Mass Effect 2 Image
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 98 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3247 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Mass Effect trilogy is a science fiction adventure set in a vast universe filled with dangerous alien life forms and mysterious uncharted planets. In this dark second chapter, Saren’s evil army of Geth soldiers has just been defeated, and humans, who are still struggling to make theirThe Mass Effect trilogy is a science fiction adventure set in a vast universe filled with dangerous alien life forms and mysterious uncharted planets. In this dark second chapter, Saren’s evil army of Geth soldiers has just been defeated, and humans, who are still struggling to make their mark on the galactic stage, are now faced with an even greater peril. [BioWare] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Mass Effect 2 Overlord - Overlord Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 98
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 98
  3. Negative: 0 out of 98
  1. games(TM)
    100
    Despite all of the ways Mass Effect 2 is more engaging to play and explore, after 35 remarkable hours it was the characters that stayed with us… Game of the year in January? Oh, go on then. [Feb 2010, p.112]
  2. AceGamez
    100
    It’s forty-plus hours of top-notch combat, incredible voice-acting, emotional provocation, stunning graphics and exhilarating gameplay of a standard that simply hasn’t been achieved before as a complete package.
  3. If you liked Mass Effect 1 to any degree whatsoever, you’ll definitely love Mass Effect 2 with its improved combat and AI, and cinematics and storyline – sans the glitches we all know and hate from ME1.
  4. Mass Effect 2 is easily one of the most compelling, exciting and emotionally affecting interactive experiences you’ll ever have.
  5. Right now I’m even salivating at the prospect of finishing up all of the extra content.
  6. Everything BioWare did to improve the game has lead to satisfying results. Such efforts actually redefine how sequels should be made. This was one of the most memorable gaming experiences we've had in recent history.
  7. Players who can look past the lack of drive, annoying decisions, and a general stripped-down, dumbed-down feeling can (thankfully) still look forward to some truly spectacular moments and unforgettable action before credits roll.

See all 98 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 586
  1. dc
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    I liked mass effect but thought its glitches and combat made it a 7 this games improved both of them big time the story is good just wish i I liked mass effect but thought its glitches and combat made it a 7 this games improved both of them big time the story is good just wish i could use it on my PS3 instead of 360 because of the multiple discs but that doesnt really bother me to much 10 out of 10 bring on the sequel : ) Expand
  2. Aug 21, 2010
    10
    Well, every game has it's detractors,but seriously? "Oh noes, they dun stole my RPG elements! It is awl dumb-down and stoopid now!" blissfullyWell, every game has it's detractors,but seriously? "Oh noes, they dun stole my RPG elements! It is awl dumb-down and stoopid now!" blissfully forgetting through their misty-eyed watercolour memories that Mass Effect could be muscled through with sheer gaming skill and an unleveled Shepard. Being able to be beaten by skill alone, an RPG does not make. The inventory was awful, it turned the whole game into a puzzle of managing your inventory. I'm glad to see it gone. To finish up, the romance options are much improved, instead of humans only or a 106-year old archeologist. Expand
  3. JonathanW
    Feb 6, 2010
    10
    Mass effect 2 is a solid improvement over the original which was an already stellar title. The upgraded combat, level up, and armor systems Mass effect 2 is a solid improvement over the original which was an already stellar title. The upgraded combat, level up, and armor systems work smoothly and make it a faster less tedious experiance. My only complaints are that the Story is slightly less surprising than the original (though in no means bad) and the final boss looks very cheesey (though it does fit into the story very well.) If you love third person shooters and or RPGs M.E.2 should be on the top of your list. Expand
  4. williamv.
    Mar 29, 2010
    10
    Mass effect 2 was a great game because it gives a good storyline. Every choices you made in mass effect will be transferred in mass effect 2 Mass effect 2 was a great game because it gives a good storyline. Every choices you made in mass effect will be transferred in mass effect 2 and this time you must gather your ally to fight the collectors. the graphic in mass effect 2 was improved dramatically from the original mass effect. I enjoyed while playing this game because the graphic was amazing. I think that the graphic in mass effect2 was better than the graphic in gears of war. The main antagonist in mass effect 2 was the collectors. But the geth still make the appear in this game because of some mission. The sound in mass effect 2 was amazing and I enjoy them all. I think that mass effect 2 was the greatest game in 2010. But this game short and I hope that in the next sequel will be better and have a long time to played. And also this game have a good ai . After all, this game was great and must be played by every gamer in the world. Expand
  5. ElliottR
    Mar 29, 2010
    10
    Not since I played Knights of the Old Republic back in 2003 have i experienced such a character driven game. This is one of the greatest Not since I played Knights of the Old Republic back in 2003 have i experienced such a character driven game. This is one of the greatest games I have ever played because every formula that Bioware has used fits together almost perfectly. The heart pounding and beautifully composed score, the terrific camera angles, and the return of old and new heroes(and/or villains). Mass Effect 2 is the reason I can say that video games are beginning to have the same impact that movies have on an audience. Throughout the game, fighting and conversing with my squad, I really began to feel for some of my teammates. I finished the game awestruck and wished that I could have made some different choices beforehand to save some of my dead squad. My only complaint is that I felt the story should have focused more on the main mission at hand; maybe added a couple more important decisions and an extra quest before heading through the Omega 4 Relay. Also I wish the final battle had been longer; all that build up for an amazingingly put together but short lived close. Nevertheless I still cannot believe that I was so pulled into this game and how breathtaken I was as it ended, I didnt want it to end.I still cant stop thinking about the incredible battle sequences and cutscenes. Bioware is not only the future of science fiction gaming but gaming alone. Bravo on the masterpiece! Expand
  6. Jan 27, 2012
    9
    Gameplay is maybe the worse aspect of Mass Effect 2, and sometimes it feels like a weird Gears of War, but this game goes deeper than most ofGameplay is maybe the worse aspect of Mass Effect 2, and sometimes it feels like a weird Gears of War, but this game goes deeper than most of games I've played. The RPG elements are simple and intelligent. Choices system is something different that you don't see in every game, but in Mass Effect 2 it is complex and amazing. Oh, the main missions last about 15 hours, but you won't want to do only them, because the secondary missions feel like primary ones, and how you get into them (by exploring planets in a weird eletronic galaxy map) is awesome. Mass Effect 2 is not perfect, but the way it is different from many games out there makes I recommend this to nearly everyone. Expand
  7. Jan 17, 2015
    0
    Awful; nothing like Mass Effect 1. This is where Bioware killed the Mass effect franchise. Awful upgrading, awful weapons, awful writing,Awful; nothing like Mass Effect 1. This is where Bioware killed the Mass effect franchise. Awful upgrading, awful weapons, awful writing, awful story, ok characters, no exploration, awful game. Expand

See all 586 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  2. Mass Effect 2: Inside the Reviews

    Mass Effect 2: Inside the Reviews Image
    Published: January 28, 2010
    We compare Mass Effect 2 to other high-scoring titles, and go deeper inside the reviews to find the specific factors behind all the hype.