User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3262 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. HarveyB
    Feb 3, 2010
    10
    Mass Effect 2 is an exceptional game in which it surpasses the original in so many aspects. The graphics have taken a jump since Mass Effect. technical hiccups, such as the long elevator loading times have also been eliminated. The story is one of the greatest in Sci-Fi action gaming and can hold its own with the likes of Star Wars and Star Trek. as a Xbox 360 owner, do yourself the favor Mass Effect 2 is an exceptional game in which it surpasses the original in so many aspects. The graphics have taken a jump since Mass Effect. technical hiccups, such as the long elevator loading times have also been eliminated. The story is one of the greatest in Sci-Fi action gaming and can hold its own with the likes of Star Wars and Star Trek. as a Xbox 360 owner, do yourself the favor and get this game. It is an enriching space opera in which you, the player are the person who makes all the decisions and will ultimately, save the galaxy. Game of the year in January? most likely. Expand
  2. Wulfenstein
    Feb 5, 2010
    8
    Well what can I say another game with huge hype but nothing really when you get to play it. I didn't get to play the first one just heard from word of mouth really but didn't get interested in it and gee sex scenes in games there borig enough in movies let alone in games and it's a crappy selling point to push a product ooo thers's a sex scene or you see some actress Well what can I say another game with huge hype but nothing really when you get to play it. I didn't get to play the first one just heard from word of mouth really but didn't get interested in it and gee sex scenes in games there borig enough in movies let alone in games and it's a crappy selling point to push a product ooo thers's a sex scene or you see some actress naked whoopiee...Anyway I bought the ME2 yes I agree kinda kool having your own ship recruiting your own crew kinda remined me of the series Firefly, you get to fly every where kinda like KOTOR..The controls felt stiff like GRAW they should have used the movement like RB6 V2 or Rogue Trooper the chracter has flexability to move in the enviroment..The team controls or team AI dumb seen better on RB6 V2 and The conflict series games..No destructable enviroments seen so much of it lately to have a game with nothing in it kinda felt weird..Graphics could have been alot better after seeing GOW 2, COD MW 1,2, Dead Space...Weapons not much upgrading there and the sysstems is untidy rather than keep going back into upgrade everytime you should be able to select what you want or can afford then close the screen..Whats with the planet scanning and probe man truthfully I feel asleep and the only reason I woke up is because my game pad vibrated to tell me that it found something..If your gonna send probes out at least we could find a lost base or a crashed ship or something not boring mining whatever it is..Or you scan a planet and it glows in different areas what minerals are there and you just slect areas and send out multiprobes at once half the time and gets you back into the game..There no close combat weapons most of the time the enemy comes towards you wanna do more than buttstroke with your weapon you wanna goto to town with a energy sword or chainsaw and just hack and move on. Guess maybe they do better in number 3 see what happens. Expand
  3. TimD
    Feb 5, 2010
    9
    EA is a greedy company that ruins video games by "stream lining" it, which is a euphemism for "dumbed down". This is not Mass Effect, it's Gears of War with dialog trees. On my First play through as a Vanguard on veteran difficulty, I felt that skills were such an after thought that all I ended up doing was shooting as if I were playing a cookie cutter TPS. Had I rated this game EA is a greedy company that ruins video games by "stream lining" it, which is a euphemism for "dumbed down". This is not Mass Effect, it's Gears of War with dialog trees. On my First play through as a Vanguard on veteran difficulty, I felt that skills were such an after thought that all I ended up doing was shooting as if I were playing a cookie cutter TPS. Had I rated this game after I beat it I probably would have given it a 7/10, but when I went back and played as a sentinel on insane difficulty, it finally felt more like an RPG with TPS elements, also known as Mass Effect. They promised that our decisions in the first would be significant in the 2nd, but WOW were they lieing. Like you would think the decision to let the council live or die would be a game changer, but no... only difference is 1 short cut-scene of the council and a few lines of text. It is like the WRPG hit an amazing peak with Fallout 3 and Mass Effect 1 and just now lost its soul. Thanks EA! Expand
  4. ChristianR
    Feb 5, 2010
    9
    This game is not a massive improvement over but is still quite better than ME1. The charm/intimidate option relies on your actual choices instead of just assigning points. The game was noticably more cinematic and had great character driven story. There were some hiccups though: the new leveling system takes getting used to, it makes way to many references to the first game via the This game is not a massive improvement over but is still quite better than ME1. The charm/intimidate option relies on your actual choices instead of just assigning points. The game was noticably more cinematic and had great character driven story. There were some hiccups though: the new leveling system takes getting used to, it makes way to many references to the first game via the private terminal, and the mining is the epitome of boredom. But these flaws are relatively minor in the face of a story that put most books and movies to shame, characters with great depth, and the revitalized and more strategic combat system. I wholly recommend this game. Expand
  5. RussellA
    Feb 6, 2010
    10
    Mass Effect 2 is simply put one of the best games ever made. Mass Effect was an innovative breakthrough in creating a game that tied cinematic events and dialogue in with the choice to create your own adventure, but it was very flawed in many areas. mass Effect 2 smashed those flaws and creates the same cinematic epic storytelling you decide, but injects it with incredibly fun Gears of Mass Effect 2 is simply put one of the best games ever made. Mass Effect was an innovative breakthrough in creating a game that tied cinematic events and dialogue in with the choice to create your own adventure, but it was very flawed in many areas. mass Effect 2 smashed those flaws and creates the same cinematic epic storytelling you decide, but injects it with incredibly fun Gears of war like battles, level design to match epic firefights, as well as improved powers and graphics The glory in mass effect 2 lies in its npc's though. The bulk of the game and story, which is admittedly a slow burn, involves recruiting and gaining the loyalty of your team you take into the suicide mission, and they are all amazing. Every character by the end feels so real and amazing in their own way, that the decisions and ending have you pacing back and forth to see who made it out of the wreckage. Mass Effect 2 cut away the fat that mass effect 1 had, improved its characters and story telling, vastly crafted a terrific game play experience, and created one of the most epic end games ever played. Mass Effect 2 is not to be missed, ever. Not playing it will be missing out on of the greatest games ever made, with a story unique to each, with thousands of decisions and dialogue to choose. Mass Effect 2 will leave your jaw dropping. Expand
  6. JonathanW
    Feb 6, 2010
    10
    Mass effect 2 is a solid improvement over the original which was an already stellar title. The upgraded combat, level up, and armor systems work smoothly and make it a faster less tedious experiance. My only complaints are that the Story is slightly less surprising than the original (though in no means bad) and the final boss looks very cheesey (though it does fit into the story very Mass effect 2 is a solid improvement over the original which was an already stellar title. The upgraded combat, level up, and armor systems work smoothly and make it a faster less tedious experiance. My only complaints are that the Story is slightly less surprising than the original (though in no means bad) and the final boss looks very cheesey (though it does fit into the story very well.) If you love third person shooters and or RPGs M.E.2 should be on the top of your list. Expand
  7. ConnorM
    Feb 7, 2010
    10
    Pulled a full forty hours out of this game. I wont say that they were the best hours of my life, but they were the best hours I've ever spent playing a video game. I've sampled very sci fi game out there and this was the best by far. The choices and interrupters were flawless. being able to load your old character personalized the game more than any other I have played. This is Pulled a full forty hours out of this game. I wont say that they were the best hours of my life, but they were the best hours I've ever spent playing a video game. I've sampled very sci fi game out there and this was the best by far. The choices and interrupters were flawless. being able to load your old character personalized the game more than any other I have played. This is the best game ever. Expand
  8. DomMC
    Feb 8, 2010
    10
    Great game, loved how all of my decisions from the first game were carried over. Each time I was forced into choosing what to do I felt hugely involved, not knowing what impact they would have. The character interaction was phenomenal, and this was the first time i've been able to really connect with characters in any kind of entertainment media. Bring on the sequel.
