User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 107 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 107
  2. Negative: 32 out of 107

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 10, 2014
    2
    This game is boring as hell, please don't buy it! Even In co-op mode you find yourself always doing the same thing over and over again. Here's how it goes ; a door blow up and a wave of enemies comes at you( I think there's 4-5 different enemies in the entire game), walk a bit, defend a strategic point ( by killing waves ) and then start all over again. Can It be saved by the storyline?This game is boring as hell, please don't buy it! Even In co-op mode you find yourself always doing the same thing over and over again. Here's how it goes ; a door blow up and a wave of enemies comes at you( I think there's 4-5 different enemies in the entire game), walk a bit, defend a strategic point ( by killing waves ) and then start all over again. Can It be saved by the storyline? Not at all ; 2 miserable mercenaries killing monsters. Also It's one of this RPG with no loot and also no point of getting money whatsoever since there's no shop and no upgrades. I was able to do the entire game with the same sword that I had at the beginning, not because I wanted to but because there was nothing else! You get a small skill tree that is totally useless and that's all. It's not like the game was developed by an indie company, it was made by Bethesda softworks!!! This game is bad and it will hunt me for the rest of my life. Expand
  2. Feb 16, 2013
    4
    I really wanted t like this game, I really did. Tgis game just isn't very interesting though. Even the constantly jiggling elf get boring after a while
  3. Jan 30, 2013
    5
    this game is good for about 2 chapters the you begin to find its problems. buy this game if you're one of the following:

    1. You like fighting waves and waves of uninspired and identical enemy over and over again 2. You can swallow a rpg with weapon choices fewer than your fingers 3. You find it reasonable epic weapons sucks worse than normal weapons 4. You have no where else to spend
    this game is good for about 2 chapters the you begin to find its problems. buy this game if you're one of the following:

    1. You like fighting waves and waves of uninspired and identical enemy over and over again
    2. You can swallow a rpg with weapon choices fewer than your fingers
    3. You find it reasonable epic weapons sucks worse than normal weapons
    4. You have no where else to spend money

