Left 4 Dead Xbox 360

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1311 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. HeathL.
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    Pros: Amazing blend of action, horror, co-op, vs, and single player. This game generates an amazing amount of replayability and immersion with the AI director shaking things up with every play through. Each campaign has a different feel and covers a vast amount of ground without letting players get lost along the way. Watching zombies swarm around a pipe bomb and disappear in a mist of Pros: Amazing blend of action, horror, co-op, vs, and single player. This game generates an amazing amount of replayability and immersion with the AI director shaking things up with every play through. Each campaign has a different feel and covers a vast amount of ground without letting players get lost along the way. Watching zombies swarm around a pipe bomb and disappear in a mist of blood and shrapnel will never get old. In the same vein, snagging the last standing survivor with the smoker's tongue just as he reaches a fallen comrade is diabolical in it's hilarity. Cons: The game was wasted on 360 owners, most of whom wouldn't know a good game if it pounced on them and clawed their faces off. Griefing idiots make the co-op experience a considerably less fun. Rare, but incredibly aggravating bugs such as jumping down from a ledge a short distance and having the game think you'll fall to your death, making you hang there until you either die or are rescued. Bottom line: This game is hands down the best multiplayer game of the year, the best co-op game in memory, and may well prove to be one of the best games of the last (or next) ten years. Do yourself a favor, if you have a pc that will run this game, buy a copy yesterday. If you have a 360, pawn your noob-box and get a pc so you can L2 play real games; ones you don't have to pay a fee to enjoy online. Failing that, the 360 version is still a beacon of gaming brilliance in a sea of utter mediocrity. Expand
  2. FlareArmoru
    Nov 21, 2008
    10
    Game is great.
    Michael G. , if you dont like Valve's games maybe you shouldn't spend your time reviewing the game and find something else to do... writing a long ass review on how much you dislike everything really seems like you need a life...
    Jack T. It's a zombie game. Iuno, maybe the proper way to play such a game is to go up to it and kiss and start talking to
    Game is great.
    Michael G. , if you dont like Valve's games maybe you shouldn't spend your time reviewing the game and find something else to do... writing a long ass review on how much you dislike everything really seems like you need a life...

    Jack T. It's a zombie game. Iuno, maybe the proper way to play such a game is to go up to it and kiss and start talking to it in a Dating Sim kind of way. It's a mature zombie game, rate it 0 if you don't think its a GOOD MATURE BLOODY ZOMBIE GAME, NOT CUS UR A FUCKING CHICKEN SHIT. Go online and play maplestory and stop hating on everything you dont like. Plus, where the fuck u find the time to do that anyway? Get a life.

    Steve S. Buy a good movie. They have the best graphics. You seem like you will love movies over games. Go to blockbuster and rent a scary movie. Dont need to get a life, get a brain.

    skipping Daniel M. cus I have nothing good to say to him.
    Anyway... Game's great. Playing it on Adv and getting killed so baddly w/ my freinds at night. 3 hrs to pass Dead Air. IT WAS AWESOME!!

    Loved the whole team concept. You always goto go and save someone or get saved other every 30 seconds to a min. Only time we had to drop the teamwork was the final run to safty and beating the round, Sacrifice someone since we were all hurt too bad so that the rest could snipe from a good distance. And when theres only like 1 or 2 people left and had to rescuse survivors for backup. It is Awesome~ >_<

    Happy shooting =D Don't get too trigger happy though.
    Expand
  3. MattA
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    Ridiculously fun when played with friends. Almost unmatched. Each campaign is about 1 1/2 to 2 hours long, and changes each time you play. It doesn't get old! It's great to pick up and play one campaign a night in between other games. Versus mode is also a joy to play, as both human or zombie. The true cinematic feel of the game is apparent throughout, and it pays constant Ridiculously fun when played with friends. Almost unmatched. Each campaign is about 1 1/2 to 2 hours long, and changes each time you play. It doesn't get old! It's great to pick up and play one campaign a night in between other games. Versus mode is also a joy to play, as both human or zombie. The true cinematic feel of the game is apparent throughout, and it pays constant homage to the greats of zombie lore. Great game... very fun...enough said. Expand
  4. Matt
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    Look. For anyone looking for a very fun game no matter how long you play it, this is your game. Anyone who says it is short, they are clearly playing on lower difficulties! Once you try going through these hordes with your friend beside you on expert, it becomes a whole new and exciting game. Just buy, play, and have fun!
  5. BoilingOil
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    I've been playing this game non stop since the hour it was released. I can't get enough of shooting zombies through the heart, to watch the full out run come to a staggering halt. The source engine is by far superior to any other on the market - well, maybe rivaled only by the current rendition of the Unreal Engine. In my opinion id has a whole lot to make up for. But anyways I've been playing this game non stop since the hour it was released. I can't get enough of shooting zombies through the heart, to watch the full out run come to a staggering halt. The source engine is by far superior to any other on the market - well, maybe rivaled only by the current rendition of the Unreal Engine. In my opinion id has a whole lot to make up for. But anyways back to Valve's stab at Game Of The Year. Ok i'll cut it short - This is the most fun and most challenging game i've played this year. Expand
  6. JoshK
    Dec 1, 2008
    10
    This game is amazing and fun for replay ability. Those who voted low obviously don't have close knit friends and groups to play with where the lobby and game matchmaking come in for pure joy! Honestly anyone who complains about the graphics on this needs to realize games don't have to have the "best" graphics ever to be one of the most fun games! I just finished another Versus This game is amazing and fun for replay ability. Those who voted low obviously don't have close knit friends and groups to play with where the lobby and game matchmaking come in for pure joy! Honestly anyone who complains about the graphics on this needs to realize games don't have to have the "best" graphics ever to be one of the most fun games! I just finished another Versus run through on Blood Harvest and it remains in my memory still 30 minutes later as it was a total back and forth point lead switchin guns a blazin ZOMBIE FEST! Please also remember this is a ZOMBIE game and you will... get this... face many many many a zombie. GO CHICAGO TED!!!! Expand
  7. ColinH
    Jan 13, 2009
    10
    Describing how to best enjoy this game is simple. If you have Xbox Live and can enjoy multiplayer gaming, purchase this ASAP. It's one of the better multiplayer games I've played in the last few years, and one of the best co-op games I've ever played. Most people I see faulting this game are gamers without an Xbox Live account. Playing single player with only bots would Describing how to best enjoy this game is simple. If you have Xbox Live and can enjoy multiplayer gaming, purchase this ASAP. It's one of the better multiplayer games I've played in the last few years, and one of the best co-op games I've ever played. Most people I see faulting this game are gamers without an Xbox Live account. Playing single player with only bots would definitely get tedious, but as someone with Live I can't fault the game for that. Online it's an absolute blast. And don't be put off the by the thought of only 4 campaigns or the idea of constant co-op gameplay because there's also the fantastic Versus mode. It's possibly even more fun than the standard co-op. The ability to play as the zombies, and the threat of a human zombie team when playing as the survivors adds a whole new dimension to the game that ramps up the fun factor ten fold. Not to mention the fact that Valve plans to keep the game supported for a long time with new DLC content. They've already announced that the first package of downloadable content will be available soon. If you're looking for a shooter with plenty of action, tight gameplay, and absolutely fantastic multiplayer gaming, then look no further than Left 4 Dead. Expand
  8. AlphaKennyOneUp
    Jan 2, 2009
    10
    Best co-op game of all-time. No denying that. If you gave this game any less than a six, than you're an idiot who never played online. IT IS A GAME OBVIOUSLY CENTERED AROUND ONLINE PLAY. IF YOU DID NOT HAVE XBOX LIVE YOU SHOULDN'T HAVE BOUGHT THE GAME. All that aside, there will be DLC really soon, so no more of playing No Mercy all the time on Versus.
  9. MikeH.
    Jan 25, 2009
    10
    Let me start off by saying that Left 4 Dead is lacking in the depth--and length--department. Still, it is worthy of many, MANY play-throughs. Fairly, straight-forward, the premise consists of four immune survivors fighting their way through hordes of zombies and towards salvation. Relying heavily on the teamwork mechanic, the game really shines when you're playing it with a others Let me start off by saying that Left 4 Dead is lacking in the depth--and length--department. Still, it is worthy of many, MANY play-throughs. Fairly, straight-forward, the premise consists of four immune survivors fighting their way through hordes of zombies and towards salvation. Relying heavily on the teamwork mechanic, the game really shines when you're playing it with a others over Xbox LIVE. The lack of depth, normally a downfall, actually works in L4D's advantage this time around. The simple but still intense gameplay allows gamers to jump in at any time and have fun. Run, shoot, survive (or die), rinse and repeat. If you're looking for a lot of story and depth, you might want to skip this one. But if you look at it as a fun a way to pass the time, slaughtering zombies by the hundreds and just have fun, you're bound to find this worth your time and money...repeatedly! Expand
  10. PatrickJ
    Oct 2, 2009
    10
    Excellent Game. When I first picked it up on it's release I was worried because it only had 4 maps. My Best Friend and I played through all 4 campaigns in the first 5 hours of the game and I was sitting there like "That's it". So then we upped the ante and started playing on Expert and got our butts handed to us. So with the achievements pounding at the back of our minds (I am a Excellent Game. When I first picked it up on it's release I was worried because it only had 4 maps. My Best Friend and I played through all 4 campaigns in the first 5 hours of the game and I was sitting there like "That's it". So then we upped the ante and started playing on Expert and got our butts handed to us. So with the achievements pounding at the back of our minds (I am a chievo junkie) we continued to play it, initially to get the full 1000. However, once I got the 1000, we still continued to play it (something that I NEVER do). Only then did I realize that Valve really had something there. So what if the 4 maps seem short. With the Versus, Survival, and Campaign, plus the addition of a new Map, this game has still remained fresh, something that is very hard to do. So good job, Valve, my hat is off to you. And for anyone looking to get the game, do it. You will be thankfull Expand
  11. CodyC.
    Feb 9, 2009
    10
    This game is the best I have Played in a while. If isn't just reload shoot shoot shoot reload. It is more then that. You get the fun of being just about killed by a horde of zombies, whats not fun with that. I can say they should just have one big game not four but they are really awesome by them selfs. They game is way better though if you have more then one live player at a time. This game is the best I have Played in a while. If isn't just reload shoot shoot shoot reload. It is more then that. You get the fun of being just about killed by a horde of zombies, whats not fun with that. I can say they should just have one big game not four but they are really awesome by them selfs. They game is way better though if you have more then one live player at a time. They should make a level like Dead Rising were you are stuck in a mall. That would be a good idea for a level for Left 4 Dead 2 if they make one. So overall i like how the game is made and designed. Expand
  12. mattk
    Jun 2, 2009
    10
    This game represents what can be done well with Xbox Live. With its intense multiplayer experience and endless replay value via AI Director. I recommend it to anyone looking for zombie co-op fun.
  13. AlecM
    Jul 14, 2009
    10
    Anton S, how are the graphics ripped from Half LIfe 2? THEIR COMPLETELY DIFFERENT DUMBASS
    This game isn't repetitive, every game is different due to the AI director dumb shit.And there is no need for plot or acting, just look at css!

