User Score
3.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 134 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 134
  2. Negative: 86 out of 134

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 3, 2012
    4
    After all the hype and the push backs I was expecting to be blown away by Kinect star wars, Instead I get a repetitive, laggy, un-responsive and quite frankly a dull boring kinect game. It's incredibly simple, enemies die way too easy .Basically all you do is fight/ cut scene / fight / cut scene/ shoot/ cut scene/ fight/ next stage. There is a lag issue and the game can be unresponsiveAfter all the hype and the push backs I was expecting to be blown away by Kinect star wars, Instead I get a repetitive, laggy, un-responsive and quite frankly a dull boring kinect game. It's incredibly simple, enemies die way too easy .Basically all you do is fight/ cut scene / fight / cut scene/ shoot/ cut scene/ fight/ next stage. There is a lag issue and the game can be unresponsive most times. Pod racing is kool but it's nuthin that has'nt been done, Duel mode is very slow paced veeeeeeeeeery boring and laggy .
    Then there is dance mode DANCE MODE??? I lost all interest for this tittle when i saw they included a dance off mode. It said to me that this was'nt going to be hardcore but more family based which is fine but this is'nt the kinect star wars game I was expecting to experience. To me dance mode is a joke and I did'nt play it nor do I intend to. They should have used that effort to make a more in- depth story mode and to make a more precise kinect experience! In the end this falls in the same category as most kinect games: Disappointing , un - inspired, Control issues...Kinect star wars falls short. This game had alot of potential but because developers wanted to play safe we got a family kinect game.
    Expand
  2. Apr 3, 2012
    4
    Since camera tracking and motion control came on the scene, Star Wars fans have been clamoring for a lightsaber combat game. The yelling for such a game reached deafening proportions when Nintendo unveiled the Wii. Fast forward to E3 2010 and Microsoft capitalized on this desire by showing Kinect Star Wars as a premiere title for Kinect. Many of us watched and rewatched the E3 2010 presserSince camera tracking and motion control came on the scene, Star Wars fans have been clamoring for a lightsaber combat game. The yelling for such a game reached deafening proportions when Nintendo unveiled the Wii. Fast forward to E3 2010 and Microsoft capitalized on this desire by showing Kinect Star Wars as a premiere title for Kinect. Many of us watched and rewatched the E3 2010 presser and saw the flaws but realized the game was in very early alpha or beta, so we had hope the game would live up to the expectations. ||| A year later, at E3 2011, the game was still in terrible shape. Most previews of that particular build complained, heartily, of tracking problems and sluggish controls. Then, later in the year, it started to come out that the whole premise of the game was so short that Terminal Reality had to start tacking on other modes to give more depth to the game, turning it into a mini-game compilation. Yet I still held out hope. ||| Picked up the game early this morning while shopping as an impulse buy. Three hours later, I'm wishing I had saved the money. From E3 2011, it feels like little has changed. Controls are sluggish and the tracking leaves A LOT to be desired. Far too many times I have taken hits in the main campaign because Kinect just doesn't react properly. I've spent an hour fiddling with Kinect tuner, and testing with Kinect Sports (which is tracking well), only for the same problems to crop up again and again in Star Wars. The story is cringe worthy and the on-rails movement could have been handled much better. As it stands the movement is very immersion breaking. ||| Sadly, the other "modes" are equally as bad. Podracing is graphically better than the Dreamcast/N64 game, but suffers from "Kinect Joy Ride" type controls that range from decent to outright bad. It's pretty shallow and you really won't be coming back to for many plays. Rancor Rampage is fun, for a little bit, and it's also very exhausting because you'll constantly be moving. I have no problem with the latter, and it'll be a great way to burn energy out of kids, but, ultimately, it's also shallow and really isn't worth coming back to after a play or two. ||| Dance mode is such a travesty I can barely speak of it. The premise is ridiculous and it's literally a direct copy and paste of Dance Central. Play Dance Central or Just Dance if you want a dancing game, not this. This is just a poor attempt to tack on humor by copying the most popular Kinect title. Sadly, it's also the only mode where tracking ISN'T absolutely atrocious. ||| Jedi Duels are slow paced, sluggish, and suffer the same tracking problems as the rest of the game. In fact, Jedi Duels plays like a series of quicktime events with motion controls. Boring after a couple of plays, if you get to "bosses" (Vader, Dooku) before you give up on the mode, you're a better person than I. ||| At the end of the day, I'm hoping my kids like it so it's not a complete loss. I can't help but feel this really SHOULD be the final nail in the coffin in regards to motion controls; The one IP that could have propelled motion controls into the limelight turns out to be just another collection of mediocre "me-too" shovelware. Expand
  3. Apr 3, 2012
    3
    OMG !! c'est pas possible de faire des jeux aussi pourri, j'ai réussi a joué environ 45 minutes, mais au bout de 15 minutes j'en avait déjà plein le cul ! répétitif a souhait , on passe notre temps a secoué le bras et a sauté, pour un résultat médiocre. quelOMG !! c'est pas possible de faire des jeux aussi pourri, j'ai réussi a joué environ 45 minutes, mais au bout de 15 minutes j'en avait déjà plein le cul ! répétitif a souhait , on passe notre temps a secoué le bras et a sauté, pour un résultat médiocre. quel déception !! surtout n'acheter pas ce jeux ! Expand
  4. Apr 3, 2012
    6
    Let's face facts. This game should have been a compete **** show but somehow I found myself enjoying it. I know a lot of people will look at the dancing gameplay and shutter but the dancing is just a small dent in the game. Over all you will find a decent story mode, fun pod racing and full use of the Kinect. This is not the best Starwars game ever made but It's not the worst.
