User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 81 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 81
  2. Negative: 16 out of 81

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AnonymousMC
    Feb 20, 2009
    8
    I tried this game out, and I must say that it's underrated. It's a solid, if flawed, title that proves humanity can be more insane than I am. The shooting mechanics are solid, the methods of healing, telekinesis, etc., are well-implemented, and it is original. Where else will you see people putting shotguns to the heads of werewolves AND minotaurs? The downsides includeI tried this game out, and I must say that it's underrated. It's a solid, if flawed, title that proves humanity can be more insane than I am. The shooting mechanics are solid, the methods of healing, telekinesis, etc., are well-implemented, and it is original. Where else will you see people putting shotguns to the heads of werewolves AND minotaurs? The downsides include collision issues and balance problems, but it's still a very solid title. Expand
  2. JasonL
    Apr 15, 2009
    8
    I really had a ton of fun with this game - sure it doesn't bring anything new to the genre, but what is here is an action-packed adventure with addictive gameplay, decent graphics, well thought-out sound design. I avoided this game due to the critic review scores, but now I have first hand experience, and can honestly say that it's well worth a play-through.
  3. peterIngram
    Nov 10, 2008
    8
    I enjoyed the game thoroughly. It may not be as polished as some of the heavy hitters out now, but it is fun. I am soooo sick and tired of space marines and aliens, and the cover system. Run, cover, shoot, and run, cover, shoot etc... That is sooo repetitive and boring. This game actually is refreshing, because you have to move around the world consistently or else the creatures findI enjoyed the game thoroughly. It may not be as polished as some of the heavy hitters out now, but it is fun. I am soooo sick and tired of space marines and aliens, and the cover system. Run, cover, shoot, and run, cover, shoot etc... That is sooo repetitive and boring. This game actually is refreshing, because you have to move around the world consistently or else the creatures find and destroy you. How it scored a 2 out of 10 on IGN blows my mind! Its fun, it runs, and was a good experience. Its def worth playing;) Expand
  4. Aug 30, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Always avoided this game due to critics or storeowners. Recently I've been buying all these supposable horrible games that are cheaper as the years have gone by. By no means is this a top tier game in terms of production value but its fun, has decent enough gameplay, original and cool monsters that need to be killed uniquely, and some respectable epic scenes. The critics main complaint is storyline ... Give me a break. There are so many hi rated games w/ crape stories. Worth your five bucks at gamestop. Expand
  5. Jan 28, 2013
    10
    I really like this game of true action fps with a world very detailed
    Fun is sure
    I must say this game is underrated and I don't understand why eweryone have to play this awesome game
    The only thing I don't appreciate was the abscence of the multiplayer players (not working or don't know why)
    But surely they are playing the campaign of this very interesting game (Y)
  6. MatisonMoon
    Oct 28, 2008
    10
    Finally something different.... The creatures don't just sit and hide behind cover and wait for you to snipe them. You have to run and gun. Very old school. It also ramps nicely, the controls are responsive, and the scenes were spectacular. I was surprised by how much I liked the story too.
Metascore
47

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 39
  2. Negative: 17 out of 39
  1. While the formula feels a bit dated now, the result is a shooter that is still incredibly fun. [Dec 2008, p.90]
  2. The dev team has an eye for spectacle – a towering golem comprised of cars and other metallic detritus is a visual highlight – but these moments mostly serve to illustrate how dull your actual actions are by contrast. [Dec 2008, p.98]
  3. The problem with this is that Spark is relentless at throwing a huge number of beasties your way, crowding you into a corner and ripping you to shreds. There's not enough breathing space for you to heal yourself and absorb energy to use it effectively as a defensive measure. To say this had us throwing the controller at the telly and cursing is an understatement.