  9. LukaszC
    Feb 8, 2010
    9
    For me the first Mass Effect was a big dissapointment and back in the days i gave it a 7 . It had great graphics that could not hold a steady framerate for sh** , only 13 - 18 hours of gameplay (and yes i did some sidequests but when all sideplanets look the same you get bored preety fast) and the awful mako levels . Now i can say this is what ME 1 should have been . Graphics ? 30 fps For me the first Mass Effect was a big dissapointment and back in the days i gave it a 7 . It had great graphics that could not hold a steady framerate for sh** , only 13 - 18 hours of gameplay (and yes i did some sidequests but when all sideplanets look the same you get bored preety fast) and the awful mako levels . Now i can say this is what ME 1 should have been . Graphics ? 30 fps locked ... i had only one instance where the graphics went down for a second . Length ? 30 hours easliy if you play the loyalty missions which unlike the sidemissions in ME 1 are much better done . Mako ? GONE ... oh god how happy i am that its gone . Of course not everything is perfect though ,i liked the rpg elements of the first one but now its almost gone ,next time maybe do a compromise leave the system how it is(with the assigning points to power stuff) but give us loot and xp signs . Also the companions still are not perfect but they are a far cry better then in ME 1 . Also the heavy weapons are a little bit like a getaway card with cain beeing really a little bit too powerful ... i had it in the last fight and it raped the boss really hard . Still this game is great and a must buy for rpg fans that dont have fear of TPS games . But its not perfect how many 10 are saying . Its a 9 a solid 9. Expand
  10. MadAgreement
    Feb 9, 2010
    10
    I bought this game the day he was out in france and i finish it 3 days later. The story is so powerful and full of action... At the end of this game, it's like when you have finished to read and awesome book, you're depressed. Can't wait the third one. And for those who don't know if they want to try the one before, I can asure you that when you taste it, you fall I bought this game the day he was out in france and i finish it 3 days later. The story is so powerful and full of action... At the end of this game, it's like when you have finished to read and awesome book, you're depressed. Can't wait the third one. And for those who don't know if they want to try the one before, I can asure you that when you taste it, you fall totaly into it. The story is absolutly different from one player to another and that's make it more personnal. With this masterpiece, it will be diffucult for the other studios to make an attractive game. There's no doubt that's the game of the year. Expand
  11. Martin
    Feb 9, 2010
    10
    This is game of the year alright. It has such an amazing story for a videogame. The only other videogame stories that can compare to this game is legend of zelda and resident evil. If you like amazing games, do yourself a favor and get this astounding game.
  12. RickC.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    The shooting mechanics have been made to play like a shooter but their is enough strategic depth to still make it fun. And the story and graphics are amazing.
  13. MatthewDiMaio
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    Mass effect 2 improves on the original's problems and combat, while keeping most rpg elements and expanding on this exciting and enriching universe. Mass Effect 2 will be in the top game nominations for Game of The Year
  14. ChrisC.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    I'm expecting this to win GOTY assuming people don't forget it 12 months down the line if they have such a short term memory. The game is utterly brilliant and I have currently sank in about 20 hours and I think I'm ready for the final mission but I'm scared to start it because I don't want to lose my party members. Well most of them. It's pretty cool how I I'm expecting this to win GOTY assuming people don't forget it 12 months down the line if they have such a short term memory. The game is utterly brilliant and I have currently sank in about 20 hours and I think I'm ready for the final mission but I'm scared to start it because I don't want to lose my party members. Well most of them. It's pretty cool how I have an attachment with most of them now and don't want them to die. I know very few games that have made me feel that way. This game is definitley the Uncharted 2 of the 360. A classic. Expand
  15. dc
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    I liked mass effect but thought its glitches and combat made it a 7 this games improved both of them big time the story is good just wish i could use it on my PS3 instead of 360 because of the multiple discs but that doesnt really bother me to much 10 out of 10 bring on the sequel : )
  16. RobertOgilvie
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    Overall, an exceptional game. Interaction and combat are both greatly improved over an already high quality original. Similarly, the handful of irritating flaws from the previous iteration are largely solved.
  17. MeganS.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    The Game of the Year, guaranteed. One of the most, if not THE most, emotionally engaging video games I have ever played. This game has set a precedent that all future releases will have a burden of measuring up to. Buy now. Play forever.
  18. AlexanderD.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    One of the best sequels in videogame history, Mass Effect 2 comprises outstanding storytelling, compelling gameplay and a state of the art presentation beyond any other game in recent years. Bioware is far ahead of the pack in every department, and Mass Effect 2 undoubtedly proves how much this trilogy might come down to becoming the best Sci Fi themed RPG ever made.
  19. leejunS.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    This game is most incredible RPG of Bioware Corp. I already injoyed first one, but sequel is twice better than that. Bioware knows how to make RPG game. This is realy epic :D
  20. David
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    This is a fantatic game. If you are a fan of the new breed of RPG/Shooter game, pick this up. Mass Effect sets itself apart by creating its own distinct place in the science fiction universe. A must have for 360 owners.
  21. AussieHarrison
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    If Mass Effect was the appetizer, ME2 is the tasty, scrumptious main course. Beats the original in every possible way.
  22. davidshepard
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    best game ever
  23. Ryan
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    Amazing game! Gonna be remembered for quite some time.
  24. Jarome
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    GTA 4 was almost a 10, apparently. This game is ACTUALLY good, so I give it a 10 =P In reality, so much care, effort and passion has gone into making this game as perfect as possible, and it shows. The combat feels great, story was fantastic and I actually cared about the characters. This game goes into my top 5 of all time games with Zelda: OoT, Mario 64, Resident Evil 4, Dragon Warrior GTA 4 was almost a 10, apparently. This game is ACTUALLY good, so I give it a 10 =P In reality, so much care, effort and passion has gone into making this game as perfect as possible, and it shows. The combat feels great, story was fantastic and I actually cared about the characters. This game goes into my top 5 of all time games with Zelda: OoT, Mario 64, Resident Evil 4, Dragon Warrior (NES!!) and now ME2 =) Expand
  25. JoonaM.
    Jan 27, 2010
    9
    Absolutely one of the best games i´ve played. I even wonder why there still are shooter games, when you can have all this in one amazing package. FPS/3rdPS genre is dead to me.
  26. VK
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    Outstanding in every sense. Truly a must have. Missing out big time by not buying this.
  27. ThienN.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    Truly an amazing game from bioware. There are few games that can make a person feel like they are making a difference in what they are playing. There is just so much satisfaction seeing in how your choices plays, whether good or bad. From beginning to end, I loved every minute of it. Never a dull moment, I even enjoyed the mining. Get this game.
  28. TomT.
    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    Great visuals, smooth combat, good story. Makes it a 10 in my book. I was a little perplexed on why they took out some of character leveling aspects. But they did do away with my complaints for sure.
  29. JonathanL.
    Jan 28, 2010
    8
    Great game with tons of options and an open-world. Unfortunately, the gameplay isn't as improved from the first as you'd hope. Movement is not flushed out and the cover system is as unpolished as ever.
  30. DynamicEcho
    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    Quite simply, the best game I have ever played. The combat of ME1 has been totally replaced with one of the very best of any game, while retaining all of the depth and majesty which made the first game great. This has set the benchmark for RPGs and games in general. Bravo Bioware.
  31. SlipStream
    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    Amazing story telling, great updates to the graphics, combat and fixing of numerious issues from the first installment make this my pick for game of the year.
  32. BrianF.
    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    Mass Effect owns real estate on my soul. I've never played games that involve the player as fully as the two Mass Effects Bioware has created.
  33. JosephS.
    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    This game is just epic! Improves on most of the aspects from the first game. Although less RPG elements might disrupt many diehard fans initial enjoyment, this game is just another masterpiece. Bioware has once again reminded everyone that they are the top tier developers when it comes to role-playing games.
  34. AnthonyB
    Jan 28, 2010
    9
    I am having a great time with this game. I loved the first one and played through it in its entirety many times. They have really set a bar for atmosphere and I now find it hard to play other RPGs that don't give similar conversation options and fully voiced characters. This is as close to playing a epic sci-fi film as we can get. I cannot give ME2 a full 10 simply because I did I am having a great time with this game. I loved the first one and played through it in its entirety many times. They have really set a bar for atmosphere and I now find it hard to play other RPGs that don't give similar conversation options and fully voiced characters. This is as close to playing a epic sci-fi film as we can get. I cannot give ME2 a full 10 simply because I did enjoy outfitting my squad and that has pretty much been removed. Thoroughly recommended even if you have not spent the 30+ hours required for the first game. Expand
  35. NateD
    Jan 29, 2010
    9
    This game is truly, truly amazing. Beyond words in fact. There are minor glitches here and there but it's expected with a game this big. Only reason it doesn't get a 10 is because I will never vote a game a 10, that would mean it has NO flaws, no matter how minor. This game. Rules. GOTY 2010 and 2010 just started.
