Metro 2033 Xbox 360

  • Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Mar 16, 2010
  • Also On: PC
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 348 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 39 out of 348
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 20, 2011
    10
    I was actually really surprised with this one. It's pretty rare to see a shooter rely on story to keep the player going instead of the mindless action we see in the Call of Duty series. There are some but very few parts that are annoying, but they aren't very big things. Numerous times I forgot to take off my gas mask because the breathing audio is barely audible. I'm not sure why they putI was actually really surprised with this one. It's pretty rare to see a shooter rely on story to keep the player going instead of the mindless action we see in the Call of Duty series. There are some but very few parts that are annoying, but they aren't very big things. Numerous times I forgot to take off my gas mask because the breathing audio is barely audible. I'm not sure why they put the air powered weapons in the game since finding them is next to impossible except for the rare one or two times. The scoped weapons scopes don't work very well in darker environments even with night vision goggles on. I like the stealth elements of the game as well. It's not like other games with stealth in them where you only have to keep track of a few things. You have to keep track of the light exposure, how much noise your making, and how far you are from others that you might wanna kill. While this may sound unnecessarily complicated, it's actually all very simple.

    I did find it annoying that there's no obvious way to get the "good" ending of the game. I actually had to find a guide only to find that you would have to pretty much talk to everybody and interact with pretty much everything to get to it. I'm also disappointed that they didn't use the "good" ending for the sequel but instead went with the "bad/normal" ending. But then again it's understandable since, the book, Metro 2034 doesn't have much fighting in it like Metro 2033 has.

    The guns are also extremely fun to use. I was really surprised that using the AK-47, or the Kalash as the in game residence call it, didn't feel like just firing yet another AK-47. Using the silenced weapons to get rid of enemies quietly and destroying lights are also fun to do.

    Overall, the game is extremely good. It may not be for the one who is looking for nothing but action but it's still good. I recommend setting your own challenges in the game since it makes it even more fun. For example, playing the entire game using only pistols or rifles.
    Expand
  2. APearson
    Mar 24, 2010
    9
    This game is tough to recommend. I enjoyed the heck out of it, but it isn't for everyone. Pros: Graphics are amazing. Atmosphere is immersive, and the story and the game itself is compelling. The world is gritty, the metro stations are incredibly detailed, and you feel like you are a part of the game world. Sometimes, even dying is fun. When I got killed by a spiked, swinging log This game is tough to recommend. I enjoyed the heck out of it, but it isn't for everyone. Pros: Graphics are amazing. Atmosphere is immersive, and the story and the game itself is compelling. The world is gritty, the metro stations are incredibly detailed, and you feel like you are a part of the game world. Sometimes, even dying is fun. When I got killed by a spiked, swinging log that I caused by hitting a tripwire, I couldn't help but smile. Plenty more traps where that came from. Cons: The shooting is a bit off. The human enemies are a bit too hard to kill, and sometimes when they recoil from getting shot they get invulnerable until they get out of a particular animation. I had no problem with hit boxes. Headshots are headshots. Animation of the characters is lackluster. Facial expressions are worse. So there you go! That's Metro 2033 in a nutshell. You'll either love it or hate it, but at least give it a try! 9/10 Expand
  3. Nov 20, 2011
    8
    OVERALL: Easily one of the most underrated game of its time. This game delivers on some very key components that you would look for in a FPS.

    PROS: As said earlier, the big things you are looking for in a game, Metro 2033 succeeds in. The storyline is great, containing two possible endings that both are exciting and leave you suspicious until the end. "Ranger" difficulty can make it a
    OVERALL: Easily one of the most underrated game of its time. This game delivers on some very key components that you would look for in a FPS.


    PROS: As said earlier, the big things you are looking for in a game, Metro 2033 succeeds in. The storyline is great, containing two possible endings that both are exciting and leave you suspicious until the end. "Ranger" difficulty can make it a very challenging game making every bullet important, killing every enemy an accomplishment, and making every "Cartridge" spent carefully. The gameplay is very intuitive and offers a wide range of styles of playing. The graphics are amazing, from the people in each station, the post-apocalyptic Moscow, and every monster you encounter in the frozen wasteland.


