User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1532 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 7, 2010
    9
    An amazing adventure. Mass Effect captures the epic sci-fi atmosphere of movies like Star Trek, Star Wars and the Alien series while still offering tons of new content. Some people might not like the amount of information gathering that has to be done in the early parts of the game but I found them interesting anyway, and even if you personally don't like it there's enough action and freedom to satisfy you if you have a little patience to play through those parts. The only gripes I have with the game would probably be that managing abilities in combat can be a little tricky, and that the NPCs could be a little smarter while fighting. But even with those complaints, Mass Effect still has enough fun in it to satisfy just about anyone. Expand
  2. Dec 7, 2011
    7
    Although the combat isn't as good as the sequel, the story is top-notch. The upgrade system is overly complex than what is necessary, and the FPS isn't constant at all. I was also annoyed how I had to find an old save to play the DLC because I couldn't return to the ship during the end - and most of my recent saves were from the end mission. This led me to have to play the DLC with terrible upgrades (from early on), which made the combat turn out to be a much greater challenge. In conclusion, a great game, but lacking in comparison to the second installment. Expand
  3. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    BioWare did it again!!! One of the most cinematic games of all-time, something that's definitely helped by a fantastic story, great writing, movie-quality direction, and strong voiceover work.
  4. Mar 22, 2011
    9
    bioware pretty much nailed this one for the most part. being able to travel in space to different planets uncovering a great mystery backed up with a great story and solid voice acting makes this a solid RPG . the combat system is pretty good kinda gears of war style . alot of places to explore and some great diolouge choices you can make . going good or evil was done very well . the game is about 18-25 hours to beat so its alittle on the short side for a RPG but not short enough to where it bugs me but close . i wish they added space combat in your ship would have been great . also the planets are all pretty empty i wish they made exploration of the planets much more intresting . that aside its still a very solid RPG . Expand
  5. Oct 8, 2012
    10
    I've played a lot of Science Fiction games during my lifetime. I can honestly say that Mass Effect is the best game in the genre. The opening backstory "Mass Effect" is not so amazing to start off with, but then you see the impact of the backstory right before your eyes as you progress through the game. The story keeps getting stronger and more exciting from there, and more emotional.

