User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 462 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 45 out of 462
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 26, 2010
    10
    I created a metacritic account just to praise this game. It was actually the first jrpg I really became emerged into and i have played several since. Still this one is the best, all from story, to design and character development is excellent. The battle system can get tedious and I HATE the way the sometimes (or at lest once...) throw in 5 difficult boss battles in a row without theI created a metacritic account just to praise this game. It was actually the first jrpg I really became emerged into and i have played several since. Still this one is the best, all from story, to design and character development is excellent. The battle system can get tedious and I HATE the way the sometimes (or at lest once...) throw in 5 difficult boss battles in a row without the option to save. These minor problems aside, this is a game everyone should experience, it's really that good and on my top 5 list of games ever created. Read the dream sequences!! 10/10 without doubt, even if it's nt perfect, if any game deserves it, it is this one. Expand
  2. HamaadS.
    Mar 10, 2008
    9
    By far the best role playing game on xbox 360. The battle sequence is good but could've been better. That would have to be the only downfall.
  3. Jun 26, 2014
    8
    I picked this up for like 2 bucks on a whim one day. 70 hours later I'll tell you it was the best Final Fantasy game I've played in years. Old school turn based battles with a touch of real time for extra damage effects. No spiky-haired whining dickheads in this and the story didn't make me want to hang myself with a six pack of tube socks tied end to end.
  4. RobertD.
    Feb 6, 2008
    10
    Incredibly nostalgic! Final Fantasy VIII days relived!
  5. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    The best RPG on the 360, bar none. And I mean that Oblivion, Fallout, FF, Mass Effect, ect. It is the best RPG on the 360, bar none. I only wish I hadn't ruined it for myself by buying the guide.
  6. Mar 1, 2011
    10
    at least as far as i know, the best really turn-based jrpg currently out there. if you take away all semi-turn-based stuff like newer final fantasies, eternal sonata, etc. and all the handheld stuff (although a lot of the games there are either strategy rpgs or just semi-turn-based anyway)... you pretty much only end up with lost odyssey. but besides the fact that it would be nice to haveat least as far as i know, the best really turn-based jrpg currently out there. if you take away all semi-turn-based stuff like newer final fantasies, eternal sonata, etc. and all the handheld stuff (although a lot of the games there are either strategy rpgs or just semi-turn-based anyway)... you pretty much only end up with lost odyssey. but besides the fact that it would be nice to have more games like that, that's not a bad thing. lost odyssey has gorgeous graphics, a great story and battle system and an amazing soundtrack (one of the few games i bothered to get it separately for). and if you try to do everything possible, it goes on for a long, long time - like one expects from jrpgs. i'm at 70 hours and still haven't beaten the "ultra-monster" in the game that gives you an achievement. and i don't think i even did a lot of grinding during those 70 hours. but no worries for those who feel that that is "too" long - if you just focus on the main story, i'm sure you can get through it in 25 hours or so. oh and also the story of this game is REALLY well done - i think it made me cry at one or two points. very dramatic stuff. so if you like TRULY turn-based jrpgs like e.g. the good old final fantasies, you absolutely HAVE to get this! Expand
  7. ChrisD.
    Jun 9, 2008
    9
    It's a Final Fantasy game, if it had Final Fantasy in the title it'd be averaging 90 instead of 80 and no-one would bat and eyelid. Story is slow but immensely gratifying. Characters are the games strongest attribute, near flawless. Combat is well polished but doesn't quite achieve turn-based perfection like FF10. Presentation/direction is great. Graphics never reach any It's a Final Fantasy game, if it had Final Fantasy in the title it'd be averaging 90 instead of 80 and no-one would bat and eyelid. Story is slow but immensely gratifying. Characters are the games strongest attribute, near flawless. Combat is well polished but doesn't quite achieve turn-based perfection like FF10. Presentation/direction is great. Graphics never reach any great heights, they are hit and miss, with the misses being painfully obvious (stuttering, some animation simply not attempted, lego block fingers). Disappointing really considering what other devs were pushing out of the 360 at a similar point in time. Sound and music par for the course. Has a RUN button, and when you hold it you damn well RUN like the wind. All in all it deserves to be placed on the same pedestal as the FF games, it is of that quality, it gets the things important to a JRPG right, and the really important things really right. Expand
  8. Nov 29, 2010
    10
