Halo 3 Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4225 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Halo 3 is the third game in the Halo Trilogy and provides the thrilling conclusion to the events begun in "Halo: Combat Evolved." Halo 3 picks up where "Halo 2" left off. The Master Chief is returning to Earth to finish the fight. The Covenant occupation of Earth has uncovered a massive andHalo 3 is the third game in the Halo Trilogy and provides the thrilling conclusion to the events begun in "Halo: Combat Evolved." Halo 3 picks up where "Halo 2" left off. The Master Chief is returning to Earth to finish the fight. The Covenant occupation of Earth has uncovered a massive and ancient object beneath the African sands - an object who's secrets have yet to be revealed. Earth's forces are battered and beaten. The Master Chief's AI companion Cortana is still trapped in the clutches of the Gravemind - a horrifying Flood intelligence, and a civil war is raging in the heart of the Covenant. This is how the world ends... [Bungie] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 86
  2. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. 100
    It's solid gameplay, immense replayability, online functionality and incredible production values will ensure its place in video game history, and it is, without a doubt, a satisfying and fulfilling close to the beloved trilogy[?].
  2. Edge Magazine
    100
    In substance it's nothing new, merely a magnificent, beautiful monster of an FPS sequel. In concept and execution, though, Halo 3 is the future. [Nov 2007, p.80]
  3. 99
    Halo 3 is essential. An Xbox 360 without a copy of the game is like a human without a heart.
  4. Halo 3 gives a deeper, smoother and grander ride then ever before.
  5. The combination of the excellent campaign, tried and true multiplayer, and online co-op make this a game that shouldn't be missed by anyone.
  6. Halo 3 may not fully live up to the obscene hype, but it certainly survives it.
  7. The ads promise an epic tale of tragedy, sacrifice, and heroism that Halo 3 really had no hope in hell of ever delivering. More troubling, however, is the fact that after playing the game, I can suggest with some certainty that they promised a game that Bungie didn't even bother trying to produce.

See all 86 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. JimmyC.
    Oct 7, 2007
    10
    Well, I would have given it a 9.5, but I'll round it up because it's Halo. The game is pretty much perfect. The only downside I had Well, I would have given it a 9.5, but I'll round it up because it's Halo. The game is pretty much perfect. The only downside I had with it was that it was short. Short, but I could play through it 100 times. So it makes up for it. It's Halo. You're the Chief. And everything comes to an end. It's what we've all been waiting for, so why is everyone complaining? Isn't it exactly what you waited for? It was for me. The music, graphics and gameplay were all rock solid. New vehicles and guns were an excellent addition. They could have made no change to the game whatsoever and just made it end and I would have been happy, but Bungie stepped it up. The new vehicles are nice, too, with the Hornet being my favorite. And the battle with the two spider tanks was epic to say the least. With amazing battles, great graphics, and heroic moments that leave you smiling and saying "Hell, yeah, that's what Halo is about", I'd say Halo 3 is definately one of the best games out today. Expand
  2. JS
    Dec 16, 2009
    10
    Best Halo game, in my opinion. Had everything of the other two games, and then some. For one thing, the multiplayer is classic. You Best Halo game, in my opinion. Had everything of the other two games, and then some. For one thing, the multiplayer is classic. You can't surpass it. Its a pure FPS through and through. No gimmicks. It is the standard. Graphics will age well, were the best on the market at launch. Storyline beats the first game hands down, although not sure about the second game. Gameplay is immensely improved, even if you just account for the fact that the horrible 'white and black' anomalies are off the Xbox controller. The gameplay is simple, yet complete. Dynamic, but only confusing for toddlers. Its got several modes of play, massive replay value. For coop, aswell as multiplayer. There's hundreds upon hundreds of hours of gameplay. Skill plays a huge part in this game, not simply experience with the gameplay mechanics. If you're an FPS player, this is pickup and play. Unlike games such as Gears of War, its not necessary to make a vow of solitude to learn to play. Not much more to be said. This game is a 'hall of famer' for sure. Expand
  3. Jan 19, 2011
    10
    Anyone who ever gave this game anything less than a 7 is lying to themselves. It may not be a 10 but you know its pretty damn good. TheAnyone who ever gave this game anything less than a 7 is lying to themselves. It may not be a 10 but you know its pretty damn good. The multiplayer alone should warrant an automatic 9 and when you pile on the deep (and yes, at times convoluted) story it has to be at least a 9.5. If you own an XBOX 360 and have somehow not experienced the excellence that is the Halo series, do yourself a service and pick this up on the cheap. Trust. Expand
  4. MatthewR.
    Sep 30, 2007
    9
    Its amazing how Bungie manages to wow us. The single player is easy but the co-op was really fun with up to 4 players. the graphics were good Its amazing how Bungie manages to wow us. The single player is easy but the co-op was really fun with up to 4 players. the graphics were good but not if you dont have a hd screen . the point of the game isnt its campaign. the point is to get online n play. it doesnt matter if the campaign was boring you should b playing online not on campaign every1 who has played online knows that. i think it was worth getting a 360 over and playing with others online. ithink if u play online you will like it if you dont well ur going 2 not like it. Expand
  5. May 3, 2013
    7
    This is a good FPS game.Beshides having so many confrences and seeing advertisments on G4 all the time,the campagin is good and theThis is a good FPS game.Beshides having so many confrences and seeing advertisments on G4 all the time,the campagin is good and the multiplayer is a lot of fun. Expand
  6. JohnnyD.
    Oct 27, 2007
    6
    Halo basically takes everything that's been done before in FPS games and throws it haphazardly throws it into one box. It has a lot of Halo basically takes everything that's been done before in FPS games and throws it haphazardly throws it into one box. It has a lot of content, but some of the content isn't of high quality. I would rather buy a high quality singleplayer FPS game and another high quality multiplayer FPS game, than buy one game that has mediocre singleplayer and multiplayer. Expand
  7. ChuckieA.
    Sep 28, 2007
    0
    I recently finished the entire game & felt very Satisfied to what it had to offer, then i tried the online play. WOW!!! Incredible!! I could I recently finished the entire game & felt very Satisfied to what it had to offer, then i tried the online play. WOW!!! Incredible!! I could not tell you how amazing it is to play against 40 other players at once, you have to see for yourself. Expand

See all 1037 User Reviews