  36. SeanMe
    Jan 29, 2010
    10
    A strong contender for game of the year, and it's only January. Better than the first game in almost every way, and that's saying something. Mass Effect 2 continues the first game's legacy of having easily some of the best characters in any video game and a story which will keep you interested until the very end.
  37. MattM
    Jan 29, 2010
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing in every single aspect. From visuals, to game play, to the story itself all come together to form one of the greatest games of all time. Mass Effect 1 was great, Mass Effect 2 is epic. The only thing better will be Mass Effect 3.
  38. SeanH
    Jan 29, 2010
    10
    Pure gaming perfection. No game has ever stuck with me they way the Mass Effect games have. IMO Mass Effect was my favorite 360 game and the sequel improved the combat and streamlined some of the other features and aside from looking even better and playing better the plot thickens. The closest any of us will ever get to being captain of a starship.
  39. JalexD
    Jan 29, 2010
    10
    'Mass Effect 2' is a significant improvement over it's predecessor. And while it is unfortunate that the main focus of the improvements seems to have been the combat, it should be encouraging to know that there isn't a single element of the game that hasn't been improved just enough for the game as a whole to still be thought of as exciting by today's gaming 'Mass Effect 2' is a significant improvement over it's predecessor. And while it is unfortunate that the main focus of the improvements seems to have been the combat, it should be encouraging to know that there isn't a single element of the game that hasn't been improved just enough for the game as a whole to still be thought of as exciting by today's gaming standards (as opposed to two years ago). And on the technical side, BioWare have really polished up their product in comparison to the first game's fairly frequent (if mostly brief and non-hindering) glitches. The story is better than the first one, which is to say it's above average, but it's the detail that has gone into the universe and the extremely well fleshed-out characters that make the experience memorable. So, to summarize: Considering how brilliant the first 'Mass Effect' was (and still is), and how much of an improvement the sequel is, I would have to say this trilogy may end up as a 'Best Game Ever' nominee. Expand
  40. StevenB
    Jan 29, 2010
    10
    Bioware has managed to improve upon their first offering in every possible way. The graphics, game play, storytelling, atmosphere, music, dialogue and player investment are greater than the first Mass Effect. This game could quite probably be game of the year.
  41. RyanK.
    Jan 29, 2010
    10
    It's an absolute masterpiece. Having played the original, the experience is even more compelling. That being said, I HIGHLY recommend that people play though the first before the sequel. There are so many references and connections you will make to the decisions you made in the 1st game.
  42. MichelleP.
    Jan 31, 2010
    9
    Where do I start? The game picks up from the first one, there's new squadmates, new love interests, new enemies... You're still the same Shepard and the story is still mindblowing! The only cons of this, in my opinion, is that mining the minerals is a pain in t he ass and it's turned out to be more of a shooter than an RPG. Certain squadmates aren't needed to hack or Where do I start? The game picks up from the first one, there's new squadmates, new love interests, new enemies... You're still the same Shepard and the story is still mindblowing! The only cons of this, in my opinion, is that mining the minerals is a pain in t he ass and it's turned out to be more of a shooter than an RPG. Certain squadmates aren't needed to hack or bypass certain objects because you're able to do it yourself. You also need to pick up ammo for your guns. To the person who gave it a 0 because he has two kids: I share a 360 with my brother. He used the Cerberus code on his account and I thought I wouldn't be able to get the DLC either. You do, you just have to work to earn your DLC by playing. Expand
  43. JaredR.
    Jan 31, 2010
    10
    By far the best game I have played so far. Truly astonishing game play and a very intriguing storyline. It will draw you in, and you will play for hours. I have never written a review for a video game before, because I never took the initiative to. But after playing this game, I felt almost as if I had to. BioWare put a lot of work into it, and it shows.
  44. RyanH.
    Jan 31, 2010
    10
    This is my first video game review. This game deserves a review...Its amazing. The best game I've played on the 360 since its launch. The best way to play the game is by importing your save file(if you have one) from the first game. The transfer system is amazing, little details and giant plot points are all tweeked in the sequel by transferring over your save file... Its an amazing This is my first video game review. This game deserves a review...Its amazing. The best game I've played on the 360 since its launch. The best way to play the game is by importing your save file(if you have one) from the first game. The transfer system is amazing, little details and giant plot points are all tweeked in the sequel by transferring over your save file... Its an amazing experience and full brings in those devoted to the original game... I have yet to beat the game and have over 30hrs into my first playthrough... Game of the year... all the way Expand
  45. davidshepard
    Jan 31, 2010
    10
    best game ever
  46. SamuelG.
    Jan 31, 2010
    10
    This is rounded up. There is no such thing as a perfect game, but I have never seen a game get so close before. Mass Effect 2 completely redefines what video games are capable of as an interactive storytelling medium, and is quite possibly the best game I have ever played in my life.
  47. RPG
    Feb 11, 2010
    7
    While a good game Mass Effect 2 is by no means a great game. The cinematic effects are very good and immersive but cannot hide the downside that many parts of the story are inconsistent or just incompetently designed. Faster in tempo than ME1, its predecessor, and somewhat more blend. Still a fun game.
  48. JaceN.
    Feb 11, 2010
    6
    An ineresting story...but thats about it! Fewer areas to explore, spasmic over excitable combat akin to "juggling ten plates on poles while fist-fighting a bear", excellent upgrade system from ME1 replaced with "you used some resources you found to make everyones stuff betterer...now go away", disc swapping thanks to outdated "Bink" video cutscenes chewing up easily 12Gigs of disc space, An ineresting story...but thats about it! Fewer areas to explore, spasmic over excitable combat akin to "juggling ten plates on poles while fist-fighting a bear", excellent upgrade system from ME1 replaced with "you used some resources you found to make everyones stuff betterer...now go away", disc swapping thanks to outdated "Bink" video cutscenes chewing up easily 12Gigs of disc space, voice actors phoning it in and almost no stuff to buy in shops. Keep up this trend and ME3 will be thinner than EA's 1991 space RPG "Starflight". Expand
  49. TrevorG.
    Feb 12, 2010
    10
    This game is as close to perfection for an RPG as can be. Amazing grfx, music, much improved shooter action and team control and more streamlined inventory management. This is a must play for any RPG enthusiast.
  50. PatrickB
    Feb 14, 2010
    10
    Action? Check. Drama? Check. Phenomenal Graphics and Gameplay? Check and Check. I could go on and on but that really is my opinion of Mass Effect 2 in a nutshell. It's intense, engaging and non-stop deep adventure with nearly limitless re-playability as all of your decisions from Mass Effect 1 and 2 shape the future of not only your Commander Shepard, but of the entire franchise Action? Check. Drama? Check. Phenomenal Graphics and Gameplay? Check and Check. I could go on and on but that really is my opinion of Mass Effect 2 in a nutshell. It's intense, engaging and non-stop deep adventure with nearly limitless re-playability as all of your decisions from Mass Effect 1 and 2 shape the future of not only your Commander Shepard, but of the entire franchise itself. The game is out there, ready to pull you in and never let go. Expand
  51. ChrisR
    Feb 15, 2010
    9
    When I play a game, I usually play it for the storyline...hoping that I can actually become enthralled in the characters and submersed into a world completely unknown to me. This is exactly what happened with Mass Effect and subsequently, Mass Effect 2. The characters are all likable and the loyalty missions prove to be a great asset for insight into each character. When I happened to When I play a game, I usually play it for the storyline...hoping that I can actually become enthralled in the characters and submersed into a world completely unknown to me. This is exactly what happened with Mass Effect and subsequently, Mass Effect 2. The characters are all likable and the loyalty missions prove to be a great asset for insight into each character. When I happened to make a choice that backfired, I actually felt genuinely sorry for doing it. If you like games with deep storylines and a rich setting then this game is for you. Definitely one of my favorite games I have ever played. Expand
  52. Mickus
    Feb 18, 2010
    10
    Mass Effect 2 gets my vote because i just love to come home and sit down and play this game for a few hours because it effortless. This game for me is just great fun deep story. This game has Great graphic Great game play and a really Great story. if you don't already have it get to the store NOW and buy it!!!!!
