Halo Wars Xbox 360

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 470 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 77 out of 470
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AndrewB.
    Mar 3, 2009
    9
    Halo Wars is an incredibly well done console RTS. It doesn't strive to be StarCraft or C&C, it is a HALO game that focuses on battle strategy rather than micro management. Not only does this approach work because it's a HALO game (a series that is centered around the action of the battle), but because it makes the game playable as an RTS on a console rather than a PC.
  2. AbelC
    Mar 13, 2009
    8
    This is a fun game..LIGHT RTS but fun in action. I wonder if it would have gotten better critic scores had it not been part of the Halo Franchise? More Multiplayer Options would have bumped my score. Bottom line is that the game is fun.
  3. vind4looanonamous
    Mar 16, 2009
    8
    Halowars is a great game on the xbox 360, not a fantastic one but a great one. it has the charm of halo, cut scenes to die for and a story which is simple but believable. you can tell that the developers worked hard on this to get the controls right for a joy pad, however it pales in comparison with the computer titles such as dawn of war and age of empires. the multiplayer is a hoot and Halowars is a great game on the xbox 360, not a fantastic one but a great one. it has the charm of halo, cut scenes to die for and a story which is simple but believable. you can tell that the developers worked hard on this to get the controls right for a joy pad, however it pales in comparison with the computer titles such as dawn of war and age of empires. the multiplayer is a hoot and a much needed aspect of the game however much needed updates are in order for it to be triple A quality. this game is definatley worth picking up from a reduce price (£30) however if looking for a triple A game for any platform i strongly reomend dawn of war over this anyday. Expand
  4. JimmieC.
    Mar 3, 2009
    9
    This game is awesome. the graghics are good and the sound is great. playing skirmish matches are fun. the game cool except you can't use the flood and that its to short. I recommend it if your a halo fan who who wants to play something knew or a fan of both.
  5. DanB
    May 2, 2009
    8
    A perfect game for Halo fans like myself. Never got into the RTS genre. Always got boring for me. Well the control scheme is good and the action oriented pace is a breath of fresh air. The cutscenes are beautiful and tell an interesting story in a universe rich with possibilities. Did it make me want to play hardcore RTS', no. But I will give the genre more of a chance rather than A perfect game for Halo fans like myself. Never got into the RTS genre. Always got boring for me. Well the control scheme is good and the action oriented pace is a breath of fresh air. The cutscenes are beautiful and tell an interesting story in a universe rich with possibilities. Did it make me want to play hardcore RTS', no. But I will give the genre more of a chance rather than remember the micro managing boredom of past tries with it. Expand
  6. LeeM.
    Jul 17, 2009
    9
    First Halo was one of the first FPS games to revolutionize how FPS are played on consoles. Halo Wars' is now the first RTS to revolutionize how console RTS are constructed. People who thought this would be just milking of the frachise are wrong unless the definition of "milking" is changed to expanding the boundaries on how genre's of consoles should be made.
  7. GeoffreyC
    Mar 4, 2009
    9
    Don't be fooled by the low user score. This game is a very well made Halo port. It excels in making the RTS accessible for a console, where previously many were overly complicated. The only major flaw in the game is the plot, which for me is why I rated it a 9 and not a 10. However, the cutscenes are nothing short of amazing, far superior to the cutscenes you saw in Halo 3. They are Don't be fooled by the low user score. This game is a very well made Halo port. It excels in making the RTS accessible for a console, where previously many were overly complicated. The only major flaw in the game is the plot, which for me is why I rated it a 9 and not a 10. However, the cutscenes are nothing short of amazing, far superior to the cutscenes you saw in Halo 3. They are arguably movie quality. It also has little in the way of micro, which for hardcore RTS fans might be off putting. All in all, if you like Halo and are eager to try it out in a new setting, this game does not disappoint. Expand
  8. jeycevetta
    Mar 7, 2009
    6
    Halo has just become so over-rated that they are starting to do RTS for it now?? I mean come on sure Halo 1 and 3 were great but those were FPS and that just works for Halo but RTS sadly does not. If Halo Wars was a more position troops here here and here then play that in FPS i think it would live up to all the hype that has been caused by all of this.
  9. MattB
    Mar 16, 2009
    10
    Extremely well made, I found it very easy to use and the controls work seamlessly. Give this game a chance and you'll like it. Yes, the cut scenes are brilliant and look beautiful. Dont judge it just because its an RTS its fluppin good.