  5. Apr 3, 2012
    8
    Another move in the right direction for the kinect. A number of reviewers have commented on unresponsive control issues however I have had no issues with the controls what so ever so can only put this down to lighting and enviromental issues, the game does however suffer from alittle lag but this is minimual compaired to other kinect games and has minimual impact on gaming. The game storyAnother move in the right direction for the kinect. A number of reviewers have commented on unresponsive control issues however I have had no issues with the controls what so ever so can only put this down to lighting and enviromental issues, the game does however suffer from alittle lag but this is minimual compaired to other kinect games and has minimual impact on gaming. The game story is slow paced and dull at times however overall its an enjoyable experience. The dancing, pod racing and rancor modes all work well and will provide a fun enough experience for most. Graphically the game is good for a kinect game but below par compaired to non kinect game. For those of you with a 3d set up the 3d effects work well but do reduce the overall graphics of the game. For those of you who may have been expecting a core game will most likely end up dissapointed, as this is yet another family game, As kinect games go this is easily one of the best out there, and as a hardcore gamer one that I am glad that I purchased. Expand
  6. Apr 5, 2012
    7
    I wasnt expecting much from this game from other reviews and writeups. Star Wars is meant to be enjoyed by all ages and this game is clearly marketed towards a broad spectrum of ages. I have been playing it and I am only about 1 hour into it. I have had some lightsaber fights, speeder biked through the forest, and had to do some small force tasks. I think the game is just plain fun and II wasnt expecting much from this game from other reviews and writeups. Star Wars is meant to be enjoyed by all ages and this game is clearly marketed towards a broad spectrum of ages. I have been playing it and I am only about 1 hour into it. I have had some lightsaber fights, speeder biked through the forest, and had to do some small force tasks. I think the game is just plain fun and I think it is worth a playthrough. I have only tried the jedi campaign so far. I heard the Pod racing is where the real fun is at. Expand
  7. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    It is an amazing Kinect-Game and the best out there. The Presentation ist good, Controls great and there is a lot of Content to enjoy. What may piss people off is, that the Game is a family game and not a core game as many of us would have expected but regardless of that : A damn good family game.
  8. Apr 3, 2012
    8
    I know there's been a lot f negativity directed towards this game over the past year with some valid concerns (possibly on rails, not 1:1 controls, etc...) along some equally ridiculous criticism (not Battlefront 3, "Lightsaber On!", etc...), but some of this is expected when creating new content for a franchise with millions of fans with incredibly diverse backgrounds both within andI know there's been a lot f negativity directed towards this game over the past year with some valid concerns (possibly on rails, not 1:1 controls, etc...) along some equally ridiculous criticism (not Battlefront 3, "Lightsaber On!", etc...), but some of this is expected when creating new content for a franchise with millions of fans with incredibly diverse backgrounds both within and outside of their love for Star Wars.

    Firstly, I'd like to say that the developers of this game really stepped it up and fought though some major obstacles to deliver what I feel is the first really solid experience for the Kinect. As soon as I loaded up the game I was immediately impressed by the presentation. The menu backdrops were interesting enough that they grabbed my attention and familiar enough that I wasn't distracted from my purpose, getting into gameplay. I am immediately hit by a wave of nostalgia upon seeing C3-PO and R2, who act as our guides and welcome companions throughout the menus and experiences of the game. Controls for the menu screens are fairly standard fair for the Kinect at this point, but they've also added voice command functionality as a very welcome addition for those that loath the monotony of holding a hand up to cover a selection while an animated circle slowly separates a piece of your soul from your body.

    I fully intended to jump straight into Jedi since that's what we're all here for, but became compelled to select Rancor Rage after seeing the roaring monster pop up in the menu. Selections were made easy since most of the content is locked by default and must be unlocked by bashing and smashing your way through galactic civilization, fine by me. It's a bit disorienting at first, being thrust into this large hulking monster, but with a few quick instruction prompts and a hologram I quickly understood how to move the beast. As soon as I collided with the first building, everything went out the window in the face of some of the most satisfying physics I've seen in a game. They're not terribly realistic compared to Battlefield or other modern sims (what with all the bouncing cages and rag-dolling civilians); however, it quickly becomes obvious why this decision was made and this mode is all the better for making you an immense force of nature tearing down and through anything in your path. The enemies are interesting and gradually build up in size, numbers, and difficulty as you threaten to destroy more of the city. Words cannot describe the satisfaction of jump, double-clotheslining a squad of three T.I.E. fighters as they make a strafing run through the city. Overall this mode is robust and after hours of play is still providing new and amazing moments that make you freak out once you've done it.

