Halo 3 Xbox 360

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4167 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KentL.
    Oct 2, 2007
    7
    Halo 2.5 is very cool! Slight but pleasant improvement in graphics and sound. I'm grateful the gameplay is consistent with Halo 2.0 and it picks up right where the story left off. Not quite enough to take me away from Bioshock for too long but good enough until the next GTA comes out!
  2. ChrisL.
    Oct 1, 2007
    6
    Unimaginatively dull. Graphics are pretty awful (for a 360 game) and seems more like a Halo 2 upgrade with hi-def polygons. Single player seems so rushed and so short. Sure multiplayer is frantic but it isn't exactly unique and brought nothing new to the genre that hasn't been done years ago by Id or Epic. Quite frankly if this was a no-name FPS title no one would be dishing out Unimaginatively dull. Graphics are pretty awful (for a 360 game) and seems more like a Halo 2 upgrade with hi-def polygons. Single player seems so rushed and so short. Sure multiplayer is frantic but it isn't exactly unique and brought nothing new to the genre that hasn't been done years ago by Id or Epic. Quite frankly if this was a no-name FPS title no one would be dishing out '10's to it. Expand
  3. Gorillablackkillatail
    Jun 9, 2008
    5
    Halo 2 was a great game!! I enjoyed it very much, thanks to bungie. Now that have played halo 3 i realized that the makes of all the halos, halo, halo2, and now.... halo 3. I am quite shocked that the makers of all the halos decided to make a game for online. the maps are clearly over sized and are very good online. besides the maps, i thought that halo 3 would of had more than 2 people Halo 2 was a great game!! I enjoyed it very much, thanks to bungie. Now that have played halo 3 i realized that the makes of all the halos, halo, halo2, and now.... halo 3. I am quite shocked that the makers of all the halos decided to make a game for online. the maps are clearly over sized and are very good online. besides the maps, i thought that halo 3 would of had more than 2 people for campaign. Instead, i found out that only online you are able to play halo 3 campaign with more than 2 people. Expand
  4. SteveS.
    Oct 20, 2007
    7
    Played and completed in a day. Game play is the same as Halo 2. Encamped troops and not the mass of Flood that fall out of every vent and corridor as in Halo1. Very little close quarter combat. Graphics are ok nothing special. The video clips are very poor quality. Seen better in game graphics. Its seems that the more time Bungie spend on its look the less time they spend on the game Played and completed in a day. Game play is the same as Halo 2. Encamped troops and not the mass of Flood that fall out of every vent and corridor as in Halo1. Very little close quarter combat. Graphics are ok nothing special. The video clips are very poor quality. Seen better in game graphics. Its seems that the more time Bungie spend on its look the less time they spend on the game play. Halo 1 is the best Halo. Expand
  5. RobinJ.
    Oct 5, 2007
    7
    I am shocked by the high reviews. I worries me that so many critics can't seem to justify their scores. The game is good; no doubt about that. Halo 3 was meant to be a defining FPS though, and on this count, it fails. Not enough has changed over Halo 2 in 3 years of development.
  6. Craig
    Oct 5, 2007
    6
    The graphics are pretty good and the story is nice, but the single player campaign is way too short. It took me just under 5 hours to beat it. Does have some replayability factor though, but it wasn't worth the hype.
  7. StevenD.
    Oct 7, 2007
    6
    Okay graphics, not as good as some FPS. Scripted campaign. You can't go everywhere like in some games. I felt like I was being led along. Same old Halo game play. Been there done that. Mediocre.
  8. WesFletcher
    Sep 24, 2007
    7
    Its halo. same thing different color. its the same game its been since the first just add a few new gadgets and purty it up a pinch. No drastic changes. OOOoo there's a level editor and video mode. Wow you got me sold. How bout I throw in a cookie with it too that makes it an entire point better right? It works for what it is but its still the same halo just the end of it. that doesIts halo. same thing different color. its the same game its been since the first just add a few new gadgets and purty it up a pinch. No drastic changes. OOOoo there's a level editor and video mode. Wow you got me sold. How bout I throw in a cookie with it too that makes it an entire point better right? It works for what it is but its still the same halo just the end of it. that does NOT make it a 10 out of 10. It's halo, yes its WAY overhyped but it is a good game. That's it. IT by no means is perfect. Wait for the true reviews of people who aren't jerkin it to halo. Good bye master chief. Those in reality will turn you down. Expand
  9. JonMatrix
    Sep 24, 2007
    5
    I was really looking forward to a game that would break the norm. But all it is really is a Halo 2.5. It looks very similar to Halo 2 and plays very similar to it as well. The polygons are present on he heads of every model of the game, and it really shows a lack of polish.
  10. RanderN.
    Sep 25, 2007
    7
    Halo 3 is a very good game that totally fails to live up to the massive hype and marketing drive that preceded it. It has a short single player campaign, the same old floaty low gravity feeling the previous versions had (even while on earth) that just can't stand next to today's moder physics models in gaming, and somewhat repetitive gameplay that will have you shooting endless Halo 3 is a very good game that totally fails to live up to the massive hype and marketing drive that preceded it. It has a short single player campaign, the same old floaty low gravity feeling the previous versions had (even while on earth) that just can't stand next to today's moder physics models in gaming, and somewhat repetitive gameplay that will have you shooting endless waves of mostly the same 2 types of enemies and running back and forward inside the same level, reminiscent of the key hunting of the FPS titles of old (as in Wolfestein old). A good game, not a great one. Expand
  11. ChaseB.
    Sep 26, 2007
    6
    Its halo 2.5, graphicaly it looks almost identical to Halo 2 and the single player is just as bad (though amazingly possibly shorter) than it was in the seccond one...deffinatly not near halo 1 levels. Bottom line is everyone who is still playing halo 2 will buy it (I did) and so what do the reviews matter. Most disappointing part is deffinatly the graphics (decent on SD TV awefull on Its halo 2.5, graphicaly it looks almost identical to Halo 2 and the single player is just as bad (though amazingly possibly shorter) than it was in the seccond one...deffinatly not near halo 1 levels. Bottom line is everyone who is still playing halo 2 will buy it (I did) and so what do the reviews matter. Most disappointing part is deffinatly the graphics (decent on SD TV awefull on HDTV), the undeveloped singleplayer and the overly balanced multiplayer (everything is so gimped you hafto look beyond shooting first and in the head to get an advantage...so its just boring even once you master it. Same game, its up to you if its worth it to buy...owning a 360 I don't regret it too much (though prolly wasn't worth 60 bucks) but definitely don't go out and buy one thinking this is going to be Halo 1 or Halo 2 again. Expand
  12. CaseyY.
    Sep 27, 2007
    7
    A very fancy patch for Halo 2.
  13. AdrienV.
    Jan 10, 2008
    5
    On its own it is an acceptable game. Compared to Crysis, Orange box, Call of duty 4, it sucks. That is, the multiplayer. The singleplayer is much worse. If you are buying it for the multiplayer you might as well get COD4, Team fortress 2, or others. If you are getting it expecting a good singleplayer you must be drunk so it is possible you might enjoy it.
