Metascore
43

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
1.3

Overwhelming dislike- based on 98 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: With this unique action shooter set in 2031, Square Enix continues to expand its portfolio of video games across a wide variety of genres. Drawing upon the graphics and storytelling mastery of both Square Enix and feelplus, MINDJACK offers a distinctive experience that throws players into a revolutionary playing field where an engaging solo campaign transitions seamlessly to thrilling, cooperative multiplayer gameplay. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 42
  2. Negative: 26 out of 42
  1. You'll feel frustration nearly as much as exhilaration, but the concept shines through. [Apr 2011, p.96]
  2. Jan 30, 2011
    50
    Mindjack teaches us that a good concept doesn't always evolve into a good game. Square Enix should really think about all the mistakes they've made if they ever want to create a successor.
  3. Feb 27, 2011
    50
    Interesting ideas like the multiplayer interactions aren't supported by a suitable structure, story and technical execution.
  4. Jan 24, 2011
    40
    Cheap science-fiction, lame story and a not-fun gameplay system. We're still wondering why Square Enix wanted to develop an action-paced game without any kind of meaning at all, just a copy & paste of games like Gears of War and Uncharted. Nothing interesting here, better wait for something that's worthy of our attenttion.
  5. Mar 3, 2011
    40
    Feelplus and Square-Enixʼs new try in the shooting genre falls way too short, compared even to the weakest 3rd-person shooters of the last five years.
  6. Feb 9, 2011
    30
    The bottom line is the more I played Mindjack, the more I wanted to stop playing Mindjack. I made it through to the end, but it wasn't without a lot of head-scratching, hair-pulling, and obscenity-laced tirades.
  7. Jan 21, 2011
    20
    Basic, totally generic gameplay.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 30
  2. Negative: 27 out of 30
  1. Feb 15, 2011
    8
    Don't get me wrong this game has its problems but lets go over the good things first. The gameplay is of course a core third person shooter with RTS elements. While this might sound tedious it actually flows quite well and can be pulse pounding. The graphics are nothing special but not terrible. The story is a weak point but odd enough it's easily ignored amogst the frantic battles. It's basically a cheesy sci fi future that's terribly bland considering the setting. The game reminds me of Kane and Lynch: Dead Men where the flawed mechanics are nothing in compared to the exciting new ideas and creativity. Buy this game for the multiplayer as its a definite saving grace for this title. Collapse
  2. Dec 9, 2013
    4
    Honestly reading the reviews of this game makes me believe the people writing them played maybe the first 2 levels before making their judgement.
    The third person cover mechanics being described as broken are far from they are almost identical in fact to the first gears of war game.
    The AI is terrible this is true but it is only noticeable in relation to your allies. It is especially disconcerting in this regard as the mindjack mechanics which are a cool idea and should be a lot of fun cannot be used more often than not unless you want your main character to walk into the midst of your enemies whilst you attempt to make the most of this core mechanicism.
    The graphics are pretty average for a 2011 game but better than earlier games which are described as amazing.
    The Multiplayer works in much the same way as Dark souls with red or blue invaders. The rpg elements are not rpg elements essentially it is a couple of perks you can equip.

    The thing I find weirdest is talk about how the story is one of it's redeeming qualities, here I disagree the most the story is terrible, it is a good concept, but the story lacks any interaction with the basic plot, lacks any real depth and honestly makes you feel like you are playing what is an alright game for absolutely no reason, all information is laid out in conversation based cut scenes and your boss battles which should lend a bit of variety to the faceless soldiers who you kill for who knows what reason are often more aggravating than entertaining, at certain points even leading you to fight indestructible enemies who will explode when you kill all the lackeys.

    Ultimately I quit this game when I spent 20 minutes firing rockets into a boss without it dying only to have a mass of troops spawn beside me and kill me. Up until then I got a lot of entertainment from this game but after this with no vested interest in the story I just thought "what is the point."
    Expand
  3. Feb 6, 2012
    3
    Okay guys. The only thing good about is the idea, I really appreciate the idea of this game, BUT, the whole thing is poorly presented. Bad gameplay, the story is not convincing, bad AI, almost everything is bad. If you value your money, and go buy another game. If you value your time, don waste your time on this. I am surprised why would any publisher will release this, maybe to remind us how good is the other games?This is the worst game I have played. The 3 marks, are for the idea and effort. Expand
  4. Feb 1, 2013
    1
    This is maybe the worst game I have ever played and I have played many. The only words that describe this game are broken, Unbalanced and abomination to game kind. This pile of techno-vomit should be shot into the sun were it's evil can be destroyed and never seen again. There is no point in trying to explain the game-play or story because there virtually is none. Do yourself a favour the next time you go the toilet dump mind jack in the toilet, do your business and flush it to the pits of hell. 1/10-Epic Fail. Expand
  5. Aug 2, 2012
    0
    To all of those who would of have given this game a positive review, please get passionately acquainted with some radiation for a looong time. This game is nothing but pure GARBAGE!!!!! The AI, story, gameplay, sound, acting/syncing is all GARBAGE!!!!!! DO NOT BUY THIS GAME!!!!! Expand
  6. Mar 17, 2013
    0
    this game is the worst piece of ever the graphics, physics, gameplay and music is terrible it feels like im playing a PS1 game. The story doesnt make any sense what so ever it is like the makers have had a meeting and said lets just make a game. Expand
  7. Feb 2, 2013
    0
    THIS GAME SUCKS ASS!!!! How could square enix let thir name be on this. I will give a brief list of why this game sucks ass

    1. An enemy
    walked up to me and said "Watch out grenade!" even though there wasnt a grenade, after i shot him in the face. HE SAID THE SAME DAMN THING!

    2. One boss repeatedly shot at the ground and wouldnt die until all the other enemies were dead

    3. THE MAIN CHARACTERS DONT KNOW WHAT MINDJACKING IS!!!

    4. you have to earn the right to make teams

    5. The graphics suck donkey balls

    6. I can name hundreds of other games you could be playing right now.

    7. Cover sucks balls

    8. its extremely buggy

    9 and 10: It issnt even worth talking about

    Do not play this game under any circumstances
    Expand

See all 30 User Reviews