User Score
3.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 144 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 144
  2. Negative: 94 out of 144
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 3, 2012
    6
    Personally, I liked it, but after a while it gets old. The main quest is based on repetitive action and slow paced boss fights. Pod racing is not that fun, which each race taking so long that it will make your arms tired. Duel mode is okay. But rancor rampage is pretty fun. In Rancor rampage, you feel like the hulk as you bash a small town to pieces. I have never tried dance mode, but I'vePersonally, I liked it, but after a while it gets old. The main quest is based on repetitive action and slow paced boss fights. Pod racing is not that fun, which each race taking so long that it will make your arms tired. Duel mode is okay. But rancor rampage is pretty fun. In Rancor rampage, you feel like the hulk as you bash a small town to pieces. I have never tried dance mode, but I've heard its okay if you like dancing games. Overall, i think its an okay Kinect game for families, but I would recommend you rent it for a little while before you purchase it. Expand
  2. Apr 5, 2012
    7
    I wasnt expecting much from this game from other reviews and writeups. Star Wars is meant to be enjoyed by all ages and this game is clearly marketed towards a broad spectrum of ages. I have been playing it and I am only about 1 hour into it. I have had some lightsaber fights, speeder biked through the forest, and had to do some small force tasks. I think the game is just plain fun and II wasnt expecting much from this game from other reviews and writeups. Star Wars is meant to be enjoyed by all ages and this game is clearly marketed towards a broad spectrum of ages. I have been playing it and I am only about 1 hour into it. I have had some lightsaber fights, speeder biked through the forest, and had to do some small force tasks. I think the game is just plain fun and I think it is worth a playthrough. I have only tried the jedi campaign so far. I heard the Pod racing is where the real fun is at. Expand
  3. Apr 4, 2012
    7
    i was worried about getting this game because of the reviews but i pulled the trigger anyhow. im glad that i did. my kids and i played and had a great time. they even got a good bit of "exercise" out of it. granted the controls when two of us were playing were a bit off but that didn't take from the experience. the rancor rampage is a blast, pod racing is great, the dance off playsi was worried about getting this game because of the reviews but i pulled the trigger anyhow. im glad that i did. my kids and i played and had a great time. they even got a good bit of "exercise" out of it. granted the controls when two of us were playing were a bit off but that didn't take from the experience. the rancor rampage is a blast, pod racing is great, the dance off plays like the highly rated dance central and the campaign is co op and solid. this is a fun experience for families. if you don't have a lot of room or if you've had bad luck with kinect in the past maybe you should pass on this. we however have always had great responsiveness with our system given the amount of room that we have to play. remember that reviewers arent always for kids games and they may not have optimal play space depending where they live or work. lastly, for those that though they were going to feel like a Jedi by playing this, maybe a trip to the local gamestop isn't the only time you should get out of the house. Expand
  4. Apr 4, 2012
    7
    This is my guilty pleasure game of the year. Yes, it has some spotty animation, yes it can be very frustrating at times, but it also is fun and cheesy at the same time. As a huge Star Wars fan I found the different games to be very entertaining, although the podracing is quite tiring on the arms. I love the franchise, but people that are saying that this is destroying the franchise need toThis is my guilty pleasure game of the year. Yes, it has some spotty animation, yes it can be very frustrating at times, but it also is fun and cheesy at the same time. As a huge Star Wars fan I found the different games to be very entertaining, although the podracing is quite tiring on the arms. I love the franchise, but people that are saying that this is destroying the franchise need to calm down and take a breath. If the series can endure the likes of the holiday special, episodes 1-3, and the Force Unleashed, it can take just about anything. If you can't poke fun at the things you love, then you are just a little too zealous about them. Star Wars has always been a world where you take the things that you love and forget the things that you don't... Ewoks for instance... That being said, the dancing is the best part of the game. The podracing is decent too as well as the rancor rampage. The Jedi quest and dueling is sadly, the weakest link and should have been better, but it was still interesting.

    I got this only because it came with the exclusive system, but I would recommend waiting until you can pick it up for 20 bucks in a few months or rent it. I probably wouldn't pay $40 for it. You should still TRY it out before you write a terrible review, calling it trash, because you are trying to defend the franchise. Don't trust the "1" reviews on here. Those who wrote those have never played a REALLY bad game before...
