Halo 3 Xbox 360

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4116 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TelyS.
    Sep 27, 2007
    8
    The single player campaign is marred by shabby, last-gen animation, ugly character faces (its no wonder The Chief wears a helmet) and terribly directed cutscenes that do a poor job depicting the complex fiction that fleshes out the game world. What works brilliantly are the amazing set-pieces that are fun to play over and over, and, of course, the insanely deep multiplayer suite that The single player campaign is marred by shabby, last-gen animation, ugly character faces (its no wonder The Chief wears a helmet) and terribly directed cutscenes that do a poor job depicting the complex fiction that fleshes out the game world. What works brilliantly are the amazing set-pieces that are fun to play over and over, and, of course, the insanely deep multiplayer suite that gives console gamers a taste of what PC multiplayer has always been about. Expand
  2. MaxC.
    Sep 27, 2007
    8
    This game is impressive visually, but lacks in some areas. My main complaint is the insanely short campaign. 5 hours. Thats all. It is definately replayable with the 4 player co-op, the score keeping ability, and the hidden skulls, but 5 hours!? The multiplayer is good, but similiar to Halo 2 with some refinements. The really cool aspect is Forge, where you can take a map and change the This game is impressive visually, but lacks in some areas. My main complaint is the insanely short campaign. 5 hours. Thats all. It is definately replayable with the 4 player co-op, the score keeping ability, and the hidden skulls, but 5 hours!? The multiplayer is good, but similiar to Halo 2 with some refinements. The really cool aspect is Forge, where you can take a map and change the spawning of players, weapons, vehicles, as well as scenery objects and teleports. This could use some improvements though. You get a limited amount of an item you can use, despite having plenty of budget (the way they keep items down). You also can't write on anything, which would be really handy. Also, a delete all items on map option would be FANTASTIC. Overall, this game is good, but it does NOT deserve a 10. These reviews that give it a 10 are going with the hype or being paid off by Bungie/Microsoft. Expand
  3. McMastersUniversity
    Sep 27, 2007
    6
    What? That was it? The last section of the game was one of the biggest let downs of all time. Where is the final boss? Wait, that would've meant this game had an actual villain and a story that was meaningful. I found the story in Halo 2 to be very engaging and this time around was a massive disappointment. Additionally, the game felt like the designers viewed this making as a chore What? That was it? The last section of the game was one of the biggest let downs of all time. Where is the final boss? Wait, that would've meant this game had an actual villain and a story that was meaningful. I found the story in Halo 2 to be very engaging and this time around was a massive disappointment. Additionally, the game felt like the designers viewed this making as a chore as opposed to a fun and artistic experience. The revamped control scheme was pointless and did more harm that good. The new weapons and shield grenades are pointless. Also, this game does not start with the end of Halo 2, nor with how the trailer presents it. All these reviews that give this game 100's must be in the pockets of Microsoft; there is no other explanation. In every aspect this game is worse than Halo 1 and 2. Even the graphics are only slightly better than Halo 2. Maybe Halo 2.2? Ugh, I even avoided the hype and was still let down. Expand
  4. MattB.
    Sep 27, 2007
    10
    Halo 3 is a gargantuan technical achievement. The Matchmaking system, The Forge and the Replay Editor are worth the price of admission alone - then there's the campaign, which is to die for when played cooperatively. Don't let the over-hype destroy your experience; the graphics won't initially blow your mind, but the more you play it the more detail you will discover, Halo 3 is a gargantuan technical achievement. The Matchmaking system, The Forge and the Replay Editor are worth the price of admission alone - then there's the campaign, which is to die for when played cooperatively. Don't let the over-hype destroy your experience; the graphics won't initially blow your mind, but the more you play it the more detail you will discover, particularly when you start to view things frame-by-frame in replay mode, which will blow your mind. I've never given a game a 10, but this game is feature-packed, and endless fun. Expand
  5. MartinM.
    Sep 27, 2007
    10
    It was a great game. Really loved the campaign and multi player is a blast.
  6. JeffA.
    Sep 27, 2007
    10
    Words do not do this game justice. If you don't own an Xbox 360 and Halo 3 then you are missing out on the gaming experience of your lifetime.
  7. D.O.
    Sep 27, 2007
    9
    Halo 3, multiplayer wise, is a vast improvement. the weapons are more balanced and the game is more strategic and skill oriented. the gap between good and bad players widens.
  8. zoolanderjimmy
    Sep 27, 2007
    8
    Meh...short...same old same old, except now its gettign older....so again i say meh.
  9. JeveS.
    Sep 27, 2007
    7
    A good, fairly bug-free and enjoyable run, but way too short in campaign mode. It was a challenge (and fun) playing with a buddy via co-op, but again, pretty short so be prepared for that. I've hopped in a few online matches, but I can't seem to enjoy the multi like I do on a great twitch HL2 mod like Fortress Forever. Graphics won't completely blow you away (still see A good, fairly bug-free and enjoyable run, but way too short in campaign mode. It was a challenge (and fun) playing with a buddy via co-op, but again, pretty short so be prepared for that. I've hopped in a few online matches, but I can't seem to enjoy the multi like I do on a great twitch HL2 mod like Fortress Forever. Graphics won't completely blow you away (still see "popping " LOD textures and some sub-30 FPS in hectic areas), but they're not as bad as some reviewers would lead you to believe. You can tell multiplayer was the majority of work put into Halo 3 - not story or campaign. It's NOT a 10 or 100, and anyone who says it is has either truly never played a 10 or 10 OR is trying to counter-act all of the 6's out there. If you're a console campaigner / story gamer like me, rent it. Expand
  10. JuanD.
    Sep 28, 2007
    8
    Good game.... nothing jaw droping ....dont belive the hype...it deserve an 8.
  11. PaulM.
    Sep 28, 2007
    9
    After the lacklustre conclusion of Halo 2 I was bitterly disappointed! Sure the online was great but a decent campaign is a must for me! I am glad to see Bungie have bucked up their ideas for the third game. The campaign is excellent. I have heard lots of people moaning that the game is either too short, too repetative and the graphics are poor. Sure if you play the game on normal you After the lacklustre conclusion of Halo 2 I was bitterly disappointed! Sure the online was great but a decent campaign is a must for me! I am glad to see Bungie have bucked up their ideas for the third game. The campaign is excellent. I have heard lots of people moaning that the game is either too short, too repetative and the graphics are poor. Sure if you play the game on normal you will beat it in around 8-10 hours... play it on Legendary and it's a different game entirely. As for revisiting the same areas... do people only bring this up about Halo or am I just imagining things. Bioshock had to be the most repetitive game ever. Same rooms for 90% of the game, same tactics to deal with each individual enemy, same puzzles again and again! But for some reason it's ok for Bioshock to have these flaws but not Halo. Halo 3 rarely visits the same areas at all and if you do it is very fleeting (apart from the ship Cortana is on) And as for the graphics, again people are drawing comparisons between Gears, Bioshock and Halo. Sure Gears and Bioshock look better but that's because there is about a tenth of the action on screen compared to Halo! If you fought two or three enemies at a time in tiny enviroments the graphics would have been amazing but then it wouldn't have been Halo anymore. The people slating this game need to get over themselves and realise that the game was made to be fun and that's exactly what it is! The forge mode and theatre need to be played to be believed... Absolutely fantastic! The possibilities in online multiplayer are now endless and you can record, pause and edit it afterwards to your hearts content. I'm jealous that PC gamers have had these kind of perks for years. Bravo Bungie! Expand
  12. DaveF.
    Sep 28, 2007
    4
    I was a huge halo fan...but 3 is awful. bland and outdated...it feels like an old game, basically a continuation of the first halo which was great for its time, but that was YEARS ago. where is the innovation? what did we wait for? bioshock is many times better than this piece of sh.t. what is wrong with these people who rate it a 10? open your eyes and think for yourselves instead of I was a huge halo fan...but 3 is awful. bland and outdated...it feels like an old game, basically a continuation of the first halo which was great for its time, but that was YEARS ago. where is the innovation? what did we wait for? bioshock is many times better than this piece of sh.t. what is wrong with these people who rate it a 10? open your eyes and think for yourselves instead of believing the marketing hype. yeah i know, i wanted to love this game too but i just can't pretend it's the masterpiece it claims to be. Expand
  13. KasperB.
    Sep 28, 2007
    10
    With halo 3, has bungie made the best game in the series. Not only is this the best halo 3 game but also best xbox 360 game. If you ask me Halo 3 is the best game ever made!!