    I gave this a 5 because it entertained me for about the same number of hours, fun initially, but no, this game sucks
    Expand
  4. Jan 5, 2012
    9
    I bought this game without reading the reviews, and I'm glad I did, because the abundance of negative reviews are very wrong. The game seemed like it would suck in the first couple minutes because it's very difficult, but I found I couldn't give it up. I'm about 3 hours into the story and it's not an amazing story like portal or Skyrim, but it is pretty interesting considering it's aI bought this game without reading the reviews, and I'm glad I did, because the abundance of negative reviews are very wrong. The game seemed like it would suck in the first couple minutes because it's very difficult, but I found I couldn't give it up. I'm about 3 hours into the story and it's not an amazing story like portal or Skyrim, but it is pretty interesting considering it's a brand new storyline nobody knows much about. The combat is really amazing, I don't know how reviewers hate it so much. It's very difficult to get used to, but you just need to taken a very defensive form of combat. Rushing into three guys and expecting to come out alive is just not going to happen. Poking your head up with five archers taking aim at you is not a good idea either. so you really need to use the camera to scout out the area and plan out what you'll do, like figuring out which archer would be easiest to hit if you pop out for a second with your aim ready. The melee combat with the warrior is also hard, a lot of blocking is required. A lot of reviewers hated on the lighting too, and it's pretty frustrating to go through an entire hallway in pitch black, but it really makes the game interesting because I'm pretty sure I've missed plenty of secrets I'll have to go back and look for later. Overall, it's a difficult game. I think the best way to describe it is realistic. You can't carry around a thousand items with you and mass sell them to a vendor later. You can carry two weapons, a couple potions, and a couple revive potions for when your partner dies. Your character only takes a couple hits especially at melee, so you really need to focus on dodging, not half ass it like so many other games do. Think of it like two real people (no infinite inventories, no brushing off damage from attacks) going through the dungeons. Very hard, but very fun game to master. It may seem boring and stupidly hard in the first half hour or so, but hopefully you'll see how addicting it is also. I'm already craving more of it lol. Expand
  5. Nov 4, 2011
    5
    I loved this game at first, but the linearity and lack of progress kind of ruled out the whole RPG aspect of it. It started out great, but eh.... fell flat eventually.
  6. Sep 9, 2011
    4
    Easily one of the worst games of the year, this glitch-fest is as dull as dungeon crawlers come. With minimal amount of story and character development, poor enemy A.I. and enough glitches to force you to restart checkpoints several times throughout, you can only hope that no one from Bethesda who worked on this game put too much time in Skyrim. Otherwise it could be a rough year overallEasily one of the worst games of the year, this glitch-fest is as dull as dungeon crawlers come. With minimal amount of story and character development, poor enemy A.I. and enough glitches to force you to restart checkpoints several times throughout, you can only hope that no one from Bethesda who worked on this game put too much time in Skyrim. Otherwise it could be a rough year overall for on the industry's bigger developers. The only way I would recommend playing this game would be if you got it as a gift and had absolutely nothing else to play. Steer clear in all other cases. Expand
  7. Sep 1, 2011
    8
    Disclaimer: Haven't Finished Only played single player and I traded a battle of JD to get the game. Good buy I think. Would I pay full price for it . . . No Is it a good game yes. I Just started Chapter four and only stopped because I realised how late it was. No its not a great story RPG no it doesnt not Have a great combat system. What the game does though is think more about how youDisclaimer: Haven't Finished Only played single player and I traded a battle of JD to get the game. Good buy I think. Would I pay full price for it . . . No Is it a good game yes. I Just started Chapter four and only stopped because I realised how late it was. No its not a great story RPG no it doesnt not Have a great combat system. What the game does though is think more about how you will win the fight and try to be smart about things. Resources are scarce or at least in times of need they are. I read lots of complaints about graphics. . . Maybe its just me but their not THAT bad. It doesnt detract from the game as you play but yes they are not top notch by any means. I hear a few complain of glitches the only glitch I have ran into is health vials where if you start standing on a health vial and use one you have it grabs the one you are standing on and it doesnt go into your inventory. Fix: stand away from it use the health vial you have wait for the sound to go off then go pick up the new vial. Overall the game is simple but fun and its cool how you get more inventory and power as you unlock talents rather then just earn them on a lvl system. Read a few complaints about the skill trees. Again I like them because simply they cover the bases of what you need ice slows fire dmg in an area arcane takes care of shield. so on as so forth. Simple but covers it. Also nice is if you explore and get the crystals you dont have to be too picky on wich skills you get because you should be able to get a lot of them. I think the games but enough new twists on things making it fun and easy to play. Expand
  8. Aug 4, 2011
    6
    This game is only playable in co-op. It's quite fun that way. The single-player experience is atrocious though. The game is also ugly as sin. Too bad the graphics don't match its awesome soundtrack.
  9. Jul 27, 2011
    4
    I was thoroughly disappointed by Hunted: The Demon's Forge, being a fan of RPG's and Third Person Shooters, the concept of a Gears of War meets Dungeon Siege game appealed to me instantly. Upon playing the game I was less than impressed, yes the game is about dungeon crawling for loot and dungeons are typically dark, but when you have to turn the in-game brightness and the brightness onI was thoroughly disappointed by Hunted: The Demon's Forge, being a fan of RPG's and Third Person Shooters, the concept of a Gears of War meets Dungeon Siege game appealed to me instantly. Upon playing the game I was less than impressed, yes the game is about dungeon crawling for loot and dungeons are typically dark, but when you have to turn the in-game brightness and the brightness on your TV to maximum just to barely make out where you are going, you know you are in for a frustrating experience. An equiptable torch or lantern would have been nice, as it gives off the impression the development team were so ashamed of the bland visuals they felt it neccessary to enshroud them in darkness. There is the odd nice looking vista, but these are few and don't make up for the fact you are constantly wandering around blind. As for gameplay, an area that shouldn't be too hard to get right in an action RPG, the game just becomes even more annoying. Elara who is the elven bow master barely inflicts any damage even with the strongest of bows while Caddock the warrior is overwhelmed and has his health drained so quickly you wonder if the core gameplay was ever tested at all. You'd think the game's co-op would be its saving grace, but this just highlights the character's weak health limits even more as you both constantly scramble to revive each other with the limit of 3 health potions each, the cropped splitscreen view doesn't help things either. On the whole it was a game with a lot of potential, but due to weak story, bad dialogue, boring characters, bland graphics and frustrating gameplay it fell pretty far from expectations. The only reason it gets a 4 instead of a 3 is because it is longer than the current trend of 6-hour games being released at the moment. Expand