    Alright, so now that I'm exhausted (rampaging for hours is hard work and Godzilla is my new hero) it's time for some Jedi Destiny: Dark Side Rising. Yeah it's kin of a mouthful, but that's alright since it's almost natural to just shorten it to Jedi Destiny anyway. So, I'll start by saying I was pleasantly surprised by the large selection of Padawans that I could choose to start my journey through the campaign. The campaign opens up with the traditional beginning to any Star Wars movie and I find that I would have it no other way. I won't go into specifics of the story except to say that again, the presentation of this mode is complete and makes you feel like you've stepped into a Star Wars movie. As I progress through the training levels (refreshingly short and to the point compared to most tutorials) I find that the controls operate very smoothly and transition well from one move to another. There is some animation, but it seems subtle and both the Jedi and my saber seem to respond immediately as I make even slight movements. In combat, all of this immediately broke down and I began trying to do everything at once; this is a terrible idea in this game. As with other Kinect titles I've played, the sensor seems to have difficulty interpreting all of these movements at the same time so what you get is sporadic, flailing movements (possibly also what I look like playing the game) that unpredictably activate the moves you intended and make you feel like you've lost control. Now, it should be said that flailing can be extremely effective as it tends to break down AI attempts at defense. However, it isn't a very fun way to play except for maybe kids; who I'm sure will have a blast flying through the levels with their seemingly endless reserves of energy. It should also be noted, that when I slowed down and really thought about what I wanted to do and began stringing moves together this mode became extremely fun. Doing so makes this mode so much better and makes me feel much more like a Jedi patiently and calmly wading through the midst of huge battles and seemingly endless enemies.
    Expand
  9. Apr 4, 2012
    7
    i was worried about getting this game because of the reviews but i pulled the trigger anyhow. im glad that i did. my kids and i played and had a great time. they even got a good bit of "exercise" out of it. granted the controls when two of us were playing were a bit off but that didn't take from the experience. the rancor rampage is a blast, pod racing is great, the dance off playsi was worried about getting this game because of the reviews but i pulled the trigger anyhow. im glad that i did. my kids and i played and had a great time. they even got a good bit of "exercise" out of it. granted the controls when two of us were playing were a bit off but that didn't take from the experience. the rancor rampage is a blast, pod racing is great, the dance off plays like the highly rated dance central and the campaign is co op and solid. this is a fun experience for families. if you don't have a lot of room or if you've had bad luck with kinect in the past maybe you should pass on this. we however have always had great responsiveness with our system given the amount of room that we have to play. remember that reviewers arent always for kids games and they may not have optimal play space depending where they live or work. lastly, for those that though they were going to feel like a Jedi by playing this, maybe a trip to the local gamestop isn't the only time you should get out of the house. Expand
  10. dz9
    Apr 8, 2012
    3
    I think like most people, I was very psyched for this game, we all wanna grow up to be a Jedi warrior! And the first time you hold out your arm to retrieve your saber in the career... The feeling of holding the saber is breathe taking. But unfortunately, the game loses its spark drastically after that! Where to begin, the motion controls only work accurately 10 percent of the time, theyI think like most people, I was very psyched for this game, we all wanna grow up to be a Jedi warrior! And the first time you hold out your arm to retrieve your saber in the career... The feeling of holding the saber is breathe taking. But unfortunately, the game loses its spark drastically after that! Where to begin, the motion controls only work accurately 10 percent of the time, they only work at a barable accuracy 40 percent of the time, and the other half you spend your time wailing your arms around frantically in a desperate fashion, and when a second person joins the action it gets even worse. Outside of the campaign, you get an embarrassing dance central knock off, a pointless rancor rampage mini game, a failing duel adventure, and a decent pod racing game. To add to the pile of mistakes, the graphics are out dated, voice acting is terrible, and story for the campaign is lacking which is much more essential in a star wars title. The good: few good ideas presented, does capture the overall feeling of star wars with the presentation, and a few genuinely fun moments. The bad: controls are unbarable, graphics are outdated, voice acting is awful, and the story is completely missing. In the end: overall, this is a dreadful game, children 7 and under may get a few good kicks out of this, but anyone above that age will be left scratching their heads wondering what the hell just happened. Expand
  11. Apr 4, 2012
    2
    I experienced this game at my buddies house and it was as bad as I thought it was going to be. Now, I don't hate Star Wars at all but the fact that when they were previewing it, the game seemed very glitchy and unresponsive at the best of times just showed a lack of execution for a game that should have been really awesome. The animations are stupid and clunky and the lag between yourI experienced this game at my buddies house and it was as bad as I thought it was going to be. Now, I don't hate Star Wars at all but the fact that when they were previewing it, the game seemed very glitchy and unresponsive at the best of times just showed a lack of execution for a game that should have been really awesome. The animations are stupid and clunky and the lag between your actions and the game is really bad. It was fairly obvious this game was not going to be ready for a long time but MC felt the need to release this game just to appease the masses. It's as bad as I thought it was going to be and definitely is not the game that is going to sell more kinects in the future. Expand
  12. Apr 11, 2012
    7