  14. Juggernaut
    Feb 15, 2008
    6
    Now don't get me wrong, this is a good game, but it is really just the same old thing that Bungie has been coming out with for the last few years. Even though the single player campaign really isn't that great this time around. The only thing that makes the game worth while is the multiplayer. It is a fairly small multiplayer game though considering it can only support 16 Now don't get me wrong, this is a good game, but it is really just the same old thing that Bungie has been coming out with for the last few years. Even though the single player campaign really isn't that great this time around. The only thing that makes the game worth while is the multiplayer. It is a fairly small multiplayer game though considering it can only support 16 players in one server, it is still fun though. I am glad to see that Bungie still supports split screen multiplayer. My personal favorite thing to do is play Halo 3 with some friends. Also, I have to admit the enhanced physics and graphics do make the game cooler. The bodies actually move whe you T-bag them! Expand
  15. AnonymousMC
    Apr 10, 2008
    6
    I think there is something a lot of people her need to try and understand. Yahtzee surmised it perfectly when he said "a perfect game shouldn't need anything to excuse itself. QED".
    The amount of 10s being thrown around here and then the comments saying "this particular aspect wasn't very good but the mulitplayer PWNS LOL" is ridiculous and these people need to learn how the
    I think there is something a lot of people her need to try and understand. Yahtzee surmised it perfectly when he said "a perfect game shouldn't need anything to excuse itself. QED".
    The amount of 10s being thrown around here and then the comments saying "this particular aspect wasn't very good but the mulitplayer PWNS LOL" is ridiculous and these people need to learn how the "out of 10" rating system works. A 10 means perfect, untouchable, no possible faults, hence why only a few games in history deserve this particular title (Super Mario World for instance). Halo 3 is not one of them.
    Don't get me wrong, yes multiplayer is fun, (I particularly enjoy jugurnaught vs cars) but that does not excuse the weak storyline, serious lack of graphical inovation and general average-ness of the game.
    It's not bad... It's just not amazing
    Expand
  16. JohnChu
    May 25, 2008
    6
    This game is without a doubt the MOST OVER Hyped game in the history of console. Nothing suggests that it is in anyway remarkable over its predecessor Halo 2 beyond slight graphical improvements. Playthroughs involve a staid but still fun formula. If Rumors are true, Microsoft definitely had a hand in "gifting" magazine publications with positive reviews. Looking at metacritic scores,This game is without a doubt the MOST OVER Hyped game in the history of console. Nothing suggests that it is in anyway remarkable over its predecessor Halo 2 beyond slight graphical improvements. Playthroughs involve a staid but still fun formula. If Rumors are true, Microsoft definitely had a hand in "gifting" magazine publications with positive reviews. Looking at metacritic scores, one can see that 100s are largely in the xbox - centric publications. Expand
  17. TylerP.
    May 9, 2008
    6
    This game is ok, rather mediocre for all the hype. There was no need to add the garbage (i.e. bubble shields, regenerator, grav lifts, etc.). The maps are just plain mundane and symmetrical. Also, all the weapons have the same effectiveness. In other words, if I have a needler and you have a rocket launcher, I can easily kill you. Some of the new weapons are unnecessary, spiker = pellet This game is ok, rather mediocre for all the hype. There was no need to add the garbage (i.e. bubble shields, regenerator, grav lifts, etc.). The maps are just plain mundane and symmetrical. Also, all the weapons have the same effectiveness. In other words, if I have a needler and you have a rocket launcher, I can easily kill you. Some of the new weapons are unnecessary, spiker = pellet gun, mauler = shotgun, spartan laser = virtually impossible to charge and aim, and missile pod = anti-vehicle rocket launcher from Halo 2. Overall, this game may offer a few new things, but nothing that contributes to the enhancement of gameplay or interest. Expand
  18. johnDoe
    Jul 4, 2008
    7
    The original Halo may have sold a million original xbox's, On the current next gen console Halo3 just does not have the same effect. This is by no means a bad game, Single player is enjoyable and quite testing, Just not as revolutionary as the original. Graphically the game looks great and play's as well as it always did. I am not sure where the series can go from here as I feel The original Halo may have sold a million original xbox's, On the current next gen console Halo3 just does not have the same effect. This is by no means a bad game, Single player is enjoyable and quite testing, Just not as revolutionary as the original. Graphically the game looks great and play's as well as it always did. I am not sure where the series can go from here as I feel it has peeked. Of course the online community for Halo is massive and you will have no trouble finding an online game That runs without lag. This could be where the series future lies in just online play. Halo 3 is a good game, Just not the generation setting game the original was. Expand
  19. RickyM.
    Aug 6, 2008
    6
    I don't care about it's popularity, in fact it's a good thing. Gigantic online community ensures that you'll always find a game. I just tire of doing the same thing over and over again. 1. Press left trigger and throw grenade at enemy. 2. Run at enemy 3. Hold right trigger. 4. Mash B button when they get close and smack them. Luckiest/First one to do this correctly I don't care about it's popularity, in fact it's a good thing. Gigantic online community ensures that you'll always find a game. I just tire of doing the same thing over and over again. 1. Press left trigger and throw grenade at enemy. 2. Run at enemy 3. Hold right trigger. 4. Mash B button when they get close and smack them. Luckiest/First one to do this correctly wins. Graphics are pretty. Tedious gameplay. Bland weapons make picking up others unnecessary. Feels outdated. Expand
  20. uncannyuncandy
    Jun 8, 2009
    6
    I gave it a 6.. well ..it is the most fun fps game on the xbox when it comes too co-op...and a good online gameplay*even tho ther are alot of kids flaming in voice chat wich ruins a game very fast* but it still has his old repeditive lvl design.. same charcters ..weapons.. graphics could be better *not saying they are bad* but they could have been alot better...and the story line is just I gave it a 6.. well ..it is the most fun fps game on the xbox when it comes too co-op...and a good online gameplay*even tho ther are alot of kids flaming in voice chat wich ruins a game very fast* but it still has his old repeditive lvl design.. same charcters ..weapons.. graphics could be better *not saying they are bad* but they could have been alot better...and the story line is just to boring to follow imo even tho i enjoyed the sarcasm/funny scenes during the cinematics alot. They realy need too put more effort in the physics aswell.. we are 7th generation where the imposible is posible.. halo3 is still in its 6th generation when it comes too physics. Also..something personal: it bums me out if i read these reviews, poeple saying its as good like half life and bioshock etc..those guys that are saying that are deffo halo fanatics!1 get real and see the facts.. i doubt most of you even ever played the single player. the game is far from great/awesome.. the developers are just rushing everything in my opinion. Expand
  21. DD
    Jun 9, 2009
    5
    I'm not really interested on evaluating MP aspects of this game since its numbers speak by themselves. So the 5 points came from the average of MP-10/SP-0.
    The single player campaign is just poor. II've felt like playing an 8 years old shooter. The enemies are ridiculous, the storyline doesn't even exist, the vehicles physics behaviour is as they were made with paper, the
    I'm not really interested on evaluating MP aspects of this game since its numbers speak by themselves. So the 5 points came from the average of MP-10/SP-0.
    The single player campaign is just poor. II've felt like playing an 8 years old shooter. The enemies are ridiculous, the storyline doesn't even exist, the vehicles physics behaviour is as they were made with paper, the weapons doesn't seem attractive to me, the campaign is short and straightforward.
    A real dissapointment.
