Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 99 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1706 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: From the beginning, you know the end. In Halo: Reach, players experience the fateful moments that forged the Halo legend. It's the story of Noble Team, a squad of heroic Spartan soldiers, and their final stand on the planet Reach, humanity's last line of defense between the terrifying Covenant and Earth. This darker story is echoed by grittier visuals amid a backdrop of massive, awe-inspiring environments. Characters, enemies and environments are rendered in amazing detail by an all-new engine designed to deliver epic-scale encounters against the cunning and ruthless Covenant. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 99
  2. Negative: 0 out of 99
  1. Reach is the most spectacularly euphoric hello and goodbye in gaming history.
  2. Overall, Halo: Reach is an amazing title.
  3. If you're a fan of the Halo series and were a little disappointed with ODST and a little apprehensive in purchasing this title, don't be. Bungie have redeemed themselves by not only creating an engaging and coercive story but have brought the game back to its roots and tweaked the gameplay, both offline and online to make this the definitive game of the series.
  4. A beautiful, astoundingly deep - yet very familiar - Halo package. Thanks for the memories, Bungie.
  5. Reach is the best Halo ever created by Bungie. Great graphics, excellent storyline and the usual perfect multiplayer, make this game a "must buy" not for every Halo fan, but also for everyone playing first person shooters. Unfortunately, a 5-hour single-player campaign prevents the game from gaining that perfect score that it would have otherwise deserved.
  6. It maybe not be the perfect ending for the franchise because of its prequel flair, but in the gameplay and story-telling aspects it easily earns the crown of the series.
  7. Halo is still a superlative multiplayer game, and with a group of friends, there's nothing quite like a well-tuned game mode or a white-knuckle finish to a Firefight. It's a shame that Halo: Reach couldn't add $60 worth of improvements to it.

See all 99 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 92 out of 595
  1. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    This game delivered on every front. From the intense single player campaign stuffed with variety to the excellent voice acting, story and sound effects Halo:Reach is an absolute must buy for every Xbox360 owner. It is so rich in content that it can easily race for the top spot among the other heavy weapons in the genre. Although the graphics look quite good they are not on a Gears of War or Bad Company 2 level but they still look very convincing and that improvements are visible. I haven't really had time to dug into the multiplayer part of the game but seeing a lot of official review we can say that Halo: Reach is one of the most rich FPS when it comes to its content. All together if you are an Xbox owner, fond of FPS, have 60 bucks or a fan of the series pick this up! U won't regret it, because Bungie really kept its promise and finished the series with a BANG. Now its only up to Microsoft not to screw it up in the future. Expand
  2. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    I don't like Halo but this game is how every shooter should be designed. It is very well balanced, great online, campaign is epic and I did like the story. Weapons are good, they have added recoil and SWAT is very fun to play- it's the best game mode for any console FPS imo. It deserves a high score. The only problem was the horde mode, which isn't very exciting even if you play around with it on forge or custom game mode. Overall, this is the most complete package shooter on the market today. In the same way that Halo 3 was ahead of its time, this game offers more than the absokute minimum. You get progression in ranking through campaign, co-op, online, horde etc. But being a higher rank or completing challenges doesn't give you any advantage over a new player. Halo Reach delivers quality and quantity on all fronts. Expand
  3. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    This game delivered on every front. From the intense single player campaign stuffed with variety to the excellent voice acting, story and sound effects Halo:Reach is an absolute must buy for every Xbox360 owner. GotY right here folks. Expand
  4. Oct 10, 2010
    9
    This game is a fine edition to the legacy that is Halo. I wasn't that big of a halo fan before but this has really changed my mind. The game has a good story and all the characters which is used to easily make the story much enjoyable. My favorite part is the different types of difficulty and how this game is so replayable. You can start out on easy and get the feel of it, but if you want a REAL challenge go for heroic. If you want to drive yourself mad then go ahead and try legendary. Expand
  5. Jan 18, 2013
    9
    This game has all the intuition of a first person shooter with the advantage of having a team of highly skilled "Nobel" Spartans to back you up. The weapons upgrades that were given as part of this game werre a great leap forward in the technology. Also the advanced sheilding and quicker healing times allowed for more prolonged fire fights when it came down to it with much less need to hide when the going gets tough. The addage "when the going get s tough the tough get going" really comes through in this game. The ending leaves a bit of a hole in my heart with the loss of Spartan 6. Expand
  6. Sep 20, 2010
    8
    Let me begin my review by stating in the past I have liked most of the Bungie produced Halo games, with the exception of ODST. I have enjoyed playing through the campaigns of Halo 1-3 and I cannot tell you how much of my life I have wasted playing Halo 2 and 3 online. If you are like me, then you will probably like Halo: Reach. It is a Halo game. If you have never liked Halo games, you will not like this either. The Campaign is short but sweet, with a lot happening in about a 5-6 hour campaign. There is enough variety in the missions to keep it fresh and as opposed to other popular first person shooters where the landscapes are different shades of gray and brown, Halo: Reach has a lot of bright beautiful settings. The story is also a but more believable than other halo games. You are not an unstoppable god man like Master Chief and it is established fairly early on that you are going to lose, and I for one liked that. The tone of the game is darker and there is a feeling of hopelessness about everything, which is actually an interesting change of pace which I enjoyed. The game does have its problems though. For one, AI driving is still horrible. Secondly, there was not enough character development for the other members of Noble team. I didn't connect with them, I was just plopped into combat with them and expected to care about them. Multiplayer is as fun as ever with new game modes and new forge options. Right now a lot of players don't know what certain game modes are but I'm sure over time players will figure it out. Overall, I think this is the best and most polished Halo game to date. However, that being said, these days it isn't the king of first person shooters. It is a very fun and enjoyable game, but it isn't revolutionary or mind-blowing anymore so while it may be the best Halo game to date, it is certainly not the best first person shooter. All in all, it is a fun game. If you are a Halo fan buy it, the multiplayer will be worth your money alone, but if you never got into halo games, this is not going to convert you. Expand
  7. Dec 15, 2010
    0
    Well as a fan of halo since halo 1 i have to say it feels like bungie said "Call of Dutyize it NOW" and as much as i **** hate cod halo did not feel like halo. halo 1 lan was **** awesome halo 2 online was beast. and halo 3 was awesome. and they said well time to change the formula. so it feels like call of halo. not enjoyable. Expand

See all 595 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  2. Halo: Reach Inside the Reviews

    Halo: Reach: Inside the Reviews Image
    Published: September 13, 2010
    If early reviews hold up, the newest installment in the ongoing "Halo" saga will be one of the year's highest-rated games for the Xbox 360. Take a closer look at exactly why critics are so fired up about "Reach."