    CONS: There are two big problems that this game has. First, Metro 2033 is very bug-filled, making some points in the game impossible to proceed which makes the game very frustrating at some points. It can also get confusing and sometimes too difficult, for some players, as this is a very hardcore game. Another problem is the stealth system. Stealth is an option in this game but is very difficult to control and master. This is partly due to bugs, how a guy will automatically know where you are at when you silent killed another guy in the dark. The cons are an issue but doesn't stop it from being a great game or should it stop you from buying it.


    GRAPHICS: 9 out of 10 Very nice, makes you feel like you are surviver living in the Moscow Metro
    STORYLINE: 8 out of 10 A bit confusing at first, gets better as it goes along.
    GAMEPLAY: 8 out of 10 Tons of new features and styles makes it unique, some bugs to work out.
    LASTING APPEAL: 6 out of 10 No multiplayer or anything, but "Ranger Mode" will keep plenty of people busy for a while.
    OVERALL: 8 out of 10


    THE CONCLUSION: For a new game developer (4A Games) and a new franchise, there is always going to be some kinks to work out. But this is definitely something great they created and I cannot wait for the refined Metro: Last Light.
    Expand
  4. May 2, 2011
    10
    FIrst of all I have to make a note on the fantastic graphics, which helps a great deal in showing the player a dark underground world in which humanity has ended up in. The storyline was original with interesting characters along the way, if and the voice acting is great. The overall feel of the game is dark and slightly gothic (in a russian kinda way :P) but this is wonderfully presented,FIrst of all I have to make a note on the fantastic graphics, which helps a great deal in showing the player a dark underground world in which humanity has ended up in. The storyline was original with interesting characters along the way, if and the voice acting is great. The overall feel of the game is dark and slightly gothic (in a russian kinda way :P) but this is wonderfully presented, creating an immersive and extremely fun experience, a must have for people who enjoy this type of fps. Expand
  5. SkullScience
    Mar 22, 2010
    10
    The game is a must have for any FPS fans who enjoyed the dark atmosphere of games such as Fear and Condemned. It also has a little Fallout 3 mixed in for good measure. The atmosphere of the game really puts it head and shoulders above most FPS games, with a relentless dark, gritty and foreboding atmosphere. The management of ammo (used for money as well) is a great aspect of the game and The game is a must have for any FPS fans who enjoyed the dark atmosphere of games such as Fear and Condemned. It also has a little Fallout 3 mixed in for good measure. The atmosphere of the game really puts it head and shoulders above most FPS games, with a relentless dark, gritty and foreboding atmosphere. The management of ammo (used for money as well) is a great aspect of the game and makes buying weapons and equipment a deeper process than it is in most other shooters. A top 360 exclusive. Full marks!! Expand
  6. MichaelC
    Mar 23, 2010
    9
    Actually i would give this game a 8.5 if this site had a .5 scale. Anyway this game has a very intense story which makes this the high point of the game. The AI however is very inconsistent. Sometimes it may appear as if the enemy is just standing there looking at you not doing anything. Thankfully however it only happens every now and again. Despite that however this game can be Actually i would give this game a 8.5 if this site had a .5 scale. Anyway this game has a very intense story which makes this the high point of the game. The AI however is very inconsistent. Sometimes it may appear as if the enemy is just standing there looking at you not doing anything. Thankfully however it only happens every now and again. Despite that however this game can be extremely tuff at times. The First Person controls are pretty standard compared to other games. The aiming senstivity is adjustable which is a huge plus, but for the most the default sensitivity is just right. There are some design choices that are questionable in this game such as the level layouts and such. Sometimes navigating in these enviorments in the dark can be a little trying at times which contributes to the game being harder in certian spots. Thanks to the great pacing and variety in the missions though it more than makes up for it. I recommend this game to anyone who is looking for a slightly different edge of your seats sort of survival horror fps expierence thats very challenging at times. Ignore the low reviews by 1UP and Onion(AV Club). These two reviewers clearly are not that skilled at playing videogames and let there frustration get the best of them. Too bad for them that they had to convey the wrong message to gamers about this potential cult classic. Thanks for taking the time to read my review! Expand
  7. ChrisB
    Mar 23, 2010
    9
