User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 242 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 48 out of 242

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 12, 2012
    7
    A fun hack n' slash, but it could have been better. LC's slower pacing hampers what should have been fast and frenetic combat throughout- something the game would have really benefited from. Enemies take far too much damage, causing battles to drag on longer than they should. That is the only real issue I have with the game, though being that combat is largely the game's focus, it is anA fun hack n' slash, but it could have been better. LC's slower pacing hampers what should have been fast and frenetic combat throughout- something the game would have really benefited from. Enemies take far too much damage, causing battles to drag on longer than they should. That is the only real issue I have with the game, though being that combat is largely the game's focus, it is an issue felt from beginning to end. It's a good game, though it was close to being great. Aside from that, the writing is twisted, truly entertaining camp. Enjoyable from beginning to end. The characters are likable, and the story, while very straight-forward, is highly entertaining with strong focus and a worthwhile narrative. There are unlockables abound, requiring lot's of skill on the player's part, and possibly a second playthrough in order to see everything the game has to offer. The game itself is of decent length, and a potential second playthrough is made more worthwhile with separate endings based on success throughout the story. Visually, the game is nothing special. The art style, along with the graphics themselves, are highly reminiscent of Suda's earlier work - No More Heroes - just now set to a higher resolution. It gets the job done, but you will rarely be impressed by what there is to see in-game. What is impressive, however, are the stylized menus - another signature of Suda's work - his normal pseudo-punk/pop style - something that also translates to the audio, which incorporates a solid set-list that fits the game perfectly. Overall, I enjoyed the time spent with Lollipop Chainsaw. It is a solid hack n' slash with humorous writing and a good sense of style. While there are small things that would have went a long way to making the game more enjoyable, you can't argue with the end product. Expand
  2. Aug 21, 2012
    7
    You get everything that's promised. Highschool cheerleader absurdly wielding a chainsaw and carrying her boyfriend's head on her hip. There's no attempt to pass this over the top hack and slash off as anything but the zombie shredding gore porn that it is. If that's what you're into; if you're looking for goofy but entertaining romp through the halls of a zombie filled highschool with aYou get everything that's promised. Highschool cheerleader absurdly wielding a chainsaw and carrying her boyfriend's head on her hip. There's no attempt to pass this over the top hack and slash off as anything but the zombie shredding gore porn that it is. If that's what you're into; if you're looking for goofy but entertaining romp through the halls of a zombie filled highschool with a bouncy blonde acrobat, this is your game. If you were expecting anything more than that: story, interesting characters, or intriguing dialogue you're a fool for even considering this game. It's a fun zombie slicing diversion. Expand
  3. Jun 12, 2012
    7
    "Chainsaw Lollipop" is like many of other Japanese Hack and Slash games with girls in the middle (like BulletWitch and Oneemchambara), but with the visual touch of SUDA51. The game is basically an arcade action game in 3rd person, Hack and Slash style, with zombies and an attractive protagonist: the story is cliché, like Buffy the Vampire Slayer and many other of the genre:"Chainsaw Lollipop" is like many of other Japanese Hack and Slash games with girls in the middle (like BulletWitch and Oneemchambara), but with the visual touch of SUDA51. The game is basically an arcade action game in 3rd person, Hack and Slash style, with zombies and an attractive protagonist: the story is cliché, like Buffy the Vampire Slayer and many other of the genre: the protagonist, Juliet, is a cheerleader who is making 18 years, and uses lollipops to give her energy (yes, this is a joke in the game) and has a chainsaw (dunno why). On her birthday, her school (San Romero High School) is infested with zombies, and even her boyfriend is affected - outraged by this, she takes the fight to save the school and her boyfriend.

    The graphics, are a mixed bag: Juliet graphics are excellent, and approach "selected" angles, but the rest of the game looks kinda square, and reminds Shadow of the Damned, which make them look as if there were a background noise on the image - I missed many details in objects, in the scenario and in the zombies. The game also have certain collision problems, for example your legs and arms do not collide against walls and sometimes they cross it.

