Lost Odyssey Xbox 360

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 447 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 45 out of 447
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PaulI.
    Mar 3, 2008
    10
    FANTASTIC! I bought this game on the day of release and I am hooked !! I have to remind myself that I am not playing Final Fantasy 7. Apart from the new ring system, this is exactly like playing one of the FF games (7 onwards). The graphics are awesome. I have noticed a slight bit of slowdown BUT hardly noticeable really. I don't see why people have given it so much stick for that. FANTASTIC! I bought this game on the day of release and I am hooked !! I have to remind myself that I am not playing Final Fantasy 7. Apart from the new ring system, this is exactly like playing one of the FF games (7 onwards). The graphics are awesome. I have noticed a slight bit of slowdown BUT hardly noticeable really. I don't see why people have given it so much stick for that. There are lots of load screens but this is when the fights begin and between areas. Only a couple of seconds each. Imagine Final Fantasy 7with next gen graphics. The characters are great and funny. There is more of an adult theme than Blue Dragon (i.e. near the beginning, you come across one of your characters coming out of a building totally drunk with a girl on each arm asking you if he can have another 15 minutes alone with each of them!!). I cannot think of a bad word to say about this game. For any JRPG or FF fan, they will love it. Gotta go - gotta get back to the action! Expand
  2. WestRunner
    Mar 3, 2008
    10
    This will be the standard by which FFXIII is judged. Truly flawless from start to finish. I don't know if some 360s are just about to red ring, but this game's loading times are negligible at best. Mass Effect Elevators were like nineteen times as long. Great story, great characters, great art, great gameplay, random battles were actually really fun. Loved it. Only negative is This will be the standard by which FFXIII is judged. Truly flawless from start to finish. I don't know if some 360s are just about to red ring, but this game's loading times are negligible at best. Mass Effect Elevators were like nineteen times as long. Great story, great characters, great art, great gameplay, random battles were actually really fun. Loved it. Only negative is that treasure collecting achievement may be the most difficult 20 points ever. Expand
  3. TedE.
    Mar 8, 2008
    7
    A decent game that falls short of it's big brother, Final Fantasy. Complaints about frame rate issues, constant loading, and monotonous combat are all valid. I find the character designs/outfits a bit goofy, though I certainly appreciate the abundance of cleavage. The deal-breaker for me is the constant CRASHING. Save at every opportunity, because you never know when the next Disk A decent game that falls short of it's big brother, Final Fantasy. Complaints about frame rate issues, constant loading, and monotonous combat are all valid. I find the character designs/outfits a bit goofy, though I certainly appreciate the abundance of cleavage. The deal-breaker for me is the constant CRASHING. Save at every opportunity, because you never know when the next Disk Read Error will pop up. Ignoring that major flaw, it's a solid RPG that doesn't break any new ground. BTW, the GameDaily review should probably be ignored - It doesn't look like he even played the game beyond maybe the first couple hours. His puzzling complaints about the "point system" and "not having the right points in the right spots" suggests that he might not have even played the game at all. Expand
  4. Guy
    Jun 12, 2008
    9
    Lost Odyssey is a fantastic JRPG. The graphics are killer, the characters and monsters are rendered with great detail, the locations are greatly varied and beautifully constructed, the music is beautifully orchestrated and it does well to match the mood, the whole Immortal and Mortal concept gives leveling up a different spin then other JRPGs and the game is also deeply engaging thanks to Lost Odyssey is a fantastic JRPG. The graphics are killer, the characters and monsters are rendered with great detail, the locations are greatly varied and beautifully constructed, the music is beautifully orchestrated and it does well to match the mood, the whole Immortal and Mortal concept gives leveling up a different spin then other JRPGs and the game is also deeply engaging thanks to the plot and the way it is told. Now, onto the worst things about Lost Odyssey. Random Battles get very irritating if they are placed in the wrong place at the wrong time. Sadly, this is true with Lost Odyssey. It is horrible frustrating to end a random battle while trying to solve a puzzle and then to take literally 2 steps forward to complete the puzzle and fall into another random battle. Another big problem with Lost Odyssey is that the Save Points are sometimes unforgiving. One example of this would be on Disc 3 in the Experimental Staff. The save points are an hour and a half of gameplay away in that area. Very irksome indeed... One thing that I find silly to complain about is how Lost Odyssey is very similar to the JRPGs that came before it such as FF-X. Sure the plots are similar, some of the characters are cookie-cut outs and the battle system doesn't really innovate so much. But, you dont need innovation for a great game. Mistwalker took the best elements from previous JRPG's and incorporated it into their own game. They also added in some of their own things to make the game as good as possible. It is very hard to innovate an almost perfect genre so I dont blame Mistwalker. You really have to play Lost Odyssey for yourself and formulate your own opinion. I'm sure that if you loved Final Fantasy X, you'll love Lost Odyssey. Even if you didn't like FF-X and you adore JRPGs, I still highly recommend that you try it out. Now I hear many people complaining about the disc packaging problem and I agree with them. In the US, the discs are horrible packaged and stacked on top of each other. For those of you buying the game in the US, remember to shake the box before you purchase the game to make sure that no discs are loose! Expand
  5. MikeV
    Jul 25, 2008
    9
    Real good game, of course it's not for everyone as you can see by the reviews, it was being criticized for being a turn-based RPG like older JRPG's. But there's nothing wrong with this style and it's great. Most people would agree, this is a very underrated game.