  10. Jul 22, 2011
    6
    Its out dated graphics and maneuvering system make Hunted a downer for most gamers who have anticipated its wannabe Gears-Dungeon Crawler enthusiasm, but its overall combination of cooperative gameplay and plot twists is quite what made it a unique addition to the genre, the characters are memorable, with their comical sense of humor that adds what sees like a favourable personality toIts out dated graphics and maneuvering system make Hunted a downer for most gamers who have anticipated its wannabe Gears-Dungeon Crawler enthusiasm, but its overall combination of cooperative gameplay and plot twists is quite what made it a unique addition to the genre, the characters are memorable, with their comical sense of humor that adds what sees like a favourable personality to each and every one of them, and the game's hack n' slash controls are what make the game worth the while even if it leans towards a specific type of audience. Expand
  11. Jun 25, 2011
    8
    Does anybody remember Enclave from a few years back? If you cross-bred that game with Gears of War, Hunted would be the result (should have been called Gears of Enclave). The game isn't begging to be played - nothing about it is extraordinary - but it does a good job of delivering on its promise, and manages to tell a more-interesting-than-usual (for a game of its type, anyway) story. IDoes anybody remember Enclave from a few years back? If you cross-bred that game with Gears of War, Hunted would be the result (should have been called Gears of Enclave). The game isn't begging to be played - nothing about it is extraordinary - but it does a good job of delivering on its promise, and manages to tell a more-interesting-than-usual (for a game of its type, anyway) story. I found Hunted to be enjoyable as both a single-player and multiplayer experience; the combat has a brutal, satisfying feel to it and the graphics frequently look impressive, even during the chaotic battles, while the story and environments are interesting enough to keep you going through to the end. Weapon loot and leveling mechanics are limited, but the emphasis in this game is on the combat, which is awesome. I found myself constantly surprised by the map layout, expecting linear levels but finding all sorts of dungeons and places to loot. My biggest complaint about the game is regarding the gold - I didn't realize until about halfway through the game that the only point in collecting gold is to get high scores and unlock stuff for Crucible, rather than letting you buy and sell stuff with merchants. Hunted is a solid game that doesn't pretend to be anything other than what it is: an above-average hack-and-slash game that you can play with a friend. Don't expect it to revolutionize gaming for you, but if it seems like your cup of tea, you could do a lot worse than picking up Hunted. Expand
  12. Jun 23, 2011
    7
    First off, I'd like anyone reading this reviews to know this is a decent game. If you like a good hack and slash with lite rpg elements and fantastic co-op play give it a chance. To everyone who bags on it for having a bit dated graphics I feel no sympathy for not every game is going to have amazing graphics and if you put graphics ahead of gameplay you are shallow but hey your loss. ToFirst off, I'd like anyone reading this reviews to know this is a decent game. If you like a good hack and slash with lite rpg elements and fantastic co-op play give it a chance. To everyone who bags on it for having a bit dated graphics I feel no sympathy for not every game is going to have amazing graphics and if you put graphics ahead of gameplay you are shallow but hey your loss. To anyone who expected one thing and got another you are an idiot, its like saying I expected a elephant but found a zebra so I hate it. As for the game itself its a hack and slash with a small skill tree system and stat building progression based on kills and finding certain things. Each character plays differently and has abilities that reflect their play style. E'lara is the ranged fighter of the pair, and uses a bow to snipe enemies via third-person mode similar to something like Gears of War. Caddoc is the "tank" of the pair and uses a sword and board to dispatch his foes, and also I might add makes a handy decoy. The games story line is pretty cut and dry, their is bad guys doing bad stuff and your getting paid to put them in their place. My only real complaint about the combat system is that the spells are pretty useless and your better off just sticking to your weapons and buy only the weapon based abilities. Ultimately in the end the game could have used a little more polish but overall it makes for a great co-op game if your looking to just mindlessly slash your way through a pretty standard fair hack and slash. This game will never be a big hit, but if you have a weekend to kill and a buddy rent this game or at least wait for a price drop to buy it. Expand
  13. Jun 20, 2011
    0
    crap crap crap crap!!!!! glitches galore, restarting last checkpoints to make a cutscene work, boring enemies, im not even going to mention the b button cutscenes were your forced to watch these two idiots walk through skinny passage ways, or open doors, or jump a 4ft gap. This game was rushed, and if it wasnt then shame on the creators. every once in a while i take a 59.99 plus tax chancecrap crap crap crap!!!!! glitches galore, restarting last checkpoints to make a cutscene work, boring enemies, im not even going to mention the b button cutscenes were your forced to watch these two idiots walk through skinny passage ways, or open doors, or jump a 4ft gap. This game was rushed, and if it wasnt then shame on the creators. every once in a while i take a 59.99 plus tax chance on a game i dont know much about this game reminds me not to do that. Horrible graphics, voice overs and a lack luster adventure. great concept bad follow through. i hope i can get at least 20 bucks when i trade it in tomorrow but i doubt it. Expand
  14. Jun 15, 2011
    10
    I would contend that this game has the best cooperative system since 007. That's a hard bargain to drive to the old school Tom Clancy heads but I'll stand my ground! I don't know why it's received such marginal scores; probably the weak marketing attempts by Bethesda.
  15. Jun 14, 2011
    6
    First off, you HAVE to play this game on co-op. If you play this game alone it will not be fun.
    Hunted is a game for people who really enjoy playing co-op game with a friend. If you liked playing games like Army of Two the 40th day you'll enjoy playing this too. The focus is on action, and action it is. The story is bad, but it's not essential for a title like this. Worth the cash if you
    First off, you HAVE to play this game on co-op. If you play this game alone it will not be fun.
    Hunted is a game for people who really enjoy playing co-op game with a friend. If you liked playing games like Army of Two the 40th day you'll enjoy playing this too. The focus is on action, and action it is. The story is bad, but it's not essential for a title like this. Worth the cash if you have a friend to play with.
    Expand
  16. Jun 12, 2011
    6
    This game is very orignal and sometimes exciting, but some parts drag on and get boring. The story is boring and the crucible is repetitive. I have found myself wanting to quit several times.
  17. Jun 11, 2011
    1
    Though it is promoted as a hack and slash game the characters are fragile and underpowered. If combat becomes heavy the "tank" completely lacks the toughness to take the hits or the stopping power to dominate mobs. The archer is even more fragile and the bow lacks impact. In multiplayer get used to watching your partner bleed to death on the ground because you can't stock up on healthThough it is promoted as a hack and slash game the characters are fragile and underpowered. If combat becomes heavy the "tank" completely lacks the toughness to take the hits or the stopping power to dominate mobs. The archer is even more fragile and the bow lacks impact. In multiplayer get used to watching your partner bleed to death on the ground because you can't stock up on health vials.

