Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 130 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Lost Planet 3 is the third entry in the Lost Planet franchise. With numerous multiplayer modes and a cinematic single player experience, Lost Planet 3 delves deeper into the Lost Planet universe, uncovering hidden truths within the unique environment of E.D.N. III.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 43
  2. Negative: 5 out of 43
  1. Sep 12, 2013
    82
    Spark Unlimited's take on EDN III is engaging and fun. It's not going to turn the genre on its head or come away with any game of the year awards, but it is the best in the series and makes the franchise relevant again.
  2. Aug 27, 2013
    70
    The slow-burning start betrays a really engrossing game, let-down only by its rather repetitive firefights and laborious backtracking.
  3. Oct 10, 2013
    70
    There's already been a price drop of about $20 for Lost Planet 3, which makes it a pretty good deal. The timing for such a thing isn't great. There are a couple new consoles launching soon and the tidal wave of 4th Quarter games has only just started, I think Lost Planet 3's window of opportunity has closed for this somewhat enjoyable mid-tier game.
  4. Aug 27, 2013
    60
    The first two games balanced out any unsavory elements with mega moments and straightforward fun. The third entry simply doesn’t have enough thermal energy to overcome its many problems.
  5. Sep 5, 2013
    60
    This is one of those games that you might snag on sale and end up finding enjoyment in its merits. Just know that there are several problems that are impossible to overlook when you do. Still, fans of the Lost Planet series would do well to give it a go when it gets cheaper.
  6. Sep 11, 2013
    50
    Despite looking the part, and having some of the best voice work in a third person shooter, Lost Planet 3 turns the gun on itself with bad gameplay design, terrible boss battles, and a story that never delivers on its promises.
  7. Aug 27, 2013
    40
    It's worrying when the nicest thing you can say about a game is that the early sections manage to be boring in an interesting way, but it's true for Lost Planet 3. It's a game that manages to make third-person shooting feel like work - and one that makes work feel like something that more games should explore.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 27
  2. Negative: 6 out of 27
  1. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    Don't pay attention to the negative reviews. Those are based on expectations. This is a more story driven mature game than the first 2. If it was released with a new franchise name without the expectations, it would have been voted much higher for the excellent character and story development, with a little less frenetic action. Expand
  2. Aug 29, 2013
    9
    Please ignore the professional reviewers. They are PC gaming snobs who get paid for creating controversy. Claiming that this game is dull or repetitive while praising games such as Dead Space 3 and Saint's Row 4, which are even more repetitive, is hypocritical. Lost Planet 3 is much deeper than the two previous Lost Planet games, and is an improvement because of it. The characters have more depth and the gameplay experience is more immersive, for example in the way you can interact with the npc-s and upgrade your weapons. The graphics and environmental designs are better looking than in the previous games, and create an even greater sense of being stuck on an icy snow planet. It is more claustrophobic than the previous games, as it takes place in an earlier time line when the planet was just getting colonized. The combat is more immersive as you now have a first-person view in your mech, something the previous games did not have. The user interface adds to the immersion by being as minimalistic as possible. The voice acting and music is great. The storyline is probably more interesting if you liked the previous two games, as a stand-alone game the storyline is OK, a bit like a cross between the film 'The Thing' and 'Aliens'. The best new element in the series is the personalization given to the main character, he is a character with a personality. So there are three new elements in this game that you haven't seen in previous Lost Planet games, a well-developed character personality, weapons customization, and first-person view Mech combat. In addition the gameplay is more open than previously, it is not as linear as the other two games. In summary, this is a great sci-fi action game. Expand
  3. Aug 28, 2013
    9
    I don't understand all of these negative reviews. Did they play the same game as me? I tried this game out first on my pc via torrents. Just to make sure its worth purchasing on my xbox 360. I played for about an hour, the game is loads of fun. I played the first 2 games. If you enjoyed them. You will enjoy this. Some parts can get repetative. But overall a great experience. Expand
  4. Sep 27, 2013
    8
    I'm about halfway through playing this on 360 and Its really good! This feels like the first true survival story I've played in a video game and it impresses the hell out of me. I dont understand whats going on with these reviews, did these magazine chumps actually play this game?