    The game was so good that I couldn't wait for Mass Effect 2: an amazing game that while being great, lacks some of the feel that I felt when playing the first Mass Effect. Play Mass Effect. If you haven't, you should. This is the kind of video game not meant for gamers. This one is based around character development, story and moral choices that are hard to achieve in this gaming age.
    Expand
  6. Aug 29, 2010
    10
    One of the best games of this console generation. Maybe ever. This masterpiece by Bioware does admittedly contain a few combat errors, but once you get a hang of it the fun is endless. I played through this thing at least 10 times, and could still go again. Most bad reviewers complain about "boring exploration" and what-not, but that is only because these people are used to the high-octane, nonstop action of FPS's and other linear games. My only criticisms come from a few story disappointments (why can't I save the thorian? And leave the rachni to the council?) . Otherwise, don't hesitate to go buy this amazing game. Expand
  7. Aug 31, 2010
    10
    Have yet to play mass effect 2 but simply put this game is amazing. It has sci-fi, guns, dialogue trees, Seth Green and an amazing story. A must buy for anyone who owns a 360.
  8. Apr 24, 2011
    8
    Mass Effect is a very impressive game, with great RPG elements and solid third-person shooter gameplay. The story, characters and sci-fi setting are what stand out in this game among all the other games. It is a superb game, let down slightly by its graphics engine and occassionally tedious Mako planet exploring sections. I could write a lot about this game, but I'm going to sum it up. The characters are wonderfully intelligent and well worth getting to know, the main story arc is very good with numerous side missions; you'll get well over 40 hours of play if you explore it all. 4/5, fantastic. Expand
  9. Sep 1, 2010
    10
    A tear comes to my eye as I think about how best to express the pure joy this game brings. That sense of joy can come from climbing to the top of a mountain on a world at furthest reaches of the galaxy and witnessing an alien sunrise, the stunning and original story line, and even looking down at your feet as you board a cargo ship and see the entire universe below you. All these things can only begin to explain the wonders of this game. Yeah, it's good. Expand
  10. Sep 3, 2012
    9
    Begins the fantastic Mass Effect series with a new style of Action RPG's, taking themes and designs from KOTOR. A flawed masterpiece mass effect struggles with combat, level design, and of course the Mako. But underneath all the flaws is one of the greatest video games I have played.
  11. Dec 10, 2011
    8
    Since I pretty much have one more game to play this year (Skyrim) and next year, my most anticipated game will come out and the only game I am waiting for that year and that's Mass Effect 3 so I'm going to look back at the first Xbox 360 game I ever had. Mass Effect is a story telling masterpiece. I have never been so involved and emotionally attached to a game with a story this amazing and epic. Looking back at it now, I would've given it a 10 when I first completed it but its been 4 years and I have to admit it hasn't age that well by game play standards. When playing it now, my big complains are its overly padded RPG elements, slow graphics and lagged out combat which thankfully have been improved in Mass Effect 2, which is one of my all time favourite games of the modern era. Those aside, it is still a good game and that's thanks to its amazing and varied story telling, interesting characters, tons of variety and a huge galaxy to explore. When I first completed the game, it became my personal gaming experiment and see what kind of things would I find differently if I play it differently entirely. Because of its immense replay value, I have lost count of how many times I replayed the story over and over again. Mass Effect holds a special place in my heart because it was the beginning of one of my favourite gaming franchises ever and I hope that Mass Effect 3 will be another 'greatest' in my list. Expand
  12. Mar 10, 2012
    8
    First, I would like to say that I unfortunately was not able to complete Mass Effect.I was about to decide to save or abandon the council when my game crashed and my save corrupted. I have never been more furious, but I can't help but realize that what I had almost beaten had been one of favorite gaming experiences. This game isn't perfect by any means. For example, why Bioware decided to go with an infinite ammo mechnic is beyond me and the first few hours are incredibly stagnant for a game that eventually ends up being a phenomenal experience. There is easily 50+ hours worth of entertainment here but it's buried under mediocre controls and a weapon system that leaves something to be desired. Where Mass Effect truly shines is it's story. The player choice implemented invery action is a wonderful change of pace that sets Mass Effect apart from every other 3rd person shooter. After the first few hours the story picks up and goes to places that no man has gone before. In summary, Mass Effect is a wonderful game buried under a thin layer of mediocrity in the gameplay department. That doesn't stop Mass Effect from doing what it aims to do in the first place:deliver a masterful story that is diven by genuine emotion and player choice. Nathan out. Expand
  13. Nov 19, 2010
    10
    Excellent story, voice-acting, dialogue, RPG elements, world-exploration, graphics, replay value... one of the best console games of all-time. As a long-time fan of Bioware games, I have to say that this may be their finest achievement to date, and may remain so for years to come.
  14. Oct 22, 2010
    8
    I've put some serious hours into this game over the years. Addictive as hell and a real story to boot. BUT, for some reason, I can't think of a proper reason as to why I love it so much... weird. Some games are like that, though.
  15. Nov 5, 2010
    9
    This truly is a great game. Great graphics, great music, great story, great characters, and good gameplay. The world is so well developed and you can tell that so much thought went into developing the Mass Effect universe. Mass Effect is very dialogue heavy, so for gamers who prefer constant action, this may not be the game for you.
  16. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    9.5/10 = Incredible = There are so many bad aspects about this game, but the good overrules the bad in so many ways. This game has one of the greatest atmospheres of all time to name one thing. Innovative as well.
  17. Nov 4, 2010
    10
    Mass Effect is all about good story, great revelations, long worthwhile lenght gameplay, 25/30 hours... It posses a great artistic direction, awesome dialogues, great action! Some place are repetitive to visit like a paste and copy work, the graphics may have too much pop-in with weak anysotropic... But the rest makes this game of my favourite games of all time! Mass Effect is my favourite game in this console generation... Expand
  18. Feb 5, 2012
    9
    Mass Effect is one of the greatest games Ive ever played. The story is wonderful, the game is a unique experience every time due to the ability to make your own decisions. No complaints in the combat department, and I have very few in the graphics department. My only real gripe is that I found the final boss battles pretty lame, but that turned out okay cause the ending was so great. High nine out of 10, Bioware **** rules. Expand
  19. Mar 25, 2012
    10
    Mass Effect is an amazing game, albeit deeply flawed. The gameplay is mediocre at best and horribly boring at worst, especially those Mako sections. That being said, the reason the game is still incredible in spite of its problems is that it has a marvelous story with some incredible decision-making sequences along the way. It has moments that are guaranteed to send a chill down your spine. On top of that, it introduces the player to some amazing characters that you will enjoy talking to more than 90% of the people you know in real life. It isn't a perfect game, but it does deliver a perfect experience. Expand
  20. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    WOW, Mass Effect was an experience in gaming I have never had before. The depth of the game, the immersion that comes with the story, and the massive world of play, not to mention the space opera story, kept me playing this game for days and days on end.
  21. Nov 25, 2010
    8
    This game has such an amazing story and it sets up an entire universe (pardon the pun) that is rich and dynamic. Every interaction has its own feel and style and your actions impact the course of the game directly. What is frustrating, however, is the lackluster combat and the sluggish, hard to use menus. I give it props for having a new game plus option though, which expanded my time with this game quite a bit. At the end of it all though, I felt like it could be more. Then Mass Effect 2 came out, and now I am perfectly content. Expand
  22. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    Bioware is the company we must thank for all you RPG fans!! They have given us so much and yet they still prevail. This game makes me cry when i realize the time and effort put into this game. The gameplay, customization, and story is flawless. This game is a obvious buy you will put hours into in more than one playthrough. Bioware has failed to disappoint me.
  23. Dec 9, 2010
    3
    Why oh why oh why do gamers love this game? Did it come with a free $100 dollar bill with every purchase? This game is mostly reading (and a whole lot of running around) with a little bit of combat here and there, and poorly done combat as well. If the enemy has ANY cover whatsoever, you can't harm them. You can't shoot them from cover either. I don't like being punished for doing the right thing. A game should be played, not read. If I wanted to read I'd buy a book at Barnes and Noble. This game is proof positive that game critics in magazines get paid for giving good reviews to dull games. Expand
  24. Dec 11, 2010
    9
    Great game. The shooting combat is nice with plenty of side quests and an enthralling story. The RPG elements have been melded very well with the 3rd person shooter combat, and the choice you make mean something, and its not just right or wrong, there can be a lot of grey here, meaing you can really be yourself, not just pure good or evil. As for the elvator rides, yes sometimes they can be boring but the banter that goes on inside it can be quite amusing and interesting. My only real gripe is the inventory system and the boring vehicle sections, but apart form that its great, with a huge amount of cusomization available, a great story and amazing graphics. Expand
  25. Mar 6, 2011
    9
    Bioware has once again created a great RPG experience, you will notice it shares resemblance with another Bioware title Star Wars Knight of the Old Republic, but that aside this is truly a unique title, the story and the way you interact with others is great and kept me hooked, and the new talking system is game changing, and truly spectacular move for them, while this game is ahead of it's time with those features, the frame rate issues, clunky targeting system, and other bugs keep this from being as smooth as I would like, those flaws aside if you like the company's other titles or RPGs in general this is one I recommend. Expand
  26. Aug 9, 2011
    10
    This game can only be described in two words, purely amazing, I mean from all the information the designers of this game put into it to all the different planets you can discover, its just pure fun and really it signifies what Humanity is about, exploration and Curiosity. The only flaw is if you don't save periodically you can find yourself having to restart the whole mission, which believe me, is very frustrating, but other than that, its flawless Expand
  27. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    Not much can be said that hasn't already. Awesome universe, graphics that still impress today despite the glitches, and fun game mechanics (once you get used to them). Other than a few exceptional ones (like Wrex, Liara), the characters in here are not quite as interesting as Mass Effect 2's, but they serve the story well. This game overcomes its flaws due to its engaging, intricate story and universe, and a really successful art style and music. While Mass Effect 2 got the shooter/rpg hybrid feel better, this one sets up the series wonderfully, and is crucial for anyone who wants a fun sci-fi rpg. Expand
  28. Feb 18, 2011
    8
    This game is at the top of my list of favorites, alongside Metal Gear Solid 3, Battlefield: Bad Company, and Gears of War. It's a space opera (and I'm not claiming that phrase). It takes the best of the sci-fi genre from film and television (e.g. Star Trek's lens flares and strange high pitch soundtrack that creeps you out in that deep space kinda way) and sprays on a shiny new coat of paint and performs it like a true epic, something on par with Greek tales of heroes and side-quests. It's not overplayed, it's not pretentious. It's entertaining and meaningful at once. I played it during a period of convalescence because otherwise I wouldn't have had the patience. This is due to the inability of Commander Shepard to run, preferring a light jog instead. Match this character flaw with the future's architectural fetish for LARGE, open spaces and you have a test of patience. The HUD is unnecessary. All the information could be conveyed through character animation and in-world effects or placed in the Menu. The radar is cheap, the "target everything" reticule is distracting, and the upper title bar is insulting. If I can still remember people from high school I can remember characters in a game. The human brain is incredible. Mechanics feel like a group of RPG nerds were put to the test of building a shooter to get more people to play their nerd game. It works. I played it. But I wasn't impressed. Targeting is floaty and unsatisfying. There's also the obligatory grinding (ughh) in the form of traveling to unknown planets and bouncing around in a rover that is delightfully hard to roll.