    "Kinect Star Wars" is an exclusive game for Xbox 360, created by Lucas Arts and Terminal Reality to be played with Kinect. Since E3 2010-2011, we know (at least I knew) what type of game it would be - more a Arcade one than a Hardcore game. Having this on mind, I created no expectations about what whould be the gameplay: in general lines, comparing to other Kinect game, I liked it - you"Kinect Star Wars" is an exclusive game for Xbox 360, created by Lucas Arts and Terminal Reality to be played with Kinect. Since E3 2010-2011, we know (at least I knew) what type of game it would be - more a Arcade one than a Hardcore game. Having this on mind, I created no expectations about what whould be the gameplay: in general lines, comparing to other Kinect game, I liked it - you can use the light saber and the force with either hand (right and left, respectively), besides having other aspects of the featured movies like flying Podracers, Speedbikers, etc. but the action is pre-programmed (Semi On-Rails); The game's history cover a time period between "Star Wars Episode I: The Phantom Menace" and ends during the events of "Star Wars III: Revenge of the Sith". The game has several chapters, divided into phases and each has a different type of gameplay, sometimes mixed: there are parts of general action (as quoted above), duel stages (where you block attacks and attack the enemy, predicting how and when / where he will strike next), destruction stages, piloting stages (which leans sideways, to ride, and forward and backward to control the speed) and dance stages, like Dance Central, but more simplified (and totally unecessary); Graphically the game is very well done, but it is very colorful and has more simplified, cartoon-like graphics, as seen in the animated Cartoon Network, or for a more practical example, as in the game Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning / Fable III - some character models are well made and more realistic, like the Yoda one, but most are more simple in design; The menus and graphic interfaces of the game totally relate to the movies, including the classic "cuts scene" between locations. The sounds and music, as one might expect, are faithful to the films, with original soundtrack and voice-overs by actors who have played roles in the actual movies - perfect in this item. The gameplay is a mixed bag: the Kinect has a good calibration, capturing well the movements, but as in all games that capture the arms, sometimes the interpretations of the positions of them are not very natural on the screen, it looks as if you were possessed; but overall, at least for me, was very responsive, even in low lighting. About the actions of gameplay with Kinect: there are actions with the arms (predominant), trunk (to go forward on foot, or ride the vehicles) and legs (kicking opponents). In the stages of action, with the right arm, the light saber is controlled in lateral movements, to cut, and in a 8 movement, and in low / high stances, to each side, in order to defend from the attacks, whereas with the left arm up and points to throw objects, and moving the left one to load a Force "Push" - with both the two, forward, you can lift and levitate heavy objects; In scenarios with many obstacles, as is done in Kinect Adventures, you do evades with the body, squats and jumps according to what is happening, and inclining the trunk forward to do a forward rush; In the vehicles, leaning sideways you control the direction, to avoid obstacles in three main positions (right, center and left), to reduce the speed, you pull your arms back, and moving them forth you Boost (to fire in the enemy vehicles in sight, you coordinate between your speed and pointing to where they are in front of you); the Dance parts, are not different from what we know from other games, but as I said before, it's a unnecessary waste of game space. Overall, this is a good Kinect games, obviously with a unique theme that alone will attract many buyers, has somewhat solid controls, but not either complex or extremely accurate (I'm still dreaming with a fighting game with a lightsaber - or any Kinect game that is more realistic and "hardcore") and has a perfect soundtrack, but with simple cartoon graphics, and do not have what almost everyone expected from the gameplay. It is a good choice of a game for Kinect, and will surely sell a lot for the brand affiliated, and with the legion of fans who Star Wars have (these game, even if you don't like it, will have a good resale value, also, the Bundle Xbox 360 also will become a "collector's item"): I give the game a score of 7,3 / 10,0 . Expand
  13. Jun 11, 2012
    8
    My Kinect Star Wars Review (slightly updated): The best sword fighting game to date is: not Kinect Star Wars, but is the Playstation 3 Sports Champions Gladiator game. However, Kinect Star Wars is good and is the best motion controlled Star Wars game released so far. A great Star Wars game would use the Gladiator game engine with the ability to walk around with a PS3 nav controller. YouMy Kinect Star Wars Review (slightly updated): The best sword fighting game to date is: not Kinect Star Wars, but is the Playstation 3 Sports Champions Gladiator game. However, Kinect Star Wars is good and is the best motion controlled Star Wars game released so far. A great Star Wars game would use the Gladiator game engine with the ability to walk around with a PS3 nav controller. You should also be able to shoot guns and use your saber with the PS3 move controller that is in the hand that is not holding the nav controller. Since the PS3 nav controller doesn't detect motion, they could use the PS3 eye to detect the motion of the hand that is holding the nav controller while still using the nav controller for the navigation of your character. If this doesn't work well, they could have you hold a second move controller in your hand instead of the nav controller and use it like a joystick by holding the move controller verticle for when your character is not moving and have you tilt it to walk your character around. (The other move controller would still be used for the saber and for shooting.) You could then force grasp or grip on to the enemy with a button and then move the controller up, down, left, right, forward, or back to control in the direction you want to throw the enemy while still being able to control your characters walking movement with the tilt of the move controller that is being used instead of the nav controller. You could also jump by just jumping, and do a flip by locking on to your enemy and jumping. You should also be able to lock on to your enemies while sabering. Force lighting would be controlled with a button. Force push would be done by pressing a button and pushing the move controller forward and force pull (or gun remove by pulling) would be done by pressing other buttons and pulling the move controller towards you. You should also be able to perform a stab backwards at the enemy by trusting the saber backward. The game would also be Similar to the Dark Forces series on the PC but be called Dark Forces 3. It should also include online play and provide more realistic and improved graphics. On to the Review of Kinect Star Wars. I give the graphics a 7. They are good but not the best. I give the Sound an 8.5. Very good. I give the gameplay a 7. Good. The kicking, jumping, dashing, and force powers work fairly well in this game. The saber, and other moves you have to do, work 95 percent of the time if you have the proper lighting, somewhat tight fitting clothing, a well tuned kinect, and you are not being hit by laser fire or attacked by enemies. The problems with the controls is that the game is on rails and the light saber combat is not as accurrate as the PS3 Gladiator sword fighting game. If I could use a nunchuck to move