  6. [ANONYMOUS]
    Oct 11, 2009
    9
    A real JRPG, no awful gimmicks, decent gameplay, decent story and all-round high production value. Loading times could be improved but they don't ruin the experience. Highly under-rated game, if it was called Final Fantasy 13, it would've sold millions and've had rave reviews.
  7. RazzioP
    Aug 31, 2009
    10
    This game is a great traditional RPG experience. If you don't like the traditional RPG experience, it is not the games fault and does not deserve a bad score because the game was not made to suit you. The characters are all excellent (Especially Jansen), and I found the story to be engaging. The graphics might not be the best but they are perfectly acceptable and don't detract This game is a great traditional RPG experience. If you don't like the traditional RPG experience, it is not the games fault and does not deserve a bad score because the game was not made to suit you. The characters are all excellent (Especially Jansen), and I found the story to be engaging. The graphics might not be the best but they are perfectly acceptable and don't detract from the game experience. The sound track has nothing wrong with it and the battle system is fine. If you don't like the turn based battle system, that is your problem, not the games. The dream sequences are superbly written. And yes, the written language is still a perfectly acceptable way to convey a message. I feel a voice actor or cut scene would have had too much oppurtunity to ruin the impact of the dreams. You can skip most of them too so it is not like the game forces you to watch them. (Some are mandatory though). Awesome tradional RPG, avoid it if you think an RPG is an MMORPG. Expand
  8. PhilipF.
    Aug 9, 2009
    10
    Lost Odyssey is a certainly a classic within it's genre, i can honestly say that this is the best turn-based RPG made within the last 10 years. yeah, it's sort of the same JRPG molding as Fantasy VII, VIII, or IX; but it makes up for it with it's fantastic characters, scenery, and storyline. As for those who insist that this game is too hard, i really feel sorry for them Lost Odyssey is a certainly a classic within it's genre, i can honestly say that this is the best turn-based RPG made within the last 10 years. yeah, it's sort of the same JRPG molding as Fantasy VII, VIII, or IX; but it makes up for it with it's fantastic characters, scenery, and storyline. As for those who insist that this game is too hard, i really feel sorry for them that they didn't give it a better chance. yeah, the first couple of bosses in this game are insanely hard, but this is just a relapse from RPG gamers being hand fed battle wins over the last 10 years; usually just spamming their A or X buttons on every single fight. if you enjoy going through some very small thought processes for your kills, this game is for you. Expand
  9. jaredf
    Sep 13, 2009
    9
    It's like watching an anime movie. It's so frickin emotional too. Love the gameplay and graphics are beautiful. I hope they keep coming out with strictly turn based fighting RPG's I can deal with the whole aim ring thing. First RPG in a long time where I can say the boss fights are tough. I like this.
  10. YitánTribal
    Jan 22, 2010
    10
    The game is great, the story is incredibly well told, the characters and their relationships are superb. The gameplay is traditional but delicious, with an interaction in the spectacular setting. The OST is the best that has calved Nobuo his past works, and the design is brilliant!!
  11. NiggleW.
    Feb 11, 2008
    10
    The full package for anyone looking for something like FFVI-IX!
  12. JustinN.
    Feb 13, 2008
    8
    Its a great turned based RPG if you like that type of game. I'm a fan of the Final Fantasy series, except 12, Breath of Fire series, and Chrono Trigger. The only problem with the game is that the voice acting is a little annoying, especially the main character, and the graphics could be better. Great game if you like Japanese style RPGs.
  13. SekouW.
    Feb 14, 2008
    9
    Great traditional turn based action with an amazing story.
