LIMBO Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 89 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 451 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: [Xbox Live Arcade] Uncertain of his sister's fate, a boy enters LIMBO.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 89
  2. Negative: 0 out of 89
  1. Xbox World 360 Magazine UK
    100
    A haunting puzzler brimming with ideas, Limbo is easily the platform's greatest successor to Braid. [Oct 2010, p.118]
  2. Limbo is genius. Freaky, weird genius. Disturbing, uncomfortable genius.
  3. This makes the entire four hours seem like a 2D version of Portal, and that's a welcome experience on XBLA.
  4. Limbo is one of the best XBLA ever created. A simple gameplay meets a complex level design, for an instant classic with a terrific art direction.
  5. If you're looking for a game that will stick with you-and maybe even pop up in your nightmares- LIMBO is waiting to consume you.
  6. Limbo is a fine example of how you can create a masterpiece, yet sell it through the Xbox Live arcade at a budget price. It may not be the longest game, but to capture the imagination of any player is something that is a rarity in gaming.
  7. Limbo has brilliant details and some intelligent puzzles, but it has many things that will end up being boring as they're the same as always.

See all 89 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 60
  2. Negative: 4 out of 60
  1. Dec 30, 2010
    10
    Limbo is probably my "game of the year" for Xbox Live. The game is so unique, so original and really captivating. The puzzles and challengesLimbo is probably my "game of the year" for Xbox Live. The game is so unique, so original and really captivating. The puzzles and challenges are memorable and not soon forgotten. My only gripe is that I can only manage to get 190 GS, the last 10 require you to play through the game in one sitting, dying less than 5 times! There is no way I will ever be able to do that. Seriously people, if you are looking for a game that breaks rules and stands on it's own - no big time brand behind it, no big marketing - check out Limbo. I can't wait for the next game from these developers. Expand
  2. Jan 7, 2015
    10
    Limbo exemplifies so much of what I value most in a successful videogame. Fundamentally a puzzle-platformer with really only two possibleLimbo exemplifies so much of what I value most in a successful videogame. Fundamentally a puzzle-platformer with really only two possible actions (jump and grab), the game is beautifully uncomplicated and uncluttered by extraneous nonsense.

    It's a design philosophy which extends to the plot. Open-ended and shrouded in mystery, the only official backstory given is the single sentence: "Uncertain of his sister's fate, a boy enters LIMBO". Yet, the experience is so much more compelling, memorable and moving than the vast majority of other games with their intricately thought-out and scripted stories. This is partly down to the monochrome art style and ambient sound design which define an atmosphere the likes of which you would never have imagined a 2D platformer would be able to foster, but also because it lets you, the player, fill in the blanks to let the game affect you in whatever way you interpret it. As a result, it's a deeply personal experience.

    The puzzles that the boy has to overcome are more cunning than you might expect for those that lie within the parameters of the game's elementary structure, and usually timing is of critical importance. This invariably means numerous deaths as you try to perfect your response to each situation. Far from being a flaw, this is intended design. Indeed, the creators have labelled Limbo as a "trial and death" game. The forgiving frequency of checkpoints and the delightfully gruesome nature of the boy's deaths are testament to this. The ultimate challenge offered is to finish the game without dying, thereby attaining the elusive 111% leaderboard score, and in order to get anywhere near accomplishing this feat you will need repeated playthroughs in a short space of time, reminiscent of the spirit of 2D shoot 'em ups.

    The game is short, but of perfect length - if it had been any longer it might have been in danger of outstaying its welcome. However, it concludes on a high, following the thrilling instability of an alternating gravity section, and in ending it at this point Playdead illustrated total mastery over their creation. In almost all aspects, Limbo is the videogame embodiment of "less is more".
    Expand
  3. Aug 22, 2010
    10
    Without doubt one of the most beautiful games I have ever played, Limbo blurs the lines between video games and art. The puzzles are reallyWithout doubt one of the most beautiful games I have ever played, Limbo blurs the lines between video games and art. The puzzles are really devious too! But, way too short. I'm hoping they will create another Limbo game, as there are so many ideas here i'm sure they can greatly expand on this great little game. Collapse
  4. Sep 29, 2010
    9
    LIMBO is an instant classic. The only negative thing I could say about the game is that it isn't all that long, but as an XBLA title itLIMBO is an instant classic. The only negative thing I could say about the game is that it isn't all that long, but as an XBLA title it really doesn't need to be a 20 hour epic. It has terrific art direction, mind-bending puzzles, and terrificly gruesome deaths. Many platformers where you die often cause extreme frustration, but each death in LIMBO is a learning experience. The game features a sparse, yet haunting soundtrack. There really isn't much music to speak of, but when the music starts you know that something wicked this way comes. This is THE best XBLA title released this year and one of the best games of 2010 period. Do yourself a favor and pick up this game yesterday! Expand
  5. Oct 16, 2010
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Within the first five minutes LIMBO hits you like a ton of bricks. The art style, sound effects and physics build a tense atmosphere - the producers show that there is still room for creativity in 2D platform games. LIMBO has some great gaming moments (the spider is particularly memorable) though it feels like lots of these are near the start of the game and the end slightly goes over old ground. The game does not have much replay value (aside from playing it to show to friends) but it is worth your time and is an excellent way to spend 3 to 4 hours. Expand
  6. Mar 3, 2011
    8
    Horror at it's best.
    The game is so cliqued yet so beautifully executed that you just ignore the clique's.
    Oh, and did I mention the game was
    Horror at it's best.
    The game is so cliqued yet so beautifully executed that you just ignore the clique's.
    Oh, and did I mention the game was as subtle and scary as **** Yeah, have fun pissing your pant's.
    However it's hard to distuinguishe a trap untill your amputated head is rolling into a pit.
    Expand
  7. Jul 13, 2012
    1
    Based on the reviews, I was sure I'd like this game, but I was wrong. The only way to figure out the puzzles is to die over and over andBased on the reviews, I was sure I'd like this game, but I was wrong. The only way to figure out the puzzles is to die over and over and over. For me, at least, this makes it completely impossible to get immersed. I want to be scared for the kid, but I can't do it. I want to be curious about the place, but I can't do it. Without those elements, the non-obviousness of the game has the frustrating part of "challenging" without any real reward. All these reviewers feel good about figuring out a puzzle by trying every possible thing in the world, and dying 20 times? Not me. Three times I quit, got talked into doing it more and then quit again. Expand

See all 60 User Reviews

Trailers