    Expand
  22. PaulusK.
    Nov 10, 2007
    6
    Fairly competent shooter with a sterile feel. Did not evoke a sense of realism like Gears of War, and the graphics are by no means polished. The game looks as if the developers had lifted the graphics directly from Halo 2 (look at the facial expressions and speech) and draped some High Def effects over them. I was expecting a revolution in terms of involvement but it just did not happen. Fairly competent shooter with a sterile feel. Did not evoke a sense of realism like Gears of War, and the graphics are by no means polished. The game looks as if the developers had lifted the graphics directly from Halo 2 (look at the facial expressions and speech) and draped some High Def effects over them. I was expecting a revolution in terms of involvement but it just did not happen. If you want polished visuals coupled with complete immersion, forget this because all in all, not even close and definately no cigar. Shame. Expand
  23. SimonR.
    Oct 10, 2007
    6
    The underwhelming, short campaign is saved by the multi player and it's new features - but only just.The end sequence is disappointing and unsatisfying while the constant backtracking is frustrating. Of course this was always going to be a solid FPS and it is - I was just expecting more. If you're looking for Halo 2 with nicer graphics - Halo 3 is great (maybe Bungie should have The underwhelming, short campaign is saved by the multi player and it's new features - but only just.The end sequence is disappointing and unsatisfying while the constant backtracking is frustrating. Of course this was always going to be a solid FPS and it is - I was just expecting more. If you're looking for Halo 2 with nicer graphics - Halo 3 is great (maybe Bungie should have called it Halo 2.5?). If you're strapped for cash, don't have Live and can only choose one game at the moment... Bioshock is an infinitely more memorable and rewarding experience. Expand
  24. GaryS.
    Oct 1, 2007
    7
    One word can describe Halo 3 "average" !!!!!
  25. JamosStamos
    Nov 6, 2007
    6
    I havn't accually played but I've watched alot of people play it. Jus watching I've got to say I'm pretty disappointed. The graphics although an improvement, are not nearly as cool as I expected. The story was mediocore at best. The enemies are stupid, There is no stratigy involved! It's just who can kill how first. Instead of giving ememies more life andI havn't accually played but I've watched alot of people play it. Jus watching I've got to say I'm pretty disappointed. The graphics although an improvement, are not nearly as cool as I expected. The story was mediocore at best. The enemies are stupid, There is no stratigy involved! It's just who can kill how first. Instead of giving ememies more life and more powerful weapons, how about makeing them more tactical. I'd rather die because the enemy is better than me not because they have double the health and ten times more powerful weapons. The original Halo is the best because it was original...it has tons of room for improvement that Bungie failed to pick up on, in produceing Halo 2 and 3. These could have been so much better. It seemed like the campaign was an after thought. Please, make a good game first then worry about the multiplayer. Although fun, I'd rather be playing a awesome game with an awesome story line. Expand
  26. AdamJ.
    Oct 2, 2007
    5
    Halo 3 will still have you running backwards and forwards through levels which gets pretty tedious. Indoor environments feel very samey. The single player campaign is uninspired. The game is pretty easy, even on Legendary. There are some AI bugs (enemies are sometimes completely oblivious to you presence allowing you to run straight through a level). The variety of the multiplayer facet Halo 3 will still have you running backwards and forwards through levels which gets pretty tedious. Indoor environments feel very samey. The single player campaign is uninspired. The game is pretty easy, even on Legendary. There are some AI bugs (enemies are sometimes completely oblivious to you presence allowing you to run straight through a level). The variety of the multiplayer facet is all that extends the play time of this game. In summary: a buffed up halo 2 or a highly polished halo 1. Expand
  27. JulianS.
    Oct 2, 2007
    6
    The single player is absolutely horrible. It has a very flawed checkpoint system and gets far too frustrating. Gears of War never had me playing through the same stupid parts, even on Insane. Halo has me redoing some moments over and over again just on heroic. Bungie basically gave us a multiplayer game that finished a story that nobody cares about anymore.
  28. JackA.
    Oct 2, 2007
    6
    I was into Halo for the story. The original Halo set the standard and I guess it is just too hard to duplicate without seeming redundant. I liked Halo 2, but thought is was missing something, not much but just not quite up to the original. Halo 3 looked cool and all with the graphics and some new vehicles, but the story didn't flow well and just wasn't all that good to being I was into Halo for the story. The original Halo set the standard and I guess it is just too hard to duplicate without seeming redundant. I liked Halo 2, but thought is was missing something, not much but just not quite up to the original. Halo 3 looked cool and all with the graphics and some new vehicles, but the story didn't flow well and just wasn't all that good to being with. Hell, I'm still confused on some of it....LOL. The multiplayer stuff is first rate, and I guess that's what they were catering too. As for me, I was into the story, so this game didn't impress, and it seemed WAY too short. Sorry, Bungie, but you could have done a better job. Expand
  29. Maxd
    Oct 30, 2007
    7
    omfg are you people stupid??? This game isn't the best game ever, Max M, but it doesn't suck that bad, Me ME. This game is a good, solid buy, the graphics are decent the multiplayer is pretty good, and the campaign is average. If you are looking for a good game, buy this, but it is not a 10!!!!!!
  30. DomV.
    Oct 4, 2007
    7
    Halo 3's campaign succeeds in becoming the Letdown of 2007. Multiplayer however is beyond good. it is brilliant.
  31. LukeR.
    Oct 5, 2007
    6
    Halo 2.5. 'The biggest media event of all time' was a massive letdown if you only seek the single-player experience. The 10s this game recieved are a joke, average graphics, dated gameplay and a short campaign mode and over the top hype. This game is nothing but average and should be rated as such.
  32. ManeaA.
    Oct 7, 2007
    5
    Horrible graphics in interiors, mediocre gameplay.
  33. JacekO.
    Oct 7, 2007
    5
    After Bioshock this game is looks and feels just mediocre. It is amazing what industry marketing can do with our minds and some people give it the score 10 or 9 !
  34. RedR.
    Oct 8, 2007
    6
    10/10 for multiplayer 5/10 for obscenly short single player campaign. Did they really spend all those months working on this game? Single player can be completed by an average gams in probably 4-5 hours. 4/10 for graphics. Graphics are very dissapointing and bland and definitely NOT next generation. Most PC gamers will vouch for the fact that most FPS games on PCs from 3-4 years ago (Far 10/10 for multiplayer 5/10 for obscenly short single player campaign. Did they really spend all those months working on this game? Single player can be completed by an average gams in probably 4-5 hours. 4/10 for graphics. Graphics are very dissapointing and bland and definitely NOT next generation. Most PC gamers will vouch for the fact that most FPS games on PCs from 3-4 years ago (Far Cry etc) looked better than this. If multiplayer is not you thing, I cannot recommend buying this game. A 2 night purchase from Blockbuster will probably be more value for money. Overall 6/10 is a fair score. I expect Edge magazine will probably give it a 7/10 max. Expand
  35. JamesH.
    Oct 9, 2007
    5
    Meh, It's better than alot of fps that are crap, I mean it's an operable and playable game. but as a single player experience it's pretty dull. Teh alienz wantz to killz teh galexiez with Teh Haloz! but no, really. It's polished, it plays nicely, you shoot stuff and blow stuff up. but theres not a whole lot of satisfaction. I just thought "I'm shooting aliens on Meh, It's better than alot of fps that are crap, I mean it's an operable and playable game. but as a single player experience it's pretty dull. Teh alienz wantz to killz teh galexiez with Teh Haloz! but no, really. It's polished, it plays nicely, you shoot stuff and blow stuff up. but theres not a whole lot of satisfaction. I just thought "I'm shooting aliens on halo.." when I could be doing "X". Other than that I'm sure the multiplayer mode is fun, and you're all really excited. (by you I mean the fanboys) but It's just not that interesting/rewarding/exciting compared to my game library, or even other XB360 titles (Bioshock, The orange box) and props to bioshock for holding a higher metascore than teh hype masheen. Expand
  36. GlenA.
    Sep 26, 2007
    7
    The game is extremely similar to Halo 2. Graphics are tweaked but nowhere near as good as even 360 launch titles such as COD3. I had severe problems with sound, especially dialogue which I have to turn up just to hear - a little annoying. Should not disappoint those wanting more of the same from Halo 2. All others should rent first.
