User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 404 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 404

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 14, 2010
    3
    If it weren't for the art direction, this game would have gained little attention. The general vibe is interestingly depressed and monotone, but the implication of the title: that the game somehow explores the concept of being in 'Liumbo' falls apart quickly. It is barely explored in the game itself, and at the halfway mark, the initial interest of being in a real / organic place replete with beats and animals preying on those trapped between worlds falls apart and the game descends into a generic clockwork maze. Filled with turning gears designed to expand the gameplay possibilities, they do not serve the theme or even truly expand the mechanics and show a distinct lack of inspiration and imagination for a game that only last a few hours. Worse, the base mechanics are floaty and imprecise, meaning the character is difficult and annoying to control: problems that were solved in the 90s on the SNES. Expand
  2. Aug 22, 2010
    10
    Without doubt one of the most beautiful games I have ever played, Limbo blurs the lines between video games and art. The puzzles are really devious too! But, way too short. I'm hoping they will create another Limbo game, as there are so many ideas here i'm sure they can greatly expand on this great little game.
  3. Sep 17, 2010
    5
    I believe this game is nothing more than hype with its users liking it because of the media induced hype. I completed the game and it wasn't anything special, very repetitive nothing more than 200 gamer-score. Although this game is unique I just haven't bought into the genre. Although this review is very negative this is just my opinion, try the demo, it shows the game for everything it is. Taking into account the price i believe this game is mediocre. Expand
  4. Aug 12, 2010
    9
    LIMBO is a game that will go down in history for its creative and mind-bending puzzles, and its somewhat artistic ending that really makes you think. The hidden eggs are extremely challenging and make you want to explore every inch of the games world, and this adds replay value. Sadly the game only lasts 2-4 hours, and can be completed in one sitting. I strongly recommend this game to those who seek a mind bending adventure because this is a game you will not forget. Expand
  5. Aug 24, 2010
    10
    This is a great game. The only negative is the MP total of 1200. I think 800 would be more feasible. The game itself is stunning. I think anyway who plays it should sit down block out some hours of time and turn the lights out and the t.v. sound up. This is a game that screams for immersion. When the boy dies, and he will die, it will startle you as well as make you jump. You will want to solve every puzzle. The European review stated that it will get repetitive. I never found the game using the same thing. Instead the game pushes you to go a little further. You will never quit the game as long as you are moving, only when you reach a puzzle that is just a little too difficult will you stop and go do something else. Even than in your mind or while you sleep you will think about this game. I think the reason some people feel this game is too short, is that you will not truly stop thinking and playing this game until you beat it or give up completely. I have given this a ten. It is that good. Expand
  6. Jan 23, 2011
    10
    No way is this game "media hype". This is a brilliant puzzle platformer with an amazing art style. Play with the lights off, it will draw you in to is German expressionist, brilliant minimal style. It's gory and exciting. The only complaint I have is the ending. I wanted more and more closure. But this is an awesome game.
  7. Apr 1, 2011
    5
    I really wanted to love this game. The art direction is fantastic, the atmosphere is consuming, and the spider is scary as hell. Unfortunately, the game's puzzles and platforming bits are almost entirely guess-and-check (the black and white coloring does not help). Which means enjoy dying countless deaths due to poor game design.
  8. Aug 28, 2010
    7
    It's good, albeit really short, difficult and lacking a good soundtrack. Basically all you do is run, jump and die (A LOT). The only thing the game needs is a hint system, games are allowed to be challenging, but I'm clearly not the brightest person and some puzzles had me going to the internet to figure out. For a simple game, it's way too short. Not worth the current price (1200MS points). I'd say just wait for it to be cheaper, you're not missing much even though the critics are treating this game like the god of XBLA. It's nothing compared to games like Scott Pilgrim or Shadow Complex. Expand
  9. Oct 16, 2010
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Within the first five minutes LIMBO hits you like a ton of bricks. The art style, sound effects and physics build a tense atmosphere - the producers show that there is still room for creativity in 2D platform games. LIMBO has some great gaming moments (the spider is particularly memorable) though it feels like lots of these are near the start of the game and the end slightly goes over old ground. The game does not have much replay value (aside from playing it to show to friends) but it is worth your time and is an excellent way to spend 3 to 4 hours. Expand
  10. Nov 7, 2010
    7
    A beautifully directed and constructed game, which is as much a work of art as it is a game. Haunting music and stark, simple graphics, make it utterly absorbing. It's tough to complete, but still shockingly short, though I'd have tired if it had been longer, so there's no real way for it to win other than to retail for less than it is. Well worth your time though - more games should be inspired by Limbo's simple ambitions. Expand
  11. Aug 6, 2011
    10
    LIMBO is a atmospheric puzzle platformer so much filled with challenging puzzles that had me stumped for a while to solve. I really enjoyed the immersive and eerie experience this game provided. It's a real shame that it ended so soon (4 hours). I commend the developers for developing a game that EVERYONE can play (I'm hearing impaired). No dialog is played at all, just the beautiful music that play in snyc with the emotion and environments of the game.

