Metascore
47

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 15
  2. Negative: 6 out of 15
  1. Sep 26, 2011
    39
    The poor Kinect sensing frustrates, a monotonous level design bores and you'll be quarreling with your friends for constantly ejecting them from the play area/room. Hole in the Wall simply isn't fun.
  2. Sep 19, 2011
    40
    The concept of Hole in the Wall may seem perfect for Kinect but it absolutely isn't. There are only two game modes and the game seems rushed, not always registering your body as it should. All of this adds up to a game that should be ignored by people who have Kinect.
  3. Sep 6, 2011
    40
    It has a lot of motion-detection problems, and requires a lot of space to play, but it can be enjoyable in multiplayer.
  4. Sep 2, 2011
    30
    On the real-life TV programme, it's the usual kind of knockabout fun where not getting knocked into the water provides the goofy incentive. On the 360, though, most of the time is spent mangling yourself into forms that the Kinect sensor has rather too much trouble interpreting.
  5. Aug 30, 2011
    40
    Hole in the Wall might be fun with a couple of friends for a few minutes. But really, the idea doesn't last any longer than that. It gets boring fast and the cheap overall presentation just makes it annoying.
  6. 20
    Sadly, that's not the case in this tremendously poor adaptation, which nauseates from the outset with obnoxious music and garish menus. [Dec 2011, p.73]
User Score
3.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 5
  2. Negative: 3 out of 5
  1. Jun 3, 2013
    0
    The concept of hole in the wall is simple. Your on a platform, moving towards a wall with a hole in it that you need to get into the correctThe concept of hole in the wall is simple. Your on a platform, moving towards a wall with a hole in it that you need to get into the correct shape to pass through. Sounds simple?? It would be if the Kinect would actually get your shape. Also you have to be in the correct spot on the floor. This would be fine if you had a huge playing space but it just does not work. The concept would be good but in reality the game is just broken. You honestly cannot get through any walls let alone a levels worth.
    Hopefully the new Kinect may actually allow this to be playable (Oh wait the old Arcade games do not transfer.... FAIL)
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 12, 2013
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. i literally hate this game. i makes me wanna throw something at the tv... it cannot pick up your motion for anything it take about thirty minutes and it gets boring when it does work. I sugest no one to get this game unless you like to get mad and hit something, Full Review »
  3. Jun 20, 2012
    6
    It's an alright game, in a way it's what you expect from it, but it's surely not an inch more than that. The game gets more fun when you'reIt's an alright game, in a way it's what you expect from it, but it's surely not an inch more than that. The game gets more fun when you're drunk and/or with friends. A major flaw in the game are the shapes themselves, I couldn't fit in most 'standing-up' positions (I stand a bit over 6 foot 2) which had me bending my back in a fashion which the gamemakers surely did not intend. Full Review »