    The CGs are very good for what I quoted above, and the menus already address other style, a comic hand drawn style: special attacks are full of colors and light effects (like in No More Heroes. The action has blood, but not as exaggerated as in Oneenchambara. When you try to use the camera to look under her skirt, she cover the front or back (there is a achievement related to this ;) )

    The dubbing is the standard of Grasshoper: a regular to good work, but the lines are often non-sense and many are cliché, and may be irritating sometimes. The music has a Teen-Rock style, as in series and B movies of related genres. Basically the other musics consists of Rock-Pop, with young singers and lyrics on such themes, as well as older high school songs, of the 50-60s, which also sets the tone for many elements.

    The action is the basic of a Hack and Slash, although not very fluid and somewhat mechanic (as in No More heroes): there are 3 types of attacks, plus a special mode when your star bar gets full. Quick low attacks with A, strong with the Y (which serves to finish and saw things in the environment), X attacks with pom-poms and kicks to make opponents dizzy and B jumps and dodge the enemies attacks. As you fill the star bar with rainbow colors, you enter a special mode with LT, where you can kill instantly any enemy, in a special screen. The game has much dismemberment scenes, and the enemies attack in waves, and by killing them you collect stars to fill the special bar and special coins to buy upgrades in stores throughout the game. The scenarios are linear , and the story does not make much sense... this point is very much like No More Heroes too. Some collectibles are in the form of colleagues who you have to save from the zombies. With the medals you win by killing zombies (platinum, gold and silver) you can buy upgrades, new moves and stuff (costumes, etc.) in a store called Chop2shop. The collectibles in the game are: things to Juliet's room (126), collection of achievements (there are 50, 49 offline and one online), Zombie Photo Album (35 pictures), a collection of lollipops (40) and collection of phone calls (21).

    Expect lots of jokes with double meaning and several scenes that shows the body of the protagonist and other girls. This game reminded me a lot another game, NeverDead, in the gameplay and in the strange story (and the use of the severed head of her boyfriend at the waist) - thought way better than this one. There is no multiplayer in the game, but one achievements needs Xbox Live, to post in the Leaderboard (another disappointment).

    Overall I was not surprised by this game, expecting a better gameplay anyway, that was more fluid, and I expected more creativity and commitment of SUDA51 - not standing still in time and innovating. The game after all is a decent Hack and Slash, with a nice overall visual, but with a mechanic gameplay - nothing that stands up high between other games of the genre.
    Expand
  4. Jul 1, 2012
    6
    Lollipop Chainsaw is a stylish and often times imaginative and creative game. That's to be expected of a Suda 51 game. A goofy and unique spin on the overdone zombie slaughtering action game. Sporting brilliant boss designs and flashy gameplay visuals, it seems like it gets the main boxes ticked. But then you start playing the game and you realise the depth and longevity have been flushedLollipop Chainsaw is a stylish and often times imaginative and creative game. That's to be expected of a Suda 51 game. A goofy and unique spin on the overdone zombie slaughtering action game. Sporting brilliant boss designs and flashy gameplay visuals, it seems like it gets the main boxes ticked. But then you start playing the game and you realise the depth and longevity have been flushed down the sinkhole. For starters the combat feels a bit slow, making zombie slaying feel a bit dull. There is hardly any depth to combat, as there are no upgrades to the weapons you use. There is also a miniscule arsenal which disappoints. The characters also utter the most horrificly distasteful quips and metaphors in recent memory. Though that's pattented Suda 51, it can be too much. Overall though it's got the style and presentation to keep you playing but is far too brief and button mashy to enjoy it over the long haul. Expand
  5. Jun 16, 2012
    6
    This game can be summed up with 3 words: Comedy, Style, and meh.

    With all the advertisements and trailers which have been released over the past year, people have been genuinely hyped for this release. I myself am a Suda fan and am aware of the style of game I was getting. However when I started playing I loved the game, it was worth the wait; the art style, the comedy, the action were
    This game can be summed up with 3 words: Comedy, Style, and meh.

