Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Aug 24, 2012
    90
    The TV presentation, the refined gameplay, the more lifelike physics -- it all adds up to Madden NFL 13 being something truly special.
  2. Aug 24, 2012
    90
    It's not often that a stalwart franchise like this reinvents itself so significantly, but Madden NFL 13 has pulled this off with aplomb. Brimming with innovation on the field and off, it's the best Madden of the generation.
  3. Aug 28, 2012
    90
    Madden NFL 13 is a fantastic update to the series. It feels like a complete overhaul. Sure, some of the new things will need tweaking in the years to come, but this is a great step in the right direction.
  4. Aug 25, 2012
    89
    Madden NFL 13 makes huge strides this year, but also makes a few rookie mistakes. Seasoned football fanatics and casual onlookers should be satisfied with the end result. As seen in my previous Madden reviews, you know that I have had my fair share of issues with the game. If you have been skeptical of Madden before, this year's edition is worth a look. If only they could do something about the number of interceptions.
  5. Oct 15, 2012
    87
    Madden NFL 13 is without a doubt the best and especially the most exciting part of the series.
  6. Sep 20, 2012
    90
    The Kinect compatibility is a neat twist, alas I think EA will improve on this in future instalments, for now though it seems a little gimmicky. There are a few issues, most notably with the Defensive mechanics within the game and a few drunken animations. Despite this, for NFL fans there can only be one game that you just have to buy this year, that is of course Madden '13.
  7. Aug 24, 2012
    95
    With a brand new physics based Infinity engine, Connected Careers, and Madden Ultimate Team, EA has given football fans the most in depth sport's game to date.
  8. Aug 24, 2012
    95
    Simply put, this physics engine works and works really well. There hasn't been one game that I have played where my jaw didn't drop in amazement.
  9. Aug 27, 2012
    90
    The inclusion of a brand new game engine, new broadcast team, and wide ranging career mode make this year's version of Madden the biggest leap from one year to the next since the move to this generation of consoles.
  10. Sep 10, 2012
    95
    In the end, Madden 13 is a fast paced NFL game that allows fans to play a variety of different gameplay modes, including a relatively in-depth career mode. If you want to take the gameplay to another level, the title also supports a detailed online mode so you can challenge other players from around the world. With a strong gaming engine and graphics that will amaze, it's definitely a great time to be a NFL fan.
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 173 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 112
  2. Negative: 40 out of 112
  1. Aug 29, 2012
    0
    In typical Madden fashion they took away features so they can add them back as innovations in the years to come. This time it was editing players and fantasy draft, which is pretty much a game breaker. Without fantasy draft, playing with friends becomes difficult as it is hard to find evenly matched teams in the same division without the benefit of being able to draft everyone yourself. Player editing although less important is still annoying, since people have come to expect the ability to be able to move a player from left to right defensive end or outside linebacker to lineman and vice versa. Of course, had Madden done any research whatsoever they would have known how important many users find this feature. Full Review »
  2. Aug 28, 2012
    9
    This is probably the best Madden game ever on 7th gen. consoles. The new infinity engine is amazing, the graphics are improved, new, not so choppy, commentary from Jim Nantz and Phil Simms, and a CBS mixed with NFL Network game format. My only problems with the game are the lack of a fantasy draft in franchise mode, no create a team, and a confusing, but adaptable, menu. Overall, this game is a good buy for any football fan. Full Review »
  3. Aug 28, 2012
    1
    I almost think I have played this game before.

    Rented today, this is basically another roster update. If you want to buy a roster update
    and a one year subscription to online play, this is actually just for you. Not anything wrong with that, either. It is just due to the elongated console generation that these games seem really dusty. Plus, it is almost like EA has a solid hold on the NFL for some reason, I forget why. Full Review »