    After playing the first couple of hours, I was planning to give this a solid 7. However, as I got deeper into the Metro I found myself totally absorbed. While the shooting is a bit clunky, for my money the atmosphere and level of involvement is equal to anything Bioshock or even Half-Life 2 can offer. It really is like that book that you can't put down, except with a book you After playing the first couple of hours, I was planning to give this a solid 7. However, as I got deeper into the Metro I found myself totally absorbed. While the shooting is a bit clunky, for my money the atmosphere and level of involvement is equal to anything Bioshock or even Half-Life 2 can offer. It really is like that book that you can't put down, except with a book you don't get the thumping heartbeat and adrenaline rush that I experienced when half sneaking, half sprinting (and not looking back!) through an abandoned library, hoping you don't get spotted by the 'librarian' while you change your gas mask filter. You feel genuine relief when you finally make it to a friendly station, and reflect on the journey you've just had since the last. And what a memorable journey it is! Go on - back the underdog games out there! Put down COD, get some headphones, turn the lights off and enter the Metro! Expand
  8. Jul 1, 2013
    8
    I loved this game and it was short a masterpiece,im truly saddened due to thq selling it to deepsilver.The best Russian game out there,hopefully no one will copy it...
  9. Travis
    Mar 17, 2010
    9
    To say this game has flown under the radar is an understatement. Much like Vigil games' brilliant Darksiders, Metro 2033 hasn't gotten a quarter of the publicity and attention it deserves prior to launch. Not surprising seeing as it launched along side the titan that is God of War 3. I am happy to say that 4A games Metro 2033 is a success for it's astounding atmosphere, To say this game has flown under the radar is an understatement. Much like Vigil games' brilliant Darksiders, Metro 2033 hasn't gotten a quarter of the publicity and attention it deserves prior to launch. Not surprising seeing as it launched along side the titan that is God of War 3. I am happy to say that 4A games Metro 2033 is a success for it's astounding atmosphere, progressive sense of dread, and superb pacing throughout. Not only did I take a night off from one of the best games I've ever played(GoW 3), but I will probably be running through the campaign again soon just to experience it all again. Though the shooting doesn't match the visceral kick of recent FPS, it more than makes up for it with a well told story, truly next gen visuals, and more atmosphere than most games could ever hope of acheiving. This is not to say the shooting is bad, in fact it is quite good. One could even argue the underpowered feeling of the weapons is due to the fact that the guns are weathered and damaged to match the post-apocolyptic feel the game portrays. Everyone has retreated to the metro system after the world spirals onto a nuclear winter. Mutated creatures lurk above ground and below, and surviving factions fight eachother in the massive metro system. The trips above ground are some of the most memorable moments in the game, as you are forced to put on a gas mask and frequently check your watch for filter degration. An in game HUD is non exsistent in Metro 2033, which adds to player immersion even more. Instead to navigate you have a clipboard with your objectives and a compass pointing you towards your next objective. In dark areas you flick a lighter on to make the clipboard visible. This is a game that encourages smart play. Using your ammo wisely and conserving ammo is a must if you want to make it in the metro. The games currency is pre-fallout ammo, noticeable by it's golden shiny color and prestine condtion. These bullets are also significantly more powerful that the "dirty rounds" manufactured in the metro. The game is raw, uncompromising and at times ratchets the tension to unbearable levels. You have 4 bullets left in your shotgun, you and your partner hear the howls and screams of creatures closing in on you slowly getting louder and louder. Your in a dark wet tunnel and your flashlight is all that illuminates the way, you turn to your right and see one of the creatures climb the wall and immediately jump down after you. Suddenly your in the middle of 6 or 7 of them quickly scanning your surroundings with your flashlight. These moments are great and help move the game along nicely. This is a story driven FPS. The way it moves along to story segments without ever breaking your first person view is something to behold. Overall I am pleasantly surprised by Metro 2033 and I hope word of mouth gets this game into more peoples hands. Because I believe that like me, once you pick it up, you won't be able to put it down. Well played 4A games, well played. Expand
  10. Aug 20, 2010
    8
    This game looks nice and is very atmospheric. I love the array of makeshift weapons such as the shotgun that has the butt of a P90. Also I like how you have to charge your flashlight and your journal is in realtime and is a 'weapon' that is affected by ambient light. I would recommend this to anyone who likes FPS/Survial games.
