User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1322 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 22, 2016
    7
    Like always I'm reviewing the game for people that are asking themselves if it's worth a buy NOW, and therefore take into account that there's almost nobody left online and for Left 4 Dead it's obviously impacting the final mark.

    So technically the game is beautiful for its time, with very nice light effects that increase the creepy atmosphere, nice sound design for the enemies, no
    Like always I'm reviewing the game for people that are asking themselves if it's worth a buy NOW, and therefore take into account that there's almost nobody left online and for Left 4 Dead it's obviously impacting the final mark.

    So technically the game is beautiful for its time, with very nice light effects that increase the creepy atmosphere, nice sound design for the enemies, no framerate issue even when there's tons of zombies on the screen, Valve did, like always, a very professional job.

    Concerning the gameplay that's what has been the most "damaged" by time as like I said you won't find a lot of people online and this game is thought to be play in groups of 4 to have the most fun, the IA for the allies is not bad at all if you play in solo but there the game is a rather simple FPS with similar situations again and again, everything works fine but there's no variety.

    And it's not the nonexistent story that will appeal to solo players, every mission has the same one and it only takes one word, ESCAPE. It will take approximately 6 hours to do every mission and once again, if you play alone there's 0 incentive to do them again, so it's very short.

    In conclusion Left 4 Dead is a very fun game to play with friends thanks to a simple but good gameplay, but the lack of story, the repetitive level design and its short length makes it forgettable for solo player. I would advise it if you know for sure that you have at least one friend willing to play it with you, if not there are better FPS out there for you.
    Expand
  2. Jan 19, 2015
    7
    This game is boring at first, but then awesome.