  53. soumavac
    Feb 21, 2010
    9
    No game's perfect so there is no way i can give it a 10 but it's really close. With ME1, Bioware literally created a whole universe (if you actually bothered to read every codex entry). pretty impressive. ME1 fell short mostly due to the annoying texture mapping and side missions and the elevators. ME2 got rid of these things and put everything in place and added much, much No game's perfect so there is no way i can give it a 10 but it's really close. With ME1, Bioware literally created a whole universe (if you actually bothered to read every codex entry). pretty impressive. ME1 fell short mostly due to the annoying texture mapping and side missions and the elevators. ME2 got rid of these things and put everything in place and added much, much more. You won't get a kick out of the story, i mean it's pretty much what you'd expect but i doubt that there's any other game out there that tells it better than ME2 does. What i mean to say is that it is still pretty darn compelling. it's darker and you feel that ur choices actually mean something. the firefights are all the more epic and not short lived (like in ME1) thank God. all in all, another great game by Bioware, certainly living up to its hype. and to anyone who's reading all the user ratings, don't listen to k. Expand
  54. Oct 29, 2012
    10
    Mass Effect 2 is the poster child for non-linear storytelling. With perhaps the finest cast of characters in gaming, and tons of replayability, Mass Effect 2 is an epic sci-fi adventure that shouldn't be missed.
  55. Jan 26, 2012
    10
    Mass Effect was...pretty good. But the level design and planet exploration sections were pure dump, and so BioWare had something to improve on. So they did. And they improved everything else as well, just for good measure. ME2 is a fantastic tale, using the traditional Dirty Dozen formulae and making it work. Each character is brilliantly realised, each location fullly immersive, eachMass Effect was...pretty good. But the level design and planet exploration sections were pure dump, and so BioWare had something to improve on. So they did. And they improved everything else as well, just for good measure. ME2 is a fantastic tale, using the traditional Dirty Dozen formulae and making it work. Each character is brilliantly realised, each location fullly immersive, each battle exciting and frantic. ME2 has only one flaw, which is the weak shooting. Guns just don't feel good, and as solid as other aspects of the combat are, the shooting just ain't up to scratch. But that's a minor complaint really, because ME2 is, in many ways, amazing. Expand
  56. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    Mass Effect 2 is a game meant for people who want an experience, and not just "play" a video game. You live the game and saviour every single second of this magnificent space opera. This game is one of the few modern games that has a classic gaming feel to it. It is also like "Science Fiction Porn"; there are so many things that are "spacey" and future-esque some hardcore nerds wouldMass Effect 2 is a game meant for people who want an experience, and not just "play" a video game. You live the game and saviour every single second of this magnificent space opera. This game is one of the few modern games that has a classic gaming feel to it. It is also like "Science Fiction Porn"; there are so many things that are "spacey" and future-esque some hardcore nerds would probably **** in their pants. If that wasn't erotic enough for fan boys, there's also romantic relations you can start with your crew, even the aliens.

    The story may not have the surprise of the first one, but it certainly lives up to it. The first Mass Effect was more about soaking in the story and the feel of living in the future. This one has stronger character relationships and has more intense side missions than the first one. Mass Effect 2 is more an action game than Mass Effect 1, but it is still very involving action.

    Mass Effect 2 is not a video game; it is a piece of art.
    Expand
  57. Jan 23, 2012
    10
    Lookback Review: Since Mass Effect 3 is only 2 months away and it might as well be or will be one of the greatest games ever made and the game that has completely consumed me with hype and anticipation since Super Smash Bros. Brawl, I'm going to look back into Mass Effect 2, my first ever game review on this site. It's been two years and I still consider Mass Effect 2 to be the greatestLookback Review: Since Mass Effect 3 is only 2 months away and it might as well be or will be one of the greatest games ever made and the game that has completely consumed me with hype and anticipation since Super Smash Bros. Brawl, I'm going to look back into Mass Effect 2, my first ever game review on this site. It's been two years and I still consider Mass Effect 2 to be the greatest Xbox 360 game I have ever played up to now (The Mass Effect series was born on the 360 and it plays better on the 360 so it's a 360 game to me) and one of my all time favourite games ever. To sum up the whole series itself, The Mass Effect series, in my opinion, is one of the greatest Science Fiction series ever made and it is up there with Star Wars, Dr. Who and Star Trek. Its mythology and settings are imaginative and well thought out, the story is amazingly compelling and superbly written,its characters are unforgettable and endearing and the greatest thing about it; you decide how this story goes and ends. If Star Wars had a choice mechanic, I would've shot Jar-Jar straight away. I'm digressing. Mass Effect 2 delivers better than the first Mass Effect with a darker, higher stake story, better written script, a cast of amazing and interesting characters, intuitive combat mechanics, more accessible yet still complex RPG elements and better visuals. Another great thing about this game is that you can transfer your Mass Effect save file and this is the thing that made Mass Effect 2 great and the thing that cemented the series as one of the greats in my opinion. If you want to experience Mass Effect 2 in full effect, save your Mass Effect game file. The result will be one of the most personal gaming experiences. The choices that you make in Mass Effect makes a huge impact on how Mass Effect 2's story will go and the same with Mass Effect 3 when it finally comes out. If you are planning to get Mass Effect 3, get Mass Effect and Mass Effect 2 first and spend your 2 months playing through those games and preparing any story you want for Mass Effect 3's final climax. What more can I say about this game and this whole series? Mass Effect 2 is a triple A title brimming with absolute sci-fi and gaming heaven. The Mass Effect series is one of the best gaming franchise to come out of this generation and in my opinion, one of the greatest sci-fi series ever made. Expand
  58. Feb 7, 2014
    10
    The high point of the series. Super epic space shooter that immersed me in it's universe and made me come to genuinely want to stay and protect a corner of it. And there is alot of it. Play this!