  11. Oct 29, 2010
    8
    The underground of Moscow in 2033 with monsters, tunnels, darkness and a radioactive Earth surface...sounds good so far... Overall this game stands out with its amazing atmosphere which in our books will beat Bioshock's atmosphere 8 days of the week. The story is again a masterpiece and we can't fault it too much - We just wish it would have gone on for even longer!!!! So far everything isThe underground of Moscow in 2033 with monsters, tunnels, darkness and a radioactive Earth surface...sounds good so far... Overall this game stands out with its amazing atmosphere which in our books will beat Bioshock's atmosphere 8 days of the week. The story is again a masterpiece and we can't fault it too much - We just wish it would have gone on for even longer!!!! So far everything is perfect...Our flaw is in the game engine and AI... Many online reports have found many glitches with the actual game and with DLC too! The AI is another annoyance. Enemies take cover behind cover (or so they think they are!). They are actually in the open but look like they are looking out from cover. You will also hear the AI enemies constantly say the same lines over and over again until you finally kill them off with the bullets..which brings us to our final problem: guns and bullets. Not only are they inconsistent but very annoying. Sometimes a single bullet will knock enemies off their feet but most of the time it will take entire unloading of clips of ammo into enemies just to watch them shout "you're dead!" in a super hardcore voice whilst they sit behind their non-existent cover. No wait, one more problem: you spend half the game collecting currency bullets and find a super cool gun you want to buy but it will cost everything you have, so you do it, knowing your reward is epic...then you walk through to the next level only to find the first enemy you encounter has the same gun and its might even have some attachments and you wasted all your ammo as you could have got it for free....damnit! Expand
  12. Jun 10, 2011
    8
    The power of that game in its color and beauty. Weak side of that game is much more complicated. At first - a game concept, which delivers a bunch of different mini-games followed one after another thanks to a poor idea behind the game. Second thing is absolutely brainless monsters programmed to use one way only although most of them are pretty tough. Third one - you can not exploreThe power of that game in its color and beauty. Weak side of that game is much more complicated. At first - a game concept, which delivers a bunch of different mini-games followed one after another thanks to a poor idea behind the game. Second thing is absolutely brainless monsters programmed to use one way only although most of them are pretty tough. Third one - you can not explore anything - even the biggest locations, they'd been placed there like a great decoration stuff (even people). Overall game is good, it's interesting and has a lot of fun-scary moments. Worth to buy (i'm looking at the steam price now - June 2011) but not expect that Metro 2033 is a kind of a masterpiece. 6 of 10 Expand
  13. Sep 1, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Metro, for all its faults, is quite underrated. To be honest, yes combat is kind of bad, but the game isn't meant to be a shooter, as many people treat it. It is mostly focused on the Story, which can be quite gripping if you are willing to go any try everything a second time. Combat isn't very good because it doesn't require you to fight EVERY baddie that crosses your path. On the Communist vs. Nazi mission, you can get an achievement for both killing them all AND for sneaking past them. In Fact, its recommended not to do it without the STEALTH suit. The nosalises are constantly just going past you or standing up mid-combat because they are stupid. They were more than likely created out of moles that mutated into them, if you take a look at their faces. As for people complaining about graphics, you're missing a very noticeable point: This is irradiated Moscow, which probably didn't look so happy in the first place. However, I will agree that the Gas Mask doesn't seem to make much sense. After all, if Gas Masks cancelled out radiation, we wouldn't have Haz mat suits. Expand
  14. Mar 3, 2013
    10