    None of these factors take away from the greatness of Bioware's achievement with this game. However they do ruin my wish to replay it.
    Expand
  29. May 4, 2011
    7
    Great game, excellent cut scenes, good story, excellent graphics, recommended for any rpg fan. I am not an rpg fan but this was good enough to get the next one, looking forward to play ME2
  30. Jun 13, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Despite some superfluous RPG elements,this is one of the finest games made.With a brilliant story,characters and setting,become Commander Shepard(Male or Female) and explore the galaxy in the search for a way to stop the Reapers,sentient alien spacecraft who destroy all organic life in an endless cycle repeated every 50,000 years.Visit alien worlds,recruit bounty hunters,assassins,scientists and soldiers to uncover the secrets of the past and future.Get to know your ship and crew intimately,and fight the extinction! Expand
  31. Aug 17, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The game that started the ''The next Star Wars franchise of this new generation'' clearly showed, why it would become the next most iconic sci-fi piece of work since over the last decades. Pointing out a few negatives, the Geth Hoppers were extremely silly and annoying at most times due to the fact you couldn't have a proper clear shot and that gets you into shouting ''Stand still, you stupid robot frog!''. Another negative I would point out is the annoying 'Ally' achievements that take a lot of time and additional money to spend to get them. Of course, the main reason why I would give this game a 10 is because of the weaponry and ammo varieties you got from it that made this game enjoyable, the complex and emotional story line certainly delivers appeal. The best part, emotionally, was the pressure you had on saving Wrex and then either having Kaidan or Ashley to die as heroes on Virmire. The planetary exploration especially was very, very intriguing, and super fun, which added to the mystery of every accessible planet each time you found an Anomaly on your radar with the Mako, loved the ''Bring Down The Sky'' DLC, especially the high-key, intense ambient soundtrack while outside the impending asteroid! Mass Effect's abstract animation and film grain added to the fun factor of this game! Mass Effect 1 is the progeny of a new revolutionary sci-fi era! Although a few extremely weird glitches popping up time by time, it wasn't enough to make me downgrade the score to 9, this and it's successor ME2 are a work of sci fi art! Expand
  32. Mar 9, 2011
    9
    Mass Effect is impressive, compelling, addictive, rewarding and fun. The main storyline is fascinating and will leave you wanting more. Combat is challenging, multi-faceted and engaging. The characters are well-developed, and the voice acting is superb (although I can't talk to Kaidan Alenko without seeing Carth Onasi in my head). There are myriad side quests, many of which are relatively well-developed and woven neatly into the main plot or other ongoing subplots. Planetary exploration is fun, once you get the hang of driving the Mako. The level system is well thought out, as well.