  59. Dec 5, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing. People will complain about its supposed "lack of RPG elements" but the series keeps all of the ones that actually matter. The only elements that are scrapped were armor/weapon customization and some planet exploration. The side missions are not as ridiculously similar as ME1 and the combat mechanics are greatly improved. Characters and dialogue are more interesting,This game is amazing. People will complain about its supposed "lack of RPG elements" but the series keeps all of the ones that actually matter. The only elements that are scrapped were armor/weapon customization and some planet exploration. The side missions are not as ridiculously similar as ME1 and the combat mechanics are greatly improved. Characters and dialogue are more interesting, weapons cooler, and classes are fleshed out and much more interesting. I have completed 8 playthroughs of this game. Ive been the archetypical chivalrous hero and I've experienced the rebellious renegade **** who gets the job done. A great game from start to finish. Expand
  60. Mar 25, 2012
    10
    Mass Effect 2 is not only the best game in the ME trilogy; it's the best game I've ever played. It's not a perfect game but it comes about as close as a game of its ambition can. Essentially, the game is about the ME universe and involves the player developing personal relationships with characters from all over the galaxy. It is an extremely personal experience that sucks you into itsMass Effect 2 is not only the best game in the ME trilogy; it's the best game I've ever played. It's not a perfect game but it comes about as close as a game of its ambition can. Essentially, the game is about the ME universe and involves the player developing personal relationships with characters from all over the galaxy. It is an extremely personal experience that sucks you into its world and makes you forget about yours. Some people have complained that the main story is not focused enough, that the RPG elements are too streamlined, that the level design is too simple... Look, those people have a point, but what's more important than specifics is the overall experience, and the overall experience of Mass Effect 2 is unparalleled. Expand
  61. Sep 13, 2012
    10
    How DARE the haters rate this game down! This is a truly fantastic game with a meaningful story with brilliant dialogue and characters, and improves on the first game in every way. Some of the best graphics, no, the best graphics I've ever seen from a game! Great combat, and plenty of replayability. The best part though is probably the ability to import your first character form the firstHow DARE the haters rate this game down! This is a truly fantastic game with a meaningful story with brilliant dialogue and characters, and improves on the first game in every way. Some of the best graphics, no, the best graphics I've ever seen from a game! Great combat, and plenty of replayability. The best part though is probably the ability to import your first character form the first Mass Effect, and all the choices you made in the first effects this one! So my advice to you is to play the first Mass Effect, which was great, and then play the 2nd one, which is perfect. Expand
  62. Jun 28, 2011
    9
    The first Mass Effect game was a truly spectacular game with an amazing world, lovable characters, and game changing mechanics like the spectacular conversation wheel, but suffered from frame-rate issues and glitches, and serious combat issues, and a pain in the butt inventory, and Bioware has improved those flaws but has also created some more, the combat system has been completelyThe first Mass Effect game was a truly spectacular game with an amazing world, lovable characters, and game changing mechanics like the spectacular conversation wheel, but suffered from frame-rate issues and glitches, and serious combat issues, and a pain in the butt inventory, and Bioware has improved those flaws but has also created some more, the combat system has been completely redone, the controls are as smooth as butter, aiming is better do to a better reticle, and the cover system finally works, also the frame-rate issues are also completely gone, and there are some very hard to notice glitches, but they don't detract from the experience, and the inventory has been completely removed for more helpful load out systems, and the story is awesome once again and really sets the pace for Mass Effect 3, and also along side the conversation wheel Bioware has included another game changer in the form of allowing you to import you character from the first Mass Effect, which means all your choices carry over, and there are tons of references to your previous adventure, and makes this a more personal experience do to dialog with characters, and they also added another cool feature where during sequences with the pull of a trigger you can instantly make a Paragon or Renegade choice, which make a sweet and touching moment, or a evil and hilarious moment, and the new loyalty missions make connecting with your teammates more enjoyable, and Bioware FINALLY!!!! included free-roam in one of there games which is something I was hoping they would start doing in there games since the first Mass Effect, but this game isn't without it's flaws, while most of the new characters are fantastic and live up to the expectations set by the first game, some feel incomplete and dull, like Miranda and Jacob for instance, Jacob seems to lack any emotion or personality outside of one line of dialog, and it feels like they just left out most of Miranda's character, she just seems incomplete, so the most enjoyable characters are the ones that return from the first game, and they took more of a story based approach which left out a lot of player choice, which means you never really get the feeling your making a huge impact on the world other than just saving it, I mean there are one or two moments where you have to make a big choice near the end of the game but then it just seems to late, but you still do have the choices during character interactions so it's not all bad I just expected more epic choices like those that made the first game so awesome and set it and Bioware apart from the pack, I just expected more from Bioware judging from there other titles, and you will run into some random load times while exploring, but the epic story, enjoyable characters, beautiful world, better combat, free roam, the ability to import characters from the first game, and just the signature Bioware charm, insures that this is an experience you'll never forget. Expand
  63. Aug 17, 2013
    10
    tains spoilers, click expand to view. Worth it, simply worth it. The sequel of the 2007's ''Mass Effect'' clearly projected an extremely high amount of improvements based on enemy/squad mate AI, game-play flow and especially the enriched variety of characters, back stories, missions (especially the loyalty missions that prolong your enjoyment in gaming for days) and empathy towards eachtains spoilers, click expand to view. Worth it, simply worth it. The sequel of the 2007's ''Mass Effect'' clearly projected an extremely high amount of improvements based on enemy/squad mate AI, game-play flow and especially the enriched variety of characters, back stories, missions (especially the loyalty missions that prolong your enjoyment in gaming for days) and empathy towards each squad mate in the Normandy SR-2. The game play value of replaying it again allows you to get more experience of what it is like to be either a Renegade or a Paragon Shepard towards significant characters, the fear it strikes in fans through introducing the Collectors, the antagonists that inhabit the Omega 4 Relay reveals more shocking secrets about the Reapers and the Protheans who were enslaved to become the enigmatic Collectors. The story is properly set out the way it should be, the emotional drive it provides by having your Shepard develop loyal squad mates and listening to their past shows how much depth Bioware intended to go by expressing that sense of diversity. Even those little comical, yet seemingly insignificant little moments like when you pick the Intimidate option of accusing the Asari shopkeeper of classism results in one just on casual Turian standing there (who possibly doesn't give a adds up to Mass Effect 2 being the perfect game in external genre components like comedy and drama (by having empathy towards your dossier squad mates while having conversations after missions). Best game of the Mass Effect Trilogy, perfect game play (excluding the limited weapon and equipment variety that was annoying!) and perfect character-focused pieces of the aesthetic sci-fi video game! EA didn't have much control over the game until ME3 which I was glad, so yeah, Bioware proved consistency in their gaming storyiline originality Expand
  64. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    The people who are giving this game negative reviews might as well be rating their own maturity, because I haven't seen a single negative review done with common sense rather than butt-hurt ranting and crying about review conspiracies and other bull **** Mass Effect 2 isn't "dumbed-down" as much as it is streamlined. All the changes they made were intended to give the player more timeThe people who are giving this game negative reviews might as well be rating their own maturity, because I haven't seen a single negative review done with common sense rather than butt-hurt ranting and crying about review conspiracies and other bull **** Mass Effect 2 isn't "dumbed-down" as much as it is streamlined. All the changes they made were intended to give the player more time exploring and playing and less time searching through inventories and menus and waiting in elevators. The game won game of the year for a reason: it's simply one of the best - if not the best - singleplayer games ever created. The atmosphere and story create one of the most immersive and best experiences for sale anywhere. Everyone who **** about lack of depth or personality, or simply rants and hypocritically calls the rest of the world stupid are just people who didn't see what they wanted at the beginning, immediately made up their mind and populated their false ideas with made-up negativities and conspiracies, and refused to experience the rest of the game. In short: their just a bunch of trolls. I didn't think the quality of this game needed to be restated but after reading the absurdly ignorant dribble of particular users like OG and dtuner and others (but I couldn't possibly name them all), I had to drop one more 10 in the bucket, because this game earns it more than any other game I've ever played. I suppose there's always going to be a few basement-dwellers that insist on trying to **** on perfection, but case in point, if you're not a basement-dwelling troll and you play video-games, this one has to be part of your library. If it isn't already, then do so and I guarantee it'll be the best money you ever spent on a video game. Expand
  65. Nov 26, 2011
    9
    Needs more RPG cowbell. You can't have too much RPG cowbell. Yeah it's pretty, but it's not really an RPG anymore, more like a Third Person Shooter Lite. Still, a good game, but I miss the RPG cowbell.
  66. Jul 13, 2011
    10
    BioWare's Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic amazed me when i bought it. After being weaned in hardcore first-person shooters for years, it was one of those 'what's this?' moments when I started playing it. However, it hooked me in from the start, dragging me through a fantastic galaxy-spanning story populated by unique characters and amazing set-pieces. It really captured the StarBioWare's Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic amazed me when i bought it. After being weaned in hardcore first-person shooters for years, it was one of those 'what's this?' moments when I started playing it. However, it hooked me in from the start, dragging me through a fantastic galaxy-spanning story populated by unique characters and amazing set-pieces. It really captured the Star Wars spirit. But there was one problem: the combat. While it was good enough, it lacked a sense of action or direction when you chose what attacks your player character performed and to be honest it felt quite weak and clumsy. When I picked up Mass Effect 2 at HMV, however, I wasn't just amazed: I was blown away. Mass Effect 2 irons out all the flaws in modern RPGs and takes the genre to a new level. In fact, it irons out the flaws in everything. The combat is perfectly balanced, the graphics are spectacular, the voice acting is tremendous (especially by Martin Sheen's exceptional performance) and it captures a true feeling of science-fiction. This is one of the best RPGs, let alone one of the best games, of all time. Buy it now. Expand
  67. Feb 1, 2012
    10
    This is surely one of the best game that ever been created. Gameplay, characters, sound, graphics, are awesome, with a small exception of the main storyline (interesting, although a little short). Over all, you will experience many wonderful fights before enter the epic ending mission. A masterpiece that hardcore gamer shouldn't miss
  68. Jun 12, 2013
    9
    Having defeated the invading Reapers Commander Shepard learns that an even greater threat has emerged. In the far reaches of space something has started abducting entire human colonies and Shepard has little choice but to work with the questionable Cerberus organisation to stop the most terrifying threat mankind has ever faced.

    Despite its flaws the first Mass Effect took the action
    Having defeated the invading Reapers Commander Shepard learns that an even greater threat has emerged. In the far reaches of space something has started abducting entire human colonies and Shepard has little choice but to work with the questionable Cerberus organisation to stop the most terrifying threat mankind has ever faced.