around with and use a very accurate motion controller to sword fight with, then the combat would be better. In addition, the boss duels you have are not as good as the duels in the PS3 Gladiator game. The reason for this is that you don't really have a choice to swipe at your opponent or block when you want to. Blocking is scripted to be your best option at certain times and swiping is selected to be your best option to win at other times. Not randomly having these activities take place makes the dueling a little dull, but not bad. (They could fix this in a patch.) You should block, do a move, and then hit your enemy with your saber randomly(not block block block block, hit hit hit hit, repeat). The Pod racing is very good but I do miss the rumble feedback from a normal controller. I give this part of the game an 8. I did not try the dancing part. The Rancor part is good and I give it a 7. The Duel only part is average and needs to be patched. I give that part a 6.0. Overall, I give the game an 8. Quite Good. If you like Star Wars you will like this game. It's a keeper.â Expand
  14. Apr 4, 2012
    7
    This is my guilty pleasure game of the year. Yes, it has some spotty animation, yes it can be very frustrating at times, but it also is fun and cheesy at the same time. As a huge Star Wars fan I found the different games to be very entertaining, although the podracing is quite tiring on the arms. I love the franchise, but people that are saying that this is destroying the franchise need toThis is my guilty pleasure game of the year. Yes, it has some spotty animation, yes it can be very frustrating at times, but it also is fun and cheesy at the same time. As a huge Star Wars fan I found the different games to be very entertaining, although the podracing is quite tiring on the arms. I love the franchise, but people that are saying that this is destroying the franchise need to calm down and take a breath. If the series can endure the likes of the holiday special, episodes 1-3, and the Force Unleashed, it can take just about anything. If you can't poke fun at the things you love, then you are just a little too zealous about them. Star Wars has always been a world where you take the things that you love and forget the things that you don't... Ewoks for instance... That being said, the dancing is the best part of the game. The podracing is decent too as well as the rancor rampage. The Jedi quest and dueling is sadly, the weakest link and should have been better, but it was still interesting.

    I got this only because it came with the exclusive system, but I would recommend waiting until you can pick it up for 20 bucks in a few months or rent it. I probably wouldn't pay $40 for it. You should still TRY it out before you write a terrible review, calling it trash, because you are trying to defend the franchise. Don't trust the "1" reviews on here. Those who wrote those have never played a REALLY bad game before...
    Expand
  15. Apr 4, 2012
    1
    I wanted this game to be something that was at the very least fun in short burst but as you can probably tell from watching anyone play, or I should say attempt to play this mess of a game you know that this isn't the case. This game leaves you looking around for someone to blame for what is unquestionable a disguising waste or both engineers and artists time.
  16. Apr 4, 2012
    8
    So after reading reviews, and opinions from what people were saying, i decided i was gonna take a shot in the dark and go for it. I wasn't disappointed at all. I read alot about people saying the controls are terrible, and that there is lag between what i do and what the game does, but i haven't noticed a bit of it. I primarily got the game for my roommate to play with her kids, and iSo after reading reviews, and opinions from what people were saying, i decided i was gonna take a shot in the dark and go for it. I wasn't disappointed at all. I read alot about people saying the controls are terrible, and that there is lag between what i do and what the game does, but i haven't noticed a bit of it. I primarily got the game for my roommate to play with her kids, and i didn't think i would even sit down to play it at all, but i ended up playing it for almost 2 hours. The graphics and the voice acting both lack a certain polish that other games have, but i wasn't expecting Skyrim going into it. The only gripe i have, because its a semi-rail shooter, is that when there is a small cut scene there should be a flashing icon that tells you you have zero control. I would try to dash forward, only to realize i was in a cut scene immediately after killing a few guys. Its nothing serious, but for a game where you use your entire body, arms and legs, it can get tiring to make needless actions. Overall, i enjoy the game, and it doesn't hurt that it's only a 50 dollar game. If you're a hardcore gamer, you'll probably want to just pass, unless you have a friend who has the game. If you like casually playing a game, or you're getting it for a kid, its worth the 50 dollars if you already have a Kinect. I wouldn't say go buy one just for this one game, but if you have one atleast give the game a try. I did and im glad i didn't just listen to the opinions of everyone else. Expand
  17. Apr 4, 2012
    10
    Great game if you have Kinect, functionality works well and there is virtually no lag. If you enjoy your star wars game / Kinect games then you get this, or at least try the demo.
  18. Feb 17, 2014
    0
    This "game" is a horrible disrespect towards Star Wars fans. I would call it an abomination. It fails both as Star Wars content and as a Kinect game. Unresponsive controls, the lightsaber moves are scripted, boring, repetitive gameplay and... Han Solo dancing and singing... Shame
  19. Apr 9, 2012
    0
    Ok, we can watch that some companys do a great job with some kinect titles (Haunt, Rhythm Party, Your Shape, etc...), and some bad works, and with this game happen the second. When much people heard about this game they think that a great idea can appear, but after when they watch the trailer, they think in a regular game, after comes the demo in the E3 and be a disaster, after we watchingOk, we can watch that some companys do a great job with some kinect titles (Haunt, Rhythm Party, Your Shape, etc...), and some bad works, and with this game happen the second. When much people heard about this game they think that a great idea can appear, but after when they watch the trailer, they think in a regular game, after comes the demo in the E3 and be a disaster, after we watching this dance mode, and all say "really?", the gameplay is really boring, jump and run other movements, and the dance mode, is really stupid, the detection of kinect is slow. Sorry, but Kinect Star Wars is a bigger disaster. Expand
  20. May 11, 2012
    10
    This is a fun game, not for core game players, obviously, but perfectly enjoyable for what amounts to a Kinect arcade offering. I think the dancing was silly but the kids really love it. In fact, the kids (7 and 10 yrs) are very reluctant to stop playing. I would recommend this to anyone who isn't looking for a life changing game.