    To add to the fun what little progress we have been able to make in multiplayer has been lost on 2 occasions, for example we were at stage 2.1 and next time we came to play we were locked to 1.2. After the second time being knocked back as much as a full level of progress I give up on this dog.

    I might somewhatly enjoy this game if I'd spent $5 on it, but having paid full price really stings. i could have spent the money on a decent game.
    Expand
  18. Jun 11, 2011
    6
    What's the line, you can never change first impressions? That was my first run in with Hunted. A grainy cut scene about muddy brown bricks and then Caddoc in a dark cave. Simply put one of the more lackluster beginnings. I was ready to coasterize that disk right then and there but damn it if I'm not a sucker for hot elves.

    As it turns out I slowly began to like Hunted as I went
    What's the line, you can never change first impressions? That was my first run in with Hunted. A grainy cut scene about muddy brown bricks and then Caddoc in a dark cave. Simply put one of the more lackluster beginnings. I was ready to coasterize that disk right then and there but damn it if I'm not a sucker for hot elves.

    As it turns out I slowly began to like Hunted as I went through. Once I found a slow and powerful bow that somewhat felt like archery (instead of some rapid auto arrow attack like the others) and once we got into a dungeon where the graphics and lighting seemed to improve drastically, I was having fun.

    Not much else to say really. Characters were serviceable, as was the story, dialogue, and combat. On the whole nothing to get too excited about but I was interested enough to finish it. A discount purchase through the slow summer months me thinks.
    Expand
  19. Jun 10, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The day this game came out, I had a little bit of sympathy, as there were barely any reviews for the game. So I decided to give this game a try, hoping that because it was a Bethesda game, it would be a hit or a miss game. The result? In the middle really. When the person behind the desk told me a bit about the game, he told me it was a little bit like Enslaved: Odyssey to the West. And he was right: It is a â Expand
  20. Jun 10, 2011
    7
    To appreciate Hunted you've got to get past the abysmal voice acting, the fact that the game looks like an early PS2 game, and the hugely tedious first level. These are quite a large hurdles to overcome when you first sit down with the game but stick with it because once you get to the second level the game turns into quite an enjoyable dungeon crawler. It's not a groundbreaking game, andTo appreciate Hunted you've got to get past the abysmal voice acting, the fact that the game looks like an early PS2 game, and the hugely tedious first level. These are quite a large hurdles to overcome when you first sit down with the game but stick with it because once you get to the second level the game turns into quite an enjoyable dungeon crawler. It's not a groundbreaking game, and it feels VERY rough around the edges, but it becomes quite compulsive to play with the its combat/reward gameplay.

    The game describes itself as a fantasy version of Gears of War which it's absolutely not, it's a modern take on Golden Axe.
    Expand
  21. Jun 9, 2011
    8
    Here lies one of the first games I've purchased for quite some time that wasn't at least partially based on metacritic score. I went out and blindly picked it up, due to it being co-op and role playing/dungeon crawler. It was a hybrid I've been dying to see, and the fact it sported both elements, I had to get it. Now, where I think this game fails is in it's overall marketing. It's not aHere lies one of the first games I've purchased for quite some time that wasn't at least partially based on metacritic score. I went out and blindly picked it up, due to it being co-op and role playing/dungeon crawler. It was a hybrid I've been dying to see, and the fact it sported both elements, I had to get it. Now, where I think this game fails is in it's overall marketing. It's not a great Gears of War type game. It's not really like gauntlet. Hell, it's not even like diablo. It's not really like much except for it bares a striking resemblence to one of my all time favorite games in the past few years..... Demons Souls. Now how could this be? Well, for two reasons. 1. It's more physics based in it's fighting, in that if an enemy has a shield you either have to figure out how to get behind it, or how to strike at the very moment the enemy is open. I love this sort of fighting. Call me crazy, but I do. 2. It's scary, and the set pieces are quite dark. Demons Souls was set in dungeon like hell. This is hell. I love the moodiness, and the occasional enemy peeking his head out of darkness to slash your face. So yes, reviewers are hating this game. Maybe due to it's false promises of being the best Co-Op out there.... and I could agree. But I am quite surprised by the overall review score from critics. They say the graphics are bad, which is wrong. They are dated, but not bad. They say it's broken technically, which is true occasionally, but I can't count how many time Fallout broke, and for some reason that was ok. They have even mentioned that the combat is boring, which is completely wrong. It's a step up from games such as fable, and for sure more compelling than games like Gauntlet, Diablo, and many other dungeon crawlers. At least the characters equipment levels up, and you can use more than one button to fight. This one perplexes me. It's a great new IP, and though it's slightly flawed, it sure doesn't ruin the experience. I can only say great things about the game. It's left me hooked from beginning to end, and I'm a huge RPG and crawler fan. So I leave with this. Either believe the reviewers who have spent 2 hours giving this game a chance or try it yourself and find out over the 10 or so hours that it's for sure a contender for best new IP thus far this year... Expand
  22. Jun 5, 2011
    9
    I REALLY dont get the low marks some are giving this game.. We need to drop this mentality these days,that if a game is not absolute perfection,its therefore rubbish.& marking them down,just because its not their cup of tea.This is a solid game,that has nothing wrong with it.People are overly,& unnesassarily fussy & overpicky these days..I can see people concluding from the prologI REALLY dont get the low marks some are giving this game.. We need to drop this mentality these days,that if a game is not absolute perfection,its therefore rubbish.& marking them down,just because its not their cup of tea.This is a solid game,that has nothing wrong with it.People are overly,& unnesassarily fussy & overpicky these days..I can see people concluding from the prolog level,that the graphics arnt that great.Well after that level,they're signifacantly better,& i'd say the the standard of graphics is pretty good.Graphics aside,the gameplay is solid,with well paced tactical combat(Yes,you can block with your shield,& both characters can do ranged & melee attacks,but each character is better at each).Fun Shooting & cover system,Online & offline Split-Screen Co-Op,& great little details like your shield takes damage(even visibly)& will need replacing when it fails,& blood on your characters,to a trail you can call up(if you so wish)that leads you on the right way,& another to the other character,which is good for people like my girlfriend,who gets lost easily.Various areas to explore & find items.Its a big game too.Anyone who likes the look & sound of this game,will probably like it,I certainly do,& am having alot of fun with it.Try it with an open mind,& Decide for yourself.I Hope theres a sequel. Expand
  23. Jun 5, 2011
    9
    I'm glad i picked this game up despite some low review scores from ign and gamespot. Sure there are a few bugs and some interface inconsistency issues, but nothing that's distracting to the fun of playing the game. The game's graphics perfectly fit the gritty dark world its trying to portray. If you don't care for them, that doesn't make them poor. Sure some of the animations are aI'm glad i picked this game up despite some low review scores from ign and gamespot. Sure there are a few bugs and some interface inconsistency issues, but nothing that's distracting to the fun of playing the game. The game's graphics perfectly fit the gritty dark world its trying to portray. If you don't care for them, that doesn't make them poor. Sure some of the animations are a bit chunky, but most of them being supernatural, it doesn't seem as off. Furthermore the game is a flat-out blast to play. Solo or with a friend. The AI does a great job of making you feel like you aren't alone. It also does a fairly good job of healing you as well. The 2 characters bantering makes them feel more alive. It also doesn't shove the backstory initially down your throat, you slowly learn more about these characters and their can't-judge-a-book-by-its-cover personalities.