    An excellent game set in a richly detailed and elaborately conceived environment. The story is much stronger than the industry average for FPS games. The textures and art design are also above average. Sound is generally decent also and the Russian accents add authenticity to the dialogue. The brilliance of Metro lies among a host of little details done exceptionally well. There isAn excellent game set in a richly detailed and elaborately conceived environment. The story is much stronger than the industry average for FPS games. The textures and art design are also above average. Sound is generally decent also and the Russian accents add authenticity to the dialogue. The brilliance of Metro lies among a host of little details done exceptionally well. There is claustrophobia in the dark tunnels but as soon as you leave them you can't wait to get back. Every bullet is scarce, and thus valuable, a notion that is wonderfully underlined by the use of bullets as currency. Gas masks and their filters are a necessity while traversing certain areas... and are always necessary outside. Masks can break during combat, leading to rapid asphyxiation. Avoiding combat through stealth makes sense then, but don't take too long doing so or you'll run out of filters..! In short the brilliance of this game lies in the way that it manages to convey both continual dread and omnipresent threat. Expand
  15. Sep 9, 2012
    9
    Metro 2033 is a very underrated game. It has some issues indeed, it's not for everyone but for me who doesn't like mindless shooters it's one of the best games I've played so far. It's dark, violent, mature and its atmosphere is just stunning and very depressing. The story is great, as it's based on the book, which I really enjoyed and the graphics, for a 2010 game, are really nice. TheMetro 2033 is a very underrated game. It has some issues indeed, it's not for everyone but for me who doesn't like mindless shooters it's one of the best games I've played so far. It's dark, violent, mature and its atmosphere is just stunning and very depressing. The story is great, as it's based on the book, which I really enjoyed and the graphics, for a 2010 game, are really nice. The world of Metro is completely destroyed and beautiful at the same time and still, after playing the game and reading the books, it has a lot of questions unanswered which makes me extremely hyped for Metro: Last Light. However, the game is very annoying sometimes. It's glitchy, not very polished and the AI is so precise that it's almost impossible to sneak unnoticed, which kinda ruins the game for me. I don't recommend it for everyone, but if you like shooters with a good story and atmosphere, go get it ASAP, even if you'll be annoyed sometimes. Expand
  16. Nov 29, 2011
    7
    A really solid shooter, despite the slightly sluggish controls. I can't help but feel that this is the campaign that Modern Warfare fans have been longing for, yet completely let slip by them.
  17. May 17, 2013
    10
    This is my PC opinion for this game, it's here since I'played it on my 360 also, clearly the PC tech part does not apply here.

    Among the best atmosphere in a game so far, it's somehow linear but in way that makes you feel more free than how you actually are, in this game you actually cares about your weapons and stuff, you can feel every bullet you or your enemies fires, you have to
    This is my PC opinion for this game, it's here since I'played it on my 360 also, clearly the PC tech part does not apply here.

    Among the best atmosphere in a game so far, it's somehow linear but in way that makes you feel more free than how you actually are, in this game you actually cares about your weapons and stuff, you can feel every bullet you or your enemies fires, you have to fight against various kinds of threats, enemies, time and fears in an environment that really sucks you in, it's a mature and tense experience able to drag a bit of the scary kid out of everyone no matters age or experience, kids you are warned.
    Complaints about a narrow FOV are just nonsense from beginners, this game is supposed to give a good amount of claustrophobic feeling and is pretty damn good at it, complaints about weapons "feeling" lets clearly understand who played it with a controller and who didn't, usually mouse and keyboard doesn't have a rumble pack inside, actually a controller is the best way to play many games and many PC gamers have to realize that mouse and keyboard weren't planned to play games while a controller, yes. The sounds are creepy and relaxing at a right pace, the graphics looks really good but are heavy at higher settings on non high-spec or old machines, the AI is balanced and challenging, if you walk on glass or alarms, no wonder they will hear you and suspect something is going on, in a reality in which everything can kill you the fact they set up traps an get immediately alerted is quite reasonable, it's not about "you" but everyone and "everything" could be there.