  14. DarrenK.
    Feb 14, 2008
    10
    This game is amazing and has really been sold short by reviewers. The world is very immersing and the character design for the immortals is beautifully done. The game doesn't really pick up until the end of the first disk (kind of like ff7) but after that, it doesn't stop delivering a top-notch story. All in all, I think its a great counterpoint to the fail that squeenix has This game is amazing and has really been sold short by reviewers. The world is very immersing and the character design for the immortals is beautifully done. The game doesn't really pick up until the end of the first disk (kind of like ff7) but after that, it doesn't stop delivering a top-notch story. All in all, I think its a great counterpoint to the fail that squeenix has been producing lately. Expand
  15. TravisD.
    Feb 15, 2008
    5
    Doesn't live up to the hype. Many hours of playtime only made to feel longer by slow gameplay.
  16. EmilieT.
    Feb 16, 2008
    9
    The graphics are really good and the combat systems is different.
  17. MikeJ.
    Feb 16, 2008
    9
    Fantastic story, tear jerking at times. Use of combat rings and ability to have immortals learn mortal spells adds alot to the game. One thing to remember is that just equipping an item doesn't make it available for use...you need to equip it, learn it and then reap the rewards!
  18. SMck
    Feb 16, 2008
    10
    Fantastic game. Enthralling story and very thoughtful dreams. Characters have all showed depth and promise for more. The battle system, not as revolutionary as I hoped is sill fun as the combinations with skills and equipment are plentiful. Much better than BD and rivals FF on story and nostalgia. If you long for a RPG for 360 pick it up, at least rent it.
  19. ScotL.
    Feb 17, 2008
    10
    One hell of a game. Man these reviewers surely didnt play the same game i did. While it has a vast amount of similarities to the old ff games. It feels like the only true successor to ffx. Not a rehash not a step back but a refinement of whats made the ff series great. if you enjoyed the ff games you have to play this.
  20. ChristianM.
    Feb 17, 2008
    10
    Easily the best JRPG in a long time, I haven't had this much fun playing an RPG since the early FFs. Story is awesome, combat is old-school but very fun, characters are memorable, voice-acting is great, music is excellent, a few flaws, but most JRPG fans wont care. I certainly don't.
  21. JustinF.
    Feb 18, 2008
    8
    If you are looking for a new innovative RPG to challenge all RPGs, this is not for you. With a great story line and the same old fashoined turn-base battle system that keeps the old fashioned game players happy, this is one of the best RPGs of the 21st century. This game can be compared to even FF8.
  22. MontyK.
    Feb 21, 2008
    9
    This game is amazing. I have gone through the first two discs and nearly done with the third. It doesn't change things up too much but this game is proof nothing needs change. There are original ideas in the battle system. This game has a engrossing story that keeps you hooked. If you like the Final Fantasy series then YOU WILL love this game. I recommend it highly to JRPG fans! You This game is amazing. I have gone through the first two discs and nearly done with the third. It doesn't change things up too much but this game is proof nothing needs change. There are original ideas in the battle system. This game has a engrossing story that keeps you hooked. If you like the Final Fantasy series then YOU WILL love this game. I recommend it highly to JRPG fans! You wont be disappointed! Expand
  23. ElmerF.
    Feb 21, 2008
    9
    I have been waiting for a revival of the classic JRPG genre and Lost Odyssey is exactly that. This is a prime, well-crafted example of an old, and apparently forgotten, style of gaming. The reason people give it bad reviews is because they compare it to more recent rpg genres, like open-world games (eg, Oblivion) or the flashy FPS that have been the core of the Xbox catalog. Judging on I have been waiting for a revival of the classic JRPG genre and Lost Odyssey is exactly that. This is a prime, well-crafted example of an old, and apparently forgotten, style of gaming. The reason people give it bad reviews is because they compare it to more recent rpg genres, like open-world games (eg, Oblivion) or the flashy FPS that have been the core of the Xbox catalog. Judging on it's own merits I am impressed with the truely next-gen graphics and immensely mature story line. The combat is about skill management rather than the traditional item upgrades, which I found to be a refreshing change. This genre has all but been forgotten in the rush to big budget, flashy eye candy and I'm very glad that Mistwalker has reminded us that there are alternatives to the standard console fare. Xbox needs more titles like this - not only for my own enjoyment, but also in order to better compete in Asia, where this genre of RPG is still favored. Expand