    Rowan F this game was meant for REPLAYABILITY for fuck sakes, dont say shit if you dont know shit.
  14. AshtonJ
    Aug 8, 2009
    10
    I have done the same missions 500 times and I want to do them 5,000 more! This game is garbage on your own but on Xbox live this is the best game I have yet to play. The satisfaction of blasting away hundreds of zombies with friends and strangers is relentless. The options of customization are few but with such a near-perfect product it is all I could need. If I want to run through I have done the same missions 500 times and I want to do them 5,000 more! This game is garbage on your own but on Xbox live this is the best game I have yet to play. The satisfaction of blasting away hundreds of zombies with friends and strangers is relentless. The options of customization are few but with such a near-perfect product it is all I could need. If I want to run through carelessly blasting zombies Normal or Easy campaigns are perfect. When I want a challenge I play Expert Campaign or Versus. Playing against other people in Versus makes the game so much more difficult but its a challenge you and your team can overcome. Expert campaigns can be extremely hard but I appreciate this challenge. In Expert mode one or two friendly fire shots can cripple your ally and a handful of zombie smacks does the same. This makes the game play much more careful and thoughtful but also gives it some realism. If you shot a friend it would knock the hell out of him. This is a game stripped of anything not needed and it plays beautifully for it. I LOVE this game and highly recommend it. Expand
  15. robb
    Sep 1, 2009
    10
    Quite simply one of the top three games of 2008 and one of the best of all time the graphics even though using an engine that is starting to show its age are billiant and the gameplay is as addictive as crack but alot more fun ok it does not have a story but it does not need one which by todays standards is quite refreshing it is just pure gameplay with a twist and that twist comes in the Quite simply one of the top three games of 2008 and one of the best of all time the graphics even though using an engine that is starting to show its age are billiant and the gameplay is as addictive as crack but alot more fun ok it does not have a story but it does not need one which by todays standards is quite refreshing it is just pure gameplay with a twist and that twist comes in the flavour of the best co op mulitiplayer game ever created.even though l4d only has four missions you could play each one four hundred times over and still find new experiences each time you strap your headset on.if you are on live buy this now and if you are not get on live and buy it anyway. Expand
  16. ThomasL.
    Nov 17, 2008
    10
    Best zombie game yet. Every turn reveals a new futile situation where you think "there's no way we can get out of this!" But, working together, there is always a way out. People who like to run-and-gun or those who go off on their own for points grabbing will not do well in this game. Fight together or die alone.
  17. WillH.
    Nov 18, 2008
    10
    BASED ON THE DEMO: This game was one of the most enjoyable games I've ever played. And that was just the demo. The spawn points for enemies, weapons, even the music effects and the like change every playthrough and when you get a good group of guys to play with, this game is amazing. GOTY-quality.
  18. JonW
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    This is the best instance of Co-operative game play that i've ever experienced. The game is entirely beautifully paced, dramatically dynamic and insanely fun. There have been complaints regarding the length of the individual campaigns but to be totally honest, with the random and variable enemy spawning there is hundreds of hours of gameplay here. It should be noted though that this This is the best instance of Co-operative game play that i've ever experienced. The game is entirely beautifully paced, dramatically dynamic and insanely fun. There have been complaints regarding the length of the individual campaigns but to be totally honest, with the random and variable enemy spawning there is hundreds of hours of gameplay here. It should be noted though that this game is completely dependent on who you play it with. If you have friends in the online community that you trust you will have an excellent experience battling through slogs and slogs of the undead horde. LIkewise if you strictly play through as a pubber you'll feel the frustration of constantly having to rescue and heal incompetent players and greifers. Expand
  19. Kotsu
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    left 4 dead is freaking awsome! anyone who voted bad on this game doesn't deserve to rate anything ever again. If you have played the "demo" (the full games not even out yet) you would get a "small" taste of what the real game is like. Super fast and super uber zombies keep this game fast paced and always asking where did Bill go?
  20. SMcD
    Nov 21, 2008
    10
    Great game indeed. The reviewers here that are giving the game low scores because of poor graphics and sound etc don't have a clue!! this game is based on some old sterotypical cheesie zombie movie and the sound acting and graphics are meant to add to this (which it does).
  21. Left4DeadKing
    Dec 3, 2008
    10
    I just bought the game last night. It was worth every cent. I am not big on fighting games, i stick to the sports games, but wow take my advice and get this game. To give you a background of the game here you go. There is 5 different stages and each one has about 5 chapters if i remember correctly. There is 4 different difficulties. I choose the 2nd hardest just to start. I did single I just bought the game last night. It was worth every cent. I am not big on fighting games, i stick to the sports games, but wow take my advice and get this game. To give you a background of the game here you go. There is 5 different stages and each one has about 5 chapters if i remember correctly. There is 4 different difficulties. I choose the 2nd hardest just to start. I did single player and had a blast. The computer plays well with you. Your team mates heal you and protect you like you would expect. The fact that literally 50-100 zombies will come flying out at once unexpected it awesome. Tons of narrow places with zombies waiting. Some of them dont really bother you. In fact i went into a bedroom with a zombie just slamming her head against a wall???? Either way i just went up and owner her soul but still made me laugh. And the witch was a nice touch. (Just dont shine the light on her or its pretty much game over for you). I then played co op with a buddy. We put the difficutly one more up to the third hardest. And that was def hard. Not impossible but def a challenge. Just when you think you have a place under control think again. This game rarely lets you rest. And this is not a game that once you beat it your like "time to trade in". This game will forever be fun. Mark my words. I dont play video games a lot but man this is something im trying to make more time for. I was seriously thinking about calling out of work to play more. haha. anyways hope this gives you a little boost to go out and buy it. Hit me up when online with x box live. USA CHAMPS. later. Expand
  22. JonS
    Dec 4, 2008
    10
    All of the naysayers on this board probably played it for an hour or so without trying it on either the higher difficulties, didn't play it with a friend or online, or didn't play the versus mode. It's a BLAST. Anyone who has played it with friends or a good team online will tell you that it is an amazing play experience.
  23. FanboyHater
    Oct 29, 2008
    10
    WOW, stop rating this low you stupid PS3 fanboys. Your so bitter cause Valve hates the PS3 it's kinda sad, get over it. Your gonna get L4D eventually, it's been confirmed so relax & stop attacking this game you losers. I give it a 10 to try & save this game a little till it ACTUALLY comes out so people can insert "REAL" reviews.
  24. MikkoKurkinen
    Jan 14, 2009
    10
    Every1 who says this game sucks are probably idiots who doesent understand masterpiece games like this! Games simple idea of rushing and shooting zombies works very well! It isnt so fun on single player but whit 3 friends, its probably best multiplayer game ever made. BUY THIS GAME if you like zombies and network shooters.
  25. RielC.
    Jan 21, 2009
    10
    Left For Dead is the most fun game on the 360 I have ever played. It is so addicting, and on Xbox Live you cannot stop playing. It is so dang fun, i don't know how to describe it. Andy A is dumb. They limit your health and ammo supply to give the game a challenge. Its not about beating each level, its just doing better than the other team. (First you play as the humans, with the Left For Dead is the most fun game on the 360 I have ever played. It is so addicting, and on Xbox Live you cannot stop playing. It is so dang fun, i don't know how to describe it. Andy A is dumb. They limit your health and ammo supply to give the game a challenge. Its not about beating each level, its just doing better than the other team. (First you play as the humans, with the second team as the zombies, then vice versa the next round) I was having fun even when I wasn't beating the other team. Me and my friend got so addicted, we played until 6:00 AM but then we got the RROD lol. Ohh well. This is a must-have for any Xbox 360 owner. Expand
  26. StevenE
    Jan 24, 2009
    10
    One of the best coop multi-player games out there. You have to actually work with your team and rely on them, which most games lack. This is one aspect of the game that makes it so much greater then "the run around do what you want shoot-em up games" that lack true teamwork. The only downside with this game could be that you absolutely need Xbox Live to enjoy everything it has to offer, One of the best coop multi-player games out there. You have to actually work with your team and rely on them, which most games lack. This is one aspect of the game that makes it so much greater then "the run around do what you want shoot-em up games" that lack true teamwork. The only downside with this game could be that you absolutely need Xbox Live to enjoy everything it has to offer, which is still a minor disappointment if you enjoy just playing on lower difficulties. Expand
  27. JeffM
    Jan 26, 2009
    10
    A team game that focuses on precision, communication, and good squad skills that is also scary! It can be a little disorienting at first but most get the hang of it. Find a sociable group of friends to try it out and don't get too hung up on dying - it will happen. A lot.