    Many of the few complaints I've seen here among the negative reviews seems to come from beginners or people scared by this game that are actually searching for other reasons to mask their feelings and to "punish" the game...childish, there are people simply giving a 0 to this game due to the fact they haven't understood this game or they've thought it were something else, NO, it's not Call of Duty, it's a damn immersive experience and it NEEDS a more narrow field of view than other shooters for kids, it's an engaging, immersive and amusingly punitive hard-core experience for mature "minds" regardless of physical age.
    Few "here and there" and the fact that on PC it has heavily requirements to be pushed to the limit would require a little lowering of my rating that would approximate more a high 9 than a 10 but the fact that there are people giving out 0-4 not being able to roam the configuration menus or not reading all the hints the game gives out lead me to round this up to 10 just to balance this unfairness, a good game getting bad rating from bad players is something that drives me mad, when I realize that a game is not my kind and or I don't have enough skill to play it, simply I don't drop crap on it giving a bad rating and blaming as a fault of the game itself.

    The short version is: I've played it on the 360 a first time and decided to replay it on PC to enjoy better graphics and sound lately while waiting for Last Light, by my point of view it's a masterpiece and never gets old, every serious gamer should not miss this experience.
    Expand
  18. May 17, 2012
    9
    What a surprise hit. This is a really fun and immersive game. The action is intense but manageable. A little bit of a stretch when it comes to the story but still involving after the first couple of chapters. The weapons have power too, a headshot feels explosive. All in all a great game, I recommend It.
  19. Feb 3, 2013
    9
    This is one of those games that despite its flaws it is different enough and has the bells and whistles in place that the flaws can be easily over-looked. The game is set in future Russia where mankind is now settles underground. I never tell story elements in my reviews and never read reviews with potential spoilers but the setting is what makes this game so good. For a 360 game it looksThis is one of those games that despite its flaws it is different enough and has the bells and whistles in place that the flaws can be easily over-looked. The game is set in future Russia where mankind is now settles underground. I never tell story elements in my reviews and never read reviews with potential spoilers but the setting is what makes this game so good. For a 360 game it looks downright fantastic. The lighting and atmosphere is above everything else not called Hal 4. It really is a sight to behold. The only flaw is the outside levels (Very few) have some ugly texture work.
    Another cool feature is the good ammo and the worn down ammo mechanic. The good ammo is standard affair while the older ammo takes more bullets to down and enemy or you can use it to trade for better weapons and ammo. At first it is a tad confusing which one you are using however. Also the gun play is not up to par with other shooters. It is a bit clunky. As good as the story is, I wish the developers did a better job of giving the players more variety instead of a still pic with the words text across the screen and the main character reading it off. At least Artyum is a cool character and the other characters do a decent job filling you in on the back story. Enemy A.I. is either incredibly stupid or brutal. So the difficulty is all over the place and I did find a few bugs. But regardless, when it comes to production values, atmosphere, and creepy settings, very few games touch this gem. A must play and I can't wait for the next installment.
    Expand
  20. Jan 1, 2013
    9
    ill keep it brief, this is one of the best single player experiences money can buy, i have seen some pretty unfair reviews on this game and all i can say is that they are full of it. The only thing wrong with the game is the stealth system, and i felt like they over dramatized it, it wasn't that bad, sure not perfect, but not broken. Other than that this game is great, you do have to getill keep it brief, this is one of the best single player experiences money can buy, i have seen some pretty unfair reviews on this game and all i can say is that they are full of it. The only thing wrong with the game is the stealth system, and i felt like they over dramatized it, it wasn't that bad, sure not perfect, but not broken. Other than that this game is great, you do have to get the secret enlightenment ending to fully appreciate the themes and the message this game is sending you, which is something few games can math, the atmosphere is top notch. If your thinking about getting this game do it, and show THQ some support! Expand
  21. May 18, 2013
    10
    This is the Best FPS in the world, in story,protagonist,voice acting,music is fit for the game,atmosphere is unique.not like metro last light in my opinion that is a failure game.