  14. ShayneV.
    Sep 28, 2007
    3
    This game sucks. Campaign sucks and thats why i played the game. They put to much time into multiplayer then they did the story. In my opinion the halo series is one the most over rated series to ever be put onto a system
  15. FurryFox
    Sep 28, 2007
    7
    As many have said before me its mainly a multiplayer game, if you don
  16. JoshuaD.
    Sep 28, 2007
    7
    I am a very honest person and a unique halo fan. After missing out on Halo 1 and starting the story line at halo 2 I was hooked by the graphics, gameplay, and mulitiplayer formats. Halo 3 was a complete let down after the first hour of gameplay. I found myself asking "This is actually kind of boring". There wasn't any extravigant graphic views or fight scenes as Halo 2 had. I tried I am a very honest person and a unique halo fan. After missing out on Halo 1 and starting the story line at halo 2 I was hooked by the graphics, gameplay, and mulitiplayer formats. Halo 3 was a complete let down after the first hour of gameplay. I found myself asking "This is actually kind of boring". There wasn't any extravigant graphic views or fight scenes as Halo 2 had. I tried not to buy into the hype from all the commercials and advertisments, but I can honorably say that I was scammed by the oldest trick in the book "Rhetorics" Good Job on Bungie and Microsoft for scamming millions upon millions of dollars from us with cheap and useless animation. Expand
  17. BryanM.
    Sep 28, 2007
    7
    It was a little over hyped. I am just pissed you are forced to play as Chief and can not play the Aburder in Campan mode unless you do co op. sorry but you included him in the 2nd why change it now. o and Halo 3 for being the big 360 game does not have that great of graphics. a little better then the beta demo version but barlly. try gears graphics Halo. so in other words HALO one is It was a little over hyped. I am just pissed you are forced to play as Chief and can not play the Aburder in Campan mode unless you do co op. sorry but you included him in the 2nd why change it now. o and Halo 3 for being the big 360 game does not have that great of graphics. a little better then the beta demo version but barlly. try gears graphics Halo. so in other words HALO one is still the best even if you can not play it on Xbox live. Expand
  18. Jason
    Sep 28, 2007
    9
    Any one who thinks this game is too easy needs to play on a real gamers level. This game is a 5 on Normal, but crank it up a couple notches, then Halo shines as always...and please stop comparing it to Bioshock and Gears.....Halo could not be Halo without those epic battles sequences...and bioshock and gears....have none of those.
  19. DaleM.
    Sep 28, 2007
    10
    I can't speak to the campaign...to me, who cares...it is all contirived...like most games. Why a perfect score? Xbox live....I played about 4000 games on Halo2...and loved it. After only about 20 games...it is WAY better...twice the weapons...more even-leveled weapons. Those who complain, are really just whinners...this is the real deal....the best online experience you can imagine.
  20. DD
    Sep 28, 2007
    10
    Graphics are absolutely mindblowing, I don't know why people are complaining about them. The campaign was really good, and it only feels short because it's so fun that you won't want to stop playing. As always the sound is superb too. Everyone else is raving about Forge and Theater so I don't need to tell you how cool they are. This game is worth buying a 360 for, no Graphics are absolutely mindblowing, I don't know why people are complaining about them. The campaign was really good, and it only feels short because it's so fun that you won't want to stop playing. As always the sound is superb too. Everyone else is raving about Forge and Theater so I don't need to tell you how cool they are. This game is worth buying a 360 for, no doubt about it. Expand
  21. Marc.D.
    Sep 28, 2007
    8
    Ahhh...to be a FPS on the 360...not an easy thing when you factor in the competition you're up against. With the phenomenal Bioshock fresh in many gamers minds, Halo 3 finishes the epic battle of Master Chief. For the most part, it does it very well. The gameplay is tight and the action is hectic. It plays very closely to Halo 2...and this is a good thing. However, it feels...lacking Ahhh...to be a FPS on the 360...not an easy thing when you factor in the competition you're up against. With the phenomenal Bioshock fresh in many gamers minds, Halo 3 finishes the epic battle of Master Chief. For the most part, it does it very well. The gameplay is tight and the action is hectic. It plays very closely to Halo 2...and this is a good thing. However, it feels...lacking when compared to its competition. Ultimately, the multiplayer is where the Halo series has always shone. Watch for it to keep the series and the Chief in the minds of gamers for a long time to come after the 25th of September 2007. Expand
  22. KevinS.
    Sep 28, 2007
    10
    Overrated? Unoriginal? Awful, bland, & outdated? Somebody's smoking crack. I'd like to see what kind of game THESE critics would consider a 10. In my opinion, some people just want to hate on anything so well received by the general public. Here, in the Advertising Age, there are plenty of times when something gets so much marketing money behind it that you can't go Overrated? Unoriginal? Awful, bland, & outdated? Somebody's smoking crack. I'd like to see what kind of game THESE critics would consider a 10. In my opinion, some people just want to hate on anything so well received by the general public. Here, in the Advertising Age, there are plenty of times when something gets so much marketing money behind it that you can't go anywhere without hearing about it (SpiderMan 3, for example). And then there are those times, fewer and farther between, when something has so much hype behind it because it is, in fact, a quality product. Halo 3 falls into the latter of the two. In a nutshell, 3 took the best qualities from 1 & 2, gave them a super makeover, added new weapons, vehicles - ones that are enjoyable to use, as always. But it's still classic Halo gameplay - if it ain't broke, don't fix it. As far as plot goes, Halo 3 finishes the series leaving you satisfied in every way, not leaving it too open-ended. You get to do things in 3 that you always wanted to do in the first two, like destroy dropships, or play through the campaign with friends online. The level design threw back to Halo 1, through most of the game, not copying 1, but reminding you of certain key moments. The ending even brings you back to a specific level in 1, which I won't go into, but it's not a boring rehash, it's exciting. The multiplayer side, even though I've just begun to tap into it, has the most updates of all, but once the new button configuration was adapted - which took a little while but was not terribly frustrating - it felt just like Halo should. I blew through the campaign, finishing it in two evenings, and I will be replaying it quite a bit. I love the fact that this game actually has more secrets (the skulls) and tons more to customize. There are very very few companies in this world that near perfection in what they do. Microsoft is NOT one them, but Bungie is - at least right now. People should not be so pigheaded that they can't recognize excellence when they see it. Thanks Bungie, for making, in my opinion, a perfect game. Expand
  23. NateG.
    Sep 28, 2007
    7
    Halo 2 2 is OK. I've never been a campaign guy (I play the games to have fun with friends), so I judge all Halos on the multi-player, and that aspect of the game has not been improved. Yes, they added some new stuff in there but that alone can't carry the game (some of them are pointless too - like with the grenades). But different and better isn't the same. And am I the Halo 2 2 is OK. I've never been a campaign guy (I play the games to have fun with friends), so I judge all Halos on the multi-player, and that aspect of the game has not been improved. Yes, they added some new stuff in there but that alone can't carry the game (some of them are pointless too - like with the grenades). But different and better isn't the same. And am I the only one who misses the hit % stat? You can goof off the whole time and no one will be the wiser as to the 1,000 shots you wasted. All in all you could play or watch a game of Halo 2 and Halo 3 back-to-back and have a hard time knowing you saw 2 different games. I'm one of those who wanted to like it, but it disappoints. I do believe the name gives it 1 or 2 extra points in a lot of reviews. Expand
  24. Morecowbell
    Sep 28, 2007
    10
    Da-da-da-dummmm. da-da-da-da-dummmm. da-da-da-da-da-dummmm. the greatest first person shooter of all time. bungie included anything and everythimg from the first 2 games and the story is amazing with a great ending that will shock and amaze you. i dont even have to tell you how great multiplayer is. the one flaw with this game is some human faces and textures dont look to great, but the Da-da-da-dummmm. da-da-da-da-dummmm. da-da-da-da-da-dummmm. the greatest first person shooter of all time. bungie included anything and everythimg from the first 2 games and the story is amazing with a great ending that will shock and amaze you. i dont even have to tell you how great multiplayer is. the one flaw with this game is some human faces and textures dont look to great, but the graphics all together are amazing. buy it,own it love it. Expand