  37. DevonManvar
    Sep 26, 2007
    6
    WTF ppl looks like the developers did not put any effort in the graphs in this game Gear Of War looks better then this.....and what is wrong with single player.....I cleared 2 levels in single player mode and i just gave up becasue of the same shooting and nothing new to do.....Multiplayer is OK but could have been better........ I got 360 for this game but what a wast of money back to theWTF ppl looks like the developers did not put any effort in the graphs in this game Gear Of War looks better then this.....and what is wrong with single player.....I cleared 2 levels in single player mode and i just gave up becasue of the same shooting and nothing new to do.....Multiplayer is OK but could have been better........ I got 360 for this game but what a wast of money back to the good old PS Expand
  38. RannyB.
    Sep 26, 2007
    7
    It's an adequate fps. Level padding shows poor design though and the storytelling resulted down to being very simple. Not the best example to show for a top class FPS but a nice example that simplicity can still manage to be fun.
  39. McMastersUniversity
    Sep 27, 2007
    6
    What? That was it? The last section of the game was one of the biggest let downs of all time. Where is the final boss? Wait, that would've meant this game had an actual villain and a story that was meaningful. I found the story in Halo 2 to be very engaging and this time around was a massive disappointment. Additionally, the game felt like the designers viewed this making as a chore What? That was it? The last section of the game was one of the biggest let downs of all time. Where is the final boss? Wait, that would've meant this game had an actual villain and a story that was meaningful. I found the story in Halo 2 to be very engaging and this time around was a massive disappointment. Additionally, the game felt like the designers viewed this making as a chore as opposed to a fun and artistic experience. The revamped control scheme was pointless and did more harm that good. The new weapons and shield grenades are pointless. Also, this game does not start with the end of Halo 2, nor with how the trailer presents it. All these reviews that give this game 100's must be in the pockets of Microsoft; there is no other explanation. In every aspect this game is worse than Halo 1 and 2. Even the graphics are only slightly better than Halo 2. Maybe Halo 2.2? Ugh, I even avoided the hype and was still let down. Expand
  40. JohnB.
    Sep 27, 2007
    6
    Halo 3 is we pretty good game, but seems to cut you short again. The ads is what made this game larger then is really was. I'm a fan of the online play, but this should have been alll of Halo 2. The game actually starts to look like the original Halo as the game progresses which was disappointing. With this much hype it should have been far better then it was. Maybe it's me, but Halo 3 is we pretty good game, but seems to cut you short again. The ads is what made this game larger then is really was. I'm a fan of the online play, but this should have been alll of Halo 2. The game actually starts to look like the original Halo as the game progresses which was disappointing. With this much hype it should have been far better then it was. Maybe it's me, but 40% of the game looks way to familiar and seems as if it was a lazy way to go about it by revamping old levels from previous Halo games. Online play thus far is pretty fun. If the trilogy extends in another direction hopefully they get it right! Expand
  41. JoshuaD.
    Sep 28, 2007
    7
    I am a very honest person and a unique halo fan. After missing out on Halo 1 and starting the story line at halo 2 I was hooked by the graphics, gameplay, and mulitiplayer formats. Halo 3 was a complete let down after the first hour of gameplay. I found myself asking "This is actually kind of boring". There wasn't any extravigant graphic views or fight scenes as Halo 2 had. I tried I am a very honest person and a unique halo fan. After missing out on Halo 1 and starting the story line at halo 2 I was hooked by the graphics, gameplay, and mulitiplayer formats. Halo 3 was a complete let down after the first hour of gameplay. I found myself asking "This is actually kind of boring". There wasn't any extravigant graphic views or fight scenes as Halo 2 had. I tried not to buy into the hype from all the commercials and advertisments, but I can honorably say that I was scammed by the oldest trick in the book "Rhetorics" Good Job on Bungie and Microsoft for scamming millions upon millions of dollars from us with cheap and useless animation. Expand
  42. AitA.
    Sep 30, 2007
    6
    Loved Halo 1, disappointed with Halo 2 and Halo 3 the worst of the lot. You'll finish the fight in 6 to 8 hours if you played before. Legendary level on Halo 1 took days to finish, Halo 3 done in 10 hours. I still play Halo 1 but have had no inclination to play Halo 2 and wont be keeping Halo 3.
  43. MikeM.
    Sep 30, 2007
    6
    Somebodys gotta tell me what is so great about this game. the single player campaign is nowhere near the other great games Xbox 360 has to offer for its FPS action, like Gears of War and BioShock. And, well, the multiplayers good, ok, but why does EVERYONE play it? its not spectacular, and with maps that look half assed and no real joy in many of the weapons, its pretty much overrated.
  44. ShabbyR.
    Sep 30, 2007
    5
    Kind of disappointing in terms of gameplay, story and graphics, especially considering that this is a first-party 360 effort. Halo 3 isn't even marginally better than Halo 2, and both sequels are mediocre at best compared to the original (which, let's be honest, wasn't even that great to begin with). Seriously, they should have just released the multiplayer component for Kind of disappointing in terms of gameplay, story and graphics, especially considering that this is a first-party 360 effort. Halo 3 isn't even marginally better than Halo 2, and both sequels are mediocre at best compared to the original (which, let's be honest, wasn't even that great to begin with). Seriously, they should have just released the multiplayer component for half price, because that's the only thing that anyone's even remotely interested in. Expand
  45. AndyM.
    Sep 30, 2007
    7
    All Halo 3 does is improve the graphics of Halo 2, add more weapons, and absolutely nothing else. Still pretty damn good though.
  46. SethStone
    Jan 1, 2008
    6
    Ok check it out. Im not an x box fan. im a sony fan. And this is why i gave this game a 6. If its title wasent "halo" it wouldent b half as sucsessful. Ressitance fall of man for ps3 is lightyears better. Guns are boring, badguys stupid. But if u were suckered into buying a 360, hey- go for it.
  47. BevilJesse
    Jan 19, 2008
    5
    Online game play was just as could be expected, and the forge is nice. I don't feel that the game met my expectations. Especially after all the Hype, I ordered it in Kuwait being that i'm currently deployed, bought the Xbox360 just for Halo 3 and I feel that I got burned
  48. MalcolmG.
    Jan 3, 2008
    5
    Single Player: I was hoping that I was going to be able to finish the fight, humanity's fight that is. However, once again, Bungie decided to confuse me with a bunch of amazing advertisements and produce a lack-luster game. Halo 3 is really just a medicore game, truly average gameplay, more comprobable to a "7." However, because the story was depressing, as it didn't live up to Single Player: I was hoping that I was going to be able to finish the fight, humanity's fight that is. However, once again, Bungie decided to confuse me with a bunch of amazing advertisements and produce a lack-luster game. Halo 3 is really just a medicore game, truly average gameplay, more comprobable to a "7." However, because the story was depressing, as it didn't live up to the hype, and inconclusive and spotty for a trilogy, Halo 3's single player at best deserves a 2. Multiplayer: Halo 2 with some equipment, the return of a better assault rifle, some new vehicles, similar maps, and forge. Probably a 9 or so, because it is pretty fun multiplayer. Bottom Line: Halo 3 gets a bad score because it was supposed to focus on the single player - it failed miserably in this very important department. Expand
  49. BenC
    Oct 8, 2008
    5
    Generic, completely over-hyped shooter.
  50. DanishA.
    Feb 10, 2008
    5
    Not as good as I expected it to be. Halo 1 & 2 was better. I think there are many games better than this game. I got tired of playing this game after a while.