    Expand
  5. Apr 3, 2012
    6
    Let's face facts. This game should have been a compete **** show but somehow I found myself enjoying it. I know a lot of people will look at the dancing gameplay and shutter but the dancing is just a small dent in the game. Over all you will find a decent story mode, fun pod racing and full use of the Kinect. This is not the best Starwars game ever made but It's not the worst.
  6. Apr 11, 2012
    7
    "Kinect Star Wars" is an exclusive game for Xbox 360, created by Lucas Arts and Terminal Reality to be played with Kinect. Since E3 2010-2011, we know (at least I knew) what type of game it would be - more a Arcade one than a Hardcore game. Having this on mind, I created no expectations about what whould be the gameplay: in general lines, comparing to other Kinect game, I liked it - you"Kinect Star Wars" is an exclusive game for Xbox 360, created by Lucas Arts and Terminal Reality to be played with Kinect. Since E3 2010-2011, we know (at least I knew) what type of game it would be - more a Arcade one than a Hardcore game. Having this on mind, I created no expectations about what whould be the gameplay: in general lines, comparing to other Kinect game, I liked it - you can use the light saber and the force with either hand (right and left, respectively), besides having other aspects of the featured movies like flying Podracers, Speedbikers, etc. but the action is pre-programmed (Semi On-Rails); The game's history cover a time period between "Star Wars Episode I: The Phantom Menace" and ends during the events of "Star Wars III: Revenge of the Sith". The game has several chapters, divided into phases and each has a different type of gameplay, sometimes mixed: there are parts of general action (as quoted above), duel stages (where you block attacks and attack the enemy, predicting how and when / where he will strike next), destruction stages, piloting stages (which leans sideways, to ride, and forward and backward to control the speed) and dance stages, like Dance Central, but more simplified (and totally unecessary); Graphically the game is very well done, but it is very colorful and has more simplified, cartoon-like graphics, as seen in the animated Cartoon Network, or for a more practical example, as in the game Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning / Fable III - some character models are well made and more realistic, like the Yoda one, but most are more simple in design; The menus and graphic interfaces of the game totally relate to the movies, including the classic "cuts scene" between locations. The sounds and music, as one might expect, are faithful to the films, with original soundtrack and voice-overs by actors who have played roles in the actual movies - perfect in this item. The gameplay is a mixed bag: the Kinect has a good calibration, capturing well the movements, but as in all games that capture the arms, sometimes the interpretations of the positions of them are not very natural on the screen, it looks as if you were possessed; but overall, at least for me, was very responsive, even in low lighting. About the actions of gameplay with Kinect: there are actions with the arms (predominant), trunk (to go forward on foot, or ride the vehicles) and legs (kicking opponents). In the stages of action, with the right arm, the light saber is controlled in lateral movements, to cut, and in a 8 movement, and in low / high stances, to each side, in order to defend from the attacks, whereas with the left arm up and points to throw objects, and moving the left one to load a Force "Push" - with both the two, forward, you can lift and levitate heavy objects; In scenarios with many obstacles, as is done in Kinect Adventures, you do evades with the body, squats and jumps according to what is happening, and inclining the trunk forward to do a forward rush; In the vehicles, leaning sideways you control the direction, to avoid obstacles in three main positions (right, center and left), to reduce the speed, you pull your arms back, and moving them forth you Boost (to fire in the enemy vehicles in sight, you coordinate between your speed and pointing to where they are in front of you); the Dance parts, are not different from what we know from other games, but as I said before, it's a unnecessary waste of game space. Overall, this is a good Kinect games, obviously with a unique theme that alone will attract many buyers, has somewhat solid controls, but not either complex or extremely accurate (I'm still dreaming with a fighting game with a lightsaber - or any Kinect game that is more realistic and "hardcore") and has a perfect soundtrack, but with simple cartoon graphics, and do not have what almost everyone expected from the gameplay. It is a good choice of a game for Kinect, and will surely sell a lot for the brand affiliated, and with the legion of fans who Star Wars have (these game, even if you don't like it, will have a good resale value, also, the Bundle Xbox 360 also will become a "collector's item"): I give the game a score of 7,3 / 10,0 . Expand
