User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 425 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 425

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 7, 2010
    7
    A beautifully directed and constructed game, which is as much a work of art as it is a game. Haunting music and stark, simple graphics, make it utterly absorbing. It's tough to complete, but still shockingly short, though I'd have tired if it had been longer, so there's no real way for it to win other than to retail for less than it is. Well worth your time though - more games should beA beautifully directed and constructed game, which is as much a work of art as it is a game. Haunting music and stark, simple graphics, make it utterly absorbing. It's tough to complete, but still shockingly short, though I'd have tired if it had been longer, so there's no real way for it to win other than to retail for less than it is. Well worth your time though - more games should be inspired by Limbo's simple ambitions. Expand
  2. Apr 1, 2011
    5
    I really wanted to love this game. The art direction is fantastic, the atmosphere is consuming, and the spider is scary as hell. Unfortunately, the game's puzzles and platforming bits are almost entirely guess-and-check (the black and white coloring does not help). Which means enjoy dying countless deaths due to poor game design.
  3. Aug 28, 2010
    7
    It's good, albeit really short, difficult and lacking a good soundtrack. Basically all you do is run, jump and die (A LOT). The only thing the game needs is a hint system, games are allowed to be challenging, but I'm clearly not the brightest person and some puzzles had me going to the internet to figure out. For a simple game, it's way too short. Not worth the current price (1200MSIt's good, albeit really short, difficult and lacking a good soundtrack. Basically all you do is run, jump and die (A LOT). The only thing the game needs is a hint system, games are allowed to be challenging, but I'm clearly not the brightest person and some puzzles had me going to the internet to figure out. For a simple game, it's way too short. Not worth the current price (1200MS points). I'd say just wait for it to be cheaper, you're not missing much even though the critics are treating this game like the god of XBLA. It's nothing compared to games like Scott Pilgrim or Shadow Complex. Expand
  4. Sep 17, 2010
    5
    I believe this game is nothing more than hype with its users liking it because of the media induced hype. I completed the game and it wasn't anything special, very repetitive nothing more than 200 gamer-score. Although this game is unique I just haven't bought into the genre. Although this review is very negative this is just my opinion, try the demo, it shows the game for everything itI believe this game is nothing more than hype with its users liking it because of the media induced hype. I completed the game and it wasn't anything special, very repetitive nothing more than 200 gamer-score. Although this game is unique I just haven't bought into the genre. Although this review is very negative this is just my opinion, try the demo, it shows the game for everything it is. Taking into account the price i believe this game is mediocre. Expand
  5. Dec 3, 2011
    6
    When all's said and done, it's the art style and atmosphere that made this game a success. The puzzles are generally above average for games of this type, although they mostly use rather vanilla mechanics that have been seen before in countless other games (push blocks around, swing on ropes, pull levers to change states of machinery etc. etc.) They do get repetitive, and after aboutWhen all's said and done, it's the art style and atmosphere that made this game a success. The puzzles are generally above average for games of this type, although they mostly use rather vanilla mechanics that have been seen before in countless other games (push blocks around, swing on ropes, pull levers to change states of machinery etc. etc.) They do get repetitive, and after about halfway through the game the puzzle design becomes far too reliant on precision timing, and frustration tends to dominate. What I found was that you fairly quickly work out *what* you are supposed to do, but the act of *actually* executing the sequence is bogged down with endless trial-and-error as you have to constantly micro-adjust the positions of things, and re-adjust your timing until you hit that split-second and pixel-perfect "sweet spot" that allows progression to actually occur. When it takes 30secs to figure out the solution, but 10 minutes of repeating the same sequence over and over until you hit that jump just right (for example), then there is something obviously wrong with the design. Best way of summing it up - it's a bit like how Braid would have played if you we're allowed to rewind time. Ouch. Expand
  6. Feb 27, 2013
    7
    Solid, if unremarkable, platforming action combined with some of the most striking visuals combine to make yet another Xbox Live title more than worth the price of a download.
  7. Aug 26, 2011
    7
    Limbo is a dark and scary game from play dead studios. A boys sister has been captured by some weirdos and uncertain of her fate he enters LIMBO. The story isnt fantastic but you play this game for the puzzles. It looks fantastic the darkness and silhouette style is great. The sound off just rushing wind and that slight piano playing makes it sound great too. The puzzles are unique andLimbo is a dark and scary game from play dead studios. A boys sister has been captured by some weirdos and uncertain of her fate he enters LIMBO. The story isnt fantastic but you play this game for the puzzles. It looks fantastic the darkness and silhouette style is great. The sound off just rushing wind and that slight piano playing makes it sound great too. The puzzles are unique and each failed attempt at a puzzle sees the boy get slaughtered . Overall it's a unique creepy little game i'll give it a 7.5 The review will be on my blog at http://maximalistgtg.blogspot.com/2011/08/limbo.html Expand
  8. Dec 11, 2012
    7
    Why!? I wanted to love limbo like I do so many games, and really like to art and style of it, But after beating it in under 4 hours couldn't help but feel I lost 15 bucks. Now had I only paid like 6-9 dollars I might have felt better, but this game is too short. It started off really good, and had some really neat ideas but in the end the game was too short which is the same complaint IWhy!? I wanted to love limbo like I do so many games, and really like to art and style of it, But after beating it in under 4 hours couldn't help but feel I lost 15 bucks. Now had I only paid like 6-9 dollars I might have felt better, but this game is too short. It started off really good, and had some really neat ideas but in the end the game was too short which is the same complaint I have for any other game like this, journey. Anyways there was one part were the puzzle seemed to not make any sense and it was almost frustrating but I figured it out, which didn't give me near the accomplishment that I felt with Braid and Portal. Don't know why that is? Good game, but if your price sensitive wait for a good deal to play it. Expand
  9. May 27, 2012
    7
    A good unique game, a bit short though.
  10. Jul 18, 2013
    6
    Good concept and smooth gameplay. I enjoyed the secrets in the game and most of the puzzles. While it starts down a story path using environment and character elements, it nevers ventures past the superficial, missing out on something great. In the end, you might feel you traded places with your character.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 89 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 89
  2. Negative: 0 out of 89
  1. Jan 18, 2011
    90
    There is a wonderful minimalism about the whole experience, from start to finish, which includes the relatively abrupt ending after 3-4 hours of play.
  2. Jan 18, 2011
    90
    As one of the most unique puzzlers that I've played over the years, Limbo's chilling atmosphere is an example of an incredible gaming achievement.
  3. But that doesn't stop LIMBO being an entirely worthwhile experience, drenched in misery, pathos and loneliness. It's also really bloody scary.