to the crime scene. York generates considerable friction with his dismissive attitude toward the locals, bizarre demeanor, and tendency to interrupt conversations to deliver asides to "Zach", an alternate personality congruent with the player. Over the course of his investigation, York has opportunities to touch the lives of many of the town's colorful personalities and intervene in their personal crises, often brought on by the sudden and brutal murder in their midst, to earn rewards and further his understanding of the case. As he unearths more and more mysteries and the killer continues to roam, the town's dark past slowly comes to light.
    Deadly Premonition's plot and setting are strongly influenced by the American television show Twin Peaks, and numerous allusions and thematic links can be found within the game, and Master Cheif dies in space.
    Expand
  61. Aug 13, 2010
    5
    The Master Chief what a cool video game charicter . its unfortunite that his only real great game was the first halo . and his series has been sliding into the crapper ever since Halo 2 . though Halo 3 is a improvment over the awful halo 2 game i doubt this series will ever capture the magic halo 1 did . well lets get alittle positive for abit on halo 3 shall we . the 4 player co-op onlineThe Master Chief what a cool video game charicter . its unfortunite that his only real great game was the first halo . and his series has been sliding into the crapper ever since Halo 2 . though Halo 3 is a improvment over the awful halo 2 game i doubt this series will ever capture the magic halo 1 did . well lets get alittle positive for abit on halo 3 shall we . the 4 player co-op online is a great feature downside is though 3 of thoose people have to be elites and cant be other spartans >< . the game has fixed some of the wepons balance issues from halo2 ... some not all the pistol still sucks and a few others. lots of scarabs to fight and fighting 2 at once with 4 buddys ... Awsome . map editor is sweet along with instant replays that can be saved when playing online . controls are solid as they ever where . now thats pretty much where it ends for any thing good i can say about this game . the ending in this game stunk the ending on legendary stinks even more . the online is garbage mainly do to its searching system . you can wait up to 10 min some times to find a match . whats made worse is lets say you jsut wana play Big team death match on sand trap . because that map is awsome its huge lots of vehicles so lots o fun . well good luck with that the game may put you in sand trap but it will probubly give you terratorize , capture the flag(I HATE CAPTURE THE FLAG) , Team rockets , or some other lame game mode that you and i know I dont wana play!!! i came online to have fun and want to play the maps and modes im gona have fun in . unfortunitly bunjie doesnt want you to have fun it only wants to destroy it . now it may be different if you like all the maps and all the game modes . but i dont and shouldnt have to jump through a bunch of damn hoops to have fun . yes there is a custom match set up where you can select you map and game mode but no one ever plays that they only play ranked . so good luck trying to get a game in that. this game isnt as evil as halo 2 which i give a 3/10 too but its still crap and halo ODST is even worse then this . my final conclusion is this series must die . the master chief has been to tarnished to be cool any more . its so sad. Expand
  62. Nov 27, 2012
    5
    Halo 3 is one of the first games I ever bought for the 360 (along with Crackdown (never finished), Forza 2 (came with the console - awesome game), & Gears of War (my favorite game on the 360). This was 5 years ago. I STILL haven't finished Halo 3. Why? It's boring, repetitive, and even more boring. I guess like Mac fanboys, I'll just never understand Halo fanboys. GoW, Call of DutyHalo 3 is one of the first games I ever bought for the 360 (along with Crackdown (never finished), Forza 2 (came with the console - awesome game), & Gears of War (my favorite game on the 360). This was 5 years ago. I STILL haven't finished Halo 3. Why? It's boring, repetitive, and even more boring. I guess like Mac fanboys, I'll just never understand Halo fanboys. GoW, Call of Duty MW, GTA IV, BioShock, Dead Space, the original Crysis, even Battlefield:BC were ALL better game than this one. I'll finish it (eventually), but Lord I hope Reach & Halo 4 are better than this one. Expand
