Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Dec 20, 2010
    95
    It truly is one of those special games that not many will discover, but those that do will fall in love with it. Like I have.
  2. Dec 20, 2010
    90
    If you enjoy rich worlds, interesting stories and endearing characters, however, I implore you: don't let this pass you by.
  3. Dec 20, 2010
    90
    I have no hesitation in saying that Majin & The Forsaken Kingdom is one of the most memorable, enjoyable games I've played this year.
  4. Dec 16, 2010
    90
    Majin and the Forsaken Kingdom is a polished and entertaining action adventure.
  5. Dec 16, 2010
    90
    Majin represents another superb release from them and at a super aggressive price of $40 and lower, there's absolutely no reason you shouldn't pick this game up.
  6. Dec 20, 2010
    89
    Overlook Majin and the Forsaken Kingdom and you risk missing out on a thoroughly enjoyable experience.
  7. Jan 4, 2011
    85
    Majin is a special game, a fantastic adventure with great "puzzle solving", combat and endearing characters.
  8. Feb 8, 2011
    84
    In many ways, Majin and the Foresaken Kingdom feels very much like Enslaved to me. It's a fantastic, gorgeous game that is pretty flawed but is still a joy to play.
  9. A confident and oddly fresh-feeling adventure, packed with oodles of unusual charm.
  10. 80
    Majin and the Forsaken Kingdom is a striking adventure, marred only by ever so slightly niggling platform jumping and possibly a bit too much backtracking through locations you've already visited.
  11. Jan 3, 2011
    80
    Certainly, one of the best games I've played this year. Majin is that great, I've forgiven Game Republic for Clash of the Titans. That's right, you've read correctly…forgiven forever.
  12. Dec 20, 2010
    80
    It is a lengthy adventure with a wonderful story that will keep you entertained through most of the game.
  13. Dec 20, 2010
    80
    Majin and the Forsaken Kingdom may lack the polish required to elevate it to triple-A status but its sense of adventure and exploration remain strong.
  14. Dec 20, 2010
    80
    While I may not look back at it much in the coming years, right here and now, Majin is easily one of favorites of 2010 easily worth the measly $40 it takes to lock down one of the best buddy/puzzle games I've played all year.
  15. Dec 20, 2010
    80
    The beautiful settings, excellent puzzles and killer boss battles easily make up for the game's few shortcomings. If you can get past the cover, you'll find an adventure worth taking – one that might just be the sleeper hit of the year.
  16. Dec 16, 2010
    80
    There is also a fair amount of backtracking, and the game doesn't always point you in the right direction, which is more annoying when you accidentally leave one area for a few seconds only to come back and find that the enemies you just beat have magically returned. If these kind of ancient gaming weaknesses don't bother you, then Majin will deliver an experience that you won't soon forget – even if the rest of the world does.
  17. Dec 14, 2010
    80
    Majin and the Forsaken Kingdom is certainly worth playing. The quest is rather lengthy, especially given today's standards of single-player game length, and it remains enjoyable in both combat and exploration despite the occasional instances of backtracking.
  18. Jan 2, 2011
    78
    Majin and the Forsaken Kingdom is a very interesting experiment that will please all the lovers of action and puzzles games with a good tactical depth thanks to the interaction possibilities between the two main characters. Too bad for the dated visuals, the frequent backtracking sections and pace drops in the gameplay.
  19. Mar 16, 2011
    76
    The game is quite enjoyable but the backtracking, sound work, finicky control scheme and unnecessary fight sequences drained much of the enjoyment I experienced.
  20. Jan 4, 2011
    75
    Majin and the Forsaken Kingdom is surely not a perfect game but deserves your attention. If you take good care of your ingame friends, then you will experience a great adventure that will take you about 25 hours to complete.
  21. Jan 3, 2011
    75
    It's a beautiful tale of friendship, with many puzles and great ideas. But it lacks an interesting combat system, it has some boring momentos and fails to make use of all the good ideas it has. The game had potential to fare much better than this, but in the end it's an entertaining and different experience.
  22. Jan 3, 2011
    75
    The expectations on Majin and The Forsaken Kingdom have to be redimensioned. The storytelling is "only" good despite the potential. On the other side gameplay works really well and, despite a lack in challenge, the game is really interesting.
  23. Jan 3, 2011
    75
    An interesting setting and some fascinating gameplay mechanics are not enough. From halfway through the campaign, you'll start to feel the repetitiviness of it all, and the flaws in the level design utterly spoil the fun.
  24. Dec 20, 2010
    75
    It's simple, command system, intricate puzzels and solid combat make it an intriguing offering the only area in which it falters is the boss battles which simple don't provide a big enough challenge, despite their size.
  25. Dec 20, 2010
    75
    The interplay between the A.I. character and the player character for both puzzle solving and combat adds layers to the gameplay, and the story has its moments. But this definitely isn't "Ico 2."
  26. 75
    But as long as you can withstand a bit of busywork here and there for the sake of an endearing comrade and a satisfying conclusion to his 15-hour adventure, you'll easily forgive Majin its foibles.
  27. Dec 14, 2010
    75
    Majin and the Forbidden Kingdom has its fair share of strengths and weakness, but its strong points easily overpower many of its flaws. If you're on the prowl for a budget title that appeals to kids and really anyone else, look no further.
  28. Dec 20, 2010
    71
    It doesn't quite reach Ico's levels of quality, but it emulates the formula well enough. This is one friend request you should give careful consideration to.
  29. 70
    Fabulous trip to fight against the darkness is quite a success. Simple combat system and easy puzzles are challenging for younger players only. [Issue#200]
  30. Jan 3, 2011
    70
    Majin and the Forsaken Kingdom is a sweet and charming action-adventure, partially ruined by a shallow level and combat design.
