User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 31
  2. Negative: 4 out of 31

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 9, 2012
    10
    I am loving Hybrid from loadouts and guns that feel completely different from eachother, to perks that are really unique, like poisoned bullets and a grenade that turns a person's drones against them. Movement takes some times to get used to but then but the 3-D arenas with cover points upside down and on the side of walls make it well worth the time to get to know. Once you understand theI am loving Hybrid from loadouts and guns that feel completely different from eachother, to perks that are really unique, like poisoned bullets and a grenade that turns a person's drones against them. Movement takes some times to get used to but then but the 3-D arenas with cover points upside down and on the side of walls make it well worth the time to get to know. Once you understand the overworld metagame of slowly capturing regions throughout the world it is very compelling and I am exited to get home a play more. I wish the metagame's world map was online so I could check it while at but I tweeted 5th Cell and they said, "Maybe Someday" Expand
  2. Oct 1, 2012
    10
    The concept Hybrid is built around is the same concept that made Gears of War groundbreaking and led to many clones, "cover shooter". However, Hybrid avoids being a clone by doing something no other game has done. It removes everything else. When I first heard that, I was intrigued, and a little worried. Finally my intrigue won out and I bought the game. It was an excellent decision.The concept Hybrid is built around is the same concept that made Gears of War groundbreaking and led to many clones, "cover shooter". However, Hybrid avoids being a clone by doing something no other game has done. It removes everything else. When I first heard that, I was intrigued, and a little worried. Finally my intrigue won out and I bought the game. It was an excellent decision. This is a shooter that is easy to pick up and play, and rewards fast paced, charging headlong into battle, mad rushes. Yet there is still a strategy to the game, and knowledge and application of solid tactics is rewarded. This is easily my favorite shooter on Xbox, and I'm a shooter fan. My *only* concern is that later in its life matches may be hard to come by, being online only. Collapse
  3. Aug 9, 2012
    7
    Hybrid is an interesting and solid 3rd person shooter from 5th Cell, the developer of the wonderful Scribble-naughts series. After playing the game for a few hours though one can't help but feel this fun arcade game could have been so much more. The shooting is great but it's limited. The main movement choices you have are to fly to certain barriers, vault them to the other side, andHybrid is an interesting and solid 3rd person shooter from 5th Cell, the developer of the wonderful Scribble-naughts series. After playing the game for a few hours though one can't help but feel this fun arcade game could have been so much more. The shooting is great but it's limited. The main movement choices you have are to fly to certain barriers, vault them to the other side, and strafe around while flying to and fro. The problem is that's it. The flying is a blast too but you don't get the full control that you want. That's my main issue with the game, other than that it's a pretty basic standard shooter. I feel though the perk of this game is it's unique approach to everything and how it's limited, but you can go a few different places with it. The multiplayer set up is interesting as well, you can pick certain districts to fight in, say there's a battle for an area in America that is basically Washington, Oregon, and Idaho state combined, and 5th cell provides districts like that for every continent and it's kind of a cool perk. It's graphically adequate, the character models and some customization are good but it's nothing jaw dropping. There's a story somewhere but it doesn't really matter as this is strictly a multiplayer shooter and nothing else, but a good one. With all that said and done, I only wanted to play it in bursts and for $15, you might want to wait for a "Deal of the Week" drop like with Deadlight. There is fun to be had, but there could have been so much more. Expand
  4. Aug 10, 2012
    8
    This is pretty good. Interesting design and fun in multiplayer. Seems a good level of entry at the moment as have only been completely whipped on a couple of games. I like the way the objective games seem to work even without too much co'ordination of your team. Reminds me of Gears of war with small teams and quick. Worth a go of the demo.
  5. Aug 20, 2012
    8
    Great game. Although there are 1 or 2 bad maps and a particular weapon which gets on your nerves(im not going to give anyone ideas). Otherwise the game is amazing and definitely worth the money.
  6. Sep 7, 2012
    8
    Hybrid è uno shooter decisamente sui generis destinato a suscitare pareri contrastanti tra tutti coloro che decideranno di concedergli una possibilità all'interno di un settore, quello degli shooter online, molto affollato e con esponenti di qualità.

    Il giocatore prenderà parte ad un conflitto che vede contrapposte due fazioni: quella dei Variants e quella
    Hybrid è uno shooter decisamente sui generis destinato a suscitare pareri contrastanti tra tutti coloro che decideranno di concedergli una possibilità all'interno di un settore, quello degli shooter online, molto affollato e con esponenti di qualità.