  51. JohnN.
    Mar 30, 2008
    5
    I'll be very relevant with my interview and will avoid comparisons, for a more honest review. The single player is a vomit on top of dog droppings (that is an understatement). Bungie is a relic as you may know, and i feel as though they don't know how to make a next gen experience. It's chokepoint after chokepoint, problem after another. The guns feel recycled (which they I'll be very relevant with my interview and will avoid comparisons, for a more honest review. The single player is a vomit on top of dog droppings (that is an understatement). Bungie is a relic as you may know, and i feel as though they don't know how to make a next gen experience. It's chokepoint after chokepoint, problem after another. The guns feel recycled (which they are lol), and the hit detection is awful, you will find better in N64 shooters! The multiplayer redeems the single player don't worry. It surely isn't new, but with its easy party interface, and matchmaking system, it is eerily still ahead of most games you will find. My only complaint is that they decreased the gap between noobs and vets. Let the horrible die, and the good live. Overall, must buy for the multiplayer, why play the single player? Just look up the ending on youtube. Expand
  52. Gary
    Mar 6, 2008
    5
    A truly disappointing game. Definetly does not live up to the hype it was receiving. Also the visuals are not there like other games show. The only decent prospective is that of the multiplayer, even that does get extremely repetitive.
  53. LukeV.
    Apr 9, 2008
    7
    Excellent solo play, multiplayer gets a bit repetitive.
  54. DanielN.
    Jun 13, 2008
    6
    This game is an average shooter... with a short campaign, the game seems to just be Halo 2 with a bit of polish. The only reason I gave this game a 6 is that their is some innovation in the Forge mode. If you love multiplayer then this game is o.k, but the weapons feel unbalanced and useless. And although their are quite a few weapons in the multiplayer you will only ever find your self This game is an average shooter... with a short campaign, the game seems to just be Halo 2 with a bit of polish. The only reason I gave this game a 6 is that their is some innovation in the Forge mode. If you love multiplayer then this game is o.k, but the weapons feel unbalanced and useless. And although their are quite a few weapons in the multiplayer you will only ever find your self using 2-3 weapons regularly. Expand
  55. JohnW.
    Jun 2, 2008
    5
    The most over-rated game ever. At least the multiplayer's decent.
  56. OwenS.
    Jul 18, 2008
    7
    It has good graphics but for your average shooter game it gets rather boring.
  57. Caseyc
    Jul 30, 2008
    5
    Not horrible. Not Great. It's ok. Compared to just about any shooter from '04-'08 its just average.
  58. MartinK.
    Aug 16, 2008
    7
    to Christian H. It is "MIGHT AS well," not "minus well." Jesus, people, that's not even grammatical. hell, that's not even a spelling error. that's just called stupid.
  59. StuartB.
    Sep 22, 2008
    6
    Halo 3 succeeds in offering the same linear, formulaic gameplay which I'm sure the majority of it's unenlightened fanbase craves. Perhaps if you've never played any other decent FPS titles before you'd think Halo 3 is a ground breaking revelation. However to anyone else whose played many other FPS games of higher calibre will find this to be a trite and turgid Halo 3 succeeds in offering the same linear, formulaic gameplay which I'm sure the majority of it's unenlightened fanbase craves. Perhaps if you've never played any other decent FPS titles before you'd think Halo 3 is a ground breaking revelation. However to anyone else whose played many other FPS games of higher calibre will find this to be a trite and turgid experience which offers nothing new whatsoever. 6/10 for a solid, yet completely uninspired, boring FPS. Expand
  60. J.G.
    Dec 26, 2009
    7
    As much as I loved the first two Halo games, I just can't say that about the third one in the series. Now, I'm not saying this is a BAD game, it's just not the best it could've been. Halo 3's graphics where fantastic for its time and are still pretty impressive to this day. There's a great campaign that's a bit short, but it's still fun. If you have As much as I loved the first two Halo games, I just can't say that about the third one in the series. Now, I'm not saying this is a BAD game, it's just not the best it could've been. Halo 3's graphics where fantastic for its time and are still pretty impressive to this day. There's a great campaign that's a bit short, but it's still fun. If you have friends that you can play the campaign with, it usually is more fun. Friends are the core of this game, if you don't have friends with Halo, don't get Halo, it is that simple. The game is also a ton of fun to play online...with friends. The community is made of bratty 12-year-olds that think they're tough $h1t. If you have friends to play with, I'd recommend keeping them. The real problem with this game is that it doesn't have the same feeling as the original Halo and instead feels more like Resistance rather than its awesome, awesome original game. Too bad, too, because that would've made it awesome. Expand
  61. FredrickB
    Oct 25, 2009
    7
    Being a Halo vet, im a lil disappointed in the Campaign side of the game, ending just an ending, nothing special or surpising about it. The multiplayer side of the game is good. There is so much missing from this game, like equipment use, less use of the many weapons in other Halo's, but im still a big fan of Halo, hopfully they will get the next one right.
  62. ElliottW
    Jul 7, 2009
    6
    Now call me bitter because all my friends are now addicted to the darn game, but I think this game is extremely overated. I'd say the only good aspect of this game is the multiplayer, and even that wasn't great. Oh, and if you are planning on buying it, expect drab corridors aplenty!
  63. aspentitan
    Jan 15, 2010
    7
    Every heard of the saying "A six dressed up as a nine"? That's how I describe this game. For the most part I tremendously enjoyed this game until the last 3 Chapters of the solo campaign ruined it all. After completing the game I can
  64. TimE.
    Nov 17, 2007
    7
    The graphics and story are awesome, however... it looks like Halo 2 with higher resolution textures and very little innovation. Next Gen Gaming shouldn't include Halo 3 as a front runner. This game is very last generation in it's thinking. Perhaps i was just hoping for something new.
  65. ShazamD.
    Nov 2, 2007
    7
    As most of you know, the hype wanted to make us expect Halo 3 to be a golden platter of excellency. Let me just get this out of the way before I actually review this game. Halo 3 is in no respect a "bad" game. In my opinion I consider it to be average, with an admittedly fun multiplayer. However in my opinion if Bungie really wanted to outdo themselves they would have put multiplayer on As most of you know, the hype wanted to make us expect Halo 3 to be a golden platter of excellency. Let me just get this out of the way before I actually review this game. Halo 3 is in no respect a "bad" game. In my opinion I consider it to be average, with an admittedly fun multiplayer. However in my opinion if Bungie really wanted to outdo themselves they would have put multiplayer on one disc and single player on another so they could give the campaign some actual DEPTH. So onto the actual review. In this installment of the Halo series, Master Chief has to finally finish the fight against the Covenant in a criminally short adventure of an average of 10 hours. The difficulty seems to be a bit... off. At the beginning some of the enemies destroyed me, but by the end one is supposed to constitute as a final boss battle was basically shooting a small, 5th grader with a gun with the power of a miniature tank. Of course I am focusing on the bad, at the moment so I'll go to some of the good. Halo 3 has good graphics, texture, very good voice acting, and moments of pure gold in the game (i.e. the Red vs. Blue reference) To finish off, Halo 3 is all right I suppose, I liked BioShock and the Orange Box more, but what the hell, right? If you just want a barely average, high speed single player action game and a fun multiplayer then Halo 3 is the game for you. If not, I suggest waiting for Mass Effect. Expand
  66. Gavin
    Nov 20, 2007
    7
    i love halo and to be frank this game clears its name then puts a massive stain on it the multiplayer has imporved with 4player co-op on campain and HD the single player campian though is where the stain comes in yes campain is a little short but thats when you play it on easy i finish it in 2 hours best part of the campian is the lengdary its been revamped in my mind because 1. theres ai love halo and to be frank this game clears its name then puts a massive stain on it the multiplayer has imporved with 4player co-op on campain and HD the single player campian though is where the stain comes in yes campain is a little short but thats when you play it on easy i finish it in 2 hours best part of the campian is the lengdary its been revamped in my mind because 1. theres a massive noticable effect in were the AI is smarter ALOT more bad guys and to top it off ya shield may as well be tin foil XD this makes up for the short campain by extending the amount of time needed to complete the game (around 15hours) but still not bad lastly comes the end it sez finish the fight but.... WHAT FIGHT DID WE FINISH yes we killed the covernat around earth but what about everywhere else and not to mention the earth and all the rings on stanby still this game still leaves a lot of loose ends and it finishes on another cliff hanger with masterchief and cortana alone in space adrift if there isnt a halo 4 i will be very disapointed with bungie after all the idea of a triogy is to finish the story in 3 releases which hasnt occured here.. Expand