    You have to really manage your skills well, and switch them out at appropriate spots if you are having difficulty. The games magics are fun, the graphics/animations could be a bit better on the spells but its still fun to use. The same goes with the characters. Switching them out whenever you would like would be nice, but its not a dealbreaker in any way.

    Overall this game could use a bit more polish but it is very much a capable and extremely enjoyable to play. I hope we see more where this came from.
    Expand
  24. Jun 3, 2011
    2
    Amazing. Simply amazing.
    I' m a french user and it's the first time the dubbing is really killing a game...... just awfull, pathetic..... i really lack words to describe the french version (most french version are bad, but here it's far worse than bad). And not just dubbing/actor plays, even the translation is catastrophic as much of speeches have no sense at all. Too bad 'cause the game
    Amazing. Simply amazing.
    I' m a french user and it's the first time the dubbing is really killing a game...... just awfull, pathetic..... i really lack words to describe the french version (most french version are bad, but here it's far worse than bad). And not just dubbing/actor plays, even the translation is catastrophic as much of speeches have no sense at all. Too bad 'cause the game have some things that are not so bad : the universe is nice, coherent (at least graphically, hard to say for the story....), coop play, dungon editor...... but also gameplay a little light (especially rpg part) and not well balanced at all. Overall an average game that is more than drag down here in france by it's pathetic adaptation. Please, next time just add subtitles like Rockstar studio.
    Expand
  25. Jun 3, 2011
    8
    Know what you want out of this before you buy it. This game is pretty old school, and not for everyone. Probably what hurt it most was it being announced as everything (hack-n-slash, co-op, rpg, gears of war, etc.). People go in with high expectations that it will have everything and anything. This game isn't really that much about story telling or deep character building and involvement,Know what you want out of this before you buy it. This game is pretty old school, and not for everyone. Probably what hurt it most was it being announced as everything (hack-n-slash, co-op, rpg, gears of war, etc.). People go in with high expectations that it will have everything and anything. This game isn't really that much about story telling or deep character building and involvement, since you're just a couple of friends destroying everything in sight for loot you can't spend. But you know, if on the couch you're a couple of friends just looking to destroy everything in sight, it works out pretty good.
    The gameplay works out pretty cool when people really know what they're doing and coordinate things. Personally, I recommend starting on the Forge for a couple hours to get used to the game. The controls aren't bad, they just take some getting used to. The AI isn't awful (see brink), but it can't replace a person. The press might have confused the purpose of this game, but it's pretty simple. The game is mostly a means to deliver you into combat. I'm all for that. I don't need to stash a hundred bows or paint my character to be happy in a fantasy setting. I can accept when in a fight, I need to rely on my partner to get the job done. Honestly I thought it's graphics were good. Not every game can afford the millions spent on art of most AAA titles, and the style of this game is well done and well presented. So take from this what you will. If you want deep character building, a heart touching story, or to collect all the loot in the world, you'll probably hate this. If you and a buddy want to thrash some orcs and skeles in a tag team fight, then you'll probably like it. I am kind of disappointed after watching development for so long. I think it really could have been great. They wanted to skip the B.S. and go right to the action, but they lost too much along the way.
    Expand
  26. Jun 2, 2011
    2
    I really wanted this game to be good. I love top-down dungeon crawlers, action RPG's, and fantasy games in general and have been looking forward to this game almost since it's announcement. That being said, I was really disappointed with this game. Money is too hard to come by now to just throw it at any game that comes out and this game is not worth the money; if I had known just howI really wanted this game to be good. I love top-down dungeon crawlers, action RPG's, and fantasy games in general and have been looking forward to this game almost since it's announcement. That being said, I was really disappointed with this game. Money is too hard to come by now to just throw it at any game that comes out and this game is not worth the money; if I had known just how bad it was I wouldn't have bought it at all. Even if the price is substantially reduced I will not re-purchase it. I got lucky and bought mine pre-owned, the first bad sign (I bought it pre-owned on the day of it's release!), so I was able to return the game for a full refund. I brought my copy home eagerly threw it in my xbox and was immediately unimpressed. The graphics at the menu were atrocious and that filled me with some worry. Once the game started it was obvious that there is a serious lack of graphical prowess and for a game hyped that much it should have been at least a little nicer. The introduction hastily introduced the main characters without really giving us any reason to care about them at all, the voice acting was horrible (even Lucy Lawless couldn't help this game out; her voice acting was just as bad as the main characters). Once again I have to go back to the graphics. What the hell were they thinking!? My wife usually will sit with me when I get a new game to check it out to see if she wants to play it and she couldn't even stand watching it for more that 15 minutes! This is supposed to be an action RPG but there is no inventory at all; all you can do is switch out your current weapon and only have one piece of armor at a time. In a hack and slash you would also think that there would be some potion inventory to regain health or mana but you could only carry one of each at a time. the combat was lackluster at best. I never actually felt drawn into the game. The archer shoots as if she is on speed or cocaine and the warrior can't take a hit to save his life. Whats the point of designing the dynamic around tanking with the warrior while the archer picks them off from afar when he goes down like a sack of dirty laundry when ever a few enemies get too close. I didn't try the co-op at all. I couldn't force myself to play the game anymore; i have no idea if it is any good or if it is broken as some claim. If the developer had spent just a little more time tweaking the graphics and the controls and added some sort of inventory system this could have been a playable game but as it stands right now I don't see much value in this game. If I were thinking about buying this game I would wait if I were you. This was completely disappointing. Expand
  27. Jun 2, 2011
    8
    Ok, it is not Skyrim and it is not Crysis 2 pretty--let's get that out of the way. InXile brings a rather fresh; however not new, take to the Fantasy genre. Hunted is a must play for all fantasy lovers. It might not be the sharper most beautifully rendered game out today but what it does, it does well. It has interesting environments and ideas. I commend the developers for offering a funOk, it is not Skyrim and it is not Crysis 2 pretty--let's get that out of the way. InXile brings a rather fresh; however not new, take to the Fantasy genre. Hunted is a must play for all fantasy lovers. It might not be the sharper most beautifully rendered game out today but what it does, it does well. It has interesting environments and ideas. I commend the developers for offering a fun and varied experience. The Crucible Editor is a first for me within this genre in a console. The co-op is pure fun and the fact that SplitScreen works well is great to share with friends and family. I hope we, gamers, continue to support games like this in order to break with the usual molds and empower new developers to continue to build up and transform the usual. Thank you InXile and Bethesda for giving them the opportunity. I am really enjoying the experience HUNTED brings and looking forward to see some more DLC and support. Expand
  28. Jun 2, 2011
    9
    This game is like a gears of war in a fantasy setting. It is very fast paced. The coop has a lot of elements that make it different from other coop games.
  29. Jun 1, 2011
    9
    I have only just started playing this game and so far I am pretty impressed. The presentation is a bit lacking and the voice acting for Caddoc I feel doesn't suit him that well. The game is linear and the graphics are not as good as Gears of War, but they are still good enough. Gameplay is very similar to Gears in a lot of ways. I am loving the humour though and it's good to see that thisI have only just started playing this game and so far I am pretty impressed. The presentation is a bit lacking and the voice acting for Caddoc I feel doesn't suit him that well. The game is linear and the graphics are not as good as Gears of War, but they are still good enough. Gameplay is very similar to Gears in a lot of ways. I am loving the humour though and it's good to see that this game doesn't take itself too seriously. If you are playing single player then I would probably rate 7 out of 10, but I think this game really comes into its own in co-op and deserves an 8.5 or 9 out of 10 if you are playing with a mate. There really is not much lacking in this game and with a bigger budget, more polish and more variety/customisation could be something really special. Hopefully a sequel will accomplish this and realise it's full potential. Expand
  30. Jun 1, 2011
    1
    I bought this game with my friend today because we wanted a good co-op experience. When the game loaded up, I thought I was playing a Dreamcast game. We booted up splitscreen and it melted my eyes. After 4 hours of mind numbing, pointless gaming, we returned the game. The gameplay is actually quite difficult for a hack and slash, which wouldn't be a problem if it actually hadI bought this game with my friend today because we wanted a good co-op experience. When the game loaded up, I thought I was playing a Dreamcast game. We booted up splitscreen and it melted my eyes. After 4 hours of mind numbing, pointless gaming, we returned the game. The gameplay is actually quite difficult for a hack and slash, which wouldn't be a problem if it actually had replayability. It isn't fun redoing an hour of work because you can't save. Or get a checkpoint. Don't buy this spawn of satan. Please. Expand
  31. Jun 1, 2011
    10
    Positive review = InXile? Stop being a bunch of irrational children and assuming it's somebody it's not. Oh snap, someone likes the game - time to disbelieve and conjure up a childish excuse as to why *YOU* disagree. I bought this game this morning and I'm still having run with the game. Control scheme is pretty seem less and the graphics do not look too bad on a 240hz LED TV. (Seems aPositive review = InXile? Stop being a bunch of irrational children and assuming it's somebody it's not. Oh snap, someone likes the game - time to disbelieve and conjure up a childish excuse as to why *YOU* disagree. I bought this game this morning and I'm still having run with the game. Control scheme is pretty seem less and the graphics do not look too bad on a 240hz LED TV. (Seems a little washed out to me) I only wish there a bigger RPG element to the game such as levelling up. I give this game an 8, but with all the people under 13 writing reviews, I'll leave this at 10. Maybe someone else will assume I work for InXile. :) Expand
  32. Jun 1, 2011
    7
    For all u dumbasses out there Bethesda didn't make the game they published that's it. All they did was write the checks for what enXile did. On that note the game is ok graphics are alright but not spectacular , and for the regards that think its a dungeon crawler should be punched in the face cuz its not and its not supposed to be. Get Dungeon Siege 3 when that comes out. So shut the help up.
  33. Jun 1, 2011
    2
    Here is the straight scoop on this one. Avoid at all cost. I put this game in and I swear to god I thought I was looking at a PS1 game. The graphics are that dated. The animation on the enemies awful, the story been there done that. Your character shouts out the same few lines over and over which gets old real quick. The level design uninspired, the loot hunting boring, even the text andHere is the straight scoop on this one. Avoid at all cost. I put this game in and I swear to god I thought I was looking at a PS1 game. The graphics are that dated. The animation on the enemies awful, the story been there done that. Your character shouts out the same few lines over and over which gets old real quick. The level design uninspired, the loot hunting boring, even the text and UI looks like it was stripped out of a game made in the 90's pre-next gen. The co-op online is serviceable but how much longevity you can suck out of this will depend on weather are not the community buys the game and I do not see alot of support for this game in the coming months. Very, very disappointed. Wait a few days and save your sixty dollars for either Infamous 2 or Red Faction. Or better yet go back and play or pick-up the excellent L.A. Noire. "Pass" -Stu- Expand
  34. Jun 1, 2011
    7
    OK, the user reviews on Metacritic are getting ridiculous. I understand kiddies on the net like attention and like to exercise their fanboy muscles whenever they can, but with comments from users like ALL you might as well just shut down the user review section. Since the DA2 debacle, gamer kiddies are overly anxious to flash rate games down or up without having played them and to getOK, the user reviews on Metacritic are getting ridiculous. I understand kiddies on the net like attention and like to exercise their fanboy muscles whenever they can, but with comments from users like ALL you might as well just shut down the user review section. Since the DA2 debacle, gamer kiddies are overly anxious to flash rate games down or up without having played them and to get internet attention for their "heroic" efforts. So now you have users like ALL saying that anyone who writes something positive about Hunted has to be a company employee, which is inane, childish drivel. READ ALL's review - is there anything, ANYTHING about that review that suggests this reviewer has even played the game? Nope. Like a ton of the game user reviews lately, it boils down to "OMG the worst ever" or "OMG the best ever." One of the most obvious signs is his comment that exploration is non existent (still in anti-DA2 mode, I'd say, and anxious to start up that party again) which is totally untrue, as anyone should know by the time they exit the first dungeon in the game (you'd have to have exited having missed the treasure hunt which requires exploration, for a start). The type of post from ALL is not a review, it is an internet disease.