  63. Apr 25, 2011
    7
    This was a great game, star to finish, but c'mon, think about it: It's just Halo 2 reskinned in HD, nothing more, and nothing less. Sure, they added equipment and brute weapons/vehicles, but the Prowler is no different from the old Spectre, and the Marines don't pack very many polygons. in fact, the game relies heavily on bump modelling to show the detail. Overall, I give this game a 7,This was a great game, star to finish, but c'mon, think about it: It's just Halo 2 reskinned in HD, nothing more, and nothing less. Sure, they added equipment and brute weapons/vehicles, but the Prowler is no different from the old Spectre, and the Marines don't pack very many polygons. in fact, the game relies heavily on bump modelling to show the detail. Overall, I give this game a 7, and I think Bungie can live with that. Expand
  64. Nov 12, 2012
    6
    Joguei Halo 3 com uma enorme expectativa. O jogo em si é bom. A história é interessante e tudo mais. Mas devo comentar sobre dois pontos de que não me agradaram: a jogabilidade e os locais no qual ocorrem a história. Sobre a jogabilidade, realmente percebi que não consigo jogar FPS sem ter aquela mira secundária, que aproxima. Parece um jogoJoguei Halo 3 com uma enorme expectativa. O jogo em si é bom. A história é interessante e tudo mais. Mas devo comentar sobre dois pontos de que não me agradaram: a jogabilidade e os locais no qual ocorrem a história. Sobre a jogabilidade, realmente percebi que não consigo jogar FPS sem ter aquela mira secundária, que aproxima. Parece um jogo de geração passada graças a simplicidade que é uma troca de tiros, além de não possuir cover. Cairia bem como um jogo TPS, não FPS. E sobre a localidade, em muitos pontos da história eu fiquei sem saber pra onde ir. Na parte em que estamos dentro daquele "monstro" mesmo, eu rondava o mesmo lugar diversas vezes sem intenção até achar o ponto certo. Mas como uma crítica não pode ficar restrita aos lados ruins de um jogo, vamos aos lados bons. Primeiramente, o gráfico. Para sua época, o gráfico do Halo 3 realmente é bonito e não é tão sujo. Outro lado bom é o multiplayer online. Muito divertido. Não joguei muito esse modo, mas pelo que eu joguei já pude ter uma noção da qualidade, que é grande. Enfim, Halo 3 é um jogo que por completo não me agradou. Mas sei que muitas pessoas o considera um dos melhores jogos de todos os tempos, e eu respeito isso. Expand
  65. MickThomsoin
    Jul 29, 2007
    4
    After playing the Beta, Halo 3 is nothing new. This game does not live up to its hype at this moment. The graphics and gameplay were like Halo 2.5. And 2 new weapons? C'mon Bungie! Help us out here! Thats pretty pathetic. The maps were OK.Nothing to be excited about though. Same old choppy gameplay. Hopefully when the actual game comes out it'll be alot better. But I thinkAfter playing the Beta, Halo 3 is nothing new. This game does not live up to its hype at this moment. The graphics and gameplay were like Halo 2.5. And 2 new weapons? C'mon Bungie! Help us out here! Thats pretty pathetic. The maps were OK.Nothing to be excited about though. Same old choppy gameplay. Hopefully when the actual game comes out it'll be alot better. But I think Halo's time has past. The first Halo was a blast. But after screwing up the sequal, Halo 3 doesn't have a chance. I think I'll just stick to Gears of War for a while. Expand
  66. Raymeow
    Sep 9, 2007
    1
    Same like halo 1-2, just shineir toys, nothing new.
    Not impressed with Game played was expecting more from halo3. Even Warhawk seems more funner than halo.
    The reason I gave a 1 because I think halo3 is overrated, originally I would give a "7" if Fanboys don't always give a "10" then i would have give a legitimate vote.