  24. JakeH.
    Feb 22, 2008
    10
    Honestly my favorite JRPG to date, and that's coming from someone who started with FF1 at the tender age of 3! The story is by far amazing, well written, and full of twists and OH MY GOD surprises. At times confusing but it does clean itself up to make sense of itself. The 1000 Years of Dreams is an amazing way to put back story together. Combat is fun, and fast paced as long as you Honestly my favorite JRPG to date, and that's coming from someone who started with FF1 at the tender age of 3! The story is by far amazing, well written, and full of twists and OH MY GOD surprises. At times confusing but it does clean itself up to make sense of itself. The 1000 Years of Dreams is an amazing way to put back story together. Combat is fun, and fast paced as long as you have rings equipped, otherwise it turns in to a normal JRPG of select and wait. Spells play a more important role, as do skills, than any other JRPG I've played. Music = Amazing, simple Uematsu and his magic! The world map theme is probably my favorite piece :), even the sappy love song between (SPOILER) Jansen and Ming worked a lot better than in FF8 (eww!!). Graphics, are well done, but come with my only quip. There's slowdown, but not noticeable if you clean out your HDD before playing every time. I wish they would have used the real time engine instead of CGI for some of the cutscenes... Really well done JRPG, and I think everyone is pushing it too much towards Final Fantasy and comparing it to that. It's not FF, it's more mature, written better, executed seamlessly. Load times are NOT a problem as stated in numerous reviews (between 1-5 seconds, 10 for long CGI sequences). Recommended for anyone who loves an amazing story, and quite complex JRPGs! Def. my game of the year and #1 JRPG! Expand
  25. KarlK.
    Feb 24, 2008
    10
    Just finished disk 2/4 and i am 22 hours into the game. The story so far is epic with tons of background story in the form of (very well written text) dreams. I don't want to ruin the story...so i wont, those dreams are so well written ill admit I shed a tear of at least 2 of them. The Fights are set at just the right difficulty level so that random encounters are a challenge and Just finished disk 2/4 and i am 22 hours into the game. The story so far is epic with tons of background story in the form of (very well written text) dreams. I don't want to ruin the story...so i wont, those dreams are so well written ill admit I shed a tear of at least 2 of them. The Fights are set at just the right difficulty level so that random encounters are a challenge and Boss fights will probably take a few tries, especially the first few boss's (took me 7 tries to kill the first boss). The loading time for fights from the moment it starts to the time you can press any button takes me 16secs to load, witch sounds like a longtime but it doesn't feel that long, random encounters don't appear to often to bother me but there are those annoying times when I get 2 or 3 encounters seconds apart from each other. I recommend this game if you have patience and your looking for a good long story with loads of movie clips (read some ware the game has 20+ hours of movie in it) and if you like good old FF7ish JRPG turn based fights that are actually a challenge. Expand
  26. DavidG.
    Feb 26, 2008
    10
    I cannot understand the low scores on the reviews for this game..I think the reviewers totally missed the boat on these reviews. I really don't think some of these reviewers have there fingers on the pulse of the gaming world. This game is amazing..Just look around the internet in the forums .People are loving this game. You will find very few negative comments about this game. I I cannot understand the low scores on the reviews for this game..I think the reviewers totally missed the boat on these reviews. I really don't think some of these reviewers have there fingers on the pulse of the gaming world. This game is amazing..Just look around the internet in the forums .People are loving this game. You will find very few negative comments about this game. I think its one of the best JRPG style of games to ever be made. I would recommend this game wholeheartily to anyone that enjoys that type of game. Expand
  27. OsmanZ.
    Mar 14, 2008
    9
    The first 60 hours were memorable. After that point with the sub quests and other optional stuff, it built up to 100+ hours of gameplay. Although I do think that the sub quests were sub par, and they distanced themselves from the storyline WAY too much, they were there for the completists and grind maniacs, although everything that was painful was totally optional.
  28. MikeD.
    Mar 24, 2008
    9
    Incredible game. It has what the industry needs most to keep growing: content. Amazing visuals and a fun storyline. My only beef were the puzzle like dungeons which really just slowed the process of this hybrid movie-game. It was a blast.
  29. StevenB.
    May 15, 2008
    9
    One of the most interesting and beautiful games to come to the xbox 360, dramatic storyline and great gameplay make it an most for all 360 owners.
  30. ScottM
    Nov 26, 2009
    9
    While not perfect, Lost Odyssey is easily the best RPG I've played on the Xbox 360. The story may seem cliche at first glance but the way Kain's memories are revealed was both interesting and unique. If you are looking for a game to really draw you in then give this one a shot.
  31. Joe
    Sep 26, 2009
    9
    Very well done traditional JRPG gameplay combined with some of the best writing I have ever witnessed in a videogame.
  32. Aug 21, 2010
    10
    Easily the best RPG on the 360 with great characters, story, pacing, music, graphics, gameplay and cinema. This is what Final Fantasy XIII should have been.
  33. Mar 22, 2011
    8
    a solid RPG with a pretty good story if i remember right . i guess it wasnt very memorable though since i cant remember to much about it outside of its some thing about immortals . its a classic RPG and JRPG's so if you like the old turn based RPG's you will like this one . the battles are abit more intense then in most RPG's the random battles against normal enimys can actaully be challanging .
