Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3576 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Halo 3 is the third game in the Halo Trilogy and provides the thrilling conclusion to the events begun in "Halo: Combat Evolved." Halo 3 picks up where "Halo 2" left off. The Master Chief is returning to Earth to finish the fight. The Covenant occupation of Earth has uncovered a massive and ancient object beneath the African sands - an object who's secrets have yet to be revealed. Earth's forces are battered and beaten. The Master Chief's AI companion Cortana is still trapped in the clutches of the Gravemind - a horrifying Flood intelligence, and a civil war is raging in the heart of the Covenant. This is how the world ends... [Bungie] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 86
  2. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. In substance it's nothing new, merely a magnificent, beautiful monster of an FPS sequel. In concept and execution, though, Halo 3 is the future. [Nov 2007, p.80]
  2. 100
    It's hard to imagine a feature of this game that someone won't love... Sure, no one aspect of the game is life-changing on its own, but perhaps the package as a whole is. After all, Halo 3 has enough content to keep you stuck to your controller for weeks, if not months or even years.
  3. 99
    Halo 3 is essential. An Xbox 360 without a copy of the game is like a human without a heart.
  4. Halo 3 takes every positive aspect from the first two Halo games, perfects them, puts them in a shinier and better looking package, tosses in wonderful community-driven content for a console game, establishes some awesome environments, and does it so damn well it's impossible to not have fun while playing.
  5. The combination of the excellent campaign, tried and true multiplayer, and online co-op make this a game that shouldn't be missed by anyone.
  6. What it comes down to is that Halo 3 is still a great playing first-person shooter that manages to get just about everything right.
  7. The ads promise an epic tale of tragedy, sacrifice, and heroism that Halo 3 really had no hope in hell of ever delivering. More troubling, however, is the fact that after playing the game, I can suggest with some certainty that they promised a game that Bungie didn't even bother trying to produce.

See all 86 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. SamJ.
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    Hey Jon W... anyone can finish halo 3 on easy in 2 hours. how bout we sprout some balls and play it on legendary?? might take u a bit longer. have a nice day. sweet game btw Expand
  2. JakeTheSnake
    Nov 2, 2008
    10
    it was one of my favorite games of all time and i mean it from the heart whoever made this game is pure genius and i think its awesome. whoever does not like it is really weird i swear next time another one like this comes out ill pay all the money i got. Expand
  3. TylerI.
    Jan 30, 2010
    10
    As some of you may give this a 0, how can you guive it that. The balance is soo well done online, for wxample the player skill balance. Also each game everyone has the same weapon. You can get shot a few times and still have a chance. Isn't that great? I'm not a big fan of the older campaigns( Halo and Halo 2) I loved this one. Thr levels Tsvaso's Highway to the level Halo is just pure fun on Legendary. But the multiplayer is where the entire community is. You could probably play this game in 2016 and there probably will be at least 500 people on. But now 2.5 years after it 9/25/07 release there are 75,000 to 200,000 people on depending on the time. Just purely one of the best games on the Xbox 360 you can buy!!! Expand
  4. BillyE.
    Sep 26, 2007
    9
    ALL major sequels will have the same gameplay and formula. To expect Bungie to churn out new and fun elements is simply impossible. Forge? Its just a map editor, people say. Saved Films? Nothing that the PC couldnt do. What did you expect from Halo 3? Flying brutes firing rainbows out of their mouths? Grunts that barf lasers? Bungie actually created a system that utilized the new features perfectly, a refined system that bests many other games. THE GRAPHICS. People complaining about this really need to get hit in the head. Maybe the graphics had to be tuned down? The battles in Halo 3 are many times the size of the largest GoW map... GoW 2will have the same gameplay CoD4 will have some nifty features but the same gameplay. Crysis will have the same overused gameplay and is shiny. Haze will have the same overused gameplay. My predictions for the dumbass comments of the games of the future. To people who say Halo 3 is Halo 2.5, you should seriously check out a side by side comparison. There is a difference. Expand
  5. AnonymousMC
    Jul 28, 2008
    7
    To start the single player is average. It's not everything it was hyped up as and definatly not the "best game evar" as nearly every game reviewer on earth and fanboys alike say. It's just another go through the motions FPS that adds nothing new to the genre. Just get the weapon you want shoot enemies then wait through the cut scene to start all over again. Which would be fine. If it was more fun and had a better story. You know change it up a bit yet it just stuck to same old formula of Halo 2. No thinking or strategy is ever needed even on harder levels as enemies get stronger and greater in numbers rather than smarter. The AI is still dumb as hell since you can do things like melee foes to death without the slightest urge for them to move out of your way. The story is like it always was bland and uninspired as I could tell everything that would happend before it played out in the game right down to the ending. To me the whole story lacks good depth that a game should have at this point. And it's all really dishearting that this is probably going to go down as the Mario of my day which is sad cause their is much more deserving games for that title. Some of this games positives it looks excelent, has good controls, and it has numbed down the needler. But let me say those things don't make up for everything else that is lacking with the story mode. But as for the multiplayer I think it is one of the best experiences online (which is why I'm giving it a 7 and not a 5.) I just hope that the next Halo game will deliver cause I think it has the potential to be great it's just that for this series third time was definitely not the charm. Expand
  6. McMastersUniversity
    Sep 27, 2007
    6
    What? That was it? The last section of the game was one of the biggest let downs of all time. Where is the final boss? Wait, that would've meant this game had an actual villain and a story that was meaningful. I found the story in Halo 2 to be very engaging and this time around was a massive disappointment. Additionally, the game felt like the designers viewed this making as a chore as opposed to a fun and artistic experience. The revamped control scheme was pointless and did more harm that good. The new weapons and shield grenades are pointless. Also, this game does not start with the end of Halo 2, nor with how the trailer presents it. All these reviews that give this game 100's must be in the pockets of Microsoft; there is no other explanation. In every aspect this game is worse than Halo 1 and 2. Even the graphics are only slightly better than Halo 2. Maybe Halo 2.2? Ugh, I even avoided the hype and was still let down. Expand
  7. ChuckieA.
    Sep 28, 2007
    0
    I recently finished the entire game & felt very Satisfied to what it had to offer, then i tried the online play. WOW!!! Incredible!! I could not tell you how amazing it is to play against 40 other players at once, you have to see for yourself. Expand

See all 962 User Reviews