    Pros
    -Nice graphics
    -scary
    -interesting story

    Cons
    -Horrible controls

    This game is worth checking out.
  3. RowanF
    Apr 17, 2009
    6
    An amazing game - In theory. It has great graphics, great multiplayer, great gameplay ect, all of which make it a realy fun game to play, but it's completely flawed by one single factor: Its length. Four hours. That's how long it took me to complete it. Four freakin' hours. There are EXPANSION PACKS longer than that! Four hours! I mean, that might be ok if it was realy full An amazing game - In theory. It has great graphics, great multiplayer, great gameplay ect, all of which make it a realy fun game to play, but it's completely flawed by one single factor: Its length. Four hours. That's how long it took me to complete it. Four freakin' hours. There are EXPANSION PACKS longer than that! Four hours! I mean, that might be ok if it was realy full and thought out, but not only are half the objects seen in game literaly ripped straight from Half Life 2, it doesn't even have a story line! What were valve doing all of those years? Sitting there picking their noses? Valve's feeble excuse for this pitiful gameplay time was the games massive replayablity, due to the 'AI director' which would change the positioning and quantity of the zombies each playthrough depending on how well players were doing. But as I played it, the zombies would either come from dark alley to my right, or a dark alley to my left, regardless of whether I was limping along with two temamates down and a single shell in my shotgun, or if i was tearing through the horde like an almighty god with full health and an almost unlimited supply of ammo. At any rate, they were the still just the same zombies in the same place to be disposed of in the same way. In short, the games excuse for not being pitifuly short - replayability - is... well a complete fabrication. This game had the potential to be great, but Valves inability to make a game of any length pretty much ruined it. Expand
  4. Oct 22, 2010
    7
    Online co-op gaming at its best. It's not a 'normal' game with its four levels that, on easy or normal, can be finished inside 40 minutes per level. Stick it on extreme and it's a different story, though. We're talking hours of pain per level... ouch.
  5. Aug 20, 2013
    6
    a really boring and repetitive game this game simply takes 10 minutes then it is the same even in any level you play in the co op was good but still gets boring after a while
  6. BrianS
    Feb 3, 2009
    7
    This game should be packaged with the warning that you can play it only with 2 people on one 360. We bought the game thinking we all (me and my kids) could play together. WRONG. Now, if you are a single player and don't have online access, skip this one. As far as a multiplayer goes this game is one of the best out there. 4 maps makes you scratch your head why they could not put a This game should be packaged with the warning that you can play it only with 2 people on one 360. We bought the game thinking we all (me and my kids) could play together. WRONG. Now, if you are a single player and don't have online access, skip this one. As far as a multiplayer goes this game is one of the best out there. 4 maps makes you scratch your head why they could not put a few more in it, but I am sure we will see downloads online for maps at a fee of course. Graphics and gameplay are excellant and the AI is very good. I can play this game all day and that says a lot. I do though have to have someone playing with me or I go bonkers over the AI. They look for you to be the leader and force you to take on the horde, hunter, boomer, smoker, & witch at the head of the pack. Expand
  7. ChrisLanger
    Mar 4, 2009
    5
    I thought this game was going to be a real "wower", but it turned out to be nothing of the sort. You basically trudge along with no story line, blasting zombies and escaping from the map. There is no real variety in the game and nothing is explained well. The weapons are all homogeneous and you never get a good feel for them. Thankfully I waited until it was 40 bucks before I boughtI thought this game was going to be a real "wower", but it turned out to be nothing of the sort. You basically trudge along with no story line, blasting zombies and escaping from the map. There is no real variety in the game and nothing is explained well. The weapons are all homogeneous and you never get a good feel for them. Thankfully I waited until it was 40 bucks before I bought the game. I would have kicked myself for paying 60 dollars for this four-hour shooer. Expand
  8. HenryI
    Nov 22, 2008
    7
    There is some validity in what has proved to be an entertaining game. However, it is let down in some instances. More innovative zombie AI could have been used, and the lack of weaponary was.... disappointing. Essentially, it is based on the Source engine has said. This engine is good, and works well for the game. There are unforgettable moments of teamwork and cohesion which will stick There is some validity in what has proved to be an entertaining game. However, it is let down in some instances. More innovative zombie AI could have been used, and the lack of weaponary was.... disappointing. Essentially, it is based on the Source engine has said. This engine is good, and works well for the game. There are unforgettable moments of teamwork and cohesion which will stick in your mind. There are unbelievable moments when you will think "wow, this is AWESOME!". But considering all the other zombie mods out there, I believe Valve did a good job, but not a great one. They needed things such as barricadable areas, some environment destruction, that kind of thing. Because this was lacking, I give this a good rating, and recommend the game highly, but don't believe it is high enough to be regarded as a truly brilliant gem like games such as Fable, COD4, TF2 ect. Expand
  9. Fozzy
    Nov 19, 2008
    7
    This is a must have FPS co-op zombie frag fest game. Other than that, it will more than likely grow old... fast. 5 Campaigns with several sections each. One campaign can take as little as 1 hour to as much as 2+ hours. However, there's little to no reason to play a campaign twice. It's the same thing. To put it another way, the game is designed to feel like a money. How many This is a must have FPS co-op zombie frag fest game. Other than that, it will more than likely grow old... fast. 5 Campaigns with several sections each. One campaign can take as little as 1 hour to as much as 2+ hours. However, there's little to no reason to play a campaign twice. It's the same thing. To put it another way, the game is designed to feel like a money. How many times can you watch the same movie in the same day, week, or month without getting bored? There's only 5 guns. 2 are just derivatives of each other (sub-machine gun => Assault Rifle, Pump Shotgun => Auto-Shotgun). Then you have 2 types of throwables. A Molotov cocktail and pipe-bomb. That's about it. Once you played through a campaign and you know "the story" and the "traps", you have little reason to play it again. It gets boring... fast. The game play is impeccable but there's just no staying power. Though, I'm at odds for the decision to low down your movement speed when being hit. That just doesn't feel right. But in the end, I'll pay for it again and again, just to sit in an old abandoned farm house, holding the line from hordes of zombies. Hey, they didn't even have to get the AI "smart" because... they are Zombies after all! Expand