  7. Apr 4, 2012
    6
    Star Wars Kinect is fun in short play sessions. But with the confusingly lacking polish on the motion controlled portion of the game, and the un-intuitive play-style, both LucasArts and MGS should be ashamed of bringing this title to market as is. Best case scnario: they patch the game to allow for better interpretation of player movements. The game isn't terrible, but it's not the epicStar Wars Kinect is fun in short play sessions. But with the confusingly lacking polish on the motion controlled portion of the game, and the un-intuitive play-style, both LucasArts and MGS should be ashamed of bringing this title to market as is. Best case scnario: they patch the game to allow for better interpretation of player movements. The game isn't terrible, but it's not the epic journey one would hope to have within the Star Wars universe. Then again, that's typical with Star Wars games. Most are flashed in the pan while few impress. Expand
  8. Apr 14, 2012
    5
    What did you expect? I am a huge Star Wars guy, always have been, always will be. But the Kinect and I never have been the best of friends. I had the most fun when C3P0 and R2-D2 couldn't fine me and kept looking around for me with a lot of funny banter. "Oh dear, where could the commander have gone?" Throughout most of the game I was bored but was happy with the motion capabilities whenWhat did you expect? I am a huge Star Wars guy, always have been, always will be. But the Kinect and I never have been the best of friends. I had the most fun when C3P0 and R2-D2 couldn't fine me and kept looking around for me with a lot of funny banter. "Oh dear, where could the commander have gone?" Throughout most of the game I was bored but was happy with the motion capabilities when using the lightsaber. However the podracing was awful and I didn't even attempt to dance. For what it was I enjoyed myself but kept wanting to sit down and watch the cut scenes, there are a lot of them, but then I would be logged out and have to log in again... Endless cycle of annoying events. Worth playing for a day but not worth owning. Expand
  9. Apr 12, 2012
    7
    Really not bad for a Kinect specific game. It is definitely geared to the casual or family gamer. One of my friends said that their kids were really enjoying it. Since I have a Kinect, I know that really good lighting is important to playing any of Kinect games.
  10. Jan 21, 2014
    7
    Sure I get what these negative reviews are going at, but this game overall deserves a higher score than this, even though the flaws are foolish. Let's start with what sucks. The menu is so diffucult to navigate because the Kinect doesn't respond. I thought you could play Luke or Han or at least ANYBODY but instead we get people like Fenella Druce, what? I mean, if you can't use theSure I get what these negative reviews are going at, but this game overall deserves a higher score than this, even though the flaws are foolish. Let's start with what sucks. The menu is so diffucult to navigate because the Kinect doesn't respond. I thought you could play Luke or Han or at least ANYBODY but instead we get people like Fenella Druce, what? I mean, if you can't use the characters we know and love, then can we at least use our own XBOX avatars? Overall, your options (minigames, characters, etc.) are limited, as if it matters!
    Right now, I'm about to go over my reception for the minigames:
    Story Mode and Duel: YAHOO!!! Wait a sec, you can actually TEXT and make it past the first level. BECAUSE ALL YOU HAVE TO DO IS WAVE YOUR HAND!!!
    Podracing: Fun! Great graphics and effects, but just so imprecise!
    Rancor Rampage: Pointless, but just SO fun seeing me brutally destroy this primitive village!
    Galactic-Dance Off: OH MY GAWWWWWWWDDDD!!!!! WOO HOO!!! CMON GUYS LET'S BOOGIE!!!!
    Scan M-Tag: I don't know what THAT is.

    Well, this game could do a better job, but why did this get such low scores? I really don't understand despite how imprecise the game is.
    Expand
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 61 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 61
  2. Negative: 11 out of 61
  1. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Jun 5, 2012
    50
    A cynical package that doesn't do the Star Wars franchise any justice whatsoever. [Issue#85, p.92]
  2. May 15, 2012
    40
    Kinect Star Wars is a double edged sword. On one side, using the force with the Kinect sensor is immensely satisfying. On the other side, Kinect is just what is holding this game back. All in all, it's just another shallow and lacking tech demo from Microsofts admittingly impressive motion sensor.
  3. Hyper Magazine
    May 14, 2012
    50
    Crappy in places, but frequently very fun. You might hate yourself for not hating it. [June 2012, p.74]