Kane & Lynch: Dead Men Xbox 360

User Score
3.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 326 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 95 out of 326

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TravisL.
    Dec 30, 2007
    8
    i'll admit, the graphics are crummy, but the story line, and gameplay are awesome! cool shoot 'em up game. i'd like to see more like this game.
  2. Itsnotthatbad
    Mar 5, 2008
    8
    Overall its fun but unpolished. The cover and inventory systems definately need more work and the AI is mediocre. The redeeming features here are the story and voicework. Its problems disapoint but don't completely ruin it.
    People saying that this is the worst game of all time are just overreacting to the Gerstman-gate fiasco. There are plenty of worse games out there.
  3. DanielM
    Oct 16, 2008
    8
    I quite enjoyed the game, the first half being excellent in characterization and plot feeling like a Micheal Mann film which is no bad thing. On the other hand the cover system is terrible, the online mode is glitchy to say the least, the difficulty suddenly increases for no particular reason halfway though (at which point the plot and nice environments takes a dip)and there is no online I quite enjoyed the game, the first half being excellent in characterization and plot feeling like a Micheal Mann film which is no bad thing. On the other hand the cover system is terrible, the online mode is glitchy to say the least, the difficulty suddenly increases for no particular reason halfway though (at which point the plot and nice environments takes a dip)and there is no online coop. All though there are many design flaws i still really enjoyed it and think others would too, dont risk the full price get it at a big discount or rent it as there's not much replayability. Expand
  4. AshR
    Jan 29, 2008
    10
    Despite all the gaming nerds out there calling this the worst game of all time. I fully enjoyed the story of this game and the controls really arn't as bad as people are making out and after 10 minutes of playing, you're used to them and already taking advantage. The Music is great, then again anything Jesper Kyd does is like gold. The voice-acting is a lot better than most Despite all the gaming nerds out there calling this the worst game of all time. I fully enjoyed the story of this game and the controls really arn't as bad as people are making out and after 10 minutes of playing, you're used to them and already taking advantage. The Music is great, then again anything Jesper Kyd does is like gold. The voice-acting is a lot better than most games out there and the story certainly takes some twists. If you're looking for a game that has action, then this is damn close to being in Michael Mann's "Heat", especially on the Tokoyo levels. Expand
  5. JoseF.
    Mar 9, 2008
    9
    I really had fun with the game, the ending pretty sucks but the story is very good the multiplayer may be repetitive but its good and unique, the controls may be tweaked but you can hang on to it, the co-op is a blast. recomended
  6. whizzm
    Nov 3, 2008
    8
    People who give this game 0 are clearly idiots. just bought this game and it is brilliant. great cinematic feel to it, graohics ARE good, great storyline, all out action. you can get this game very cheap now so dont mind the idiots who gave this 0. not the best game ever, but a very very good game.
  7. MikeS.
    Aug 11, 2009
    9
    Aside from the ridiculously hard level in Hawana (I guess), the game is almost perfect in terms of delivering the brurtal, sad story in a satysfying form. It's something that had been lost in gamemaking years ago: a shooter about men doing thing for their own, not because some military jackasses ordered them to. It a crime movie on X360, and there hasn't been any in gaming since Aside from the ridiculously hard level in Hawana (I guess), the game is almost perfect in terms of delivering the brurtal, sad story in a satysfying form. It's something that had been lost in gamemaking years ago: a shooter about men doing thing for their own, not because some military jackasses ordered them to. It a crime movie on X360, and there hasn't been any in gaming since Max Payne 2. Now there's always military, great wars, world saving... And I'm tired of it. I loved K&L because it's FRESH. And it has those incredibly awesome levels on L.A. and Tokyo Streets - one of "the bestest" levels in history of modern entertainment. I'd give it 10, but the level in Hawana during the revolution made me grind my teeth. Expand