    Despite its flaws the first Mass Effect took the action role player to a new level and this sequel improves upon it in nearly every way. In order to succeed the player must convince the best from around the galaxy to join their cause. The stories of these characters and your interactions with them are the driving force behind the majority of the game and this is all helped along by the improved conversation wheel that makes talking to your crew fluid and engaging.

    The third person combat is also largely improved and now plays very much like a simplified version of Gears of War, the art of using cover now vitally important. Of course the character traits, such as cloaking and levitation powers are still present. Those that played the original will also be pleased to know that the slow loading times and long elevator rides have been almost completely removed.

    The only criticism of this sequel would be the addition of resource gathering. This involves a dull planet scanning mini-game to collect minerals that can be used upgrade or build new armour and weapons and seems completely unnecessary. This is however a minor blip in a game that sets a new standard of what can be achieved in the role playing genre.
    Expand
  69. Jul 22, 2012
    9
    Mass effect 2 is an outstanding game, the storyline is fantistic and characters interesting. Also it follows on well from the original mass effect game. If you like your sci fi with rpg and action elements in your games then this is an absolute must. In my view one of the best games to be released on the x box 360 console. Wasnt mad about the upgrade and levelling system, if this had haveMass effect 2 is an outstanding game, the storyline is fantistic and characters interesting. Also it follows on well from the original mass effect game. If you like your sci fi with rpg and action elements in your games then this is an absolute must. In my view one of the best games to be released on the x box 360 console. Wasnt mad about the upgrade and levelling system, if this had have been better this game may have got that illusive 10 out of 10. All in all fantastic game and a must play for rpg fans. Brilliant. Expand
  70. Oct 11, 2011
    10
    The Mass Effect games have been some of the best games I have ever played with all its Sci-fi goodness. I love ME2 I have played through the game with every class type. If you like Sci-fi you will enjoy this game's story.I also enjoy shooters and ME2 has some of the best 3rd person shooting I have seen, plus hitting a bad-guy in the face with warp(biotic power) is very enjoyable in my opinion.
  71. Sep 7, 2013
    9
    This is definitely the best game in the Mass Effect series, and one of the best of the generation. The story is incredibly entertaining, and in my books ranks up there with the best sic-fi stories ever told. This includes the likes of Star Wars and Star Trek. Perhaps most important and significant is the excellent character development. Considering the fact that you have a large team, itThis is definitely the best game in the Mass Effect series, and one of the best of the generation. The story is incredibly entertaining, and in my books ranks up there with the best sic-fi stories ever told. This includes the likes of Star Wars and Star Trek. Perhaps most important and significant is the excellent character development. Considering the fact that you have a large team, it is truly impressive that the player was able to feel for and understand each and every one of the team. There is a lot to do, with the side missions actually being incredibly well done. Some side missions, like the "mining" were very tedious and receptive. The devs understood this and tried to make it optional, but in truth it was necessary to get the best possible ending. This leads to the excellent way that choices are made. The ability to import decisions from the first Mass Effect into this was really cool. In addition, there were definitely some hard decisions to make (not many). However, you definitely felt that there were different approaches to each situation. The gameplay was fun, but not the best in the genre. I was never bored by it, but it was not something that will be remembered. The game, however, should be played, and is a blast to play. It keeps your interest the entire time, and is well worth playing. Expand
  72. Jul 7, 2011
    10
    Mass Effect 2 is an amazing game with very cinematic experience. It blends RPG elements with 3rd person shooter combat, as well as an engaging story that will keep you playing for hours. The cast of voice actors are terrific voicing their characters and very convincing . Graphics are one of the best I seen and are gorgeous and breathtaking. The only downside is is mining planets forMass Effect 2 is an amazing game with very cinematic experience. It blends RPG elements with 3rd person shooter combat, as well as an engaging story that will keep you playing for hours. The cast of voice actors are terrific voicing their characters and very convincing . Graphics are one of the best I seen and are gorgeous and breathtaking. The only downside is is mining planets for upgrades can get very tedious and customization of weapons and other things from the 1st Mass Effect are removed, but overall it is the best and most epic game I ever played 10/10. Expand
  73. Jul 9, 2011
    10
    There is so much to say about this game, I don't know where to start. It offers a fantastically diverse selection of teammates, an original and engaging story, akin to Star Wars and Star Trek, a level of freedom of choice in plot decisions that allow for a much more personal gaming experience than some more hard-core RPG fans would lead you to believe. Walking a line between "space opera"There is so much to say about this game, I don't know where to start. It offers a fantastically diverse selection of teammates, an original and engaging story, akin to Star Wars and Star Trek, a level of freedom of choice in plot decisions that allow for a much more personal gaming experience than some more hard-core RPG fans would lead you to believe. Walking a line between "space opera" and "soap opera", Mass Effect 2 balances itself with healthy doses of epic battle scenes and terrifying monsters, and intimate player-to-character relationships. Some argue that Mass Effect 2 is too watered-down and streamlined to be considered an RPG, but its style of immersing the player in its imaginative world through breath-taking cinematics and easily accessible weapons and armour, make for a fantastically real and engaging RPG experience without being bogged down with vast item lists and complicated leveling systems. Mass Effect 2 is a game that will please most RPG fans and action game fans alike. Expand
  74. Jan 26, 2012
    10
    Mass Effect 2 shines despite a few blemishes thanks to its simplistic yet satisfying and exciting combat , the rich and well detailed galaxy , the emotional attachment that the game intills in the gamer , the epic finale that can either leave you in awe or despair and the sheer dexterity with which BioWare have manged to interweave all these wonderful elements .
  75. Jan 19, 2012
    10
    Mass Effect 2 is a amazing game. I was throughly impressed with the quality of your companions as well the quality of their mission. The main story moves along to a simply awesome climax. This remains one of my very favorite games to this day.
  76. Nov 9, 2011
    9
    Currently my favorite game on any console. The story is awesome, the level of detail is flawless. The only reason I do not give this game a 10 is that they took so much out after the first game.
  77. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    Mass Effect 2 is one of the greatest games out there. The story, game play, and characters mix to make an amazing game! I never once got bored and couldn't wait to get to the end, which by the way is just plain outstanding! What I like most about this game is the Mass Effect universe, the amount of detail put into the races and planets make the game so emersive! A must own.
  78. Jan 27, 2012
    9
    Gameplay is maybe the worse aspect of Mass Effect 2, and sometimes it feels like a weird Gears of War, but this game goes deeper than most of games I've played. The RPG elements are simple and intelligent. Choices system is something different that you don't see in every game, but in Mass Effect 2 it is complex and amazing. Oh, the main missions last about 15 hours, but you won't want toGameplay is maybe the worse aspect of Mass Effect 2, and sometimes it feels like a weird Gears of War, but this game goes deeper than most of games I've played. The RPG elements are simple and intelligent. Choices system is something different that you don't see in every game, but in Mass Effect 2 it is complex and amazing. Oh, the main missions last about 15 hours, but you won't want to do only them, because the secondary missions feel like primary ones, and how you get into them (by exploring planets in a weird eletronic galaxy map) is awesome. Mass Effect 2 is not perfect, but the way it is different from many games out there makes I recommend this to nearly everyone. Expand
  79. Oct 13, 2011
    7
    The game has a very nice story, not as innovative as ME1, but still a good one. The visuals are better looking and they have made the game more action oriented. Better weapon, better controls, still not a decent 3rd-PS game, compared to GOW games for instance. I don't really enjoy the dialogues and multiple choices. There is a lot of time wasted in this game. Esp. when you are digging forThe game has a very nice story, not as innovative as ME1, but still a good one. The visuals are better looking and they have made the game more action oriented. Better weapon, better controls, still not a decent 3rd-PS game, compared to GOW games for instance. I don't really enjoy the dialogues and multiple choices. There is a lot of time wasted in this game. Esp. when you are digging for resources. Overall, I really enjoyed this game but that's just the story and visuals. Not the gameplay. I beat the game 3 times but I can't find any other reasons to play it again. That is only 30 hrs of gameplay. I don't think I will buy ME3. Expand
  80. Mar 16, 2012
    8
    I didn't like how they simplified the rpg elements as compared to mass effect 1. But, I still enjoyed the game a lot. The combat is less tactical, but still works.