  21. Jun 3, 2012
    6
    Personally, I liked it, but after a while it gets old. The main quest is based on repetitive action and slow paced boss fights. Pod racing is not that fun, which each race taking so long that it will make your arms tired. Duel mode is okay. But rancor rampage is pretty fun. In Rancor rampage, you feel like the hulk as you bash a small town to pieces. I have never tried dance mode, but I'vePersonally, I liked it, but after a while it gets old. The main quest is based on repetitive action and slow paced boss fights. Pod racing is not that fun, which each race taking so long that it will make your arms tired. Duel mode is okay. But rancor rampage is pretty fun. In Rancor rampage, you feel like the hulk as you bash a small town to pieces. I have never tried dance mode, but I've heard its okay if you like dancing games. Overall, i think its an okay Kinect game for families, but I would recommend you rent it for a little while before you purchase it. Expand
  22. Apr 4, 2012
    6
    Star Wars Kinect is fun in short play sessions. But with the confusingly lacking polish on the motion controlled portion of the game, and the un-intuitive play-style, both LucasArts and MGS should be ashamed of bringing this title to market as is. Best case scnario: they patch the game to allow for better interpretation of player movements. The game isn't terrible, but it's not the epicStar Wars Kinect is fun in short play sessions. But with the confusingly lacking polish on the motion controlled portion of the game, and the un-intuitive play-style, both LucasArts and MGS should be ashamed of bringing this title to market as is. Best case scnario: they patch the game to allow for better interpretation of player movements. The game isn't terrible, but it's not the epic journey one would hope to have within the Star Wars universe. Then again, that's typical with Star Wars games. Most are flashed in the pan while few impress. Expand
  23. Apr 17, 2012
    8
    Ok I just finished playing the Jedi Destiny campaign this morning and aside from some issues with picking up my jumping all the time I found the game quite fun. I mean it has all the known jedi moves (saber attacks, force grab, push, rush, flips, jumps and jump attacks, and deflecting laser blasts) plus side flips, dunks, kicks, and duels. Definitely more than enough variety to have a funOk I just finished playing the Jedi Destiny campaign this morning and aside from some issues with picking up my jumping all the time I found the game quite fun. I mean it has all the known jedi moves (saber attacks, force grab, push, rush, flips, jumps and jump attacks, and deflecting laser blasts) plus side flips, dunks, kicks, and duels. Definitely more than enough variety to have a fun and get a good workout. LOL The space battles are also pretty fun as well. I think the only complaint I have is the campaign is too short. But those that are complaining are probably not using enough variety in their attacks and just sticking with Light saber slashes. Its more fun to mix it up by using the force and hurling rocks, boxes or other robots at the attacking horde. And as far as the other modes: My girlfriend really enjoys the dance mode, the kids(including this big one) likes the Rancor mode and pod racing. I think duels are OK. Might be a bit too hard to advance to the other characters.

    As far as other complaints and possible improvements: Missles and mines can be a bit challenging to launch every time in the space batte sequences, I'd like to see fewer checkpoints instead of insta-respawing back in action when you die when on foot - Makes the game seem too easy(though I did die quite a bit). Maybe add a few more Jedi saber attacks added after each zone completion to give a little more variety. And perhaps a defense scenario where you jump on a stationary weapon to fight off hordes of incoming enemies(basically the space controls, but on land). A blaster armed sequence would of been cool as well. Overall I'd say its a pretty decent game and definitely doesn't deserve the ripping its getting.
    Expand
  24. Apr 12, 2012
    1
    I'm still a big Star Wars fan, but Kinect Star Wars is one of the worst Kinect games since Rise of Nightmares. This is NOT a real Star Wars game. I thought I wanted to see action and lightsabers by using without a controller, but the dancing part is way over the limit. More like a Dance Central rip-off. For fans of the series, I should spend plenty of hours playing Old Republic or LEGOI'm still a big Star Wars fan, but Kinect Star Wars is one of the worst Kinect games since Rise of Nightmares. This is NOT a real Star Wars game. I thought I wanted to see action and lightsabers by using without a controller, but the dancing part is way over the limit. More like a Dance Central rip-off. For fans of the series, I should spend plenty of hours playing Old Republic or LEGO Star Wars. Shame on you, Kinect. Expand
  25. Apr 28, 2012
    3
    I knew it was going to be bad. But this is BAD.
    Gameplay over all
    graphics- 2/10 looks like a wii game sound 4/10 controls 0/10 please please please stop making kinect games or fix the controls FUN 1/10 its cool for like 2 mins.. then you get the "oh no i bought this " feeling. total 3/10 Value overall... well i couldn't stand playing it so not sure, look like a 3/10 though Over all
    I knew it was going to be bad. But this is BAD.