  8. S.L.
    Dec 22, 2007
    9
    "I really don't get these bad reviews. I enjoyed playing this game way more than Gears of War, the story is great and told in a convincing way compared to GoWs confusing story. I didn't have any problems with the controls, they felt pretty solid to me and the cover system is great fun and matches Mass Effects cover system almost exactly. The gameplay itself is varied and fun, "I really don't get these bad reviews. I enjoyed playing this game way more than Gears of War, the story is great and told in a convincing way compared to GoWs confusing story. I didn't have any problems with the controls, they felt pretty solid to me and the cover system is great fun and matches Mass Effects cover system almost exactly. The gameplay itself is varied and fun, shooting feels real, not robotic and stiff like in most other shooters. Ducking in and out of cover and getting to a position where you can get a clean shot is also fun and exiting. The graphics are not as god as other recent games, which is why I wont rate this 10, but in funness(tm) it's up there with best. And to all the people rating this 0 og 1, when everybody has to agree that it is at least average no matter what your concers may be, try acting a little responsibly and give it a fair rating. It's hard to take the user rating here on metacritic seriously, when it is abused in this manner." QFT. Saves me the trouble of writing anything. Expand
  9. Farid
    Dec 2, 2007
    9
    Anyone who's actually played the game knows it's lots of fun and packs ten times the balls and ambition of other so-called 'gritty' games. Definitely worth picking up.
  10. MikeW.
    Jan 3, 2008
    8
    I really wish people would rate the game they are talking about, and not the spectrum of games around it. Kane & Lynch is a solid, character driven gun-fest. I don't know how people thought it would be anything else. The story is well crafted and the characters, while not people you would invite to Christmas dinner, are intense, gritty and multi-dimensional. While I understand the I really wish people would rate the game they are talking about, and not the spectrum of games around it. Kane & Lynch is a solid, character driven gun-fest. I don't know how people thought it would be anything else. The story is well crafted and the characters, while not people you would invite to Christmas dinner, are intense, gritty and multi-dimensional. While I understand the complaints with the cover system I don't see how the game loses 40 review points for it. The aiming is fine if you take the time to set your control options and the hit boxes, or whatever else people are blaming for missing their targets are just fine. Despite what Master Chief may show you, the bullet doesn't go right in the center of where you aim every time. If you fire a gun there is recoil and a thousand other factors that influence how accurate your shots would be. This game takes those into account. It's not the game of the year, that's obvious, but seriously it's an enjoyable game that people would have fun with, if they had reasonable expectations when they sat down with it. Expand
  11. NikM.
    Jan 3, 2008
    8
    The single player is a let down and the AI is ussually terrible, but the multi player is this games saving grace. The Co-op turns a mediocre game into a fun shooter with a friend, and the online is so great and unique. The game wont appeal to everyone, but its worth a look.
  12. LewisH
    Jun 1, 2008
    8
    Kane and Lynch is far from a perfect game. However, it was a breath of fresh air for me from all the recent games falsely touting moral questions. BioShock, Mass Effect, Assassin's Creed, these games all left me with a sour taste in my mouth after realizing that the supposed moral ambiguity was nothing more than black and white good and evil, usually as cut and dry as the two buttons Kane and Lynch is far from a perfect game. However, it was a breath of fresh air for me from all the recent games falsely touting moral questions. BioShock, Mass Effect, Assassin's Creed, these games all left me with a sour taste in my mouth after realizing that the supposed moral ambiguity was nothing more than black and white good and evil, usually as cut and dry as the two buttons used to make your ethical "decisions". So with that in mind, I was very pleased with K&L's unapologetic or judgemental portrayal of two lead characters who are flawed. Not good, not evil, but men with somewhat good intentions who manage to cock everything up multiple times throughout the game. In K&L, IO Interactive has painted two sympathetic characters who in all honesty shouldn't deserve your sympathy. From there, I was able to play through the entire story without the game ever pressing its judgements of good and bad on me, free to participate in an objective tale. You've already heard everything about the sub-par graphics, buggy gameplay/A.I. and every other problem that plagued this game, but in the end, it's worth your time. If only for a rental, the surprisingly satisfying gunplay and engrossing storyline may very well become the unsung hero of video game writing. Expand
  13. YoungSamR.
    Nov 15, 2007
    8
    Very fun, but the missions seem a bit short. but over all i am happy that i didnt believe the negitive reviews and made the purchase. If you are on the fence on this one at least rent it first.
  14. ButchD.
    Nov 30, 2007
    8
    It's a fun game.... check it out if you're looking for a simple shooter. Some truley epic battles can be found here.. but not worthy of a nine or ten.
  15. biosoulz
    Dec 5, 2007
    8
    this game is not bad there may be some problems here and there but it is great fun i just love the car chase part if u like shooting police and swat teams or being the bad guy go for it but i think they use the f word too much.