    I'm only about close to the end of chapter 2, and my biggest complaint with Hunted is that it feels rather clunky and bit awkward overall. The controls, camera and combat are a bit clumsy, and take some getting used to. During the prologue and during about the first hour of the game, I was feeling mostly disappointed. By the time I finished the first chapter, which requires a very long dungeon crawl, I was warming up to it and I'm now enjoying it. It's an odd mix of stripped down as an RPG and not stripped down in that I can imagine a good deal of gamers who are unfamiliar with RPGs will be a bit confused by things that are not explained as clearly as they could be (such as the very first time you encounter enchanted weapons stands, where it took me a while to figure out how to get inside the room to get at them). Voice work is good, the graphics are mixed - I find they look quite good in places, but uninspired and a bit ugly overall elsewhere. One aspect I'm not crazy about it you are often entering one way doors which prevent you from going backward and exploring an alternate route or an area you hadn't gotten to yet, which feels a bit like an way to artificially get people to reply chapters. Judging by the first long dungeon, they may be the strongest aspect of the game, as they have a surprising variety and change in appearance a good deal (not like cut and pasted caves etc you sometimes encounter in RPGs). Textures seem better in these more enclosed spaces as well, as some of the exteriors have a sort of chunky design where low res textures jump out at you. The character models are passable, but nothing special. One fairly unique quality is some areas in the first dungeon are very DARK, darker than you find in most RPGs and there is a pretty pronounced "horror" feeling in some areas, where cries and screams and ominous music work to a good effect. The difficulty feels like it was given a bit of a Demon's Souls inspiration in spurts, as you will suddenly encounter some enemies who are capable of taking away most all of your health with a successful attack, and it feels a bit out of balance with other enemies in the game. The dead bodies you find on the ground add notations to your journal which instruct you on how to beat specific enemy classes, so it's spelled out for you in a more obvious way than Demon's Souls trial by fire and learn from your mistakes model. It's no Demons's Sous, and it's no The Witcher 2, but Hunted is proving to be entertaining and quite passable in my book. I would expect that critic reviews will wind up somewhere between a 70 and an 80.
    Expand
  35. Jun 1, 2011
    10
    Wow..so much drama for a game.. Its an RPG. COD Fan boys (which i assume are the neg reviewers) wont care for a game like this but people who have a broad interest in RPGs and Gears alike should give it a try.. Im having fun with it.
  36. Jun 1, 2011
    10
    i would also give this game an 8.5 or a 9, but due to the trollers who gave it a zero without even playing the game. im gonna give it a 10. the only thing wrong with this game is that the graphics arent that great. but seriously? who cares about the graphics when youre having fun? i still play duke nukem 3d and zombies ate my neighbors. anyway, controls are fine, gameplay is good, story isi would also give this game an 8.5 or a 9, but due to the trollers who gave it a zero without even playing the game. im gonna give it a 10. the only thing wrong with this game is that the graphics arent that great. but seriously? who cares about the graphics when youre having fun? i still play duke nukem 3d and zombies ate my neighbors. anyway, controls are fine, gameplay is good, story is awesome, co-op is fun and the crucible is great. the sound fits well and the soundtrack compliments the setting. if you are look to go out and get something fun to play with a friend, i definitely recommend this game. i sat down with three friends for about 4 hours and they all went and bought a copy shortly after. we're all HUGE Gears of War fans as well, even though this isnt your typical shooter it did the job for us. its an interesting change of pace and a good one.i'd recommend it. Expand
  37. Jun 1, 2011
    9
    So far I have played this game's 1st Hour FOUR TIMES. I had to try out both characters and I had to do it again in Split screen. I LOVE WHAT I SEE SO FAR!!!! The controls are great. The graphics are VERY GOOD, on par with GEARS. The controls also on par with Gears. The story is cool so far, and the characters have PERSONALITY. They are not carbon cut outs. They have their own style andSo far I have played this game's 1st Hour FOUR TIMES. I had to try out both characters and I had to do it again in Split screen. I LOVE WHAT I SEE SO FAR!!!! The controls are great. The graphics are VERY GOOD, on par with GEARS. The controls also on par with Gears. The story is cool so far, and the characters have PERSONALITY. They are not carbon cut outs. They have their own style and life to them. This is one of the BEST games have bought this year. GREAT JOB inXile!!!!!!! You put in that work and it SHOWS!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  38. Jun 1, 2011
    0
    Overall, this is an incredibly fun game. I love a good coop game, and they really delivered with this. Plays a lot like Gears of War, but in a dark fantasy environment. That said, I wish it was a tad heavier on the RPG-aspects. Plenty of gameplay and variety to keep me hooked, especially with the 'Crucible' portion of the game - you can spend hours just designing maps. Great setting,Overall, this is an incredibly fun game. I love a good coop game, and they really delivered with this. Plays a lot like Gears of War, but in a dark fantasy environment. That said, I wish it was a tad heavier on the RPG-aspects. Plenty of gameplay and variety to keep me hooked, especially with the 'Crucible' portion of the game - you can spend hours just designing maps. Great setting, unique story and concept, and it comes together nicely. Some of the graphics seemed a bit dated - like the design of magical weapons - but the addicting gameplay and epic boss battles make up for it. I hope others take this concept and run with it. Imagine this game design mixed with the loot/rpg elements of a Diablo/Torchlight... I'm getting fired up just thinking of it.

    ****
    Expand
  39. Jun 1, 2011
    6
    I have No idea why there are so many 10s for this game, while Hunted is not a bad game, it definitley is NOT a 10

    me and my brother played half the day and made it to chapter 2, I also messed around with the level editor until I learned what I could do with it The game plays fine once you've figured out the controls and what each character is meant for If you have a buddy great, if
    I have No idea why there are so many 10s for this game, while Hunted is not a bad game, it definitley is NOT a 10

    me and my brother played half the day and made it to chapter 2, I also messed around with the level editor until I learned what I could do with it

    The game plays fine once you've figured out the controls and what each character is meant for
    If you have a buddy great, if not the A.I. takes over and that's fine the A.I. has not let me down yet

    Hunted is a very linear game which is fine so long as its a long game and from what I can tell it should be but if thats a huge problem then you should get Hunted, not even the level editer will save you here

    What I did not like the varity of monsters, while we have not gone very far into the game ( I hope) there have only been about 4 different types Spiders, swords guys, shield n sword guys, and armor guys

    The cover system hardly works the way I would like it to, which is exactly when I don't want it, causing my brother to die while I tried to run for a potion to save him only to be forced into cover when I run past a rock

    Hunted, even at its easiest seeting Hunted can be difficult thanks to its health system forcing you to die over and over again to figure out how to get past some parts
    ex. walk down the stairs and get sniped (k we know there's snipers)
    Die again (k we know where they are now)
    Die again (gotta kill these other guys that pop up to kill the snipers)
    Die again (both of us have to kill the other guys then the snipers)
    Made it, low hp, no potions
    O hi theres two big guys now

    Overall the game has many flaws but none of them are truly game breaking, once (or if) you make it over that first hump of frustration you and your buddy (or A.I.) will find some enjoyment with the game

    I'd reccomend you rent Hunted first to see if its your thing, if not you saved yourself some money
    Collapse
  40. Jun 1, 2011
    10
    I happen to really like this game. You may not be able to explore anywhere you want but I don't remember dungeon crawlers being totally open for that anyway. I love being able to play with my son and not having to buy a second game to do it. The story doesn't strike me as anything new and great but in time where co-op dungeon crawlers like Baldur's Gate are non existent this fills the voidI happen to really like this game. You may not be able to explore anywhere you want but I don't remember dungeon crawlers being totally open for that anyway. I love being able to play with my son and not having to buy a second game to do it. The story doesn't strike me as anything new and great but in time where co-op dungeon crawlers like Baldur's Gate are non existent this fills the void and offers hours of fun. Expand
  41. Jun 1, 2011
    5
    Bethseda latest venture into rpg/action is a mixed bag full of average graphics, poor sound design and is the most crashtastic game since fallout new vegas. Now a lot of people are saying different things in the reviews, I think they should be addressed.

