User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    Maiin and the Forsaken Kingdom surprised the hell out of me. I bought it at amazon for 22.99 on BF and wow the games just amazes me. The world detail is so vividly imaginative and descriptive it often reminds me of my first time entering into the Shivering Ilse's back on The Elder Scrolls. Noting the reference, don't be mistaken that this game plays or actually looks anything like OblivionMaiin and the Forsaken Kingdom surprised the hell out of me. I bought it at amazon for 22.99 on BF and wow the games just amazes me. The world detail is so vividly imaginative and descriptive it often reminds me of my first time entering into the Shivering Ilse's back on The Elder Scrolls. Noting the reference, don't be mistaken that this game plays or actually looks anything like Oblivion since it doesn't. Moreover it's not suppose to. Game Republic has crafted a gem of its own that will be often compared with games like Ico and perhaps even Zelda, but the story bond between gamer and characters has truly been mastered in the senses that if one of the characters died (as in story line) then you would shed a tear or two (something movies can hardly ever achieve). Lastly following my last sentence I want to note that is not a spoiler of any kind, for all you or I know they could die Majin and the main character, or they could live and save the Kingdom from ultimate darkness. Hence, I will not go into plot details or anything of the sorts since the games itself is to be best played going in blind and discovering the world and it's mysteries for yourself. Please buy this game whenever you get the opportunity since this has been Game Republic's finest game and its company truly needs the funds after the utter fail of Folklore on the PS3. (fail as in sales) Expand
  2. Dec 21, 2010
    9
    Game for everybody , you'll enjoy in adventures, puzzles , exploring new ruins, fighting. This epic story is every thing what you need from a game, You'll fall in love with your characters - majin and tepeu . Go a head with this game, My score 8.7 is because of graphics and sound what I don't care in this game, I feel like a kid again
  3. Oct 8, 2012
    10
    The epitome of excellence - Majin and the forsaken kingdom is possibly one of the most inspired and most original creations this generation it seamlessly blends single player adventure with AI assisted co-op and although upon first looks this game might seem childish you shouldn
  4. Dec 16, 2010
    9
    How a game of this quality get's released with so little promotion is beyond me. I picked this one up brand new two weeks after it was released for $30, but don't think this is some kind of budget title because it isn't. So far this is my nominee for sleeper hit of the year (or at least my nominee for Best Game Nobody Knows About) I enjoyed every part of this game. The graphics, while theyHow a game of this quality get's released with so little promotion is beyond me. I picked this one up brand new two weeks after it was released for $30, but don't think this is some kind of budget title because it isn't. So far this is my nominee for sleeper hit of the year (or at least my nominee for Best Game Nobody Knows About) I enjoyed every part of this game. The graphics, while they aren't going to win any awards, are colorful and pleasing to the eye. The Majin is a charming companion and what starts off as a simple "darkness takes over the land" tale quickly becomes an intimate and thoughtful journey of two misunderstood black sheep as they explore the ruins of a once great kingdom while becoming inseparable friends. But this isn't simply a kid's title. Instead, this game can be enjoyed by anyone old enough to understand how to use a controller.

    Mix two parts Metroid, one part Ico (except your companion is actually useful!), add a bit of fairy tale seasonings and some enjoyable, but not too hard platforming puzzles to flavor, and you basically have this game in a nut shell!
    Expand
  5. Dec 5, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Majin and the Forsaken Kingdom is My favorite one of this year.
    I love that characters, story, gameplay, battle and puzzles.
    I hope "Majin and the Forsaken Kingdom 2"
    Expand
  6. Apr 21, 2012
    10
    tres bon jeu , un peu trop violent pour les enfants surtout la décomposition des monstres, les pouvoirs de manji sont bien imaginés l idée de pouvoir etre regénéré par manji est génial
  7. Jan 27, 2013
    10
    Great adventure cooperative game .I always dislikes Japanese style of games ( eg. evil may cry , byonetta , mgs ) but this one and Enslaved: Odyssey to the West are remarkable Everyone who spend more then two hours with this will not disappointed at all this is piece of art , believe me :)
  8. Feb 4, 2015
    0
    This game is something else. Points for originality, but god damnit.... this is bad. Like relentlessly bad right down to the core. In this game you are an ineffective melee fighter/acrobat with terrible combat controls and imprecise and unreliable jumping controls. You are followed constantly by a large ogre-like creature with the IQ of a lifeless rock. The Ai is coded intentionallyThis game is something else. Points for originality, but god damnit.... this is bad. Like relentlessly bad right down to the core. In this game you are an ineffective melee fighter/acrobat with terrible combat controls and imprecise and unreliable jumping controls. You are followed constantly by a large ogre-like creature with the IQ of a lifeless rock. The Ai is coded intentionally terribly makin the ogre (Majin) fall over nothing with an audible "ouch!" slowing you down at every turn. And guess what? This idiot creature is your only means of actual combat. He has some powerful attacks, but the AI has been crippled so badly that he can never ever hit with his basic or magic attacks. This results in fight after fight of frustration and tediousness when you try to get this giant moron to hit something. The game knows how terrible the combat is and has achievements/trophies for performing ten of each "elemental finishers" which basically require you to combo multiple enemies into stun mode using a very limited amount of magic.... that never ever hits. Resulting in achievements that are actually impossible to get as they are coded. This is one of the worst games I've played in my entire life. Fu*k. This. Game. Expand
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Mar 16, 2011
    76
    The game is quite enjoyable but the backtracking, sound work, finicky control scheme and unnecessary fight sequences drained much of the enjoyment I experienced.
  2. 70
    Fabulous trip to fight against the darkness is quite a success. Simple combat system and easy puzzles are challenging for younger players only. [Issue#200]
  3. Feb 23, 2011
    65
    For everyone who ever thought that commanding a beast can only be great, this game demonstrates otherwise. It has good points but they are few and far between.