  67. May 21, 2011
    6
    This is a good game not very good 6.010.0!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  68. Aug 1, 2011
    6
    Halo does have its production values but the immature brats that play it on Xbox live represent who this game is made for, and the over-rated near perfect reviews the Halo series has received represent the immaturity of game critics. Halo's multiplayer is its strongest side, there are 'some' good features but I cant help but say its been done better elsewhere. Unfortunately the singleHalo does have its production values but the immature brats that play it on Xbox live represent who this game is made for, and the over-rated near perfect reviews the Halo series has received represent the immaturity of game critics. Halo's multiplayer is its strongest side, there are 'some' good features but I cant help but say its been done better elsewhere. Unfortunately the single player side of the game fails and is only popular due to clever marketing to uncritical immature drone players who easily fall for the sensation of violence, guns, and 'badassness'. The single player campaign asides from a few moments of fun gameplay is totally bogged down with a standard sci-fi cliche dribble story having little originality. Halo 3 is not a bad game, its only ok, and does not deserve the over hyped praised it has received over the years.â Expand
  69. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    Best game of the Xbox 360 generation for sure. Id have to say that It had the best multiplayer in the entire series or even all of gaming. Wish the newer ones were like this
  70. Savage
    Jan 1, 2010
    0
    This game is only compelling or entertaining if your a brain dead jackass. Everything in halo has been done before and better. The story is nonexistant and the only remarkable feature is the degree to witch microsoft bribed perfect scores from all commercial game reviewers with "Press packages". The gameplay is horribly repetative, slow paced, and unbalanced. The AI is so horrible This game is only compelling or entertaining if your a brain dead jackass. Everything in halo has been done before and better. The story is nonexistant and the only remarkable feature is the degree to witch microsoft bribed perfect scores from all commercial game reviewers with "Press packages". The gameplay is horribly repetative, slow paced, and unbalanced. The AI is so horrible Neverwinter nights, an old game by bioware, has modules with better AI scripted by random normal people with little to no scripting experiance. The multiplayer would be fun if every other game didnt have some random hacker and the guns actualy featured some balance. Ive seen several people argue that this game is good, but the only arguments they can come up with are "Its good" or "Its epic" to which i respond "Your an idiot". Expand
  71. NikH.
    Sep 28, 2007
    0
    Having played Halo 1, I thought this would be a good game. I never bought Halo 2 as I enjoyed playing Halo 1 so much. I went out and bought this game for me 360 which i've had for about 4 months, put it in, started on the campaign and was shocked! I have a Samsung 1080p TV but I could see jagged edges everywhere! Faces are incredibly bland and badly drawn. THe control system is Having played Halo 1, I thought this would be a good game. I never bought Halo 2 as I enjoyed playing Halo 1 so much. I went out and bought this game for me 360 which i've had for about 4 months, put it in, started on the campaign and was shocked! I have a Samsung 1080p TV but I could see jagged edges everywhere! Faces are incredibly bland and badly drawn. THe control system is horrible to work and the game in itself is really repetetive. I've tried Halo online 4 player co-op and this is awfully laggy. I'm paying $50 a year to have extreme lag? I'm even getting lag on the online deathmatches. The least Bungie could have done would be to have set up some dedicated servers so I don't have to play with a server of ping 8344978. I'm really let down with this and will stick to Halo 1 tbh. Thanks alot Bungie. Expand
  72. Jul 23, 2012
    0
    This game is, quite simply, one of the greatest games I have ever had the pleasure of playing. The story is amazing (no spoilers), with some levels being replayed at least 25-30 times. The characters are great, the plot is outstanding (even better if you've played the previous titles and/or read the books by Eric Nylund (a truly great author). The fiction is so deep and enthralling, andThis game is, quite simply, one of the greatest games I have ever had the pleasure of playing. The story is amazing (no spoilers), with some levels being replayed at least 25-30 times. The characters are great, the plot is outstanding (even better if you've played the previous titles and/or read the books by Eric Nylund (a truly great author). The fiction is so deep and enthralling, and I fully recommend immersing yourself in an epic universe of truly grande scale), the gameplay is like sweet, sweet honey, the multiplayer is engrossing (heck, I still play it from time to time, and it's been 5 years!), and, most importantly, it delivers on every