    With all the advertisements and trailers which have been released over the past year, people have been genuinely hyped for this release. I myself am a Suda fan and am aware of the style of game I was getting. However when I started playing I loved the game, it was worth the wait; the art style, the comedy, the action were all there. The soundtrack was brilliant varying in different genres depending of what level I was playing. The Prologue was hard rock, 2nd level was metal etc.. But as soon as I put my controller down and tried to remember what I had just played I forgot one thing; the combat. For an action game the action and violence is forgettable, its colourfully stylised with the inclusion of rainbows and overuse of blood. But that's all that it has combat wise and regrettably it's bland. By the way I am certainly not saying its a bad game, but i'm saying that its not that great either. its simply good. the prologue is fast paced, entertaining and in my opinion the most enjoyable part of the game. if you dont like this game 10 minutes into this level, you wont like the rest of it. the witty banter from sidekick Nick had me in stitches through the whole story and is without a doubt the best character in lollipop. Comedy is something grasshopper manufacture is famous for in its games and it doesnt disappoint on that front. the main character Juliet is a typical blonde popular girl in high school, dumb and voluptuous and the inclusion of a chainsaw sadly doesnt help her break the mold of the stereotype. She is the mascot of the game yet she is just bland, tasteless and has little to no development. she is a flat character with **** but that isnt disappointing seeing as the trailer described the game as having 'more skin than a girls locker room.' the gimmick of cheerleader zombie hunter delivers but sadly doesnt give you anything other than an erection.

    If i were to choose i would say that Grasshopper's previous console release 'shadows of the damned' was more enjoyable out of the 2, and i believe this comes down to the fact that 'SoTD' wasnt advertised and hyped up to the proportions of lollipop, this game had tours, cosplay competitions, behind the scenes video; hyping what could have been an excellent game based on an excellent premise. but it delivers a 'good' result instead of the 'great' result we were expecting. I really wanted to love this game with the same love as I had when i first played no more heroes 1 on wii, but the hype created an ambition which was filled but not filled to the brim. In short this is in no way a bad game, the amount of advertising can tell you that much. but its not what we were expecting. I recommend you play it, you wont be disappointed, you just wont be satisfied when you're done.
    Expand
  6. Jun 24, 2012
    6
    It's SUDA 51! C'mon. What do you expect? Crass humor? Stilted action? Hilarious writing? It's all here. If you are not a fan of his works, then avoid this. If you want smooth, action games then you should be a fan of PLATINUM GAMES and not GRASSHOPPER STUDIO.
  7. Jun 25, 2012
    7
    Fun and over the top. This game is very much a classic Suda51 trip with over the top characters and story. Juliet Starling is a fantastic protagonist and her insanely cheerful cheerleader personality is an amusing clash to the zombie attack in the game. I really enjoyed the antics of her, her body less boyfriend and insane zombie fighting family. As for the game play Lollipop ChainsawFun and over the top. This game is very much a classic Suda51 trip with over the top characters and story. Juliet Starling is a fantastic protagonist and her insanely cheerful cheerleader personality is an amusing clash to the zombie attack in the game. I really enjoyed the antics of her, her body less boyfriend and insane zombie fighting family. As for the game play Lollipop Chainsaw plays as a classic arcade beat em up. As you progress you can unlock more powerful combos to aid you in your zombie slaying. The game does come up short in terms of overall fluidity and it's only 4 hours long. However you can compete in online leaderboards to make you aim to grab a better score than your friends. I recommend this game a lot just not at the current price of $60. Expand
  8. Jun 24, 2012
    6
    Looks cool. Sounds cool. It even has a cool story (well, sort of). Plays... meh! Suda-51 is surely a true visionary, but sometimes visions are not meant to be shared...
  9. Jun 24, 2012
    7
    Lollipop chainsaw is an enjoyable game up to a certain extent. I'll admit Juliet looks pretty cute and that's probably why the game managed to sell a decent amount of copies. But, even Lego batman 2 managed to sell more than this game. The camera angles are a bit stiff and restrict you a bit at certain points. Music is enjoyable to listen to while you play since it gives it that highLollipop chainsaw is an enjoyable game up to a certain extent. I'll admit Juliet looks pretty cute and that's probably why the game managed to sell a decent amount of copies. But, even Lego batman 2 managed to sell more than this game. The camera angles are a bit stiff and restrict you a bit at certain points. Music is enjoyable to listen to while you play since it gives it that high school fell to it. This game will only entertain you for so long since all it has is 7 levels plus a prologue. I suggest you either rent or buy it used and then decide if you would keep it, but I don't think its worth the 60 bucks. Expand
  10. Feb 27, 2013
    6
    Coming from Suda51, the creator of Killer 7 and No More Heroes, there is a lot to dislike about Lollipop Chainsaw and I can certainly understand why it has received such mixed reviews. The endless QTE sections are irritating, the constant quips from the characters are repetitive and often unfunny and the boss fights largely unimaginative. Despite these flaws I must admit I enjoyed theComing from Suda51, the creator of Killer 7 and No More Heroes, there is a lot to dislike about Lollipop Chainsaw and I can certainly understand why it has received such mixed reviews. The endless QTE sections are irritating, the constant quips from the characters are repetitive and often unfunny and the boss fights largely unimaginative. Despite these flaws I must admit I enjoyed the game. Maybe it's Suda's strange imagination (the games main character is a zombie hunting cheerleader with a chainsaw), maybe it's the fact that the combat is always fast paced and fun, maybe it's something else entirely. Either way, while it is certainly no classic, Xbox 360 owners could do a lot worse than give Lollipop Chainsaw a try. Expand
  11. Oct 31, 2013
    6
    I'll keep it simple, the good things are the humor, the story is silly and funny, the fanservice is possibly what will draw in people to play it and to unlock (yes, unlock, not buy) the extra costumes, its "arcadey" style is good and gives it some replay value, the art direction is good as well with bonus points for using cutscenes in real time and thus letting you experience themI'll keep it simple, the good things are the humor, the story is silly and funny, the fanservice is possibly what will draw in people to play it and to unlock (yes, unlock, not buy) the extra costumes, its "arcadey" style is good and gives it some replay value, the art direction is good as well with bonus points for using cutscenes in real time and thus letting you experience them differently when using the alternate costumes, the music is kind of nice.

