User Score
3.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 38
  2. Negative: 26 out of 38

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 5, 2013
    5
    This game is incredibly similar to MLB 2k12. The menus look exactly the same, the game modes are the exact same, and the game itself plays exactly the same. It's pretty much an exact copy of 2k12 with some minor tweaks except for one thing- for whatever reason, 2k13 does not support online leagues. 2k12 had online leagues, and these have been a fixture for the 2k series for years. The minor tweaks I was talking about are mostly mechanical- fielding looks a bit smoother (although still jerky on some plays), the crowd looks a bit better, and, most importantly, the AI is a bit smarter, especially in late game situations (the computer will actually sub out pitchers at appropriate times.) When it comes down to it, MLB 2k13 is a stripped down rehash of MLB 2k12. Expand
  2. Mar 5, 2013
    0
    This game is complete GARBAGE. The visuals, gameplay, presentation, and everything else are exactly the same as games past. 2k really needs to get out of the baseball business now to save money and their reputation. The announcing is still good, but everything else sucks. The worst pro sports game on the market. Do not buy!
  3. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    MLB2K13 is Awesome baseball game. I have been playing this game all morning and the gameplay/graphics are great especially the pitching. Career mode gets a huge boost thanks to more realistic expectations and progression. It's still a solid performer If your a baseball fan you grab MLB2K13 it awesome!
  4. Mar 5, 2013
    6
    Its an ok baseball game. Only reason its the exception is because The Show 13 isn't on the Xbox. I just wish that the developers for 2k put the time into making this game better. It seems they just update rosters and say here you go because its the only baseball game for the Xbox. Too many companies follow the EA madden rule,constantly make the same game with minor improvements and updated rosters because regardless you will buy it if you have no other option/choice to go to. Expand
  5. Mar 6, 2013
    1
    There's no excuse for this series to continue on. My skepticism was high when the company refused to release a features list and trailer until a week before launch. After playing the product, I now see why. This game is rubbish! It has graphics straight out of the Playstation 2, players look like a blank template of different skin tone. The game hasn't improved on anything it did last season, except the removal of online leagues. The gameplay is as buggy as ever and there's no redeeming quality. It's a shame 360 owners are left with this sad excuse of a baseball game. Collapse
  6. Mar 5, 2013
    7
    Having played The Show since 2007, I sold my PS3 recently so i had no choice but to get 2K13. Having heard all the disaster stories about this series I went in with zero expectations. What I found was an awesome commentary and absolutely amazing pitching interface. Yes it doesn't look like The Show, but it plays better. It feels like a real baseball game. I cant really put my finger on it. A solid 7/10! Expand
  7. Mar 6, 2013
    7
    If you are new to baseball on the 360. MLB 2K is the only game in town. With that being said. 2K sports has taken the Madden rout of doing business, and pretty much makes minimal changes, and updates the rosters. I wish they would put the effort they do in their basketball series into their baseball games, but that's not going to happen. So for myself. I have gone with getting MLB 2K Baseball every other year. Now is this years game good? Yes it is. The game is not horrible as some will claim. You can have a great time with the game. So my advise would be if you want a baseball game, and don't have one. Get the game.You will have fun If you bought it last year. I would skip unless you absolutely have to have that 7-10 guy roster update that most won't just do manually, and save $60. Expand
  8. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    This game a great example of good developers with a bad publisher. If this team got the support The Show did they would blow them out of the water. They are doing what they do on the engine they have for the original Xbox and make it look great. I can't wait to see next year when the new engine is done on next gen. This game is more realistic then The Show which is why I prefer it and they made great changes to My Player. This game is truly an eight and a half but I'm giving it a ten because of the scum from The Show that will down this game. Expand
  9. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    I'm going to rate this a 10 because most people are going to hate on this game. It looks and plays like 2k did a lot of work under the hood on this game. I have played over a handful of games and haven't been disappointed yet. I own MLB 13 The Show and am enjoying 2k more.
  10. Mar 5, 2013
    7
    I spent all morning playing this game and it is what we feared, basically last year's game... move the Astros to the AL, put David Price on the cover and update the rosters. I like to call this the Dan Uggla of video games in that it has incredible highs and lows. The pitching with the right analog stick is as good as ever and will never get old. It's truly one thing I hope they never change. Painting the corners and getting a star player looking in a big situation is one of the greatest experiences you will ever have playing a sports game. The commentary is incredible as is the look of the stadiums and the field itself. However, the players still look terrible and seem like zombies. The animations are still a joke as well, nothing has changed there. It does seem like they have made the fielding and throwing better than in 2k12, it just seems a little smoother. Perhaps I remember it being worse than it was last year though, I'm not sure. This is a game full of potential that is just unrealized. Maybe someday 2k will put the same effort into this game that they do their NBA franchise, but I doubt it. Until then xbox gamers can only hope for the return of EA's MVP baseball. I can only recommend this game for baseball fans who don't own a PS3. (like me, unfortunately) Expand
  11. Mar 6, 2013
    0
    This game is total garbage. Almost no changes from 2k12. My player mode is the same. My team is the same. It is just complete and utter garbage. I could tell from the opening sound bite that the game was no different than 2k12. I was really pumped for this game to come out but was disappointed when I saw that nothing was different. I swear that the graphics got even worse. I enjoyed previous 2k sports baseball games because they were different from years past. 2k needs to step it up and start making better games or they are gonna fall of the video game market. I do not recommend buying this game. It is absolutely no different than 2k12. I returned the game within the first hour that i purchased it. Expand
  12. Mar 13, 2013
    2
    I can't really point out the game's flaws better than many others have here so I'll just leave you with this: It's as if 2K has forgotten that you're supposed to offer something better than before, even if only slightly, with a "new" product. Sure, EA Sports have their ups and downs all the time but MLB2K has been trending downward for the last half decade. For the last 5 years, MLB2K has gotten progressively WORSE. Although it's the only MLB license on the Xbox, perhaps it's time for MLB Properties to pull the license away from 2K. It's clear 2K no longer cares. Expand
  13. Mar 6, 2013
    6
    It's the exact same game except they removed Online Leagues and there is a new Soundtrack, which is worse than last years. The players on rosters have the same attributes that the last roster update put out by 2K had except Trout is a 99 instead of a 97. Wasn't expecting much since they just announced it at the end of January. At least I can play baseball on my 360.
  14. Apr 2, 2013
    0
    Do not buy! This is an exact clone of last years game! Anyone who says something good about this game must be a developer. Half the bench players are fake names, the gameplay is terrible (just like 2k11), and I have yet to find anything new that made this game worth buying other than roster updates. Regret wasting my money!
  15. Mar 6, 2013
    2
    Greetings sports fans the season is upon us and unfortunately the grass may be "greener on the otherside." For all of you diamond lovers who are tethered to the Xbox console prepare yourself for a let down. Not only is this years MLB 2k baseball game a simple rehash of last years the failing company even went as far as to all out pull the most popular feature...its online league play. Now as a die hard MLB 2k supporter every year I defend my beloved franchise against all the haters and PS3 rabble rousers that claim that MLB The show is better. Time and time again I continue to point out the obvious reasons for my continued patronage...but alas 2k you have crossed the line. Limiting players to meaningless ranked matches is a sure fire way to ruin what's left of your already failing reputation. In closing the game plays well enough with only minor cosmetic glitches but is no where near the 60 usd price tag that the game retailed at. Also due to a lack of online leagues the game is actually LESS than the previous years iteration. Buyer beware... Expand
  16. Mar 14, 2013
    8
    Is this a perfect game? No (and perhaps ironically so, given the game's marketing campaign). Is it the same game as last year? Honestly, I didn't play 2K12 so I couldn't tell you. What I can say is that it captures the pitcher-batter battle amazingly well and provides a satisfying experience that will surely give me 100+ hours of gameplay, as most baseball games have before it. The commentary is top-notch, the statistical presentation is a baseball junkie's dream, and for all the glitch-clips and complaints that I see posted across the web, I have only encountered one and it had little to no effect on the gameplay experience. I'm not the type to whine and complain about a baseball videogame being "nothing more than a roster update" from the year before. When I watch real MLB, I know my Cubs will have a roster update but it will be the same game as last year no World Series win, and another year of disappointment.