  28. StephenR.
    Feb 4, 2009
    10
    Ok, L4D is the premier FPS that has hit the Xbox in a while, and has an online addiction that rivals Halo 3 or even COD4. L4D is beautifully simplistic. Most people bag on the mechanic of the simple run, shoot, reload, shoot, walk, shoot, kill witch, run again, shoot, get saved that is seen in all 4 campaigns, but that's all the players need. If the devs decided to try and mix in a Ok, L4D is the premier FPS that has hit the Xbox in a while, and has an online addiction that rivals Halo 3 or even COD4. L4D is beautifully simplistic. Most people bag on the mechanic of the simple run, shoot, reload, shoot, walk, shoot, kill witch, run again, shoot, get saved that is seen in all 4 campaigns, but that's all the players need. If the devs decided to try and mix in a story and whatnot, the point of L4D would be missed. The whole point of L4D is mindless fun, and it delivers. The game constantly changes the spots where you'll encounter minibosses, bosses, and mobs of zombies in the levels, which is a godsend, if you ask me. Even though there are only 20 levels in the whole game, the fact that the game spawns zombies in different places almost EVERY time you play through them greatly changes the experience every time. If you don't have XBL, i hope you have friends who still play System Link play, because the true soul found in L4D is when you're bashin zombies with 3 human buddies. Oh and as for the graphics? Next time you're mowing down zombies in a dark corridor, after you survive the wave, try and count all of the new details in your environment. Zombie limbs, blood and trash litter the world in L4D, and it's oddly satisfying. Everything about this game enhances the experience of a survival game, and it's not even close to being as scary as Bioshock [for the kids out there]. If i could, i would give this game a 9.99, for one reason only, and thats because [for me, anyways] the weapons seem a little unbalanced. I always stick with the shotgun anyways. With that notion aside, this game is the shiz, and should be enjoyed by all fans of any FPS. Expand
  29. ChristopherT
    Mar 2, 2009
    10
    Exceptional Fun. Rod N, you have obviously completely missed the point of the game. It's not trying to be GOW2 or anything else. You should be comparing this game to other zombie shooters. Take something for your minstral cramps and chillout.
  30. AwesomeZombie
    Apr 26, 2009
    10
    Haha Andy A You're pathetic you just saw what? ONE video of the game and buyers should be aware of the game cause its bat-shit scary and gory I suggest it expecially with the new survival pack and that all the maps can be used in Versus and ALL of the glitches hav been fixed cept the Jesus room.... though the plane is fixed and I am 99% sure that the rock is fixed too plus the Haha Andy A You're pathetic you just saw what? ONE video of the game and buyers should be aware of the game cause its bat-shit scary and gory I suggest it expecially with the new survival pack and that all the maps can be used in Versus and ALL of the glitches hav been fixed cept the Jesus room.... though the plane is fixed and I am 99% sure that the rock is fixed too plus the co-operative gameplay is beautiful the bots ARE really good the zombies actually know what to do whether it's a player or a bot and of course the...WITCH! and I am pretty sure that VALVe said they Were not releasing a storyline just to keep the game fun and the replay value is extremely high so no matter how many times you play the game it will NEVER be the same it is great though I still hate the garage door glitch like Alex D says but yeah you can no longer block rooms (I already tried that) and I've got to say it's mostly bug free I recommend this game to ALL zombie lovers whether its nazi zombie players or dead space it is GREAT expeciall with the SDK engine for the PC its ten times better with custom maps. Expand
  31. MatthewM.
    Aug 17, 2009
    10
    Question: What do you get ewhen you combine a FP shooter, plentiful ammo and hordes of the undead? Answer: Complete awesomeness!!!! After reading other users reviews I can't believe some of the drivel I'm hearing. Yes it's not that long, but THAT is the problem with the tween generation. They loose interest VERY fast. If they can't beat a game in one sitting or if they Question: What do you get ewhen you combine a FP shooter, plentiful ammo and hordes of the undead? Answer: Complete awesomeness!!!! After reading other users reviews I can't believe some of the drivel I'm hearing. Yes it's not that long, but THAT is the problem with the tween generation. They loose interest VERY fast. If they can't beat a game in one sitting or if they conquer it in 4 hours they get peeved. Why not put down the Red Bull and energy bars and appreceate a game for something other than instant self-gratification! am of the old school gaming community. You know, the ones who look for more than just blood splatter and fantasy weaponry. The kind of gamer who enjoys playing a game and then challenging themself by re playing it over and over to acheve mastery. This is one of them. Yes it's short, but that's the beauty of it! You have a chance to relive the experience over and over. Plus NO ONE in the gaming community can dispute that picking up a shotgun and blasting the undead isn't quality prime time entertainment!!!! Aside from Nazis, zombies are the greatest Washington Generals of the gaming universe!!!! P.S. if you don't get that last reference then dude, you seriously need to put down the cell phone and controller and get outside once in awhile! Expand
  32. BenH.
    Nov 17, 2008
    10
    Ive only played the demo so far but i can honestly say ive never had so much fun playing a game since, god i dunno, a long time!. It has Good graphics and Amazing Gameplay. I rate it 10 simply becuase It is soo much fun, especially with ya mates. Its fast Paced, Frantic and Surprising!. You will never know when the next wave of zombies will appear because its completely different every Ive only played the demo so far but i can honestly say ive never had so much fun playing a game since, god i dunno, a long time!. It has Good graphics and Amazing Gameplay. I rate it 10 simply becuase It is soo much fun, especially with ya mates. Its fast Paced, Frantic and Surprising!. You will never know when the next wave of zombies will appear because its completely different every single time you play. Its Made by valve and they have a brilliant track record for there games.( counterstrike, Team fortress 2) Although the content is a little low, you have a lot of variety in game play to make up for it. Zombies and monsters will take u when u least expect it. When you think your safe think again because the AI is Sum of the best i have seen and will take you by storm. For example: All the zombies appeared to be cleared and it was at the end of the level and i was just going down sum stairs to collect a few items for the next stage, when all the sudden A horde of hundreds of Zombies appear out of no where when all my mates went with me and i got completely over run in seconds. I had to sound Help right away. Evan all my friends were having a hard time saving my ass. Unfortunately i didn't make it, So i recommend when you do play this Game Don't wonder off even if there is no zombies in site!(especially then) There is more to it than zombies as well you get Bloomers which are like Fat and Slow Zombies that can not run. It pukes loads of green stuff on u, which attracts hordes off zombies towards u while your blinded for a minute. It gets worse than that. There is Hunters which Pick off the weakest members or ones that are furthest away from the group etc. they are very fast can crawl on walls and while pounce on top of you and rip u to shredds with its deadly claws. they can kill u in less than 10 seconds with full Life bar! and There is others ones 2, the worst ones would be the Tank and the Witch. The Witch Kills u in one hit and will only attack when disturbed. The tank will not stop until u are completely dead, evan when ur lying on the floor. Takes Alot of Team effort to kill and is very fast and Strong. In the Full Game you are able to play as the monsters as well and control the Zombies yourself, plus those who like multilayer split screen for the xbox this has it to. So for those who dont have online this is Still worth it to buy, hell its still worth it just playing on ur own because even your team mates or bots in the game are awsome to play with, whether there computers or real people lol. The AI is that Damn good lol. There are many Levels to the game aswell in many different settings to suit your pleasure. Plus i herd that there will be a content update shortly after the release of the game which should include more levels weapons and so forth. So i wouldn't worry about content either to be honest. Anyway the story is pretty average but in for a game like it is it doesn't really need one. Its Just about having a Bloody good time with really friends really. I love it, everyone who's played with me Loves it, where all buying it. Its amazing on both platforms xbox360 and PC, ive played both versions. Neither stands out over the other, the only difference would be the graphics are better on PC but that Varies on how good ur PC is really. The xbox still look nice still tho. PC version is the cheapest one and will get all updates for free, while xbox is about a tenner more but offers 4 player split screen as an extra. I wouldnt always go for the cheaper option tho unless ur friends are getting it on PC and your PC can run it well. The easiet option would to get it for xbox. To Download PC Demo head over to : Google and type steam, click on the steam website and then download steam. then download left 4 dead Demo from Steam, its free. ( its all free) To download Left 4 Dead Demo on xbox360 head over to the xbox live marketplace. Its now up there. I hope you will enjoy it as much as i have :) Thank you for your Time! Expand
  33. EddieDunDidIt
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Left 4 Dead is a great game in many different aspects. It's one of those games that you and your friends will keep playing day in and day out. The game is scary and intense. Not sure why there is a 6.0 overall rating for the game? Something has to be wrong.
  34. DenizYeter
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Best zombie game ever, enough said.
    Nothing like gunning down a horde of charging zombies!

