User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 2 out of 21

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 15, 2011
    8
    Most of the changes made between the last "Duels of the Planeswalkers" and this one are superficial - sound effects, music, minor interface tweaks to keep things flowing smoothly - but so far they have been making a huge impact on my enjoyment of this newer version. I had to turn the sound effects and music on the last version to 0 because they literally drove me insane, whereas now theMost of the changes made between the last "Duels of the Planeswalkers" and this one are superficial - sound effects, music, minor interface tweaks to keep things flowing smoothly - but so far they have been making a huge impact on my enjoyment of this newer version. I had to turn the sound effects and music on the last version to 0 because they literally drove me insane, whereas now the music almost seems welcoming (and maybe that has yet to wear off, but I remember being put off initially by the music in the first one). Also in the last version the computer would skip your last main phase if it thought you had nothing to do, even if you had equipment or abilities you wanted to use, but now you can change options so that you can finish those last few decisions. 10 decks to start with is a lot better than the 8 from last time, but I still wish they would either let you build your own decks or simply give you more decks/extra cards to choose from (as of now only 16 unlocks per deck, and sometimes you unlock more than one at a time). I haven't tried Archenemy yet, but I know what it is and it doesn't seem like the kind of thing that would change my review. In any case, this is still the best option for playing Magic online, and is slightly superior to the last version they released. If you have the original DotP you might not think getting the 2012 edition is necessary, but for anyone looking for some new cards to play with and an enhanced overall feel look no further. Expand
  2. Aug 2, 2011
    9
    I will admit the customizing of the decks was improved over the very first Duels of the Planeswalkers that came out 2 years ago. The nice part is that they've made things so much smoother in 2012. The slight graphics updates came as a wonderful transition as did the addition of Archenemy. The only part that brings this game down is that the soundtrack for this game is absolute garbage. TheI will admit the customizing of the decks was improved over the very first Duels of the Planeswalkers that came out 2 years ago. The nice part is that they've made things so much smoother in 2012. The slight graphics updates came as a wonderful transition as did the addition of Archenemy. The only part that brings this game down is that the soundtrack for this game is absolute garbage. The sound is needed for the most part so you know when you can do something if you're not paying close attention. But other then that this is one of the more enjoyable experiences on the XBLA. The "luck" portion balances out the "skill" portion very well. And the way the decks actually compliment one another and aren't at all overpowered makes any deck a winner. Just gotta know what you're doing. $10 well spent. Expand
  3. Jun 28, 2011
    9
    Magic the gathering duels of the planeswalkers 2012 is the second Magic game on xbox 360 arcade. This game, like the first magic game on 360 is awesome. First let me get to the positives. The new campaign lay out makes the single player more stylish. The new cards, decks, and abilities is a welcome addition. The art style and music are great as expected. Playing the game also unlocksMagic the gathering duels of the planeswalkers 2012 is the second Magic game on xbox 360 arcade. This game, like the first magic game on 360 is awesome. First let me get to the positives. The new campaign lay out makes the single player more stylish. The new cards, decks, and abilities is a welcome addition. The art style and music are great as expected. Playing the game also unlocks avatar awards. That's is always welcome in my book. There are also online multiplayer modes and the new archenemy mode to keep you busy. Although archenemy is in my opinion way to hard. Now the negatives. The game is not backward compatible. After spending so much time and money buying new decks and unlocking new cards in the first duels of the planeswalkers that having to start over is kind of upsetting. The only other bad thing I can say is that there is no story. Follow me on twitter @thetruthbites and visit my videogame blog videogameswiththetruth.blogspot.com Expand
  4. Jun 26, 2011
    10
    10 out of 10 easy. Why? If you liked the Magic the Gathering card game or if you are a newcomer looking to try out the game it is defiantly worth the ten dollars. It is simple fun (with basic rules) and tests your wits against your opponents. DLC for more decks and an extended Campaign have already been confirmed and it already has 3 campaigns lasting about 2-10 hours (if not more) each.10 out of 10 easy. Why? If you liked the Magic the Gathering card game or if you are a newcomer looking to try out the game it is defiantly worth the ten dollars. It is simple fun (with basic rules) and tests your wits against your opponents. DLC for more decks and an extended Campaign have already been confirmed and it already has 3 campaigns lasting about 2-10 hours (if not more) each. Arch enemy is good coop fun when you go against an AI superhuman with two of your buddies (or two AI bots is you don`t have friends). The AI is not always the smartest (even on normal or "Archmage") but will do for a simple card game. Don't get me wrong the AI have pulled off things where I thought I won but then the tides change and they end up winning. I recommend that you play this game as an online game and not single player experience. Expand
  5. Sep 20, 2011
    8
    This is magic the gathering for when you can't find anyone in real life to play with. Don't take that the wrong way, it serves a great introduction to new players and a fun albeit dumb downed version of the classic table top game. I often see either me or my wife playing this title when ever the others to tired to play the real thing. There's not a lot of customizing to be had, and it'sThis is magic the gathering for when you can't find anyone in real life to play with. Don't take that the wrong way, it serves a great introduction to new players and a fun albeit dumb downed version of the classic table top game. I often see either me or my wife playing this title when ever the others to tired to play the real thing. There's not a lot of customizing to be had, and it's not much different from the last version of the Planeswalkers, except for a few new modes. Still a lot of fun to be had. Note you can not make your own decks in this version either. Expand
  6. Dec 1, 2011
    9
    Magic 2012 is a solid game that is better than it's predecessor in every way. There are several fun game modes o choose from, and a decent, if not overly-similar selection of decks. The graphics are as simple as you'd expect from a card game and the music is a vast improvement over the last Magic title (which was ear-splittingly awful). However, online matches tend to drop, and AIMagic 2012 is a solid game that is better than it's predecessor in every way. There are several fun game modes o choose from, and a decent, if not overly-similar selection of decks. The graphics are as simple as you'd expect from a card game and the music is a vast improvement over the last Magic title (which was ear-splittingly awful). However, online matches tend to drop, and AI difficulty can be inconsistent, so I have to ding the game a point or two on that count. However, replayability is where the game really shines, with several hours worth of battles and challenges, plus regular DLC, it will keep you coming back again and again. Overall this game gets an 8.5/10 (rounded up) and recognition as one of the best values on XBLA. Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Oct 12, 2011
    81
    While Magic 2012 can be entertaining for those who play online, it really serves more as an expanded training program for anyone who has thought about delving into the real game.
  2. Sep 16, 2011
    70
    This highly polished new version of Magic The Gathering: Duels of the Planeswalkers, is a treat to play. It does not offer great depth or much freedom, but gives you a good and balanced taste of what a great game Magic can truly be.
  3. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Aug 19, 2011
    60
    If you put in the time, or if you're already proficient with the rules and ways of Magic, there's a lot of fun to be had. [Issue#75, p.101]