  10. HaloGamer
    Mar 19, 2009
    9
    That reviewer from "Gamers' Temple" (54%) is nothing but a Sony fanboy / Halo hater / PC Lover. 1. Comparing RTS games with FPS games (KZ2 no less) & ect...? 2. Comparing graphics from FPS games (KZ2 no less) instead of other console RTS games. 3. It's clear the reviewer only wants RTS games on PC's instead of a console. 4. Because of the reviewers clouded judgements, he That reviewer from "Gamers' Temple" (54%) is nothing but a Sony fanboy / Halo hater / PC Lover. 1. Comparing RTS games with FPS games (KZ2 no less) & ect...? 2. Comparing graphics from FPS games (KZ2 no less) instead of other console RTS games. 3. It's clear the reviewer only wants RTS games on PC's instead of a console. 4. Because of the reviewers clouded judgements, he can't get the facts straight nor do proper research on the game. 5. It's clear the reviewer does not like Halo as a "whole". In summary: The reviewer hated the fact this is a Halo game & the success it's getting. (Sony fanboy / Halo hater) It's only on the XB360 instead of the all mighty PC. (PC RTS Lover) Because of his clouded judgements, can't do proper research on games he's reviewing. Expand
  11. Aug 9, 2015
    8
    I do like this game but I do not like the low unit cap and that it was not released for pc at all. My love for RTS is sorta fulfilled with this game. I do recommend this game to any RTS fans.
  12. DanielS.
    Mar 14, 2009
    10
    Let many gamers who primarily play FPS, I was apprehensive trying a new genre. However, I can honestly say I had a blast playing. The campaign is fun and challenging. The controls are easy. Most missions last, on average, around 25 minutes. I played through the entire campaign on normal and I can
  13. Oct 29, 2012
    8
    Halo Wars brings with it huge feelings of joy and sadness; the joy that comes with a fantastic and hugely immersive title, and the sadness that follows the closure of an epic studio on a high. The action orientated RTS may be light on the RTS aspects in some areas but that by no means detracts away from the gameplay in the slightest. It just gives you a unique experience. Definitely a mustHalo Wars brings with it huge feelings of joy and sadness; the joy that comes with a fantastic and hugely immersive title, and the sadness that follows the closure of an epic studio on a high. The action orientated RTS may be light on the RTS aspects in some areas but that by no means detracts away from the gameplay in the slightest. It just gives you a unique experience. Definitely a must purchase for Halo fans, action fans and those who are turned on by a good story. Expand
  14. KevinT
    Mar 11, 2009
    9
    This is an unexpectedly great game. I enjoy RTS's and I enjoy the Halo games. This fuses them together really well and is also very accessible for those less familiar with the genre. Top game.
  15. Sep 24, 2010
    10
    Halo Wars fulfills Halo: Combat Evolved's origins as an RTS. Ensemble did a great job of simplifying the gameplay so you don't have to worry on Micromanaging and concentrate on making strategic maneuvers. The multiplayer can have 3v3, which is pretty good and mostly the number of players goes above 10,000, probably more than Tom Clancy's EndWar. As for Campaign, the cutscenes are great,Halo Wars fulfills Halo: Combat Evolved's origins as an RTS. Ensemble did a great job of simplifying the gameplay so you don't have to worry on Micromanaging and concentrate on making strategic maneuvers. The multiplayer can have 3v3, which is pretty good and mostly the number of players goes above 10,000, probably more than Tom Clancy's EndWar. As for Campaign, the cutscenes are great, the music is great (thanks to Stephen Rippy), and has little easter eggs for Halo fans. But, it is short and the reason why it is short is because Microsoft cut the budget (Ensemble had plans for a Covenant campaign, probably featuring the Brute Chieftain since he isn't in the main campaign, but the budget was cut and it was scrapped). According to the Guiness Book of World Records 2010 Gamer's Edition, Halo Wars has sold over 1.21 million units making it the Best Selling Console Based RTS. Not bad, huh? And for all those people out there who don't like it because Bungie was not involved, here is an article on what Bungie has to say about it: http://www.bungie.net/News/content.aspx?type=topnews&link=bwusept29osix For what it's worth, Halo Wars is an excellent addition to the franchise, but it leaves a lot of unanswered questions. In any case, this a great game any Halo fan should have as well as to introduce people to the RTS genre. Expand
  16. Apr 18, 2013
    10
    I can say without a doubt, the vast majority of people who did not enjoy this game are either:
    A- Impatient 12 year olds that play nothing but shooters
    B- People which had no taste in strategy games to begin with, preventing themselves from developing a taste for this game. Many friends I have who did not play RTS games before, actually enjoyed this game plenty. C- Snotty PC elitists
    I can say without a doubt, the vast majority of people who did not enjoy this game are either:
    A- Impatient 12 year olds that play nothing but shooters
    B- People which had no taste in strategy games to begin with, preventing themselves from developing a taste for this game. Many friends I have who did not play RTS games before, actually enjoyed this game plenty.
