Lost Odyssey Xbox 360

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 416 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 46 out of 416
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SimonH.
    Mar 11, 2008
    6
    What I would have liked to know before considering buying this game: It has very similar game mechanics to Blue Dragon. Similar turn-based combat, similar skills system, similar annoying kicking of inanimate objects to earn items, similar extensive use of cut-scenes, and even the same monsters. That said, the improvements over Blue Dragon for me are that it is less cartoony, characters What I would have liked to know before considering buying this game: It has very similar game mechanics to Blue Dragon. Similar turn-based combat, similar skills system, similar annoying kicking of inanimate objects to earn items, similar extensive use of cut-scenes, and even the same monsters. That said, the improvements over Blue Dragon for me are that it is less cartoony, characters are not annoying, story seems better. Expand
  2. Apr 22, 2013
    7
    Lost Odyssey is one of the few, heavily story-based RPGs of the 360/PS3/Wii era.
    You shouldn't wonder why this game really feels like an old Final Fantasy game with pretty graphics, because it was basically made by the founder and former master mind of the Final Fantasy series, Hironobu Sakaguchi.
    Let's start with the positive aspects of this game Lost Odyssey really manages to create a
    Lost Odyssey is one of the few, heavily story-based RPGs of the 360/PS3/Wii era.
    You shouldn't wonder why this game really feels like an old Final Fantasy game with pretty graphics, because it was basically made by the founder and former master mind of the Final Fantasy series, Hironobu Sakaguchi.
    Let's start with the positive aspects of this game
    Lost Odyssey really manages to create a good atmosphere that sucks you right in. Both the visuals and the music are captivating.
    As far as characters go, they're believable and have unique personalities.
    The short stories about the main character's past are touching and well-written.
    Combat system offers tactical depth and requires some thought, it's a nice challenge.

    However, this game is far, far from perfect.

    The combat system is very slow and requires extensive amount of micromanaging stuff in the ancient menus.
    Loading times are very long, especially before battles.
    Battles are completely random and take very long, it's often pretty tedious.
    The main story line is actually very simple and especially lacks a good villain. Lost Odyssey's only and main villain is probably the worst I've encountered in a Japanese RPG ever.