    The people who voted this game down, voted before the game even came out. If you're judging it based on the demo, you're either retarded or naive.

    Don't let the user scores scare you away from one of the best gaming experiences to date.
  35. PaulZoots
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    this game ROCKS, it's timeless kinda like dice. You can play the same level again and again and it does not seem like it's getting old. The feeling of stalking your prey is intense and when it leads to a death your pumped. Great game. Get it for PC
  36. 3kliksphilip
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    I must say, this game's rated very low for such a good game. There are 4 possibilities... 1) The demo was terrible and people hate the game because of it 2) People have pirated the game and think it's rubbish and want their... 'money' back 3) The console version of the game is totally different to the PC version 4) Fanboys of the PS3 are jealous that it's coming I must say, this game's rated very low for such a good game. There are 4 possibilities... 1) The demo was terrible and people hate the game because of it 2) People have pirated the game and think it's rubbish and want their... 'money' back 3) The console version of the game is totally different to the PC version 4) Fanboys of the PS3 are jealous that it's coming out on the Xbox 360 and are rating it down out of spite. Now, I know that the demo is great fun, that pirates have acquired the game with out giving anything to the producers so the least they can do is to leave them alone instead of destroying them further with a bad review... and that people I know who have played the Xbox version absolutely love it. Which leaves point 4. Really, what are you PS3 owners thinking? Are you really that intimidated by such a good game coming out on a rival console that you have to damage its success as much as possible? Do you really have nothing better to do with your time than to rate down a game with out even leaving a reason for it? People like you shouldn't even be called gamers. To take sides over such a trivial thing and to hurt those who haven't done anything to you... you should be ashamed of yourselves. I pity those PS3 owners who aren't to do with this. Please, just grow up. Or at least state your reason for voting it down. I'm expecting the following. 'Oh it's not coming out on PS3, THIS GAME SUCKS!' 'XBOX OWNERS ARE 2 STUIPD TO PLAY THIS!!!!' 'IM A FANBOY!' Go on. make my day. Expand
  37. B.Jones
    Nov 21, 2008
    10
    the game is an absolute blast.
    but i have one problem with you MetaCritic that the users here should know. Turtle Rock Studios did not develop the game. Turtle Rock Studios is now known as Valve South. Valve worked with Micheal Booth with the R&D for the game from the beginning. Left 4 Dead is a Valve game. Get your facts right MetaCritic. /end rant.
  38. GMILLER
    Nov 21, 2008
    10
    As a huge fan of zombies, and fast moving zombies to boot, Left 4 Dead seemed like a no brainer as an addition to my Steam collection. So I pre-ordered, played the demo, pre-loaded, and the say I came out, I unlocked it and fired it up.

    My first non-demo map I played led me into a farmhouse by a cornfield. The 4 of us moved to the second floor landing, where we were surrounded by
    As a huge fan of zombies, and fast moving zombies to boot, Left 4 Dead seemed like a no brainer as an addition to my Steam collection. So I pre-ordered, played the demo, pre-loaded, and the say I came out, I unlocked it and fired it up.

    My first non-demo map I played led me into a farmhouse by a cornfield. The 4 of us moved to the second floor landing, where we were surrounded by doors. Suddenly we heard the screeching of zombie hordes coming from all around us, and for close to 20 seconds, that's all that happened, the sound just got louder and louder. Suddenly, one of the doors splintered and a gray, dead hands reached into the room with us, grabbing for living flesh. A second later, another door did the same thing, and they just kept coming. We all took a door and the stairs and started firing, chattering on the mic "Watch the door behind you!" "Holy shit there's a lot of them!" "Crotch down, CROTCH DOWN!" Finally the streams of zombies started to thin, and everyone took a breath. We made it.

    Then the house shook...big time. That's when I fell in love with this game.

    Two words: Get it.
    Expand
  39. J
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    I do not know why this game is getting a low score on the user side. I have 5 friends playing this, and they all LOVE it including myself. The art direction, the polish, the music, the random spurts of zombie rushes, the fact that you can actually PLAY a zombie, and the overall experience as a whole that puts you right smack dab into a zombie horror movie like no other video game has ever I do not know why this game is getting a low score on the user side. I have 5 friends playing this, and they all LOVE it including myself. The art direction, the polish, the music, the random spurts of zombie rushes, the fact that you can actually PLAY a zombie, and the overall experience as a whole that puts you right smack dab into a zombie horror movie like no other video game has ever done before it. Try the demo on steam and dont let these naysayers fool you. Decide yourself. Expand
  40. MarkThompson
    Nov 21, 2008
    10
    What a fantastic game. One of the best coop experiences around. The graphics are great considering the amount of zombies that rush at you sometimes. The sound is very atmospheric and downright scary at times. There is lots of replayability thanks to the A.I. Director. One of the best released in a long time and definate contenter for GOTY for me.
  41. ThomasI.
    Nov 22, 2008
    10
    This game is perfect. It isn't an edited version of CS:S, the graphics are awesome compared to the old Source versions. The Filmic effects add to the game drastically and the speed of the infected is perfected. The way they lean into turns and hammer you to death was perfectly tweaked. "Too much violence, too much gore. I don't think the average household parent would want their This game is perfect. It isn't an edited version of CS:S, the graphics are awesome compared to the old Source versions. The Filmic effects add to the game drastically and the speed of the infected is perfected. The way they lean into turns and hammer you to death was perfectly tweaked. "Too much violence, too much gore. I don't think the average household parent would want their child playing this terrible game. I know my son won't play it. I have seen this game in action. I suggest a boycott of this violent game." Jack T. Seriously. We don't care that you wont buy your son the game. If you don't like violence, go buy him a happy game with love and care and dragons and ponies and lullaby's and princesses. But personally you are a stupid old tard who can't accept that we are not all religious anti-violent gamers. Expand
  42. ReaderCritic
    Nov 22, 2008
    10
    It's VALVE, do I have to give any more explanation? As always, they go all out and make sure the game is made with full effort; never dissapointing their fans. Perfect hard-core game, with blood, gore and nice sense of team work; great for all teen agers who have personal issues (just lash it out on zombies!) Putting the joke aside, this game is simply awesome with a lot of care into It's VALVE, do I have to give any more explanation? As always, they go all out and make sure the game is made with full effort; never dissapointing their fans. Perfect hard-core game, with blood, gore and nice sense of team work; great for all teen agers who have personal issues (just lash it out on zombies!) Putting the joke aside, this game is simply awesome with a lot of care into it. Still looking for hard-core game or another good first person shooter? Fuck HALO, get this game and pick up ORANGE BOX on your way out. Btw: Get it for PC. Valve always makes official games on PC, not 360. Expand
  43. DaveidW
    Nov 22, 2008
    10
    WHAT IS UP WITH THE LOW USER SCORE? Are People Idiots?!

    The Graphics On The PC Are Amazing And Are By Far The Best Out There To Date. Don't Get Me Started On The Power Hunger Crysis, This Game Looks Beautiful And Performs Like A Champ With Low Specs. The Multiplayer Is AMAZING! It's The Most Fun I've Had In Awhile. Beats Multiplayer Giants Like COD4, CSS, And TF2.
    WHAT IS UP WITH THE LOW USER SCORE? Are People Idiots?!

    The Graphics On The PC Are Amazing And Are By Far The Best Out There To Date. Don't Get Me Started On The Power Hunger Crysis, This Game Looks Beautiful And Performs Like A Champ With Low Specs.

    The Multiplayer Is AMAZING! It's The Most Fun I've Had In Awhile. Beats Multiplayer Giants Like COD4, CSS, And TF2.