    Gameplay over all
    graphics- 2/10 looks like a wii game
    sound 4/10
    controls 0/10 please please please stop making kinect games or fix the controls
    FUN 1/10 its cool for like 2 mins.. then you get the "oh no i bought this " feeling.

    total 3/10 Value overall... well i couldn't stand playing it so not sure, look like a 3/10 though

    Over all game? 3/10 easy... its playable, but barely, its not fun, and if it was the last game in the universe i rather take up knitting.
    Expand
  26. Apr 13, 2012
    3
    Star Wars has had it's fair share of good games and bad games, but I think this one may be one of the worst ones out there. Why would Star Wars be milking money like this? The kinect may be for kids even so, some controls don't work correctly. Story mode had it's fair share of fun moments, but the speed bikes were too hard to maneuver. Yet, the space battles were easy? Um...this isStar Wars has had it's fair share of good games and bad games, but I think this one may be one of the worst ones out there. Why would Star Wars be milking money like this? The kinect may be for kids even so, some controls don't work correctly. Story mode had it's fair share of fun moments, but the speed bikes were too hard to maneuver. Yet, the space battles were easy? Um...this is confusing. Cutscenes are weak and the story doesn't make much sense either. Podracing is hard as well. If turning right you'll turn left and vice versa. You may have to wipe off water and dirt sometimes, but you'll slam into a wall. Dancing was a weird idea. It's kind of a ripoff of Dance Central. What gave them this idea? Why? It's work really well but you'll get bored after hearing some of the lyrics. Rancor Rampage did work and it was the only mode where I had fun. You could just move your arms and legs and destroy everything. This was the only mode keeping me entertained the most and because it worked great. Lightsaber duels do NOT work. You defend, then kick them, and then attack. Rinse and repeat. This is not what we were expecting or what we wanted. I'm even a little ashamed to have played this, but luckily I rented it through Gamefly. I'm not a big Star Wars fan and even I found some of the references stupid. I'm going back to playing the Gunstringer in the meantime until another good Kinect comes out. Expand
  27. May 22, 2012
    3
    Everybody was wondering at the start of this console's life cycle when we would get a crappy Star Wars motion control game. You wait is finally over, the chicks have flown the coup, gerbil poop. You are Action Skyhawkrr, a robot who doesn't want to stop, won't stop, can't stop. There is a bit of a twist at one point as the natives become restless, too much caffeine that late at night is noEverybody was wondering at the start of this console's life cycle when we would get a crappy Star Wars motion control game. You wait is finally over, the chicks have flown the coup, gerbil poop. You are Action Skyhawkrr, a robot who doesn't want to stop, won't stop, can't stop. There is a bit of a twist at one point as the natives become restless, too much caffeine that late at night is no goody. Give it a shot if you have a mentally challenged hamster. Collapse
  28. Apr 12, 2012
    7
    Really not bad for a Kinect specific game. It is definitely geared to the casual or family gamer. One of my friends said that their kids were really enjoying it. Since I have a Kinect, I know that really good lighting is important to playing any of Kinect games.
  29. Apr 14, 2012
    5
    What did you expect? I am a huge Star Wars guy, always have been, always will be. But the Kinect and I never have been the best of friends. I had the most fun when C3P0 and R2-D2 couldn't fine me and kept looking around for me with a lot of funny banter. "Oh dear, where could the commander have gone?" Throughout most of the game I was bored but was happy with the motion capabilities whenWhat did you expect? I am a huge Star Wars guy, always have been, always will be. But the Kinect and I never have been the best of friends. I had the most fun when C3P0 and R2-D2 couldn't fine me and kept looking around for me with a lot of funny banter. "Oh dear, where could the commander have gone?" Throughout most of the game I was bored but was happy with the motion capabilities when using the lightsaber. However the podracing was awful and I didn't even attempt to dance. For what it was I enjoyed myself but kept wanting to sit down and watch the cut scenes, there are a lot of them, but then I would be logged out and have to log in again... Endless cycle of annoying events. Worth playing for a day but not worth owning. Expand
  30. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    I'm not even a Star Wars fan because I've never seen a movie yet. But Kinect Star Wars is a real fun game. I've been playing for a while and in my opinion, it's a game only for fun, to feel like a Jedi or a Monster. I haven't played the dance part, I don't like dancing, but the rest of the game is amazing. And the 3D effects are great. The first Kinect game with 3D support I'veI'm not even a Star Wars fan because I've never seen a movie yet. But Kinect Star Wars is a real fun game. I've been playing for a while and in my opinion, it's a game only for fun, to feel like a Jedi or a Monster. I haven't played the dance part, I don't like dancing, but the rest of the game is amazing. And the 3D effects are great. The first Kinect game with 3D support I've played and I'm happy with this game. Kinect games can't be reviewed as a "serious" Star Wars game in my opinion. Kinect is fun and the aim of those games is only to have lots of fun. I think that it's one of the best Kinect games, so I rate it an excellent game. Expand
  31. Apr 14, 2012
    2
    Kinect Star Wars is not for hardcore gamers and this is clear, is a game designed for the family and the Kineckt, but unfortunately was based on a franchise utterly distinctive.
    This resulted in what I consider to be a pure offense to Star Wars.