  16. JohnJ.
    Dec 6, 2007
    9
    I really don't get these bad reviews. I enjoyed playing this game way more than Gears of War, the story is great and told in a convincing way compared to GoWs retarded/confusing story. I didn't have any problems with the controls, they felt pretty solid to me and the cover system is great fun and matches Mass Effects cover system almost exactly. The gameplay itself is varied and I really don't get these bad reviews. I enjoyed playing this game way more than Gears of War, the story is great and told in a convincing way compared to GoWs retarded/confusing story. I didn't have any problems with the controls, they felt pretty solid to me and the cover system is great fun and matches Mass Effects cover system almost exactly. The gameplay itself is varied and fun, shooting feels real, not robotic and stiff like in most other shooters. Ducking in and out of cover and getting to a position where you can get a clean shot is also fun and exiting. The graphics are not as god as other recent games, which is why I wont rate this 10, but in funness(tm) it's up there with best. And to all the people rating this 0 og 1, when everybody has to agree that it is at least average no matter what your concers may be, try acting a little responsibly and give it a fair rating. It's hard to take the user rating here on metacritic seriously, when it is abused in this manner. Expand
  17. FrankP.
    Aug 10, 2009
    9
    Dude, it seems like only nerds are panning this game. It was a blast, graphics were good, the cinematic dialouge blended in perfectley with the story. fun online.....great game.
  18. DemothH.
    Nov 15, 2007
    9
    The game is certainly more strory driven than most games which can cause the action to have breaks than are longer than desired, but it's still an outstanding game. The gun fights can get hectic, though the AI can be pretty stupid and uncoordinated. The online is -sorta- fun, but the fact that there are only a very limited amount of AI resistence can make things kinda boring.
  19. K.L.
    Nov 16, 2007
    8
    Fun tactical shooter with the best crime genre video game story in years.
  20. NathanT.
    Nov 20, 2007
    9
    I think people are mistaking the aiming and covering system as being bad, instead of different. It feels quite touchy at first, but I guarantee that you can get used to it quickly. The gameplay is fun, faced paced, and exciting. There are all sorts of weapons to use and it looks pretty awesome when you're shooting them. A whole lot of things are breakable too. Take all that and mix I think people are mistaking the aiming and covering system as being bad, instead of different. It feels quite touchy at first, but I guarantee that you can get used to it quickly. The gameplay is fun, faced paced, and exciting. There are all sorts of weapons to use and it looks pretty awesome when you're shooting them. A whole lot of things are breakable too. Take all that and mix it with an original story, good voice acting, and a well made atmosphere, and you have one of the best singleplayer experiences on the 360. The multiplayer is unique and fun, it's not just another thrown in deathmatch game mode. On the other hand it can be frustrating due to lag and other people robbing you of all your hard-earned loot. I definitely think you should not pass this one up, and go out and buy it. Expand
  21. JJ
    Nov 27, 2007
    9
    The biggest under rated game of the year. Reminds me a lot of the Max Pane series. Great game play, good story line, and most important fun to play. It does take some getting used to with the cover and what not but a good over all game. Have fun killing people at will.
  22. SakkeJ.
    Dec 2, 2007
    8
    Seems like this is going to be the most underrated game for years. Kane and Lynch is a great shooter that takes the player(s) through intense shootouts and different scenery. Shooting system is fun, not every shot is a bulls-eye (like in all IOI's games), so the shootouts last longer. Close combat moves are neat and fun to look at. Storyline and the characters are interesting, which Seems like this is going to be the most underrated game for years. Kane and Lynch is a great shooter that takes the player(s) through intense shootouts and different scenery. Shooting system is fun, not every shot is a bulls-eye (like in all IOI's games), so the shootouts last longer. Close combat moves are neat and fun to look at. Storyline and the characters are interesting, which is rare in video games. Game suffers from a couple of severe flaws. First promblem is the length, gameplay lasts hardly 7 hours, it really could have used some more street shootouts. Then there is the general roughness, there are many bugs in the game and some features are halfway developed.Cover system works pretty well, unlike is generally said. One more checkpoint per map couldn't have been too much to ask for. I haven't tried out the multiplayer, so I haven't got anything say about that, the coop is great though. Overall the game is a pretty fun to play through, even a couple of times, but the length and some major issues reduce the grade from 9 to 8. Expand
