Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 108 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Mortal Kombat Komplete Edition delivers the critically acclaimed game, all previously released downloadable content (DLC), plus digital downloads of the 2011 release of Mortal Kombat: Songs Inspired by the Warriors album with a bonus track, and the 1995 Mortal Kombat film on theMortal Kombat Komplete Edition delivers the critically acclaimed game, all previously released downloadable content (DLC), plus digital downloads of the 2011 release of Mortal Kombat: Songs Inspired by the Warriors album with a bonus track, and the 1995 Mortal Kombat film on the PlayStation®Store or Xbox Live Zune. The DLC includes fan-favorite warriors Skarlet, Kenshi and Rain, as well as the infamous dream stalker Freddy Krueger. The game also offers 15 Klassic Skins and three Klassic Fatalities (Scorpion, Sub-Zero and Reptile). Mortal Kombat: Songs Inspired by the Warriors is a collection of electronic music inspired by the game and is executive produced by JFK (of the DJ/ production duo MSTRKRFT and Death From Above 1979). Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Apr 19, 2012
    95
    Gamers who already bought the game when it came out in 2011, though, won't find enough in the "komplete" edition to justify purchasing it. However, any fighting-game fan that missed it last year shouldn't pass it by the second time around. With smooth graphics and gameplay, great controls, and excellent online multiplayer and spectacular single-player gameplay, Mortal Kombat has reclaimed its crown as the best fighting game.
  2. Mar 12, 2012
    89
    If you haven't picked up the new Mortal Kombat yet and plan to get all of the download content with it, Komplete Edition is the version to buy.
  3. Mar 23, 2012
    85
    That being said, for those gamers who skipped the original 2011 release, Mortal Kombat Komplete is a phenomenal fighting game and well worth the $60 asking price. But for those who already own the original title there is little reason to pony up that kind of cash given that the entirety of Komplete's included DLC can be already be purchased for less than $20.
  4. Mar 29, 2012
    83
    The Mortal Kombat: Komplete Edition extras are a little light, but that shouldn't keep you away from picking up one of the best fighting games in recent memory. This version comes with a Skrillex-enhanced soundtrack and a voucher for the feature film. It's not as complete as it could have been, but this Komplete Edition is still worth snatching up for first time buyers!
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    Well I wasn't expecting this. I grew up with fighters and football being my favorite genre. Fighters have really been in a dark place for aWell I wasn't expecting this. I grew up with fighters and football being my favorite genre. Fighters have really been in a dark place for a while. There just isn't a lot you can do for replay value for those without a great internet connection. It doesn't help that the stories in fighting games border on ridiculous. Games like DOA and Street Fighter do not even try and you can see everything aside from costumes in a 30 minute play session. Well Ed Boon and company is here to show how things are done. After MK VS DC I thought Netherrealm Studios were done. Well it apparently did well because WB Games gave them infinite money to make this game and it shows. The graphics are amazing. There are over 30 fighting stages, most remakes of older ones from MK 1-3. All of the fighters are also from the first 3 games except the downloadable fighters. The 360 version does not have Kratos however. (PS3 exclusive). It plays like the MK's of old 2-D plane and all. A larger move list, special x-ray moves which look cool as hell, more special moves per fighter, and that is basically all that has been added to the fighting. It is a remake in that regard, Bit each fighters moves look a bit different and the game is nicely balanced, good enough even for tourney play. Of course the staple fatalities are back and babalities make a return as well. These have never been better or more brutal. The story mode will take a few hours to complete but it is worth the play through. The crypt is back and the unlockables are endless. There is also a new mode which is 200 (Or was it 300?) stages where certain things need to be done. No throws, fighting 2 enemies, hitting fighters when they are in the light, and so on and so forth. Some of these are very challenging and give the game variety most fighters lack. Online play is well done and the normal arcade modes are there as well. The game simply has the meat other fighters lack. It looks awesome, it is brutal, and it is fun without being difficult to master. But newbies will have to practice to beat the vets. There are some problems with it. My main problem is the animation is not as fluid as most other fighters. However it is much improved over past MK's. Also I wish their were more variety in throws and a better counter system. Each fighter only has 2 throws and the counter is more of just pushing away from the other fighter. Again like all fighters these days, the DLC was a rip off but at least they did not go the extreme's of Ark System or Capcom. As good as this is, I am a little worried about the next version. How can they top this? Also have to give them their props. Freddie Kruger was a great guest character. Bring on Injustice Netherrealm. It will be a day one buy for me..... Expand
  2. Dec 24, 2014
    10
    I never really loved fighters back in the day, sure I've played them, and MK was always my favourite because of the Lore and characters. ButI never really loved fighters back in the day, sure I've played them, and MK was always my favourite because of the Lore and characters. But after playing a few more fighters, I thought I didn't like it at all, then came MK9, bought this, and because of this I've become a big fan of fighting games and even a bigger fan of MK. Here's why.