    And So What If It Doesn't Feel Like A 50 Dollar Game? ITS GOING TO! Don't You Know How Valve Works? They Update Their Games Constantly And We Will See New Maps And Possibly Unlocks For The Game Real Soon. As An Added Bonus, You And Your Friends Can Chip In For The Bill By Buying The "Four Pack" Which Gives You Four Copies Of The Game For $150 Dollars, That's Like Getting A Copy For Free!
    Expand
  44. DavidA.
    Nov 22, 2008
    10
    This game is amazing all around. The constant tension, the fast pace, the heavy co-op aspect, all of this was done surprisingly well. Difficulty ranges are very even as well, with Expert being sufficiently difficult enough to satiate even the most hardcore gamers. If for some reason the game would ever start to feel stale (very hard to do thanks to the AI Director which makes every This game is amazing all around. The constant tension, the fast pace, the heavy co-op aspect, all of this was done surprisingly well. Difficulty ranges are very even as well, with Expert being sufficiently difficult enough to satiate even the most hardcore gamers. If for some reason the game would ever start to feel stale (very hard to do thanks to the AI Director which makes every monster and item spawn randomized), you can play versus mode for a chance to play as the Infected, who have a completely different approach. The promise of future DLC is also enticing - This game will leave you wanting more! Expand
  45. JoelB.
    Nov 23, 2008
    10
    So far i have only played to demo should be getting this game soon lets just say im turned on and LOL to the parent he or she gave it a 0 just cause of the gore well wake up case you haven't realized most games are violent like it or not and i would hate to be your son, yay viva pinata or maybe you think your cool because you let him play halo 3 because its M man people these days So far i have only played to demo should be getting this game soon lets just say im turned on and LOL to the parent he or she gave it a 0 just cause of the gore well wake up case you haven't realized most games are violent like it or not and i would hate to be your son, yay viva pinata or maybe you think your cool because you let him play halo 3 because its M man people these days and in case people haven't realized its sorta cartoony like team fortress man i can get over that lol. Expand
  46. IanC
    Nov 26, 2008
    10
    New old school shooting, with stunning production qualities. We'd played split-screen only over the last few days and found the game to be hilarious fun (chaaaaaaaaaaaaaarge!), then last night I tried single player for the first time, totally different experience, tense and really scary. The way a level changes from one go to another through the Director is fantastic. I kept dying New old school shooting, with stunning production qualities. We'd played split-screen only over the last few days and found the game to be hilarious fun (chaaaaaaaaaaaaaarge!), then last night I tried single player for the first time, totally different experience, tense and really scary. The way a level changes from one go to another through the Director is fantastic. I kept dying over and over on the same level, but in a different place and in a different way each time as every time I restarted the level was almost totally... different. For all the shooters that come and go, this is a bona fide stayer, don't miss it if you love video games. Expand
  47. CrayshM.
    Nov 27, 2008
    10
    All the low comments here obviously have not played co-op or versus for this game. This is NOT a game to play by yourself. Live is damn near required for this game and it's well worth it when you do play it on Live. Constantly switching between survivor and zombie is VERY fun and causes strategy to be taken into account, trying to prevent the other team from getting as far as you All the low comments here obviously have not played co-op or versus for this game. This is NOT a game to play by yourself. Live is damn near required for this game and it's well worth it when you do play it on Live. Constantly switching between survivor and zombie is VERY fun and causes strategy to be taken into account, trying to prevent the other team from getting as far as you did, or trying to push through past where the last team was. Yes, the Director comes into play in Versus too. Randomizing what zombie you become, randomizing where you can get ammo, and just how powerful a boomers bile can be (How many zombies come flying at you) So ignore all the low scores. The campaign was designed to get you used to the maps and the zombie types. But the GAME was designed for multi-player versus fun! Expand
  48. JorgeO.
    Nov 27, 2008
    10
    This game is possibly the best first person shooter i have ever played on the xbox360. It combines fast action gameplay, non-stop tension and beautiful graphics to make a game that you just cannot put down. I do agree with anyone who says that the single player is a little bit of a let down, but that is not the point of the game hence the multiplayer which is efficent and deadly with This game is possibly the best first person shooter i have ever played on the xbox360. It combines fast action gameplay, non-stop tension and beautiful graphics to make a game that you just cannot put down. I do agree with anyone who says that the single player is a little bit of a let down, but that is not the point of the game hence the multiplayer which is efficent and deadly with absoloutely no lag which is hardly ever seen on a xbox live multiplayer game. I would reccomend this game to anyone with more than one friend who has an xbox (or even a pc) because this game is simply - an all time legend. Expand
  49. JD
    Nov 27, 2008
    10
    I dont understand how people can not like this game. it has everything you want from a valve game. the versus is the most fun you will ever have and dont talk about the damn single player, yes you can run through it quickly, but thats so you get the feel of the game well enough to destroy all in versus and campaign. Also, dont bitch about the game if you have the xbox 360 version. its I dont understand how people can not like this game. it has everything you want from a valve game. the versus is the most fun you will ever have and dont talk about the damn single player, yes you can run through it quickly, but thats so you get the feel of the game well enough to destroy all in versus and campaign. Also, dont bitch about the game if you have the xbox 360 version. its made for pc, like all valve stuff, you think this was going to change from the orange box? pc games are made for pc, not 360, so if you have this game for 360, im sorry you wasted 60 dollars on a game that is better on pc for 45. Expand
  50. SimonB
    Nov 28, 2008
    10
    Firstly Devan B is an idiot (what game where you playing? ). Jack T is an idiot. (Stick to Little Big Planet - not a FPS (the S stands for shooter which imply weapons, which imply violence) or something with dead in the title - maybe the survivors should give flowers and hugs to the infected instead of bullets) My only fault on L4D is that there isn't a set director that changes the Firstly Devan B is an idiot (what game where you playing? ). Jack T is an idiot. (Stick to Little Big Planet - not a FPS (the S stands for shooter which imply weapons, which imply violence) or something with dead in the title - maybe the survivors should give flowers and hugs to the infected instead of bullets) My only fault on L4D is that there isn't a set director that changes the linear route on each replay to some degree. Other than that it's just plain fun playing this game with friends. Did you guys HAVE friends to play with? The story is subtle and you make your own narrative (that requires some sort of a brain/imagination on your end) I also like the fact that sometimes the AI Director can be in a really bad mood and properly through everything its got at you. Expand
  51. JoshD
    Nov 29, 2008
    10
    Although the graphics are not up to par with such games as mirror's edge and gears of war 2, the gameplay is truely innovative. The team must work together to fight insurmountable odds and overcome the hordes of zombies. Never playing a game like this, I have been playing it ever sice i downloaded the demo, and the next day, bought the game. Amazing.
  52. AnonymousMC
    Dec 17, 2008
    10
    A damned fine game.
    Most people who are used to rushing in and being the hero, trying to save everyone , shooting their own team mates because they disagree with them....can expect a quick death in the beginning of the first board. Cooperation is essential in this game, you need to listen to your team mates or you die alone.It takes a while to learn the controls but they are fairly
    A damned fine game.
    Most people who are used to rushing in and being the hero, trying to save everyone , shooting their own team mates because they disagree with them....can expect a quick death in the beginning of the first board. Cooperation is essential in this game, you need to listen to your team mates or you die alone.It takes a while to learn the controls but they are fairly simple, an once you start picking it up you won't want to put it down.
    However being the cooperative game it is you'll need full communication and as much visibility as possible, so no a microphone is no option.It also gives you the option to take a break in game in case you need to do something in the middle of online co-op, this feature is not available in versus.
    Expand
  53. JakobN.
    Dec 2, 2008
    10
    Effing Spectacular! I dont even know where to start. The atmosphere is perfect. The gameplay is INTENSE. After my first game I had to take a break to get my heartrate back down to reasonable levels. Honestly, I couldnt ask for anything more in a game. The controls are smooth and easy to get the hang of. Gameplay is fantastic. The graphics are great. The sounds and music are terrifying. Effing Spectacular! I dont even know where to start. The atmosphere is perfect. The gameplay is INTENSE. After my first game I had to take a break to get my heartrate back down to reasonable levels. Honestly, I couldnt ask for anything more in a game. The controls are smooth and easy to get the hang of. Gameplay is fantastic. The graphics are great. The sounds and music are terrifying. BUT BUT The most outstanding thing about this game is the "AI director" Now this is, to my knowledge, and ENTIRELY new concept in the world of gaming. Basically, the game watches you, and the group of players you are with, and judges your skill level, pacing and stress levels and deciedes where and when to place monsters and events. In other words, even though this game has only 20 maps, none of the will EVER play the same way twice. You will never know ahead of time where the enemies will be, when the mob of 20 zombies will race around and over everything in their path to claw yer guts out. and BTW the director even plays music according to what is happening in the game. Which, despite it changing at the whim of the AI director, has never seemed out of place of poorly mixed. All in all. this is an amazing game. I give it 98% simply becase I think that there could be more levels, and more boss monsters.. however, valve has already promised to give us these things so I may as well give it 100%. Expand
  54. luken
    Dec 24, 2008
    10
    The game is great! I personally didnt think of it when it came out but my friends showed it to me! I got so addicted. I cant stop playing. The best part is if you have it for your PC you can turn on sv_cheats 1. You can do all kinds of stuff to it. like spawn pipebombs/propanetanks/all the weoapons/gastank/ZOMBIES!!! I had spawned 8 witches on my friend and 3 tanks. So fun. But personally The game is great! I personally didnt think of it when it came out but my friends showed it to me! I got so addicted. I cant stop playing. The best part is if you have it for your PC you can turn on sv_cheats 1. You can do all kinds of stuff to it. like spawn pipebombs/propanetanks/all the weoapons/gastank/ZOMBIES!!! I had spawned 8 witches on my friend and 3 tanks. So fun. But personally i love this game! Probally one of the best games ive played. buy it. try it. HAVE FUN!!!! Expand
  55. ShermanAtor
    Dec 30, 2008
    10
    10/10 Anybody who doesn't give this at least an 8 should get off these forums...Intensity (most intensity in any game I have ever played), scary, horror movie feel, multiplayer (Versus mode is extremely Addicting, don't play without people you know), awesomeness, one of the top 3 games on 360 (in no order, Gears 1, Oblivion, Left 4 Dead) If you got $65 not game better to spend it on...
  56. SamH
    Jan 19, 2009
    10
    Don't let Andy A put you off, he's dumb. The zombies don't look the same, there are thousands of different models for them. Of course people will get mad at you for not helping them, it's a bloody co-op game. Call of Duty: World at War is not very original itself. Plus, Resident Evil is NOTHING like this. Buyer beware, you may be choosing a game that will stun you with Don't let Andy A put you off, he's dumb. The zombies don't look the same, there are thousands of different models for them. Of course people will get mad at you for not helping them, it's a bloody co-op game. Call of Duty: World at War is not very original itself. Plus, Resident Evil is NOTHING like this. Buyer beware, you may be choosing a game that will stun you with it's brilliance. Expand
  57. DianaS
    Jan 25, 2009
    10
    Okay, first off, i'll say i love this game. What with the bad rates and comments? The game is great. I may not by 17+ (preteen) but when my sister showed me this game, i love it. We play like everyday now and its awesome. Since im still a bit young, i'll say i was a little scared. I would always shake like crazy, cause i would be scared of the zombies attacking, but i Okay, first off, i'll say i love this game. What with the bad rates and comments? The game is great. I may not by 17+ (preteen) but when my sister showed me this game, i love it. We play like everyday now and its awesome. Since im still a bit young, i'll say i was a little scared. I would always shake like crazy, cause i would be scared of the zombies attacking, but i didn't quit. They could use a little more chapters, but other than that, i loved it. Expand
  58. BillJ.
    Nov 17, 2008
    10
    Simply the best cooperative shooter you can play, and the first to specificly focus on innovating coop gameplay, the combat is simple, but the gameplay is unpredictable and challenging, playing with friends creates its own unique experience, when a demo keeps people interested longer than most full games, its doing somthing right!
  59. PeteT
    Nov 18, 2008
    10
    Great gameplay mechanics, pacing, and visual/audio effects. You get one medpack per level, how you spend it is up to you. Heal yourself and get instant gratification and or heal a friend and hope for reciprocation. You can also carry only one explosive at a time so use it wisely. The scarcity of weapons and ability to carry only one main weapon type at a time adds to the pressure. At Great gameplay mechanics, pacing, and visual/audio effects. You get one medpack per level, how you spend it is up to you. Heal yourself and get instant gratification and or heal a friend and hope for reciprocation. You can also carry only one explosive at a time so use it wisely. The scarcity of weapons and ability to carry only one main weapon type at a time adds to the pressure. At least your pistols have unlimited ammo. NEVER play this game on easy ... set to HARD for the ultimate experience. The zombie animations are fantastic also, with physics based animation that makes clothing and hair behave believably. See them hop over turnstyles, learn into their turns when running, and climb large obstacles with gripping realism. Expand
  60. Zac
    Nov 18, 2008
    10
    This is easily the best co-op game I have ever played! This is a real co-op game where if you get split up YOU WILL DIE. This may sound bad but its really not. It's not like Halo or CoD were you can split off from your team & go all Rambo on the zombies, you have tho stick together and watch eachothers back which gives the game an authentic "survival" aspect. Plus the Director keepsThis is easily the best co-op game I have ever played! This is a real co-op game where if you get split up YOU WILL DIE. This may sound bad but its really not. It's not like Halo or CoD were you can split off from your team & go all Rambo on the zombies, you have tho stick together and watch eachothers back which gives the game an authentic "survival" aspect. Plus the Director keeps you on edge the whole game and always gives you a different challange every time you play. Another big part of the game which was compleatly left out of the above reviews is the versus mode. The versus mode is a maximum of 4-on-4 where 4 people are survivors and 4 people are special zombies. The teams swichup at the end of every round so that you can get your revenge. I have tried to explain this as good as I can but I'm not giving it justice. Go to www.left4dead411.com for reviews, info, and more. Expand
  61. KyleA
    Nov 21, 2008
    10
    This is an amazing game that can be played over and over. The game has a built in AI director that spawns the zombies and Super zombies at randomized areas in the game and the game modifys the dificulty based on how well the team is doing as a whole.