    BUT what can keep you from enjoying this game is the gameplay and level design, combos are very limited, special skills are even limited to certain stages which makes subsequent replays a hassle, the levels have a ton of invisible walls which in turn kill whatever is left from your creativity to approach enemies and obstacles, and let's not forget the cancer that plagues games today, it is loaded with QTEs, some of them are justifiable, others, not so much, the added minigames later in the game are a nice way to break the repetitiveness of the main game though.

    My advice is, rent it, if you like it enough then buy it at a reduced price, but try to not play it for long periods of time unless you truly love it.
    Expand
  12. Jul 15, 2012
    7
    Fun and unique. If you are a fan of Hack and Slash style games, you'll love this. "Lollipop Chainsaw" is a fantastic game: wide variety of music, advanced upgrade system, multitude of unlockables, hilarious scripts and heaps of replay value. You will definitely be surprised with this game. Additionally, many big names are involved with this game, such as Suda 51, James Gunn and JimmyFun and unique. If you are a fan of Hack and Slash style games, you'll love this. "Lollipop Chainsaw" is a fantastic game: wide variety of music, advanced upgrade system, multitude of unlockables, hilarious scripts and heaps of replay value. You will definitely be surprised with this game. Additionally, many big names are involved with this game, such as Suda 51, James Gunn and Jimmy Urine. If you don't have "Lollipop Chainsaw", you're missing out on an over the top experience. Expand
  13. Jun 21, 2012
    7
    If Sudo51 had gone the way of shadow of the colossus and only left in the boss fights this would be the greatest most imaginative game ever created

    as it is- it may be the worse corridor boring dunegon crawler- saved by its boss fights - ever made the 7 out of 10 points is perhaps generous considering the lack of content- lack of diversity- lack of gameplay- lack of playability
    If Sudo51 had gone the way of shadow of the colossus and only left in the boss fights this would be the greatest most imaginative game ever created

    as it is- it may be the worse corridor boring dunegon crawler- saved by its boss fights - ever made

    the 7 out of 10 points is perhaps generous considering the lack of content- lack of diversity- lack of gameplay- lack of playability

    its a shame- gaming needs sudo51s- otherwise gaming would be dead and buried with trash like call of duty

    however- sudo51 needs to make his game have more substance to go with his amazing style