  67. John-eB.
    Nov 28, 2007
    5
    This Game was a major disappointment..! Don't get me wrong I was a huge fan of 1 and 2....but halo 3 didn't bring anything new to the table. A few new features, but not worth all the hype. This game seemed very repetitious...NOT A MUST HAVE!!
  68. J.J.C.C.
    Oct 13, 2007
    7
    What the crap happened with halo 3? What made halo 2 great was the effect of being drawn into the game; the feeling that you are the master chief. But in this game, the FEEL of the game has changed, its as if you are playing warcraft with guns on a PC. Graphics are not fully necessary to make a game great; it is the gameplay people! Bungie should have made this game more REALISTIC; how What the crap happened with halo 3? What made halo 2 great was the effect of being drawn into the game; the feeling that you are the master chief. But in this game, the FEEL of the game has changed, its as if you are playing warcraft with guns on a PC. Graphics are not fully necessary to make a game great; it is the gameplay people! Bungie should have made this game more REALISTIC; how come a melee hit takes more damage than a bullet !?! So much hype for a halo 1 type gameplay with no 21st century REALISTIC physical dimentionality! Expand
  69. ClintN/A
    Oct 13, 2007
    6
    The game is good, way better than Halo 2, yet the time it takes to kill an opponent in multiplayer is waaay too fast, and it is way slower to turn around on a controller than with a mouse, the game seems to be the quick and the dead, and not much strategy is involved versus games like HL2: deathmatch or Kill Zone. 500 years of technology, a full metal suit with a shield, and Gordon The game is good, way better than Halo 2, yet the time it takes to kill an opponent in multiplayer is waaay too fast, and it is way slower to turn around on a controller than with a mouse, the game seems to be the quick and the dead, and not much strategy is involved versus games like HL2: deathmatch or Kill Zone. 500 years of technology, a full metal suit with a shield, and Gordon Freeman can still take more bulllets. Expand
  70. EdmundL.
    Oct 13, 2007
    6
    Halo 3 wasn't great, It was average. A lot of places just seem to be giving it straight tens even though the campaign wasn't great, becuase apparantly the multiplayer "Makes up for that". But surely a 10 worthy game doesn't need excuses right?
  71. PeterS.
    Oct 16, 2007
    7
    Pretty, fun weapons but a bit of an uninspired experience on the whole after Bioshock, Halflife 2 and Fear hit the market. Halo has seriously fallen behind the curve in developing their overall playability.
  72. DougJ.
    Nov 7, 2007
    5
    Halo 3 is the same as Halo 2 -- only with a bit more polish. Halo 2 is the same as Halo : Combat Evolved -- only with a bit more polish. Halo 3 is essentially the same game you've played over and over since 2001. The weapons are a bit different, the textures are higher resolution, but it's basically the same game. My number one complaint with the Halo series is the physics (or Halo 3 is the same as Halo 2 -- only with a bit more polish. Halo 2 is the same as Halo : Combat Evolved -- only with a bit more polish. Halo 3 is essentially the same game you've played over and over since 2001. The weapons are a bit different, the textures are higher resolution, but it's basically the same game. My number one complaint with the Halo series is the physics (or lack there of). When you play you feel like you're on the moon, or that the air is very thick and viscous. If an enemy approaches from 180 degrees behind you, you have very little chance of being able to turn around fast enough to defend yourself. The only reason this game is popular is due to the intense marketing Microsoft provided for Bungie (Fact: Halo 3 was the largest marketing campaign for any product ever). Expand
  73. TaylorH.
    Oct 17, 2007
    5
    I love the halo games but this one(3) was hard to follow the story line. It was the first game i bought and played through on my new 360 and also felt it was a little short. finished it in a couple of days without intense hours of playing. good game, perhaps i had too high of hopes for it.
  74. MatC.
    Oct 2, 2007
    7
    Good game, short campaign... but 640p? It's down-rezzed, and that's disappointing. You'd think the flagship game for a company like this would at least be able to be run in full 720p at least. Guess not, and it's disappointing. I feel bad for the geeks that stayed in line -- it's just not the perfection that the "professional" (and I mean paid!) reviewers make it Good game, short campaign... but 640p? It's down-rezzed, and that's disappointing. You'd think the flagship game for a company like this would at least be able to be run in full 720p at least. Guess not, and it's disappointing. I feel bad for the geeks that stayed in line -- it's just not the perfection that the "professional" (and I mean paid!) reviewers make it out to be. Expand
  75. CarsonT.
    Dec 14, 2007
    5
    The reason I have givin Halo 3 a 5 out of 10 is simple: It is easily the most overhyped game in the history of the universe. I mean, it's not a bad game, in fact it's very fun in both singleplayer and multiplayer. But I struggle to grasp what is so fantastic about it. It's a pretty average first-person shooter when you think about it. You just point your gun at enemies and The reason I have givin Halo 3 a 5 out of 10 is simple: It is easily the most overhyped game in the history of the universe. I mean, it's not a bad game, in fact it's very fun in both singleplayer and multiplayer. But I struggle to grasp what is so fantastic about it. It's a pretty average first-person shooter when you think about it. You just point your gun at enemies and hold the trigger down until they are dead. That's about it. There is absolutely nothing new here for fans of the genre, or even fans of the series. This is just Halo 2 with a new lick of paint. Quite frankly if it wasn't for the avalanche of adverts and media attention generated by Microsoft, Halo 3 would have been considered mediocre at best. It's games like this that really get on my nerves. They follow a predictable and monotonous structure whilst distracting everyone from other, far superior, titles which have clearly made an effort to revitalise the genre. I'm talking about Crysis, CoD4 and Bioshock ofcourse. Buy Halo 3 for the multiplayer if you must but remeber this: you don't have to be a sheep and get Halo 3 just because mother Microsoft SAID it was good. Think for yourself and you will realise that there are countless games out there that wipe the floor with Halo 3. Expand
  76. Ricardo
    Dec 24, 2007
    5
    Halo: 9 (only misses a 10 due to boring Library stage) Halo 2: 2 (simply awful in all respects) Halo 3: 5 One of the best aspects of Halo - holding out in a citadel as waves of covenant do battle with you and your dwindling forces. This never occurs in Halo 3 - instead we suffer through awful stages where you sit in a rubbish vehicle and try and take out scarabs in a dull and repetitive Halo: 9 (only misses a 10 due to boring Library stage) Halo 2: 2 (simply awful in all respects) Halo 3: 5 One of the best aspects of Halo - holding out in a citadel as waves of covenant do battle with you and your dwindling forces. This never occurs in Halo 3 - instead we suffer through awful stages where you sit in a rubbish vehicle and try and take out scarabs in a dull and repetitive manner. Truely horrible. Yet there are 3 or more such stages. The weapons are poor, the stages repetitive, enemy dull, and the ending a damp squib. Where was the send off between Master Chief and the Arbiter?? Over-hyped and thoroughly average. Expand
  77. JohnnyD.
    Oct 27, 2007
    6
    Halo basically takes everything that's been done before in FPS games and throws it haphazardly throws it into one box. It has a lot of content, but some of the content isn't of high quality. I would rather buy a high quality singleplayer FPS game and another high quality multiplayer FPS game, than buy one game that has mediocre singleplayer and multiplayer.