  22. Apr 20, 2011
    7
    A generally underrated game, and though much of it could be developed to a higher degree, its haunting atmosphere, edgy gameplay, and mysterious plot makes a ripple that's worthwhile among the scattered assortment of apocalyptic titles in the media industry today.
  23. Aug 6, 2011
    8
    Like Metro 2033's cousin, STALKER, the main draw is the fascinating world around you. Immersing yourself in a post-apocalyptic society thriving underground is unforgettable. The gunplay is merely adequate at best, as well as the stealth components. There are also some pretty intense moments scattered here and there (one involving the most unlikely of places: a library) Overall, Metro is aLike Metro 2033's cousin, STALKER, the main draw is the fascinating world around you. Immersing yourself in a post-apocalyptic society thriving underground is unforgettable. The gunplay is merely adequate at best, as well as the stealth components. There are also some pretty intense moments scattered here and there (one involving the most unlikely of places: a library) Overall, Metro is a solid shooter sporting some pretty unique set pieces and characters. Expand
  24. Dec 27, 2010
    9
    THIS IS AWESOME GAME !!!! 10 / 10 !!!
  25. Aug 28, 2010
    10
    This is a spectacular game although it isn't as polished as the likes of COD it has a wonderfully odd story and the gameplay accommodates to that by the constant fear of what lurks around that dark corridor or the fact that you cant breath outside without a gas mask. The atmosphere is what i think the games strong point is i mean the depth of the game is amazing with a lot of set piecesThis is a spectacular game although it isn't as polished as the likes of COD it has a wonderfully odd story and the gameplay accommodates to that by the constant fear of what lurks around that dark corridor or the fact that you cant breath outside without a gas mask. The atmosphere is what i think the games strong point is i mean the depth of the game is amazing with a lot of set pieces and sneaking bits i have to say this is the best survivall game i have ever played thank god there is still games like this instead of the regular stories that have been repeated too many times, this story is original in its own way and is definitely worth a try i mean it has Russians in it how fing awesome is that Expand
  26. Jan 28, 2011
    6
    Graphics: 9/10 - beautiful in a dystopian sense
    Story: 6/10 - bland plot, characters generally uninteresting
    Sound - 5/10 - in the communal areas, you literrally hear 5 conversations at once, and you can't make out a word. And the accents are pretty dire. Gameplay: 6/10. The biggest problem with this game is the gameplay. Yes, its linear, but who cares - Half Life is linear, and who
    Graphics: 9/10 - beautiful in a dystopian sense
    Story: 6/10 - bland plot, characters generally uninteresting
    Sound - 5/10 - in the communal areas, you literrally hear 5 conversations at once, and you can't make out a word. And the accents are pretty dire.
    Gameplay: 6/10. The biggest problem with this game is the gameplay. Yes, its linear, but who cares - Half Life is linear, and who doesn't love Half Life? The problem is that it sets itself up to be great - good gameplay mechanics, great potential for some awesome shootouts - and then doesn't give you the opportunity to put these into practice. You encounter plenty of mindless mutants (solution: hold down the trigger while they run at you) but hardly any smart human enemies. Those you do encounter aren't always all that smart - they will be seen running one area of cover to another, sometimes with their backs to you. Sometimes they're standing out in the open and won't shoot at you. You're offered a reasonable variety of weapons, upgrades (e.g. silencers, scopes, laser sights), but none of it really matters. You basically need a rifle and a shotgun, and thats it. Throwing knives? I managed to find one single opportunity to use one of these successfully. Bottom line: visually amazing shooter with great potential, let down by its shooting.