    Those who say the game has no story or script is paying no attention to ingame dialoge with is randimized baised on what other players say.
  62. Lincoln
    Nov 21, 2008
    10
    I read through the poor reviews before posting mine. Even the person who gave it a seven. Really, did you do your research before buying this at all?
    I'm not sure how the 360 version plays, but I do know that I far prefer my PC as far as shooters go, so theres that. Also, Valve has already said that they will be releasing DLC for this game, including new campaigns, so no worries
    I read through the poor reviews before posting mine. Even the person who gave it a seven. Really, did you do your research before buying this at all?
    I'm not sure how the 360 version plays, but I do know that I far prefer my PC as far as shooters go, so theres that. Also, Valve has already said that they will be releasing DLC for this game, including new campaigns, so no worries that even those will get old.
    As far as knowing the "traps"? You can't know them. The Director, Valve's awesome piece of AI is analyzing your play style in real time. It helps you or harms you depending on how well you're doing, and the attacks will never come from the same place twice.
    This is genius, as far as I'm concerned. And the strength is definitely in the co-op play. If you don't have access to online play, maybe that's your problem. Never before have I seen a game where the players are so well coordinated, and I was playing in a game where only one other player had a mic. You'd never see that in TF2. We worked together, and we won.
    Final summation: This game is brilliant.
    Expand
  63. Vins:p
    Nov 22, 2008
    10
    I played demo for 10H00 hours.
    And the user rating says what it says :
    20 people loved it/ 4 hated.
    10 / 2 or nearly 9/10 loved it.
    And someone gave it a zero because it's too gore. But it's 18+! O.o
    So 9/10 people loved it : 90% and 18/20
    You hate or you love.
    I love. 10/10
  64. adamd
    Nov 22, 2008
    10
    simply put, best co-op game made to date. the versus is innovative and infinitely replayable. everything about this game is awesome. i think the low user rating is from ps3 fanboys upset about the lack of valve's support, just like gears of war 2 got flamed by fanboys.
  65. BrianH.
    Nov 22, 2008
    10
    One hell of an addicting game with the quality you expect from Valve. The game will only get better in time with the constant support and the custom content that will come out. This is a must-buy multiplayer game, and will surely be a hit at LAN parties.
  66. AnonymousMC
    Nov 22, 2008
    10
    ive been waiting for this game for a year and it in no possible way let me down. it may be short but its really addicting, the controls work great and i love how if your reloading and smack a zombie you dont have to start the animation over. ive only seen one bug that made a game unfinishable but that was on versus and thanks to horrible lag from one person all in all this game is one ofive been waiting for this game for a year and it in no possible way let me down. it may be short but its really addicting, the controls work great and i love how if your reloading and smack a zombie you dont have to start the animation over. ive only seen one bug that made a game unfinishable but that was on versus and thanks to horrible lag from one person all in all this game is one of the best ones out there and anyone that says any diffrent is probably just some halo nerd that cant accept the fact that halo is starting to be crap Expand
  67. AlexM.
    Nov 23, 2008
    10
    I've been playing Left 4 Dead for three days straight, and although I was skeptical when I noticed that there were only 4 levels, I soon realized that hanging with friends and blasting zombies in the face NEVER gets old. Best zombie game I've ever played, and that's coming from an undead aficionado.
  68. DarcyG.
    Nov 23, 2008
    10
    This is an amazing game, and the fact that it changes every time you play it just makes it even better. I don't see how people find it boring, as when I got the demo, I spent 15+ hours on those 2 levels, playing it again and again, with mates and randoms online. And Jack T., how violent a game is shouldnt make it an automatic 0. If you think this is violent, you should see This is an amazing game, and the fact that it changes every time you play it just makes it even better. I don't see how people find it boring, as when I got the demo, I spent 15+ hours on those 2 levels, playing it again and again, with mates and randoms online. And Jack T., how violent a game is shouldnt make it an automatic 0. If you think this is violent, you should see Manhunt/GTA/COD4/insert violent game here. In this, you aren't even killing people. And since when are games about graphics and story? They are about GAMEPLAY. Sure, a game with a story is always good, but Valve has said, they didnt want a big story because then gamers would have to go through cutscenes every time they played, and that would get boring. 10/10 all the way. Expand
  69. HervéG.
    Dec 11, 2008
    10
    This game is really a masterpiece. It turns out that I have plenty of hilarious or scary stories to tell about my experiences in this game, and I think this is the same with everyone, because this game is not only very good, but also each time you play it it is different. Also the buddies A.I. is really good, and as they are talking all the time, and thanks with their amazing This game is really a masterpiece. It turns out that I have plenty of hilarious or scary stories to tell about my experiences in this game, and I think this is the same with everyone, because this game is not only very good, but also each time you play it it is different. Also the buddies A.I. is really good, and as they are talking all the time, and thanks with their amazing characterization, you almost think that they are alive at moments, even when you are playing alone. Expand
  70. AnonYmous
    Dec 14, 2008
    10
    First off, at Jack T, who I assume has the last name Thompson, this has a BLOOD MARK ON THE COVER. Not only that, but a severed finger and a 17+ on the front. Any idiot should be able to tell that it's not a game for small children. Also, there was a reason for your disbarment. You tried to boycott something that fell under the first amendment a few too many times, and I would assume First off, at Jack T, who I assume has the last name Thompson, this has a BLOOD MARK ON THE COVER. Not only that, but a severed finger and a 17+ on the front. Any idiot should be able to tell that it's not a game for small children. Also, there was a reason for your disbarment. You tried to boycott something that fell under the first amendment a few too many times, and I would assume that you forgot that you are an IDIOT. Anyway, I love this game. It's excellent and has plenty of fun, and would be great without the morons trying to make this into every versus shooter known to man. In short, Heath is ALMOST right, but you should find some friends who can behave themselves, and play with them in a closed group. Expand
  71. EmilyH
    Dec 31, 2008
    10
    If the fast moving zombies coming from all directions doesn't scare you, then maybe the special infected that leave you helpless will. The hunters that pounce on you and force your [surprisingly helpful AI] allies to save you. The Boomers who vomit on you causing a hoard of angry zombies to maul you should have your other teammates circle you as you're blinded by the smile. If the fast moving zombies coming from all directions doesn't scare you, then maybe the special infected that leave you helpless will. The hunters that pounce on you and force your [surprisingly helpful AI] allies to save you. The Boomers who vomit on you causing a hoard of angry zombies to maul you should have your other teammates circle you as you're blinded by the smile. Smokers will latch onto you and pull you away from the group and don't even get me started on the witches or tanks. Even on EASY this game can give you a thrill - and will all the different achievements you'd be sure to play the same level trying different tactics. I love this game and it makes me want to get xbox live just to play on expert with a few mates. Expand
  72. Nov 17, 2010
    10
    If it wasn't for this game and Left 4 Dead 2, i won't have even bought an xbox, honestly.
    This game is just amazing, though it is pretty much that same 7 scenes you're playing over and over, the randomness setting of a.i.'s and such make it like a brand new match every time. Versus, Campaign, and other modes other than Single Player are a great way to keep my attention to the game getting
    If it wasn't for this game and Left 4 Dead 2, i won't have even bought an xbox, honestly.
    This game is just amazing, though it is pretty much that same 7 scenes you're playing over and over, the randomness setting of a.i.'s and such make it like a brand new match every time. Versus, Campaign, and other modes other than Single Player are a great way to keep my attention to the game getting to play with other. The game is just amazing, i play it like everyday and i can't imagine not playing this gem.
    Expand
  73. Jan 6, 2011
    10
    Left 4 Dead has everything i want in a survival game exciting and realistic i rate this game top marks and will recommend it to anyone who is in to survival games.
  74. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    This game is so much fun when you play it with a friend. I think if you play it alone it is boring so I recommend only playing this with friends. This doesnt have any replay value though. Its better just to rent or something and then give it back.