    This is a game that I will pick my controller up and play again and again. I recommend this game to anyone who love puzzle platformers.
    Expand
  12. Jul 13, 2012
    1
    Based on the reviews, I was sure I'd like this game, but I was wrong. The only way to figure out the puzzles is to die over and over and over. For me, at least, this makes it completely impossible to get immersed. I want to be scared for the kid, but I can't do it. I want to be curious about the place, but I can't do it. Without those elements, the non-obviousness of the game has the frustrating part of "challenging" without any real reward. All these reviewers feel good about figuring out a puzzle by trying every possible thing in the world, and dying 20 times? Not me. Three times I quit, got talked into doing it more and then quit again. Expand
  13. Dec 21, 2011
    8
    Without a single word of dialogue and hardly any sound or assistance, Limbo captures me instantly and takes me on a journey through the dark, in hope of finding some light at the end. With clever puzzles supported by simplistic controls, this game lets you focus on the task at hand, and is a dark beauty with an atmosphere unlike anything else.
  14. Aug 18, 2010
    9
    Unique and challenging, drags you into an obscure world and doesn't let go. I havn't enjoyed exploring such a great environment since Shadow of the Colossus and the only let down is the length at 4-5 hours. Highly recommended.
  15. Aug 22, 2010
    9
    For those of you who play games that don't like to really THINK about what you're playing as you're playing it, this may not be the game for you. It might not also not be for your 10-year-old brother who was expecting more action, and maybe even music or voice, and don't like to use their problem solving techniques in the game. For those of you who like to play games that make you think about what you're trying to accomplish in the game while thinking about the other aspects of the game, like the monochromatic atmosphere you're in, or what you're main goal is in the game (besides running right to get to the end of the game), or even why you're doing whatever it is you're doing, LIMBO is definitely the game of choice for this Summer of Arcade.
    Your experience with the boy in LIMBO just blemishes creativity throughout the seamless, loading screen free world. You only have 3 controls: jump, move, and action, which is usually used to push buttons or pull levers and objects where you need them. As dull of a control scheme as that may sound, that's about as real as you can get. What you do in the game fully relates to real-world logic and physics. You use your body and your movements to clear almost all the obstacles in the game, with occasional help from gravity switches and elevators and whatnot. It's just you out there, running alone through LIMBO.
    The presentation of the game is really something you have to experience at night, with all the lights off and the door closed, and the volume turned up way loud, maybe even with headphones if you can. That's the best way to draw you into the haunting world you'll be playing in. Many times I've gotten eaten or stabbed by a big crawling spider and literally jumped in my chair shocked. Not in a bad way, I'm just so enthralled in what I'm doing in the game it catches me off guard quickly.
    Anyway, as I said before, this game makes you really think about the puzzles in the game to get you to the next chapter, but also leaves you to think of a reason for why you're moving right. There are hundreds of possibilities and stories for what The Boy's story is and why he is uncertain about his sister's fate, and that's all for you to decide.
    The only downside I had to this game is the replay value of the game, and how short it was. It took me two sittings and about 5 hours to get to the end of the game, and to find all the hidden eggs along the way. After you play this even for 20 minutes, it'll be on your mind for days.
    Expand
  16. Aug 30, 2010
    9
    Indie developer Playdead produces a 2D puzzle platform adventure set in a world that inspires as much wonder as it does apprehension. Players wake up in the world of Limbo as a little boy and must quickly learn to fend for themselves because Playdead offer players zero explanation or tutorials about what to do. Despite the lack of direction, everything eventually makes sense because the controls and puzzle designs are intuitive and well thought out. Playdead's title has some questionable design choices with regards to trial and error gameplay and a complete lack of dialogue either written or spoken, but the rest of the game's amazing qualities make it a game players should not be apprehensive about purchasing. Expand
  17. Aug 31, 2010
    9
    Hands down this is the best arcade game I've ever played. These XBOX doozies are getting better and better, and this should be a model for what's to come in the near and far future. It's a quick little game but it has immense replay value. Definitely check it out.
  18. Sep 16, 2010
    10
    It has already been stated that this game blurs the line between art and games. I echo this thought. After reading the interview with the creator of this game I am stuck wondering what it could have been. It's a shame when corporate types and faceless higher-ups can have a say so or in some way hinder the artistic process. Still, LIMBO succeeds and surpasses on all levels. Sound, graphics, game play, and best of all tone. If you don't feel a slight stir whilst playing check your pulse. To play this through as a simple "run right and jump" is missing the point I think. Expand
  19. Sep 20, 2010
    9
    Beautiful. Just beautiful. If you're a fan of anything dark, twisted, puzzling, creative, and actually scary at times (something rare in today's games) then this is not one to pass up. A second play through probably won't give you that initial thrill that you should feel the first time, and the entire game can be completed in just a few hours, but those are the only things that you can even consider flaws. As far as downloadable games go, it's nearly impossible to top. Expand
  20. Sep 21, 2010
    9
    Very well-made game. Simple and effective. A bit short for the price though, but the brevity makes multiple playthroughs a little easier to manage. The game is very dark, a bit creepy, and has a bit of a sick sense of humor in the ways you can die. A very enjoyable experience though. If you have the money and want something new, get this game.