    C- Snotty PC elitists that are mad they can't play the game.
    Give this game a chance, and you will enjoy it.
    Expand
  17. Dec 22, 2011
    9
    My personal opinion over this game influences much of this review since I purely loved this game, an RTS game on consoles is not the best idea but this game changes that. The campaign is not the best thing of this game, it's short and the difficulty unbalanced although the skulls and secrets found there are great and they unlock a Halo timeline that tells you a little about the story. TheMy personal opinion over this game influences much of this review since I purely loved this game, an RTS game on consoles is not the best idea but this game changes that. The campaign is not the best thing of this game, it's short and the difficulty unbalanced although the skulls and secrets found there are great and they unlock a Halo timeline that tells you a little about the story. The campaign is good, but not great and I just wish there was a covenant campaign. This game really shines on multiplayer though since the maps are great, the units more varied and you can play as UNSC or as the covenant and both have different game mechanics. Fighting strategically in 3 vs 3 online matches is just epic and I just can't get tired of playing this game. Overall this game is totally amazing just because of the extremely fun multiplayer, now that the price for this game isn't high at all you should buy it. Expand
  18. FPSMaster
    Mar 4, 2009
    9
    It's an RTS but at the same time it feels exactly, sounds exactly and looks exactly like Halo. What more did people expect? It's not as deep and slow=paced as other RTSes, and that's a GOOD thing. It's supposed to feel like Halo, a fast-paced game. Just wait till you see the 4th or 5th cutscene and you get to see something that's only been talked about for years, It's an RTS but at the same time it feels exactly, sounds exactly and looks exactly like Halo. What more did people expect? It's not as deep and slow=paced as other RTSes, and that's a GOOD thing. It's supposed to feel like Halo, a fast-paced game. Just wait till you see the 4th or 5th cutscene and you get to see something that's only been talked about for years, but we've never actually seen it on-screen. Don't worry, when that cutscene comes around you'll know exactly what I'm talking about and if you're a big Halo fan you may even get a tear in your eye once you see it and hear the Halo monk chanting. All the cutscenes are good enough that the team responsible for them should be tasked with doing the Halo movie in CGI. If you don't like RTSes but like Halo, then this is the game that'll make you respect RTSes more. If you like RTSes and Halo, then this is for you. Just don't go in expecting to be cutting trees down and spending tons of time resourcing. It's all about the combat here. This is not C&C. It's Halo. Reviewers should have thought about that before comparing it to games like C&C and so should gamers. Expand
  19. JohnO
    Sep 6, 2009
    10
    Halo Wars is a fun game though not the most in depth RTS I have ever played it certianly has the best controls of any on the 360. Lets face it if you want to play a deep RTS go play some@adf PC and a C&C or a Civ game if you are looking for a fun RTS on the 360 Halo Wars is pretty fun.
  20. JamieD
    Mar 10, 2009
    7
    This is by far the best console rts game I have every played, it was obviously made with console play in mind. That being said it is incredibly average compared to normal rts. It has a familiar set of characters, and I do love how a Spartan can hijack a Banchi, also the cut scenes are very good. But there is nothing other than previously metioned that set it apart from every single other RTS.