    Pros:
    - Easy to learn, easy to master, fun, flashy and challenging.
    - Engaging Story, for a fighting game to have any story is something on it's own, but for game to have such a good and cool story which happens to be a fighting game, is plain awesome.
    - graphics, colourful fights, awesome backgrounds to watch, with something else always going on, makes it feel believe able and real.
    - the characters. There's a fair bit, but Johnny Cage, Scorpion, Raiden and Sonya being my favourites, all is awesome to play with and all feel distinctive.
    - the content or "Kontent", heaps of modes to play, from tag team matches to test your luck. Lots of stuff to unlock, like Fatalities, Concept art and costumes.
    - the gore and X ray attacks make this awesome, as it shows the most gruesome moves in slow motion with x rag vision, to see those Bone crunching animations.

    Cons:
    ? Haven't found any honestly!
    Expand
  3. Feb 28, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is exactly the same as the normal version of the game, but just bundled with all of the DLC--this includes: DLC characters Skarlett, Kenshi, Rain, and Freddy. It also includes all additional costumes released with the characters, as well as the classic costumes with fatalities for Reptile, Scorpion, and Sub-Zero. I've only seen a couple difference between this version and the normal version: The title screen says Komplete Edition underneath Mortal Kombat, and Quan Chi and Cyber Sub-Zero are unlocked from the get go (in the normal version these characters are unlocked via story mode). If you missed out on this game the first time around, this is a great option to get into it as you'll get everything for $60. Excellent fighting game--good amount of single player stuff to do, and it includes tag battles which can be fun with a group of friends. This is one of my favorite fighting games and I think any fighting game fan will enjoy it to some degree. If you're not a fighting game fan, this is probably your best bet for a game to just mash around in (this or Ultimate Marvel vs. Capcom) and have fun. Expand
  4. Jul 23, 2012
    9
    Is a good game and the extra contents are fantastic the online multiplayer is fantastic and is optimal to play with friends specially 2vs.2.Is a good game and the extra contents are fantastic the online multiplayer is fantastic and is optimal to play with friends specially 2vs.2. the fatalities are awesome to see and the x-ray attacks too. Expand
  5. Nov 19, 2013
    9
    Single Player/Multi Player (2/2)

    (If the single player is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no multplayer) (If
    Single Player/Multi Player (2/2)

    (If the single player is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no multplayer) (If the multiplayer is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no single player)

    Gameplay (2/2)

    Visuals/Story (2/2)

    (If the visuals are better than the story, review this section as if it had no story) (If the story is better than the visuals, review this section as if the visuals didn’t matter)

    Accessibility/Longevity (2/2)

    (Review this section only on Accessibility if the game has no longevity) (Review this section only on longevity if the game isn’t accessible)

    Pricing (1/2)

    Wildcard (0)

    This is a guideline for how to properly review games. Many reviewers like to get a “feel” for a game, and arbitrarily give a game a score that they believe it deserves. This results in wildly different scores between different reviewers, and vastly different scores between similar games. This guideline addresses these problems and scores games fairly and consistently. This guideline also gives scores that are usually similar to the metacritic score.

    The review score is based out of 10 points. There are no “half” or 0.5 increments. It is impossible to have a score above 10 or below 0. The review score will change as the game gets new dlc, drops in price, or if more secrets are found through the game increasing its appeal.

    The scoring is split into 6 sections. The first five sections can add a possible 2 points to the final score. The first 5 sections are Single Player/Multi Player, Gameplay, Visuals/Story, Accessibility/Longevity, and Pricing.

    Notice that 3 of these sections have two parts. These particular sections will be scored based on the stronger part of the game of the two. For example, if a game has a lousy single player campaign, but an excellent multiplayer component, that section will be based solely on the multiplayer as if the single player did not exist. This allows games to be based on their own merits, as many unnecessary features are shoehorned into video games by publishers to reach a “feature quota”. Games that excel in both areas of a section don’t receive should be noted in the written review, but cannot increase the score past 2 in that section. However, it can be taken into account in the final section

    The final section can add 1, add 0, or subtract 1 to the final score. This final section is the “wildcard” section. This section is for how the reviewer “feels” about the game, but limits this only to this section, rather than the entire 10 point review. This section can include any positive or negative point that was not covered in the previous 5 sections.
    Expand
  6. Feb 8, 2015
    8
    This is a great entry in the series, but I'd prefer every single Mortal Kombat character with more than 3 fatalities. I'd also like a more putThis is a great entry in the series, but I'd prefer every single Mortal Kombat character with more than 3 fatalities. I'd also like a more put together story. But good game. Expand
  7. Jan 27, 2013
    6
    Let me say first say i enjoy mortal kombat, always have, real cool graphics and a bit on the storyline, execpt when i get to raiden'sLet me say first say i enjoy mortal kombat, always have, real cool graphics and a bit on the storyline, execpt when i get to raiden's story....its gets a bit hecked...first u get to this part when u have to fight his friends..that became unstable for me fighting 9 ppl without health recovery, then the unthinkable happens...fighting shoakahn(the impossible) not given raiden stable special abilities becomes impossible tp defeat shoakahn...becomes an unfair fight all the time...despite my millions trys of killing him the game is alrite and good ridance at the same damn time.... Collapse

See all 19 User Reviews