  25. JasonD.
    Sep 28, 2007
    9
    I can't believe the oversight in many of the negative reviews. Most reviews treat the campaign as the only important part of the game. While it might be the only important element to a subset of the public, the ENTIRE package should be evaluated. And when you do that, you see what makes Halo 2 different from Halo 3. If you fixate on comparing graphics, you will see whatever the hell I can't believe the oversight in many of the negative reviews. Most reviews treat the campaign as the only important part of the game. While it might be the only important element to a subset of the public, the ENTIRE package should be evaluated. And when you do that, you see what makes Halo 2 different from Halo 3. If you fixate on comparing graphics, you will see whatever the hell you want to see... and people do. It's a great litmus test of how realistic your expectations were. But regardless of the hype, Halo 3 is a great game. Hype should have nothing to do with the way you rate the game, but for some odd reason, how a game was hyped is now as important as how a game plays or what it looks like. I'm giving Halo 3 a 9, not because I'm an emo child who has beef with everything that's popular or because I think "Marketing is duh devil." It's a jampacked package and each piece is relevant, polished, and fun. It's Halo 3, the sequel to Halo 2. What the hell were you expecting? If you have a predisposition to hate it, you will hate it, and vice versa. So, don't take my word for it. Odds are you already made up your mind. Expand
  26. ArnieG
    Sep 28, 2007
    7
    Disapointing. The Halo sequels are very comparable in quality to the Matrix sequels....classic innovative original, medicore derivative sequels. And how is it possible for the biggest game of the year to have such sub-par graphics? They look almost identical to the X-Box! Some eye candy would have went a long way.
  27. JonW.
    Sep 28, 2007
    4
    This game is just a jumped up halo 2, its ridiculously boring, the veichles in this game are god awful, the new guns totalyy useless, and its far too repetive, all it is really is duck shoot, and die, perhaps not in that order, in conclusion WASTE OF MONEY. Spend your money on something worthwile, not this, you'll be wanting your money back very quickly, i did in just 2 hours.
  28. DazD.
    Sep 28, 2007
    7
    Nothing new here apart from a few weapons and vehicles. The multiplayer is what it's all about.
  29. StevenM.
    Sep 28, 2007
    1
    Looks pretty good shame it's so basic in it's combat system and so unevolved in it's feel/characters. As a shooter it feels like a kids game.
  30. DavidO.
    Sep 28, 2007
    3
    Fun, but way over rated and unoriginal. Too much hype, not enough new things. Lame single player.
  31. MattP.
    Sep 28, 2007
    9
    OK first off you either love halo or hate it, and to my suprise there are alot more ppl then i expected that hated it, and for the stupidest reasons. I mean ppl complaining that "its too basic" or theres not enough knew thngs, I mean ya theres just 2 new grenades, like 7 new wepons, new vehicles and air craft, and like new different peices of eqiupment, ya thats not enough at all! Also pplOK first off you either love halo or hate it, and to my suprise there are alot more ppl then i expected that hated it, and for the stupidest reasons. I mean ppl complaining that "its too basic" or theres not enough knew thngs, I mean ya theres just 2 new grenades, like 7 new wepons, new vehicles and air craft, and like new different peices of eqiupment, ya thats not enough at all! Also ppl saying that the single player sucks! dude, did u even play attention to the single player! better graphics, improved action and reloading bottons, the many aliens to kill, plenty of wehicle levels, I think the single player is very satisfying. the only thing i dont like is that the single player is just alittle too short, and thats it! multiplayer is just stellar, graphics ust unbelievable, and this game diffintly finishes the fight. Buy this game! dont listen to these ppl who complain to the littlest things, becuase it didnt live up to there standards, those ppl dont even look at the greatest cause there too up in there own head to realize it. Buy the game its worth it Expand
  32. RichE
    Sep 28, 2007
    3
    Way way way overhyped. Single player feels like a kids game. The multiplayer is like a bad version of unreal tournament 2004. The public reviewers must have been paid off on this one. It's really nothing special and many 360 games have or will eclipse it.
  33. Hello
    Sep 28, 2007
    1
    Most overrated game ever perhaps. Rented the game, but only for the multiplayer. Played for a couple hours and came away more than disappointed. The game wasn't just NOT GOOD, but it was terrible. The vehicles don't feel right at all, the movement is incredibly slow, the guns were crappy and generic, the graphics were sub-par, and the menu to actually find multiplayer games was Most overrated game ever perhaps. Rented the game, but only for the multiplayer. Played for a couple hours and came away more than disappointed. The game wasn't just NOT GOOD, but it was terrible. The vehicles don't feel right at all, the movement is incredibly slow, the guns were crappy and generic, the graphics were sub-par, and the menu to actually find multiplayer games was beyond terrible. I played and beat Halo 2 and came away decently satisfied with the game because I played it COOP with my bro but I never played it's multiplayer. Apparently I didn't miss anything if it was basically the same as Halo 3 but with worse graphics. Save your money and buy Team Fortress 2...a much better game in every single way. Haven't stopped playing the beta on the PC since it came out. Expand
  34. PatrickS.
    Sep 28, 2007
    9
    Halo 3 was what I expected, nothing more. That being said, It is still one of the best games for the Xbox 360. However it seems like Bungie could have done something more...
  35. RigelH.
    Sep 28, 2007
    9
    i think that Halo 3 is a really cool game the graphics are awsome but the pnly thing that anoyes me is that it is only xBox 360. But i have one thats why its awsome.
  36. TroyM.
    Sep 28, 2007
    10
    Halo 3 is by far the best game on the 360 to date. The campaign is a blast with four player co-op and the A.I. makes for some very immersive battles, in addition the battles are nearly always on an epic scale. The story however will somewhat confuse new comers although it has a very satisfying ending for the hardcore Halo fans. New features like saved films and forge are great, and will Halo 3 is by far the best game on the 360 to date. The campaign is a blast with four player co-op and the A.I. makes for some very immersive battles, in addition the battles are nearly always on an epic scale. The story however will somewhat confuse new comers although it has a very satisfying ending for the hardcore Halo fans. New features like saved films and forge are great, and will add longevity to the game, not to say the amazing multiplayer by itself does not help, which is by far the best multiplayer experience on a console at this time. The only negative thing about Halo 3 is its graphics. There not bad by any means, but they are hardly in the running for a "best graphics" award. Moreover, Something Expand
  37. GeorgeA.
    Sep 29, 2007
    10
    Forget the PS3 owners scoiring the game a 0, 1 or 3. Halo is a brilliant videogame with no equal. There are many parts of the game that you just stop to look at the environment. There are other parts of the plot that are so epic, you expect the credits to roll only to get seamlessly loaded onto yet another frantic, jawdropping level. Halo 3...There is no equal. Finish the fight.