  34. Oct 22, 2010
    8
    Surely the most underrated RPG out there? Old-school turn-based action, a wonderful soundtrack, a sense of humor, interesting characters and badass bosses... what more could you ask from a game?
  35. Jul 11, 2011
    10
    When i first played lost odyssey a few years ago in my clunky old 360 it was a bag of mixed feelings because although i definetely loved the gameplay mechanics, story and characters development, i got to admit that i was in pain because of the long load times, sometimes it felt as if i was playing an old psone rpg game. Nevertheless, having said that, and currently having the option toWhen i first played lost odyssey a few years ago in my clunky old 360 it was a bag of mixed feelings because although i definetely loved the gameplay mechanics, story and characters development, i got to admit that i was in pain because of the long load times, sometimes it felt as if i was playing an old psone rpg game. Nevertheless, having said that, and currently having the option to install the game and definetely see an improvement in the loading times department i must say its a really really good game and every fan of ol school rpgs should give it a try, Expand
  36. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Feels and plays like a Final Fantasy from the next generation of consoles. Old school turn based combat system with CGI rendered scenes, really big production values, great music and all a Final Fantasy can offer
  37. Dec 21, 2010
    10
    Easily the best, most proper "old school" JRPG of this generation. An epic story, excellent emotional drama, memorable characters, good cinematics, and enough side quests to last for 100+ hours. Hopefully not just a homage to the golden age of JRPGs as this is exactly what there needs to be more!
  38. Mar 12, 2012
    9
    Great Game,

    I wish there were more JRPG'S like this on the market today but when you have tittles like mass effect,ff,and fallout allot of people forget where these games came from.Thanks Mistwalker for a great game I won't ever forget.
  39. Oct 28, 2015
    8
    Sakaguchi se distancia de la máquina de generar dinero en la que se ha convertido Square-Enix para hacernos entender que lo que el quiere es seguir narrando historias a través de una jugabilidad clásica establecida por él mismo. Añejo, a veces amargo; nostalgia en el presente y jugabilidad sencilla y endiabladamente adictiva. Nunca fue lo que aparentó en un inicio, pero eso no es ni maloSakaguchi se distancia de la máquina de generar dinero en la que se ha convertido Square-Enix para hacernos entender que lo que el quiere es seguir narrando historias a través de una jugabilidad clásica establecida por él mismo. Añejo, a veces amargo; nostalgia en el presente y jugabilidad sencilla y endiabladamente adictiva. Nunca fue lo que aparentó en un inicio, pero eso no es ni malo ni bueno. Un gran juego, aunque pudo llegar a ser mejor de haberse pulido como debería. Expand
  40. Mar 29, 2011
    9
    This is the real Final Fantasy XI - the true next game in the series after X. Hironobu Sakaguchi knows what the real fans want and boy did he deliver - a fairly linear world-traveling journey, a focus on your limited cast of interesting party members, an epic story with a catastrophe that changes the world for worse, a ship and field map, a gruff mechanic/pilot named "Sed" (Cid/Sid),This is the real Final Fantasy XI - the true next game in the series after X. Hironobu Sakaguchi knows what the real fans want and boy did he deliver - a fairly linear world-traveling journey, a focus on your limited cast of interesting party members, an epic story with a catastrophe that changes the world for worse, a ship and field map, a gruff mechanic/pilot named "Sed" (Cid/Sid), random encounters, a solid, evenly paced turn-based battle system, mature, fully-fledged compositions by none other than Nobuo Uematsu...the list goes on. Every minute I played this game was pure Final Fantasy nostalgic bliss coupled with the excitement of playing it on a next gen console. I just wish I could have bought it at the full 60 bucks when it came out to show my support. At least there's downloadable content. So as I hoped that X wouldn't be the last of it's kind, let's hope that Lost Odyssey won't be either. Expand
  41. Aug 26, 2011
    10
    Best jrpg in this generation. One of the best games in this generation. Too far the satisfaction from Final Fantasy XIII. This is a game well done. Recommended 100%
  42. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    Artistically PERFECT. Inoue Arts. 33 beatiful novels to discover as "dreams" while playing the game. One of the best work of Nobuo Uematsu so far. Storyline and characters will live in your hearts for the rest of your lives. A masterpiece of incommensurable human value. A CLASSIC JRPG blessed by God :-)