    This is a great JRPG and the best on the 360. The original creator of the Final Fantasy series, Hironobu Sakaguchi, left Square Enix to create Mistwalker Corporation, which produced this game. Also, Nobuo Uematsu, who does the music for the original Final Fantasy games, worked on this game. Together, they have created a masterpiece! If you do not like old school, turn-based combat,This is a great JRPG and the best on the 360. The original creator of the Final Fantasy series, Hironobu Sakaguchi, left Square Enix to create Mistwalker Corporation, which produced this game. Also, Nobuo Uematsu, who does the music for the original Final Fantasy games, worked on this game. Together, they have created a masterpiece! If you do not like old school, turn-based combat, then this game is not for you. But if you are a fan of the old Final Fantasies, then this game is for you. Good graphics, AMAZING music, good story, good characters, and GREAT gameplay!!! I loved this game and it took me 99 hours to beat it and get 1100/1100 gamerpoints (including the Seeker of the Deep DLC, which is almost freaking impossible). If you like JRPGs, this game is a must. Expand
  9. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Definitely one of the best RPG games for the Xbox 360. With a strong story, lovable characters, and stunning graphics, "The Lost Odyssey" goes above and beyond the typical RPG. This game clearly surpasses the Final Fantasy games available on the Xbox 360. Although, the story is linear and there is a limited amount of "free roaming" commonly found in adventure/RPG games, "The Lost Odyssey"Definitely one of the best RPG games for the Xbox 360. With a strong story, lovable characters, and stunning graphics, "The Lost Odyssey" goes above and beyond the typical RPG. This game clearly surpasses the Final Fantasy games available on the Xbox 360. Although, the story is linear and there is a limited amount of "free roaming" commonly found in adventure/RPG games, "The Lost Odyssey" is still well worth your money. You can get it for a mere $9.99. Undeniably, you will get your money's worth. Expand
  10. May 30, 2013
    10
    One of the greatest games I have ever played in my life. Lost Odyssey is a JRPG that creates a really unique world. It combined fantasy with modern innovation that I have not seen before in a fantasy setting. What made this game so good to me was 1.) the Story. 2.) The Characters and 3.) the literature. The story was so compelling and wonderful that I couldn't stop playing. I could not getOne of the greatest games I have ever played in my life. Lost Odyssey is a JRPG that creates a really unique world. It combined fantasy with modern innovation that I have not seen before in a fantasy setting. What made this game so good to me was 1.) the Story. 2.) The Characters and 3.) the literature. The story was so compelling and wonderful that I couldn't stop playing. I could not get enough of this game. The characters really hit home for me and they all are really well developed and you get attached to all of them even if you didn't like a particular character. The literature in this game is so wonderful that the first time I read some of it, it brought me to tears and that was only an hour into this 50+ hour epic. You need to put down your Call of Duty or Skyrim, go to Gamestop or whoever the is selling this and buy it. You will not regret it! Expand
  11. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    I hate this game, i don´t like the consoles but i buy the 360 just for play this one!!
    Why it isn´t for PC? the xbox controller is so comfortable, we will miss it in the next gen... someone will buy one?

    The game is amazing, a -must have- for any rpg gamer, get ready your human side and your bunch of tears because you will cry playing this!!
  12. Dec 8, 2015
    8
    the good:
    great story
    fun characters amazing music classic turn based battle, with some minor additions optional bosses are fun too the bad: graphics are nice but couldve been better no summons ------ play if you love the old final fantasy games, and not the new casual **** final fantasies also give the dreams a chance if you play it, i liked the mini stories, they were
    the good:
    great story
    fun characters
    amazing music
    classic turn based battle, with some minor additions
    optional bosses are fun too

    the bad:
    graphics are nice but couldve been better
    no summons

    ------
    play if you love the old final fantasy games, and not the new casual **** final fantasies
    also give the dreams a chance if you play it, i liked the mini stories, they were engaging. Music and text animation was really cool
    Expand
  13. SimonH.
    Mar 11, 2008
    6
    What I would have liked to know before considering buying this game: It has very similar game mechanics to Blue Dragon. Similar turn-based combat, similar skills system, similar annoying kicking of inanimate objects to earn items, similar extensive use of cut-scenes, and even the same monsters. That said, the improvements over Blue Dragon for me are that it is less cartoony, characters What I would have liked to know before considering buying this game: It has very similar game mechanics to Blue Dragon. Similar turn-based combat, similar skills system, similar annoying kicking of inanimate objects to earn items, similar extensive use of cut-scenes, and even the same monsters. That said, the improvements over Blue Dragon for me are that it is less cartoony, characters are not annoying, story seems better. Expand
  14. Apr 22, 2013
    7
    Lost Odyssey is one of the few, heavily story-based RPGs of the 360/PS3/Wii era.