  23. TuckerS.
    Dec 24, 2007
    9
    Wow is the game really that bad? Well the answer is no, of course in my opinion. I though GOW was fun though very over-rated, and Mass Effect was a letdown but nonetheless fun. Kane & Lynch is a realstic break away from those. The aiming is realistic (which some people don't like), your fighting humans on Earth for the frist friggin time in a 3rd person shooter in the first time Wow is the game really that bad? Well the answer is no, of course in my opinion. I though GOW was fun though very over-rated, and Mass Effect was a letdown but nonetheless fun. Kane & Lynch is a realstic break away from those. The aiming is realistic (which some people don't like), your fighting humans on Earth for the frist friggin time in a 3rd person shooter in the first time since Max Payne. People cal it a GOW rip off, but this is much faster paced. And with Mass Effect, well lets just say you can blind fire. I don't get these bad reviews. I've played through the game many times, coop and whatnot, all very fun. The story is one of the best ever in a video game, it deserves a 10 out of 10 al together. The reason I didn't give it a 10 is becuase there's some loopholes in the multiplayer mode, the graphics (although better than expected) are not on the same track as games such as Call Of Duty 4, Mass Effect, or Half-Life 2. And the last reason is becuase the glitch were the game crashes if you lose 5 times in a row. It pisses me off but happened only twice in my playthroughs. Overall, get the game if you like shooting, third person, or having a fun coop expierence. Also, since not so much people like or play the game, the small comunity makes it more fun. Most of the time I'm playing a game with someone I know. Awesome game! Expand
  24. A.K.
    Dec 28, 2007
    8
    The game is pretty good considering the targeting system flaws and the cover system needs much improvement. nevertheless I think the game is very challenging and very fun. There are a few frustrating levels but I think the story line is one of the best out there and the squad control concept is always fun. The cool of the game outweighs everything else. I hope they make a sequel.
  25. SeniorS.
    Feb 25, 2008
    9
    This game is awesome! Who cares about the crappy graphics, stop being so damn shallow and appreciate the awesome plot and good gameplay.
  26. T.L.
    Nov 13, 2007
    10
    Excellent multiplayer just like the movie "Heat" you can perform bank robberies with others and try to get away with as much money as possible. If you get killed in heist mode, you come back as a bank guard and try to get the robbers instead! You can also betray your teammates if one of them is getting away with more money than you are by killing them and getting their extra money. Story Excellent multiplayer just like the movie "Heat" you can perform bank robberies with others and try to get away with as much money as possible. If you get killed in heist mode, you come back as a bank guard and try to get the robbers instead! You can also betray your teammates if one of them is getting away with more money than you are by killing them and getting their extra money. Story also is excellent. If you like the "Hitman" game series, you will probably like this too. Expand
  27. mikecorlioni
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    this game deserves a ten
  28. GarethG.
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    This game is pure unadulterated awesome, from the characters to the story itself.
  29. JamesB.
    Nov 18, 2007
    9
    It really isn't the best shooter I've ever played. The cover system is dodgy. The aiming is sloppy. It's weird to say that weak gameplay doesn't really detract from how excellent of an experience Kane and Lynch is. The voice acting is better than most movies, the action is excellent, and the atmosphere is dark and gritty. If you like crime dramas or third-person It really isn't the best shooter I've ever played. The cover system is dodgy. The aiming is sloppy. It's weird to say that weak gameplay doesn't really detract from how excellent of an experience Kane and Lynch is. The voice acting is better than most movies, the action is excellent, and the atmosphere is dark and gritty. If you like crime dramas or third-person shooters, I guarantee you will like this game as much as I did. Expand
  30. DC
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    This game is about an 8, if they would have put more into the graphics and tweaked the game play alittle more it would have been a 10. The idea is great, if you like the movie Heat go pick this game up.
  31. Jun 25, 2013
    8
    The multiplayer is undoubtedly a failure and some of the gameplay is a little bit predictable, but "Kane And Lynch: Dead Men"s delightful co-op, engaging narrative, and interesting characters leave it at a fairly worthwhile level.
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 57
  2. Negative: 6 out of 57
  1. Part thug brutality, part capers and hijinks, the latest wild ride from the developer of "Hitman" has its fair share of rough edges--maybe even more than its fair share--but its epic missions are so thrilling that they'll sear away the nuggets of disappointment you'll ocasionally feel. [Dec 2007, p.68]
  2. 60
    Sure, the gritty atmosphere and balls out gunplay offers up some thrills, and yes the multiplayer options hold some potential but the hard-boiled noir tone and interesting amalgam of varied ideas never truly comes together to form the cohesive action thriller that the game aspires to be. [Dec 2007, p.121]
  3. 75
    We rarely see scenarios and story structure this good in a game, and that makes it easier to forgive some of the more hardcore technical game-design issues. It's definitely more of a popcorn game for the action-movie crowd than a hardcore shooter, but there's nothing wrong with that.