    There are some problems, however. I think there are a total of only 5 or 6 "dungeons," which get recycled over and over and over. There is a side quest for almost every star system, and there are a LOT of star systems. You'll run through the same dungeons (populated by different enemies) time and time again....but you'll still enjoy it. Your party AI is also not very good, specifically on higher difficulties. The inventory system is overwhelming and somewhat annoying. Controls can be a little off, at times. Going in and out of cover isn't always smooth, which will result in more than a few needless deaths on higher difficulties. The mechanics are generally good, though. Overall, this is a really great game with a few elements that will annoy you just enough that you'll have to stop playing it for a few minutes once every 8 hours or so.
    Expand
  33. Aug 16, 2011
    8
    I've already played this game on the PC version, but after picking up an Xbox I decided to try this version on the consol. It's like night and day. Using the mouse for the PC version for a shooter game was so awkward and frustrating, but on a console it was sooooo much easier and more fun to play. I also played the sequel Mass Effect 2, but on the PS3. I can say, even though this game's graphics and gunplay don't match up to the sequel, it's still gets a nod over the second due to a more immersive experience with upgrading your weapons and armour for yourself and your squadmates. I'm glad I played it on Xbox and now I have to buy a ME2 Xbox just so I can import my character and decisions all the way through to the third game. Expand
  34. Oct 22, 2011
    8
    An entertaining sci-fi adventure with a great story, interesting characters and a cool morality system. Bioware has crafted a beautiful and believable universe filled with history and conflict. Exploring worlds with the Mako is fun even if the vehicle's handling is poor. Combat is a little clunky and the slow loading of the graphics detract from the game.
  35. Feb 12, 2012
    9
    Bioware have created a game set in a wonderful universe with exciting places to discover populated with unforgettable characters, with a very decent combat and leveling up systems and a fantastic storyline.
  36. Mar 27, 2011
    10
    So many years on and I still cant get enough of this game. After 11 plays already theres still enough replay value to go back and do it all over again. The uniqueness of decisions, the weight they ultimately hold just the immersion value is staggering. I really do feel sorry for people who use the interactive comic for the PS3, they have no idea what they are missing. I also find the flaws of the game, namely the Mako, are what helps make it for me. I love planet exploration and mineral searching. It adds to the epic space adventure and exploration. Something I sorely missed in ME2. The vastness of the Citadel, of world landscapes, and the general scope of the game make it so compelling to play time and time again. The enemies you face of Saren and Sovereign I find are without equal. Words cant adequately express how much I love this game. My favourite game of all time! The 10/10 bar simply isn't high enough!! Expand
  37. Apr 8, 2011
    4
    In short: Don't buy this game. It's physically impossible to install this on a PC without some massive roadblock at some point. After literally hours of messing about, I finally got the game working. This, to my disappointment, it was really boring, tedious and repetitive. Not worth your time. Stick to Valve :D
  38. Jul 15, 2011
    9
    Sometimes it can be irritating, and the storytelling ( i mean the cut scene the story is perfect) can get annoying, but in same way en-joyful to see your doppleganger interact which rich worlds . The graphics are in par with most of the games nowadays. The combat, is for me , lacking, the only flaw and the thing that infuriate me. But the decisions the best part, changing every path, whit-out even knowing . Best buy for RPG fans. Expand
  39. Apr 26, 2011
    8
    Mass Effect is one of the best adventures i've had the pleasure of playing through in recent years. The story is set in a science-fiction environment which takes the best from all your favorite sci-fi and action film culture and melds it into an epic tale combining RPG with Third Person Shooter. Character development is excellent, as you add to your crew and build up relationships for better or worse with your team mates. The player is eventually let loose to explore as much of the known galaxy as they desire which offers hours of exciting ventures, but for those who wish to stick to the main storyline it is one of the best crafted stories i have played through in a long time, with plenty of moments that make you shiver in excitement. The combat is pretty varied with a nice variety of classes and abilities for each you can use to slay enemies with. I would say the game is slightly tarnished by its clunky inventory system and occasional boring periods in the Mako tank (issues addressed in the sequel) but even today this game is still an essential play. Expand
  40. Mar 2, 2012
    9
    Played and beaten Mass Effect 2 with a very excited mood, but when play again Mass Effect to get the original storyline and characters, it is still very impressive. Let´s forget the combat, which is a little awful, look at the storyline, an epic one, it will keep you hours just investigating and to understand more and more. Oh, one last thing: forget all of the assignments, they will bother you pretty much, and dilute you from enjoying the game. Expand
  41. May 6, 2011
    9
    Mass effect is a fantastic game which really stretches what the rpg gender of games can do. The fact that it is set in space really made it for me since i am a bit of a sci fi freak. The gamplay and storyline are exceptionally good as as are the graphics and music. Another plus point is the upgrade and levelling up system. The only slight concerns i had about the game was the comat system could have been better. Also by the time you reach level 30 the levelling up becomes a bit pointless because all the important skills you need you already have. All in all a very good game and one i would highly recommend. Expand
  42. Jun 2, 2011
    10
    One of the best RPG's of all time. Certainly of this gen. Almost everything in this game is outstanding. The only things that were annoying was the Mako and the inventory management which doesn't take much from the game at all I think. Outstanding game. One of the best.
  43. Jun 26, 2011
    10
    Absolutely deserves all of the attention that it got and more, and easy 10/10. And yes, the game is that good. Mass Effect 1 is my 2nd favourite game, the first being the sequel !!
  44. Jul 28, 2011
    10
    Mass Effect is definitely one of the best game of all time. An impressive and original story , great graphics, and you get sucked into the universe of Mass Effect. For some reason, this feels like a realistic version of Star Wars with themes of xenophobia, space colonization, and freedom of thought. A lot of replay value is in this game , because you can make a new character for making bad choices or good choices. You can also import your existing Mass Effect character into Mass Effect 2. There are some issues like dumb squad A.I or enemy A.I , some framerate issues, and the Mako controls . The issues don't detract from the experience. I highly recommend this game. 10/10 Expand
  45. Jan 26, 2012
    7
    Killer gameplay, a unique and enjoyable visual style and a truly inspired story, with even side-quests having enough well written mini-stories to keep you blasting. Were it not for a horrible revelation ten minutes ago, this game would receive a 10, sadly, once you complete the main story (a long affair in itself), the game ends, and all of the side-quests that you said you'd do after you'd finished the story become impossible to complete because the only way to play again is by starting over again, which is something even the most dedicated fan would be hard-pressed to do. This is especially annoying because it's something that was entirely unnecessary, every other RPG allows you to keep playing once you've completed the main quest, why couldn't Mass Effect? I enjoyed this game and its main story much more than Oblivion (Elder Scrolls), but a flaw this huge is unacceptable Expand
  46. Aug 24, 2012
    7
    I enjoyed Mass Effect, though I wrestled with the interface (particularly the inventory) and controls at times. It's a decent, semi-hard sci-fi space opera that is definitely worth your time.
  47. Aug 31, 2011
    8
    Mass Effect is an excellent RPG with amazing characters and story (although it is a bit cliche) but Mass Effect is also a shooter game. And the shooting part, as well as the combat part isn't that amazing. The biotic powers are awesome, but the combat just isn't doing good. Both the friendly and enemy A.I. isn't the most advanced, the enemy A.I. being slightly more advanced, making combat either easy or frustrating. The side quests can and will end up being very boring, mostly because there's only three different dungeon layouts, and the stories are pretty much alike.While I read a lot about the textures being really slow, I haven't really seen much of that problem. Some slight texture problems, yes, but not something you'd notice. But all in all, it is an amazing game with some problems, but still worth playing because of the amazing story it has. Expand
  48. Jul 25, 2011
    9
    Impresionante, uno de los mejores juegos que he tenido el placer de disfrutar. La historia es completamente de novela de ciencia ficción, Un RPG excepcional, acompañado por una buena ambientación. Gráficos a la altura de los tiempos, gran calidad, emoción, seducción, acción y una jugabilidad que al principio (hasta que terminas de entender como se usa tu personaje y como complementarlo con tus compañeros que tienes en el equipo) parece aburrida e incluso un poco difícil de entender, pero luego de pasar algunas misiones esto se convierte en un control sencillo e imprescindible para sobrevivir en cada fase.
    Totalmente recomendado para pasar unas cuantas semanas sumergido en una historia sumamente original.
    Recomiendo guardar las partidas en forma manual, ya que el autoguardado te puede dar sorpresas inesperadas, como morir al final de una fase y tener que empezarla casi desde el p¡rincipio !!!
    Conclusión: comprarlo sin dudar, ya que la segunda parte esta en el mercado hace tiempo y ya sale una tercera que promete dejarnos con la boca abierta.

    Un saludo

    Luchinelrey (Luchin Shepard para los amigos) XD
    Expand
  49. Mar 12, 2012
    9
    Should I play Mass Effect and Mass Effect 2 before Mass Effect 3? Does playing through the first two games make the wait worth it? I would play through Mass Effect and Mass Effect 2 numerous times before playing through Mass Effect 3. I absolutely love the series so far. Here is how Mass Effect felt to me. I hope you enjoy.

    If I had one word to describe my experience with Commander
    Shepard it would be wow! From touching the Prothean Beacon on Eden Prime to the final battle with a Saren "like" creature. I hate that I am just now finishing it, because I am already on Mass Effect 2. Hopefully, I will get to Mass Effect 3 some time this summer (ha-ha). I have been playing this game since 2009, and due to a couple of "Red Ring's" I had to put-off the game for some time.

    This is probably one of the best stories I have ever experienced in over two decades of gaming. Every planet, mission, and side quest told intricate details to flush out the Mass Effect universe even better. The only reason this game lacks the one point needed for the perfect score would be due to two factors. First, on the side mission planets Commander Shepard drives around an SUV like vehicle called a Mako. Unlike the shark the vehicle is named after this Mako is clunky and difficult to drive up mountains (which seem to be in abundance in every planet). The clunky mechanics make it difficult for a completion-ist (like myself) to scavenge every single piece of the world looking for loot. I still did this to most worlds, but near the end of the game the story was so amazing I just did the side quest on the planet and stopped looking around for more loot.

    Loot in Mass Effect comes in the form of weapons, weapon mods, bullet mods, armor, medical mods, medi-gel (used to heal the mako, party members, and even Commander Shepard), and grenades. Fun to collect, but by the time I got near the 45-50 hour mark I rarely found anything better than what I already had. The second reason to hold off the perfect score would be world creation. For three of the headlined side quests (where you help your party members) Commander Shepard finds himself in the same bunker. The same bunker appears in about a half dozen planets, and there are others which get recycled in a couple different areas. For Bioware to make a game this large in 2007 means sacrifices like this probably had to be made. I finished it in 2012 where bunkers (dungeons) can be artificially built by AI. I would not say the combat is bad, though I would not say it was great either. Probably due to the year Mass Effect came out, I am comparing it to games years past its time.