    You shouldn't wonder why this game really feels like an old Final Fantasy game with pretty graphics, because it was basically made by the founder and former master mind of the Final Fantasy series, Hironobu Sakaguchi.
    Let's start with the positive aspects of this game Lost Odyssey really manages to create a
    Lost Odyssey is one of the few, heavily story-based RPGs of the 360/PS3/Wii era.
    You shouldn't wonder why this game really feels like an old Final Fantasy game with pretty graphics, because it was basically made by the founder and former master mind of the Final Fantasy series, Hironobu Sakaguchi.
    Let's start with the positive aspects of this game
    Lost Odyssey really manages to create a good atmosphere that sucks you right in. Both the visuals and the music are captivating.
    As far as characters go, they're believable and have unique personalities.
    The short stories about the main character's past are touching and well-written.
    Combat system offers tactical depth and requires some thought, it's a nice challenge.

    However, this game is far, far from perfect.

    The combat system is very slow and requires extensive amount of micromanaging stuff in the ancient menus.
    Loading times are very long, especially before battles.
    Battles are completely random and take very long, it's often pretty tedious.
    The main story line is actually very simple and especially lacks a good villain. Lost Odyssey's only and main villain is probably the worst I've encountered in a Japanese RPG ever.

    To conclude, Lost Odyssey is worth a playthrough for everyone longing for the old days of Final Fantasy etc., but you should bring patience.
    Expand
  15. Nov 26, 2011
    8
    Considerably better than I thought it would be. The dream sequences are the best out of the entire game. The only downside is the turn based gameplay. Too slow in my opinion. But all in all a good, if not mind blowing experience.
  16. Nov 30, 2012
    9
    More mature than the Final Fantasy saga but still with the same kind of magic. Lost odyssey is a traditional JRPG, very polished and deep. During your adventure, you can discover several secret tales that tell some of the most moving stories you will ever read. This is the best XBOX rpg and simply a big piece of art.
  17. Dec 6, 2016
    9
    Lost Odyssey is EASILY the best RPG's on the Xbox 360 and one of the best of the generation. I was blind sided by this game. It is a return to the turn form for the turn based RPG genre and proves that turn based RPG's can still be great!
    The story is fantastic and long. It has 4 discs!!!! I cried several times during this game and that says something. The characters and dialogue are all
    Lost Odyssey is EASILY the best RPG's on the Xbox 360 and one of the best of the generation. I was blind sided by this game. It is a return to the turn form for the turn based RPG genre and proves that turn based RPG's can still be great!
    The story is fantastic and long. It has 4 discs!!!! I cried several times during this game and that says something. The characters and dialogue are all lovingly crafted and weaved an amazing narrative and the twists are interesting too. The graphics and soundtrack are very good as you would expect from the creator of the Final Fantasy series. I literally don't have anything negative to say about this game. I loved it from beginning to end. The characters are all great and have interesting stories and backgrounds. The combat is fun and characters grow to be powerful but not OP so there is some good challenge. This game is also now backwards compatible on Xbox One as well.
    Lost Odyssey almost deserves a perfect 10/10 but some very minor performance issues hold it back from perfection.
    Expand
  18. Dec 26, 2016
    10
    one word "awesome". i love this game, the story is very good, the characters,the monsters all is awesome.
    the game have more of 12 negative status like poison, blind, freeze, fear, stone,curse and others. if you want buy, buy it if no fear
  19. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    An incredibly well polished JRPG, which sadly is an Xbox 360 exclusive. This game has many elements that stand out such as the dreams and the art direction. The story will quickly immerse you keep you playing for hours on end. Quite possibly the best aspect, in my opinion, is the original soundtrack. Nobuo Uematsu is a God when it comes to composing music. Definitely worth your time if youAn incredibly well polished JRPG, which sadly is an Xbox 360 exclusive. This game has many elements that stand out such as the dreams and the art direction. The story will quickly immerse you keep you playing for hours on end. Quite possibly the best aspect, in my opinion, is the original soundtrack. Nobuo Uematsu is a God when it comes to composing music. Definitely worth your time if you own a 360. Expand