    Expand
  27. Apr 25, 2011
    2
    Metro 2033 has a decent premise and setting, but the gameplay is broken. The controls often feel unresponsive and clunky. I was uninterested in the story and characters, and the enemies were unvaried. I am struggling to find any positives from my playthrough, but the campaign is a decent length and the setting is atmospheric. If you can get over the glitchy controls and boring story, youMetro 2033 has a decent premise and setting, but the gameplay is broken. The controls often feel unresponsive and clunky. I was uninterested in the story and characters, and the enemies were unvaried. I am struggling to find any positives from my playthrough, but the campaign is a decent length and the setting is atmospheric. If you can get over the glitchy controls and boring story, you might enjoy it. 1/5. Expand
  28. Dec 7, 2011
    6
    Read the book? No? Want to buy this game first before buying the game? Yes? Well, it's not the best thing to do first. Why I'm telling to buy the book, then play the game? Because the story might be difficult to follow, because it barely tells the story of the book. It pretty much tells very small amount of the book, but it doesn't have its own story. The game makes much more sense whenRead the book? No? Want to buy this game first before buying the game? Yes? Well, it's not the best thing to do first. Why I'm telling to buy the book, then play the game? Because the story might be difficult to follow, because it barely tells the story of the book. It pretty much tells very small amount of the book, but it doesn't have its own story. The game makes much more sense when you have read the book first. Well, how is the game other wise then? It's decent. It mixes with stealth and run 'n gun action well. Run 'n gun doesn't have the last click feel, which would make it great and stealth becomes very annoying, because of how it's pretty much based on remembering the waypoints the enemies use. I would have preferred less linear style of gameplay too, but it doesn't mean the game is bad. Overall, the game doesn't impress in anything, but it's still good enough to be bought...After you have the book... Expand
  29. Jan 17, 2011
    3
    Metro feels like a really bad version of Bioshock stuck on rails ala the COD games with none of the fun or polish that either of those titles provide. Given it 's an FPS it fails on the most basic premise, the shooting, it's broken! For example, sometimes a double barrel shotgun to face would send an enemy reeling other times you can empty both barrels reload and repeat they still standMetro feels like a really bad version of Bioshock stuck on rails ala the COD games with none of the fun or polish that either of those titles provide. Given it 's an FPS it fails on the most basic premise, the shooting, it's broken! For example, sometimes a double barrel shotgun to face would send an enemy reeling other times you can empty both barrels reload and repeat they still stand there! After trying a number of times to get into the game I just gave up, a few nice cut scenes and half decent story do not cover up the fact it's just not very good. Expand
  30. Michael
    Mar 27, 2010
    3
    A game with massive potential, but almost 90% of it is wasted. Some great dialogue, but in larger areas, you're given 5 or 6 people speaking over each other and you're left with inane chatter. Guns are fairly bland. Story is compelling, but very little chance to explore further. As mentioned in some reviews, the gunplay is buggy and hit detection is way off (for example, the A game with massive potential, but almost 90% of it is wasted. Some great dialogue, but in larger areas, you're given 5 or 6 people speaking over each other and you're left with inane chatter. Guns are fairly bland. Story is compelling, but very little chance to explore further. As mentioned in some reviews, the gunplay is buggy and hit detection is way off (for example, the double barrel shotgun has no effect on enemies at times, whereas the revolver can be over powered). Overall design of the gun is brilliant, and graphics/models are fantastic, but the overall 'grey' colouring wears thin. I was quite excited to pick this up, but after the play, I found it difficult to come back to, playing it just for the achievements. Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 83 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 83
  2. Negative: 2 out of 83
  1. Here’s the problem: the shooting, the only real game in Metro 2033, is broken.
  2. 85
    If post-nuclear apocalyptic thrillers are your thing, then Metro 2033 should be on your “must buy” list.
  3. If you're a first-person shooter fanatic that's not into micromanagement and just wants to kill things, this is definitely not your game. However, if you're looking for something in the genre that digs a little deeper, this one demands exploration.