  78. MortenJ.
    Oct 3, 2007
    7
    OK, let's be fair. Halo 3 is a very good game - but not a great one by any standards. Multiplayer actually just about saves it from being mediocre. It's not groundbreaking or innovative from a design perspective but it is undoubtedly fun - which is of course a minimum for a video game. But alas only up to a point. What is not fun is the repetitive indoor levels and the awful OK, let's be fair. Halo 3 is a very good game - but not a great one by any standards. Multiplayer actually just about saves it from being mediocre. It's not groundbreaking or innovative from a design perspective but it is undoubtedly fun - which is of course a minimum for a video game. But alas only up to a point. What is not fun is the repetitive indoor levels and the awful save system; would it hurt to have an autosave every 15 minutes or so? - Especially considering the games' already notorious instability and 'disc not readable' issues which can reduce a couple of hours of fun in the campaign to an absolutely rage-inducing waste of time! Expand
  79. EmonX.
    Oct 4, 2007
    6
    The single player is extremely short, massively derivative, and often just plain silly. I've felt more empathy for bruised produce than I did for the majority of the cast of this game's yarn. Why would an all powerful ancient space artifact look like the Eiffel Tower being co-opted into the Chinese Space Program? There are serious issues in some level design legibility, The single player is extremely short, massively derivative, and often just plain silly. I've felt more empathy for bruised produce than I did for the majority of the cast of this game's yarn. Why would an all powerful ancient space artifact look like the Eiffel Tower being co-opted into the Chinese Space Program? There are serious issues in some level design legibility, specifically the organically structured stages. Way to easy to become disoriented and subsequently horde fodder. Vehicle stages definitely stand out, wish there'd been more of those! Multi-Player certainly caters to veterans of the series, with a diversity of game types that would be expected by multiplayer shooter fans with PC on-line backgrounds, but have been sadly missing from other genre games on the 360, like Gears of War for example. Would have been nice to see still further diversity of game types, though. Why only two teams at a time? And where is the epic scale of map sizes on-line? And why can't I play the monsters? Or drive the giant robot crabs or interstellar spaceships? The overall aesthetics don't seem up-rezzed in any way, appears the rendering engine and streaming systems are the same as the previous two installments. Lot of long load times and seeking lags as well, not a smooth ride as I would have expected from 360's tent pole title. And even after playing through the whole thing, still don't understand the TV add with the pretty score and strange Warhammer looking table top battle scene. Expand
  80. FPSMaster
    Oct 7, 2007
    6
    This franchise has not aged well. It basically hasn't changed since the first game 6 years ago, and in most ways is worse. The story that I used to think was so great seems really lame 6 years later and the campaign is just flat out dull and boring. The MP hasn't changed since Halo 2 other than some new weapons, some buttons switched around on the controller, more lag and worse This franchise has not aged well. It basically hasn't changed since the first game 6 years ago, and in most ways is worse. The story that I used to think was so great seems really lame 6 years later and the campaign is just flat out dull and boring. The MP hasn't changed since Halo 2 other than some new weapons, some buttons switched around on the controller, more lag and worse hit detection with everything from melees to grenades to bullets. Biggest let down in the history of gaming (something the 360 really didn't need any more of) so I'm glad Bungie split from M$ after playing this atrocity. This series and developer are nothing more than on-hit-wonders and I'm sorry I wasted so much time defending this fracnhise for so long. The fact that this console even exists merely because of this franchise makes me wonder what the Hell the world is coming to. Lame. Expand
  81. Silence_L
    Oct 9, 2007
    5
    Multi-player sucks; only two game modes for team slayer (BORING) . I thought campaign was more interesting because multi player seems like you'll just get shot in the back after brawling it out with someone. Its rare you'll get more than two kills in a row becayse someone will just comes in fresh to kill you after you've already taken damage from the shoot-out you just had.
  82. RayD.
    Sep 25, 2007
    7
    Well i am half way through the campaign and last night while playing i sat there and thought its good but not that good.... the multiplayer is pretty nice i like the upgrades they did on it compared to halo 2. Its close to the same game with twists that i think were needed esp for online. but good job overall microsoft.
  83. OscarG.
    Sep 25, 2007
    6
    Well what can i said about this, i wait almost three years for this game and i figured out that nothing has change from halo 1 it´s the same gameplay, the same mechanic, boring history with better graphics but not superior, i am very disaponting about this game, GOW rules on 360 sorry halo fans.
  84. ChrisK.
    Sep 25, 2007
    7
    The hype hurt the game, that's where it all begins. Reviews hit left and right for games over a 9.4 when it is a truly unique and innovative creation, Halo 3 was neither of these. With some decent graphics, new weapon additions and relatively shallow story line, the game isn't living up to these reviews. Microsoft must be deep in some pockets to get the reviews this game has The hype hurt the game, that's where it all begins. Reviews hit left and right for games over a 9.4 when it is a truly unique and innovative creation, Halo 3 was neither of these. With some decent graphics, new weapon additions and relatively shallow story line, the game isn't living up to these reviews. Microsoft must be deep in some pockets to get the reviews this game has been given. Fanboys rejoice, smart gamers rent. Expand
  85. Thomas
    Sep 25, 2007
    5
    What a disappointment. This game was a dinosaur before it was even released. But i think the bigger disappointment is the sheer lack of credibility so many of these reviews are truly showing by giving it so many perfect scores. this game had me yawning within 10 minutes, and thinking i was still getting over Al Gore losing the election. Any reviewer out there that scored this game a What a disappointment. This game was a dinosaur before it was even released. But i think the bigger disappointment is the sheer lack of credibility so many of these reviews are truly showing by giving it so many perfect scores. this game had me yawning within 10 minutes, and thinking i was still getting over Al Gore losing the election. Any reviewer out there that scored this game a perfect 10 clearly has either fanboy blinders on, or is afraid to bash the most hyped game in history in the face of the advertisers that fund their magazines and websites. the bugginess and outdated graphics and sound effects alone should've dropped it a couple notches... way to have a spine, guys. you should be embarassed for yourselves. Expand
  86. MattE.
    Sep 26, 2007
    5
    This game is not that good. The guns are skeet and it doesn't really look that good compared to other 360 titles. I am really disappointed.
  87. JoshuaMatte
    Sep 26, 2007
    5
    Why does a game that is just a complete rehash of previous installments with a couple extra doo-dads even worth playing? Not innovative, sorry excuse for a story, and mediocre single player at best. Sure, the multiplayer is great, but it does not make up for its short comings. The reviews this game is getting are obviously just to keep advertising revenue from Microsoft.
  88. AlvaroV.
    Sep 26, 2007
    7
    Good game, but nothing really original in the series. There is no story at the beginning and the level design is slightly repetitive. However, combat is as polished as in previous titles. Too much hype, I guess.
  89. [Anonymousguy]
    Sep 27, 2007
    7
    Not really anything spectacular on the single player, and the Online not as fun as halo 2.