  10. AnonymousMC
    Nov 22, 2008
    7
    It's got decent gameplay, that's for sure. It's a lot of fun, for a short while. Definitely not worth as much as a full priced game, it feels like a mod, kinda like Team Fortress 2 or Counter Strike. There's no story line, and the campaigns it does have (four there of) are all pretty short; no more than an hour each at most. I managed to get 400/1000 GS in only a coupleIt's got decent gameplay, that's for sure. It's a lot of fun, for a short while. Definitely not worth as much as a full priced game, it feels like a mod, kinda like Team Fortress 2 or Counter Strike. There's no story line, and the campaigns it does have (four there of) are all pretty short; no more than an hour each at most. I managed to get 400/1000 GS in only a couple of sittings. Good thing EB Games stores have a seven day no fuss returns policy! Expand
  11. AaronL.
    Nov 27, 2008
    7
    I would have been very impressed, havent the developers expanded the longevity of it. I feel as if this game had a couple of major drawbacks, first the length of course, the length doesnt follow the concept of the story very well, I wonder if it was even the true story and not just a draft for the original background. Second, the level design wasnt up to snuff with resident evil, it felt I would have been very impressed, havent the developers expanded the longevity of it. I feel as if this game had a couple of major drawbacks, first the length of course, the length doesnt follow the concept of the story very well, I wonder if it was even the true story and not just a draft for the original background. Second, the level design wasnt up to snuff with resident evil, it felt more like a poorly designed house of the dead. Third, As much as I dont care about graphics that greatly, the effects are far from what I call a "nightmaric atmosphere". Sorry if that doesnt sound too intelligent, But I was hoping this would've beat dead rising in terms of entertainment. But the originality is where its at, and its very dark and apocalyptic despite the above mentioned. - Aaron Lee. Expand
  12. PhilB
    Dec 2, 2008
    5
    I'm surprised by all the high rankings this game is getting. Yes, the Director is neat and creates a different hoard of zombies each time, but the bottom line is that the hoards of zombies are always the same hoard, just in different places. The zombies are weak, die much too easily, and just come in hoards - usually very fast and all out sprinting (which is generally unrealistic I'm surprised by all the high rankings this game is getting. Yes, the Director is neat and creates a different hoard of zombies each time, but the bottom line is that the hoards of zombies are always the same hoard, just in different places. The zombies are weak, die much too easily, and just come in hoards - usually very fast and all out sprinting (which is generally unrealistic speeds as at times 30 zombies come out a standard doorway within 10 seconds - much faster than if a nightclub was burning and people were trying to get out). I would have much more preferred 5-7 zombies that walk slower, but you need precise firepower to eliminate. Boom headshot kind of stuff. Generally, you just go full-auto all the time. If you can point and click, you can succeed. I've only played the single player but in the hour I've spent so far, I'm already regretting the $50.00 I put out for the game. I'd say this is a $20.00 game - wait for the price to drop. Expand
  13. TomiF
    Mar 14, 2009
    7
    This game was a success, their goal to make it focus on zombie apocolypse survival was bullseyed, but it can't go without its flaws. Many, many noobs online. This in-turn made many people just leave, thats no fun, then your just playing by yourself. Theres not much of a story, though you can try to remember to read the graphitie at every safe spot. If you try to take a shortcut by This game was a success, their goal to make it focus on zombie apocolypse survival was bullseyed, but it can't go without its flaws. Many, many noobs online. This in-turn made many people just leave, thats no fun, then your just playing by yourself. Theres not much of a story, though you can try to remember to read the graphitie at every safe spot. If you try to take a shortcut by jumping across the turn on a cat-walk (level 2 blood harvest) and you fall, you get screwed. You lose pretty much all you're health if you fall just 10 feet. Before the game came out i heard there would be a variety of guns.. thats a lie, theres 6 different primary weapons, pistols, thats 7, then dual pistols (if that even counts) and thats it. Pipe bombs and molotov cocktails count as miscellanious, but I'm pretty sure they counted them as guns. Sometimes you had to think, like "ooh, molotov, lets chuck it at the tank and see what happens" but yea, its basically point and shoot. Teamwork is 100 percent essential and theres no way you can go ninja, or rambo and run out and kill everything. They could fixed almost all the flaws, even if they did, there would always be that 1 big flaw. For the FPS game lover, the fact that many people don't play a lot, just once in a while, and don't learn everything, all the usual spots for items, tactics and what-not (making them a 'noob') ruins it for almost the entire team when they decide to help up a computer teammate instead of shooting off the hunter of a human player. Expand
  14. ChrisD'Angelo
    Nov 18, 2008
    5
    a lot of shooting. too much pacing. repetitive. not any story - even if it's supposed to be a blend of multiplayer and story. learning curve is high on the infected versus play. levels are too long for casual play. not layed out well. repetive graphics,. two worlds are almost the same.
  15. Dec 27, 2011
    6
    It was worth waiting a few years to get this in the bargain bin... Left 4 Dead (outdated to it's sequel which came out the following year), is a definate not buy if your looking to get it (by the time your reading this it'll be sometime after 2011, so don't get this). A decent game, just incomplete.
  16. Sep 28, 2011
    6
    Original concept and dynamic gameplay. But the actual controls and shooting mechanics are clearly suited for PC. This is a poor port for 360 because it just feels like Counter-Strike with zombies. If you can see through the un-immersive controls, the gameplay can bea blast- especially if played with the right people. However, the campaigns are a lot shorter than the ones for L4D2, andOriginal concept and dynamic gameplay. But the actual controls and shooting mechanics are clearly suited for PC. This is a poor port for 360 because it just feels like Counter-Strike with zombies. If you can see through the un-immersive controls, the gameplay can bea blast- especially if played with the right people. However, the campaigns are a lot shorter than the ones for L4D2, and there's only 4 (excluding map pack). It's worth playing but it's something that becomes boring and old VERY quickly. Expand
