Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Apr 20, 2011
    93
    For fans of the Might & Magic series, puzzle lovers, and those enamored of Puzzle Quest (in concept, gameplay, or both), I strongly recommend picking this up. Might & Magic: Clash of Heroes won't disappoint.
  2. Apr 21, 2011
    91
    Even if you played the original version on the DS, it's well worth it to jump back into the game via the HD version. Every unit and background is now hand drawn and units have excellent attack animations, complete with some fantastic audio.
  3. Jun 4, 2011
    90
    A true original: witty, challenging and bigger than most retail games. Trust us, it's ace. [July 2011, p.87]
  4. May 6, 2011
    90
    With a masterful built and long lasting single player campaign and a neat multiplayer mode, Clash of Heroes is a must buy for fans of the genre.
  5. Apr 23, 2011
    90
    It was already a great game on Nintendo DS, and this version adds a multiplayer mode and beautiful graphics.
  6. Apr 17, 2011
    90
    One of the best games on DS is even better in HD. A must for everyone that doesn't hate puzzle rpg's.
  7. Apr 15, 2011
    90
    With a depth and longevity that humbles most full-price releases – including five single-player campaigns and online multiplayer – Clash Of Heroes HD demands your immediate and undivided attention.
  8. Apr 14, 2011
    90
    Without a doubt, Clash of Heroes is one of the best downloadable console games I've played this generation.
  9. 90
    A faithful upgrade of a handheld classic.
  10. Apr 13, 2011
    90
    I loved it on DS, and this HD version is even better. A deep, clever puzzle game mixes well with a beautiful role-playing adventure. This is a game to get lost in, providing hours and hours of single- and multiplayer fun.
  11. Apr 13, 2011
    88
    This new HD version has improved every single aspect of the game: it has a new graphic style, new online modes up to four players and it keeps the great original gameplay.
  12. May 31, 2011
    85
    Instead of cloning Puzzle Quest, Capybara Games took the concept and elevated it to a new level.
  13. 85
    Perseverance will make you a better player, while earning you new units to exploit in enjoyably unpredictable multiplayer duels. [June 2011, p.82]
  14. Apr 19, 2011
    85
    Might & Magic: Clash of Heroes HD is a successful porting of the NDS game, with sharp graphics and a very entertaining gameplay. RGP lovers won't like its excessive simplification, but if you like strategy, fantasy and puzzle games, you should try it.
  15. May 11, 2011
    83
    If you're a fan of Magical Drop, then grab Might and Magic: Clash of Heroes. If you're a fan of puzzle games in general, please see my previous statement.
  16. Jun 28, 2011
    80
    A damn good tactical strategic game that has a ridiculous amount of depth for an XLA title. [Issue#73, p.102]
  17. Apr 26, 2011
    80
    In the end, Might and Magic: Clash of Heroes HD is fantastic port of the original DS game. Featuring astounding 2D visuals, improved multiplayer, and a battle system that will provide an impressive amount of challenge to players, it is a tremendous downloadable value that will provide at the very least twenty hours of gameplay, if not many more. There are some hang-ups with the presentation, music, and story that prevent it from being a true classic. However this should not deter people from trying what is the best puzzle-RPG mash-up to date.
  18. Apr 21, 2011
    80
    For those who prefer strategy and planning over the random elements of a game like Puzzle Quest, Clash of Heroes may be the deviously clever, deliberately paced game you've been looking for. It can be a bit rough around the edges, but it's also the smartest and most rewarding puzzle-RPG you're likely to play.
  19. Apr 20, 2011
    80
    A delicious blend that masks its less welcoming ingredients with the grace of Tom Cruise in Cocktail. Its innovative, genre bending mechanics, forgiving design, brisk pace, and lovely setting more than compensate for the occasional unlucky circumstance or superfluous battle.
  20. Apr 20, 2011
    80
    But honestly, it's the puzzling that makes Clash of Heroes tick. Even without the online multiplayer and superior graphics, I would still recommend this game to RPG and puzzle fans, as not nearly enough people played the original. Here on high-definition consoles, it's cheap and accessible, meaning that it demands a look. If you missed out on the original, consider this a second chance. Go and take it.
  21. Apr 18, 2011
    80
    A fantastic puzzle rpg that's miles ahead of the competition, with epic multiplayer modes and single player campaigns. The excessively long loading times and the poorly narrated story detracts somewhat from the experience, but this is an excellent choice for anyone who likes the genre.
  22. Apr 18, 2011
    80
    Might & Magic: Clash of Heroes is a good looking, well-presented strategy and puzzle hybrid that clearly is one of the best releases so far 2011 on PSN and even Xbox Live Arcade.
  23. Apr 14, 2011
    80
    Addictive puzzle battles and a ton of content make Might & Magic: Clash of Heroes hard to put down.
  24. Apr 14, 2011
    80
    Superb mix of role-playing, puzzle and strategy action, with gorgeous new HD graphics and an addictive online mode.
  25. 79
    If you have any interest in intelligent multiplayer puzzle games at all then Clash Of Heroes is well worth a trial. The more you delve into its mechanics that more rewarding it becomes. Just don't think this is a game that can be played in short, casual bursts.
  26. Apr 14, 2011
    78
    I love the rebalancing of specific abilities (in particular, the heroes' special spells are much more fair across the board now) and the multiplayer implementation, but I wish that some of my other problems with Clash of Heroes had been addressed in this port. Nonetheless, you can do much worse for your puzzle fix.
  27. Apr 16, 2011
    75
    Might & Magic: Clash of Heroes has become a pretty decent game. There is so much to do that this might as well be a full retail game.
  28. Jun 3, 2011
    70
    This HD remake of Might & Magic: Clash of Heroes offers the same great puzzle RPG action with superior graphics and online play, but at the end of the day it feels more at home on the Nintendo DS.
  29. Apr 26, 2011
    70
    Except for the new graphical coat it was given, Might & Magic: Clash of Heroes is a very accurate port of the excellent DS-game. It could have been a tad faster though, keeping the console audience in mind. It's a shame though, that the few flaws of the game's formula have not been addressed.
  30. Apr 13, 2011
    70
    With its inventive gameplay, its enhanced graphics and the new online multiplayer mode, this HD version of Might & Magic: Clash of Heroes is greater than the original. Let's just ignore the bad storyline and the poor characters.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Apr 23, 2011
    9
    If you like rpg games and strategy/puzzle games, look no further this is the game for you. I never was able to play the original and am happy it came to XBLA. Well worth the 1200msp for the single player alone. Did I mention it has 1vs1 and 2 vs 2 multiplayer. The game is awesome. Full Review »
  2. May 16, 2011
    8
    The first thing that came to mind playing this title was the epic battles my brother and I used to have with Tetris Attack, back on the SNES. It's the ultimate competitive puzzle game. I think I played it a solid 2 or 3 days without a break when I first picked it up. It was that difficult to set down.