aspect you hoped it would after following a game of questionable quality (I'm looking at you, Halo 2...). Every single thing about this game, be it the music, the absolutely amazing inclusion of the Forge mode map editor, or the multitude of hilariously random Easter eggs hidden in the campaign, this game delivers on all fronts. Also, when scrolling through the user reviews, please, just use your common sense. If it's a zero and you see that the spelling is abhorrent, the grammar usage is laughable at best, and (in some cases) the review is written before the game was even for sale, it's probably a none-too-reliable Neanderthal kid who loves CoD for it's "innovative gameplay", and wouldn't know a deep and glorious plotline if it shot him between the eyes with a Battle Rifle. Just face it, haters. Halo 3 is a great game. Nothing you do, say, or write to slander one of the greatest FPSs of all time will matter in any true gamer's mind. Peace out. Expand
  73. Aug 20, 2010
    4
    It seems to me that the only defense that lovers of this game have for it is the fact that it has SUPERIOR MULTIPLAYER. I believe that thinking is a little too optimistic. What I mean by this is that these people have their brain trained to think that Halo games are good. Critics love them, they sell millions of copies, they are considered the best first person shooters in the business.It seems to me that the only defense that lovers of this game have for it is the fact that it has SUPERIOR MULTIPLAYER. I believe that thinking is a little too optimistic. What I mean by this is that these people have their brain trained to think that Halo games are good. Critics love them, they sell millions of copies, they are considered the best first person shooters in the business. So, why shouldn't they believe that these games are great? The answer is simple...they aren't great. They are hardly, if at all, good. Fanboys will defend (to their death) the multiplayer, but I have long considered multiplayer somewhat of a bonus when it is included in a game, not its flagship feature. For a developer like Bungie to cut the corners on a story mode just to pump out the next multiplayer sequel seems a bit like robbery to me. This game would be saved if they had taken some time to truly develop a story, and make it seem as if they cared about making a compelling video game. They've had three games to tell a good, epic, awe inspiring story, and they haven't even tried. They've just pushed out some weak crap and stamped the next number in sequence after the title. Expand
  74. FrederikMeringen
    Sep 23, 2007
    2
    great game
  75. MetroidPrimeHunter
    Jan 13, 2010
    0
    The most over-hyped, overrated, linear, un-original, kak I have ever had the misfortune of playing. What amsuses me to no end, is the disparity in the opinion of the critics and most everybody else.
  76. Dec 30, 2012
    4
    Halo 3...is the worst Halo game in existence...it's extremely dull and boring. Halo 2 in my opinion is still the Halo game that defines the series, if you want the best Halo experience--Halo 2 will offer it. Halo 3 downgrades almost everything which made the previous Halo games so good. The combat is nothing new, though the duel-wielding has been taken away with a lot of weapons, whichHalo 3...is the worst Halo game in existence...it's extremely dull and boring. Halo 2 in my opinion is still the Halo game that defines the series, if you want the best Halo experience--Halo 2 will offer it. Halo 3 downgrades almost everything which made the previous Halo games so good. The combat is nothing new, though the duel-wielding has been taken away with a lot of weapons, which does balance things out for the multiplayer, though causes the single player to be much more slower than it needs to be. This brings up the general problem that the game is way too short. It can be beaten in a few hours and offers no real replay value due to the linearity and simplicity of it all. What were Bungie thinking? The X-BOX 360 was a next generation system, yet they make a game worse than what was run on the previous X-BOX? Multiplayer online seems to be ruining the single player experience...developers aren't bothered making good single player anymore due to the high demand for multiplayer, and it's a real shame considering that the first-person-shooter genre started off focusing heavily on single player. Unless you want to see what happens story-wise, there is no reason to play Halo 3. Expand
  77. Mar 26, 2013
    0