  43. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    Sure it may seem dated in the eyes of modern gamers, but its throwback to when JRPGs ruled the gaming market sets it apart from most RPGs on the 360, which enough depth and variety in its gameplay to keep it a fresh experience. I absolutely loved this game, from the stunning cut-scenes, to the interesting characters (characters you will care about and others you just wish would dieSure it may seem dated in the eyes of modern gamers, but its throwback to when JRPGs ruled the gaming market sets it apart from most RPGs on the 360, which enough depth and variety in its gameplay to keep it a fresh experience. I absolutely loved this game, from the stunning cut-scenes, to the interesting characters (characters you will care about and others you just wish would die already), its great and efficient means of exploration, I spent a good 70 hours playing through this game for the 1st time. Also unlike many JRPGs, the way this game levels you up removes the need to grind most of the time, which is something I'm sure many gamers had a gripes about. One very unique and one of my favorite things about Lost Odyssey were the dreams portion. I wasn't able to collect them all but every single one I managed to read were interestingly written, giving us background information on the specific immortal while still giving us a great short story at the same time. These were so well written, I didn't care that it was only in text. The graphics were beautiful, as expected. Walking into Numara for the 1st time reminded me of how beautifully crafted JRPGs typically are, especially since I had just played the kind of dark and gloomy settings of Fable 3 and Mass Effect 2 (both are also amazing games). Probably my only negative of the game would be the character designs, with Kaim being kind of bland looking, Seth looking a bit odd, and mainly Mack being dressed like a girl. In the end, Lost Odyssey a game I highly recommend to any RPG fan looking for a well crafted story, lots of content, great battle systems, and beautiful graphics. Expand
  44. Jul 3, 2014
    6
    Es una de las pocas razones por la que compré una xbox360 y la verdad es que quedé un poco chafado (con éste y sobre todo con su primo Blue dragon). No niego que tiene cosas buenas, y es un RPG puro que se agradece en estos tiempos, pero la historia se desinfla y se desinfla, hasta haberme abandonarlo en dos coasiones, los personajes tienen poco carisma y sus diseños funcionan mejor sobreEs una de las pocas razones por la que compré una xbox360 y la verdad es que quedé un poco chafado (con éste y sobre todo con su primo Blue dragon). No niego que tiene cosas buenas, y es un RPG puro que se agradece en estos tiempos, pero la historia se desinfla y se desinfla, hasta haberme abandonarlo en dos coasiones, los personajes tienen poco carisma y sus diseños funcionan mejor sobre papel que en recreacciones tridimensionales (cuando salen todos juntos eso parece un carnaval). Y en definitiva le falta mucha gracia para destacar. Expand
  45. May 27, 2012
    9
    One of the best games I've ever played. It's like a next gen final fantasy! A great game that really evokes emotion out of you! This game is very underated! The game would of got a 10, but the game drags on towards the end, I could never finish this game, cuz it was so long and the main story just kinda dragged.
  46. Jan 8, 2014
    10
    Totally and utterly underated game.... i have no idea why this game didnt get more exposure, its fantastic, better than any final fantasy game that came out after the 9th one by a long shot.......... this is what final fantasy 10 should have been.... go buy now
  47. Mar 2, 2013
    6
    Lost Odyssey was an attempt to make a standard RPG exclusive to the Xbox 360, and this game is as standard as it gets. It's like Microsoft, realizing their system's lack of RPGs, got in Hironobu Sakaguchi and said, "hey, make us the most basic and unadventurous RPG you possibly can, one that will be sure not to upset any fans with anything unconventional". And that's what he did. When aLost Odyssey was an attempt to make a standard RPG exclusive to the Xbox 360, and this game is as standard as it gets. It's like Microsoft, realizing their system's lack of RPGs, got in Hironobu Sakaguchi and said, "hey, make us the most basic and unadventurous RPG you possibly can, one that will be sure not to upset any fans with anything unconventional". And that's what he did. When a lack of creativity in a game is not just an accident or natural flaw but the actual goal of a project, this is what results: generic battle system, story, characters and everything. But generic can be a good thing if done right, but Lost Odyssey does it all badly. The battle system is dull, easy but drawn-out; the story, despite being based on an excellent concept, somehow fails to be engaging in the slightest; and similarly, the characters are lifeless and unfamiliar despite seeming to have great potential. The game is a struggle to finish because it's so difficult to care about what's happening in the story and because there is no challenge to be found in battle. Fortunately, there are some positive things to say about Lost Odyssey. The setting has a dark, industrial atmosphere, which is a great break from the usual over-the-top fantasy or cutesy anime styles found in many RPGs. But far more importantly, the game has an excellent series of short stories about the main character's life and experiences. They are extraordinarily well-written, very moving and engaging; the contrast in quality with the game's main storyline couldn't be more striking. These stories are perhaps the only thing that makes the game worth playing. Overall, if you've played many RPGs and just want the same kind of thing every time, you may enjoy Lost Odyssey; but if you expect a new game to offer at least a few significant changes to the tried and tested formula, or to present that old formula in a new and exciting way, then you're going to be disappointed. However, for those who haven't played many RPGs, this may be a good place to start as it'll ease you into the genre very comfortably. The game is very easy (some of your characters even come back to life automatically in battle) and it will familiarize you with many commonplace mechanics and the basic structure of Japanese RPGs. Expand