  38. AwesomeAntonio
    Sep 29, 2007
    9
    Its really just an improved Halo 2. Which is a good thing as thats what Halo 3 should be, this game pretty much has everything and will be the most played game on xbox live for a while, maybe until call of duty 4. Its not a 10 as Bioshock or Gears of War would be a 10 but this still is awesome. However Im yet to try 4 player campaign co-op over live which could put it up to a 10. Im not Its really just an improved Halo 2. Which is a good thing as thats what Halo 3 should be, this game pretty much has everything and will be the most played game on xbox live for a while, maybe until call of duty 4. Its not a 10 as Bioshock or Gears of War would be a 10 but this still is awesome. However Im yet to try 4 player campaign co-op over live which could put it up to a 10. Im not much of a halo fan but I can tell what a good game is, this is the best in the Halo series and one of the best games on the 360. Expand
  39. TomasG.
    Sep 29, 2007
    8
    I played it yesterday at a friend's house and I can't say that I'm impressed. It feels like Halo 2.5 (as some people say) and I can't really come up with a reason why Halo 3 is that superior from Halo 2 (apart from the better (READ: not awesome) graphics. So giving it an 8 feels okay, it's a good game but it's far from perfected imo. It's a remake of the I played it yesterday at a friend's house and I can't say that I'm impressed. It feels like Halo 2.5 (as some people say) and I can't really come up with a reason why Halo 3 is that superior from Halo 2 (apart from the better (READ: not awesome) graphics. So giving it an 8 feels okay, it's a good game but it's far from perfected imo. It's a remake of the previous Halo games and doesn't bring that much new into the playfield. Expand
  40. NickG.
    Sep 29, 2007
    10
    It met the hype and more, Single player was a solid 9 and Xbox live was an untouchable 10 that gears could never achieve.
  41. RyanP.
    Sep 29, 2007
    10
    Hundreds of hours abound when lucky 360 owners pop this gem into their console. Hours of excellent online gameplay, a lengthy and highly replayable single player to boot, and a host of innovative and fin new features, Halo 3 is content laiden, and it's all quality. The graphics are nice, but may be the only disappointment. It's not the best looking 360 game out there, but it Hundreds of hours abound when lucky 360 owners pop this gem into their console. Hours of excellent online gameplay, a lengthy and highly replayable single player to boot, and a host of innovative and fin new features, Halo 3 is content laiden, and it's all quality. The graphics are nice, but may be the only disappointment. It's not the best looking 360 game out there, but it gleams and has some of the best lighting and draw distance ever. Expand
  42. AndrewM.
    Sep 29, 2007
    9
    Anyone that rated this a 1 clearly did not play the game. Whether you like FPS or not you cannot say that the game didnt have great landscapes and decent game play, it stayed true to Halo universe and Halo style play.
  43. ColinB.
    Sep 29, 2007
    9
    The best multiplayer on LIVE and a fun, graphically superior campaign. Forge will keep us playing for years. I spent 2 hours the other day racing 7 other players on 'Sandtrap', without firing a bulet! Immortal.
  44. Cully
    Sep 29, 2007
    10
    There are way too many jaw-dropping moments to give this game anything less than a 10!
  45. thePROPHET
    Sep 29, 2007
    0
    Truly an abysmal effort by Bungie to cash out on this aging, stale franchise, Halo 3 fails on almost every level with lackluster visuals (720 p my butt!), attrocious pacing, boring and rehashed evironments, and constant bug crashing. The online, while solid, is of course ruined by a deluge of toddlers.
  46. Anonymous
    Sep 29, 2007
    0
    Sucked.
  47. MrBeamish
    Sep 29, 2007
    9
    Campaign is a little on the weak side but Halo is all about the online. Live matches are an absolute blast. Bungie have gone the way of user-generated content with all the customised, shareable game modes & Forge to create a game that will be played for years to come. The replay feature really makes you appreciate the beauty and detail in the graphics, despite the criticism banded about Campaign is a little on the weak side but Halo is all about the online. Live matches are an absolute blast. Bungie have gone the way of user-generated content with all the customised, shareable game modes & Forge to create a game that will be played for years to come. The replay feature really makes you appreciate the beauty and detail in the graphics, despite the criticism banded about the looks. Expand
  48. JCS
    Sep 29, 2007
    7
    The single player game felt like they didn't bother with much more than an outline of a story. I have to agree with the comment about warmed over Marathon. The Flood was much more intimidating in 2. Sketchy in many places. Background stills lacked the kind of detail one might want or expect lavished onto them. Normal level was blandly easy.
  49. XavierH.
    Sep 29, 2007
    10
    Polished, refined and most importantly a value. Halo 3 will make you wonder why you have to spend just as much money to play other games with a quarter of the content.
  50. PerryA.
    Sep 29, 2007
    9
    Nothing like a little hype to bring out the haters. Reading some these comments you'd think this game is the worst game in the world. It's not people, it isn't disappointing either- Bungie took what was great about their previous installments and took it to another level. Its great. I think its just a damn shame that people are comparing it to Gears of War and Bioshock- Nothing like a little hype to bring out the haters. Reading some these comments you'd think this game is the worst game in the world. It's not people, it isn't disappointing either- Bungie took what was great about their previous installments and took it to another level. Its great. I think its just a damn shame that people are comparing it to Gears of War and Bioshock- yeah they are great games with great graphics- but Halo doesn't aspire to be these games- Halo aspires to be Halo. And in #3 its the best Halo yet. Expand
  51. PigVomit
    Sep 29, 2007
    3
    Sadly doesn`t live up to the hype. Mediocre single player ,unoriginal and sub standard graphics (was this supposed to be a premium HD title on a next gen console?) Was hoping for more in the multiplayer game again totally underwhelmed .Im sure i was playing this 5 yrs ago ,it was called unreal tournement on the PC which had better graphics / controls / game modes and crucially was more Sadly doesn`t live up to the hype. Mediocre single player ,unoriginal and sub standard graphics (was this supposed to be a premium HD title on a next gen console?) Was hoping for more in the multiplayer game again totally underwhelmed .Im sure i was playing this 5 yrs ago ,it was called unreal tournement on the PC which had better graphics / controls / game modes and crucially was more fun! anyone want to buy my copy (currently around 6hrs old) DISAPPOINTING! Expand
  52. DarrenH.
    Sep 29, 2007
    10
    The value in this game is ridiculous. There's so much to do. Addicitng and fun. The score of zero and one and three are laughable and no one believes you. So get over yourself. There's a reason people love Halo. It doesn't reinvent the wheel but it does everything better and grander. The online is seamless and matchmaking is awesome. The campaign is strong, but with co-op The value in this game is ridiculous. There's so much to do. Addicitng and fun. The score of zero and one and three are laughable and no one believes you. So get over yourself. There's a reason people love Halo. It doesn't reinvent the wheel but it does everything better and grander. The online is seamless and matchmaking is awesome. The campaign is strong, but with co-op it rules. The control is perfect, and let's not forget that Halo is the reason you have all these other dual stick FPS games. Bungie practically invented the control scheme for a whole genre. Everyone else is ripping off them, not vice versa. Expand
  53. MikeS.
    Sep 29, 2007
    6
    Maybe I just don't get it, but I don't see what is so fascinating about this game. It's a standard FPS with mediocre graphics and a luke warm plot. Bioshock beats this by substantially more than one metapoint.
  54. Jm
    Sep 29, 2007
    4
    After playing this thing, I poked at the box to see if Bungie didn't paste a #3 over the 2 in Halo 2. Apart from the mediocre 5 hour campaign and Forge, this thing is Halo 2 with a coat of new paint. Don't try to sell me a 1980 Porche with a fresh coat of paint and tell me it is a brand new 2008 model. Bungie dissapointed me with this poor effort.
  55. SimonP.
    Sep 29, 2007
    9
    Giving a game of this quality anything like a score of 0,1,2,3 etc shows a breathtaking lack of understanding of video games. Leaving aside whether you do or don
  56. SeanN.
    Sep 29, 2007
    10
    Halo 3 is the best Halo yet, but to be honest I was expecting more from the Campaign.
  57. DavidV.
    Sep 29, 2007
    9
    A worth addition to the Halo series. Great graphics, fun campaign , and an awesome multiplayer/live. I thought there would be more new ideas, but it's still an improvement over Halo 2.
