Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 54 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 31 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Running at 60 FPS, Hybrid introduces intuitive flight-based cover-to-cover movements to create a unique shooter experience. Hybrid features character customization through upgradeable weapons, abilities, and upgrades with over 10 different maps and 6 unique game modes, and an offlineRunning at 60 FPS, Hybrid introduces intuitive flight-based cover-to-cover movements to create a unique shooter experience. Hybrid features character customization through upgradeable weapons, abilities, and upgrades with over 10 different maps and 6 unique game modes, and an offline practice arena. Set on Earth in the year 2032, the world was sent into turmoil when an alien species unexpectedly appears. Hybrid centers around a worldwide conflict between that species known as the Variant and a rebel human faction called Paladins. Players will be enveloped in a massive world war where every battle, in every district, factors into the status of the worldwide conflict and builds upon the unique persistent experience of Hybrid. [5th Cell] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. Sep 4, 2012
    90
    Addicting and fun, Hybrid proves to be a fresh and enjoyable experience on the XBLA. You will easily get your $15 out of the experience thanks to the drive to come back and get to the next level.
  2. Aug 13, 2012
    83
    But still, it's definitely worth checking out. Hopefully the server and connection issues can get ironed out over the next couple weeks, because this is a multiplayer experience that I'd like to see continue on for a while, and can see myself jumping back into whenever I have some free time. Despite some of those issues, I definitely think it's worth the asking price, and think you'll find that it is too.
  3. Aug 20, 2012
    80
    In a crowded market, it's extremely refreshing to see a developer trying something that's so completely different from everything else out there. The cover-based flight combat is a brilliant idea that fits in perfectly with the overall tone of the game.
  4. Aug 13, 2012
    76
    This is a really good game that would be a nice compliment to any shooter fan's library. And for 1200 MS Points, it's hard to argue the price.
  5. Aug 17, 2012
    70
    It's walking down a treacherous path being online only and offering some quite forgettable maps. The lack of bot play means that the 1200 point asking price could end up being all for nothing in the future, which is quite a hefty risk to take.
  6. Aug 9, 2012
    70
    It's a solid, enjoyable shooter, but one that ultimately fails to leverage its strange control decisions into a truly unique experience. It should be different yet, for all its bold ideas about movement, it ends up feeling strangely generic over the long haul.
  7. Aug 20, 2012
    55
    If originality were the bar through which we grade games, Hybrid would've scored a lot higher, because this third-person shooter contains some good ideas. The ideas are unfortunately killed by big mistakes, which show that the developer isn't comfortable with the shooter genre.

See all 54 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Aug 9, 2012
    10
    I am loving Hybrid from loadouts and guns that feel completely different from eachother, to perks that are really unique, like poisonedI am loving Hybrid from loadouts and guns that feel completely different from eachother, to perks that are really unique, like poisoned bullets and a grenade that turns a person's drones against them. Movement takes some times to get used to but then but the 3-D arenas with cover points upside down and on the side of walls make it well worth the time to get to know. Once you understand the overworld metagame of slowly capturing regions throughout the world it is very compelling and I am exited to get home a play more. I wish the metagame's world map was online so I could check it while at but I tweeted 5th Cell and they said, "Maybe Someday" Expand
  2. Oct 1, 2012
    10
    The concept Hybrid is built around is the same concept that made Gears of War groundbreaking and led to many clones, "cover shooter".The concept Hybrid is built around is the same concept that made Gears of War groundbreaking and led to many clones, "cover shooter". However, Hybrid avoids being a clone by doing something no other game has done. It removes everything else. When I first heard that, I was intrigued, and a little worried. Finally my intrigue won out and I bought the game. It was an excellent decision. This is a shooter that is easy to pick up and play, and rewards fast paced, charging headlong into battle, mad rushes. Yet there is still a strategy to the game, and knowledge and application of solid tactics is rewarded. This is easily my favorite shooter on Xbox, and I'm a shooter fan. My *only* concern is that later in its life matches may be hard to come by, being online only. Expand
  3. Jul 1, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing i love it at first i thought the concept was strange but later on it became addicting. All of the guns and grenades andThis game is amazing i love it at first i thought the concept was strange but later on it became addicting. All of the guns and grenades and the abilities are amazing me and my friend love this game we play it all the time some times you get a little tired of it but once you take a little break then go right back boom your sucked in again. The 3rd person shooter aspect is awesome its the very first one i've ever played and i love it its so cool also adding the duck and cover type feel makes it war like and i feel awesome. Expand
  4. Aug 10, 2012
    8
    This is pretty good. Interesting design and fun in multiplayer. Seems a good level of entry at the moment as have only been completely whippedThis is pretty good. Interesting design and fun in multiplayer. Seems a good level of entry at the moment as have only been completely whipped on a couple of games. I like the way the objective games seem to work even without too much co'ordination of your team. Reminds me of Gears of war with small teams and quick. Worth a go of the demo. Expand
  5. Sep 7, 2012
    8
    Hybrid è uno shooter decisamente sui generis destinato a suscitare pareri contrastanti tra tutti coloro che decideranno di concedergliHybrid è uno shooter decisamente sui generis destinato a suscitare pareri contrastanti tra tutti coloro che decideranno di concedergli una possibilità all'interno di un settore, quello degli shooter online, molto affollato e con esponenti di qualità.