    hes not quite the tarantino of gaming but he sure does have the potential to be

    one day sudo51 will make the pulp fiction of gaming

    this however is not it
    Expand
  14. Jun 22, 2012
    7
    A very well made from a great developer, Suda 51 and Grasshopper Manufacture. The controls can feel delayed at times, i felt like I was mashing the buttons more than I was actually doing attacks in the game at points. This game isn't really too deep, with the main point being that Juliet Starling is hot, and she kills zombies, that's about it. Definitely a great game for when you don'tA very well made from a great developer, Suda 51 and Grasshopper Manufacture. The controls can feel delayed at times, i felt like I was mashing the buttons more than I was actually doing attacks in the game at points. This game isn't really too deep, with the main point being that Juliet Starling is hot, and she kills zombies, that's about it. Definitely a great game for when you don't feel like doing much story work, or competitive multiplayer. I would recommend a rent, but not a full value buy. Expand
  15. Aug 30, 2012
    6
    Good gameplay, decent graphics, sophomoric humor, lots of upgrades, moves, and extras. Typically wacky suda51 style but no real long term value. Just crass jokes meshed with ultraviolet zombie slaying with a hot protagonist. Cult hit at best. If you must support suda51, get Shadow of the Dammed.
  16. Nov 14, 2012
    7
    Lollipop Chainsaw is a fun game but it's definitely a buy for cheaper at gamestop kind of game. It's got repetitive combat but I enjoyed the silliness involved, especially the ultra final boss . All the "whore' and "slut" stuff got a little tiring after a few hours of hearing b yell the same insults at Juliet, but it wasn't the worst thing. It's just the kind of game where you have to beLollipop Chainsaw is a fun game but it's definitely a buy for cheaper at gamestop kind of game. It's got repetitive combat but I enjoyed the silliness involved, especially the ultra final boss . All the "whore' and "slut" stuff got a little tiring after a few hours of hearing b yell the same insults at Juliet, but it wasn't the worst thing. It's just the kind of game where you have to be able to laugh at the upskirts and stereotypical characters or you won't enjoy it. One of the funniest things was Nick, even though he was a headless teenager I enjoyed his banter with Juliette as she ran around. I dropped it down to an 8 because I HATE quick time events. In the end it's a descent Suda51 game but it's no No More Heroes and I expected more from it. Expand
  17. Dec 11, 2012
    7
    A game that could have been a masterpiece, but falls short. Visuals and character design are utterly gorgeous. But, the big B.U.T. the game is far, far too short. Way too much style and little substance. A few more levels and a the option for other weapons would have been nice. I really do hope they make a sequel and learn from what they did wrong in this game. This game should be inA game that could have been a masterpiece, but falls short. Visuals and character design are utterly gorgeous. But, the big B.U.T. the game is far, far too short. Way too much style and little substance. A few more levels and a the option for other weapons would have been nice. I really do hope they make a sequel and learn from what they did wrong in this game. This game should be in everyone's collection, but not at full price. Expand
  18. Jul 4, 2013
    7
    Crazy, fast and stupid hack-in slash arcade like fun is the perfect way to sum up this game. No it's not the best hack in slash game in the world but with it only being $17 and if you like games that keep score than this well have tons of replay value for you. If not than it's worth playing at least once do the craziness off the game like fighting a rock viking zombie as one of theCrazy, fast and stupid hack-in slash arcade like fun is the perfect way to sum up this game. No it's not the best hack in slash game in the world but with it only being $17 and if you like games that keep score than this well have tons of replay value for you. If not than it's worth playing at least once do the craziness off the game like fighting a rock viking zombie as one of the bosses to the cast of characters themselves. So maybe not buy it but worth borrowing from a friend and playing it. Expand
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 64
  2. Negative: 2 out of 64
  1. Aug 18, 2012
    80
    Switch off your brain and bask in the silliness. [Issue#88, p.80]
  2. 70
    Bayonetta and Devil May Cry are maybe better optimized from a game design perspective but there is no other fighting game with such a sexy look as Lollipop Chainsaw. [Issue#220]
  3. Aug 8, 2012
    78
    Playing Lollipop Chainsaw is exactly like eating a lollipop - once you're finished with such a luscious treat, all the excitement is gone but definitely remembered.