    Graphics: The graphics are low tech, about the same as lower end first gen xbox/PS3 games. The enviroments are poorly shadowed,
    Bethseda latest venture into rpg/action is a mixed bag full of average graphics, poor sound design and is the most crashtastic game since fallout new vegas. Now a lot of people are saying different things in the reviews, I think they should be addressed.

    Graphics: The graphics are low tech, about the same as lower end first gen xbox/PS3 games. The enviroments are poorly shadowed, there is alot of chopping, and while the main two character have a average level of quality, the enemies look awful. I would say this is closer to a korean free to play rpg but more of them have better graphics then this.

    Sound: Wait, there are sound effects in this game. With the exception of the occasional good quality voice acting the rest of the sound and music to this game is a wash. Ambient sounds and music are present but do little to enrich the experience of the game; often do little to separate the enviroments.

    Gameplay: It seems they when for a hack and slash/ shooter mix, the problem is neither of them are fully flushed out systems. There are 9 melee/ranged attacks and 9 spell attacks which are gained through collection of deathstones. While 9 attacks are acceptable, length of time required to unlock them and the usefullness of them make it pointless to have them. This game also suffers from typical Betheseda games super crashing syndrome. The basic controls and attacks are very poorly executed, the melee auto-targeting system is more often your enemy then your friend. The ranged attacking system on the other hand is a straight cookie cutter ranged attack from any adventure game made after 1995 which is not nessesarly a bad thing but nothing special. Every 10-40 minutes of game play you can expect to have to reset your system due to the game crashing.

    Multi-player: A co-op action adventure game, wow what a great idea. play this game with a friend it was designed for it and at least that way you and your friends can take turns resetting the game after it crashes. The hardest part of multiplayer is convincing somebody to continue playing after the 4th game crash.

    Overall: Do not buy this game, rent it. Play this with a friend (Your legs will get sore after the 100th time the game crashes). The graphics, gameplay, and sound all speak of a game that was of average quality for a first generation xbox/ps3 game. There are alot of games that do this and do it better, same your self the time and go rent Army of Two or even play the old Balders gate games on the previous gerenation systems.

    The Reviews: Why are some people giving this game a 10, 9 or anything higher then a 6. It's easy, because some people actually bought this game before renting it. So instead of admitting they got punked they feel the need to tell everyone how great the game is. No matter how many problems a game has they or how bad a game is there will always be people who buy them then need to defend their purchase; if you need proof of this read the reviews for the Iron Man games. The odds that the people that created the game are righting reviews is slim afterall they most likely don't know metacritic exists since they obviously think this is still 2006.
    Expand
  42. Jun 1, 2011
    4
    4.0 I was expecting a great fantasy action/rpg game but it's not this the case: Hunted is very boring and repetitive, the graphic is old, very old-gen, the animations are chunky and there are very few numbers of moves and combo. The magics are realized in a very bad way, they don't seems powerful and they don't look cool...The skills are very limited, the Rpg side of the game is very4.0 I was expecting a great fantasy action/rpg game but it's not this the case: Hunted is very boring and repetitive, the graphic is old, very old-gen, the animations are chunky and there are very few numbers of moves and combo. The magics are realized in a very bad way, they don't seems powerful and they don't look cool...The skills are very limited, the Rpg side of the game is very poor...But most of all you can't switch between the 2 characters whenever you want, you can switch only when you find a kind of purple stone...so if choose the wrong hero you have to keep it until the next check-point/stone or reload the check-point...what a stupid system is this!! The dialogues are ridiculous (the warrior is afraid of the insects!!! and the elf seems talks like an erotic line...This game is ugly, is not funny and it's not worth your money...this is not a game to sell out in 2011, that's all! (sorry for my bad English anyway :)!) Expand
  43. Jun 1, 2011
    10
    i love this game, been playin with my wife co-op and a single player playthru...it's addicting grafix r a couple years ago but it plays well and the controls are tight
  44. Jun 1, 2011
    10
    So trolling metacritic and giving games 0's and 1's is the thing no life nerds are into these days. Metacritic does not seem to mind people bashing games they never played as long as it results in hits.

    Hunted is a fantastic game and I'm quite certain people are not ignorant or dumb enough to believe the troll reviews. Buy it...rent it...just play it and you will be rewarded with quality
    So trolling metacritic and giving games 0's and 1's is the thing no life nerds are into these days. Metacritic does not seem to mind people bashing games they never played as long as it results in hits.

    Hunted is a fantastic game and I'm quite certain people are not ignorant or dumb enough to believe the troll reviews. Buy it...rent it...just play it and you will be rewarded with quality entertainment.
    Expand
  45. May 31, 2011
    7
    This game plays like Gears of War for the hack and slash set, so if that is your cup of tea you will like this game. Very linear, exploration is limited to areas they allow you into. Stupid tricks like allowing you to jump down in certain areas and not others, go under things in one place that they want you to go with their cute little graphic but not allow you to go into others. ItsThis game plays like Gears of War for the hack and slash set, so if that is your cup of tea you will like this game. Very linear, exploration is limited to areas they allow you into. Stupid tricks like allowing you to jump down in certain areas and not others, go under things in one place that they want you to go with their cute little graphic but not allow you to go into others. Its not really an RPG because there is no role playing. No customization of the character, no conversation options, no variation of outcome. They have a small amount of customization of spells and weapon damage effects but it is really minimal. No inventory, no potions, no crafting. Just kill NPC's and collect cystals for your ingame damage buffs and gold to spend in the arena (Crucible) area. Voice acting is actually top drawer Haven't gotten around co-op yet but as far as I can see it is the only reason to buy the game. There are better sword and sorcery games out there and better bow and blade combat games. This game is a rental at best. Expand
  46. May 31, 2011
    8
    If you are looking for a co-operative adventure or longing for a new action-adventure game in general this is the perfect pickup. So Stay inside.. Away from the heat.. Grab a cold one, and a friend..And play this awesome c0-0p game!!!
  47. May 31, 2011
    10
    Ok, I doubt its THAT bad guys, I'm beginning to think that the people posting bad reviews are the actual fakees trying to start flame wars. I'm getting the game in the mail soon, so I'll post a review when I get it.
  48. May 31, 2011
    10
    Epic FAIL Bethesda on this game - worst split screen co-op game i've ever seen can't believe i spent the money on this. The co-op mode is simply terrible, stressful play, unable to navigate properly and kept getting stuck in spaces. Split screen mode was barely visible on our 42 inch screen tv, can't imagine playing this on anything smaller.. TRULY DISAPPOINTED on game release day, whatEpic FAIL Bethesda on this game - worst split screen co-op game i've ever seen can't believe i spent the money on this. The co-op mode is simply terrible, stressful play, unable to navigate properly and kept getting stuck in spaces. Split screen mode was barely visible on our 42 inch screen tv, can't imagine playing this on anything smaller.. TRULY DISAPPOINTED on game release day, what a let down. Expand
  49. May 31, 2011
    8
    This game is pretty cool. It's has puzzle solving, magic and a good co-op mode. Graphics are decent. Some guy wrote on here that it looks like a game from 1999. I question if that guy was a gamer back in 1999. I was. The graphics won't blow you away but they're good. Weapons to find and pick up, powers to upgrade. Yeah, this game rocks. And no, I am not a InXile employee thank youThis game is pretty cool. It's has puzzle solving, magic and a good co-op mode. Graphics are decent. Some guy wrote on here that it looks like a game from 1999. I question if that guy was a gamer back in 1999. I was. The graphics won't blow you away but they're good. Weapons to find and pick up, powers to upgrade. Yeah, this game rocks. And no, I am not a InXile employee thank you very much. Expand
  50. May 31, 2011
    8
    Just picked up this game today for xbox, being a big fan of RPGs. Firstly,and most importantly, the gameplay is solid, definately fun and very satisfying. The graphics are good but this is no skyrim/oblivion. The animations are well done but there are a few instances it can look a little "off" , such as vaulting over cover,but if you're like me and can look past minor details you won'tJust picked up this game today for xbox, being a big fan of RPGs. Firstly,and most importantly, the gameplay is solid, definately fun and very satisfying. The graphics are good but this is no skyrim/oblivion. The animations are well done but there are a few instances it can look a little "off" , such as vaulting over cover,but if you're like me and can look past minor details you won't mind at all. The areas have a little exploration but not a lot from what I can tell. I'm only an hour or two in the game so i cant speak for anything past where i am now in act 1.