  21. Aug 31, 2014
    10
    This game is amazing i have spent so much time playing it. It was a great way for Ensemble studios to say goodbye. Its beautiful and raises the bar for console RTS games. It has all of the units you love and units you didn't know but you sure as hell would love. The Story isn't really what you would expect from a halo game but hey, this isn't bungie, and isn't master chief. In the campaignThis game is amazing i have spent so much time playing it. It was a great way for Ensemble studios to say goodbye. Its beautiful and raises the bar for console RTS games. It has all of the units you love and units you didn't know but you sure as hell would love. The Story isn't really what you would expect from a halo game but hey, this isn't bungie, and isn't master chief. In the campaign you play as the people from the Spirit of fire, whose captain is captain Cutter. War guy, sergeant Forge and doc Andres along with the AI Serina. I love a good prequel which you learn from. In the skirmish you can play as one of the Covenant leaders (Brute chieftain, Arbiter, prophet of regret) and you can spawn the one you play as in and upgrade and create your awesome one man army. Or you could, at the start send him in early and just destroy the enamy early on. The enemy AI is challenging to and if you play as a human you get a bunch of bonuses that make it fair. READ THIS IF YOu CANT BE BOTHERED to some it up, Good campaign, good story (but still not as good as a bungie halo story) , Amazing skirmish, amazing DLC, Amazing multiplayer, amazing graphics, super simple and a great way for ensemble studios to say good bye. Expand
  22. Sep 19, 2014
    7
    why everyone hate this game because this game is a slow-building game? hello? this game is a "strategy" game. If you're halo fan you should heard about halo wars is going to be "slow-building game" And because of this game is "slow-building game" you guys giving 0,1,2 ARE YOU OUT OF YOUR MIND this is a good solid "strategy" game. This game is rough around the edges but still 0/10? 1,2/10?why everyone hate this game because this game is a slow-building game? hello? this game is a "strategy" game. If you're halo fan you should heard about halo wars is going to be "slow-building game" And because of this game is "slow-building game" you guys giving 0,1,2 ARE YOU OUT OF YOUR MIND this is a good solid "strategy" game. This game is rough around the edges but still 0/10? 1,2/10? If you like strategy games you'll like this one, if you're a person who refers strategy game to "slow-building game" you'll hate this one.i mean seriously Star (user name) did you even see the back of the **** cover? Expand
  23. Nov 14, 2014
    8
    Halo Wars. By FAR one of the BEST games In the series (Next to Reach). Halo wars as you should know is a real time strategy game. You move you troops around. Destroy and build bases, etc... There was some mix in what was good and bad so I'll split it up into categories.

    The Good: Come on! It's a Halo Game! It's also an RTS! Because It's Halo, you really don't need to spend that much
    Halo Wars. By FAR one of the BEST games In the series (Next to Reach). Halo wars as you should know is a real time strategy game. You move you troops around. Destroy and build bases, etc... There was some mix in what was good and bad so I'll split it up into categories.

    The Good:
    Come on! It's a Halo Game!
    It's also an RTS!
    Because It's Halo, you really don't need to spend that much time learning all the Characters.
    Skirmish mode makes for quick battles with the AI
    Campaign has a really great story

    The Bad:
    No saving skirmishes!!! This would be useful as some skirmishes tend to be hours long.
    Game has a lot of glitches that were never patched in skirmishes, as well as online. My warthogs fall off the map frequently (You will learn how to avoid it. It's caused from moving a large amount of troops through a narrow pass)

    Over all this game gets an 8.6 out of 10
    Expand
  24. Mar 19, 2012
    6
    It's not the cheap cash-out a lot of people accuse it of being, but Halo Wars is really nothing special. It's an extremely basic RTS with simplistic gameplay and awkward controls (why it exists on the 360 and not the PC is a mystery). Multiplayer was extremely disappointing - prepare to be warthog or ghost rushed within the first ten minutes of any given game. The biggest redeeming factorIt's not the cheap cash-out a lot of people accuse it of being, but Halo Wars is really nothing special. It's an extremely basic RTS with simplistic gameplay and awkward controls (why it exists on the 360 and not the PC is a mystery). Multiplayer was extremely disappointing - prepare to be warthog or ghost rushed within the first ten minutes of any given game. The biggest redeeming factor is the graphics - Ensemble Studios did a great job of capturing the visual style of the previous games in the series. All in all, Halo Wars is not necessarily a BAD game, but unless you're a diehard Halo fan you're much better off getting your RTS fix elsewhere. Expand
  25. Aug 27, 2010
    9
    If I were told that my studio was about to be dissolved, I would go out in a blase of glory by doing something that conventional wisdom claimed could not be done. I would make history, even if all that it would achieve would be that college students would mention in passing what a bad decision the dissolution was.

    This is what Ensemble did with Halo Wars. As they have done in the past,
    If I were told that my studio was about to be dissolved, I would go out in a blase of glory by doing something that conventional wisdom claimed could not be done. I would make history, even if all that it would achieve would be that college students would mention in passing what a bad decision the dissolution was.