    This was the game that taught me how the proffesional (pfff hhaha) gaming press operates, where reviews are bought and paid for by companies that can afford it. The halo franchise got where it is today not because the games are any good but because microsoft spent more on the marketing than on the actual making of the product. The gameplay is slowed down and as basic as an fps can possiblyThis was the game that taught me how the proffesional (pfff hhaha) gaming press operates, where reviews are bought and paid for by companies that can afford it. The halo franchise got where it is today not because the games are any good but because microsoft spent more on the marketing than on the actual making of the product. The gameplay is slowed down and as basic as an fps can possibly get. Levels are poorly made and you are often forced to re-thread your path up to three times, a very cheap way to extend campaign time. Halo 3 is often called a sandbox game wich marks who ever says that as an imbecile. Graphics range from bad to 'what the hell am I even looking at' and are seen through the extremely narrow headache inducing field of view visor of robot master guy sergeant, the protagonist who jorneys through the plothole ridden mess of a storyline spouting maybe 3 sentences on the way to the ending wich by the way can not have taken the hacks at bungie more than 30 minutes to produce. You see the commercials (where the money was put) showed well made cgi whereas the ingame cutscenes look like someones first attempt at using the quake1 engine. If you have four microscopes you can play the game 4 way splitscreen in eyestrain-o vision, a function wich since it isn't in many games nowadays is often lorded as something divine when in actuality it is not something any sane person would inflict on their corneas. The multiplayer is cut from the same cloth as the campaign where the gameplay has a kidde pool level of depth and a community that would make a room full of angry baboons seem like a place of enlightenment. It runs on the worst game service on earth xbl with laggy p2p networking. If Halo 3 is your most favourite game in the world you might also enjoy banging a hammer against your head. Expand
  78. Oct 20, 2010
    0
    Well, this is what most people call "fanboy-town." I actually liked the graphics and the main guy is extremely reconizable. Sadly, I disliked it's multiplayer and story. I understand why the first and second were good. It was an extreme success, but now, it lost it's replayablity value via the sometimes unresponsive controls, or the matter. Overall, this game doesn't deseve over a 85. It'sWell, this is what most people call "fanboy-town." I actually liked the graphics and the main guy is extremely reconizable. Sadly, I disliked it's multiplayer and story. I understand why the first and second were good. It was an extreme success, but now, it lost it's replayablity value via the sometimes unresponsive controls, or the matter. Overall, this game doesn't deseve over a 85. It's a okay game but...it sucks. Expand
  79. Aug 26, 2012
    0
    This game made me a tryhard.
  80. MikeH
    Jan 13, 2010
    0
    The majority of the population seems to like this awful joke of a game. Then again the majority of the population consists of very bad drivers. There is nothing good about bad driving or this game but idiots of the world seem to find both to be a favorite pastime.
  81. joetombs
    Sep 23, 2007
    1
    I was lucky enough to get this delivered early, but it only led to an earlier disappointment. There's so much better available on the 360 that i can't fathom why such an outdated fps (both graphicly and gameplay-wise) got my attention in the first place. The hype train makes you think it's more than it is. The multiplayer really doesn't seem that great using the sameI was lucky enough to get this delivered early, but it only led to an earlier disappointment. There's so much better available on the 360 that i can't fathom why such an outdated fps (both graphicly and gameplay-wise) got my attention in the first place. The hype train makes you think it's more than it is. The multiplayer really doesn't seem that great using the same tired mechanics since the first game. Ultimately a dull and unrewarding experience. Expand
  82. Dec 30, 2012
    0
    problem cortana is not really wearing clothes i sold my game because of it.
    it is totally anti-God message
    the aliens represent the covenant of God. your charracter must kill this covenant.

    totally anti-Christian
  83. AntonioG
    Sep 16, 2007
    0
    One of the most overrated games of all time. So much, in fact, that it makes me wonder whether people just buy it because they enjoy the violence.

    However, I would have considered buying Halos 1 and 2 if... 1. It was made for a Nintendo console. Microsoft isn't the only game console maker in the world, nor is it the best. 2. It wasn't so bloody. Blood adds realism, but
    One of the most overrated games of all time. So much, in fact, that it makes me wonder whether people just buy it because they enjoy the violence.

    However, I would have considered buying Halos 1 and 2 if...
    1. It was made for a Nintendo console. Microsoft isn't the only game console maker in the world, nor is it the best.
    2. It wasn't so bloody. Blood adds realism, but it's sickening to look at. Especially if you're playing Gears of War, which is more like some twisted version of Disturbia times 10.
    3. The makers at least made an effort to make a good PC version. Even then I wouldn't buy it because it's still too bloody.

    In conclusion, Halo 3 is probably the most hyped game in history. Ocarina of Time is porbably much more fun, and it's something people can play without being reminded of GTA. Stop believing the hype, you Microsoft fanboys.