  17. Jan 7, 2012
    6
    This is one of those games that you can pop in and play with a friend for maybe like an hour or two and then you'll probably want to quit and play something else. The game has almost no storyline and becomes repetitive just hours after playing it. The content is weak and the game lacks depth. I'm a huge zombie fan and I love co-op games but I found Left 4 Dead hard to enjoy. I would onlyThis is one of those games that you can pop in and play with a friend for maybe like an hour or two and then you'll probably want to quit and play something else. The game has almost no storyline and becomes repetitive just hours after playing it. The content is weak and the game lacks depth. I'm a huge zombie fan and I love co-op games but I found Left 4 Dead hard to enjoy. I would only recommend this game if you have a friend to play with. It's a good time waster if you need to burn an hour or two with a friend. Expand
  18. May 28, 2013
    7
    I really enjoyed this game, despite the linear paths and lack of weapon variety. For what it is, an episodic zombie shooter, it does it well. Given, there's not much of a plot, it's a simple escape scenario. But for a zombie apocalypse shooter, I'm not sure how much of a plot people expect. Gave it a seven because it does get a bit boring for long stretches, but in short sittings whenI really enjoyed this game, despite the linear paths and lack of weapon variety. For what it is, an episodic zombie shooter, it does it well. Given, there's not much of a plot, it's a simple escape scenario. But for a zombie apocalypse shooter, I'm not sure how much of a plot people expect. Gave it a seven because it does get a bit boring for long stretches, but in short sittings when you just want to blow away crap for 30-40 minutes, it's a lot of fun. Expand
  19. Sep 7, 2014
    7
    The original Left 4 Dead is a fast pace cooperative game.
    Why play in co-op, because the game has some infected(special zombies each containing there very own abilities) that requires a teammates help to get off of you, so it's better to have some friends cover your back then going in like John Rambo because that could cost you your life and you're team would start to break apart.
    Why
    The original Left 4 Dead is a fast pace cooperative game.
    Why play in co-op, because the game has some infected(special zombies each containing there very own abilities) that requires a teammates help to get off of you, so it's better to have some friends cover your back then going in like John Rambo because that could cost you your life and you're team would start to break apart.
    Why not play the campaign by yourself, because it's starts to lose some of its charm and beings to become boring also it's A.I isn't the most impressive to protect you.
    If your not interested in that then the multiplayer could interest you because it's fun and you get to play as the special infected against the survivors being controlled by other players to see who can get the farthest in a campaign before your team gets wiped out and who ever has the most points at the end of the game wins.
    If you want to survive waves of zombies with 3 friends then you could always play survival.
    It's still not perfect but it's not bad of getting a copy, 7/10
    Expand
  20. Dec 14, 2014
    6
    This game isn't awful, but it is beyond overrated. I have an understanding that the fans of the franchise are very fond of Valve, because of men like Gaben Newell, but this game whether or not you play it on console or PC really isn't really all that impressive. All the guns are practically the same, the gameplay is beyond repetitive (shoot painfully dull uninteresting zombies/specialThis game isn't awful, but it is beyond overrated. I have an understanding that the fans of the franchise are very fond of Valve, because of men like Gaben Newell, but this game whether or not you play it on console or PC really isn't really all that impressive. All the guns are practically the same, the gameplay is beyond repetitive (shoot painfully dull uninteresting zombies/special infected), the ai are only very good when they want to be, and it gets quite boring very quickly. Don't get me wrong, I had plenty of fun playing this game with friends, as the multiplayer is blast, but I'd honestly rather play CoD online, and yes I said that. The Left 4 Dead vs mode online multiplayer is what saved this game for me. That is all. Expand
  21. Oct 2, 2017
    7
    Left 4 Dead is a decent enough game. The gun-play is competent, the graphics are solid, and the game is very fun to play. The problem here is the severe lack of content. But the game is still a blast to play with friends. L4D2 is much better though, and I would definitely recommend that over this. If you still want to get this for whatever reason, I think max price would be 12$. I knowLeft 4 Dead is a decent enough game. The gun-play is competent, the graphics are solid, and the game is very fun to play. The problem here is the severe lack of content. But the game is still a blast to play with friends. L4D2 is much better though, and I would definitely recommend that over this. If you still want to get this for whatever reason, I think max price would be 12$. I know that sounds like I despise the game, but the content you are getting here is sorely lacking, and 12$ is a fair price for a game with amazing core mechanics, but lacking in meaty play value. Expand
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 67 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 67
  2. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. Left 4 Dead's simplicity offers purity of gameplay - the same reason that gamers keep returning to classic arcade games. Come to think of it, with a handful of levels and unpredictable events happening within them, Left 4 Dead has more in common with "Ms. Pac-Man" than just the eating. It's the same thing over and over - but when simple ingredients are perfectly prepared, what could be a mere snack becomes a feast. This one just happens to be on human flesh. [Holiday 2008, p.32]
  2. 90
    There's absolutely no doubt that Left 4 Dead is one of the most social and exciting multiplayer games that we've ever played. It's almost pitch perfect in how it captures the tension and the action of a Hollywood zombie movie.
  3. 90
    The inventive and highly entertaining competitive multiplayer mode just adds to the experience, and we're looking forward to seeing what Valve's got planned for the game's future. Out of all the titles that have shaped the Year of Living Cooperatively, this may be the best experience of them all.