  48. Apr 25, 2016
    10
    Excellent JRPG. Those who never owned an Xbox 360 really missed out on this treasure of a game. Great combat, story, and adventure. Xbox 360 was always the platform for great RPG's too bad the current generation of Xbox didn't continue that practice. Lost Odyssey is one of the reasons I have held onto my old 360 along with Too Human, Red Dead Redemption (only 1080p version you canExcellent JRPG. Those who never owned an Xbox 360 really missed out on this treasure of a game. Great combat, story, and adventure. Xbox 360 was always the platform for great RPG's too bad the current generation of Xbox didn't continue that practice. Lost Odyssey is one of the reasons I have held onto my old 360 along with Too Human, Red Dead Redemption (only 1080p version you can get), Fable 2 and Need For Speed Most Wanted. Expand
  49. Sep 9, 2016
    7
    The game has bad story. Just bad. Redeemed by excellent novels between every chapters which was great, but then again, those should be released as a book, not as a part of the game. And thats that, every other aspect of this game was generic, boring, already been there did that feeling. Just uninspired. It's a shame that I'm afraid this will be the last title i will play from the originalThe game has bad story. Just bad. Redeemed by excellent novels between every chapters which was great, but then again, those should be released as a book, not as a part of the game. And thats that, every other aspect of this game was generic, boring, already been there did that feeling. Just uninspired. It's a shame that I'm afraid this will be the last title i will play from the original makers of Final Fantasy series - which are my all time favourites... Expand
  50. Dec 3, 2016
    8
    Lost Odyssey was part of the campaign from Microsoft to seduce new players in Japan (or the ones that love japanese games) with the great Sakaguchi in commands, did they succeed in creating a classic JRPG for the hardware ?

    Technically the game looks very good for the time and doesn't have any bugs which is a achievement for the genre. Artistically speaking I liked the world and
    Lost Odyssey was part of the campaign from Microsoft to seduce new players in Japan (or the ones that love japanese games) with the great Sakaguchi in commands, did they succeed in creating a classic JRPG for the hardware ?

    Technically the game looks very good for the time and doesn't have any bugs which is a achievement for the genre. Artistically speaking I liked the world and enemies design, but the character design is a bit over the top.

    Concerning the gameplay it fully fills its objective of reminding the old days of JRPG with a good old turn base fighting system, the management of your party (all with determined roles) and some epic boss fights on the other end the need of grinding can always be annoying (few people have the patience to spend hours only to farm monsters). It also has its own particularities, Sakaguchi re-used his idea of rows for the fights with the first row adding protection for the ones at the back. To make the fights more alive he also add a timing system (similar to South Park : Stick of Truth for those who know it). that will allow bonus effects if timed perfectly. On the other hand we can't qualify Lost Odyssey as a true open world, the dungeons are very straight forward and there's no exploration outside of these dungeon. Beside the game is on a very linear structure for the most part and only at the end you'll be able to access optional dungeons.

    The story is somehow original but the game has a bit of an identity problem between cinematics very childish (and frankly annoying) and written dreams very depressing and much more adult. It stills achieve its main goal and players will want to move forward in the game (around 40 hours to finish the main story) and like any good JRPG it also offers some side quest best left for the end with a very high difficulty. that should provide 10 to 15 hours of additional content before you finish it entirely. A good average for the genre.

    In conclusion Lost Odyssey is a good game that will please gamers in need of a good JRPG, but it doesn't go beyond the limits of the genre and will not be remembered like others game (Secret of Mana, FF7, Chrono Trigger, Tales of Symphonia etc.), just a good entertainment .
    Expand
  51. Sep 25, 2016
    8
    Um dos melhores RPGS a moda antiga da geração passada. Infelizmente foi esquecido, pouco lembrado, mas é um dos melhores RPGS do Xbox junto com Fable. É obrigatório para donos de Xbox.
