Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 61 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 137 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Enter the Galaxy: True to the Star Wars you know and love, visuals transport you into the Star Wars universe, complete with iconic characters, vehicles, ships, Droids and much more. Drawing on iconic moments from the motion pictures, Kinect Star Wars allows you to enter the Star WarsEnter the Galaxy: True to the Star Wars you know and love, visuals transport you into the Star Wars universe, complete with iconic characters, vehicles, ships, Droids and much more. Drawing on iconic moments from the motion pictures, Kinect Star Wars allows you to enter the Star Wars universe and experience a variety of physical play. Swing your arms to wield a Lightsaber, reach out and use the Force, jump, dodge or kick to defeat your enemies. Easy in/out co-op lets a 2nd player jump into the fun at any time in some modes. Lightsaber combat, Force moves, piloting Speederbikes and iconic ships, Podracing and much more. Experience the breadth of the Star Wars universe as you wield a Lightsaber and train to be a Jedi Master, become a champion Podracer, master the Force, pilot iconic ships and Speederbikes, and much more. [Microsoft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 61
  2. Negative: 11 out of 61
  1. 80
    To anyone expecting a poor dance game: yes there is dancing, it resembles Dance Central and the reason for it being in the game is explained by C-3PO as a corrupted file in the Jedi Archives. If that makes you cringe and abandon the game, then you will miss out on a great Pod Racer, a fun dancing game, a well made jedi campaign and other mini games using the Star Wars license respectfully. Recommended for all ages.
  2. Apr 18, 2012
    70
    The campaign grows tedious in spite of its mixed-up gameplay, and the remaining mini-game modes are enjoyable more for their novelty and humor than for their actual gameplay. I'd still recommend the game for serious Star Wars fans, but if you're more of a casual fan and/or just have a passing interest, it's better worth renting than a full-on purchase.
  3. Apr 5, 2012
    68
    Many of the individual games exhibit occasional flashes of brilliance, and the absurdity of the Galactic Dance Off bears witnessing at least once. We just can't recommend picking up the entire package in order to do so.
  4. Apr 16, 2012
    58
    Kinect Star Wars is a rich Kinect title flawed by poor dialog, control issues and forgettable extra modes. Anyway kids will likely enjoy pods and dancing sessions while fans will be attracted by the chanche to wield a light saber.
  5. May 14, 2012
    50
    Crappy in places, but frequently very fun. You might hate yourself for not hating it. [June 2012, p.74]
  6. 50
    Kinect Star Wars isn't the worst Kinect game I have ever played, nor is it the worst Star Wars game I have ever played. It's just depressingly mediocre.
  7. May 3, 2012
    30
    While the feel of Star Wars is certainly present, helped largely by the Podracing, the developers dropped a huge ball when it comes to being a Jedi.