  20. JennaS.
    Sep 1, 2008
    2
    I love RPGs and have played (and liked) the majority of Final Fantasy games. However, Lost Odyssey is one of the worst RPGs I have ever played. I would hesitate to even call it an RPG; my idea of an RPG is being able to roam freely and do things in your own time. This is not a feature of Lost Odyssey. Firstly, you very rarely actually have control of any of the characters! I spent most of I love RPGs and have played (and liked) the majority of Final Fantasy games. However, Lost Odyssey is one of the worst RPGs I have ever played. I would hesitate to even call it an RPG; my idea of an RPG is being able to roam freely and do things in your own time. This is not a feature of Lost Odyssey. Firstly, you very rarely actually have control of any of the characters! I spent most of my time watching pointless, over-long cutscenes. If I'd wanted to watch a film, I would have watched a DVD, not played a game. When I did finally get control of a character I found the combat and general gameplay to be ok but the ridiculous cutscenes just frustrated me beyond belief. Secondly, the save points are VERY few and far-between. For example, you'll be given a save point before fighting a boss but not afterwards. So you kill a boss and then complete another half an hour of gameplay before coming across an opportunity to save which means if you die in that time (which is highly likely in this game due to the lack of refresh points/shops) you have to go through the whole boss-killing, boring cutscenes and half hour of gameplay again. Thirdly, the leveling of enemies is plain ridiculous. One minute you'll be fighting hoards of enemies who deal you tiny amounts of damage and then suddenly you'll come across a boss who wipes out your entire party in about two attacks. You then either have to spend a stupid amount of time leveling up because the other enemies are not powerful enough to allow you to level up reasonably quickly or attempt repeatedly to fight a ridiculously strong boss who wipes your party out time and time again. Its just frustrating; not fun. In my opinion Lost Odyssey wipes the fun out of RPGs. If you want a proper RPG rather than one long cutscene masquerading as one, play Oblivion, it's a true RPG which allows you to roam freely, truly interact with your environment and provides hours and hours of solid gameplay without corny, mind-numbing cutscenes inbetween. Expand
  21. AlanG.
    Apr 23, 2008
    4
    I always thought that the idea of gaming was that you were meant to be involved? Here it feels as though I spend the vast majority of my time doing nothing but watching spectacularly dull CG clips of equally badly acted stereotyped characters. I may not have given this enough time but after several hours of doing very little I gave up.
  22. Jul 31, 2012
    3
    This game is very traditional, almost to a fault. It practically reeks of Final Fantasy 9 copying. While the immortal system is okay, the battles are so obnoxiously slow that it becomes unbearable after a while. At first, it is barely noticable, but the monotony suddenly weighs down and the slow attack and magic animations make the battles far too lengthy. Since the game has randomThis game is very traditional, almost to a fault. It practically reeks of Final Fantasy 9 copying. While the immortal system is okay, the battles are so obnoxiously slow that it becomes unbearable after a while. At first, it is barely noticable, but the monotony suddenly weighs down and the slow attack and magic animations make the battles far too lengthy. Since the game has random battles, this is a serious issue and annoyance, especially when you are forced to travel around an area to solve puzzles. The level cap adds to this frustration since you have no motivation to battle enemies without the promise of a buffed party. Sure, the soundtrack, aesthetics, pacing, and most all other elements of this game are great, but this whole game is tainted by one wound that is repeatedly dug into with alcohol and dirt. Expand
  23. KieranD
    Mar 2, 2009
    2
    This game is a total con, in movie terms, this would be a like a sequal with none of the original cast. A quick buck. Girlfriend and I are 10 hours in to this game (and very much enjoy RPG's normall) and we still completely hate every char, the bad guy, the plot, the limitations of roaming around, we are still on our 2nd weapon and using same spells as start of the game. Bosses are This game is a total con, in movie terms, this would be a like a sequal with none of the original cast. A quick buck. Girlfriend and I are 10 hours in to this game (and very much enjoy RPG's normall) and we still completely hate every char, the bad guy, the plot, the limitations of roaming around, we are still on our 2nd weapon and using same spells as start of the game. Bosses are all either hard or impossible, as random attacks that nearly kill everyone might happen twice in a row or not at all. Only fun we are having with this game is constant mocking, such as "oh look, a badly drawn Poster that looks nothing like the ones around it, wonder if you can peel it backwards and find 100g or a new pair of earings. Cos thats where i stash my money and jewlery, begind a poster!". The game has no organic way of rewarding you with new spells or abilities, so instead you find them. For example, cast poison, guess where we found that? in a badly drawn urn in a forest, or maybe my memory fails me, maybe it was by ramming a tree with our shoulder which made it fall out of the tree. Not that a wise magician taught us it, no no, valuable items like Paralize immune headbands trypically are found in ramable trees. Our fave part of the game is the fact that Kaim is not just immortal, but a serial thief. He will happily go in to his Grandchildrens house and rip posters off walls or steal money from badly drawn gold chests (cos kids have those ofc). Maybe the people who designed the levels hired the guys from Acme (see road runner) to add the lootable items to the game, but certainly isn't hard to spot when a item has something you can steal or kick to find a lootable item. anyway, my life is too short to tell you all the reasons this game sucks, but take it from a RPG guy and his open minded GF, this game is all sorts of terrible. You will hate the plot, which you figure out about 2 hours before you are told about it, you will be given a powerpoint presentation complete with crazy animated text when you remember something (which btw, you remember in such great detail it will take 10 mins to account), fights are a pain in the ass. oh sod it, i can't go on, please for the love of god borrow it off some sap of a friend who has it and give it no more than 5 hours, as the following 5 hours will suck just as much and not improve at all. Expand