    To conclude, Lost Odyssey is worth a playthrough for everyone longing for the old days of Final Fantasy etc., but you should bring patience.
    Expand
  3. JeffC.
    Feb 13, 2008
    6
    Meh, the story is ok and the characters are kinda kewl but besides some nice looking visuals it's a pretty mediocre RPG. I much more recommend Eternal Sonata... which doesn't have the huge graphics, but has is a much more engaging game.
  4. CloudS.
    Feb 7, 2008
    5
    Forget for once that Sakaguchi had any involvement in it, and it quickly becomes another average RPG. The story is lame, the gameplay is nothing new but solid if you're into the old system. Framerate hitches and loading time on top 4 discs is an annoyance. It just can't compete with the best. Rent it if you're interested.
  5. BillyB.
    Feb 7, 2008
    7
    Good game, but they should've taken a month or two to fix the technical issues.
  6. NicholasT.
    Mar 6, 2008
    6
    It may not be the killer app the 360 is looking for but it is the next best thing to a traditional Final Fantasy-like rpg... ON XBOX!
  7. TomS.
    Apr 2, 2008
    7
    i thought the game would have more of a dynasty warriors feel i was very disappointed about that . but i have come to like the game and lots of achievements for xbox360 good job
  8. DaynS
    Apr 3, 2008
    5
    Picked it up looking for a little retro gaming with polish. After losing 2 hours of playing to a power outage and no auto-save outside of dungeons reminded me that to be true to the JRPG Genre you really, really have to hate the player and the player really, really has to love you for it.
  9. TroelsJ
    Jan 20, 2009
    7
    As a fan of the turn-based RPG's it thrills me to find a game on xbox360 that is not Real-time RPG - pretty fun genre, but fans of the old generation-rpg-styles need a turn-based RPG fix at some point, and I've reached that point now. Lost Odyssey delivers this better than I'd expected if you choose to focus on the gameplay and ring-system only. However, there are quite a As a fan of the turn-based RPG's it thrills me to find a game on xbox360 that is not Real-time RPG - pretty fun genre, but fans of the old generation-rpg-styles need a turn-based RPG fix at some point, and I've reached that point now. Lost Odyssey delivers this better than I'd expected if you choose to focus on the gameplay and ring-system only. However, there are quite a few flaws. For instance the story is very familiar, just with heavy weight on the feel-bad-and-sad-cry-cry story, it's simply too much. Not to mention the incredibly long movie sequences. You lose a lot of your patience watching these dull, overtly long sequences, where the graphics doesn't impress in any way either (only the opening sequence really impressed me). The dialogues are so "this-is-so-touching-and-sad-it-makes-me-cry-even-though-it's-only-a-game"-like that it's only laughable. But as a fan of the genre I'm willing to let this go most of the time. This is the only reason why it get's such a high rating from me, but anyone who focuses on stories and graphics will not find what they need in Lost Odyssey. Expand
  10. ChrisC.
    Feb 16, 2008
    6
    Ugh. Okay, super-high production values, I'll give it credit for that. And that it's one of the only newer RPGs to come out that really feels like it's for grownups. But the came couldn't possibly move any slower. I'm like an hour and a half in and there's been only one fight sequence. The rest of the game has been comprised of wandering around a massive Ugh. Okay, super-high production values, I'll give it credit for that. And that it's one of the only newer RPGs to come out that really feels like it's for grownups. But the came couldn't possibly move any slower. I'm like an hour and a half in and there's been only one fight sequence. The rest of the game has been comprised of wandering around a massive city, trying to find the place you need to go to make the plot advance. The plot is as wordy as Xenogears, Xenosaga, or FFXII, but without the substance to make it remotely interesting. And then there's these 'thousand year dream' sequences, which are basically text slowly appearing on screen for five to ten minutes. Lost Odyssey is possibly the slowest moving game in RPG history. Expand
  11. TedE.
    Mar 8, 2008
    7
    A decent game that falls short of it's big brother, Final Fantasy. Complaints about frame rate issues, constant loading, and monotonous combat are all valid. I find the character designs/outfits a bit goofy, though I certainly appreciate the abundance of cleavage. The deal-breaker for me is the constant CRASHING. Save at every opportunity, because you never know when the next Disk A decent game that falls short of it's big brother, Final Fantasy. Complaints about frame rate issues, constant loading, and monotonous combat are all valid. I find the character designs/outfits a bit goofy, though I certainly appreciate the abundance of cleavage. The deal-breaker for me is the constant CRASHING. Save at every opportunity, because you never know when the next Disk Read Error will pop up. Ignoring that major flaw, it's a solid RPG that doesn't break any new ground. BTW, the GameDaily review should probably be ignored - It doesn't look like he even played the game beyond maybe the first couple hours. His puzzling complaints about the "point system" and "not having the right points in the right spots" suggests that he might not have even played the game at all. Expand
  12. TravisD.
    Feb 15, 2008
    5
    Doesn't live up to the hype. Many hours of playtime only made to feel longer by slow gameplay.
  13. Jul 3, 2014
    6
    Es una de las pocas razones por la que compré una xbox360 y la verdad es que quedé un poco chafado (con éste y sobre todo con su primo Blue dragon). No niego que tiene cosas buenas, y es un RPG puro que se agradece en estos tiempos, pero la historia se desinfla y se desinfla, hasta haberme abandonarlo en dos coasiones, los personajes tienen poco carisma y sus diseños funcionan mejor sobreEs una de las pocas razones por la que compré una xbox360 y la verdad es que quedé un poco chafado (con éste y sobre todo con su primo Blue dragon). No niego que tiene cosas buenas, y es un RPG puro que se agradece en estos tiempos, pero la historia se desinfla y se desinfla, hasta haberme abandonarlo en dos coasiones, los personajes tienen poco carisma y sus diseños funcionan mejor sobre papel que en recreacciones tridimensionales (cuando salen todos juntos eso parece un carnaval). Y en definitiva le falta mucha gracia para destacar. Expand
  14. Mar 2, 2013
    6
    Lost Odyssey was an attempt to make a standard RPG exclusive to the Xbox 360, and this game is as standard as it gets. It's like Microsoft, realizing their system's lack of RPGs, got in Hironobu Sakaguchi and said, "hey, make us the most basic and unadventurous RPG you possibly can, one that will be sure not to upset any fans with anything unconventional". And that's what he did. When aLost Odyssey was an attempt to make a standard RPG exclusive to the Xbox 360, and this game is as standard as it gets. It's like Microsoft, realizing their system's lack of RPGs, got in Hironobu Sakaguchi and said, "hey, make us the most basic and unadventurous RPG you possibly can, one that will be sure not to upset any fans with anything unconventional". And that's what he did. When a lack of creativity in a game is not just an accident or natural flaw but the actual goal of a project, this is what results: generic battle system, story, characters and everything. But generic can be a good thing if done right, but Lost Odyssey does it all badly. The battle system is dull, easy but drawn-out; the story, despite being based on an excellent concept, somehow fails to be engaging in the slightest; and similarly, the characters are lifeless and unfamiliar despite seeming to have great potential. The game is a struggle to finish because it's so difficult to care about what's happening in the story and because there is no challenge to be found in battle. Fortunately, there are some positive things to say about Lost Odyssey. The setting has a dark, industrial atmosphere, which is a great break from the usual over-the-top fantasy or cutesy anime styles found in many RPGs. But far more importantly, the game has an excellent series of short stories about the main character's life and experiences. They are extraordinarily well-written, very moving and engaging; the contrast in quality with the game's main storyline couldn't be more striking. These stories are perhaps the only thing that makes the game worth playing. Overall, if you've played many RPGs and just want the same kind of thing every time, you may enjoy Lost Odyssey; but if you expect a new game to offer at least a few significant changes to the tried and tested formula, or to present that old formula in a new and exciting way, then you're going to be disappointed. However, for those who haven't played many RPGs, this may be a good place to start as it'll ease you into the genre very comfortably. The game is very easy (some of your characters even come back to life automatically in battle) and it will familiarize you with many commonplace mechanics and the basic structure of Japanese RPGs. Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 68 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 68
  2. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. 80
    It's staggeringly gorgeous, and looks and plays like a Final Fantasy title. It rarely steps away from the origins of the genre – instead playing with the 'me too!' mentality of a company that desperately wants to show the world that Square Enix can be bested.
  2. 82
    It may not be in the same class as "Mass Effect," but for a system in desperate need for more quality RPGs, Lost Odyssey fits nicely into the 360 library.
  3. 50
    We have immense respect for what Lost Odyssey tries to do: be a back-to-basics JRPG with modern technological trimmings on the 360. Unfortunately, it's less a celebration of what made older RPGs great and more a crude relic of their past.