  58. CarlosZ.
    Sep 30, 2007
    10
    Amazing, beautiful, its the best game of the years
  59. JoshH.
    Sep 30, 2007
    10
    If you prefer Gears of War over Halo 3, you are either an idiot or a graphics whore. Scratch that. You are an idiot. I wish people who don't actually own a 360 wouldn't go on the internet and spew vomitous from their collective assholes. We all know your parents couldn't "afford" a 360 and you ended up with your PS3 and its "two" somewhat "decent" games or that you spent If you prefer Gears of War over Halo 3, you are either an idiot or a graphics whore. Scratch that. You are an idiot. I wish people who don't actually own a 360 wouldn't go on the internet and spew vomitous from their collective assholes. We all know your parents couldn't "afford" a 360 and you ended up with your PS3 and its "two" somewhat "decent" games or that you spent $2000 on a computer rig and couldn't stand the fact that Halo 3 won't be on the PC for another 3 years or so. But that doesn't mean you have to degrade what is arguably a great series. Halo has pushed the FPS genre in places that it would have NEVER gone unless Bungie weren't behind the development of it. Vehicle hi-jack, great graphics, some of the best music ever heard in an FPS, MGS-like cinematics, fantastic storyline, funny and interesting characters.. I could go on and on about what Halo has done for FPSes, but people are too busy trashing it because it's exclusive to Microsoft's Xbox. Go kill yourselves and rid us of your misinformed opinions, you worthless fuckwhits. No one wants to hear your "my daddy wouldn't let me get a Xbox, hurrrr" or "I spent $2000 on a computer rig only to find out that Vista makes it run like crap." pffft. Morons. Expand
  60. JoeS.
    Sep 30, 2007
    10
    Best. Game. Ever. Seriously, though while the campaign is a little short, the 4 player online co-op, the skulls, and multiplayer easily make up for it.
  61. AitA.
    Sep 30, 2007
    6
    Loved Halo 1, disappointed with Halo 2 and Halo 3 the worst of the lot. You'll finish the fight in 6 to 8 hours if you played before. Legendary level on Halo 1 took days to finish, Halo 3 done in 10 hours. I still play Halo 1 but have had no inclination to play Halo 2 and wont be keeping Halo 3.
  62. MikeM.
    Sep 30, 2007
    6
    Somebodys gotta tell me what is so great about this game. the single player campaign is nowhere near the other great games Xbox 360 has to offer for its FPS action, like Gears of War and BioShock. And, well, the multiplayers good, ok, but why does EVERYONE play it? its not spectacular, and with maps that look half assed and no real joy in many of the weapons, its pretty much overrated.
  63. TimS.
    Sep 30, 2007
    8
    It's a decent game. Not more, not less. Just a decent game. Every part is decent and it offers some nice moments in the campaing. Too short as most new xbox360 games. It's a good game, but offers no memorable events or elements. If you liked the previous ones you'll like this, but if you didn't, steer clear of this one too. Oh... and please don't compare Halo3 It's a decent game. Not more, not less. Just a decent game. Every part is decent and it offers some nice moments in the campaing. Too short as most new xbox360 games. It's a good game, but offers no memorable events or elements. If you liked the previous ones you'll like this, but if you didn't, steer clear of this one too. Oh... and please don't compare Halo3 with GoW as GoW is indeed a third person shooter... mostly, not FPS. No matter what anyone says, it's in the point of view, not in the action style. Get your facts right before you judge. Expand
  64. CarlosM.
    Sep 30, 2007
    10
    I must be a very impressionable guy, considering, unlike the vast majority of other reviews, I thought Halo 3 was frickin' awesome! I do admit, however, that I haven't played any other games like it, so that's probably the reason I think it's so good, aside from the fact that I've also been a fan of the books even before the games came out. All in all, I think I must be a very impressionable guy, considering, unlike the vast majority of other reviews, I thought Halo 3 was frickin' awesome! I do admit, however, that I haven't played any other games like it, so that's probably the reason I think it's so good, aside from the fact that I've also been a fan of the books even before the games came out. All in all, I think Halo 3 is a perfect ending to the trilogy; it can't get any better than this. If you've been following the story since the beginning, you should definitely get this game! Expand
  65. RichardH.
    Sep 30, 2007
    8
    The best of the Halo series by a long way, thanks to brilliant multi player design and THE FORGE. Single player is epic and plain great in places but really hasn't changed since the original. Only one gun is really needed, and old schema's die hard when it comes to taking it to battle. Curse the battle rifle and bless the four player co-op: arguably the bestest, bestest thing The best of the Halo series by a long way, thanks to brilliant multi player design and THE FORGE. Single player is epic and plain great in places but really hasn't changed since the original. Only one gun is really needed, and old schema's die hard when it comes to taking it to battle. Curse the battle rifle and bless the four player co-op: arguably the bestest, bestest thing you can do with friends. Out of anything. Expand
  66. JeddG.
    Sep 30, 2007
    9
    Halo 3 is a multiplayer game. While I was interested in the story's conclusion from beginning to end, it was mostly predictable and the campaign felt cut short. Some of the feel of Halo 1 was brought back, which is very high praise coming from a huge fan of the original. The multiplayer is essentially the same as Halo 2 with improved graphics, more balanced and upgraded weapons, and Halo 3 is a multiplayer game. While I was interested in the story's conclusion from beginning to end, it was mostly predictable and the campaign felt cut short. Some of the feel of Halo 1 was brought back, which is very high praise coming from a huge fan of the original. The multiplayer is essentially the same as Halo 2 with improved graphics, more balanced and upgraded weapons, and a few new toys to play with. That's both good and bad since the original games worked very well, and changing the system could be very detrimental. If you liked playing online in Halo 2, the series' 3rd installment is a good buy. Expand
  67. MatthewWilliams
    Sep 30, 2007
    9
    All the Halo games have been very succsessful but Halo3 is the best game of 2007 with great one player gameplay, but the best part is xbox live is the best part. I am only dissapointed how nothing is very new.
  68. DR
    Sep 30, 2007
    10
    I don't care what people said about hype and graphics and all that... Halo 3 is a masterpiece, regardless of "how short the campaign is"... they took all of the good stuff from Halo CE, made it better, and put it in the game. Plus, all the stuff that made Halo 2 fun (not much, personally) and put that in too. They even added more than that to the game, which makes it even better. I don't care what people said about hype and graphics and all that... Halo 3 is a masterpiece, regardless of "how short the campaign is"... they took all of the good stuff from Halo CE, made it better, and put it in the game. Plus, all the stuff that made Halo 2 fun (not much, personally) and put that in too. They even added more than that to the game, which makes it even better. Seriously, this is a GREAT game. easily 10/10 in all regards. Expand
  69. AlexW.
    Sep 30, 2007
    5
    A repetitive, tedious, and overall cookie cutter game in respects to Halo 2. This bore-fest is just like the other two, but with HDR lighting. The graphics arent even really better than Halo 2. One of the major problems in this game is that it can be beaten in less than 3 hours. That is not a game worthy of a 9.5. This game shouldn't have even been reviewed, as it is just Halo 2 with A repetitive, tedious, and overall cookie cutter game in respects to Halo 2. This bore-fest is just like the other two, but with HDR lighting. The graphics arent even really better than Halo 2. One of the major problems in this game is that it can be beaten in less than 3 hours. That is not a game worthy of a 9.5. This game shouldn't have even been reviewed, as it is just Halo 2 with some added gimmicks. What's funny is that Halo 2 wasn;t even that good anyway. Bungie, good job at causing major hpye during the coming days of this game's release, but I just can't give you much credit on what you guys are meant for: a good game. Looks like Bungie is better off at thecircus than behind a programmer's desk. Expand
  70. CodyN.
    Sep 30, 2007
    10
    halo 3 is one of the greatest games ever. I can't imagine anyone not liking this game. Its the best of the Halo trilogy and its definitely going to have me playing for many many many months.
