Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 184 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: When a sinister conspiracy targets Commander Shepard, you and your team must uncover the truth, through battles and intrigue that range from the glamour of the Citadel's Wards to the top-secret Council Archives. Uncover the truth and fight alongside your squad - as well as the cast from theWhen a sinister conspiracy targets Commander Shepard, you and your team must uncover the truth, through battles and intrigue that range from the glamour of the Citadel's Wards to the top-secret Council Archives. Uncover the truth and fight alongside your squad - as well as the cast from the original Mass Effect and Mass Effect 2, including Urdnot Wrex! Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Mar 19, 2013
    95
    It gives ME vets everything they wanted in the game's ending, namely a return on beloved characters and some effect on what their choices thus far hath wrought.
  2. Mar 8, 2013
    91
    It's a real shame that Mass Effect's legacy feels doomed to be That Ending, when this DLC far more appropriately sums up why the series meant so much to so many. Citadel doesn't change the destination, but it does offer a fantastic second chance to celebrate the journey and remember why it was worth taking.
  3. Mar 27, 2013
    90
    Seriously, the only way this could be any better were if it ended on a freeze-frame of Shepard punching the air, accompanied by Simple Minds’ ‘Don’t You Forget About Me’.
  4. Mar 11, 2013
    88
    It isn't the most serious affair, but if shooting the breeze in the bowels of the Normandy provided you with some of your fondest Mass Effect moments, you'll absolutely love this one last chance to bond with your crew.
  5. 85
    It’s these sneaky moments of sweetness across Citadel’s five-hour journey that make it a pricey but wholly affecting excuse to linger just a little longer under Mass Effect’s spell.
  6. 80
    Citadel feels fresh compared to the tired 'haunted house' missions of recent DLC packs, and deserves to be filed alongside Kasumi's Stolen Memory and Lair of the Shadow Broker as one of the best expansions to the Mass Effect universe, as well as a fitting full stop for the trilogy.
  7. Mar 7, 2013
    70
    Citadel caps off the Mass Effect trilogy with an outrageous storyline that plays exclusively to the series' diehard fandom.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 54
  2. Negative: 8 out of 54
  1. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    This is, by far, the best DLC for ME3, and the second best of the franchise (first is shadow broker). This does so many things right. NoThis is, by far, the best DLC for ME3, and the second best of the franchise (first is shadow broker). This does so many things right. No spoilers, but the DLC can be conveniently divided into four distinct areas:

    1) There is a side story arc that will take ~2-5 hours to complete. The story is interesting (especially since it doesn't involve Reapers, Cerberus, or Collectors (I won't say more in order to avoid spoilers). This doesn't just feel like a filler story, but is rather thought out. Characters from previous games are brought back, and many background stories (such as the First Contact War) are given more context. 2) The second component of the DLC is similar to the Hearthfire expansion of Skyrim (although not as involved by any means). This allows Shepard to obtain and customize an apartment on the Citadel. Kind of a fun experience, and it allows for Admiral Anderson's background story to be more deeply investigated.
    3) The third component of the DLC revolves around the fact that it opens an entirely new district in the Citadel for exploration. There are many things to do, but the most notable are the Casino, Video Arcade, and Combat Simulator. The casino has a variety of games to play to gamble some of your in game credits. The video arcade has a handful of simple games to play. The combat simulator is one of the best additions in the DLC. It resembles the Pinnacle Station DLC in this regard from the first game, but is much more customizable it draws heavily from the multiplayer of the game. This mode allows you to play with squad members from ME1 and ME2 which is awesome.
    4) While not a separate component, this DLC lets you interact with characters from other games throughout fighting along side them and interacting with them. Characters such as Miranda, Jack, and Thane, will allow for additional romance options (if you romanced them in ME2). Final thoughts this DLC is amazing. The small story doesn't feel wasted. The extra district in the Citadel is fun to explore (especially the combat simulator). The apartment design is probably the least appealing part of this, and that is simply because it is so simplistic. The interactions with your crew- both past and current are very well done. Overall, the DLC is excellent. The writing is also very good and inserts a LOT of humor (which is a welcome relief to the sometimes tense mood of the game). I would highly recommend it and even though it is the most expensive DLC, it is by far worth the $15 asking price.
    Expand
  2. Mar 12, 2013
    10
    This must have been made post MF3 ending because this is a gigantic step up, its what people truly loved about the series; it's characters. NoThis must have been made post MF3 ending because this is a gigantic step up, its what people truly loved about the series; it's characters. No reapers, no Cerberus, no foolish gun game play; just well written dialogue. Collapse
  3. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. So Shepard crew are ordered to Citadel for shore leave. Once there you get an appartment (wont say from who). After which your thrust in to a plot in an attempt on Shepards life. Eventually the whole crew is involved. It turns out Shepard has an evil clone. So the story was pretty good. I found it in some ways reminisant of old Star Trek's good Kirk bad Kirk. The gun play was for the most part adiquite. The humor was so poking fun at everyone especially Shepard. It did not however detract from the story though. After all is said and done you can throw a party as well as mod your new house which you can revisit at any time. There are other things to do on this portion of Citadel. Casino, arcade, combat simulator and some mini missions. All of which I found to be a nice distraction of the glumness of the main story. No glitches or bugs that I saw on my playthrough. It also felt like a fond farewell episode of a well loved tv show. Very nice but kinda sad. I would very much recomend this. Its also reasonably priced for the size which is almost 4 gigs. Expand
  4. Mar 19, 2013
    9
    This DLC is fun, simply because it is what it is. It doesn't try to take itself serious, and it gives most fans exactly what they need inThis DLC is fun, simply because it is what it is. It doesn't try to take itself serious, and it gives most fans exactly what they need in order to say goodbye to this outstanding series. The teamwork and camaraderie that we experience during the all too short Citadel mission is simply wonderful, and although I do feel that the $15 asking price is a bit expensive, I can't say I regret spending it, since this DLC gave me what I needed in order to properly say goodbye to my beloved teammates. Expand
  5. Mar 6, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. From the clever writing to a out of a left field plot twist this DLC has it all. The DLC has three major functions so ill touch on all of them separately