  81. Oct 23, 2011
    7
    This game game is great in many aspects (graphics,music score, voice acting, TPS gameplay, dialogs and story), however it has a very fake feeling of you having a choice, the game is trying to make you feel like you have a choice, but overall it still leads in the same direction, there are 3 major endings, which makes for a good replayability of the last mission just to see the differentThis game game is great in many aspects (graphics,music score, voice acting, TPS gameplay, dialogs and story), however it has a very fake feeling of you having a choice, the game is trying to make you feel like you have a choice, but overall it still leads in the same direction, there are 3 major endings, which makes for a good replayability of the last mission just to see the different endings, but that's all. There no sidequests that may interest you like in Bethesda's RPG's , and after you have completed the main story you dont have much to do with the game unless you are an achievement hunter, but still it's one hell of a ride for around 20-24 hours.Oh, and one more thing: it's not an RPG how every one claims it be. It's a TPS (Thirs Person Shooter) with RPG elements. Expand
  82. Mar 18, 2013
    10
    I pre-ordered this game immediately after I watched the cinematic trailer, without ever having played Mass Effect 1. It was literally love at first sight, Mass Effect 2 became my favorite game of all time. Mass Effect 2 has the best character development ever with your squad-mates, never before have I actually cared about the characters in a videogame. They all seem to make the experienceI pre-ordered this game immediately after I watched the cinematic trailer, without ever having played Mass Effect 1. It was literally love at first sight, Mass Effect 2 became my favorite game of all time. Mass Effect 2 has the best character development ever with your squad-mates, never before have I actually cared about the characters in a videogame. They all seem to make the experience real, with awesome voice acting and unique backgrounds and personalities. The graphics are fantastic, even better than Mass Effect 3's in my opinion. The writing is perfect, and the music is memorable and epic. I give this game a 9.9 out of 10, my only complaint being the searching for resources by scanning planets. Other then that, what a perfect game! :D Expand
  83. Jun 7, 2012
    10
    Mass Effect 2 is the follow on from the amazing Mass Effect. Mass Effect 2 is bigger and better than it's predecessor, boasting outstanding story telling, action and voice acting. Mass Effect 2 starts off with a bang! Shepard is still on the Normandy with his crew but is being sent to fight Geth and not the real threat, The Reapers. Then a mysterious ship appears and attacks theMass Effect 2 is the follow on from the amazing Mass Effect. Mass Effect 2 is bigger and better than it's predecessor, boasting outstanding story telling, action and voice acting. Mass Effect 2 starts off with a bang! Shepard is still on the Normandy with his crew but is being sent to fight Geth and not the real threat, The Reapers. Then a mysterious ship appears and attacks the Normandy. Shepard's body is then recovered by the Human organisation known as Cerberus and is reconstructed by them, known as the Laserus Project. Upon being brought back from death Shepard joins up with Cerberus to terminate 'The Reapers' and their new pawns of war, 'The Collector's' As well as being task to create the perfect team for the job, introducing new characters as well as some of the favorites from Mass Effect 1. There are some faults to Mass Effect 2 though. Bioware have introduced a planet scanning system which can sometime get a bit... Tedious to say the least. Scanning the planets seems more like a chore than anything. But scanning planets is vital to the game if you want the 'best' outcome for the game. Plus you can encounter side missions from scanning planets so it's not all bad! Once again Mass Effect 2 offer's an enjoyable experience like no other RPG and connects you with the each character on a personal level. Plus you can import your save from ME1 and have a direct impact on the story and once again you can have a completely different out come to your mates story, this is what makes Mass Effect such special franchise! Expand
  84. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    In short, Mass Effect 2 is one of the best games of the generation. It takes the universe introduced in the original, gives it a darker plot and puts it in a grittier scenario, and practically expands and perfects it in almost every way. The way Bioware has executed and presented the game is truly remarkable. Every scene has been polished and styled immaculately, and coupled with theIn short, Mass Effect 2 is one of the best games of the generation. It takes the universe introduced in the original, gives it a darker plot and puts it in a grittier scenario, and practically expands and perfects it in almost every way. The way Bioware has executed and presented the game is truly remarkable. Every scene has been polished and styled immaculately, and coupled with the stunning graphics, make for a visual masterpiece. The plot and narrative are excellent as well, driving the game forward and keeping players at the edge of their seats and gaping at the mesmerising worlds filled with one of the best cast of characters in videogame history. Combat is largely entertaining, though rather lacking in variety. But, overall, Mass Effect 2 is thoroughly impressive and makes for one hell of a ride. Expand
  85. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    This game is so close to being the game that all others are to be judged by. Due to issues that really are not issues but more like personal biases I'm deducting a point. It goes from an 11/10 to a solid 10/10

    Better luck next time Bioware.
  86. Feb 4, 2013
    10
    A gem. The fantastic story progresses at a breakneck pace and is filled with excellent characters, exciting set-pieces and incredible and visceral combat. It's my personal favorite out of the trilogy, a remarkable achievement in science fiction storytelling and player driven world building.
  87. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    This game improved on the original in every possible, with the possible exception of a lack of equipment selection. The characters are all deeper and better written (except for the dlc guy), the story was solid. The game also had excellent graphics, and removed the clunky MAKO sections that I personally thought brought down the first game. The only other criticism is the mining system isThis game improved on the original in every possible, with the possible exception of a lack of equipment selection. The characters are all deeper and better written (except for the dlc guy), the story was solid. The game also had excellent graphics, and removed the clunky MAKO sections that I personally thought brought down the first game. The only other criticism is the mining system is tedious. I also liked what they did with the smoother shooter elements. Expand
  88. Aug 18, 2012
    9
    Way better than ME1 and kicks ME3 Single campaign ass... the way you interact with your teammates, the plot, everything. then ME3 comes along and **** up the trilogy (plot wise)
  89. Dec 15, 2011
    10
    My favourite game this gen. Bioware once again hit the nail with the story and characters. Gameplay is solid, voice acting is amazing, aside from sheppard but Im ok with it. Superb aaa++++
  90. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Was an amazing experience, like living a movie..Getting to know the people i fight and command, winning their respect and mourning them when they died..I lost 2 people when i played it first and actually felt sad..I would have kept that game to be my base for ME3 if a console crash hadn't wiped my saves. Because your actions matter and you actually create relationships and can learn soWas an amazing experience, like living a movie..Getting to know the people i fight and command, winning their respect and mourning them when they died..I lost 2 people when i played it first and actually felt sad..I would have kept that game to be my base for ME3 if a console crash hadn't wiped my saves. Because your actions matter and you actually create relationships and can learn so much about this world..Cannot wait for ME3 i hope they can make it as great.. Expand
  91. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    mass effect 2 is not only one of te best games bever made it is one of the best stories ever told. story amazing makes the wait for mass effect 3 worse.gameplay is perfect grapics may no look as good as other games but awesome. lasting apeal is a lot in this game you can replay the game multiple times and have totally differnt epierience. the sound of this game is beatiful the score ismass effect 2 is not only one of te best games bever made it is one of the best stories ever told. story amazing makes the wait for mass effect 3 worse.gameplay is perfect grapics may no look as good as other games but awesome. lasting apeal is a lot in this game you can replay the game multiple times and have totally differnt epierience. the sound of this game is beatiful the score is epic the voice acting is tv movie standards. fun factor youll have a blast. verdict this game is not 10/10 an unratable this game is too good too be rated. Expand
  92. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Mass Effect 2 Paves the way for new RPG's. The idea that your choices from the previous game have an effect on both major and minor plots is really what all RPG's should be doing. The story is the number one thing that should come from an RPG, followed by characters, including your own, and skills. Mass effect 2 does all perfectly. The atmosphere has changed completely from ME 1, into aMass Effect 2 Paves the way for new RPG's. The idea that your choices from the previous game have an effect on both major and minor plots is really what all RPG's should be doing. The story is the number one thing that should come from an RPG, followed by characters, including your own, and skills. Mass effect 2 does all perfectly. The atmosphere has changed completely from ME 1, into a doomsday feel. The story is constantly adding more and more exciting features and plot twists that Bioware have already by renounced for. Each quest goes from large, tactical combat, to puzzles, to just straight up conversations that have tricky decisions to make. the setting is so easily done, in a genre with narrow-minded fools that will instantly reject a game if it is not set in a fantasy medieval setting it managed to win the majority of them over. Each character has their own personality, and Sheppardâ Expand
  93. Dec 12, 2011
    10
    I loved it, maybe I am just a sucker for RPGs, but there has not been a single thing to complain about for me in either of the Mass Effects. Mass Effect one was a great base for the series and yea there were some issues with the menus and such, but it was the first game and those little issues hardly took away from it! Mass Effect 2 in turn did a phenomenal job in turn dumbing down theI loved it, maybe I am just a sucker for RPGs, but there has not been a single thing to complain about for me in either of the Mass Effects. Mass Effect one was a great base for the series and yea there were some issues with the menus and such, but it was the first game and those little issues hardly took away from it! Mass Effect 2 in turn did a phenomenal job in turn dumbing down the menus and specializing the game more, sure there were less options, but ME2 still had a great story, awesome characters, and the import function worked perfectly. You could change a couple decisions in ME1 and wind up with an entirely different experience in ME2! Now that is a dynamic story and that is how RPGs should be made, granted maybe bringing back some of the old RPG elements from ME1. Expand
  94. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    This is the pinnacle of Action-RPG gaming. Simple enough to allow new players and not punish them, whilst giving hardcore fans and deep and meaningful experience. Including the gameplay and the enriching story. New players can just press the X button to skip conversations, automatically picking the neutral option, having less of an effect on the characters Paragon/Renegade points withoutThis is the pinnacle of Action-RPG gaming. Simple enough to allow new players and not punish them, whilst giving hardcore fans and deep and meaningful experience. Including the gameplay and the enriching story. New players can just press the X button to skip conversations, automatically picking the neutral option, having less of an effect on the characters Paragon/Renegade points without them knowing or choosing. The gameplay and graphics are a dramatic improvement from the first game, as it runs on an updated Unreal engine. Overall a great gaming experience, for hardcore or casual players. Expand
  95. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Ok i am voicing my opinion for Mass Effect 2 because one its my favourite game of all-time and two its managed to keep me entertained since launch to this very day.