  75. May 12, 2013
    10
    Tell me again, what survival horror fan doesn't like blasting a few hundred zombies in the head every now and again?
    With Left 4 Dead, you'll get to kill zombies. Morbidly obese zombies that vomit on you and attract the main horde, skittish zombies that attack you when you startle them, zombies with a cat-like prowess who try to hunt you down. It's fun, it's simple. It's what we want in a
    Tell me again, what survival horror fan doesn't like blasting a few hundred zombies in the head every now and again?
    With Left 4 Dead, you'll get to kill zombies. Morbidly obese zombies that vomit on you and attract the main horde, skittish zombies that attack you when you startle them, zombies with a cat-like prowess who try to hunt you down. It's fun, it's simple. It's what we want in a zombie game.
    Expand
  76. Jun 3, 2013
    10
    Valve is now my favorite game company, all thanks to this game! I've never played an actual "good" zombie game, aside from RE, and 'Left 4 Dead' is just what I needed! 4 player co-op has never been so fun!
  77. Jul 14, 2014
    10
    I really love playing this game! The campaign is great for it keeps me compelled to play by myself or with friends. The online feature is great for it can get boring playing by yourself and the ai can be too dumb to save you or to be helpful. Survival is a great feature in which you just have to survive long enough.
  78. Komino
    Jan 9, 2009
    9
    Turn off the lights and whack up the volume and get sucked into the intense adrenaline rush that is Left 4 Dead. Unlike most multiplayer games, this game really forces you to work as a team. Run ahead on your own and you run the risk off getting pounced, puked or punched without anyone to save you. One element that I really like was the that if you were playing online and needed to go off Turn off the lights and whack up the volume and get sucked into the intense adrenaline rush that is Left 4 Dead. Unlike most multiplayer games, this game really forces you to work as a team. Run ahead on your own and you run the risk off getting pounced, puked or punched without anyone to save you. One element that I really like was the that if you were playing online and needed to go off mid-game you just needed to switch to 'on a break' and the games A.I takes over which is more than competent, especially at saving and healing you. The only real downside I would say is the graphics which do look a little last-gen but it never retracts from the overall experience. Overall, if you connected to the net and want a intense experience that you'd be hard pushed to find anywhere else. Get this game. Expand
  79. DarrenJ.
    Jan 6, 2009
    9
    I think the reason for Ike's rating of 3 is that he didn't read the box properly and was disappointed to find that straight out of the box it is only a 2 player. However, it's one of the best 2 player games I have ever played. The split screen is done really well allowing you a good view of everything and the interaction between characters is good. I think it's worth I think the reason for Ike's rating of 3 is that he didn't read the box properly and was disappointed to find that straight out of the box it is only a 2 player. However, it's one of the best 2 player games I have ever played. The split screen is done really well allowing you a good view of everything and the interaction between characters is good. I think it's worth saying that this is an acheivement driven game which will challenge you and frustrate you but all in all one of the best 1st person shooters I've ever played. Expand
  80. JohnP
    Feb 22, 2009
    9
    This game is everything you ever dreamed about. George A. Romero on the 360. The controls are very static, which gives it the minus one, but everything else is great. Their is the most basic of storylines in this game. You are with three other people during a zombie apocolypse: survive. Fast paced, action packed, fun online and offline. I recommend this as top game for 2008.
  81. JoshuaG
    Jul 14, 2009
    9
    This is perfect for people who love multi player games. Despite the fact that there are only about 20 different levels, each lasting about 15, the game doesn't get boring. The placement of the zombies, weapons, and assorted items are all random so that you can't just memorize where everything is. Even the dialog changes each time you play depending on the mistakes you make.This is perfect for people who love multi player games. Despite the fact that there are only about 20 different levels, each lasting about 15, the game doesn't get boring. The placement of the zombies, weapons, and assorted items are all random so that you can't just memorize where everything is. Even the dialog changes each time you play depending on the mistakes you make. Overall, the only people who won't like this game are those who cannot, or will not, play online games. Expand
  82. AnonymousMC
    Nov 19, 2008
    9
    There's nothing more satisfying than playing as a zombie in the 4v4 Co-op Campaign and waiting for just the right moment to pounce on that one player that's lagging behind, or call in a swarm of the undead on your unsuspecting enemies. All in all, Left 4 Dead is a zombie massacre masterpiece.
  83. NickL.
    Nov 20, 2008
    9
    I love this game. The game would be great enough as single player, but co-op lets it take the prize. Most would take off points for its shallow story, but that makes it better. There is an air of mystery surrounding the infection, and the story is mostly told by graffiti on the walls of the safe houses. There are even references to valves previous game Portal. The only thing lacking is I love this game. The game would be great enough as single player, but co-op lets it take the prize. Most would take off points for its shallow story, but that makes it better. There is an air of mystery surrounding the infection, and the story is mostly told by graffiti on the walls of the safe houses. There are even references to valves previous game Portal. The only thing lacking is the number of scenarios, 4 with 5 chapters. Overall, this game should be either in the hands or stockings of any gamer who loves anything and everything about Valve. Expand
  84. AdamD.
    Nov 22, 2008
    9
    This is about as tense as it gets. It recreates the dread we experienced in Doom 3, but throws it in by the gallon instead of a trickle. Single player is tolerable, but L4D really shines with friends. Campaign mode and the fantastic Versus mode are excellent. Well worth a look!
  85. TietsuCohren
    Nov 20, 2008
    9
    This game is an epic display of everything that can and in this case does go write when making a video game. Whether your a fan of FPSs or not you owe it to yourself to experience this game for what it is. A rewarding (if not short) game with more to offer than most of the games out this holiday season.
  86. MarkK
    Nov 23, 2008
    9
    I'm shocked that anyone in this column would rate this game terrible. So far what i have seen is 1) bad graphics (2) mindless shooting (3) too gory. In rebuttal to 1, the game has stunning graphics. However, i will not deny that it is not up to par with games like gears of war 2. But what you will not find in gears of war 2 is the exceptional animation. Zombies in l4d will gather and I'm shocked that anyone in this column would rate this game terrible. So far what i have seen is 1) bad graphics (2) mindless shooting (3) too gory. In rebuttal to 1, the game has stunning graphics. However, i will not deny that it is not up to par with games like gears of war 2. But what you will not find in gears of war 2 is the exceptional animation. Zombies in l4d will gather and maul in quite the terrifying way. Meleeing them results in a completely different fall every time, and the AI is nothing short of brilliant. (2) You clearly have not played this game online at all. Finding a good coop team is unlike any other multiplayer experiences out there. and the versus mode is where you have to put the teamwork into the second gear. (3) "this game is terrible; my kids will certainly not play it, thus i rate it bad". Sir, i would encourage you to examine the logic of your statements. If that is truly the reason for your bad review, then i would give it a 5. Considering you could not possibly own this game, i wouldnt rate it at all. people may need to stop rating games wither 1 or 10, there are numbers in between. i know! its shocking! well i guess your entitled to do what you wish, as long as your not the guys on the big page behind this one. Expand
  87. BenK.
    Nov 25, 2008
    9
    This game is just what a game should be: Fun. Get 3 of your friends together and play through a advanced/expert campaign and I pretty much guarantee you will have an hour and a half of pure video game exhiliration. Then you can do it all over again because shooting zombies never gets old! They're zombies! Technically, the game is brilliant. The pacing is very well done and the game This game is just what a game should be: Fun. Get 3 of your friends together and play through a advanced/expert campaign and I pretty much guarantee you will have an hour and a half of pure video game exhiliration. Then you can do it all over again because shooting zombies never gets old! They're zombies! Technically, the game is brilliant. The pacing is very well done and the game is dynamic. You feel a different situation even when you replay the same campaigns because of the AI Director, who controls your script. AI Director will wait for the perfect moment to throw a Tank at you right when you're feeling like you're doing a good job. Expand
  88. nathanskipper
    Jan 18, 2009
    9