  52. May 1, 2016
    10
    Lost Odyssey is, without a doubt, one of the most amazing experiences I have ever had. It goes back to the traditional roots of the genre, a very good thing in my eyes. It uses a wonderful turn-based battle system which utilizes strategy and the traditional "Attack, Defend, Skill, Spell, Item, Flee" commands. The system is challenging, it does not respect nor reward mindlessly mashing theLost Odyssey is, without a doubt, one of the most amazing experiences I have ever had. It goes back to the traditional roots of the genre, a very good thing in my eyes. It uses a wonderful turn-based battle system which utilizes strategy and the traditional "Attack, Defend, Skill, Spell, Item, Flee" commands. The system is challenging, it does not respect nor reward mindlessly mashing the "attack" command as many others games in the genre do. It forces the player to think about their decisions and to use all of their character's skills and abilities wisely, even in simple random encounters. The story is wonderful, chock full of emotion and mystery. The main protagonist, Kaim, has "dreams" which greatly expand to the game's story and are very welcome additions to an already very strong game. The characters are all very likeable save for a few such as Tolten or Cooke/Mack (a person's opinion on these two is heavily influenced by their stance on child characters in JRPGs - I had no problem with them and found them to be endearing and nice additions to the story, while also working to expand on Kaim's character and development). The skill and ring systems offer unique twists to the gameplay and are fun to mess around with. The OST in the game is astounding, especially the main battle theme - you almost want to keep on encountering random enemies just to hear it. The game's ending is also very satisfying. If the main game is not enough, there is lots of side content and bosses that can offer even more fun than the main storyline. I left the game wanting to play it again (and I soon will), and I would recommend this terrific game to any fan of the genre. Expand
  53. Feb 11, 2017
    10
    No soy fan de los rpg, pero a este juego le di una oportunidad ya que lo dieron con los juegos con gold, me ha dejado una muy buena impresión, juego totalmente recomendado a pesar de tener ya muchos años y no ser un portento grafico
  54. Oct 14, 2016
    9
    Lost odyssey was one of my favourite games of the last gen. The battle system is dated to some but I loved it to be honest good old turn based jrpg, nice and simple worked well, the characters were interesting and the story was strong, it's a long game with quite a lot of side quests to complete plenty weapons and accessories to find, I personally liked the way you learned new skills byLost odyssey was one of my favourite games of the last gen. The battle system is dated to some but I loved it to be honest good old turn based jrpg, nice and simple worked well, the characters were interesting and the story was strong, it's a long game with quite a lot of side quests to complete plenty weapons and accessories to find, I personally liked the way you learned new skills by gaining points of battles and selecting which skills you wanted to learn your self, it was also good how you could Only learn certain skills of certain items so that really made you hunt for new weapons and accessories, some didn't like this I though it was good but as always with these types of games it's down to personal preference, IMO this is a very very strong game and every bit as good as most of the old final fantasys, I'd massively recommend this to any one who is a fan of turn based jrpg's, this is one of the very best. Expand
  55. Apr 13, 2017
    0
    Encore un jeu de rôle japonais lénifiant bourré de cinématiques à dormir debout sur 4 DVD (!) chiant comme un dimanche sous la pluie à Dunkerque dans la zone industrielle. Une musique d'ascenseur, des dialogues mièvres, une histoire qui ne parvient pas à exercer la moindre once d'intérêt, des personnages ridicules et une direction artistique toujours aussi douteuse.

    Il paraît que c'est
    Encore un jeu de rôle japonais lénifiant bourré de cinématiques à dormir debout sur 4 DVD (!) chiant comme un dimanche sous la pluie à Dunkerque dans la zone industrielle. Une musique d'ascenseur, des dialogues mièvres, une histoire qui ne parvient pas à exercer la moindre once d'intérêt, des personnages ridicules et une direction artistique toujours aussi douteuse.

    Il paraît que c'est un jeu contemplatif... idéal pour les problèmes d'insomnie en tout cas ! la nullité absolue à son sens le plus strict, celui du néant vidéo-ludique le plus profond tout comme le sommeil (profond) qu'il provoque inéluctablement. Une japoniaiserie de plus à balancer dans le broyeur. Pour résumer ça peut paraître simpliste mais ce jeu est... à chier !
    Expand
  56. Jan 31, 2017
    10
    Hablar de este juego es un poco difícil así que tratare de resumirlo, Lost Odyssey es lo que debió ser Final Fantasy 13 Musicalmente es espectacular, un RPG japonés clásico, con bellos gráficos, bellas secuencias, bella jugabilidad y excelentes personajes. Una historia brutal, un juego simplemente perfecto.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 68 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 68
  2. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. 80
    It's staggeringly gorgeous, and looks and plays like a Final Fantasy title. It rarely steps away from the origins of the genre – instead playing with the 'me too!' mentality of a company that desperately wants to show the world that Square Enix can be bested.
  2. 82
    It may not be in the same class as "Mass Effect," but for a system in desperate need for more quality RPGs, Lost Odyssey fits nicely into the 360 library.
  3. 50
    We have immense respect for what Lost Odyssey tries to do: be a back-to-basics JRPG with modern technological trimmings on the 360. Unfortunately, it's less a celebration of what made older RPGs great and more a crude relic of their past.