User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 146 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 146

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 8, 2010
    10
    A bit expensive at 800 Microsoft points ($10), this DLC is worth the cost. Not only do you get some important story and character development, you also get a lot of useful resources, including credits. This will be most useful if you are not already at the end of a game, or if you are playing through again (the DLC starts on Illium, FYI). Easily my favorite ME2 mission DLC thus farA bit expensive at 800 Microsoft points ($10), this DLC is worth the cost. Not only do you get some important story and character development, you also get a lot of useful resources, including credits. This will be most useful if you are not already at the end of a game, or if you are playing through again (the DLC starts on Illium, FYI). Easily my favorite ME2 mission DLC thus far (beating out Zaeed, Hammerhead, Kasumi, and Overlord missions). Expand
  2. Sep 8, 2010
    10
    Lair is by far the best DLC for ME2 and possible the best DLC I've ever played for any game. The DLC follows the new Mass Effect tradition of incorporating events from past games into dialogue unique for your character. I noticed a significant difference between playing my female renegade (who had a relationship with Liara in ME1) and my male paragon (who didn't have a relationship withLair is by far the best DLC for ME2 and possible the best DLC I've ever played for any game. The DLC follows the new Mass Effect tradition of incorporating events from past games into dialogue unique for your character. I noticed a significant difference between playing my female renegade (who had a relationship with Liara in ME1) and my male paragon (who didn't have a relationship with Liara). It was almost like playing two different games. Lair also introduces a few new elements to game play such as the taxi mini-game Illium. This DLC is exactly what the franchise needs going into ME3. Expand
  3. Sep 8, 2010
    10
    After beating this DLC I can say, that now I was playing whole ME2, best DLC and 100% worth of 800 ms / bio points, great story, great action and ... of course Liara :)
  4. Sep 28, 2010
    9
    This add on is by far the best add on Mass Effect 2 has to offer. It is quite lengthy for a piece of DLC and it has a fun story. If you had a romance with Liara and want to catch up on that or if you just want to find out who the shadow broker is then you should download this. It will expand your knowledge of the Mass Effect universe. I would say it is well worth the price.
  5. Sep 9, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have never before purchased a games DLC as usually once i complete it i lose interest or the price tag is too high. However, as soon as I realised that this was bridging content to Mass effect 3 and that you can carry on your Liara relationship, I knew that I was going to buy it. This DLC has very high production values, the voice acting is top notch and it has some awesome locations. The two bosses you encounter are very different, and challenging in different ways. Once you complete it you also get a whole set of bonus things that you can view and interact with, one such is dossiers on most of the game's important characters. Some of which, especially the Legion dossiers are quite funny. Overall, I would highly recommend getting this DLC as it is very good and will also affect the Mass effect 3 universe probably in a big way. Go buy it! Expand
  6. Oct 27, 2010
    7
    Despite this DLC being of a very high standard with a unique game play section not in original game, a couple of good boss battles and some nifty, excellently realized cut scenes i can ignore the feeling of disappointment that I completed all this new content in one night. I remember buying the Shivering Isles DLC for Oblivion and being kept busy for weeks, given all the very high reviewDespite this DLC being of a very high standard with a unique game play section not in original game, a couple of good boss battles and some nifty, excellently realized cut scenes i can ignore the feeling of disappointment that I completed all this new content in one night. I remember buying the Shivering Isles DLC for Oblivion and being kept busy for weeks, given all the very high review scores that is what I was expecting here, perhaps I should have dug a little deeper and read more reviews. If you are reading this now I guess you are. You should know that the content is excellent, but its short 2-3 (very enjoyable) hours I reckon. Expand
  7. Mar 10, 2012
    9
    Out of all the DLC I've played for Mass Effect 2 this is the best, it's the longest and has the best story and gameplay, and is kind of an extension of the main quest and carries over into Mass Effect 3, this is a must have DLC, especially if you romanced Liarra in the first Mass Effect, but even if your like me and didn't romance her this is still worth the purchase and a must have, IOut of all the DLC I've played for Mass Effect 2 this is the best, it's the longest and has the best story and gameplay, and is kind of an extension of the main quest and carries over into Mass Effect 3, this is a must have DLC, especially if you romanced Liarra in the first Mass Effect, but even if your like me and didn't romance her this is still worth the purchase and a must have, I don't want to spoil anything but it has some extremely awesome moments, my only complaints are the ones I have with Mass Effect 2, I highly recommend you wont be disappointed. Expand
  8. Sep 9, 2010
    10
    Very solid DLC. Fully rendered cut-scenes, great dialogue, great set-pieces. If you only buy one piece of DLC for ME2, this is it. Head and shoulders above any other DLC Bioware has released. I've played through it three times. It's episodic gaming at it's finest.
  9. Sep 18, 2010
    10
    A truly exceptional piece of DLC from Bioware if a bit pricey at 800 msp (but that's EA's doing). This being the first bridging DLC from ME2 to ME3 I was very keen to experience it and was not disappointed. It brings new elements to the game play such as high speed pursuits and some mouth watering new locations. The narrative itself is typical Bioware: brilliant. Plot twists will keep youA truly exceptional piece of DLC from Bioware if a bit pricey at 800 msp (but that's EA's doing). This being the first bridging DLC from ME2 to ME3 I was very keen to experience it and was not disappointed. It brings new elements to the game play such as high speed pursuits and some mouth watering new locations. The narrative itself is typical Bioware: brilliant. Plot twists will keep you interested (if the idea of visiting the shadow broker hasn't already) whilst the stunning cinematic scenes and boss battles make it memorable. A must buy for any Mass Effect fan. Expand
  10. Oct 1, 2010
    10
    This is simply an amazing dlc. The combat is still incredibly fun, the story is astounding, and it bridges Mass Effect 2 to Mass Effect 3. You simply cannot find a better dlc then this.