    It must be saying something where I am comparing this game with titles which have came out in the past 12 months. I loved every bit of the story. I yearned for every second of cut scene I could get.

    I have not even spoken about the fact where Commander Shepard's decisions have a lasting effect in the Mass Effect universe. The decisions made in Mass Effect carry over to Mass Effect and Mass Effect three. Also, the characters who die in the first game are dead in the next two. Mass Effect 3 in now in stores, and according to some web sites sold over 800,000 in its first 24 hours. Bioware's publisher EA (Electronic Arts) has shipped over 3.5 million units worldwide. It is no doubt everyone is wanting to play Mass Effect 3.

    Without a doubt I would absolutely play Mass Effect and Mass Effect 2 before playing Mass Effect 3. Which is why I am now playing the second game with every spare second to finish before I crack into the third entry. Game Informer gave Mass Effect 3 a perfect 10, and IGN gave it a 9.5. I want, with every inch of my being, to go pick up Mass Effect 3 and play for 24 hours straight.

    However, Mass Effect 3 will only be a perfect game by bringing in my own save files which make my decisions matter in the "final battle."

    I hope this helps you if your trying to debate playing the first two games before starting the third. This series is worth every minute of the hundreds of hours you will spend playing it!
    Expand
  50. Aug 15, 2011
    9
    One of my favourite games ,a tear comes to my eye while describing it.I think this should sum it up!!The game play is awesome with some control issues but other than that and some audio this game is awesome.
  51. Aug 6, 2012
    10
    Amazing. What can be said about this game which hasn't been already? As a kid raised on Star Wars, Battlestar Galactica, Buck Rogers etc. I remember longing for the day when I'd be off exploring space in a starship and as puberty hit you realize that day will never come. Mass Effect however get's me as close to that experience as a young kid could wish for (without the hassles of work or death either) and as a game it's a boat load of fun to boot. Does it have flaws? Of course, but they are so minor when compared to the overall experience that I'm not even going to mention them here. If I were to list all the plus points of the game this review would be 100 pages long. A sheer joy to play and a must-buy for anyone with an Xbox 360. Expand
  52. Oct 6, 2012
    10
    Yes the mako missions were a pain and the autosave was crap, but i still cannot give this game anything but a 10 still. The gameplay, once i got it down, it was so gooooood. Not to mention this campaign is no question the best i have ever played. Amazing story.
  53. Sep 25, 2011
    9
    Mass Effect is great and definitely one of the greatest rpgs game of this generation. After a long time Bioware has finally made a series that can live up to the classic Stars Knights of the Old Republic series. Mass Effect has an amazing story, it is very well written, in depth and has excellent characters and settings. Its amazing Sci-Fi Universe is the quite possibly the best I have seen in any Sci-Fi game to date. Considering this game came out in 2007 the graphics look great, the environments look great if a bit repetitive at times, the characters models for both humans and aliens look excellent and the animations are still really good despite not being crisp there are a few frame rate issues but all in all the game still looks beautiful. The voice acting is also well done especially for the aliens it seems all the voice actors are into their characters, however the voice acting for some of the humans in the game can be a little cheesy and corny at times, but the voice acting is still excellent and better than most of the games out there. As far as the gameplay is concerned there are both pros and cons. First of all the good thing is that the game allows you to play in one of the six different classes given to you in the beginning of the game each classes have their own special abilities and skills that can be upgraded and also each class uses a different combination of weapons. When you play the game through once on one class than replay it with another class you will feel like you are playing a completely different game thats how deep and varied the game's classes and rpg elements are. The game also gives the player dialogue options which is the first of its kind seen in a game and a player can choose to respond in a way he wants to. The player can also decide to be a goody two shoe, a neutral guy or an evil guy in all these dialogue options. The player gets experience by even doing the smallest of things and once the player has enough points he can level up and spend skills points earned from the level up in the skills tree to improve his abilities and the abilities of the squad mates. Speaking of Squad mates here comes the Cons of the gameplay the Squad mates are just absolutely useless in combat they shoot at walls and boxes instead of shooting directly at the enemy, while you are allowed to tell them when to use their special abilities they don't use them on their own and there are also moments when the squad mates freeze forcing you restart from a previous save or wait for a cutscene to trigger. On top of all that your squad mates die very quickly and are not that competitive. The enemy A.I is good but not great most of them take cover in the wrong way allowing you to kill them easily and sometimes they decide to charge at you when they are taking heavy fire all these moments kind of make the combat annoying and painful at times. the game has alot of guns and mods but the gun do not have that much variety the only difference really is the amount of damage they do and the amount of shots they fire before overheating. The mods are good but they do not make your weapons that much better as you can only install one mod at a time and they still do not work that well against large enemies. The armor and armor mods in the game are good but once again lack variety. All the weapons, armor and mods go in your inventory and the game has a 150 item limit for your inventory once you break the limit the inventory shoves it in your face to convert s**t to omni gel every time you break the item limit all that was really annoying and painful. Than comes the Mako I know people have mixed feelings about it, I for one found it fun to us in combat early on than it got repetitive and the controls that are assigned to it are auite possibly the worst controls I have seen assigned to vehicle in a video game. The game also has hit detection issues sometimes when you shoot enemies in the head they don't get hurt at all sometimes when you shoot in thin air enemies die from head shot and sometimes the Mako's attacks don't hurt the enemies at all, the combat is not totally broken these problems do not happen all the time but they are there and kind of hurt the gameplay and make the combat more annoying than fun. The game's sidequests have a good background and give you choices but they can get repetitive and the infrastructure for the indoor areas of all the sidequests is almost the same and even the outdoor environments on most of planets look the same as well I understand the depth and the size of this game and the amount of effort it took to make it but this is kind of inexcusable or part of Bioware. In conclusion I would like to say that Mass Effect is great game and despite some flaws is one of the best rpgs of this generation and one of Bioware's greatest efforts if you love rpgs and are a fan of Bioware's games than you should definitely get this game you will have a blast. 9/10. Expand
  54. Dec 20, 2011
    8
    The worst points of this game are only some planets feel a little barren and the game begs for a melee button. This game is a excellent 3rd person shooter/ action rpg. It's dirt cheap to pick up now too.
  55. Jan 20, 2014
    10
    This is one of the best games ever made, it has a stunningly good original story line that doesn't disappoint. The amount of joy one experiences at the end of the journey is awesome and this is a must buy for everyone interested in a good role play shooter game and a good story. The game also has an amazing soundtrack that completes the story very well.
  56. Feb 19, 2013
    9