  71. RavenX301
    Sep 30, 2007
    9
    I dont understand all these dumb a$$'s saying how terrible it is. It is clear that they are ethier PS 3 Fanboys or just morons. this is an amazing game. The campian is extremly fun, althought really, really short, and the miultiplayer is a the best in any FPS game. What else is there? Of course not every one is needed to like Halo, I understand that, but why go on these borads and I dont understand all these dumb a$$'s saying how terrible it is. It is clear that they are ethier PS 3 Fanboys or just morons. this is an amazing game. The campian is extremly fun, althought really, really short, and the miultiplayer is a the best in any FPS game. What else is there? Of course not every one is needed to like Halo, I understand that, but why go on these borads and bad mouth it for no reason. clearly you hav;nt an idea what your talking about. Is this game better the Halo 1? Yes...a million times better, but is the experince better than halo 1? No.....there is no way that a thrid installation of any kind of game that features the same style of play is going to out do its own first imperrsion. If this came out at the same time Halo 1 came out (some how) everyone wold think that this one would be amazing and the fisrt one is nothing. Its all becasue poeple seem to expect impossible things from sequels.....If Bungie went off and put in all this cray stuff like covering systems and RPG elements, then it wouldnt be Halo and everyone would complain about that! get over it you PS fan boys.......Expect the fact that this generation is 360's and not the Playstation..I do own one by the way. Expand
  72. MatthewR.
    Sep 30, 2007
    9
    Its amazing how Bungie manages to wow us. The single player is easy but the co-op was really fun with up to 4 players. the graphics were good but not if you dont have a hd screen . the point of the game isnt its campaign. the point is to get online n play. it doesnt matter if the campaign was boring you should b playing online not on campaign every1 who has played online knows that. i Its amazing how Bungie manages to wow us. The single player is easy but the co-op was really fun with up to 4 players. the graphics were good but not if you dont have a hd screen . the point of the game isnt its campaign. the point is to get online n play. it doesnt matter if the campaign was boring you should b playing online not on campaign every1 who has played online knows that. i think it was worth getting a 360 over and playing with others online. ithink if u play online you will like it if you dont well ur going 2 not like it. Expand
  73. AndyM.
    Sep 30, 2007
    7
    All Halo 3 does is improve the graphics of Halo 2, add more weapons, and absolutely nothing else. Still pretty damn good though.
  74. CallumM.
    Sep 30, 2007
    10
    You can tell who the PS3 owners on here are. They act as if they bought the game and took it back after two hours because it was so bad. (Im talking about you John W) It's clear you didnt even play it, because your completely wrong in your description. This is the best console game ever made. PS To Daniel, did you even play gears of war? its not a flipping first person shooter u sony fanboy.
  75. AAACE5
    Sep 30, 2007
    9
    I don't get it! Everyone says this game was over hyped... I guess I must have missed that while I was out partying and having a life! Halo 3 wasn't mean't to reinvent the FPS genre. It was meant to finish the story, and give players a good game to add to their collection...THAT'S All! The Halo franchise was getting old, and it was time to make room for it's new I don't get it! Everyone says this game was over hyped... I guess I must have missed that while I was out partying and having a life! Halo 3 wasn't mean't to reinvent the FPS genre. It was meant to finish the story, and give players a good game to add to their collection...THAT'S All! The Halo franchise was getting old, and it was time to make room for it's new successors(Gears of War, Mass Effect, Bioshock, etc.) who will be MS new flagship franchises. The game is acceptable as is. and provides exactly what it is suppose to provide...FUN! They didn't make Halo 3 for you to run to the sony fanboys yelling my game is better than yours. They wanted to finish the Halo story in the best way possible, by not drastically changing the formula that made the franchise popular in the first place. MS and Bungie didn't hype this game up... The media hyped it up! Which is why I am not disappointed in H3, because I didn't think it was going to be the end all for FPS... I just thought it was going to finish the story. And that it did! The only thing I wish they would have had a setup like R6: Vegas for multiplayer. So I could choose which game I wanted to go into. But the match maker works cause I haven't played one match yet and have to worry about the game locking up. So it's cool! Expand
  76. TravisM.
    Sep 30, 2007
    7
    I'm very disappointed that an almost perfect multiplayer from Halo 1 evolved into a catastrophic mess that Halo 2 and Halo 3 have become. Granted Halo 3 looks to correct some of the mistakes from Halo 2, but still fails in so many ways. Radar in any multiplayer game will only promote people to camp. It's almost as if the game developers couldn't stand being killed so fast I'm very disappointed that an almost perfect multiplayer from Halo 1 evolved into a catastrophic mess that Halo 2 and Halo 3 have become. Granted Halo 3 looks to correct some of the mistakes from Halo 2, but still fails in so many ways. Radar in any multiplayer game will only promote people to camp. It's almost as if the game developers couldn't stand being killed so fast by the pistol in Halo 1 so they decided to make it pointless to use in 2 or 3. I'm still holding out hope that MLG will make a custom gametype via Forge without radar and use about 75% shields. Since you now start with the assault rifle 80% of the battles you face are two people running at one another with assault rifles firing and the one who lands the melee the victor. Unless of course you have someone in the distance using a Battle Rifle or Sniper to pick off the repeatative action. You also are unable to hold up a defensive position by throwing a grenade off the wall to keep the opponent from charging right at you, because the frag grenades don't even blow the opponent back or do more than 35% damage. I've had it happen on countless occassions when I just get a double kill, but that third player comes charging right after you. You throw a grenade right at their feet and scurry around the corner to reload and let your shields recharge for a fair fight. As soon as you get around the corner you throw another grenade just in case he's continuing the pursuit. And wouldn't you know it... That person just keeps running and shooting without any worry that the 2 grenades will kill him. Heck in Halo 1 if you were hit with a grenade at point blank range, you were almost dead and it would blow you 5-10 meters away. Giving the opponent the advantage now because of a well placed grenade. I myself was a huge advocate and fan of the Halo series and would travel halfway across the country to play AGP and MLG tournaments for Halo 1. But the skill level here for Halo 3 is similar to Halo 2, and since the grenades barely deter anyone from charging right at you... It's basically a better version of Halo 2. Better graphics, but almost the same game play. So if you loved Halo 2, you'll love Halo 3. If you're like me and loved Halo 1, then you'll become quickly annoyed with the radar and people camping around corners with the sword (or now hammer). And although the idea seemed interesting, all the 'X' button items need to be removed too. Again I can't fault Bungie because they've appealed to the common FPS player who's just looking hop online and kill some friends. But for those hardcore gamers where you just have to be the best of the best, I'd say wait for COD 4 or perhaps Team Fortress 2 from the upcoming Half-Life 2 Orange Box. Expand
  77. ShabbyR.
    Sep 30, 2007
    5
    Kind of disappointing in terms of gameplay, story and graphics, especially considering that this is a first-party 360 effort. Halo 3 isn't even marginally better than Halo 2, and both sequels are mediocre at best compared to the original (which, let's be honest, wasn't even that great to begin with). Seriously, they should have just released the multiplayer component for Kind of disappointing in terms of gameplay, story and graphics, especially considering that this is a first-party 360 effort. Halo 3 isn't even marginally better than Halo 2, and both sequels are mediocre at best compared to the original (which, let's be honest, wasn't even that great to begin with). Seriously, they should have just released the multiplayer component for half price, because that's the only thing that anyone's even remotely interested in. Expand