    Expand
  84. Aug 28, 2012
    0
    I was in Game about to buy London 2012 and the helpful guy at the counter asked if I liked shooting games, I told him yes, I'm a big fan of CoD, So he recommended this game to me. I thought I'd buy it, as it was in the bargain bin and so within my budget. Anyway, I got home, started playing it and was bored of it within 5 minutes. Same stuff over and over, very disappointing, everybodyI was in Game about to buy London 2012 and the helpful guy at the counter asked if I liked shooting games, I told him yes, I'm a big fan of CoD, So he recommended this game to me. I thought I'd buy it, as it was in the bargain bin and so within my budget. Anyway, I got home, started playing it and was bored of it within 5 minutes. Same stuff over and over, very disappointing, everybody driving around in overpowered vehicles thinking they were something special. Anyway, to cut it short, This game doesn't live up to the standards set by games such as CoD4, CoD MW2, Ghost Recon, Just stick to them, you will regret buying this!!! Expand
  85. Aug 17, 2010
    4
    So far I've played this entire series and been nothing but disappointed. The idiocy of the AI is simply painful to watch. The story.. well the story doesn't exist and many others agree with me. The entire game is a grind. All you do is move from area to area killing the same enemies with the same guns out of the Toys'r'us. The only thing halo did well was the coop. The multilayer could beSo far I've played this entire series and been nothing but disappointed. The idiocy of the AI is simply painful to watch. The story.. well the story doesn't exist and many others agree with me. The entire game is a grind. All you do is move from area to area killing the same enemies with the same guns out of the Toys'r'us. The only thing halo did well was the coop. The multilayer could be fun if it weren't so filled with hackers and the weapons were balanced. It also kills the game for me when a punch does more damage than a gunshot. The only reason I've heard people say this game is good is for reasons like "It's epic" or "It's just awesome". They can oddly never give me a real solid reason as to why the game is any good. Also if you look around the net and do some digging you'll find that Microsoft was giving out "Press packages" to reviewers. Expand
  86. DanielS.
    Sep 28, 2007
    0
    I've tried every game mode and I'm extremely disappointed with this game. Especially after Gears of War and Bioshock set the FPS bar so high, I figured with the amount of hype this game had that it would be absolutely amazing- instead it plays like Marathon with an updated HD paint job. At least COD 4 is gonna rock if it turns out anywhere close to the BETA...
  87. davidk
    Oct 7, 2007
    0
    i gave it a 0 because i was extremely dissapointed.
    if the game was not hyped up so much it would have possibly got a 4, but with such high expectations its an extreme let down.
    sucky single player, good online. hello bingie not everyone has online i dont, dont be fooled into thinking this is the best game of the year or even the week. its an average shooter, which is moer
    i gave it a 0 because i was extremely dissapointed.
    if the game was not hyped up so much it would have possibly got a 4, but with such high expectations its an extreme let down.

    sucky single player, good online.
    hello bingie not everyone has online i dont,

    dont be fooled into thinking this is the best game of the year or even the week.
    its an average shooter, which is moer than i can say for the first halo which was even worse imo.

    they are all average shooters with no real reason as to why they are so hyped up. whats so good about them i ask WHAT?
    Expand
  88. LordHoodLordHood
    May 24, 2007
    10
    AAAAAAAAAa beta is okay game will be better hate portabal grave lifts man cannon rocks CCAMPAIN better rule or else there will be hell to pay Dont give a crap about multiplayer HALO FOREVER!!!
  89. NeoMr.smith
    Mar 19, 2008
    1
    shit it gets one pont for graphics no real story kille sevens story is easy to follow compered to this game play is ify super ify if online if you have a wii and are going to get a 360 just for this game dont get star fox assalt it has a real story et muti-player only prob no online but who cares its still better than halo3 also Sean D. you dont understand ow to rate some thing from your shit it gets one pont for graphics no real story kille sevens story is easy to follow compered to this game play is ify super ify if online if you have a wii and are going to get a 360 just for this game dont get star fox assalt it has a real story et muti-player only prob no online but who cares its still better than halo3 also Sean D. you dont understand ow to rate some thing from your comment it sounds like a 7.5 Expand
  90. Gregg
    Oct 1, 2007
    1
    This was the first Halo I have played and like 360 Gamer Magazine UK have mentioned - "anyone new to Halo probably won't see what all the fuss is about". This I found, unfortunately true!! The gameplay is sadly repetitive, having to pump a hundred bullets into a Brute before it drops, understandably so considering their size, however this is not fun!! There does appear to be quite a This was the first Halo I have played and like 360 Gamer Magazine UK have mentioned - "anyone new to Halo probably won't see what all the fuss is about". This I found, unfortunately true!! The gameplay is sadly repetitive, having to pump a hundred bullets into a Brute before it drops, understandably so considering their size, however this is not fun!! There does appear to be quite a strong story line but what does that matter without solid gameplay!!???!!!! The graphics are nothing to shout about and I believe this game to be way over-rated - Too much hype!!!! If you want to play a real FPS go out and buy Bioshock, it is worth every penny and it shows the rest how its supposed to be done!! Expand