  21. Sep 29, 2010
    9
    LIMBO is an instant classic. The only negative thing I could say about the game is that it isn't all that long, but as an XBLA title it really doesn't need to be a 20 hour epic. It has terrific art direction, mind-bending puzzles, and terrificly gruesome deaths. Many platformers where you die often cause extreme frustration, but each death in LIMBO is a learning experience. The game features a sparse, yet haunting soundtrack. There really isn't much music to speak of, but when the music starts you know that something wicked this way comes. This is THE best XBLA title released this year and one of the best games of 2010 period. Do yourself a favor and pick up this game yesterday! Collapse
  22. Oct 3, 2010
    9
    One of XBLA's best offerings. You shouldn't miss it. If you are at all into platformers or indy games LIMBO is a true gem of this generation. It proves that you can create incredible atmospheres without fancy 3D graphics, just by good design and careful attention to detail. Towards the end of the game some puzzles get unfair and tough, but that doesn't detract from the overall amazing experience. Highly recommended, although you will die a lot. Expand
  23. Oct 25, 2010
    10
    LIMBO is a game that reminds you that simplicity can be the best characteristic of a video game. The art scheme takes LIMBO to a level that, to me, has become a cult following; a cult following I have been happily pulled in to. The game is short, but sweet, and can be difficult at parts. It takes a lot of deep thinking, and that's what makes LIMBO a blast. The physics are spot on, the ambience is creepy, and I never died once because of the games design. 10/10 Expand
  24. Dec 30, 2010
    10
    Limbo is probably my "game of the year" for Xbox Live. The game is so unique, so original and really captivating. The puzzles and challenges are memorable and not soon forgotten. My only gripe is that I can only manage to get 190 GS, the last 10 require you to play through the game in one sitting, dying less than 5 times! There is no way I will ever be able to do that. Seriously people, if you are looking for a game that breaks rules and stands on it's own - no big time brand behind it, no big marketing - check out Limbo. I can't wait for the next game from these developers. Expand
  25. Aug 4, 2011
    4
    I appreciate the art direction, but only at first. There's simply not enough content in this game. The slow pacing drags the already seemingly uninspired direction into a lethargic territory. I would not recommend it (it's short, too).
  26. Mar 3, 2011
    8
    Horror at it's best.
    The game is so cliqued yet so beautifully executed that you just ignore the clique's.
    Oh, and did I mention the game was as subtle and scary as **** Yeah, have fun pissing your pant's.
    However it's hard to distuinguishe a trap untill your amputated head is rolling into a pit.
  27. Feb 22, 2012
    9
    The most atmospheric and wonderfully puzzling game on XBLA. The art direction is superb and adds to the story, gameplay and the world itself. The price is a bit steep for a game with little replay value.
  28. Jul 25, 2011
    9
    Almost prefect, no other developer in history had simple but big ideas to invent an masterpiece. limbo's puzzles are incredible, hours of discovering and exploring this world is the set piece. The atmosphere plays like no other game, you can even compare it to Dead Space, Fear or even the Silent Hill games, bone chilling experience. Black and White graphics make it original and incomparable to all the games. Expand
  29. Feb 27, 2013
    7
    Solid, if unremarkable, platforming action combined with some of the most striking visuals combine to make yet another Xbox Live title more than worth the price of a download.
  30. May 9, 2011
    9
    The story sets up its intriguing mystique perfectly, but never really delivers on or even tries to make sense of the plot - nevertheless, the game comes through with awesomely clever physics-based puzzle design, great sound design and a load of super-unique visual and aural atmosphere! Definitely worth replaying, too.
  31. Sep 29, 2010
    0
    LIMBO is an instant classic. The only negative thing I could say about the game is that it isn't all that long, but as an XBLA title it really doesn't need to be a 20 hour epic. It has terrific art direction, mind-bending puzzles, and terrificly gruesome deaths. Many platformers where you die often cause extreme frustration, but each death in LIMBO is a learning experience. The game features a sparse, yet haunting soundtrack. There really isn't much music to speak of, but when the music starts you know that something wicked this way comes. This is THE best XBLA title released this year and one of the best games of 2010 period. Do yourself a favor and pick up this game yesterday! Collapse
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 89 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 89
  2. Negative: 0 out of 89
  1. Jan 18, 2011
    90
    There is a wonderful minimalism about the whole experience, from start to finish, which includes the relatively abrupt ending after 3-4 hours of play.
  2. Jan 18, 2011
    90
    As one of the most unique puzzlers that I've played over the years, Limbo's chilling atmosphere is an example of an incredible gaming achievement.
  3. But that doesn't stop LIMBO being an entirely worthwhile experience, drenched in misery, pathos and loneliness. It's also really bloody scary.