    The gameplay does have its weaknesses at time which granted the cover system does need improving slightly and so does the shooting galleries, which i know sound like negatives but it amazingly does not affect the overall
    Ok i am voicing my opinion for Mass Effect 2 because one its my favourite game of all-time and two its managed to keep me entertained since launch to this very day.

    The gameplay does have its weaknesses at time which granted the cover system does need improving slightly and so does the shooting galleries, which i know sound like negatives but it amazingly does not affect the overall experience.

    Because the story is what makes this game so special and in my mind an instant classic. I won't spoil anything but it manages to rekindle me being a kid too short to have my feet touch the floor when watching TV seeing the Star Wars series for the 1st time (4, 5 and 6 episode one came out when i could touch the floor) but instead i get to control the story and make it how I want

    For instance if I want a male character who saves everyone possible when he can you can do that. Or do I want to be a women who tries to get the job done no matter what, sure you can.

    The only thing I will say is that if you want to true experience of the series go on Mass Effect 1 1st then 2 then keep your files till Mass Effect 3. Trust me you will thank me later on that recommendation.
    Expand
  96. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    This game is so good it made me play the first game again, and I had played ME to the point that I didnâ
  97. Aug 6, 2012
    7
    I dont wish for people to take my review seriously but this is what I have to say about it. I never finished Mass Effect 1 but I did finish this. It has a great story behind it and it is very fun to play. The controls are good and so are the graphics. But since I didnt play the first one I never really got onto the story like I should of. I hear Mass Effect is all about story and Im sureI dont wish for people to take my review seriously but this is what I have to say about it. I never finished Mass Effect 1 but I did finish this. It has a great story behind it and it is very fun to play. The controls are good and so are the graphics. But since I didnt play the first one I never really got onto the story like I should of. I hear Mass Effect is all about story and Im sure it is I just havent had the time to play the first one so this is my review. Great game I just didnt fully understand it.

    Pros:
    -Great Controls
    -Good Graphics
    -Strong Story

    Cons:
    -I didnt fully understand the story
    -Navigation is hard
    -Menus can be confusing
    Expand
  98. Aug 4, 2013
    10
    the only game i will ever give a 10 too on this generation literally the best combination of action, adventure and story. the characters are truly lovable and this is the perfect follow up in terms of story to mass effect 1. the game was more streamlined in terms of rpg elements but still required you to talk to your crew and be involved with upgrading your character and your ship. thethe only game i will ever give a 10 too on this generation literally the best combination of action, adventure and story. the characters are truly lovable and this is the perfect follow up in terms of story to mass effect 1. the game was more streamlined in terms of rpg elements but still required you to talk to your crew and be involved with upgrading your character and your ship. the voice acting throughout this game is perfect and every character has a unique and intriguing aspect. the locations that you visit throughout the game are all beautiful the universe that bioware has created is truly interesting and engaging. Expand
  99. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Mass Effect 2 is much improved on the first game (for example, no more meiko and an improved combat system). The story is fantastic, supported by strong voice acting, and on the 4th play through I am still finding things I have missed. Brilliant game and thoroughly looking forward to the next one.
  100. Nov 24, 2011
    9
    A worthy sequel to Mass Effect, Mass Effect 2 follows on to the original with solid gameplay, solid plot, a significant number of improvements...and a few changes not for the best. Decisions made in the previous game do carry weight in ME2, although new players not importing a ME1 character can make these decisions during game startup, and so won't miss anything. The combat system has beenA worthy sequel to Mass Effect, Mass Effect 2 follows on to the original with solid gameplay, solid plot, a significant number of improvements...and a few changes not for the best. Decisions made in the previous game do carry weight in ME2, although new players not importing a ME1 character can make these decisions during game startup, and so won't miss anything. The combat system has been completely revamped and provides better control and more tactical flexibility to players -- welcome additions. The storytelling is still top-notch, with numerous side quests and elements that truly flesh out the world while engaging the player at every turn. ME2 does not suffer from the early-game pacing problems that plagued its predecessor, so there aren't any slow places in the game. Dialogue and morality choices still are cornerstones of gameplay, meaning that those gamers after a more cinematic space opera can still get what they like...to a point. Unlike ME1, ME2 is definitely more combat oriented, sometimes at the expense of story. Where ME1 relied upon character interaction and story to drive the plot, ME2 turns more to combat. Given the progression of the plot, this is defensible, but the game's martial turn is a departure from the original. ME2 allows players to control their ship again, and mining is a component, but it has now become vital to player survivability. ME2 introduced an upgrade/research system that allows players to unlock upgrades to their equipment. To unlock these upgrades, research, fueled by one of four different elements, must be conducted. These elements must be found in small quantities in the playable world or mined via a tedious scan-and-probe system. With an update provided in late 2011, however, mining has been significantly sped up and made less tedious, largely eliminating this complaint. The only remaining gripe is that the real-world, utilitarian look of ME1 has been somewhat jettisoned in the service of sex appeal and eye candy; the practical combat uniforms of ME1 have, in places, given way to go-go boots and plunging necklines. Even so, the game's solid playability (and replayability), story engine, combat mechanics, and stunning visuals combine to create an excellent gaming experience. A menu of DLC packs have added excellent missions and cohorts to an already high-caliber game. Well worth the purchase. Expand
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 98 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 98
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 98
  3. Negative: 0 out of 98
  1. Official Xbox Magazine
    95
    Mass Effect 2 overcomes its few gameplay weaknesses with a fantastic weave of dynamic combat, lavish presentation, and engaging character and weapon customization. But for all the myriad improvements that make Mass Effect 2's visuals so appealing and its combat so exhilarating, it's ultimately the way it moves us that makes it so memorable. [Feb 2010, p.56]
  2. games(TM)
    100
    Despite all of the ways Mass Effect 2 is more engaging to play and explore, after 35 remarkable hours it was the characters that stayed with us… Game of the year in January? Oh, go on then. [Feb 2010, p.112]
  3. X-ONE Magazine UK
    100
    Both an astonishing RPG and confident shooter, Mass Effect 2 is daring, shocking and often awe-inspiring in its use of choice. This is the future of storytelling in videogames. [Issue#, p.85]