Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 89 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 423 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: [Xbox Live Arcade] Uncertain of his sister's fate, a boy enters LIMBO.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 89
  2. Negative: 0 out of 89
  1. A haunting puzzler brimming with ideas, Limbo is easily the platform's greatest successor to Braid. [Oct 2010, p.118]
  2. Limbo is genius. Freaky, weird genius. Disturbing, uncomfortable genius.
  3. This makes the entire four hours seem like a 2D version of Portal, and that's a welcome experience on XBLA.
  4. Limbo is one of the best XBLA ever created. A simple gameplay meets a complex level design, for an instant classic with a terrific art direction.
  5. If you're looking for a game that will stick with you-and maybe even pop up in your nightmares- LIMBO is waiting to consume you.
  6. Limbo is a fine example of how you can create a masterpiece, yet sell it through the Xbox Live arcade at a budget price. It may not be the longest game, but to capture the imagination of any player is something that is a rarity in gaming.
  7. Limbo has brilliant details and some intelligent puzzles, but it has many things that will end up being boring as they're the same as always.

See all 89 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 59
  2. Negative: 4 out of 59
  1. Oct 25, 2010
    10
    LIMBO is a game that reminds you that simplicity can be the best characteristic of a video game. The art scheme takes LIMBO to a level that,LIMBO is a game that reminds you that simplicity can be the best characteristic of a video game. The art scheme takes LIMBO to a level that, to me, has become a cult following; a cult following I have been happily pulled in to. The game is short, but sweet, and can be difficult at parts. It takes a lot of deep thinking, and that's what makes LIMBO a blast. The physics are spot on, the ambience is creepy, and I never died once because of the games design. 10/10 Expand
  2. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    Limbo is an amazing game in both art and game play, the creative visual solutions and sound design makes for a wonderfully eerie atmosphereLimbo is an amazing game in both art and game play, the creative visual solutions and sound design makes for a wonderfully eerie atmosphere that most games fail at even coming close - Overall it's incredibly alluring for a game so void of dialogue and direct story, the visual storytelling is fantastic. Expand
  3. Aug 22, 2010
    10
    Without doubt one of the most beautiful games I have ever played, Limbo blurs the lines between video games and art. The puzzles are reallyWithout doubt one of the most beautiful games I have ever played, Limbo blurs the lines between video games and art. The puzzles are really devious too! But, way too short. I'm hoping they will create another Limbo game, as there are so many ideas here i'm sure they can greatly expand on this great little game. Expand
  4. Sep 29, 2010
    9
    LIMBO is an instant classic. The only negative thing I could say about the game is that it isn't all that long, but as an XBLA title itLIMBO is an instant classic. The only negative thing I could say about the game is that it isn't all that long, but as an XBLA title it really doesn't need to be a 20 hour epic. It has terrific art direction, mind-bending puzzles, and terrificly gruesome deaths. Many platformers where you die often cause extreme frustration, but each death in LIMBO is a learning experience. The game features a sparse, yet haunting soundtrack. There really isn't much music to speak of, but when the music starts you know that something wicked this way comes. This is THE best XBLA title released this year and one of the best games of 2010 period. Do yourself a favor and pick up this game yesterday! Collapse
  5. Oct 16, 2010
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Within the first five minutes LIMBO hits you like a ton of bricks. The art style, sound effects and physics build a tense atmosphere - the producers show that there is still room for creativity in 2D platform games. LIMBO has some great gaming moments (the spider is particularly memorable) though it feels like lots of these are near the start of the game and the end slightly goes over old ground. The game does not have much replay value (aside from playing it to show to friends) but it is worth your time and is an excellent way to spend 3 to 4 hours. Expand
  6. Mar 3, 2011
    8
    Horror at it's best.
    The game is so cliqued yet so beautifully executed that you just ignore the clique's.
    Oh, and did I mention the game was
    Horror at it's best.
    The game is so cliqued yet so beautifully executed that you just ignore the clique's.
    Oh, and did I mention the game was as subtle and scary as **** Yeah, have fun pissing your pant's.
    However it's hard to distuinguishe a trap untill your amputated head is rolling into a pit.
    Expand
  7. Jul 13, 2012
    1
    Based on the reviews, I was sure I'd like this game, but I was wrong. The only way to figure out the puzzles is to die over and over andBased on the reviews, I was sure I'd like this game, but I was wrong. The only way to figure out the puzzles is to die over and over and over. For me, at least, this makes it completely impossible to get immersed. I want to be scared for the kid, but I can't do it. I want to be curious about the place, but I can't do it. Without those elements, the non-obviousness of the game has the frustrating part of "challenging" without any real reward. All these reviewers feel good about figuring out a puzzle by trying every possible thing in the world, and dying 20 times? Not me. Three times I quit, got talked into doing it more and then quit again. Expand

See all 59 User Reviews

Trailers