  78. RileyS.
    Sep 30, 2007
    8
    There is tons of new stuff in Halo 3. Nothing truly revolutionary, but the only thing they could of done is made story better. Which they didn't. For those who thought they would get a rethought of halo just don't undertstand how the market works. The graphics are good (if you have an HDTV). Halo3 is what is expected of a Halo sequel. A more refined game with more options. There is tons of new stuff in Halo 3. Nothing truly revolutionary, but the only thing they could of done is made story better. Which they didn't. For those who thought they would get a rethought of halo just don't undertstand how the market works. The graphics are good (if you have an HDTV). Halo3 is what is expected of a Halo sequel. A more refined game with more options. Although I found parts of the game underwhelming, such as campaign and human character models. Expand
  79. Andyman
    Sep 30, 2007
    6
    It made my day when I noticed that BioShock reclaimed the top Metascore spot from Halo 3, as the former is a far superior game. In a word, Halo 3 is... meh. Its co-op Campaign mode is its only saving grace, as its online competitive play is so stuffed full of potty-mouthed idiots as to be completely devoid of any enjoyment whatsoever. Then again, I should be GLAD of this.. it keeps these It made my day when I noticed that BioShock reclaimed the top Metascore spot from Halo 3, as the former is a far superior game. In a word, Halo 3 is... meh. Its co-op Campaign mode is its only saving grace, as its online competitive play is so stuffed full of potty-mouthed idiots as to be completely devoid of any enjoyment whatsoever. Then again, I should be GLAD of this.. it keeps these cretins from ruining the games I enjoy playing online. Thanks for the daycare service, Bungie! Expand
  80. ChrisL.
    Oct 1, 2007
    6
    Unimaginatively dull. Graphics are pretty awful (for a 360 game) and seems more like a Halo 2 upgrade with hi-def polygons. Single player seems so rushed and so short. Sure multiplayer is frantic but it isn't exactly unique and brought nothing new to the genre that hasn't been done years ago by Id or Epic. Quite frankly if this was a no-name FPS title no one would be dishing out Unimaginatively dull. Graphics are pretty awful (for a 360 game) and seems more like a Halo 2 upgrade with hi-def polygons. Single player seems so rushed and so short. Sure multiplayer is frantic but it isn't exactly unique and brought nothing new to the genre that hasn't been done years ago by Id or Epic. Quite frankly if this was a no-name FPS title no one would be dishing out '10's to it. Expand
  81. SamB.
    Oct 1, 2007
    8
    I'm not one of the Halo fan fraternity, but I did buy Halo 3 with some high hopes... and I wasn't disappointed. The game has a great interface, the controls are fairly intuitive (as long as you have prior FPS experience) although my mates get the controls mixed up with another game or previous version and I hear them swear online when they accidentally swap a decent weapon for a I'm not one of the Halo fan fraternity, but I did buy Halo 3 with some high hopes... and I wasn't disappointed. The game has a great interface, the controls are fairly intuitive (as long as you have prior FPS experience) although my mates get the controls mixed up with another game or previous version and I hear them swear online when they accidentally swap a decent weapon for a rubbish one while trying to reload. The single player game is like most FPS single player games, fun for the most part but a little repetitive. The multiplayer is what this game was made for and don't forget it. Multiplayer co-op on Halo 3 is about as good as it gets, in my humble opinion. The game's a bit short though, I have to admit and for that reason it doesn't get a 9 or 10. Expand
  82. GaryS.
    Oct 1, 2007
    7
    One word can describe Halo 3 "average" !!!!!
  83. Ian
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    I hated Halo 2. I didn't know Halo 1. I don't much like the single player for Halo 3, but I ADORE the multiplayer on it, which is a relief because I took a gamble after my Halo 2-hating. Why did I hate Halo 2? The community mostly. I'd never come across so much teenage angst and offensive trash talking. Out and out racism, bigotry, arrogance...ugh ugh ugh. But I gave Halo 3 I hated Halo 2. I didn't know Halo 1. I don't much like the single player for Halo 3, but I ADORE the multiplayer on it, which is a relief because I took a gamble after my Halo 2-hating. Why did I hate Halo 2? The community mostly. I'd never come across so much teenage angst and offensive trash talking. Out and out racism, bigotry, arrogance...ugh ugh ugh. But I gave Halo 3 a good outing this weekend, and I haven't had such a good, solid, FUN session online for a loooong time. GREAT community, beautifully balanced gameplay, terrific level and game style design everywhere - I can't recommend it enough. Really. If you like online shooters and don't dislike a sci-fi theme with lasers and the like thrown in with the machine guns, this is the best value for cash you'll find anywhere. Expand
  84. AndrewU.
    Oct 1, 2007
    9
    Halo 3 delivered what it promised in almost every single way. My only problem with it is how short the single player campaign was. Everyone seems to complain about the graphics, but personally I think they're better than Gears of War. Now before you jump all over me, hear me out. I think they're better because H3 has some actual color and variety behind it. Gears of war looked Halo 3 delivered what it promised in almost every single way. My only problem with it is how short the single player campaign was. Everyone seems to complain about the graphics, but personally I think they're better than Gears of War. Now before you jump all over me, hear me out. I think they're better because H3 has some actual color and variety behind it. Gears of war looked more photo realistic, but everything in the game was black and grey, which became really boring. Little details like you feet sinking slightly into sand or snow, leaving footprints just add to the experience. As for the gameplay, with the focus taken back more to the original formula of guns, melee bashing and grenades, it feels alot more like Halo. The exhisting guns have all been tweaked and the new ones like the gravity hammer is a blast, literally sending enemies flying in all directions. The controls work exactly as they should, esp. in the middle of a heated firefight. I rarely felt like I died because the controls didn't work as they should, like the clunky controls in Gears. The vehicles work exactly as they should and nothing is funnier than running down ghosts in a brute chopper. Multiplayer is frantic and alot of fun, and the new equipment spice things up a bit. Radar jammers, trip mines, the bubble shield, deployable cover, power drainers, ect, ect, all add another level of tatics. The forge and theater are both alot of fun. I was playing a game on forge, and being able to help my team out by dropping a much needed weapon or vehicle was a godsend. I know that sounds cheap, but keep in mind, the other team can do the same. The theater is fun, but I've mainly used it to show my friends exactly how I shot them in the head, or how to take a look at how I was killed, so i can learn from my mistakes. All around a great game and alot of fun. Expand
  85. SteveM.
    Oct 1, 2007
    9
    Halo 3 is really fun. That's all I'm going to say. It's a good deal, a slick package, and a wonderful game. Just because there is hype doesn't mean you have to buy into it. Honestly, most bad reviews of good games just reveal how the individual performing the review is not a very happy person, and probably complains about everything they can. I'm tired of gamers Halo 3 is really fun. That's all I'm going to say. It's a good deal, a slick package, and a wonderful game. Just because there is hype doesn't mean you have to buy into it. Honestly, most bad reviews of good games just reveal how the individual performing the review is not a very happy person, and probably complains about everything they can. I'm tired of gamers wanting games to be the way they specifically want them. If that's how you feel, go make games...stop buying them and hating the world when all you really hate is yourself. Expand
  86. DavidG.
    Oct 1, 2007
    9
    For all the content contained in this title, I'd say it was well worth my 60 bucks. Yeah, it lacked the engrossing story seen in other games like Bioshock, but what it lacks in narrative it makes up for in sheer, unadulterated fun. Even though I'm currently playing this title on a SD TV, it, in my opinion, still looks incredible (especially when reviewing my conquests in the For all the content contained in this title, I'd say it was well worth my 60 bucks. Yeah, it lacked the engrossing story seen in other games like Bioshock, but what it lacks in narrative it makes up for in sheer, unadulterated fun. Even though I'm currently playing this title on a SD TV, it, in my opinion, still looks incredible (especially when reviewing my conquests in the Theater mode). So don't waste your time reading reviews by gamers who haven't actually played the game, and try it out for yourself. Expand
  87. DavidK.
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    The multiplayer is indeed frighteningly extensive, and the single player campaign - although something of a breeze if you tackle it with a team of four - ultimately satisfying. We enjoyed the hell out of ourselves.
  88. NJ
    Oct 1, 2007
    3
    Not even HD. Moore and Gates were claiming just two E3s ago Halo would be the best game graphically on any system and were showing supposed "in-game" footage. Now the game is out and it's nowhere close to the footage they showed, infact the game isn't even HD. It's only 640p resolution, upscaled to 1080p. Very disappointed.