    I am writing this well after the fact. This game would have gotten a 10 if not for two aspects of the game (both of which are corrected in the sequels. The storytelling/storyline that this game starts is one of the best in modern gaming. The story is so well done that it has you thinking about it long after you have finished playing (much like a good book or TV series). However, if you are expecting great graphics, you will be sadly wanting. The graphics are definitely stuck in 2006. The gameplay is awesome with the exception of two aspects: Driving the Mako is maddeningly frustrating and the massive inventory of gun and gun upgrades. The physics of the mako movement work very poorly on the 360---you can tell it was designed with the linear gameplay of a PC in mind. Their are simply too many gun models in the game, 2/3rds of which are so bad you will never equip them. By mid-game you end up using the game guns no matter how many of the other models you get. Its pointless. That being said, the game provided just enough side quests (even with the repetitive environments) to satisfy the happy level grinder in me. Overall I loved this game and couldn't stop playing it. Expand
  57. Oct 24, 2011
    9
    The Bioware team really know how to spin a tale, and this is what they do really well with Mass Effect. You are submerged into this amazing Sci-fi universe with all these different creatures and races, which are very detailed in the 'Codex' part of the menu. You play Commander Shepard, who's is and Human and who's background you can choose for yourself. There are also a variety of classes to pick from The only thing which bugs me about Mass Effect is it's clunky controls which can take away the experience if you aren't really interested in story. But Mass Effect really attaches you to all the characters, sometimes you hate them and sometimes you love them! If you are really into RPG's this game is a must have! This is story telling at its best! Expand
  58. Feb 4, 2013
    10
    I couldn't help but jumping back in and playing through the first game again. While the game's mechanics are a little archaic, Mass Effect is filled with imagination, a stellar combat (minus the wonky cover system), fantastic and memorable characters all woven into an amazing story. I seriously can't put it down. Again. This series is the real deal, folks.
  59. Nov 9, 2011
    9
    This game was a total joy to play. The amount of detail that went into crafting the races and the cultures in this game were amazing. It was a ton of fun that I would recommend to anyone who is a fan of gaming in general. The only thing that could have made this game any better was the things that they implemented in the sequel which made game fantastic in its own right.
  60. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    A amazing game, although not a full RPG and doesn't have a massive map. (The biggest thing in this game is the citadel). It is still very fun game and Bioware have done a good job with this.
  61. Feb 15, 2012
    6
    I did not enjoy this game even in the slightest i don't know what game everyone else has been playing but i hate this game. A lot of frustration when i get hit by a rocket drone's rocket and die instantly. A lot of frustration with lag and it has the worst timing. The AI is by far the worst AI i have ever encountered. Team mates block shots all of the time. The difficulty is automatically set to hard, not that I mind the difficulty, it's the massive time in between autosaves that frustrates me to no end. The plot is amazing, the graphics still stand up today but it has way too many issues to recommend. The only reason im playing this game is because i picked up mass effect 2 for 20 bucks and it is my favorite game. Cannot wait for mass effect 3. Expand
  62. May 19, 2012
    10
    Mass effect is the final piece of the puzzle that game are an art form the story is the best part I could not stop playing it was that good even if you don't like RPGs get it just for the story
  63. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Boring game. You will spend 15min walking, to see a 10min cinematic, to have a 3min battle. and repeat. I've played decent RPG's before but this is just amateur hour
  64. Nov 24, 2011
    9
    Phrases like "genre defining" and "revolutionary" are thrown around far too cavalierly in gaming, but Mass Effect is one of the few that actually deserves these kudos. Set in an immersive sci-fi universe, Mass Effect combines solid gameplay mechanics with an outstanding story to create a game that is part RPG, part action, and all entertainment. Difficulty can be adjusted to either provide a strong combat challenge or provide more story-centric gameplay by easing combat. At its heart, this game is about putting you, the player, into an engrossing science fiction epic, easily on par with a grand space opera like Star Wars. User interface is excellent, particularly the dialog system. Players are not part of a static story that will play out the same every time; the choices made at every point in the game have dramatic effects on the world and plot. The release of the sequel means that the decisions made in this game not only affect this story, but the plot in installments to come. Players have the option to customize weapons and armor with in-game mods, which, combined with a variety of character classes, means that combat can be tailored to one's own style. There is, amid this glowing review, a few points where the game does have rough spots. After the initial mission, the game has a very slow start and requires some patience. Combat mechanics are not perfectly smooth, and there is no intuitive cover system. Finally, controls for the ground vehicle are inaccurate and awkward, which can be a source for some frustration. Even with these issues, however, Mass Effect still stands out as one of the best games ever produced. Now that Mass Effect is in the Platinum Hits collection and has a series of DLC packs that are truly entertaining, any true sci-fi fan with an Xbox should own a copy of this game. Expand
  65. Nov 29, 2011
    8
    Its a good game but the only bad things about it is the occassional bug and glitch, reptitive mission objectives, environments feature pretty much no variety, and a few of the characters arent that interesting. Besides that its good.
  66. Sep 3, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Wow, where to begin? This game is great, don't listen to the critics that gave this game a low score, they obviously don't have the brainpower to make galaxy saving decisions. Even though it is my least favorite Mass Effect game, its still a great game. The main antagonist(s) are very intimidating an the game really makes you hate them so that when you finally fight them, it feels all the more satisfying to finally take them down. The game really makes you feel for your squadmates and crew members, and if you let them die, you feel bad about it! Not many games can do that, Bioware does a great job with character development. Now the reason it got an 8, the glitches, good God they are everywhere, I would get stuck in almost every level of the game and I would have to turn off my console and restart from where I was last, it was a constant annoyance, the combat was fun and the graphics were average compared to the rest of the series. Very fun game, and a great kickstart to the Mass Effect series. Expand
  67. Dec 8, 2011
    10
    Best final hour of any game I ever played. Well written and well made. One of my, if not my favorite game I ever played. A true pleasure to play. Bioware at it's best.
  68. Dec 21, 2011
    9
    Personally, I love Bioware just like I loved KOTOR, I really wasn't expecting much when I bought this game but something new has come in the RPG genre. The 3rd person real-time combat is just great and exploring the world is also awesome, unfortunately, this side quests are really boring such some of the vehicle missions, that didn't drive me into the experience any more. The story is also absolutely wonderful and the characters are strong (at least most of them). Overall this game is amazing and it will really satisfy RPG and 3rd-Person-Shooter fans, this is totally worth your money. Expand
  69. Jan 17, 2012
    9
    Relatively short, but fun RPG. I finished this, but I could not finish Mass effect 2.. I loved the shooting mechanics and the crosshair in this game as opposed to mass effect 2's crosshair.
  70. Jan 6, 2012
    9
    This is one of the most immersive games you will ever play. The way you are able to interact with other characters and customize the story and experience are delightful. The combat was a little flawed but this was fixed in the sequel. Great game.