    All joking aside, if you're looking for a game that can give you a solid return on investment in terms of gameplay time, you could do far worse. 10 games into my franchise Spring Training, and 31 games into My Player mode, I've already felt that my $60 will be justified. Sure some of the player models aren't the prettiest, but for those of us who grew up on Atari and Intellivision, we can look past that into the quality elements of the gameplay which matter most. And 2K consistently delivers the best pitching system that I have played in years of gaming on the digital diamond.
    Expand
  17. Apr 1, 2013
    8
    I may be the only person alive who actually prefers the 2K series over the Show. Why is the easy answer. I like to fiddle with my minor league system and make a bunch of fake players. I pick a crappy team and rebuild it. This is I took the Royals. I have half fake guys and half real players. When I sign a vet I like to know his past stats. ALL OF THEM. Thats what 2K gives you. Sabermetrics also to boot. The stat feature on the 2K series is bar none 1,000 times better than the Show which I played and returned. No the graphics arent great but they do well as I grew up on Nintendo and Atari. I feel 2K can get alot better but im happy with it as I will play easily over 400 games this year as I have in the past. I like no I love the stats sections and controlling the minors. When I played the Show last year Brett Lawrie was a FA after 1 season. MLB rules makes you a FA I believe only after 6 years. To keep Lawrie I had to sign him to a 100 million$ contract. I couldn't even afford to field a single A squad. Graphically 2k sucks compared the The Show but realistically? 2K reigns supreme. Its way more realistic the The Show. However with that being said, its not different than 2K12. But if your hardcore like me id buy it. The player updates are worth 60 bucks. Expand
  18. Apr 2, 2013
    7
    After putting much time into 2k13 I can say its mostly the same as 2k12.The only new additions in this years copy is new music and roster updates. To prove how exact of a copy this is most players that have a new team this season from free agency or traded all are wearing there old teams hat in there picture. Ichrio Suzuki who has been a Yankee for a while now, still has a mariners hat on. But it's not just him, many other players have old hats on like Carlos Beltran who is still wearing a fricken mets hat!
    To me that's just inexcusable and plain lazy,
    No new game modes or any new gameplay upgrades as well, from all the games I played the players faces all look exact as well from last year.