  89. D.Smith
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    I didn't have high hopes for this game, as I was disappointed greatly by Halo 2, but it manages to surpass my expectations. The changes to dual wielding are great, as are the new weapons, multiplayer is far more balanced, and it has the most robust, yet intuitive multiplayer components of any game I've ever played.
  90. SamJ.
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    Hey Jon W... anyone can finish halo 3 on easy in 2 hours. how bout we sprout some balls and play it on legendary?? might take u a bit longer. have a nice day. sweet game btw
  91. JamesA.
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    Single player is a blast, even better with 4 person co-op, weapons are more balanced, kewl custom multiplayer characters, just enough great new things to keep life in the Halo series.
  92. UNreal
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    Besides Bioshock, this is the best game out right now. all the haters out there writing about how crappy the game is, they really don't know anything. It's a huge innovation over the last and yes, the conclusion isn't what it should've been but if you stay and watch after the end credits are over, you'll feel absolutely glad you bought the game. jerks...
  93. EricT.
    Oct 1, 2007
    8
    The game is great, if flawed. It's graphically disappointing, and not just because of high expectations. It looks like Bungie was overly ambitious, and in order to achieve playable framerates had to scale up the LOD reduction until anything 10 feet away from the player is a jaggy mess with overly blurred textures. Many objects look fantastic if you stick your nose on them, but when The game is great, if flawed. It's graphically disappointing, and not just because of high expectations. It looks like Bungie was overly ambitious, and in order to achieve playable framerates had to scale up the LOD reduction until anything 10 feet away from the player is a jaggy mess with overly blurred textures. Many objects look fantastic if you stick your nose on them, but when you back away a few paces they turn into shimmery piles of crap. It's especially obvious when you get into Covenant structures and find that their familiar architecture looked better on the Xbox 1 because of Halo 3's aliasing and texture filtering problems. It's tragic, too, because the art direction is fantastic. The game would look amazing if it was presented without all the artifacts. That aside, if you're a Halo fan, this is classic stuff. The weapons feel great, the vehicles are fun to drive, fire fights are a blast, etc. The sound design is fantastic (try firing the assault rifle into nearby water, it sounds awesome) and the music is the best of the series. I enjoyed the story more than I did in Halo 1 or 2, though the writing is often cheesy, and some stuff that is played for emotional impact falls flat (like the Deep Thoughts by Cortana that keep popping up on your HUD). Multiplayer kicks ass, and Bungie has obviously invested a LOT of time and effort here. The matchmaking system is super slick, and the amount of options you have for creating your own game types is amazing for a console game (though, unless they ship a real level editor, it's going to be trumped by Unreal when it allows users to upload their own maps). Probably the biggest addition, which is technically amazing, is the addition of the Theater. Every game you play is recorded to disk and can be played back, frame by frame. It's too sweet being able to go back and relive your greatest multiplayer moments, or see what the winning team did, not to mention what all the machinima guys like Red vs Blue are going to do with this. Overall a great game. I wish they had presented the game with less artifacts (even if it required simplifying the graphics), but I still enjoyed the ride. Expand
  94. MikeD.
    Oct 2, 2007
    9
    Most of the whiners on here DON'T have an HDTV. What else would compel them to think the graphics "suck." Give me a break. Halo 3 is a real work of art. Bravo!!
  95. JamesD.
    Oct 2, 2007
    9
    ///// This review is put into two parts -- 1 for the single player -- 1 for the multiplayer -- I give the single player 8/10 -- I give the Multiplayer 9/10 -- For an overall 9/10 with a very strong must play recommendation from me ///// Halo 3, despite having the signature Bungie polish, feels rushed in some areas. Many levels in the campaign feel tiredly familiar, where instead, ///// This review is put into two parts -- 1 for the single player -- 1 for the multiplayer -- I give the single player 8/10 -- I give the Multiplayer 9/10 -- For an overall 9/10 with a very strong must play recommendation from me ///// Halo 3, despite having the signature Bungie polish, feels rushed in some areas. Many levels in the campaign feel tiredly familiar, where instead, they're meant to feel nostalgic to Halo 1. Some moments are memorable and provided me with the *wow* factor only a title like Halo 3 could bring, while others made me feel empty, seeming like I was not playing an evolution to an OK series (Halo 1 = good, Halo 2 = bad), but merely a lesser tribute to the first game (making it the entire experience feel average). For every great joust in the campaign there seems to be an empty feeling accompanying it. The story and its pacing are not nearly on par with the original Halo, of which the series owes much of its Expand
  96. AngusH.
    Oct 2, 2007
    9
    I disagree with anyone who says this game is boring, they obviously haven't got Xbox live. While it is true the single-player could be longer this does not detract from the experience and co-op and the meta-game adds replay value. The 'poor' graphics are also neglectible, as really, what good are graphics? Ive played plenty of games with what you would call miserable I disagree with anyone who says this game is boring, they obviously haven't got Xbox live. While it is true the single-player could be longer this does not detract from the experience and co-op and the meta-game adds replay value. The 'poor' graphics are also neglectible, as really, what good are graphics? Ive played plenty of games with what you would call miserable graphics and loved them. Finally the multiplayer really asserts dominance over any toehr on live through the massive possibilities. Overall, despite minor hiccups, a very good title. Expand
  97. AdamJ.
    Oct 2, 2007
    5
    Halo 3 will still have you running backwards and forwards through levels which gets pretty tedious. Indoor environments feel very samey. The single player campaign is uninspired. The game is pretty easy, even on Legendary. There are some AI bugs (enemies are sometimes completely oblivious to you presence allowing you to run straight through a level). The variety of the multiplayer facet Halo 3 will still have you running backwards and forwards through levels which gets pretty tedious. Indoor environments feel very samey. The single player campaign is uninspired. The game is pretty easy, even on Legendary. There are some AI bugs (enemies are sometimes completely oblivious to you presence allowing you to run straight through a level). The variety of the multiplayer facet is all that extends the play time of this game. In summary: a buffed up halo 2 or a highly polished halo 1. Expand
  98. AsadM.
    Oct 2, 2007
    10
    Game is amazingly polished, the graphics take time to show you their true beauty, maby not as in your face as GOW but great nonetheless. Having played all the Halo games I was very happy with the ending (remeber half is before the credits and half after). The mutiplayer co op with added campaign scoring is a blast, and as for it being too short, it seemed just as long as the other games. Game is amazingly polished, the graphics take time to show you their true beauty, maby not as in your face as GOW but great nonetheless. Having played all the Halo games I was very happy with the ending (remeber half is before the credits and half after). The mutiplayer co op with added campaign scoring is a blast, and as for it being too short, it seemed just as long as the other games. Play on legendary if its too easy! This game will be played for a long long time! Expand
  99. AaronA.
    Oct 2, 2007
    10
    Halo 3 is way to good for humanity. It's awesome campaign really made me feel good about myself. The A.I are extremely intelligent. Way more advanced then any other FPS, except Bioshocks. I think this came takes the (Pie.) Way to go Bungie.
  100. JulianS.
    Oct 2, 2007
    6
    The single player is absolutely horrible. It has a very flawed checkpoint system and gets far too frustrating. Gears of War never had me playing through the same stupid parts, even on Insane. Halo has me redoing some moments over and over again just on heroic. Bungie basically gave us a multiplayer game that finished a story that nobody cares about anymore.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 86
  2. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. It's the addition of the Forge level editor and the saved films that give the game an even longer set of legs, legs that will probably keep you running at full speed until Bungie figures out where, exactly, to go from here.
  2. Halo 3 is the best Xbox 360 game to date. The single-player campaign and storyline are both very strong, but it's Forge and the Saved Films features that will likely go down in history as Bungie's crowning achievements. They've basically taken everything great about the series and improved upon it in every way, then added some amazing new features that we'll be using for years to come.
  3. 100
    It's solid gameplay, immense replayability, online functionality and incredible production values will ensure its place in video game history, and it is, without a doubt, a satisfying and fulfilling close to the beloved trilogy[?].