  71. Jan 16, 2012
    9
    It is hard to put into words how good this game is. The total immersion i felt with it was immense. It pulled me into the world, made me feel what my character felt, the choices and twists and turns of the story are unlike any game out there and nothing has really got to me like this game did. Mass Effect is so well balanced, great story, alongside great gameplay and action. Cannot wait to get my hands on ME2 and the upcoming ME3. Expand
  72. Feb 7, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game has such a good story, that it really is hard to even care about the small faults that some other users have complained about. Imagine an epic tale where you, the character is center to saving an entire galaxy from an almost invulnerable enemy. The interactions with characters is so good, that you'll form opinions about them and root for them, or despise them. Yes its true that there aren't good side quests in this game. I do not think the weapon inventory system is bad at all, I think its very simple and straightforward. The action is pretty good, though it does tend to be on the easy side. The mako is fun and only idiots are unable to use it. My real reason for not giving this a ten is because that the morality meter in comparison to other Bioware games is not fleshed out enough. You don't really ever be evil, you can either be a nice guy or a renegade, which is basically just no compassion. But really you never get the oppourtunity to take power or join Saren or do anything that would be described as evil. That is the one thing that brings this game down. And don't tell me about the whole choice about killing the Council, I don't see that as evil, as you are giving power to HUMANITY, not yourself. Expand
  73. Feb 1, 2012
    8
    I found the game overall enjoyable. It was slow, and absurdly hard at random sometimes but I found the free roaming aspect in a shooter based rpg to be extremely fun. The story is also well written, so if you like your movie games jump on this one. There is also TONS of entertaining lore and a quite convincing environment for the future. They even go so far as to explain the futuristic tech.
  74. Feb 10, 2012
    9
    First let me say I love the people who gave this game zero's or very low scores. I love how they **** about how long and boring the game is. They obviously did no homework or just didn't understand what the game was supposed to be. I'm writing I know years after its release but I feel the need deal with it. Mass effect is an epic game both in story and scope. I for one love then fact it had no multiplayer online play, that is an aspect of gaming that is focused sadly far to much now a days. I actually am a bit upset that mass effect 3 will require me to play the online play to get an easier true ending. I also loved the length and fact there was more then button bashing, mindless explosions and retard "go to check point B and kill this, then go to check point C and kill this" that crap gets old really fast and is pointless. If you wanted a FPS then go get MW3 or some other mindless shooting game and live on line shooting your friends in the head. The AI was horrible and some of the planet scenes being just vast wastelands is the reason I gave it a 9/10 and not a full 10. The charactors, story, dialogue and movie feel this game has is the reason I'm excited and love to play games in this generation and why I can't wait for the next gen consoles to come out. This game was a good buy 50 and is still a good buy at 20 which is the going rate for a used copy. Expand
  75. Mar 14, 2012
    9
    An incredibly original, smart and powerful space opera RPG. I can't say enough good things about this game. For it's time, the graphics and controls were top notch. Yes, there was an issue with managing inventory but really that's a small detail. Overall this is an impressive game with an excellent soundtrack, voice cast and story where your decisions matter.
  76. Feb 28, 2012
    5
    this game is mediocre at best its so boring the fighting system is boring all of the facial expresions on the people make them look like robots and the characters are boring in my opinion its not very fun at all i dont know why everyone likes it so much the only cool thing about the game is how you can shape the future of the game by having text choices
  77. May 10, 2012
    8
    the original Mass Effect has a fantastic story and RPG elements and I think is the best in the series at giving a real sense of size to the galaxy with large open areas, large buildings and a lot of exploring. There are some game play issues: it definitely doesn't have the greatest combat and the mako is a little hard to control but personally though the controls don't come natural I had pretty much mastered them by the end. Love this game. Expand
  78. Feb 26, 2012
    10
    This is a spectacular game!! Rich, deep story line, and a vast and very realistic universe. I enjoyed the variety of weapons and environments and enemies. There is so much to explore! This game is immersive and addicting! I enjoyed the ability to characterize and customize. The weapons are awesome, and the gameplay is great! This game is fun!! The story is truly unique. I loved the decision making, and the plot twists. Great game play, great game. Totally worth multiple play-thoughs! Great job Bioware!! Expand
  79. Feb 28, 2012
    8
    BioWare's grand experiment pays off. Bringing in a brand new IP in the form of a grand, sweeping space opera narrative, Mass Effect excels at atmosphere and world building, with a great retro-future-electro soundtrack complimenting a clean art design that references the futuristic designs of the recent past. Introducing a fully-voiced protagonist, the customisable Commander Shepard, in an interactive story that offers choice and consequence, with a cast of memorable aliens and exotic locations. The story is a top notch space chase after the rogue alien Saren, and his mysterious allies from beyond memory, in a style that is a bit like James Bond meets Captain Kirk. Overall the presentation is impressive. Weaker, however, is some of the actual game mechanics. Trying to move on from the somewhat tired formula of behind the scenes dice-rolls for combat, BioWare have put in a (not-quite) real time shooter mechanic, which while effective in gameplay terms, seems limited and unsophisticated in comparison with more dedicated shooter games. Also, the attempt to add vehicle exploration sections does not quite work, with an ungainly Mako APC roving about fairly bland barren moonscapes ending up at one of the same 3 repeated locations. However, the ambition should be applauded, and while Mass Effect does not quite nail it in terms of action gameplay, it more than makes up for it in terms of roleplaying narrative and style, and tantalisingly allows players to migrate their saves into its follow up games, something that has since proved to work rather well (in Mass Effect 2).It is quite a bold idea to produce a grand story arc over a trilogy of games and allowing players to fully customise that experience, and Mass Effect gets the endeavour off to a solid start. Expand
  80. Mar 27, 2012
    8
    An adult, interesting and very entertaining game. I like the customization and the freedom of taking your owndecisions. It is big and beautiful, with many imagination and good ideas. The best saga that has been created in the epoch of Xbox 360.
  81. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    One of my favorites of all time, top 3 games. Really fun game, great choices, interesting cast of characters, and a compelling story. Still occasionally pick it up and play. By far the best of the 3 (not that it says much anymore)
  82. Mar 6, 2012
    5
    The original. Gameplay is horrible. But the story keeps you picking up the controller. The side missions all take place on the same map with different colors. Your first play through the game is always crap by design. Does not hold up compared to today's games.
  83. Mar 24, 2012
    10
    The deepest, richest, most story-driven game I've ever experienced. The characters alone are so powerful they will have you on a journey you will never want to end. If you like the deep rich plot and character exploration of books, the action and suspense of movies and the freedom of Sci-Fi games, you need Mass Effect.
  84. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    was a great game, revolutionary, unique...