    First off is the Story portion: Right from the beginning you know this is going to be entertaining. Clever funny writing at its best, intense typical action we've been in a thousand times (which never fails to entertain), and a "plot twist" that kinda feels like a left field. Without spoiling anything this twist is the only downside to the whole thing. It feels kinda small and don't do much for emotion regarding it. But aside from that the whole story itself has great moments. As advertised Wrex returns as part of your squad and so does the carnage. From everyone poking fun at each other during a firefight, to a serious brotherhood undertone it seems to set. This DLC is a must buy just for the whole "squad friendship" it brings. I'd be lying if i said i didn't have a smile on my face the whole time. And at the end you can throw a party and invite everyone to it for one last grand moment. And when i say everyone...i do mean every single person. From Jacob to Zaeed and everyone in between. And its always funny to see Tali drunk again. If your a fan of any of the characters then get this just for the cameos. Your apartment and squad moments: After the story you unlock the apartment completely and can "decorate" it through purchases. Now the customization is about as varied as the room you have on the Normandy but its nice that it has this feature. Also as you complete other main missions you unlock what i like to call "Squad moments" *small spoilers incoming if you haven't played the main game yet* These range from a recording from Mordin, a memorial/funeral for thane, fighting with Jack in the combat sim, playing a arcade game with Jacob, helping out Zaeed, and much more hilarity that is too good to pass up. And yes you can rekindle relationships with people no longer on your squad. (like Jack or Miranda

    Side Activity's: Now Bioware could of just wrapped up with what was mentioned above and called it a day. And on the whole part I would agreed this would of been a good DLC. But they took it a step further to add even more replay value. You have a casino to bet your money in various games with. A Arcade area with three different games to play with. And the old combat simulator just like the Pinnacle Station back in ME1. This will allow you to unlock different enemy's from Geth, Reapers and even a "special" enemy. You can set different locations and rules to up your score or lower it depending on how it hurts/helps you. And as a awesome bonus you are able to squad up with anyone *that is still alive* as you unlock them. Fight side by side with Grunt and Jack again even if its just a Simulation game. And yes they do come with their own talent trees as well. They also have these "Fan challenges" where you get emails from fans of yours daring you to take the next game with no ammo or med-gel. Its quite fun to do these things and addicting to say the least. Conclusion: From a good fan service to the characters we know and love. To funny moments that cannot be topped in video game writing. To well done side activities that will keep me coming back to play well after this DLC's release. Regardless of the infamous "ending" for the main game this DLC needs to be picked up if you remotely call yourself a Mass Effect fan.
    Expand
  6. May 5, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I played ME3 for the first time with Extended Cut and Citadel installed, so it is hard for me to consider the DLC from an individual standpoint. That being said, I cannot imagine having played without it. The DLC allowed me as a living person to have an avenue to say goodbye to these characters I spent so much time with. The action parts are great, evoking the overwhelming numbers feeling from ME2 and giving you the sense of accomplishment gained from completing a major piece of the storyline. This is not the true gem of the DLC pack though, the party afterwards is. When I originally got the party mission I thought it was going to be pretty cheesy, but the party itself ended up being a touching goodbye from the ME3 team to the fans just as much as it was a goodbye from the characters to Shepard. The combat sim provides a replay value as well as the ability to fight with some characters who didn't quite make it to the party for ME3 also. As far as DLC, I can only say I wish I understood how the team saw the game as complete without it. It is definitely needed in order to obtain some closure on the subject, which is definitely needed when presenting an ending that doesn't exactly evoke the warm and fuzzies. Expand
  7. Apr 20, 2013
    0
    this game is good but i don't get the point where to go the game give me too little information for me to continue playing and there should bethis game is good but i don't get the point where to go the game give me too little information for me to continue playing and there should be more shooting Expand

See all 54 User Reviews