  91. TorreyW.
    Oct 20, 2007
    1
    I just don't get it...sub-par graphics, AWFUL weapon sound effects , convoluted story, and the regular "frag fest" multi-player experience. This is literally a game that you simply blast through in a few hours. There are no tactics or thought necessary to complete this game, just run & gun. This game sucks. The only cool thing is some of the music and the load screen looks "pretty". FAIL.
  92. RasmB.
    Oct 23, 2007
    0
    I have nothing to say about this game, with all the adds and commercials promesing a great story of heroism and faith in mankind i felt nothing while playing this game. Eaven tho im a big fan of halo2 and halo1 this was a great disappointment that dosnt deserve half the hype it gets from fanboys all over. The game is halo2 with new story and some upped grapics, nothing moore, the extra I have nothing to say about this game, with all the adds and commercials promesing a great story of heroism and faith in mankind i felt nothing while playing this game. Eaven tho im a big fan of halo2 and halo1 this was a great disappointment that dosnt deserve half the hype it gets from fanboys all over. The game is halo2 with new story and some upped grapics, nothing moore, the extra content in this sequal is suprisingly bad. a few new guns and some tanks. Thats it, the enamys are still as stupid and silly as they used to be. This is one of the worst 360 titles to hit the market. Expand
  93. WesFletcher
    Sep 24, 2007
    7
    Its halo. same thing different color. its the same game its been since the first just add a few new gadgets and purty it up a pinch. No drastic changes. OOOoo there's a level editor and video mode. Wow you got me sold. How bout I throw in a cookie with it too that makes it an entire point better right? It works for what it is but its still the same halo just the end of it. that doesIts halo. same thing different color. its the same game its been since the first just add a few new gadgets and purty it up a pinch. No drastic changes. OOOoo there's a level editor and video mode. Wow you got me sold. How bout I throw in a cookie with it too that makes it an entire point better right? It works for what it is but its still the same halo just the end of it. that does NOT make it a 10 out of 10. It's halo, yes its WAY overhyped but it is a good game. That's it. IT by no means is perfect. Wait for the true reviews of people who aren't jerkin it to halo. Good bye master chief. Those in reality will turn you down. Expand
  94. JonMatrix
    Sep 24, 2007
    5
    I was really looking forward to a game that would break the norm. But all it is really is a Halo 2.5. It looks very similar to Halo 2 and plays very similar to it as well. The polygons are present on he heads of every model of the game, and it really shows a lack of polish.
  95. IHateFanboys
    Sep 26, 2007
    4
    Just goes to show you how people can get cought up in hype, all you need is a few mags and online game sites to say something positive like how this game will change the future of gaming and every teenager will get moist, truth is another thing. HALO 1 was ment for the PC but microsoft saw it as a good game and made it a launch title for the XBOXand as is was a game converted from the PCJust goes to show you how people can get cought up in hype, all you need is a few mags and online game sites to say something positive like how this game will change the future of gaming and every teenager will get moist, truth is another thing. HALO 1 was ment for the PC but microsoft saw it as a good game and made it a launch title for the XBOXand as is was a game converted from the PC it had a much better lenthy Story and game play. then HALO 2 came along and because console owners are supposed to like playing games for shorter periods( dont know where they get that idea from) they focused on the muliplayer part and add some crappy short story, but because you only find fanboys are consol owners microsoft knew that they would buy it up, even though its is so much shorter than halo 1. now for some reason HALO 3 hit the town and again for some reason these fanboys havnt grown up and they still think that HALO 3 will deliver, and you have all been duped again. HALO 3 is to cut this long story short is basicly HALO 2 with some extra multiplayer maps and what a suprise the story element is even shorter than HALO 2.