    This is what Ensemble did with Halo Wars. As they have done in the past, they took a popular IP and made an RTS out of it, but this time they made a perfectly functional RTS on a console. This, up until now, was unheard of. Halo Wars might not have been the first RTS, or the best RTS, but it was the first RTS with a good control scheme for a console as a platform. The game itself wasn't bad either, but I give legendary status to the Ensemble team that, in their dying breath as a company, made this game.
    Expand
  26. Jan 6, 2011
    10
    Fantastic in every way, Ensemble have gone with a giant bang! Not only have they nailed down the conversion of halo FPS to RTS, with user-friendly controls, Unit abilities, and mass unit movement controls, the campaign story is great and challenging with incredible CGI cutscenes, arguably the best graphics I've ever seen from any game and incredibly fun multiplayer with enough variety andFantastic in every way, Ensemble have gone with a giant bang! Not only have they nailed down the conversion of halo FPS to RTS, with user-friendly controls, Unit abilities, and mass unit movement controls, the campaign story is great and challenging with incredible CGI cutscenes, arguably the best graphics I've ever seen from any game and incredibly fun multiplayer with enough variety and strategy in the maps and leaders to keep it fresh. In both the campaign and the multiplayer you have to think and be smart, what units should I use, what units might my enemy have, should I attack now, should I build an extra base? Not only this but ensemble have had the generosity to open a huge new section of the halo universe, not just with the story, but with the black boxes, giving you tonnes of halo lore to work your way through. If you don't like RTS's this might actually change your mind (due to the simplistic controls). All in all, this is Console RTS perfection. Expand
  27. Mar 6, 2011
    9
    This is the first RTS I have ever played, and really shows that a RTS can succeed on a console and not only on PC, the controls are outstanding, as are the graphics, sound, and story, a must play for RTS and Halo fans, and for those who want to try an RTS this is a perfect starter, it's easy to approach and is simple to figure out but difficult to master, add some great multiplayer andThis is the first RTS I have ever played, and really shows that a RTS can succeed on a console and not only on PC, the controls are outstanding, as are the graphics, sound, and story, a must play for RTS and Halo fans, and for those who want to try an RTS this is a perfect starter, it's easy to approach and is simple to figure out but difficult to master, add some great multiplayer and you've got a fantastic game. Expand
  28. Nov 18, 2011
    8
    Solid. Halo War's entertains in every way a strategy fan and in the same way a Halo veteran . Taking a franchise to a new genre ( or changing ) is a big risk . But it turns out that Halo Wars is quite addicting and very fun . While I don't feel that blowing sensation like with other strategy games, Halo Wars does it well .
  29. Jul 26, 2011
    8
    This is a very good game not perfect but nothing is, the RTS system is great, build strategies etc are good. campaign can be repetitive, which focus's on establishing a base, building units and destroying all nearby enemies. But that said, this games strength lies in multiplayer. 3v3 max. 3 players vs 3 AI can be a blast the only downside is that it wasn't 4v4, i would of liked a fourthThis is a very good game not perfect but nothing is, the RTS system is great, build strategies etc are good. campaign can be repetitive, which focus's on establishing a base, building units and destroying all nearby enemies. But that said, this games strength lies in multiplayer. 3v3 max. 3 players vs 3 AI can be a blast the only downside is that it wasn't 4v4, i would of liked a fourth friend to of been able to play, he can, but on the side of the AI unfortunately. that said cinematics are fantastic. What you'd expect from a halo branded game. Expand
  30. Jun 21, 2011
    9
    As a huge fan of rts games especially ag of empires, halo wars is by far the best rts on the console today! The user friendly controls make halo wars fun for everyone! I'd recommend this game to all halo fans!
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 92 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 92
  2. Negative: 0 out of 92
  1. Though it's not a first-person shooter, Halo Wars packs all the Halo fixings you've come to expect: an engaging campaign, co-op play, engrossing multiplayer, efficient party-friendly matchmaking, hidden skulls, Legendary difficulty, and impeccable controls. We can confidently say that it's the foremost example of a real-time strategy game done right on a console. [Mar 2009, p.72]
  2. It’s a feeling that never quite dissipates over the game’s core 15 missions, a sense of lean and focused game design which prizes the exhilarating tussle of conflict over long, drawn-out army building. [Mar 2009, p.86]
  3. Halo Wars isn't perfect, but it's a huge step in the right direction for console RTS. For the first time in the sub-genre, I felt like I was playing a game instead of wrestling with a kludged-together control scheme. [Mar 2009, p.88]