    Il giocatore prenderà parte ad un conflitto che vede contrapposte due fazioni: quella dei Variants e quella dei Paladins, che si contendono, oltre a fette di territorio, rappresentato graficamente proprio come il mondo reale all'interno della mappa in-game, anche la preziosissima materia nera, il cui possesso è alla base del conflitto. Il tutto si svolgerà all'interno di dieci mappe, suddivise in 6 modalità di gioco, che vanno dal classico Deathmatch a Squadre ad un'originale modalità e vedranno sempre fronteggiarsi due squadre da tre elementi ciascuna.
    Fin qui nulla di nuovo sotto il sole, ma basta addentrarsi nel tutorial per capire che ci troviamo di fronte a qualcosa di differente. L'avatar che controlleremo, infatti, non potrà muoversi liberamente all'interno della mappa, ma solamente da una copertura all'altra tramite il suo jetpack, sfruttando ogni angolo della mappa 3D, senza nessuna preoccupazione della forza di gravià o se le coperture si trovano al livello del pavimento o al livello del tetto, dal momento che possono essere utilizzate indistintamente entrambe.

    L'apparente limitatezza dei movimenti eseguibili: volo da una copertura all'altra, strafe lungo la copertura e passaggio da un lato all'altro inizialmente lasciano supporre che gli scontri abbiano un respiro tattico piuttosto limitato, ma in realtà non è assolutamente così per una serie di motivi: innanzitutto durante il volo da una copertura all'altra sarà possibile sia sparare agli avversari che cambiare direzione rispetto a quella scelta inizialmente nel caso in cui cambiassero le "condizioni" rispetto al momento della partenza. Eseguendo poi delle sequenze di uccisioni, otterremo dei bot che ci daranno una mano enorme nell'eliminazione degli avversari. Una gestione accorta dei bot e la conoscenza delle mappe avranno un impatto devastante sulle partite . Altro aspetto fondamentale in Hybrid è l'estensione delle mappe, che è limitatissima, ma proprio per questa caratteristica gli scontri sono molto frenetici e sempre sul filo di lana, dal momento che una sequenza di uccisioni effettuata nel momento giusto può realmente cambiare le sorti della partita. La personalizzazione dell'avatar, infine, è esattamente ciò che ci si aspetterebbe da uno shooter del 2012: le possibilità di personalizzazione sono numerosissime ed anch'esse hanno impatto consistente sul gameplay e sulla crescita del personaggio.

    Hybrid è invece nella norma dal punto di vista tecnico: grafica e sonoro non fanno gridare al miracolo e sembrano già viste in decine di produzioni del genere.

    Tirando le somme, Hybrid è un buon titolo, che ha dalla sua delle idee di base piuttosto originali, ma si inserisce in una nicchia di mercato in cui è difficilissimo emergere, considerando il prezzo di 1200 Microsoft Points non certo abbordabilissimo. Consigliato una volta che uscirà in Deal.

    Voto: 7,5/10(www.videogiocare.org)
    Collapse
  6. Aug 20, 2012
    8
    Great game. Although there are 1 or 2 bad maps and a particular weapon which gets on your nerves(im not going to give anyone ideas). OtherwiseGreat game. Although there are 1 or 2 bad maps and a particular weapon which gets on your nerves(im not going to give anyone ideas). Otherwise the game is amazing and definitely worth the money. Expand
  7. Aug 9, 2012
    7
    Hybrid is an interesting and solid 3rd person shooter from 5th Cell, the developer of the wonderful Scribble-naughts series. After playing theHybrid is an interesting and solid 3rd person shooter from 5th Cell, the developer of the wonderful Scribble-naughts series. After playing the game for a few hours though one can't help but feel this fun arcade game could have been so much more. The shooting is great but it's limited. The main movement choices you have are to fly to certain barriers, vault them to the other side, and strafe around while flying to and fro. The problem is that's it. The flying is a blast too but you don't get the full control that you want. That's my main issue with the game, other than that it's a pretty basic standard shooter. I feel though the perk of this game is it's unique approach to everything and how it's limited, but you can go a few different places with it. The multiplayer set up is interesting as well, you can pick certain districts to fight in, say there's a battle for an area in America that is basically Washington, Oregon, and Idaho state combined, and 5th cell provides districts like that for every continent and it's kind of a cool perk. It's graphically adequate, the character models and some customization are good but it's nothing jaw dropping. There's a story somewhere but it doesn't really matter as this is strictly a multiplayer shooter and nothing else, but a good one. With all that said and done, I only wanted to play it in bursts and for $15, you might want to wait for a "Deal of the Week" drop like with Deadlight. There is fun to be had, but there could have been so much more. Expand

See all 8 User Reviews

Trailers