MX vs. ATV Alive Xbox 360

Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 43
  2. Negative: 5 out of 43
  1. Jun 30, 2011
    83
    MX vs. ATV Alive is one of the best racing games I've played in a while, and is actually a racing game I'm somewhat decent at. The Rider Reflex System didn't take that long to get used to and if you have issues controlling the vehicle, you can always go into a free roam area to practice (and get some small XP). The only thing that makes me rate this game the way I did was the unlock system. If it was based on race performance and not ludicrous amounts of XP, I'd definitely rate the game higher.
  2. Jun 23, 2011
    80
    MX vs. ATV Alive is a blast to play. The controls are perfect, the gameplay is engaging thanks to the collision system, and the vehicles, riders, and tracks all look great – not to mention one of the best online racing experiences this year. It's a shame that these elements are packaged into such a bare-bones game. For $40, I can definitely recommend it to fans of the series. In the future, however, here's to hoping that THQ will take these same gameplay mechanics and build around them a full-fledged racing career experience.
  3. May 16, 2011
    80
    MX vs. ATV Alive is a pretty good experience. Well many people out there may slam THQ for trying to offer a somewhat stripped down experience for a cheaper price in an effort to sell more DLC, I have to applaud them as they have indeed tried to make this a very customizable experience.
  4. May 15, 2011
    80
    True to the game's title, MX vs. ATV Alive is a game competing against itself. On one hand, you've got an amazing experience that any racing fan should check out -- it's truly the realization of a series that has been refined to near-perfection over the last half-dozen years. On the other hand, the game's pricing strategy has created a bit of an uneven value in which the available content is too lean for beginners to keep racing, especially if they're unable to go online. Fortunately, the game's positives are currently outpacing the negatives, and THQ's ability to create constant, quality DLC at a fair price can only widen the gap even further.
  5. May 14, 2011
    80
    This review might feel like a complaint towards THQ. It is but not entirely. Truth is: MX vs ATV Alive isn't only fun but also addictive and well-worth the $40 price of entrance. However, those who have been enjoying the heck out of Reflex will feel like someone punch them in the gut.
  6. May 13, 2011
    77
    MX Vs. ATV Alive doesn't raise the bar when it comes to racing action, as its over comprehensive controls and familiar presentation won't wow everyone. But for fans of motocross and previous examples of Rainbow Studios' work, it's definitely worth taking a ride with.
  7. May 24, 2011
    76
    In conclusion, this game is a double edge sword. If you are buying MVA at forty dollars and not really expecting much out of it, then fine. I've so far gotten myself to level 17 and I need to get to level 25 to unlock everything. Do I have a desire to keep going? Sadly, no.
  8. May 23, 2011
    76
    On the positive side, the game features a strong racing engine, good graphics, and competent AI racers, and the multiplayer races are exciting. On the negative, the presentation is pretty basic, the event selection is limited, severely so for a while into the game, and the DLC available at the time of this writing is a bit on the sparse side. With more content it would be a stellar game, but for now it's more for fans of the sport than anyone else.
  9. May 21, 2011
    75
    A noteworthy MX simulator which will entertain those who are not even fans of motorcycles, thanks to its thrilling and challenging races, although a bit short in content.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 2 out of 11
  1. May 14, 2011
    2
    cant believe i waited for this game it has kick ass graphics bike controls are sweet but the tracks blow stewarts compond is the only trackcant believe i waited for this game it has kick ass graphics bike controls are sweet but the tracks blow stewarts compond is the only track worth riding jumping is lame you seem to guy 90ft up but 2 ft across then other times its the other way around reflex was way better no supercross tracks outdoor tracks are retarded shorts tracks dont even waste or time playing them why cant they just make a game were they have a supercross season an outdoor season make the tracks like real tracks like they race on today ... but on the other hand bikes sound just like the real thing ride wheelies for days ill pay the 60 if thats wht it takes to make a kick ass game Full Review »
  2. May 10, 2011
    10
    This game is the **** I have been playing it all day, Stewart rules. This is definitely the best motocross game out there. I dont get what theThis game is the **** I have been playing it all day, Stewart rules. This is definitely the best motocross game out there. I dont get what the critics are smoking? Full Review »
  3. May 10, 2011
    10
    Got my gamestop stuff and been rocking the blaze for hors. bar banging add it rock solid. haven't downloaded compound yet, but the stuff onGot my gamestop stuff and been rocking the blaze for hors. bar banging add it rock solid. haven't downloaded compound yet, but the stuff on the disk is good as reflex, maybe better Full Review »