  31. 70
    Good action-adventure games for the HD consoles don't grow on trees. Majin will certainly fill a genre gap.
  32. Dec 20, 2010
    70
    Much more than a poor man's Ico, the low tech presentation hides a consistently charming and well constructed puzzle adventure.
  33. Dec 20, 2010
    70
    Majin and the Forsaken Kingdom tells a sad but clichéd tale with an endearing giant and his friend at the helm of it.
  34. Dec 20, 2010
    70
    Majin and the Forsaken Kingdom thrives on the power of clever puzzles and the enjoyable simplicity of combat. Awkward moments of backtracking and horrible voice-acting are nearly forgotten in the ensuing moments of pride and the excitement of uncovering hidden items.
  35. Dec 20, 2010
    70
    Simplistic combat and tedious backtracking don't fully diminish the pleasures of this attractive and festive fable.
  36. Dec 20, 2010
    70
    Game Republic's effort lacks polish and elegance, but, thanks to charm and the in-built strength of its setup, it is an experience worth partnering with.
  37. Dec 17, 2010
    70
    Majin and the Forsaken Kingdom is not going to replace your action adventure staples like "Zelda" franchise, but its has its own charm that is unique to this property, making it an excellent alternative to the more known action adventure styled games.
  38. 70
    While Majin gets a recommendation, it's a cautious one - you have to have the stomach for Cartoon Network voices, a preference for puzzles and exploration over combat, and the patience to double back on yourself. If you've got all that, then Majin will give you an extremely fair slice of entertainment.
  39. Dec 16, 2010
    70
    Still, Majin and the Forsaken Kingdom has enough uniqueness in its execution that it's not forgettable. At a good 10 to 15 hours, there's plenty of gameplay for the budget price that the game is offered at ($39.99). It's definitely better for younger gamers, but still a solid choice for anyone looking for a good adventure.
  40. Feb 23, 2011
    65
    For everyone who ever thought that commanding a beast can only be great, this game demonstrates otherwise. It has good points but they are few and far between.
  41. Jan 3, 2011
    65
    Some flaws in its gameplay conception make the game frustrating sometimes, and although it offers about fiften hours in its main adventure and some secrets to discover, it doesn't add up much more extras to foster replayability.
  42. Feb 8, 2011
    60
    Majin and the Forsaken Kingdom offers up a solid 15 hours of play, with potentially several more hours if you're one for exploration. While the game's combat and A.I. controlled Majin feature-set is the more unique aspect of the game, it's the exploration and puzzle solving that takes precedence, and if you prefer combat over puzzles/exploration then Majin may certainly wear thin sooner than anticipated.
  43. Dec 20, 2010
    60
    Majin and the Forsaken Kingdom could have been a great game. Its touching characters and well crafted gameplay make it a good game, blessed with a distinct personality. That's always something, but the concept lacks any sort of innovation. Even though you've most probably already played something very similar, you'll probably cruise through the 15-or-so hours of the game with ease, to discover the end of this friendship story.
  44. Dec 16, 2010
    58
    I admire the developer's attempt to present a story and puzzles where partnership and collusion are the principle themes and while I was playing it I genuinely enjoyed working through each area and finding the collectible items. By the end, I found that I was more than ready to wrap it up and put its boring combat, snoozer story, and shaky production quality to rest for good.
  45. Dec 24, 2010
    50
    A bland adventure game in which a nameless hero asks a dumb ancient creature to do his bidding. [Issue#66, p.88]
  46. Dec 20, 2010
    50
    The overall gameplay is on track, at least with a forsaken kingdom filled with a balanced mix of puzzling, platforming, sneaking, and fighting. But stretching the aesthetic elements, the toddler-hand-holding relationship that will grow between you and the Majin, or those damn talking animals will wear extremely thin.
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Oct 8, 2012
    10
    The epitome of excellence - Majin and the forsaken kingdom is possibly one of the most inspired and most original creations this generation it seamlessly blends single player adventure with AI assisted co-op and although upon first looks this game might seem childish you shouldn Full Review »
  2. Dec 21, 2010
    9
    Game for everybody , you'll enjoy in adventures, puzzles , exploring new ruins, fighting. This epic story is every thing what you need from a game, You'll fall in love with your characters - majin and tepeu . Go a head with this game, My score 8.7 is because of graphics and sound what I don't care in this game, I feel like a kid again Full Review »
  3. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    Maiin and the Forsaken Kingdom surprised the hell out of me. I bought it at amazon for 22.99 on BF and wow the games just amazes me. The world detail is so vividly imaginative and descriptive it often reminds me of my first time entering into the Shivering Ilse's back on The Elder Scrolls. Noting the reference, don't be mistaken that this game plays or actually looks anything like Oblivion since it doesn't. Moreover it's not suppose to. Game Republic has crafted a gem of its own that will be often compared with games like Ico and perhaps even Zelda, but the story bond between gamer and characters has truly been mastered in the senses that if one of the characters died (as in story line) then you would shed a tear or two (something movies can hardly ever achieve). Lastly following my last sentence I want to note that is not a spoiler of any kind, for all you or I know they could die Majin and the main character, or they could live and save the Kingdom from ultimate darkness. Hence, I will not go into plot details or anything of the sorts since the games itself is to be best played going in blind and discovering the world and it's mysteries for yourself. Please buy this game whenever you get the opportunity since this has been Game Republic's finest game and its company truly needs the funds after the utter fail of Folklore on the PS3. (fail as in sales) Full Review »