  90. EoinO.
    Sep 27, 2007
    5
    Looks great shame it's so basic in it's combat system and so unevolved in it's feel/characters. As a shooter it feels like a kids game. I'll stick with Bioshock and Rainbow 6 Vegas thanks. Waste of £40 in my mind I'm trading it in today.
  91. DLa
    Sep 27, 2007
    7
    First, I've been with Halo from the beginning. The first release amazed, the second released was good with a dumb ending, but I had had a deep fear after seeing many unflattering screenshots that this release would not extend the state of the art and I'm sad to say its true. Aside from a few new weapons and vehicles and debatebly enhanced graphics the game breaks no new ground. First, I've been with Halo from the beginning. The first release amazed, the second released was good with a dumb ending, but I had had a deep fear after seeing many unflattering screenshots that this release would not extend the state of the art and I'm sad to say its true. Aside from a few new weapons and vehicles and debatebly enhanced graphics the game breaks no new ground. Which is a shame for such an anticipated release with so much money behind it. Let me break it down. Graphics: 7 Not as good as Gears of War and not as good as Bioshock. The character models are average quality. For example, not as detailed as the players in Madden. Environment: 7 You'd expect to be able to interact with all kinds of things in the environment and blow stuff up. At least this is the mark of next-gen FPS today. Not so in Halo. You can knock stuff over, but you can't look inside of things, break things, use things, etc. Its a very superficial environment. Sound: 5 Oh boy. It's sad. I have a dolby 5.1 setup and the sound from Halo is very muffled and low-def. The weapon firing sounds or ok, but things like grenades sound like they are farther from you than they visually are. Little to no surround effects or ambient noise. A total lack of depth in the sound field. For the best 5.1 game sound, crisp and clean, check out Bioshock as the new standard (I'm not a fanboy, just using a real example of quality). Gameplay: 7 Same gameplay as before with a few new gadgets. No cover control (such as in GoW and Rainbow 6), no squad control, etc. Same, same, same. Story: 6 Getting a bit dated. The opening dialog is a bit perplexing. An utter lack of mind provoking elements in this story. Its a "story on rails". Not to mention, that for 3 versions of Halo the opening sequence is the cliche "the aliens have invaded our barracks" scenario. Tired! Get some new material. Overall: A very generous 7 Expand
  92. Warmonger
    Sep 27, 2007
    7
    Good game, but nowhere near the great game everyone makes it out to be! First of all it's too damn short. Sure it's a great multiplayer game but what about the people who don't play online?? oh well, I guess the're just out of luck! The graphics also haven't really improved significantly enough for me to go... Wow! Come on! the only game to really hold that Good game, but nowhere near the great game everyone makes it out to be! First of all it's too damn short. Sure it's a great multiplayer game but what about the people who don't play online?? oh well, I guess the're just out of luck! The graphics also haven't really improved significantly enough for me to go... Wow! Come on! the only game to really hold that distinction this year, "so far" is Bioshock! You only have to look at the superior graphics, such as the water effects,environments...etc and game play to relize, that it rules! It's new and fresh as opposed to old and stale....... R.I.P. Halo Expand
  93. ChrisE.
    Sep 27, 2007
    7
    I'd consider myself a 360 fanboy. Halo 3 is fun, but just feels like something is missing. I'm trying so hard to love this game. I'm not sure I can.
  94. DazD.
    Sep 28, 2007
    7
    Nothing new here apart from a few weapons and vehicles. The multiplayer is what it's all about.
  95. NateG.
    Sep 28, 2007
    7
    Halo 2 2 is OK. I've never been a campaign guy (I play the games to have fun with friends), so I judge all Halos on the multi-player, and that aspect of the game has not been improved. Yes, they added some new stuff in there but that alone can't carry the game (some of them are pointless too - like with the grenades). But different and better isn't the same. And am I the Halo 2 2 is OK. I've never been a campaign guy (I play the games to have fun with friends), so I judge all Halos on the multi-player, and that aspect of the game has not been improved. Yes, they added some new stuff in there but that alone can't carry the game (some of them are pointless too - like with the grenades). But different and better isn't the same. And am I the only one who misses the hit % stat? You can goof off the whole time and no one will be the wiser as to the 1,000 shots you wasted. All in all you could play or watch a game of Halo 2 and Halo 3 back-to-back and have a hard time knowing you saw 2 different games. I'm one of those who wanted to like it, but it disappoints. I do believe the name gives it 1 or 2 extra points in a lot of reviews. Expand
  96. FurryFox
    Sep 28, 2007
    7
    As many have said before me its mainly a multiplayer game, if you don
  97. BryanM.
    Sep 28, 2007
    7
    It was a little over hyped. I am just pissed you are forced to play as Chief and can not play the Aburder in Campan mode unless you do co op. sorry but you included him in the 2nd why change it now. o and Halo 3 for being the big 360 game does not have that great of graphics. a little better then the beta demo version but barlly. try gears graphics Halo. so in other words HALO one is It was a little over hyped. I am just pissed you are forced to play as Chief and can not play the Aburder in Campan mode unless you do co op. sorry but you included him in the 2nd why change it now. o and Halo 3 for being the big 360 game does not have that great of graphics. a little better then the beta demo version but barlly. try gears graphics Halo. so in other words HALO one is still the best even if you can not play it on Xbox live. Expand
  98. JCS
    Sep 29, 2007
    7
    The single player game felt like they didn't bother with much more than an outline of a story. I have to agree with the comment about warmed over Marathon. The Flood was much more intimidating in 2. Sketchy in many places. Background stills lacked the kind of detail one might want or expect lavished onto them. Normal level was blandly easy.
  99. MikeS.
    Sep 29, 2007
    6
    Maybe I just don't get it, but I don't see what is so fascinating about this game. It's a standard FPS with mediocre graphics and a luke warm plot. Bioshock beats this by substantially more than one metapoint.
  100. AlexW.
    Sep 30, 2007
    5
    A repetitive, tedious, and overall cookie cutter game in respects to Halo 2. This bore-fest is just like the other two, but with HDR lighting. The graphics arent even really better than Halo 2. One of the major problems in this game is that it can be beaten in less than 3 hours. That is not a game worthy of a 9.5. This game shouldn't have even been reviewed, as it is just Halo 2 with A repetitive, tedious, and overall cookie cutter game in respects to Halo 2. This bore-fest is just like the other two, but with HDR lighting. The graphics arent even really better than Halo 2. One of the major problems in this game is that it can be beaten in less than 3 hours. That is not a game worthy of a 9.5. This game shouldn't have even been reviewed, as it is just Halo 2 with some added gimmicks. What's funny is that Halo 2 wasn;t even that good anyway. Bungie, good job at causing major hpye during the coming days of this game's release, but I just can't give you much credit on what you guys are meant for: a good game. Looks like Bungie is better off at thecircus than behind a programmer's desk. Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 86
  2. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. It's the addition of the Forge level editor and the saved films that give the game an even longer set of legs, legs that will probably keep you running at full speed until Bungie figures out where, exactly, to go from here.
  2. Halo 3 is the best Xbox 360 game to date. The single-player campaign and storyline are both very strong, but it's Forge and the Saved Films features that will likely go down in history as Bungie's crowning achievements. They've basically taken everything great about the series and improved upon it in every way, then added some amazing new features that we'll be using for years to come.
  3. 100
    It's solid gameplay, immense replayability, online functionality and incredible production values will ensure its place in video game history, and it is, without a doubt, a satisfying and fulfilling close to the beloved trilogy[?].