Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Jan 8, 2013
    85
    It may not be a traditional game experience, but that doesn't mean Kinect Party is boring. On the contrary, whether you're five or 50, messing around in Kinect Party is an enjoyably amusing time-waster.
  2. Dec 20, 2012
    85
    A great game that's really fun to play. It doesn't require much more than your attention and the permission to let your guard down. Once you buy in and let the grins come, you'll be surprised at the trade off that occurs, you playing Kinect Party, and it playing you.
  3. 85
    Its giddy, family-friendly spirit makes Kinect Party a perfect game for adults and kids alike - though not necessarily in groups of five or six, where the game feels crowded and players may end up vying for screenspace and floorspace, even in a large, Kinect-ready room.
  4. Feb 9, 2013
    81
    Comprising of 36 mini-games it's a breathless quick-fire assault of weird and wonderful challenges and play tools for up to six players. [March 2013, p.90]
  5. Feb 7, 2013
    80
    Kinect Party is lots of fun, even though it gets frustrating when the game aggressively tries to get you to post your weird party pictures on Facebook. With more games and a small number of improvements, Kinect Party easily exceeds its predecessor. Kinect Party understands the shortcomings of the Kinect and that makes it one of the few games worth checking out on Microsoft’s peripheral gadget.
  6. Jan 29, 2013
    80
    It's hard to deny the sheer amount of fun that Kinect Party offers. [Issue#94, p.83]
  7. Jan 14, 2013
    70
    It's certainly worth the $10 if you're willing to let your imagination fly!
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Jan 11, 2014
    10
    This is the only game that my son and daughter (ages 3 and 4) can play! They love it, and the ability to share photos is perfect! I love theThis is the only game that my son and daughter (ages 3 and 4) can play! They love it, and the ability to share photos is perfect! I love the looping option where it can go all day if you want it to - great for having guests over to play! Highly recommended for all ages. 10/10 Full Review »
  2. Dec 31, 2012
    9
    My kids love this game and I do too. This game shows off what an awesome, interactive piece of tech Kinect is. Highly recommended, and youMy kids love this game and I do too. This game shows off what an awesome, interactive piece of tech Kinect is. Highly recommended, and you can't beat the price point. Full Review »
  3. Dec 30, 2013
    9
    This is the only Kinect game that I and my kids have actually enjoyed. They have a blast with it and there are some truly neat effects as wellThis is the only Kinect game that I and my kids have actually enjoyed. They have a blast with it and there are some truly neat effects as well as a wide variety of game types. You will find yourself laughing along with some of the crazy stuff that occurs in this game and it also takes pictures frequently which you can save or share online.

    The most fun thing to do is put it in shuffle mode, where it keeps rotating to a different game every few minutes. It is one of the few games that works with three people, too, which is nice, and you don’t feel penalized if the family dog walks through the game. Ours does this sometimes but it results in often humorous consequences instead of a frustrating loss of control, as with other Kinect games.

    Kinect Party is not worth buying a Kinect for, but if you already own one, you should definitely get it. If more Kinect games worked this well, that sensor might be worthwhile instead of a piece of junk.
    Full Review »