    Ok, so I didnt play the first 2 games, so I really didn't have any idea of what to expect, but what it delivered was kind of a poor man's Dead Space 3, with some Mass Effect type elements in the game play. Its certainly not as good as either in the gameplay department, with some notable control problems, and a focus on covering and recovering the same world territory that tries to channel metroid but lacks the complexity to make it feel worthwhile, but I'm actually finding the story and more to point, the characters, a lot more interesting. And thats really strange because it completely lacks the background universe that made the DS and mass effect plots really compelling. Since the company NEVEC and the world is very lightly fleshed out, that makes the plot of this game almost entirely a character piece about the main character and his struggles with loneliness, the world and the people he meets on EDN3, but it works great! His messages home and responses from his wife play during missions and feel very genuine and heartfelt, the environment is an active antagonist in a much deeper and more real way than any other game I've played and its exactly the kind of thing I'd been hoping to see a game do so I can forgive all its very minor gameplay flaws easily. The first time you have to cross a major storm, having your walker ICE over, and having to literally pry the thing open to remove the ice manually, while dodging pieces of mega-hail from the sky, it surprises the hell out of you and its very immersive, making you feel that this is a real world with real struggles. I'm loving the game and very surprised at how good it is, and I'd really like someone to explain to me how its getting such low scores from the big guys.

    Of course, how good it is really begs it to be better, if the backstory and world were more fleshed out (remember I havent played the first 2 so Im seeing this as an isolated story), the control scheme improved a little (its kind of like if you smashed gears of war and mass effect together and took the complexities out of both, which is good in some ways but mostly feels cliche), added some deeper ways to interact with the environment when on foot (its great, very interact able inside your walker robot, but as soon as you get out, which you have to do very frequently, everything feels kind of on-a-rail. you cant jump, have limited places you can move unconventionally though its awesome when you can, the repair minigame is stupid and needed far too frequently, there arent enough movement tools and ways to interact with your walker on the ground, and you dont use the ones you have (besides the goddamn grappling hook which you use CONSTANTLY, and the coolness of which wears off quickly) enough, your weapons are although theres a part about a third way through where they suddenly get awesome, but it takes too long to get there and youll be using the pea shooter assault rifle and shotgun till you get there, and the boss fights are relentless and take wayyy too long before you get the decent weapons and then way too easy once you get the good ones, if you fixed all these small problems this game would be a shoo-in for game of the year for me (though I'm sure all the lemmings out there are going to vote for GTA5 no matter what comes out).

    As it stands the game is a great experience and even if it gets ruined by a crappy ending (I'm only halfway through remember) I'll still recommend it and be glad I bought it.
    Expand
  5. Aug 27, 2013
    7
    Not my favorite 360 game ever but it has its perks. What initially caught my eye was that it was a Capcom game. The graphics are okay and gameplay is pretty good. Not the greatest in terms of plot but you weren't expecting the game to have a great plot! So yeah, above average but nothing mind blowing. I do recommend it. Expand
  6. Sep 9, 2013
    5
    Not much in the graphics department. Rather a dull shooter that feeds you the same enemies over and over and over agian, much like in the Killzone series. The story is somewhat engaging and tense, but then you have to actually play it with clunky controls to get to the next cutscene and it loses interest real fast. Still, I liked the main character very much. Bottom line is that I can't recommend this because I could barely get myself to finish it. Expand
  7. Sep 4, 2013
    0
    I'll spend 150 characters to explain that if you click on the shining review by Jinxie and a few others. basically all the green ones this game has gotten. you can see that the only 3 games this person has ever reviewed are all the various versions of this game, it's clear then to everyone 2 things
    1. this person had a part in making this game because this is a game which could only be rated highly by the games mother
    2. It's bull 100% if it wasn't such stand out from every other review for this game it might not draw much attention, perhaps if they'd given it an 8, maybe reviewed 1 or 2 games just at random which weren't their own product, but nope, blatantly just trying to fluff their own games score up on here.

    Dire game, dire practices by capcom trying to inflate scores here, Dire franchise that needs to just have the good grace to die now so capcom can return to making Horror games with actual horror in them.
    Expand

See all 27 User Reviews