    The combat is fun, and while both characters can use melee its very clear E'lara is not meant for melee, its more for those last resort close quarters situation. For the most part the ranged hit detection is fantastic but can ne slightly off at times,but not by a gameplay affecting margin.

    The characters personalities seem well developed, good humour, especially welcomingduring those anticipation moments while exploring that extremely dark corridor. The Ai iis done well,but like any game its just an AI, they will stick close to you for the most park, occasionally lag behind around a corner,but will quickly catch up. Also if you get incipacitated, they will almost immedietely revive you, even if theyre engaging multiple enemies.

    There is no standard inventory, instead you pick up Items on the go, replacing gear as you please, for e'lara, you can have a primary and backup bow, sword and shield, and one armor slot. Same goes for caddoc except its a backup melee weapon. Early in the game shields deteriorate reletively quick,be warned. Also,the AI makes good use of picking up new items. Lastly there are numerous skills and talents to unlock,gow crystals, each upgradable with three different perks, which have different benefits. Finally,I gave this game an 8 simply because of a general lack of deep exploration,nothing like oblivion,but something less linear would have been good, again I'm not far at all, and i know this isn't a free roam game. And because of minor bugs that sometime confuse me (crosshairs turning green on an enemy) for a second before turning red, and the awkward animations (theyre not tjat bad really). I'm enjoying this very much.
    Expand
  51. May 31, 2011
    8
    Got a friend with an xbox and spare 60 bucks? Whether the answer is yes or no still grab them. This game delivers with great coop gameplay both online and split screen. For me this will be the game that will tide me over till Dungeon Siege 3 comes out and who knows, maybe this game will be my next resident evil 5 (played that game till it wore out FYI). Like others have said, some graphicsGot a friend with an xbox and spare 60 bucks? Whether the answer is yes or no still grab them. This game delivers with great coop gameplay both online and split screen. For me this will be the game that will tide me over till Dungeon Siege 3 comes out and who knows, maybe this game will be my next resident evil 5 (played that game till it wore out FYI). Like others have said, some graphics are a bit dated but honestly who sits and stares at the weapons. Expand
  52. May 31, 2011
    9
    Finally a good cooperative rpg/hack n slash experience. Coop works amazing and the specific character abilities made it interesting and necessary for teamwork through every part of the game so far. Controls are great and make dodging and pulling off abilities in a jam easy. Graphics are not the best but are not any worse than Dragon Age. If you are looking for a fun and entertainingFinally a good cooperative rpg/hack n slash experience. Coop works amazing and the specific character abilities made it interesting and necessary for teamwork through every part of the game so far. Controls are great and make dodging and pulling off abilities in a jam easy. Graphics are not the best but are not any worse than Dragon Age. If you are looking for a fun and entertaining cooperative rpg then this game is the ticket. Good job inXile Expand
  53. Jun 1, 2011
    0
    I have No idea why there are so many 10s for this game, while Hunted is not a bad game, it definitley is NOT a 10

    me and my brother played half the day and made it to chapter 2, I also messed around with the level editor until I learned what I could do with it The game plays fine once you've figured out the controls and what each character is meant for If you have a buddy great, if
    I have No idea why there are so many 10s for this game, while Hunted is not a bad game, it definitley is NOT a 10

    me and my brother played half the day and made it to chapter 2, I also messed around with the level editor until I learned what I could do with it

    The game plays fine once you've figured out the controls and what each character is meant for
    If you have a buddy great, if not the A.I. takes over and that's fine the A.I. has not let me down yet

    Hunted is a very linear game which is fine so long as its a long game and from what I can tell it should be but if thats a huge problem then you should get Hunted, not even the level editer will save you here

    What I did not like the varity of monsters, while we have not gone very far into the game ( I hope) there have only been about 4 different types Spiders, swords guys, shield n sword guys, and armor guys

    The cover system hardly works the way I would like it to, which is exactly when I don't want it, causing my brother to die while I tried to run for a potion to save him only to be forced into cover when I run past a rock

    Hunted, even at its easiest seeting Hunted can be difficult thanks to its health system forcing you to die over and over again to figure out how to get past some parts
    ex. walk down the stairs and get sniped (k we know there's snipers)
    Die again (k we know where they are now)
    Die again (gotta kill these other guys that pop up to kill the snipers)
    Die again (both of us have to kill the other guys then the snipers)
    Made it, low hp, no potions
    O hi theres two big guys now

    Overall the game has many flaws but none of them are truly game breaking, once (or if) you make it over that first hump of frustration you and your buddy (or A.I.) will find some enjoyment with the game

    I'd reccomend you rent Hunted first to see if its your thing, if not you saved yourself some money
    Collapse
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 59 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 59
  2. Negative: 5 out of 59
  1. Oct 19, 2011
    78
    Brian Fargo's new pet project turned out to be a cross-breed of Gears of War and God of War. Medieval co-op experience is somewhat nice snack between larger meals. The team has worked in haste, which can be seen in almost every aspect. There's a lot of potential, which has been sadly wasted. [Aug 2011]
  2. Sep 16, 2011
    40
    Hunted: The Demon's Forge suffers from an identity crisis. It can't quite figure out if it is a thirdperson shooter or a action RPG. The combat tendens towards being boring and the level design is less than inspirational. Some of the side quests are good, but that's just not enough for this game.
  3. Aug 6, 2011
    65
    If you're not sure on the game, wait for a price drop or two, and a weekend where you and a buddy don't have much to do.