  32. Apr 26, 2012
    10
    THIS GAME IS AMAZING!!!!!!! THIS GAME HAS AMAZING GAMEPLAY IN EVERY SINGLE SECTION. I REALLY LOVE THE DANCE BATTLE PART OF THE GAME BECAUSE IT MADE MY CHILDHOOD EVEN BETTER. THE ONLY THING THAT NEEDS TO BE ADDED TO THIS GAME IS TDM, DOMINATION, AND SEARCH AND DESTROY. ALSO KILLSTREAKS WOULDN'T HURT. BUY THIS GAME. 10/10
  33. Feb 7, 2013
    4
    When I first heard that a Star Wars game was coming out for the Kinect, I was so excited! Swinging your lightsabers around, playing missions from the movies, etc. I couldn't wait for this game to come out. I had high hopes for this game and what I played was nothing short than disappointing. A mini-campaign that is more forgettable than the plot from the prequels? A Rancor mode? A DANCEWhen I first heard that a Star Wars game was coming out for the Kinect, I was so excited! Swinging your lightsabers around, playing missions from the movies, etc. I couldn't wait for this game to come out. I had high hopes for this game and what I played was nothing short than disappointing. A mini-campaign that is more forgettable than the plot from the prequels? A Rancor mode? A DANCE MODE??!! What is this s**t!! this ain't the Star Wars game I was expecting! I can live with these modes, however the most disappointing thing in the game is the lightsaber movement. I hate it when you have to control the lightsaber that the game wants you to swing it. I expected to swing my lightsaber around in any motion I want and have no issues whatsoever. The figure 8 you have to do to defend yourself from incoming droids, and "boss battles" is so boring and tedious. It sucks. Even though I do not like the game modes that Lucasarts, and Terminal Reality chose, it still manages to be fun, entertaining, and gives you a good exercise. The modes are fun, but it was not what I expected from a Star Wars game. Expand
  34. Jul 30, 2013
    1
    Good Graphics good story line. A game for young kids. Controls are not accurate. Its a chore to play with 2 people. If your tall at all its even worse the camera most likely wont completely see you. Very disappointing waste of money. Again fun for young kids but if you expect any reality or precision at all after the tutorial you will be let down. Don't waste your time renting or buying it.
  35. Jan 26, 2014
    10
    This game is a combination of dancing and star wars combined! it's amazing and I love it!!! EVERYONE SHOULD LOVE IT!! I WAS NOT PAID TO MAKE THIS REVIEW!!! GET IT NOW! :D
  36. Jan 21, 2014
    7
    Sure I get what these negative reviews are going at, but this game overall deserves a higher score than this, even though the flaws are foolish. Let's start with what sucks. The menu is so diffucult to navigate because the Kinect doesn't respond. I thought you could play Luke or Han or at least ANYBODY but instead we get people like Fenella Druce, what? I mean, if you can't use theSure I get what these negative reviews are going at, but this game overall deserves a higher score than this, even though the flaws are foolish. Let's start with what sucks. The menu is so diffucult to navigate because the Kinect doesn't respond. I thought you could play Luke or Han or at least ANYBODY but instead we get people like Fenella Druce, what? I mean, if you can't use the characters we know and love, then can we at least use our own XBOX avatars? Overall, your options (minigames, characters, etc.) are limited, as if it matters!
    Right now, I'm about to go over my reception for the minigames:
    Story Mode and Duel: YAHOO!!! Wait a sec, you can actually TEXT and make it past the first level. BECAUSE ALL YOU HAVE TO DO IS WAVE YOUR HAND!!!
    Podracing: Fun! Great graphics and effects, but just so imprecise!
    Rancor Rampage: Pointless, but just SO fun seeing me brutally destroy this primitive village!
    Galactic-Dance Off: OH MY GAWWWWWWWDDDD!!!!! WOO HOO!!! CMON GUYS LET'S BOOGIE!!!!
    Scan M-Tag: I don't know what THAT is.

    Well, this game could do a better job, but why did this get such low scores? I really don't understand despite how imprecise the game is.
    Expand
  37. May 22, 2012
    0
    Everybody was wondering at the start of this console's life cycle when we would get a crappy Star Wars motion control game. You wait is finally over, the chicks have flown the coup, gerbil poop. You are Action Skyhawkrr, a robot who doesn't want to stop, won't stop, can't stop. There is a bit of a twist at one point as the natives become restless, too much caffeine that late at night is noEverybody was wondering at the start of this console's life cycle when we would get a crappy Star Wars motion control game. You wait is finally over, the chicks have flown the coup, gerbil poop. You are Action Skyhawkrr, a robot who doesn't want to stop, won't stop, can't stop. There is a bit of a twist at one point as the natives become restless, too much caffeine that late at night is no goody. Give it a shot if you have a mentally challenged hamster. Collapse
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 61 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 61
  2. Negative: 11 out of 61
  1. 50
    A cynical package that doesn't do the Star Wars franchise any justice whatsoever. [Issue#85, p.92]
  2. May 15, 2012
    40
    Kinect Star Wars is a double edged sword. On one side, using the force with the Kinect sensor is immensely satisfying. On the other side, Kinect is just what is holding this game back. All in all, it's just another shallow and lacking tech demo from Microsofts admittingly impressive motion sensor.
  3. May 14, 2012
    50
    Crappy in places, but frequently very fun. You might hate yourself for not hating it. [June 2012, p.74]