See all 61 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 44
  2. Negative: 22 out of 44
  1. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    It is an amazing Kinect-Game and the best out there. The Presentation ist good, Controls great and there is a lot of Content to enjoy. WhatIt is an amazing Kinect-Game and the best out there. The Presentation ist good, Controls great and there is a lot of Content to enjoy. What may piss people off is, that the Game is a family game and not a core game as many of us would have expected but regardless of that : A damn good family game. Expand
  2. Apr 26, 2012
    10
    THIS GAME IS AMAZING!!!!!!! THIS GAME HAS AMAZING GAMEPLAY IN EVERY SINGLE SECTION. I REALLY LOVE THE DANCE BATTLE PART OF THE GAME BECAUSE ITTHIS GAME IS AMAZING!!!!!!! THIS GAME HAS AMAZING GAMEPLAY IN EVERY SINGLE SECTION. I REALLY LOVE THE DANCE BATTLE PART OF THE GAME BECAUSE IT MADE MY CHILDHOOD EVEN BETTER. THE ONLY THING THAT NEEDS TO BE ADDED TO THIS GAME IS TDM, DOMINATION, AND SEARCH AND DESTROY. ALSO KILLSTREAKS WOULDN'T HURT. BUY THIS GAME. 10/10 Expand
  3. Apr 4, 2012
    8
    So after reading reviews, and opinions from what people were saying, i decided i was gonna take a shot in the dark and go for it. I wasn'tSo after reading reviews, and opinions from what people were saying, i decided i was gonna take a shot in the dark and go for it. I wasn't disappointed at all. I read alot about people saying the controls are terrible, and that there is lag between what i do and what the game does, but i haven't noticed a bit of it. I primarily got the game for my roommate to play with her kids, and i didn't think i would even sit down to play it at all, but i ended up playing it for almost 2 hours. The graphics and the voice acting both lack a certain polish that other games have, but i wasn't expecting Skyrim going into it. The only gripe i have, because its a semi-rail shooter, is that when there is a small cut scene there should be a flashing icon that tells you you have zero control. I would try to dash forward, only to realize i was in a cut scene immediately after killing a few guys. Its nothing serious, but for a game where you use your entire body, arms and legs, it can get tiring to make needless actions. Overall, i enjoy the game, and it doesn't hurt that it's only a 50 dollar game. If you're a hardcore gamer, you'll probably want to just pass, unless you have a friend who has the game. If you like casually playing a game, or you're getting it for a kid, its worth the 50 dollars if you already have a Kinect. I wouldn't say go buy one just for this one game, but if you have one atleast give the game a try. I did and im glad i didn't just listen to the opinions of everyone else. Expand
  4. Apr 4, 2012
    6
    Star Wars Kinect is fun in short play sessions. But with the confusingly lacking polish on the motion controlled portion of the game, and theStar Wars Kinect is fun in short play sessions. But with the confusingly lacking polish on the motion controlled portion of the game, and the un-intuitive play-style, both LucasArts and MGS should be ashamed of bringing this title to market as is. Best case scnario: they patch the game to allow for better interpretation of player movements. The game isn't terrible, but it's not the epic journey one would hope to have within the Star Wars universe. Then again, that's typical with Star Wars games. Most are flashed in the pan while few impress. Expand
  5. Apr 3, 2012
    3
    OMG !! c'est pas possible de faire des jeux aussi pourri, j'ai réussi a joué environ 45 minutes, mais au bout de 15OMG !! c'est pas possible de faire des jeux aussi pourri, j'ai réussi a joué environ 45 minutes, mais au bout de 15 minutes j'en avait déjà plein le cul ! répétitif a souhait , on passe notre temps a secoué le bras et a sauté, pour un résultat médiocre. quel déception !! surtout n'acheter pas ce jeux ! Expand
  6. Apr 4, 2012
    2
    I experienced this game at my buddies house and it was as bad as I thought it was going to be. Now, I don't hate Star Wars at all but the factI experienced this game at my buddies house and it was as bad as I thought it was going to be. Now, I don't hate Star Wars at all but the fact that when they were previewing it, the game seemed very glitchy and unresponsive at the best of times just showed a lack of execution for a game that should have been really awesome. The animations are stupid and clunky and the lag between your actions and the game is really bad. It was fairly obvious this game was not going to be ready for a long time but MC felt the need to release this game just to appease the masses. It's as bad as I thought it was going to be and definitely is not the game that is going to sell more kinects in the future. Expand
  7. Dec 29, 2014
    0
    INSULT. A BIG INSULT. DANCING MODE IS AN INSULT. BROKEN GAMEPLAY. AWFUL IDEAS. **** KINECT. ONE OF THE MODES IS BROKEN ****

    i wanna kill
    INSULT. A BIG INSULT. DANCING MODE IS AN INSULT. BROKEN GAMEPLAY. AWFUL IDEAS. **** KINECT. ONE OF THE MODES IS BROKEN ****

    i wanna kill microsoft because of this awful game
    Expand

See all 44 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.