    Also 100% of the achievements are the same as 2k12. All 50 of them are the same.

    Gameplay-7.5
    It's not bad, but I have encountered a few bugs
    Commentary-9
    They really haven't added much new lines, but it's still really good.
    Graphics-7
    Personally I think the stadiums look great and so does the field but players look disgusting.
    Music-10
    I loved the music in 2k12, and I love the music in this game as well.
    Upgrades from 2k12-5
    Like I said exactly the same.
    Overall-7
    To be honest I was hoping for more, I know it was announced late but come on. They could have done some thing. I just hope they fix this series on the next Xbox or I will buy ps4 strictly for the show.
    Expand
  19. Apr 10, 2013
    3
    What a waste of money! As every 2k fan knows, 2k does not do good with baseball. To be frank, if you have Mlb 11 and Mlb 12 don't buy '13! It is a replica to the past games.
  20. Aug 2, 2013
    0
    MLB 2k13 is an absolutely terrible game. It's been the exact same thing since 2008: same gameplay, similar features, same terrible graphics, and the same soft rock track that makes you want to go insane. You'd think that MLB 2k13 would be similar to NBA 2k13 quality wise, but it isn't even close.

    Also, I can't stand how basically all of the players in the MLB today mode are wearing the
    hat of their former team. They have JP Arancibia in the old Blue Jays cap from three years ago! Just 2k not putting any effort in their game.

    Lastly, don't even bother with the "my player" mode. It sucks. I played 75 games in Double A ball and hit something like .379/9HR/77RBI, but was one HR away from getting called up to the bigs when the season ended, so I had to play another 65 games in triple A to finally get called up. Also, you play in the same two stadiums the whole time in the minors. You also have to sit on the base paths for such a long time while the count runs full and the batter fouls off five pitches until he strikes out. I try to get out when I'm on base because I refuse to waste ten minutes of my watching a minor leaguer take 15 pitches in a video game. Also, if you start off being a power hitter like I did, you are pretty much the slowest player in baseball. I got thrown out from RF a couple of times. Just so unrealistic and an absolutely terrible game. It's purely a disgrace to the 2k brand.

    Oh yeah, unlike in NBA 2k13 where there's a new roster update almost every day, in MLB 2k13, there's one like every twenty days. Were three days past the trade deadline and I still have Jose Iglesias on the Red Sox!

    Anyway, this is absolutely the worst sports game ever created, I wouldn't buy it for three bucks, and I would give it a negative 10 if I could. It's an absolute disgrace to the 2k brand and major league baseball.
    Expand
  21. Oct 18, 2013
    1
    You can play basic baseball pretty much. There isn't anything worthwhile as it is exactly the same game as the year before. If you don't have a Sony gaming system, this is alright if you can't actually play the real thing. I'd rather play wii sports baseball than this though. It's awful
  22. Mar 6, 2013
    0
    There's no excuse for this series to continue on. My skepticism was high when the company refused to release a features list and trailer until a week before launch. After playing the product, I now see why. This game is rubbish! It has graphics straight out of the Playstation 2, players look like a blank template of different skin tone. The game hasn't improved on anything it did last season, except the removal of online leagues. The gameplay is as buggy as ever and there's no redeeming quality. It's a shame 360 owners are left with this sad excuse of a baseball game. Collapse
Metascore
48

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 7
  2. Negative: 3 out of 7
  1. Mar 28, 2013
    40
    MLB 2K13 is one of the most embarrassing whiffs I’ve seen. Whether I was playing CPU or human opponents, games frequently hinged on something that shouldn’t have happened on the diamond. Only play it if you have a YouTube account dedicated to archiving video game glitches.
  2. Mar 25, 2013
    45
    The hard truth of the matter is that there is a rival game out there that schools 2K13 on every conceivable level. MLB 2K13, by comparison, is an embarrassing use of the MLB license, feeling more like a half-assed attempt to rake in a few bucks off fans who haven't read reviews than any real attempt to make a fun baseball game.
  3. 60
    From the initial menu screen, it’s clear that little has changed over the course of a year beyond pasting in David Price as the cover star. The interface is essentially identical, the play modes are unchanged in execution, and the on-field action is precisely where it was last season. Even the Achievements are carbon-copied.