    People will throw "RPG elements" in there as if there were any. There is for the single player in the most extremely loose sense of the word, so if you're buying this for that reason, don't. It's a strategy puzzle game.

    Core gameplay has you linking units of the same color together which then fire off at the enemy champion after a few rounds. Defense is maintained by creating walls by linking units horizontally as opposed to vertically or simply leaving extra units in the way to soak up damage. It's pretty simple but it takes awhile to really master.

    The reason I give this an 8 instead of a 9 is because it's horribly imbalanced online. Unfortunately, the two most common strategies utilized by players that really want to win don't require an ounce of strategy and still manage to win 90% of the time. I hope balance issues are addressed because the potential for an extremely deep puzzle game is there if not for that one hinderance.

    2v2 mode is awful. Avoid it unless you really like being paired with idiot teammates. I have been on the short end of the stick every time I have ever attempted it. The only difference between the basic 1v1 battle and the 2v2 battle is you have to worry about someone else mucking up the otherwise awesome combos you set up rounds in advance. Truly a terrible idea and one I wish wasn't linked to an achievement.
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 6, 2012
    8
    I enjoyed this one all the way through. I don't play a lot of this type of game, so I spent a while playing the game but not really doing combat effectively. But once I stopped ignoring chains and all that (like a dope), encounters became a lot more fun. I enjoyed the stories and the characters. I really liked the art style and the overall presentation. I still don't consider myself a big fan of turn-based combat games (though I've been enjoying the Fire Emblem games and, given what a Final Fantasy fanboy I am, I'm surprised I haven't played more of the Final Fantasy Tactics games), but I'd sure like to see more games like Clash of Heroes. Now, if only the game would have told me earlier on that I was playing like such a dunce, maybe I would have enjoyed my time with this game even more. C'est la vie, I guess. Full Review »