  24. BrianP.
    Feb 11, 2008
    1
    Terribly disappointing game. Will NEVER touch Final Fantasy.
  25. AdamH.
    Feb 24, 2008
    0
    This is the WORST game I have ever played. I don't know what all these people are thinking saying that it was sold short by reviews. Its amazing they sold any copies of this game.
  26. NoelM.
    Feb 29, 2008
    4
    Mediocre game that does not live up to the hype at all. The characters are over-characterized and very cliche. The story is slow moving pretty bad, but not horrible. The dream sequences actually range from average to great, however, the developers were so lazy as to not provide any graphics for them. Thats right, the dream sequences are pure text with just a simple background image. NPCs Mediocre game that does not live up to the hype at all. The characters are over-characterized and very cliche. The story is slow moving pretty bad, but not horrible. The dream sequences actually range from average to great, however, the developers were so lazy as to not provide any graphics for them. Thats right, the dream sequences are pure text with just a simple background image. NPCs have no voice-overs, except in cut scenes. This is a step backwards from Mass Effect. On the gameplay/mechanics side everything is slow. The turn-based system is a relic and if it could work in any current-gen game, it didn't work here. The ring system makes it a little bit more fun, but not by much. Do you enjoy watching four enemies go through five second attack animations each while you sit there and do nothing? Everything takes forever to load. These are some of the worst loading times I have seen since PSX. On top of that, while you are trying to solve puzzles you will run into random battles. Yup, this game brings back the horror of random battles. And you don't even get rewarded for them because there is a level cap in each area of the game. Meaning after you hit the level cap, you will need to sit through twenty seconds of load screens to run away from a pointless battle. The graphics range from good to PS2. Graphics aren't the most important aspect, but this game looks nowhere near as good as Gears of War or Call of Duty 4. The art direction isn't all that great either. Too many screens with beige and brown and just generally dull colors. This game fails in almost every area. Don't buy into the hype. If you are looking for a current-gen traditional RPG go with Eternal Sonata. Expand
  27. Ryan
    Mar 17, 2008
    1
    Not as good as FF, or Mass Effect.
  28. NANA
    Mar 17, 2008
    4
    The only innovative thing about this game is the retardedly boring dream system, but when you break it down, they are just text cut-scenes (I bet you can't get through the first dream without scoffing, it might as well be a mexican soap opera.) The something extremely similar to the ring system has been implemented in other jrpgs, sorry to burst everyones bubble. The game would The only innovative thing about this game is the retardedly boring dream system, but when you break it down, they are just text cut-scenes (I bet you can't get through the first dream without scoffing, it might as well be a mexican soap opera.) The something extremely similar to the ring system has been implemented in other jrpgs, sorry to burst everyones bubble. The game would freeze during the first load screen if I stopped playing it for a few hours, but that was most likely the shitty hardwares problem. Expand
  29. StevenH.
    Mar 29, 2008
    4
    Too many videos, lots of glitchy videos and frustrating combat.
  30. VechaK.
    Feb 21, 2008
    10
    This game is awesome. Mass Effect has worse texture pop ins and load times....yet this game is bashed for it? I loved ME...but LO is just as good!
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 68 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 68
  2. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. 80
    It's staggeringly gorgeous, and looks and plays like a Final Fantasy title. It rarely steps away from the origins of the genre – instead playing with the 'me too!' mentality of a company that desperately wants to show the world that Square Enix can be bested.
  2. 82
    It may not be in the same class as "Mass Effect," but for a system in desperate need for more quality RPGs, Lost Odyssey fits nicely into the 360 library.
  3. 50
    We have immense respect for what Lost Odyssey tries to do: be a back-to-basics JRPG with modern technological trimmings on the 360. Unfortunately, it's less a celebration of what made older RPGs great and more a crude relic of their past.