    Il giocatore prenderà parte ad un conflitto che vede contrapposte due fazioni: quella dei Variants e quella dei Paladins, che si contendono, oltre a fette di territorio, rappresentato graficamente proprio come il mondo reale all'interno della mappa in-game, anche la preziosissima materia nera, il cui possesso è alla base del conflitto. Il tutto si svolgerà all'interno di dieci mappe, suddivise in 6 modalità di gioco, che vanno dal classico Deathmatch a Squadre ad un'originale modalità e vedranno sempre fronteggiarsi due squadre da tre elementi ciascuna.
    Fin qui nulla di nuovo sotto il sole, ma basta addentrarsi nel tutorial per capire che ci troviamo di fronte a qualcosa di differente. L'avatar che controlleremo, infatti, non potrà muoversi liberamente all'interno della mappa, ma solamente da una copertura all'altra tramite il suo jetpack, sfruttando ogni angolo della mappa 3D, senza nessuna preoccupazione della forza di gravià o se le coperture si trovano al livello del pavimento o al livello del tetto, dal momento che possono essere utilizzate indistintamente entrambe.

    L'apparente limitatezza dei movimenti eseguibili: volo da una copertura all'altra, strafe lungo la copertura e passaggio da un lato all'altro inizialmente lasciano supporre che gli scontri abbiano un respiro tattico piuttosto limitato, ma in realtà non è assolutamente così per una serie di motivi: innanzitutto durante il volo da una copertura all'altra sarà possibile sia sparare agli avversari che cambiare direzione rispetto a quella scelta inizialmente nel caso in cui cambiassero le "condizioni" rispetto al momento della partenza. Eseguendo poi delle sequenze di uccisioni, otterremo dei bot che ci daranno una mano enorme nell'eliminazione degli avversari. Una gestione accorta dei bot e la conoscenza delle mappe avranno un impatto devastante sulle partite . Altro aspetto fondamentale in Hybrid è l'estensione delle mappe, che è limitatissima, ma proprio per questa caratteristica gli scontri sono molto frenetici e sempre sul filo di lana, dal momento che una sequenza di uccisioni effettuata nel momento giusto può realmente cambiare le sorti della partita. La personalizzazione dell'avatar, infine, è esattamente ciò che ci si aspetterebbe da uno shooter del 2012: le possibilità di personalizzazione sono numerosissime ed anch'esse hanno impatto consistente sul gameplay e sulla crescita del personaggio.

    Hybrid è invece nella norma dal punto di vista tecnico: grafica e sonoro non fanno gridare al miracolo e sembrano già viste in decine di produzioni del genere.

    Tirando le somme, Hybrid è un buon titolo, che ha dalla sua delle idee di base piuttosto originali, ma si inserisce in una nicchia di mercato in cui è difficilissimo emergere, considerando il prezzo di 1200 Microsoft Points non certo abbordabilissimo. Consigliato una volta che uscirà in Deal.

    Voto: 7,5/10(www.videogiocare.org)
    Expand
  7. Jul 1, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing i love it at first i thought the concept was strange but later on it became addicting. All of the guns and grenades and the abilities are amazing me and my friend love this game we play it all the time some times you get a little tired of it but once you take a little break then go right back boom your sucked in again. The 3rd person shooter aspect is awesome its theThis game is amazing i love it at first i thought the concept was strange but later on it became addicting. All of the guns and grenades and the abilities are amazing me and my friend love this game we play it all the time some times you get a little tired of it but once you take a little break then go right back boom your sucked in again. The 3rd person shooter aspect is awesome its the very first one i've ever played and i love it its so cool also adding the duck and cover type feel makes it war like and i feel awesome. Expand
  8. Dec 7, 2013
    9
    The game is one of the best shooters I ever played the game is disappointing because 3 people per team is a bit low maybe 4 would be better. But this game worth a look at.
  9. Oct 1, 2012
    0
    The concept Hybrid is built around is the same concept that made Gears of War groundbreaking and led to many clones, "cover shooter". However, Hybrid avoids being a clone by doing something no other game has done. It removes everything else. When I first heard that, I was intrigued, and a little worried. Finally my intrigue won out and I bought the game. It was an excellent decision.The concept Hybrid is built around is the same concept that made Gears of War groundbreaking and led to many clones, "cover shooter". However, Hybrid avoids being a clone by doing something no other game has done. It removes everything else. When I first heard that, I was intrigued, and a little worried. Finally my intrigue won out and I bought the game. It was an excellent decision. This is a shooter that is easy to pick up and play, and rewards fast paced, charging headlong into battle, mad rushes. Yet there is still a strategy to the game, and knowledge and application of solid tactics is rewarded. This is easily my favorite shooter on Xbox, and I'm a shooter fan. My *only* concern is that later in its life matches may be hard to come by, being online only. Collapse
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. Sep 23, 2012
    70
    Like tuna salad in the sun, Hybrid is decent while we write, but it's definitely a case of eat it now or eat it never. [Issue#89,p.83]
  2. Sep 18, 2012
    60
    Seasonal faction war and unlock tiers provide depth. The small maps and limited movement will not appeal to some players, though, and the inclusion of cash-for-unlocks does not belong in a full-priced arcade title. [Oct 2012, p.53]
  3. Sep 16, 2012
    88
    By spicing up the mechanic that is used so often in games with more going for them, Hybrid proves its worth as a definite gaming gem, and is well deserving to be given a shot by gamers everywhere.