Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Sep 16, 2011
    70
    This highly polished new version of Magic The Gathering: Duels of the Planeswalkers, is a treat to play. It does not offer great depth or much freedom, but gives you a good and balanced taste of what a great game Magic can truly be.
  2. Jul 5, 2011
    70
    Magic the Gathering: Duels of the Planeswalkers 2012 is a decent game that may become a nice starting point for beginners. However, the most loyal fans of cards games will be annoyed by the limited customization capabilities of the decks.
  3. Jun 28, 2011
    70
    This is the best Magic game ever in terms of learning curve and tutorials, so it is a perfect way for newcomers to familiarize themselves with the world of Magic cards. But for seasoned Magic players, the game will not offer that much of a challenge.
  4. Jun 28, 2011
    70
    Magic The Gathering - Duels Of The Planeswalkers 2012 is a good reduction of the card game, despite many limitations in the customization of the deck. The experts of Magic The Gathering may find it too limited, but it's a fun and enjoyable game.
  5. 70
    Ideal for beginners and intermediate, but probably not advanced.
  6. Jun 20, 2011
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. Jun 25, 2011
    65
    Duels of the Planeswalkers 2012 offers fast, fun games of Magic: the Gathering, but is hampered by a less-than-ideal control scheme and limited deck building.
  8. Jun 22, 2011
    65
    For the experienced players, the game will likely bore you to tears and there's a chance you'll only see the glaring omissions and interface annoyances. I know I did, and I know I will never play this game again if I can help it. But I also know I'm not the audience for this game, and I simply have to accept that.
  9. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Aug 19, 2011
    60
    If you put in the time, or if you're already proficient with the rules and ways of Magic, there's a lot of fun to be had. [Issue#75, p.101]
  10. Jun 27, 2011
    60
    Duels of the Planeswalkers 2012 is indeed an enhanced version of the previous one, but it still holds the same shortcomings. Two in particular are particularly displeasing : no way to personally manage your mana, and no way to create your own decks with the cards of this edition. It still is an affordable and fun way to start playing Magic : The Gathering, or to enjoy casually a game or two once in a while against human players through the internet, despite its limited card collection and the two aforementioned flaws.
  11. Jul 4, 2011
    57
    Archenemy is a neat concept, but one which doesn't quite come off due to balance issues. So while DotP 2012 will provide an engaging distraction, it's unlikely to hold you spellbound.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Jun 15, 2011
    8
    Most of the changes made between the last "Duels of the Planeswalkers" and this one are superficial - sound effects, music, minor interfaceMost of the changes made between the last "Duels of the Planeswalkers" and this one are superficial - sound effects, music, minor interface tweaks to keep things flowing smoothly - but so far they have been making a huge impact on my enjoyment of this newer version. I had to turn the sound effects and music on the last version to 0 because they literally drove me insane, whereas now the music almost seems welcoming (and maybe that has yet to wear off, but I remember being put off initially by the music in the first one). Also in the last version the computer would skip your last main phase if it thought you had nothing to do, even if you had equipment or abilities you wanted to use, but now you can change options so that you can finish those last few decisions. 10 decks to start with is a lot better than the 8 from last time, but I still wish they would either let you build your own decks or simply give you more decks/extra cards to choose from (as of now only 16 unlocks per deck, and sometimes you unlock more than one at a time). I haven't tried Archenemy yet, but I know what it is and it doesn't seem like the kind of thing that would change my review. In any case, this is still the best option for playing Magic online, and is slightly superior to the last version they released. If you have the original DotP you might not think getting the 2012 edition is necessary, but for anyone looking for some new cards to play with and an enhanced overall feel look no further. Full Review »
  2. Aug 2, 2011
    9
    I will admit the customizing of the decks was improved over the very first Duels of the Planeswalkers that came out 2 years ago. The nice partI will admit the customizing of the decks was improved over the very first Duels of the Planeswalkers that came out 2 years ago. The nice part is that they've made things so much smoother in 2012. The slight graphics updates came as a wonderful transition as did the addition of Archenemy. The only part that brings this game down is that the soundtrack for this game is absolute garbage. The sound is needed for the most part so you know when you can do something if you're not paying close attention. But other then that this is one of the more enjoyable experiences on the XBLA. The "luck" portion balances out the "skill" portion very well. And the way the decks actually compliment one another and aren't at all overpowered makes any deck a winner. Just gotta know what you're doing. $10 well spent. Full Review »
  3. Dec 1, 2011
    9
    Magic 2012 is a solid game that is better than it's predecessor in every way. There are several fun game modes o choose from, and a decent,Magic 2012 is a solid game that is better than it's predecessor in every way. There are several fun game modes o choose from, and a decent, if not overly-similar selection of decks. The graphics are as simple as you'd expect from a card game and the music is a vast improvement over the last Magic title (which was ear-splittingly awful). However, online matches tend to drop, and AI difficulty can be inconsistent, so I have to ding the game a point or two on that count. However, replayability is where the game really shines, with several hours worth of battles and challenges, plus regular DLC, it will keep you coming back again and again. Overall this game gets an 8.5/10 (rounded up) and recognition as one of the best values on XBLA. Full Review »