    shame that after they destroyed, Thx EA Games you are a big cancer...

    this franchise never had to have left the microsoft, sorry dudes, but is a sad reality.
  85. Mar 20, 2012
    9
    This gets a 9 simply because of the mako exploration of planets. I cannot get over how many times I got stuck in some rut and had to restart. Also, there essentially is no autosave; you pretty much reset to the beginning of the mission. That being said, the scale of this game is amazing, and the remainder of the trilogy is even better from here.
  86. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    I have played many games from now to when I was five years old sneaking on the Nintendo at three in the morning. There was a time I went through a stage of not really getting into stories from many games because many stories just seemed the same. The great thing about Mass Effect was it really grasped me, and I actually felt like I was in the story. It has a few minor things that keep it from perfection, but I strongly advise this game if you want to be brought into the world of science fiction from a video game. 10 Expand
  87. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    It gives you a sense, that you're a part of big adventure. And it actually does you a part. Unforgettable experience. Maybe the last great story of our generation. Nothing compares.
  88. Mar 21, 2012
    9
    A amazing game. You can choose what kind of person you can be and many variety of weapons and armor. Also a very well done dialogue. Ultimately what ever you do will effect what will happen in the future. Only thing from this game getting a perfect score is the pointless side quest not ALL side quest are pointless but most are and all of them are pretty much the same.
  89. Nov 29, 2012
    9
    Mass Effect is the best sci-fi game in years. You play as Commander Shepard, an Alliance military commander assigned to the SSV Normandy. After a mission on Eden Prime goes wrong you are left with images of the galaxy's imminent destruction at the hands of a synthetic race known as the Reapers. With time running short you must gather a team, learn more about the Reapers and track down every possible lead to stop the Reapers 50,000 year cycle and save the galaxy.
    Mass Effect combines third person shooting with RPG gameplay, causing fast intense shootouts and detailed skill trees, levelling and inventory systems to work cohesively and with ease. A must play for shooter and RPG fans.
    Expand
  90. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    An amazing narrative where your choices affect your journey. It's the best example of conversational and technical sci-fi. Bioware built a complex and malleable story focused on you avatar's interaction with interesting characters. The gameplay is also amazing, allowing for the pace of a shooter for the enjoyment of an RPG. There's little better than taking down one target through a sniper's scope and then taking out his friend with a biotic blast. It's a rich and rewarding universe that encourages exploration and vast numbers of replays. Expand
  91. May 5, 2012
    9
    This game is RPG storytelling perfected. A wonderfully complex good/evil structure forcing the player to go deeper than simply do this and do that. Player customization is deep and rewarding and playing the gamethrough as different characters yields unique combat experiences. The pacing some will find slow, but in a game rich in story, a slower movement allows for more to be taken in and enjoyed. Great game start to finish. Expand
  92. Apr 25, 2012
    8
    This was a great game that really made you feel like you were in a 1980's sci-fi movie. I kind of felt like I was the captain of the Enterprise exploring the universe, but also like I was watching a movie, and playing a shooter RPG at the same time.

    People who didn't like the game seemed to be expecting shooter game mechanics like in Call of Duty. Everyone who enjoyed it understood it was
    an RPG with guns and special powers, and that you'll be weak until you level them up. Expand
  93. May 1, 2012
    10
    Just one of the best games which I was able to play in all my player's career. Scenario incredibly well tied up, charming characters, revolutionary gameplay so to speak, and really remarkable graphics for period ! Although the passages in Mako are one so much is little irritating on edges, we appreciate all the same the vast universe whom is Mass Effect. I advise it to every player. Life expectancy of 30 hours for somebody who has never played it, 15-20h for the others. Expand
  94. Jan 18, 2013
    5
    Average in every sense of the word from the poor pause select play non fluid combat, almost fun buggy rides detracted by very bland landscapes and stuck with the inane and pointless back story just so you can cop of off with one of your crew. All in all its just a dull grind to play more than once.
  95. Mar 22, 2013
    10
    One of the best game worlds of all time. Its pretty insane how they created this universe. Feels like a very real futuristic place.
  96. Jun 18, 2012
    9
    Im going to be honest...I played the second game first. However, I feel that while the combat in Mass effect is pretty awful at first, the story is great. Mass Effect is a fantastic game. The characters, however, are not quite as fleshed out as in the other games. However, they are still pretty entertaining. The game does have the occasional glitch but that doesnt stop it from being a good game.
  97. Jun 20, 2012
    9
    Space, the final frontier. A place often visited by video games but seldom depicted with such grace. Mass effect is a space orientated 3rd person shooter based in a galaxy similar to ours with varied alien races controlling it. You play the role of Commander (Insert Name) Shepard, a Spectre, and commander over the ship the Normandy. You follow the epic journey of Shepard and his team and attempt to slave the galaxy from those who threaten it. The game brings so many new ideas to the table. The one that really stuck for me was choices that ACTUALLY effect the storyline. Dynamic conversations allow you to take several routes of storyline leading to new places every playthrough. The game even features the talented Seth Green as a voice actor. The gameplay is smooth with varied enemies to fight with different attributes and characteristics which you must adapt to. The game has beautiful graphics and scenery for it's time and a wonderful soundtrack. If I was to complain about anything it would be two things ; the game takes some time to get into and the guns heat up rather than a bullet system. I know the second sounds silly but is more a pet hate of mine. Overall if you a fan of Bioware, rpgs, shooters and space, there's no reason not to like this game. Just remember "You can fight like a krogan, run like a leopard but you'll never be better than commander Shepard!" -Miracleofsound. Expand
  98. Jun 27, 2012
    9
    A very engrossing and entertaining rpg/action game. A great story backed by an extremely satisfying conclusion bring this game into one of my favorite Xbox 360 games.

    ***SOUP'S GAME OF THE YEAR 2007***
  99. Jul 11, 2012
    9
    Although the worst game of the trilogy, Mass Effect still delivers. It doesn't have the depth of planet exploration like the others, but it is still an awesome game. Very addicting, after I played it I HAD to beat the whole trilogy.
  100. Jul 17, 2012
    9
    I'm jumping on this bandwagon a little bit late, having just finished this game with both 2 and 3 already out. This is truly an excellent game, exciting and fast-paced, and truly designed with the characters in mind. The player has an amazing amount of control in how they develop, and although a certain sequence of quests cannot be avoided or changed majorly, your decisions can have a huge impact on the game world. The only issue I had with this game was the tutorial at the very beginning. It sucked. I made it through it without truly understanding all of the controls, and spent several of the first quests still figuring out how to use necessary skills. Other than this rocky beginning, this was a truly amazing gaming experience, and I am very excited to continue the series. Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 74 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 74
  2. Negative: 0 out of 74
  1. It's an adventure that is so captivating that you'll be counting the days for the sequel. It takes interactive storytelling to new heights, and brings the player closer to content than ever before. It's easily one of the year's best titles and one of the most impressive games to date. [Nov 2007, p.151]
  2. Far from being a ponderous sci-fi exposition, Mass Effect boasts a dynamic, well-constructed story with a broad emotional range. [Holiday 2007, p.82]
  3. As it is, it's merely very good on several different levels, and is more or less a must-play for RPG fans. It will drive shooter fans completely up the wall, though. [Dec 2007, p.56]