  11. Oct 15, 2010
    9
    This is definetely the best DLC for Mass Effect 2 yet. (This was written on the 16th October 2010) BioWare really wanted all of their fans to be pleased by adding storytelling, action, plot, old/classic charactors, and those beloved choices that Shepard comes across 'every now and then'. The only piece of negative feedback i can give is that it's pretty pricy, even with all of it'sThis is definetely the best DLC for Mass Effect 2 yet. (This was written on the 16th October 2010) BioWare really wanted all of their fans to be pleased by adding storytelling, action, plot, old/classic charactors, and those beloved choices that Shepard comes across 'every now and then'. The only piece of negative feedback i can give is that it's pretty pricy, even with all of it's content. This doesn't mean to say that it's not worth checking out, i'm just saying you should be careful with how you spend your money on Mass Effect's DLC's. Expand
  12. Apr 29, 2011
    10
    Nearing the end of the game, I debated buying this....I don't like handing cash over for DLC when games are already so overpriced. In this case, however, I'm glad I did. This is by far the best DLC I've ever played, and easily one of the funnest missions in Mass Effect 2. The effects of the environment are incredible, and this DLC is very important in character development for Liara.Nearing the end of the game, I debated buying this....I don't like handing cash over for DLC when games are already so overpriced. In this case, however, I'm glad I did. This is by far the best DLC I've ever played, and easily one of the funnest missions in Mass Effect 2. The effects of the environment are incredible, and this DLC is very important in character development for Liara. The level creation was so amazing, I really hope whoever was the lead designer for this DLC is in a leadership position for Mass Effect 3. Awesome experience. Expand
  13. Feb 15, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Though a bit short, the wonderfully humorous dialogue with great combat makes this worthwhile, and it bridges onto Mass Effect 3 (Or so I've been told). Better yet is that the humour doesn't detract from the seriousness of the story *cough*Fable3*cough*, but what really takes the cakes is the combat, it is incredible fun, somehow better maybe because of the level layout, but mainly because of the fantastic boss battles. You even get to take in a spectre! So what if this is a bit short, all of the other qualities it has makes it worth your time. Kudos to you, Bioware! Expand
  14. Jul 21, 2011
    10
    The rare DLC that maintains the high quality of the original game. LoSB is as good as ME2 which means a lot. Environments are varied and beautiful and charting the development of Liara as a character is interesting. In terms of length, it is longer than any previous DLC clocking in at 2-4 hours. After completion, the player is granted access to nuggets of information about the ME universe,The rare DLC that maintains the high quality of the original game. LoSB is as good as ME2 which means a lot. Environments are varied and beautiful and charting the development of Liara as a character is interesting. In terms of length, it is longer than any previous DLC clocking in at 2-4 hours. After completion, the player is granted access to nuggets of information about the ME universe, a love letter to fans. Expand
  15. Mar 21, 2012
    9
    I thought this was great, best DLC to come from mass effect universe. Additional time with liara, and more paragon/renegade points. With an interesting speeder chase through ilium. Tons of credits for the taking here. and interesting story additions and conversations aswell. Also shadow broker base DLC was worth seeing just for the scenery while on the ship. interesting new character andI thought this was great, best DLC to come from mass effect universe. Additional time with liara, and more paragon/renegade points. With an interesting speeder chase through ilium. Tons of credits for the taking here. and interesting story additions and conversations aswell. Also shadow broker base DLC was worth seeing just for the scenery while on the ship. interesting new character and profiles on the yahg aswell. Definatley a worth buy especially if youve have a points card for your birthday. Expand
  16. Mar 9, 2013
    9
    The fans asked for it, Bioware delivered. And they made their best piece of DLC for any of their games. Lair of the Shadow Broken gives you a chance to go on a mission to find the mysterious Shadow Broker with your old friend (or lover) Liara, in beautiful environments, while listening to some hilarious throwbacks to the original Mass Effect and even gives you a chance to rekindle yourThe fans asked for it, Bioware delivered. And they made their best piece of DLC for any of their games. Lair of the Shadow Broken gives you a chance to go on a mission to find the mysterious Shadow Broker with your old friend (or lover) Liara, in beautiful environments, while listening to some hilarious throwbacks to the original Mass Effect and even gives you a chance to rekindle your romance with your blue companion. When the mission is over, you have access to a little hub, which gives you resources, files on your squadmates and funny video footage of characters from the game. It is well worth the 800 Microsoft Points, you just can't miss it. Expand
  17. Dec 14, 2012
    9
    Fantastic DLC. Just so much content. Offering the chance to continue the Liara romance was a great touch. Overall: No complaints, a great DLC that should be a mandatory purchase.
  18. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The best DLC ever. The creative, tense and diversity in this DLC is just, amazing. Liara is my LI, so the chance to peek into her apartment is like a wet dream for me. You have two unique boss fights, one car chasing play, and the view of the shadow broker ship is, wow, awesome. The story makes sense and believable. The character design is out of chart. I love Liara!! The content of this DLC worthy the money, buy it, play it. Expand
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Games Master UK
    Dec 25, 2010
    83
    A brilliant add on so pivotal to Mass Effect lore it's hard to see how BioWare can lead into the final part of the trilogy without forcing everybody to play this first. [Issue#232, p.85]
  2. It's the perfect blend of something old, and something new, something borrowed, and something blue.
  3. Biowares DLC hasn't been all that great, but Lair of the Shadow Broker is just awesome and really adds something to the story. It should not be missed by any Mass Effect fan.