    I cant belive you guys actually pay £30+ a year to go online and use voice chat. well that what my bro does. me ive got a bit more sence and waisted my money on a hi spec PC where games are cheaper and online is all free. HALO 2 on the PC though exactly the same as the XBOX version is a complete FLOP on the PC, us PC owners will be enjoying FPS with lenthy storys lines and huge multiplayer areans like CRYSIS, HALFLIFE 2, S.T.A.L.K.E.R.. Still cant belive my bro pays £39 for 360 games. HALO 3 does not even try to puch the graphics on the 360 and its no way worth the £39 asking price. and i laugh that one of the selling points of Halo2 was that master cheif can hold two guns. hahahahaha

    the only good thing going for this is the extra multplayer maps.
    Oh he dies at the end.
    Expand
  96. DanV.
    Apr 3, 2008
    4
    This game is better than the second, but the first one was much more better.
  97. johnDoe
    Jul 4, 2008
    7
    The original Halo may have sold a million original xbox's, On the current next gen console Halo3 just does not have the same effect. This is by no means a bad game, Single player is enjoyable and quite testing, Just not as revolutionary as the original. Graphically the game looks great and play's as well as it always did. I am not sure where the series can go from here as I feel The original Halo may have sold a million original xbox's, On the current next gen console Halo3 just does not have the same effect. This is by no means a bad game, Single player is enjoyable and quite testing, Just not as revolutionary as the original. Graphically the game looks great and play's as well as it always did. I am not sure where the series can go from here as I feel it has peeked. Of course the online community for Halo is massive and you will have no trouble finding an online game That runs without lag. This could be where the series future lies in just online play. Halo 3 is a good game, Just not the generation setting game the original was. Expand
  98. AnonymousMC
    Jan 12, 2009
    4
    A generic shooter, the story is stupid and single player is easy on legendary. All those Xbox360 fan boys say that they have halo 3, that really isn't an achievement. Also multiplayer is filled with immature kids who tk you just to get the flag. I do not recommend you buy this game, maybe rent, but not buy.
  99. MeanPooh
    Sep 20, 2007
    9
    I have been playing this solo and the graphics are amost as good as Gears. on the otherhand the ingame cutscenes are almost identical in quality. Master C Is as detailed as ever and the lighting in the jungle is top notch. A definate must play for Veterans of the series!
  100. JesseMckinnon
    Sep 23, 2007
    10
    I just wanna say I have friend who works at EB so I got a copy early. I beat the game the story was epic and left a tear in your eye in the end. The grahics are amazeing Master Chief's amour has never shinned so beatafuly in the sun. As usaul the gameplay delivers. Brutes are a good challange esapacily on Legendary duffucty. Online never gets old and with 4 player co-op and many greatI just wanna say I have friend who works at EB so I got a copy early. I beat the game the story was epic and left a tear in your eye in the end. The grahics are amazeing Master Chief's amour has never shinned so beatafuly in the sun. As usaul the gameplay delivers. Brutes are a good challange esapacily on Legendary duffucty. Online never gets old and with 4 player co-op and many great gametypes and Forge and Savefilms lets just say this game will be turning in my 360 for quiet a long time and dont forget PS3 sucks!!! Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 86
  2. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. It's the addition of the Forge level editor and the saved films that give the game an even longer set of legs, legs that will probably keep you running at full speed until Bungie figures out where, exactly, to go from here.
  2. Halo 3 is the best Xbox 360 game to date. The single-player campaign and storyline are both very strong, but it's Forge and the Saved Films features that will likely go down in history as Bungie's crowning achievements. They've basically taken everything great about the series and improved upon it in every way, then added some amazing new features that we'll be using for years to come.
  3. 100
    It's solid gameplay, immense replayability, online functionality and incredible production values will ensure its place in video game history, and it is, without a doubt, a satisfying and fulfilling close to the beloved trilogy[?].