    One of the best games I have ever played, great to link up with friends and play and even fun with strangers, as long as they co-operate. keeps you interested and have been playing it for weeks at least 3 hours a day.... love it!! i dont know how people cant like this
  89. EricC.
    Jan 22, 2009
    9
    Not quite the perfect game, but certainly the perfect co-op game. No one player can possibly win; it forces you to play together and to co-operate. The versus option is a stroke of genius, letting you play as first the survivors and then the infected in a 4 on 4 match-up that gives a demonstrative demonstration of the need to play as a team. If you want to play a game where one person can Not quite the perfect game, but certainly the perfect co-op game. No one player can possibly win; it forces you to play together and to co-operate. The versus option is a stroke of genius, letting you play as first the survivors and then the infected in a 4 on 4 match-up that gives a demonstrative demonstration of the need to play as a team. If you want to play a game where one person can do everything by himself, buy Halo. If you want to be challenged to the point where even the best player in existence can lose to an organized team of middling players, where the playing field is level and your success depends on others, this is your game. It's sort of ironic; a game in which four people annihilate thousands of other human beings has helped to restore my faith in humanity. P.S. When you play versus, Blood Harvest is far superior. It's harder to win, and you can't glitch nearly as much as people on No Mercy do. Expand
  90. JayG
    Jan 23, 2009
    9
    For all those that are having a tough time deciding whether to buy L4D here is the honest answer - If you have xbox live and a group friends that you play other multiplayer games with then this game is a must have. Sometimes you get bad teamates if you search, so its better to play with friends. The game is short ,but playing the game with 4 people is a lot of fun and beating the For all those that are having a tough time deciding whether to buy L4D here is the honest answer - If you have xbox live and a group friends that you play other multiplayer games with then this game is a must have. Sometimes you get bad teamates if you search, so its better to play with friends. The game is short ,but playing the game with 4 people is a lot of fun and beating the campeigns on harder difficulties brings the replay value up.The multiplayer is definetly groundbreaking and unique. Now if you don't have xbox live then its probably worth a rental. Due to no multiplayer and 4 player co-op. Expand
  91. RobertBreen
    Aug 23, 2009
    9
    Great multiplayer action.
    Just when you start to get bored of only having 4 levels, you get sucked in to playing Versus.
    Valve has done good job wiht DLC.
    Cant wait until the sequel hits.
    This is one game that I am still playing and will probably still be playing when the sequel hits.
    It is that Good.
  92. charlie
    Nov 17, 2008
    9
    this game really is good. The reason it got such a low user rating as ps3 fanboys have slated valve off as valve dont write games for ps3. Look at the critic score not user score. Pretty pathetic that people do this to prove their console is the better... Sad little lamers... Who cares...
  93. ArtV.
    Nov 18, 2008
    9
    Finally a co-op FPS that has re-playability. Left 4 Dead is quite fun to play with skilled players. The multiplayer interface is very well done with the ability to jump in and out of games. Some of the level design seems a bit dark, cluttered and claustrophobic. Overall this game provides some new substance that is has been lacking in this genre.
  94. DanA.
    Nov 18, 2008
    9
    Giant Bomb should be ashamed for giving this an 80, and Mortal Kombat vs. DC a 100. Left 4 Dead is simple, but it certainly doesn't deserve anything that's just in the 8 range and below for ratings. It has it's flaws and a little lack of depth, but it's an amazing experience, with one of the best and most interesting online modes and team-based gameplay I've seen.
  95. TomislavN.
    Nov 18, 2008
    9
    Left 4 Dead is truly one of the most fascinating games I've played in years. It brings out most of the qualities i have been looking for: cooperation, lots of guns and a lot of teamwork. Although it lacks many things that would make it perfect, it is still a game to play, and every penny you spent on it, will pay off immediately as you start. In other words: Epic.
  96. lordolunch
    Nov 20, 2008
    9
    One of the most frantic and exciting games I've played on PC in a long time. If you like games that are constantly pounding you with action, then this is your game. The online is some of the best co-op you can play at this point in time. BUY IT
  97. D.J.P.
    Nov 20, 2008
    9
    This game is absolutely amazing for those who have waited for a good zombie game to come out! I already love FPS's and this just adds to it! I would say the only downfall to this game is that there are very few checkpoints (average of 4 in each campaign). Although it is meant to be like that, so keep your team together; it also makes it extremely tiresome to get from one safehouse to This game is absolutely amazing for those who have waited for a good zombie game to come out! I already love FPS's and this just adds to it! I would say the only downfall to this game is that there are very few checkpoints (average of 4 in each campaign). Although it is meant to be like that, so keep your team together; it also makes it extremely tiresome to get from one safehouse to the next on expert mode >:/. Overall I believe this game is excellent and will flourish on Live and PC until another game comes out that takes FPS lovers attention away...kinda like what happened to CoD4 and Halo 3 :D Expand
  98. RandyM.
    Nov 22, 2008
    9
    This game has single handedly re-energized my enthusiasm for the FPS genre. Perfectly playable on a wide range of systems, and the gameplay and balance is very well thought out. Right now, this is the most fun you can have online with friends IMHO. And by the way, if you're not playing online with others, you're missing the whole point of the game. The only reason it misses a 10 This game has single handedly re-energized my enthusiasm for the FPS genre. Perfectly playable on a wide range of systems, and the gameplay and balance is very well thought out. Right now, this is the most fun you can have online with friends IMHO. And by the way, if you're not playing online with others, you're missing the whole point of the game. The only reason it misses a 10 is due to the limited number of maps and weapons. But I'm sure Valve will address that soon enough. And to Jack T who gave it a 0 because it's not good for kids... WTF dude? You know it IS rated "M" for mature. You should have to take an IQ test to produce offspring. *sigh* Expand
  99. mikechabot
    Nov 20, 2008
    9
    While this game does lack in length it is still one of the best games out there to play with your friends. I requires more then the meaningless but sometime fun single player ownage as seen in games like Call of Duty 4/5. It requires you and your friends to work together to survive. This is a great game to have for when you have the guys over and is one that really gets you screamingWhile this game does lack in length it is still one of the best games out there to play with your friends. I requires more then the meaningless but sometime fun single player ownage as seen in games like Call of Duty 4/5. It requires you and your friends to work together to survive. This is a great game to have for when you have the guys over and is one that really gets you screaming at the t.v. Expand
  100. Idoru
    Nov 24, 2008
    9
    Fun, simple gameplay designed for fun with your friends. Not much content but assuming it recieces as much post launch attention as the orange box has then I think we should be OK. Not played enough yet to know wether or not thew AI make huge differance replayability wise. Even if it were the same though I'm sure I'd enjoy it just as much with the difficulty ramped right up.Fun, simple gameplay designed for fun with your friends. Not much content but assuming it recieces as much post launch attention as the orange box has then I think we should be OK. Not played enough yet to know wether or not thew AI make huge differance replayability wise. Even if it were the same though I'm sure I'd enjoy it just as much with the difficulty ramped right up. Simple the most fun I've had in ages over Live. Expand
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 67 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 67
  2. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. Left 4 Dead's simplicity offers purity of gameplay - the same reason that gamers keep returning to classic arcade games. Come to think of it, with a handful of levels and unpredictable events happening within them, Left 4 Dead has more in common with "Ms. Pac-Man" than just the eating. It's the same thing over and over - but when simple ingredients are perfectly prepared, what could be a mere snack becomes a feast. This one just happens to be on human flesh. [Holiday 2008, p.32]
  2. 90
    There's absolutely no doubt that Left 4 Dead is one of the most social and exciting multiplayer games that we've ever played. It's almost pitch perfect in how it captures the tension and the action of a Hollywood zombie movie.
  3. 90
    The inventive and highly entertaining competitive multiplayer mode just adds to the experience, and we're looking forward to seeing what Valve's got planned for the game's future. Out of all the titles that have shaped the Year of Living Cooperatively, this may be the best experience of them all.